View Full Version : FAI Cup 2021
Pages :
[
4]
D24Saint
27/08/2021, 7:50 PM
They're already dancing in the streets of St.Mochtas as we type. Surely Dundalk can do enough to win this?
Their local the Clonsilla Inn is showing the game I heard, I’d say it exploded with their goal.
27/08/2021, 8:08 PM
Well, it was hilarious while it lasted anyway...
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 8:14 PM
Weve been the better team so far. Its gonna be gutting when Pats score in the 88th minute
D24Saint
27/08/2021, 8:15 PM
The non league clubs put up a good show to a certain degree. In fairness to kilnamanagh a good few players are on holiday, I’m not saying it would affect the result but might have helped narrow the gap a tad.
Jack B
27/08/2021, 8:22 PM
This has been absolutely horrific viewing.
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 8:33 PM
Weve been the better team so far. Its gonna be gutting when Pats score in the 88th minute
Called it. They haven't even been any good.
Jack B
27/08/2021, 8:36 PM
This has been absolutely horrific viewing.
...for Cork fans.
Absolute clinic from us. Can't believe it's only been one.
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 8:38 PM
Get the **** in!!!!
27/08/2021, 8:46 PM
Colm Whelan on the mark again for us - 33 goals in 41 games now; he's two off our senior top ten scorers now. Fairly even game, but Longford got the breaks that come with being bottom of the league unfortunately.
Harps beating Derry is a big score in terms of the fourth European spot. Would mean only two of the current top half left in the quarter-final draw (or one if Cork can beat Pats)
D24Saint
27/08/2021, 9:03 PM
Get the **** in!!!!
:( Damm this cup fight to the bitter end mentality, down with this sort of thing.
ger121
27/08/2021, 9:11 PM
The cup is certainly killing Premier Division sides this season. Some game down in the Cross so could be another gone. Going to my first Bohs game in Dalymount Sunday since pre Covid. I was one of the lucky ones due to the extra increase in capacity. Can’t wait!
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 9:11 PM
We're under serious pressure now. Missing Murphys ability to hold onto the ball up top, even if he was knackered.
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 9:22 PM
Penalties at the Shed End
ger121
27/08/2021, 9:23 PM
Hold your nerve
joey B
27/08/2021, 9:24 PM
Fine start to the weekend!!
El-Pietro
27/08/2021, 9:27 PM
Gutted. Poor penalties from Coffey and Crowley
ger121
27/08/2021, 9:28 PM
Jesus that was bad
Jack B
27/08/2021, 9:30 PM
Got away with that. Cracking stuff in the shoot out in fairness.
mcgonigle
27/08/2021, 9:47 PM
Phew. After that first half I was thinking this could be the most embarrassing result for a Premier Division side in 24 hours
thebronze14
27/08/2021, 9:56 PM
Ah that was great. Neither side played well but Harps just edged it I felt...Good to be in the draw anyway. Great to see the passion from local lad Johnny Dunleavy at the end!
D24Saint
27/08/2021, 10:13 PM
Ah that was great. Neither side played well but Harps just edged it I felt...Good to be in the draw anyway. Great to see the passion from local lad Johnny Dunleavy at the end!
Result of the round so far.
27/08/2021, 11:30 PM
Got away with that. Cracking stuff in the shoot out in fairness.
It was looking like a Pats return to their cup hoodoo for a bit! Can Harps be the cup team this year, it does happen now and again! Now more than ever Dundalk need the luck of the draw to stick - Avoid Pats, Harps, and the winner of Bohs and Rovers. Maynooth/Cobh/Wexford/Kilester at home please and in the mean time play in to some league form and get players fit again before the semis - not asking too much of the Dundalk football gods I think!
I thought Harps played quite well at least in terms of being affective, certainly value for the win.
27/08/2021, 11:45 PM
Not a classic. Not an amazing performance, but job done. Harps dug deep, and Tunde stuck away the penalty superbly.
Derry had their moments, Doherty came back to haunt them with a couple of good saves and really commanded his area well.
Think harps were worth the win in the end though.
PartySaint
28/08/2021, 12:50 AM
Phew!!! We were absolutely shocking tonight except for 16 year old James Abankwah at centre back who had a good game.
In the hat for the next round though and that’s all that matters.
Not a classic. Not an amazing performance, but job done. Harps dug deep, and Tunde stuck away the penalty superbly.
Derry had their moments, Doherty came back to haunt them with a couple of good saves and really commanded his area well.
Think harps were worth the win in the end though.
Thought Doherty was excellent especially for a man who has been playing very little footbal the last couple of years.
He didn’t have much to do but what he did have to do done well and everything he came for he took well, he didn’t have to be spectacular but was very solid, faultless throughout
ToberonaTornado
28/08/2021, 4:21 AM
No disrespect to St.Moctha's,but they were outclassed by Dundalk last night.
