View Full Version : Fools guide to buying German tickets
Pages :
[
7]
Jens1893
06/07/2006, 12:01 PM
he lives in a town just north of stuttgart, so i can safely say the guy is german
RogerMilla
06/07/2006, 12:04 PM
it's not you jens is it? lol lol
Jens1893
06/07/2006, 12:06 PM
it's not you jens is it? lol lol
nope, but if you knew my ebay name one could think i am irish indeed
Jens1893
06/07/2006, 12:07 PM
i live a bit closer to stuttgart than bad reichenhall anyway
06/07/2006, 1:23 PM
We can not sell tickets to Irish Supporters. Please contact
The Football Association of Ireland, 80 Merrion Square, South DUBLIN 2
Tel. ++353-1/803 7500, Fax ++353-1/661 0931, E-Mail info@fai.ie
We will cancel your orders without any notification.
Looks asthough there on to us. if you haven't got your tickets yet I doubt you'll be gettting them
Sligo Hornet
06/07/2006, 2:27 PM
Looks asthough there on to us. if you haven't got your tickets yet I doubt you'll be gettting them
Where have you been Raptor??.....this is now "old news"!
Bluetonic
06/07/2006, 2:37 PM
5 weeks after it was posted :rolleyes:
casso36
06/07/2006, 3:22 PM
Recieved my other 2 tickets that ordered on monday!!! Happy Days!!!
Might have 3 spares as few lads thinking of pulling out. So anyone going to match might meet up and sell them for what i paid, but won't be sure until end of july, if thats any use!!!
Forever Dreamin
06/07/2006, 4:33 PM
Sure how many have had them posted to UK addresses since this appeared:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Or German, French, Belgian.....
Forever Dreamin
06/07/2006, 7:37 PM
good article in the star on this today ..
didnt see it but is it true that an FAI official informed the german fa re the purchase of tickets by irish fans?
i was told this by a friend whos tickets were cancelled and goes to all away games and never gets them fromn the fai.
if this is true its a new low for the muppets in merrion sq, sorry for offending muppets
if anyone has the article could they please post it, thanks :confused: :confused:
06/07/2006, 7:51 PM
didnt see it but is it true that an FAI official informed the german fa re the purchase of tickets by irish fans?
i was told this by a friend whos tickets were cancelled and goes to all away games and never gets them fromn the fai.
if this is true its a new low for the muppets in merrion sq, sorry for offending muppets
if anyone has the article could they please post it, thanks :confused: :confused:
yes, it was in the star that the fai were in contact with the german fa about us buying their tickets but the article says that the fai were worried about the 5,000 tickets we are officially entitled to being cut due to Irish fans buying all the german fa tickets. i think thats fair enough and i would imagine the german fa had coped on by that stage anyway
Forever Dreamin
06/07/2006, 8:28 PM
yes, it was in the star that the fai were in contact with the german fa about us buying their tickets but the article says that the fai were worried about the 5,000 tickets we are officially entitled to being cut due to Irish fans buying all the german fa tickets. i think thats fair enough and i would imagine the german fa had coped on by that stage anyway
i dont know how the german fa could reduce the official fai allocation of 10%, that allocation is a uefa / fifa rule and its up to the fai to do what they like with the tickets
Junior
07/07/2006, 7:34 AM
To be fair to the FAI, if they just ignored this it would be Gross Misconduct IMO. They obviously have to alert a fellow football association of any known issues with could affect the match such as safety, segregation etc.....
The FAI are certainly Muppets but I don't think this counts as one of the their acts of muppetry!
casso36
07/07/2006, 7:39 AM
New article in star this morning page 11, titled Green Army Set To Taunt German Fans!!!!!!!!
Foot.ie is getting great coverage from the Star newspaper.
Even my post songs for Stuttgart (:D )
Have a look.
Casso
Forever Dreamin
07/07/2006, 8:44 AM
To be fair to the FAI, if they just ignored this it would be Gross Misconduct IMO. They obviously have to alert a fellow football association of any known issues with could affect the match such as safety, segregation etc.....
The FAI are certainly Muppets but I don't think this counts as one of the their acts of muppetry!
i suppose so but they could still have waited another week or so! anyway selfish me, i got mine.:D :D :D
Bluetonic
07/07/2006, 9:51 AM
That'll be the day.
