View Full Version : 2024 FAI Cup
Pages :
[
8]
13/08/2024, 9:24 AM
The away end in Mounthawk will be a disaster for Bohs fans, it's totally flat so if you're smaller than the person in front of you you've no chance of seeing the game.
listowelceltic
13/08/2024, 11:02 AM
Main problem with Mounthawk Park is one entrance which is basically 2 doors. End of game then becomes a bottleneck. So can't see capacity being increased even though you probaby could bring it up to 2k using grass banks and supporters 5 deep. Nice junior ground but games like this show its flaws.
13/08/2024, 11:16 AM
Main problem with Mounthawk Park is one entrance which is basically 2 doors. End of game then becomes a bottleneck. So can't see capacity being increased even though you probaby could bring it up to 2k using grass banks and supporters 5 deep. Nice junior ground but games like this show its flaws.
There are some permanently closed "gates" leading on to a country road at the side/back of the second pitch to the right, so maybe long term that can be turned in to a second entrance/exit, but it's definitely not a setup that will suit expansion unless the club was moved up to the main Tralee Dynamos entrance and used that side of the complex instead. There's a lot of land to work with but the whole thing needs to be taken apart and redesigned in the long term you'd think.
Buckett
13/08/2024, 11:31 AM
The away end in Mounthawk will be a disaster for Bohs fans, it's totally flat so if you're smaller than the person in front of you you've no chance of seeing the game.
It's not flat. It actually slopes away from the pitch. Terrible viewing area
13/08/2024, 11:37 AM
Wouldn't be permitted to use grass banks anyway, but there's scope for terracing the far end of the main stand in Mounthawk Park. 3-4 steps of concrete along that half of the pitch would add another 300-400 onto capacity easily.
While attendances have dropped to 400 or so, there's no need to be increasing capacity, but definitely it'll never be more than a fine junior ground in it's current guise.
The away area has been discussed here before but it's easily the worst in the entire LOI.
13/08/2024, 3:27 PM
It's not flat. It actually slopes away from the pitch. Terrible viewing area
Aye good point, I just mean it's not tiered at all, grand for small crowds, will cause some amount of rows on Sunday though i'd say.
Jamesie
13/08/2024, 8:11 PM
Aye good point, I just mean it's not tiered at all, grand for small crowds, will cause some amount of rows on Sunday though i'd say.
If you're short get in early. If you're tall stand behind that person
Shearer
13/08/2024, 8:17 PM
If you're wise, watch the stream.
14/08/2024, 7:29 AM
Football fans are known for their rationale thinking on lengthy Away days
joey B
14/08/2024, 11:22 AM
Shamrock rovers appealed the Devoy decision,the next round is in 2 days,what is going to happen here?
Dermobohs
14/08/2024, 11:43 AM
Pathetic.
14/08/2024, 12:29 PM
Shocking really .
Calcio Jack
14/08/2024, 12:36 PM
Pathetic.
FAI screwed up and have acknowledged that.
Based on the above and applying letter of the law then it should have been a 3-0 win granted to Rovers.
However that ‘mortally’ would be unfair to Bohs who did nothing wrong.
A compromise would be for BOTH clubs to agree to a replay.
However even if they did the rules don’t allow for that - therefore to do that even if all were in agreement would mean breaking another rule to fix the original error- that would be both wrong imo and would also set an unwanted precedent that most likely would cause issues in the future.
So the FAI made their ruling I suspect in hope that Rovers wouldn’t appeal; we’ve now rightly called out their bluff .
Bohs shouldn’t suffer because of the FAI’s incompetence nor should Rovers.
Based on the rules in place Rovers should be awarded a 3-0 win and a separate issue is how Bohs might seek recompense ….. another fine mess.
culloty82
14/08/2024, 12:49 PM
It seems Kerry may also ultimately have to seek recompense, with the Examiner suggesting that Sunday's game would have to be postponed, pending a ruling:
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41455981.html
Granted, if the appeal is rejected, the tickets would remain valid for a later date, and if accepted, the Rovers match would invariably also sell out, but all rather messy.
