View Full Version : 2024 FAI Cup
Pages :
[
10]
joey B
17/08/2024, 9:11 PM
I wonder how many the Drogheda/Wexford final will attract!!!
ger121
17/08/2024, 9:27 PM
What a win for the students! Could be us gone tomorrow. Whoever finishes 9th in the PD should be a little more worried than they were before the weekend.
legendz
17/08/2024, 9:59 PM
Premier Division 1-2 First Division
Derry and Shels will be expected to make the final as long as they avoid each other. There will be at least 4 First Division clubs in the quarter-finals. Athlone and UCD are comfortably 2nd and 3rd. The current playoff structure gives these clubs more leeway to challenge in the cup, without majorly impacting on making the playoffs.
2nd in the First Division beating 3rd from the Premier away and 3rd in the First Division beating 4th from the Premier away are great results against the odds.
oriel
17/08/2024, 10:21 PM
What a win for the students! Could be us gone tomorrow. Whoever finishes 9th in the PD should be a little more worried than they were before the weekend.
If that is us, I had already done the homework on Athlone and UCD as the standouts, on a one off game, anything could happen.
To get to the play off, I'd bite the hand off now, but for the actual PO Final, I'd be taking nothing for granted, a glimmer of hope we have never lost one, beat Waterford twice (97 and the later to be 'it didn't matter by FAI in 06 or 07, enter Maxi with a can of petrol), but wouldn't be counting my chickens for sure if we made the final this year.
oriel
17/08/2024, 10:41 PM
Crikey - Sligo, with six wins in their last seven games, are 2-0 down at home to UCD!
Did not see this coming
Congrats Stu, that is some win, Ronan Finn rolling back the years.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/08/2024, 11:35 PM
We were brutal. Missed a couple of great chances in the second half and then UCDs first was a great goal. They were good. Well organised and a thorn in our side like they have been for 45 years.
placid casual
17/08/2024, 11:48 PM
That's a shocking result for sligo. The form team in the country, they could have strolled into the final considering who's left in.
Delighted for Finner who's a good bloke.
Unless Bohs meet Sligo or Derry in the final it's going to be sub 15k attendance at the final
Dermobohs
18/08/2024, 4:32 AM
That's a shocking result for sligo. The form team in the country, they could have strolled into the final considering who's left in.
Unless Bohs meet Sligo or Derry in the final it's going to be sub 15k attendance at the final
Are Sligo appealing then??
sbgawa
18/08/2024, 7:24 AM
I've never found sligo even slightly appealing.
I have compiled myself this below table of LOI vs Non-League stats for a couple of years now because in recent years it was starting to become so evident the gap growing between the teams, I update it every season so 2024 now included. Results include results after AET but do not include penalty shootout outcomes
3 points for a non-league win, 1 point for a non-league draw etc. with averages for PPG (Points per Game) and GDPG (Goal Difference per Game), all numbers progressively getting worse for the non-league teams with that Maynooth win over Cobh in 2021 standing out as a major outlier
In some defence of the non-league teams the shift of the first round involving LOI teams back in 2017 from May to August and then the next shift in 2021 from August to July has not helped their competitiveness in these fixtures when they are in pre-season
P
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
PPG
GDPG
That table is exactly the data I wanted when I was saying that we could do with re-jigging the cup structure to try and engineer more FD vs NL ties in round one and two. I think the numbers here would have a chance of increasing if all 9 of these ties in each of the past 3 years were against FD instead of PD clubs.
Results in the Waterford and Sligo games has made the shootout loss to Shels much tougher in retrospect.
Draw will be very interesting because if any of Shels, Derry and Bohs* draw each other there's a lot of other teams who'll suddenly fancy there chances of making the semis.
18/08/2024, 9:32 AM
The current playoff structure gives these clubs more leeway to challenge in the cup, without majorly impacting on making the playoffs.
Getting ahead of things, but the cup final and playoff final are down for the same weekend.
Don't think it's ever been an issue in the past?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/08/2024, 9:58 AM
Finn is overage
placid casual
18/08/2024, 10:06 AM
Mea culpa , I meant to write Shels not Sligo.
Although how stupid am I suggesting boez could get to the cup final eh!:)
culloty82
18/08/2024, 10:56 AM
Getting ahead of things, but the cup final and playoff final are down for the same weekend.
