View Full Version : FAI Cup 2021

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14

EatYerGreens
19/09/2021, 12:48 PM
I didn’t realise that a replay was on the cards last night and I was waiting for updates if it went to penos after ET lol Drogs vs Derry went to ET and penos.

Was surprised as well when I saw the result and it didn't indicate ET and penos. Replays are old hat these days, and just get in the way of league fixtures.

EatYerGreens
19/09/2021, 1:15 PM
When is the semi-final draw ?

D24Saint
19/09/2021, 1:23 PM
When is the semi-final draw ?

Normally on a Tuesday evening on that mickey mouse 2fm sports show.

EatYerGreens
19/09/2021, 2:02 PM
Normally on a Tuesday evening on that mickey mouse 2fm sports show.

It should be on the main evening RTE1 news. Even if the FAI have to slip RTE a few quid for the pleasure (though they could tie it in with broadcasting rights ongoing). Especially in this the 100th anniversary year of the Cup.

Domestic football has to be placed much more at the centre of life in this country at every opportunity.

D24Saint
19/09/2021, 4:10 PM
It should be on the main evening RTE1 news. Even if the FAI have to slip RTE a few quid for the pleasure (though they could tie it in with broadcasting rights ongoing). Especially in this the 100th anniversary year of the Cup.

Domestic football has to be placed much more at the centre of life in this country at every opportunity.

I totally agree that it should be on the six one news. I thought the first cup final was in 1922.

19/09/2021, 5:44 PM
Its not the only time that VP has being givin out about pitches after us beating them he criticised our pitch. Hes going through the motions looking for excuses. disappointed with him after he was such a fans fav with us but since he became coach I havent the same time for him before as it was once was.

ontheotherhand
19/09/2021, 6:09 PM
He's the ultimate spoofer. Get's an easy time from people for some reason but any man who talks about himself in the third person as much as he does is a suspect character. He's had two swings at possibly the largest budget in LoI history as well as inheriting one of the best teams in LoI history and he's failed both times, making ridiculous excuses along the way. Imagine blaming the pitch when your home ground is a plastic mat laid over concrete. It says a lot about Dundalk's situation that his second appointment still made some sort of sense.

EatYerGreens
19/09/2021, 8:08 PM
I totally agree that it should be on the six one news. I thought the first cup final was in 1922.

It was - March 1922, in the 1921/22 season.

So either the Nov 2021 cup final marks it 4 months early of the centenary, or the Nov 2022 one does so 8 months late of the event.

Asterix
20/09/2021, 1:12 PM
4 covid cases in the dundalk team with the rest awaiting results. It could be Harps year.

EAFC_rdfl
20/09/2021, 1:31 PM
Semi final draw is to be during the live match on Friday on RTE2

D24Saint
20/09/2021, 1:34 PM
Semi final draw is to be during the live match on Friday on RTE2

A step in the right direction good to see the draw back on the box.

20/09/2021, 1:34 PM
Its not the only time that VP has being givin out about pitches after us beating them he criticised our pitch. Hes going through the motions looking for excuses. disappointed with him after he was such a fans fav with us but since he became coach I havent the same time for him before as it was once was.

I havent been to away games at Harps or Longford so cant be specific on the respective pitches. Excuse or not, or whether the pitch in Oriel is poor, It doesnt mean that grass pitches if poor should be exempt from criticism. It doesnt endear a manager to risk sounding like they are making excuse and anyway a slick, well kept and watered pitch would make damn all difference when so badly out of form, our defence would be sliced apart against a half decent side so maybe VP should be careful on what he wishes for.

D24Saint
20/09/2021, 1:35 PM
4 covid cases in the dundalk team with the rest awaiting results. It could be Harps year.

Where did you see this , have Dundalk made a statement. What happens if it turns out to be a large outbreak in the squad.

Yossarian
20/09/2021, 1:51 PM
I havent been to away games at Harps or Longford so cant be specific on the respective pitches. Excuse or not, or whether the pitch in Oriel is poor, It doesnt mean that grass pitches if poor should be exempt from criticism. It doesnt endear a manager to risk sounding like they are making excuse and anyway a slick, well kept and watered pitch would make damn all difference when so badly out of form, our defence would be sliced apart against a half decent side so maybe VP should be careful on what he wishes for.