Dermobohs
14/08/2024, 12:57 PM
There is no comparable competition in this country, we have no league cup. Therefore he serves his ban in the league. He did that. How stupid do rovers have to be to not understand this?petty and vindictive, also thick as ****e.he was red carded in a league competition, so serves his ban in a comparable competition, the FAI cup is not a comparable competition as it’s an open one.
That really is petty stuff from Rovers. Pathetic as you say Dermo.
Calcio Jack
14/08/2024, 1:31 PM
There is no comparable competition in this country, we have no league cup. Therefore he serves his ban in the league. He did that. How stupid do rovers have to be to not understand this?petty and vindictive, also thick as ****e.he was red carded in a league competition, so serves his ban in a comparable competition, the FAI cup is not a comparable competition as it’s an open one.
Ok ; I’ve provided a rational set of scenarios based on expert opinion ( and yes expert opinion isn’t always right hence the need to adjudicate).
If situation was reversed I’d expect Bohs to take the same approach as us- so calling us ‘stupid’ ‘petty’ as ‘vindictive’ is churlish- this is professional sport and we expect the governing body to operate in a professional manner; they didn’t so of course we’ll seek to seek that.
sbgawa
14/08/2024, 2:33 PM
Yep 100% what i have heard , FAI know they have screwed up and were reverting to Delaney era FAI, bully the clubs to do what they are toild for fear of "payback"
Assuming the FAI double down on their BS id expect Rovers to appeal to CAS and ultimately get a packet of money from the FAI who will eventually have to admit they screwed up.
2 Year Contract
14/08/2024, 2:41 PM
From the outside looking in as someone with no horse in this race, I think the Bohs fans calling rovers and their legal reps 'pathetic/petty/vindicive/stupid' etc. have misdirected those comments. By all accounts it seems that the FAI are the idiots here. I think everyone agrees that Bohs are an innocent bystander in it all but it’s terrible football administration for the FAI not to have at least double checked this in advance of advising Bohs on it. Fair play to rovers for trying to hold the FAI accountable on it because that’s the only way things will potentially change in similar instances in the future
14/08/2024, 2:41 PM
Just put Kerry through and be done with it.
niallsparky
14/08/2024, 3:17 PM
FAI screwed up and have acknowledged that.
Based on the above and applying letter of the law then it should have been a 3-0 win granted to Rovers.
Where have the FAI acknowledged this? What exactly is this law that should be applied the letter?
Dermobohs
14/08/2024, 3:55 PM
It’s all bullcrap from shams, load of nonsense. No one fecked up, correct competition to serve suspension was identified, bohs were informed, player served ban end of story.
As if I couldn’t despise that shower of tramps any more, yet another reason.
sbgawa
14/08/2024, 4:20 PM
It’s all bullcrap from shams, load of nonsense. No one fecked up, correct competition to serve suspension was identified, bohs were informed, player served ban end of story.
Cant argue with such well argued and comprehensive analysis and logic like that ;)
Perhaps instead of condemning Rovers consider why they have spent money on appeals and reappeals.
Unlike the speculation on here they have listened to the BS and the speaking out of both sides of the mouth from the FAI and know the FAI are trying to do a Delaney on them.
Fair play to them for standing up to it, maybe the next time the FAI screw up they might just admit it instead of doing a cover up.
Hopefully if the FAI try to double down on the BS Rovers appeal to FIFA directly or whatever the next step is
Shinkicker
14/08/2024, 5:40 PM
Agree with the correct competition comment. This will be heard super quick and the current decision should stand. You can understand why Rovers appealed, they need to get to Europe any way they can next year after all Bohs weren't expected to get there and now have an opportunity to do so. Imagine rovers come 4th and Bohs win the Cup. It will hurt even more.