Though Treaty did threaten to force the issue a few seasons back when they reached the Cup semis.
culloty82
18/08/2024, 11:02 AM
That table is exactly the data I wanted when I was saying that we could do with re-jigging the cup structure to try and engineer more FD vs NL ties in round one and two. I think the numbers here would have a chance of increasing if all 9 of these ties in each of the past 3 years were against FD instead of PD clubs.
Results in the Waterford and Sligo games has made the shootout loss to Shels much tougher in retrospect.
Draw will be very interesting because if any of Shels, Derry and Bohs* draw each other there's a lot of other teams who'll suddenly fancy there chances of making the semis.
And if the non-league clubs were automatically given home advantage, as happens in the French and German cups - might seem a cosmetic measure, but the PD/FD teams having to travel would reduce the gap slightly, even if not levelling the playing field to a huge extent.
18/08/2024, 12:00 PM
Shels highlights didn’t show the 3 penalty shouts and 2 disallowed goals from Fridays game . Would have loved to see them.
Buckett
18/08/2024, 12:02 PM
I would guess 99% of non league grounds are unfit to hold any sort of decent crowds
Buckett
18/08/2024, 12:05 PM
Shels highlights didn’t show the 3 penalty shouts and 2 disallowed goals from Fridays game . Would have loved to see them.
Nothing stopping you from watching the game back on LOITV. Our first penalty shout was a blatant dive and Jimmy should've been booked. Cunningham also blocked a cross with his hand.
18/08/2024, 12:06 PM
Hopefully it will be 2 out of Derry Bohs and Shels in the final, and even then, I don’t think it will get anywhere near last seasons crowd. It’s a shame, we need the cup final to be a major occasion every year. What was the attendance for Derry/Shels 2 years ago ? Maybe a Dublin Derby of Bohs/Shels might craw a good crowd.
joey B
18/08/2024, 12:16 PM
Hopefully it will be 2 out of Derry Bohs and Shels in the final, and even then, I don’t think it will get anywhere near last seasons crowd. It’s a shame, we need the cup final to be a major occasion every year. What was the attendance for Derry/Shels 2 years ago ? Maybe a Dublin Derby of Bohs/Shels might craw a good crowd.
Maybe we should just let the teams with the biggest fan bases compete in it then ? The crowd will be the crowd but I hope another group of supporters who haven’t had a good day out recently get to experience one this year…..
legendz
18/08/2024, 12:50 PM
Not yet. AFAIK the playoff final will be rescheduled if a playoff finalist makes the cup final. Some provision like that was mentioned many years ago.
sbgawa
18/08/2024, 12:51 PM
Wexford have played two non league teams so far and could be playing athlone, ucd, treaty (maybe kerry :) ) in the quarter final. Luck of the draw
joey B
18/08/2024, 1:00 PM
Wexford have played two non league teams so far and could be playing athlone, ucd, treaty (maybe kerry :) ) in the quarter final. Luck of the draw
Ten years ago we got to a semi final by beating Belgrove,Wexford and Avondale in a replay! Got hockeyed in the Semi 6-1 by Pats but it was a catalyst for us and got people engaged again,that was kinda of my point above,big days can make a difference for smaller clubs !
I get where you’re coming from, and of course it’s great for supporters of clubs like Harps to reach a cup final. At the same time though, you can’t deny that, for instance, a Wexford v UCD final would be an awful look for the domestic game. Not saying that the bigger clubs don’t have to earn the right to be there, of course they do. Last year just showed what the league here (and the cup final) could be.
joey B
18/08/2024, 3:17 PM
I get where you’re coming from, and of course it’s great for supporters of clubs like Harps to reach a cup final. At the same time though, you can’t deny that, for instance, a Wexford v UCD final would be an awful look for the domestic game. Not saying that the bigger clubs don’t have to earn the right to be there, of course they do. Last year just showed what the league here (and the cup final) could be.
We’ll agree to disagree Tony!
joey B
18/08/2024, 3:49 PM
1-1 in Kerry,Kerry’s equaliser looked fairly clearly offside though….
culloty82
18/08/2024, 3:52 PM
2-1 to Bohs now, sadly Kerry have been making a habit of conceding soon after scoring, but certainly not out of it yet!
Bohtastic
18/08/2024, 3:53 PM
Can't understand how the Kerry commentators could say it was 'just onside' - I guess they might not have a straight face saying it?