I was at both those games and the pitches were fine. Perth is full of excuses but fails to look at how in two seasons running players have stopped playing for him.

2 Year Contract
20/09/2021, 2:34 PM

In fairness to Bill Hulsizer he did tell the fans to look for the positives after all ;)

sbgawa
20/09/2021, 2:55 PM
In fairness to Bill Hulsizer he did tell the fans to look for the positives after all ;)

Boom, that made me laugh.

I know the league was covered if you have enough under 19s you play but i wonder is the FAI cup covered under the same participation agreement. (if Dundalk were without 9 or 10 players )
I suppose it is but you never know.

Edit: according to the Sun (i know) if you have 14 fit players you play, if you dont you concede the match....sounds to black and white for the FAI

20/09/2021, 3:02 PM

No idea about Longford, was down there in August and it was fine, but Finn Park pitch, this season, has been in probably the best condition it's ever been.

sbgawa
20/09/2021, 4:10 PM
No idea about Longford, was down there in August and it was fine, but Finn Park pitch, this season, has been in probably the best condition it's ever been.

Vinnie was 100% right about the pitch being terrible FFS.
The pitch had covid. how much worse as a pitch could it be ? It passed it on to the Dundalk players, Ollie has a secret cure that he was feeding the Harps lads at half time.
Bill is threatening a nuclear strike on Finn park, Ollie told him no one would notice 'and sure we will be knocking it down anyway for the new place'

total hoofball
20/09/2021, 5:21 PM
Edit: according to the Sun (i know) if you have 14 fit players you play, if you dont you concede the match....sounds to black and white for the FAI
Don't be surprised if the FAI rip-up their own rulebook to postpone the game to accommodate Dundalk's last chance for European football

joey B
20/09/2021, 7:08 PM
Gerry Malone now reporting its 1 positive, 2 inconclusive and the other 1 who knows, God knows what happening tbh,,....

Finlay Harp
20/09/2021, 7:11 PM
It’s a smokescreen. We’ll arrive and Dundalk will have a full team out.

20/09/2021, 7:45 PM
Gerry Malone now reporting its 1 positive, 2 inconclusive and the other 1 who knows, God knows what happening tbh,,....

Bill is using a Magic 8 Ball instead of PCR tests.

EatYerGreens
20/09/2021, 11:29 PM
What date are the semi-final matches scheduled for ? Presumably they'll both be on RTE this year ?

trevy
21/09/2021, 8:51 AM
I heard the semi finals are to be October 22nd to 25th so bank holiday weekend. The draw will be on Friday on RTE after the Pats v Rovers game.

21/09/2021, 9:28 AM
Don't be surprised if the FAI rip-up their own rulebook to postpone the game to accommodate Dundalk's last chance for European football

Yes cause Shamrock Rovers FAI love us!!

mcgonigle
21/09/2021, 6:00 PM

One things for sure. If Gerry Malone is saying it, it's wrong. 3 out, Boyle, Cleary and Stanton. No centre half's and no experienced outfield players on the bench. Will be a long night

D24Saint
21/09/2021, 6:54 PM
Absolutely cracking goal by Harps.

CorribsideSteve
21/09/2021, 7:00 PM
The only thing cracking for Dundalk are the player's souls

Northsider
21/09/2021, 7:01 PM
Absolutely cracking goal by Harps.

Lovely finish

https://twitter.com/SSEAirtricityLg/status/1440389901703286784?s=19

CorribsideSteve
21/09/2021, 7:27 PM
That's the best bit of skill I've ever seen from Hoban. Game on.

joey B
21/09/2021, 7:36 PM
Terrible goal to concede there,3 of them fell asleep….

CorribsideSteve
21/09/2021, 8:59 PM
Michael Duffy!!!! What.A.Goal.

PartySaint
21/09/2021, 9:01 PM
Can we please have 1 cup final without Dundalk in it.

bohsmug
21/09/2021, 9:04 PM
Dundalk pretty good when their motivated.

joey B
21/09/2021, 9:18 PM
Brutal from us there tonight,Leahy and Animasahun at CB and made it so easy for them,A very Finn Harps night in fairness,painful.........

PartySaint
21/09/2021, 9:30 PM
Interesting semi finals on the way, all 4 teams capable of beating each other. Bohs are the favourites with the bookies.