Sligo Hornet
07/07/2006, 9:55 AM
New article in star this morning page 11, titled Green Army Set To Taunt German Fans!!!!!!!!
Even my post songs for Stuttgart (:D )
Have a look.
Casso
Is there any chance some kind soul could ' cut & paste' the article on this site so we could see it?:confused:
casso36
07/07/2006, 11:37 AM
They've already annoyed the germans by snapping up thousands of their tickets for september's Euro 2008 Qualifier - now the green army are composing chants to annoy the Huns.
Legions of supporters are set to travel to germany to watch steve staunton's first competitive game in charge of the republin of ireland against germany.
The Star revealed how crafty irish supporters logged onto a german events and ticket website and bagged hundreds of seats set aside for the german supporters.
While FAI got just 5000 tickets, the final number of Irish supporters in the stadium could be three times that. And the Irish supporters are planning to make a song and dance about it - literally.
tHEY HAVE BEING LOGGING ON TO POPULAR SUPPORTERS WEBSITE WWW.FOOT.IE to suggest chants and songs for the occasion.
Some hark back to Euro 88 match - also in stuttgart - when Ireland beat England 1 - 0. Others poke fun at the germans for being so distracted with the world cup that they didn't realise Ireland fans were snapping up their tickets. One cheeky fan suggests chanting Are You England In Disguise?. Another proposed repeated chants off " We Got All The Tickets."
The ticket swoop means that hundreds of Irisf fans will be sharing the terraces with german fans even though they should be segregated!!. The FAI tipped off german officials when they realised what the irish fans were up to - but they're happy that there's no risk of trouble.
A FAI Source said: " We all know how well behaved irish supporters are, and have been for decades. They've shared stands in vast numbers with other countries before, as recently as the France game in Paris. Ther was no trouble then and we expect the fans to be just as well behaved in the future."
:D :D
casso36
07/07/2006, 11:38 AM
Is there any chance some kind soul could ' cut & paste' the article on this site so we could see it?:confused:
The Full Article!! as requested!!! :D :D
Sligo Hornet
07/07/2006, 11:46 AM
The Full Article!! as requested!!! :D :D
Thank you very much Casso!!:)
Shamrock
07/07/2006, 12:40 PM
Germany is first up...
As I live in Holland the German game is something I have to go to. Now because I live in holland I dont have th same contacts I would if I were at home so... I know its evil but im going to have to buy from a tout... What would be a price where I wasnt being ripped off for the game??
casso36
07/07/2006, 12:56 PM
Germany is first up...
As I live in Holland the German game is something I have to go to. Now because I live in holland I dont have th same contacts I would if I were at home so... I know its evil but im going to have to buy from a tout... What would be a price where I wasnt being ripped off for the game??
Have Faith Shamrock!!! Put your name down on waiting list!!!
$Leon$
07/07/2006, 1:55 PM
Germany is first up...
Have you tried the eventim.de web site?
Seen as your in Holland they may still post them to you if they have any left or when they figure out how many they canceled from Irish fans.
Jens1893
07/07/2006, 1:58 PM
Is The Star the Irish version of The Sun?
$Leon$
07/07/2006, 2:04 PM
Is The Star the Irish version of The Sun?
No. Different papers altogether. Same basic idea though.
The Star (www.thestar.ie)
supasparx
07/07/2006, 3:16 PM
Germany is first up...
Anything over face value is a rip off IMO. You can keep checking the eventim.de website or wait till nearer the time and i'm sure a few will come available on this site (at face value).
09/07/2006, 8:59 AM
Germany is first up...
I hope you don't have to deal with the touts but they won't be that expensive. Tout prices for Germany v Argentina and Germany v Italy were €300 and €350 respectively. The Germans weren't paying that in either case by and large so it will be much cheaper than that for our one as they don't realise we're a far bigger team than the other 2. :D I reckon max €100 but why not do some work checking eventim and this site and you'll get them at face value.
KildareBhoy
10/07/2006, 10:59 AM
Does anyone know when people will find out if they are successful with their application for tickets with the Fai.