Mind you, we're poor - nervy stuff which is unsurprising given our league form.
Dermobohs
18/08/2024, 3:54 PM
Wow just seen a replay of the Kerry “goal”.
Ffs it’s two yards off, Neil”the hoop” obviously ****ed off .yet another obvious call missed by a Lino in the loi, truly the worst officials anywhere.
Bohs have been way too slow so far, Kerry doing quite nicely, couple of tidy players there. Some rapid improvement from when I last saw them midway through last season, great to see.
Bohtastic
18/08/2024, 4:13 PM
Ah lads, that's a free out? No?
niallsparky
18/08/2024, 4:15 PM
Bohs have been terrible and Kerry deserve to be level. Their first goal was definitely offside though.
Dermobohs
18/08/2024, 4:21 PM
Ah ffs that’s a blatant push into the keepers back , ffs we’re gettin rode here.
We’re not good by any stretch but holy **** two dodgy goals?
ger121
18/08/2024, 4:23 PM
Do Kerry normally have all these camera angles in Mounthawk?
joey B
18/08/2024, 4:25 PM
Ryan Kelliher won’t be at Kerry for long ….
Onapointoforder
18/08/2024, 4:26 PM
Yeah, some of the comments about the first division standard not looking so smart now. Let's not finish 9th Bohs. The first division standard isn’t great this year, but some of the teams/games in PD are bang average
Onapointoforder
18/08/2024, 4:34 PM
Another team from from the ‘crap’ first division about to take a PD scalp?
cláirseach
18/08/2024, 4:49 PM
Do Kerry normally have all these camera angles in Mounthawk?
Unfortunately not, no. It can often be hard to watch. A hugely improved stream today.
niallsparky
18/08/2024, 4:54 PM
Fair play to Kerry for their performance, but this has been another really bad showing from Bohs. Hard to see any direction or progress under Reynolds.
legendz
18/08/2024, 4:59 PM
Kerry 2-2 Bohemians at full time. Going to extra time. Brave effort by Kerry in normal time. An improvement on the Drogheda game last year at the same stage.
Bohtastic
18/08/2024, 5:22 PM
Jaysus. Kerry goal has some powerful voodoo protecting it.
legendz
18/08/2024, 5:42 PM
Going to penalties in MH Park!!
Johnnie C
18/08/2024, 5:47 PM
Live commentary on Radio Kerry.
https://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/
legendz
18/08/2024, 5:52 PM
2-4 to Bohs on penalties. Kerry bow out of the Cup after a brave effort.
Some really poor pens there by Kerry, lucky escape for Bohs in the end.
I wonder would they have sacked Renny if they had lost? Probably not.
niallsparky
18/08/2024, 5:53 PM
Brave from Kerry alright. Bohs penalties were decent
total hoofball
18/08/2024, 5:55 PM
Congratulations to Kerry for an incredible effort and making that a captivating game of football. Bohs were pathetic
I still say no matter what level of football lack of preparations for penalty shootouts kill all teams at all levels of football, their two missed penalties with the textbook short run-ups and head down right up until striking the ball
Dermobohs
18/08/2024, 5:59 PM
We waste some amount of possession/chances.. totally bossed that game and you never felt a third goal likely.
Fair play Kerry, defended heroically for an hour but poor penalties cost them.
Shinkicker
18/08/2024, 6:00 PM
Kerry v Bohs, typical Bohs, score and take your foot off the gas. Kerry equaliser Dodgy(offside) to say the least, but fair play Bohs went up and took the lead. Bohs started with their foot off the gas and BOOM an early second half Kerry goal to make it 2-2 and then Bohs started to play, not great but they were the better team for what remained. Credit to Spain and Kos they were terrific, while Bohs were wasteful. But fcku it we are in the hat, let's hope we get someone worse than Kerry.
Shearer
18/08/2024, 6:26 PM
Saw none of today's game but fair play to Kerry, seems they died with their boots on.
He's just a good First Division player imo, nothing wrong with that either.
Kerry have him tied down for next season I believe
legendz
18/08/2024, 6:40 PM
He's just a good First Division player imo, nothing wrong with that either.
Kerry have him tied down for next season I believe
I think it would take a Premier Division club or the current 8th and 9th clubs suffering a surprise relegation for Kelliher to move. Gaxha going to Galway was understandable.