Pats are 12 points ahead of Bohs (2 games in hand), 21 points ahead of Waterford and 22 points ahead of Dundalk but I still don’t want any of them away from home.

joey B
21/09/2021, 9:45 PM
Interesting semi finals on the way, all 4 teams capable of beating each other. Bohs are the favourites with the bookies.

Pats are 12 points ahead of Bohs (2 games in hand), 21 points ahead of Waterford and 22 points ahead of Dundalk but I still don’t want any of them away from home.

Probably obvious but whoever gets the 2 home draws will have the big advantage,id have my money on Bohs but if Dundalk get healthy you'd never rule them out......

mcgonigle
21/09/2021, 9:52 PM
One things for sure. If Gerry Malone is saying it, it's wrong. 3 out, Boyle, Cleary and Stanton. No centre half's and no experienced outfield players on the bench. Will be a long night

Called it, was a long night but for Harps who were very poor. An 18 year old and Leahy at centre half and they strolled through the game. Harps will never get a better chance. Be hard for Ollie to defect this result.

22/09/2021, 12:13 AM
Totally dejected after that. Three games in a week caught up with us. 1-0 up, controlling the game, and should have had two or three in the first half. Didn't turn up for the rest of the game. Just gutted.

ToberonaTornado
22/09/2021, 3:04 AM
Disagree that we cant win it on Tuesday - We'll have a partisan support in op same as Harps had last night and i think that will be a huge factor.In fact,i think having fans back in op will be the factor that will see us staying up.
It'll be a scrap alright but i think the home advantage will get us into the sf'

Our home crowd were the 12th man last night and Hoban a good call for captain and was a man inspired throughout the match. MOTM

If we can get out of this week with 3 points against Sligo i'll be a happy man.

Finlay Harp
22/09/2021, 7:31 AM
We should have been home and dry in the first half. Chances not taken and gave Dundalk a gift wrapped first. Didn’t push on in the second half. Second half was dire. Full time training showed for Dundalk in extra time.

mcgonigle
22/09/2021, 10:28 AM
Interesting to see Ollie and Harps fans talking about Dundalk's superior fitness. Of course full time training makes a difference, but when you have played so many games in short succession with practically the same 11 then that should level the playing field. Even "part-time" players should be able to handle three games in a short period at this stage of the season, particularly if they can be rotated.
So sorry Harps fans that's a poor excuse, I would seriously be wondering why your team was unable to beat an incredibly patched up, confidence sapped Dundalk last night. It has nothing to do with fitness, the Dundalk lads were all on their knees at full-time.

On a side note, since refs have been rightly given plenty of stick recently, I thought Ben Connolly was very good last night. Maybe my expectations are rock bottom though

Finlay Harp
22/09/2021, 10:54 AM
I’ll agree to disagree on the fitness.
Half the Harps team had a days work done before the match yesterday.
As for the ref he was Ok but I don’t think the penalty was a penalty. Little to no contact.

ToberonaTornado
22/09/2021, 11:27 AM
Nobody or sfa from Harps complained about the pen,like the usual side line artists didn't get over animated when it was given either. Dundalk played with u-19's on the subs bench some of them hadn't even got a squad number.
BUT yeah.FULL TIME!

CorribsideSteve
22/09/2021, 11:28 AM
Interesting to see Ollie and Harps fans talking about Dundalk's superior fitness. Of course full time training makes a difference, but when you have played so many games in short succession with practically the same 11 then that should level the playing field. Even "part-time" players should be able to handle three games in a short period at this stage of the season, particularly if they can be rotated.
So sorry Harps fans that's a poor excuse, I would seriously be wondering why your team was unable to beat an incredibly patched up, confidence sapped Dundalk last night. It has nothing to do with fitness, the Dundalk lads were all on their knees at full-time.

On a side note, since refs have been rightly given plenty of stick recently, I thought Ben Connolly was very good last night. Maybe my expectations are rock bottom though

I thought the same, but still thought "huh, that's rare", which shouldn't be the case. Harps really didn't take their chances. Miyowa(sp?) was in all sorts of bother for the first 30 minutes and Harps tried but failed to make hay in that period. Fair play oto the young lad, he got better and better as the game went on though.For a while before Murray scored, nobody would have been surprised if Harps had gone 2-0 ahead. Then Murray scores, Cherrie makes a big double save early in the 2nd half, soft penalty concede, and momentum completely left them at that stage.