14/08/2024, 5:50 PM
The FAI are bound to go with the 'League Trophy' argument, comp run by the EF league rather than FA, hence serving the suspension via LoI rather than FAI Cup albeit the league here is run by the FAI but surely that allows room for choice rather than restriction. If they havent rolled this one out then they have made a double mess of it, they could have said that they knew what they were doing and made a decision on a particular interpretation of the rules as they stand and will update the rules for clarification for 2025. I agree with Nigel though, the farest decision is to put both sides out now and let Kerry progress!!
total hoofball
14/08/2024, 6:31 PM
Finding the current FAI rulebook online is like trying to find a needle in a haystack but I found it on Page 180/270 under View Handbook > https://www.fai.ie/about/governance/
Looks to me the FAI followed their rule and Rovers are throwing a juvenile hissy fit wasting everyone's time?
SECTION 7 - DISCIPLINARY REGULATIONS
SECTION 7.5 – SANCTIONS AND DISCIPLINARY & APPEALS PROCEDURE
REGULATION 10. MATCH SUSPENSION
11. If a Player registers with a club in a different League to the League that imposed the original match suspension(s) any outstanding match suspension(s) shall be served in the new League. The level of football shall be determined by the Disciplinary Body of the new League.
WoodquayBoy
14/08/2024, 7:13 PM
This exactly - juvenile sh!te from Shams
Jamesie
14/08/2024, 7:22 PM
If I was of a cynical mind I'd say that Rovers know they haven't a hope in this but would like to upset Bohs match preparation
14/08/2024, 7:40 PM
If I was of a cynical mind I'd say that Rovers know they haven't a hope in this but would like to upset Bohs match preparation
I think it's all very petty, but not sure they really care all that much about Bohs' preparations for a match.
Or maybe they are actually that petty?
Either way, as evident from discussions here, it appears the rule is open to interpretation. The FAI made a decision, then re-confirmed it. Rovers should just let it go.
Ask for the rule to be coded for next season, if they genuinely care that much.
2 Year Contract
14/08/2024, 8:08 PM
In what way could they upset Bohs match preparation? Surely Reynolds and his players have been/will continue to prepare as normal for the game regardless of what decision is made
14/08/2024, 11:03 PM
I think it's all very petty, but not sure they really care all that much about Bohs' preparations for a match.
Or maybe they are actually that petty?
Either way, as evident from discussions here, it appears the rule is open to interpretation. The FAI made a decision, then re-confirmed it. Rovers should just let it go.
Ask for the rule to be coded for next season, if they genuinely care that much.
They are making life difficult for the Rovers FAI inside man, if he didnt ask the initial question.
Dermobohs
15/08/2024, 5:47 AM
It’s bound to have an effect though?
Not as if our lot have been setting high professional standards this season is it?
That’s our own making though, as you say up to the coaches to get them prepared properly, Kerry though have to be affected too?
placid casual
15/08/2024, 8:18 AM
Give Joe Duffy a call, boezo
Very poor from Shamrock Rovers. It will only lead to more bad blood between clubs and fans especially as Bohs fans will have arranged travel and maybe to stay over in Kerry and now don't know if game will go ahead. It looks clear that the FAI can decide what competition the suspension is served in which they did and Bohs didn't do anything wrong as checked the situation with FAI.
Dermobohs
15/08/2024, 8:39 AM
Give Joe Duffy a call, boezo
And a great big **** you to you too, piggy.
15/08/2024, 10:01 AM
If this does lead to the game being postponed, then surely the FAI shouldn't have scheduled the fixture for this weekend in the first place, considering Rovers had the right of appeal.
It's very presumptive on their part and it reflects worse on them than on Rovers in my opinion.
sbgawa
15/08/2024, 10:56 AM
If this does lead to the game being postponed, then surely the FAI shouldn't have scheduled the fixture for this weekend in the first place, considering Rovers had the right of appeal.