Dismal
10/07/2006, 2:55 PM
Does anyone know when people will find out if they are successful with their application for tickets with the Fai.
I rang the gimps the other day and was told, after an elongated pytonesque conversation with some foreign chick, that she could check if you're on the list but that they're not sending out the tickets til August(ie you won't know if you've been successful unless you ring them).
10/07/2006, 3:09 PM
The closing date for applications was only last Wednesday. Would guess it will be 2 or 3 weeks before they sort out applications from the various sources, Block Bookers, 10 year ticket holders, League clubs, the various Leagues up and down the country, supporters clubs, sponsors and corporates, players and officials and of course Ray Treacy :eek:
May be wrong, but would not expect to hear before the August Bank Holiday but would expect to hear before the Holland game.
10/07/2006, 3:24 PM
Who is credited with writing that article in The Star?
casso36
10/07/2006, 3:32 PM
Who is credited with writing that article in The Star?
Sorry Peadar,
Didn't get his or her name when i posted it the other day!!!
10/07/2006, 3:33 PM
There's a lot of dodgy "journalists" prowling these pages... ;)
Dismal
10/07/2006, 5:40 PM
The closing date for applications was only last Wednesday. Would guess it will be 2 or 3 weeks before they sort out applications from the various sources, Block Bookers, 10 year ticket holders, League clubs, the various Leagues up and down the country, supporters clubs, sponsors and corporates, players and officials and of course Ray Treacy :eek:
May be wrong, but would not expect to hear before the August Bank Holiday but would expect to hear before the Holland game.
They will confirm if you have been successful, if you phone them.
The closing date for applications was May 26th.
They will post tickets out in August. But if you have tickets from the German agency and want to find out if you got FAI tickets. I'm also sure that you could return your FAI tickets as well if you were successful with the German agency.
Did you not read my previous post!
10/07/2006, 5:59 PM
They will confirm if you have been successful, if you phone them.
The closing date for applications was May 26th.
They will post tickets out in August. But if you have tickets from the German agency and want to find out if you got FAI tickets. I'm also sure that you could return your FAI tickets as well if you were successful with the German agency.
Did you not read my previous post!
The closing date for registering for an application form was 26 May.
The closing date for submitting completed application forms was last Wednesday, 5th July on my form, several others had a closing date of 28th June, as discussed previously on this forum.
Not aware of any Block Booker who has yet been informed if they have been successful or not.
Forever Dreamin
10/07/2006, 7:09 PM
From your post i assume you dont think Ray Treacy should get tickets.... in fairness to Ray he brings the same gang to virtually every game and they are entitled to tickets....I still see some of the faces from the early 1980s on his trips....personally i would never travel with him as i dont need 5 star hotels and 5 star prices but he offers 10 times better value than our jumbo jet pal
10/07/2006, 8:25 PM
Any one any Ideas of just how many tickets we've nicked from the Germans?
10/07/2006, 9:39 PM
From your post i assume you dont think Ray Treacy should get tickets.... in fairness to Ray he brings the same gang to virtually every game and they are entitled to tickets....I still see some of the faces from the early 1980s on his trips....personally i would never travel with him as i dont need 5 star hotels and 5 star prices but he offers 10 times better value than our jumbo jet pal
Not at all. I don't think you are right when you say he brings the same crowd to every game. He has a core of clients who travel to every game and no problem with them getting tickets. However, I think you will find that when tickets are more scarce, his allocation is not scaled down like everyone else, in fact I suspect it is actually increased as he is likely to have more travelling with him for such games as match tickets are guaranteed (so his adverts say)
In fairness, I think you will find that Michael at 747 has no guaranteed match tickets arrangements with the FAI. For games where there are plenty of tickets, I am sure he uses them all right, but when they are scarce from FAI he uses agents abroad to get tickets for him.
Forever Dreamin
11/07/2006, 5:24 AM
Not at all. I don't think you are right when you say he brings the same crowd to every game. He has a core of clients who travel to every game and no problem with them getting tickets. However, I think you will find that when tickets are more scarce, his allocation is not scaled down like everyone else, in fact I suspect it is actually increased as he is likely to have more travelling with him for such games as match tickets are guaranteed (so his adverts say)
In fairness, I think you will find that Michael at 747 has no guaranteed match tickets arrangements with the FAI. For games where there are plenty of tickets, I am sure he uses them all right, but when they are scarce from FAI he uses agents abroad to get tickets for him.
from what i know michael gets no tickets from the fai, they and he do not have any kind of relationship and i believe he uses agents for all games. What i would love to know is how these agents get so many tickets??