22/09/2021, 12:08 PM
I’ll agree to disagree on the fitness.
Half the Harps team had a days work done before the match yesterday.
As for the ref he was Ok but I don’t think the penalty was a penalty. Little to no contact.

Hard to say for sure without a camera angle from behind but going by the reaction of the Harps fans, heads in hands, before the ref blew for the peno I think it was expected. There wasnt too much protesting the decision. I dont think fitness was the issue for Harps, I think that Dundalk gained confidence from coming from behind, weathering the storm 1st half, and realised they werent being out fought by a physically bigger side. The centre half pairing worked better than expected and the keeper was looking solid enough, throw in a good sized vocal crowd that were behind the team and it all added up. Sloggett had a good game, Hoban made the out ball stick which was key, and there werent really any passengers. If I had a criticism of Harps it was that went from stretching us playing some lovely football 1st half but then got sucked in to a broken up scrappy game, Dundalk then played some nice stuff in ET. It was a bit back to basics with the patched up team and it worked - interesting that VP said they had no prep for the game with all the disruption - maybe there had been some overcoaching happening.

joey B
22/09/2021, 12:22 PM
Hard to say for sure without a camera angle from behind but going by the reaction of the Harps fans, heads in hands, before the ref blew for the peno I think it was expected. There wasnt too much protesting the decision. I dont think fitness was the issue for Harps, I think that Dundalk gained confidence from coming from behind, weathering the storm 1st half, and realised they werent being out fought by a physically bigger side. The centre half pairing worked better than expected and the keeper was looking solid enough, throw in a good sized vocal crowd that were behind the team and it all added up. Sloggett had a good game, Hoban made the out ball stick which was key, and there werent really any passengers. If I had a criticism of Harps it was that went from stretching us playing some lovely football 1st half but then got sucked in to a broken up scrappy game, Dundalk then played some nice stuff in ET. It was a bit back to basics with the patched up team and it worked - interesting that VP said they had no prep for the game with all the disruption - maybe there had been some overcoaching happening.

I’d say that’s a fair summary of it,I’ve no idea if it was a penalty I don’t care either,we lost because we couldn’t score more than 1 goal against a left back and an 18 year old playing center half.

When I saw Dundalks team sheet my over riding thought was if we don’t beat them it’ll be a poor,poor result and in true Finn Harps fashion we found a way to lose,pretty dejected over the whole night tbh….

22/09/2021, 2:47 PM
On the stream I thought it looked a penalty.

oriel
22/09/2021, 5:24 PM
Animasahun at CB for Dundalk last night was just superb, his first ever start for the first team, 18 yo and local lad, great to see.

Just the 4 central defenders of Boyle, Cleary, Gartland and Nattestad all out, well 3 really, the latter is useless and makes as many mistakes as Abibi so thankfully both didn't play.

Amazing performance really given no recognised centre half's and 12 missing players, only kids on the bench too, hence subs used as late as possible, great atmosphere too, fans made their presence felt.

FH should have targeted the middle of our defence with high balls more, I also think they were a little complacent, it was a good chance to beat Dundalk, but we actually got stronger as the game went on, and during ET. Couldn't get over the size of some of the FH players, they were giants !

Be some achievement if we make 7th consecutive cup final, lost 3 of them mind, but two on pens and 1 in 119th min.

22/09/2021, 6:16 PM
Animasahun at CB for Dundalk last night was just superb, his first ever start for the first team, 18 yo and local lad, great to see.

Just the 4 central defenders of Boyle, Cleary, Gartland and Nattestad all out, well 3 really, the latter is useless and makes as many mistakes as Abibi so thankfully both didn't play.

Amazing performance really given no recognised centre half's and 12 missing players, only kids on the bench too, hence subs used as late as possible, great atmosphere too, fans made their presence felt.

FH should have targeted the middle of our defence with high balls more, I also think they were a little complacent, it was a good chance to beat Dundalk, but we actually got stronger as the game went on, and during ET. Couldn't get over the size of some of the FH players, they were giants !

Be some achievement if we make 7th consecutive cup final, lost 3 of them mind, but two on pens and 1 in 119th min.

Shush you are making us sound like Shamrock Rovers!!