It's very presumptive on their part and it reflects worse on them than on Rovers in my opinion.
Was hoping someone would make this point.
FAI schedule the fixture before the appeal is heard and knowing there is a right of appeal....talk about "we will proceed with the hanging directly after the trial" the FAI didnt even try to pretend they were going to listen to any appeal.
Its just like the appeals to overturn red cards. ITs time the FAI stopped trying to run the league the way Delanay did
Im sure the FAI hung jury will return another decison in their favour and good luck to Kerry against a Bohs side that must be nervous given their supporters on here complaining about their preparations being affected by all this.
15/08/2024, 11:30 AM
Very poor from Shamrock Rovers. It will only lead to more bad blood between clubs and fans especially as Bohs fans will have arranged travel and maybe to stay over in Kerry and now don't know if game will go ahead. It looks clear that the FAI can decide what competition the suspension is served in which they did and Bohs didn't do anything wrong as checked the situation with FAI.
Waterford fan on clubs complaining irony....thread no feisty enough!
Another Bohemia
15/08/2024, 12:36 PM
Finding the current FAI rulebook online is like trying to find a needle in a haystack but I found it on Page 180/270 under View Handbook > https://www.fai.ie/about/governance/
Looks to me the FAI followed their rule and Rovers are throwing a juvenile hissy fit wasting everyone's time?
SECTION 7 - DISCIPLINARY REGULATIONS
SECTION 7.5 – SANCTIONS AND DISCIPLINARY & APPEALS PROCEDURE
REGULATION 10. MATCH SUSPENSION
11. If a Player registers with a club in a different League to the League that imposed the original match suspension(s) any outstanding match suspension(s) shall be served in the new League. The level of football shall be determined by the Disciplinary Body of the new League.
Shams would want to have some very convincing argument if the FAIs own rules state they have acted in the correct way. Just seems like they are throwing toys out of the pram or trying to justify paying some legal consultants for the initial objections by lodging the appeal.
I find it hilarious all the shams posters attempting to play the "it's just the rules" cards when it's almost certain that if the shoe were on the other foot they'd be spamming the board saying things like "They should've focused on winning the match not a court case" , "all this focus on the complaint only for it to be overturned", "typical SJW club trying to enforce their beliefs on others, stick to the beekeeping lads".
The cynic in me thinks this has nothing to do with the cup, Bohs or the rules but Rovers trying to damage the relationship between league clubs and the FAI so they can push for the league to break away from the FAI. Rovers would do better financially than most in a premier league style league where money can be funneled to the top. The issue there is there is no money lads and you've picked one of the few times the FAI seem to be acting correctly.
Jamesie
15/08/2024, 12:56 PM
In what way could they upset Bohs match preparation? Surely Reynolds and his players have been/will continue to prepare as normal for the game regardless of what decision is made
I think if you think the match may not go ahead it would have a bearing on how focused you can be.
culloty82
15/08/2024, 1:21 PM
Kerry, outwardly at least, are operating on the basis that the game goes ahead as scheduled unless/until they hear otherwise, at any rate.
15/08/2024, 2:15 PM
Seen in Sun earlier that theres a better prospect of Bohs being fined than letting Shamrock Rovers win the appeal. Think that is the most sensible option as it isnt Bohs fault they did after all ask the FAI about Dawson Devoy.
sbgawa
15/08/2024, 2:34 PM
Shams would want to have some very convincing argument if the FAIs own rules state they have acted in the correct way. Just seems like they are throwing toys out of the pram or trying to justify paying some legal consultants for the initial objections by lodging the appeal.
I find it hilarious all the shams posters attempting to play the "it's just the rules" cards when it's almost certain that if the shoe were on the other foot they'd be spamming the board saying things like "They should've focused on winning the match not a court case" , "all this focus on the complaint only for it to be overturned", "typical SJW club trying to enforce their beliefs on others, stick to the beekeeping lads".