RogerMilla
11/07/2006, 6:45 AM
Guys , just to let you know that the game is sold out . A colleague here told me that the German Fa Allocation are all sold. So thats the evintim.de Allocation and The DFB gone with the FAI sitting on 5,000 tickets to be allocated to the countless thousands who applied. oh and please check out my blog !!
11/07/2006, 12:12 PM
Treacy gets tickets as he is the F.A.I.'s official Travel Agent. He runs good trips but they ar eoverpriced. I did travel with him 10 years ago when I won a free trip. I also know one of his regulars and they all swear by him.
None of the other agents get F.A.I. tickets AFAIK. Obviously for many away games they can buy them as Joe Public where demand does not exceed supply. However in most cases they source local tickets typically i nthe home end. They sometimes just don't offer a match ticket. For the game in Germany it would have been very easy to source tickets. A German Travel Agent would have bought 100-300 or whatever tickets as required.
Forever Dreamin
11/07/2006, 3:54 PM
Treacy gets tickets as he is the F.A.I.'s official Travel Agent. He runs good trips but they ar eoverpriced. I did travel with him 10 years ago when I won a free trip. I also know one of his regulars and they all swear by him.
None of the other agents get F.A.I. tickets AFAIK. Obviously for many away games they can buy them as Joe Public where demand does not exceed supply. However in most cases they source local tickets typically i nthe home end. They sometimes just don't offer a match ticket. For the game in Germany it would have been very easy to source tickets. A German Travel Agent would have bought 100-300 or whatever tickets as required.
only time i actually travelled with him was a stowaaway on his bus from amsterdam to rotterdam in 81 or 82;) ;)
never heard one bad word about him except the price but you get what you pay for, and hea a real down to earth lad:ball:
Michael at 747 always gets tickets in the irish section along with Abbey travel. On many occasion I have bumped into people who travelled with them in bars and they are always sitting in the away end. In France last campaign and Switz in the last euros he had a few hundred and all had tickets in the fai allocated irish section.
I contacted the FAI and was told that they were still going through applications and it will be another few weeks before they inform applicants as to whether they were successful or not. Im expecting to find out in the first week of august.
Oleole
12/07/2006, 8:44 AM
First time to post a msg on the forum and feel a bit stupid now to have only only discovered the guide to the eventim.de website in the last week when of course they've no tkts left. Have flights and accommodation (I think) sorted but alas no tkts. Applied to FAI but as I'm not a bb etc, didn't have any joy there. Also trying on ebay but prices are getting a bit mad.
Anyone have any other suggestions? There's about six of us heading over....
$Leon$
12/07/2006, 9:45 AM
Michael at 747 always gets tickets in the irish section along with Abbey travel.
Travelled with 747 to Paris. Michael sold us tickets of face value of €20 in the French end for €45. We were origionally told they were face value of €30 until we got them in our hands after we payed for them.Alot of other things didn't run smoothly with that trip as far as 747's arrangements were concerned. Transfers were late, he kept changing hotels and trying to get us to pay more for the privilage.
brine3
12/07/2006, 12:17 PM
the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin
Jens1893
12/07/2006, 12:33 PM
the eejits should have had the match at a bigger stadium, like dortmund, munich or berlin
It´s the fourth biggest in the country and those 3 all had 2 Germany matches at the WC. We haven´t had a qualifier here in ages!
brine3
12/07/2006, 12:59 PM
Sure, ye deserve a match, but I think the DFB might have underestimated the Irish travelling support here. We brought 40,000 to Stade de France, for example.
Jens1893
12/07/2006, 1:04 PM
Sure, ye deserve a match, but I think the DFB might have underestimated the Irish travelling support here. We brought 40,000 to Stade de France, for example.
And why should the amount of travelling fans concern us? If you go without a ticket, that´s your problem ... and the FAI´s, but not ours.