The cynic in me thinks this has nothing to do with the cup, Bohs or the rules but Rovers trying to damage the relationship between league clubs and the FAI so they can push for the league to break away from the FAI. Rovers would do better financially than most in a premier league style league where money can be funneled to the top. The issue there is there is no money lads and you've picked one of the few times the FAI seem to be acting correctly.
Thats some serious conspiracy theory stuff there :) is there anyone sitting beside you on the grassy knoll?
I
RealJohn91
15/08/2024, 2:37 PM
Seen in Sun earlier that theres a better prospect of Bohs being fined than letting Shamrock Rovers win the appeal. Think that is the most sensible option as it isnt Bohs fault they did after all ask the FAI about Dawson Devoy.
The only sensible thing to do is fine Bohs even though they haven't done anything wrong? Not following the logic here.
2 Year Contract
15/08/2024, 8:24 PM
I think if you think the match may not go ahead it would have a bearing on how focused you can be.
If the fear that they might have a Sunday off is going to mentally prevent Bohs from beating a team of ametuers in their second season in existence as a club then I’d be very very worried about the squad of players repeating my club if I were a Bohs fan
Jamesie
15/08/2024, 8:51 PM
If the fear that they might have a Sunday off is going to mentally prevent Bohs from beating a team of ametuers in their second season in existence as a club then I’d be very very worried about the squad of players repeating my club if I were a Bohs fan
They're not amateurs...I've seen most of their games in the flesh and regardless of league standing they play good football and should have more points. They could beat a Premier div side in 90 mins and that includes Bohemians
15/08/2024, 10:23 PM
Ah here, theres a limit to clubs being entirely self serving and in LoI such strategic thinking doesnt go much beyond qualifying for Europe next season. Rovers would only be undermining their own influence within the FAI and administration of the league by breaking away.
There was another thread relatively recently on whether the league should go it alone again or stick with the FAI and the general consensus from fans was to stick currently I think?!
2 Year Contract
15/08/2024, 10:27 PM
They're not amateurs...I've seen most of their games in the flesh and regardless of league standing they play good football and should have more points. They could beat a Premier div side in 90 mins and that includes Bohemians
Wasn’t aware they were paying players this year. I’ve nothing against Kerry and wish them well but there isn’t a chance they do anything but lose to Bohs on sunday
sbgawa
16/08/2024, 12:28 AM
The arrogance of the FAI and how they deal with the clubs is unreal. Sending off are rubber stamped by "appeals boards" regardless of how ridiculous they are.
The refusal of the FAI to hear the appeal by Rovers (which they are 100% entitled to) until after the next round has been played is the ultimate Delaneyesque FAI in action. They could hear the appeal on Friday or Saturday but decide to wait until next week to hear it and let's guess what they decide. I couldn't care less about the cupnbut I am.delighted the FAI have shown themselves to be the same shower of chancers they always were. Being in another few independent directors and turf out these losers. Culture change my Ass.
legendz
16/08/2024, 6:04 AM
The arrogance of the FAI and how they deal with the clubs is unreal. Sending off are rubber stamped by "appeals boards" regardless of how ridiculous they are.
The refusal of the FAI to hear the appeal by Rovers (which they are 100% entitled to) until after the next round has been played is the ultimate Delaneyesque FAI in action. They could hear the appeal on Friday or Saturday but decide to wait until next week to hear it and let's guess what they decide. I couldn't care less about the cupnbut I am.delighted the FAI have shown themselves to be the same shower of chancers they always were. Being in another few independent directors and turf out these losers. Culture change my Ass.
The League Cup or League Trophy, or whatever it was, without a comparable cup competition in Ireland, I find myself swaying on the side of Bohs in this argument. They were given the green light that the cup wasn't a comparable competition. The rules should be updated to offer more clarity around this. The rule as it is did give the FAI the decision that the suspension is served in the league.