We're no great shakes ourselves atm but we dismantled them in the 2nd half.
Some HUGE games ahead for us as with our struggles towards the bottom rnd of the table and our injury list is awful but after this performance i can see us rising up the table from here on in.
Hoban was his usual same as always and grabbed a nice wee & very welcome hat-trick,guy is hopefully hitting form at the right time.
Abibi was replaced(rested ;-) ) in gk with Yates debuting(he had sfa to do bar picking the mochta's goal out of the net)
Waterford away next week for us will paint a bigger picture on where we are i reckon.
Comfortable win for Waterford last night. John Martin got his usual 2 poachers goals, Phoenix Patterson scored a cracking free kick and good strike from Cameron Evans as well. Kilnamanagh had some good moments and got a deserved consolation goal near the end.
The draw will be interesting next week.
D24Saint
28/08/2021, 8:07 AM
Comfortable win for Waterford last night. John Martin got his usual 2 poachers goals, Phoenix Patterson scored a cracking free kick and good strike from Cameron Evans as well. Kilnamanagh had some good moments and got a deserved consolation goal near the end.
The draw will be interesting next week.
It was great to see the Rockets on the big stage against a club like Waterford. It’s another sign of the great progress the club is making on and off the field. The seniors promoted to the top LSL league , a thriving underage set up & planning being sought for a €500k new club house. Fair play to Keith Foy for getting the club this far in the FAI cup.
placid casual
28/08/2021, 9:16 AM
Pat's name appears to be on the cup.
If they can get their defenders back for the further rounds they'd be a good cup bet, for my money.
patsdad
28/08/2021, 9:52 AM
Pat's name appears to be on the cup.
If they can get their defenders back for the further rounds they'd be a good cup bet, for my money.
Two centre halves were on yellow card suspensions and the third is following return to play protocols after concussion so all should be grand for next round. Plus we have a star in the making in the 16 year old Abankwah who was flawless last night, while Griffin returned after a long injury, so Mountney is now the only long-term absentee in defence.
28/08/2021, 1:01 PM
It's Harps cup to lose now.
28/08/2021, 1:22 PM
Didn't ye jinx the league the same way? :p
El-Pietro
28/08/2021, 5:29 PM
Last night was my second game back. I got to one game last year after the initial lockdown, also against Pats coincidentally and we were battered in that game. Last night reminded me why I enjoy live football so much, even when the football itself isn't at its best. We were the better team in the ninety though really neither team tested the opposition keeper much.
Scoring with effectively the last kick of the game into the Shed was a brilliant moment and Coffey is quickly becoming a fan favourite.
Extra time we were barely hanging on as fatigue set in and our penalties were very poor, but there's no shame in our lads going out like that to a title contender. Gives us some hope for next year.
Cian Coleman was excellent at centre back and showed some real leadership consoling Coffey for his missed penalty. He met him half way between the box and halfway line to lift his spirits. Cian Murphy looks like he could maybe be a Premier Division player, or at the least a very good First Division one, and the rest can all hold their heads high. Though Dylan McGlade is the most frustrating footballer alive. Always had to take an extra touch when he has a shot on or a pass, and more often than not ends up in a worse position as a result.
Hopefully next season with decent crowds back we can have an enjoyable season. Id love to get back to an away game at some point. My last one was the six nil loss in Tallaght.
28/08/2021, 7:08 PM
Extra time we were barely hanging on as fatigue set in and our penalties were very poor,
They were embarrassing but dont tell sullane!
joey B
28/08/2021, 8:01 PM
Maynooth beat Cobh!
D24Saint
28/08/2021, 8:25 PM
Maynooth beat Cobh!
Is Killduff the manager or just a coach.
sullanefc
28/08/2021, 8:39 PM
Maynooth beat Cobh!
Embarrassing. 😬
joey B
28/08/2021, 8:49 PM
Is Killduff the manager or just a coach.
He’s player/coach I think…
28/08/2021, 10:26 PM
Embarrassing.
Cobh, like Cork now have no distractions now so they can concentrate on who is tops in Co. Cork, should be an interesting mini league within a league. And its not embarrassing Its football!! get it right...
29/08/2021, 9:01 AM
All set up for the big college derby in the quarter finals!
D24Saint
29/08/2021, 9:06 AM
Is a date set for the draw ? Hopefully next time it will be given more respect than a sideshow on 2fm. I thought the last effort was shameful by the FAI & RTÉ.
29/08/2021, 9:11 AM
I normally ask you that question, I think? :p
Yeah, I have no idea how the FAI continually make such an amateur hames of something so simple as the presentation of a Cup draw.
Dalymountrower
29/08/2021, 9:33 AM
Catholic Universoty v Catholic Seminary who would the Pope of Rome be shouting for?
Philosophizer
29/08/2021, 9:35 AM
Maynooth beat Cobh!
Maynooth have made great strides in the last 10 years. They hired a full time football development officer about 10 years ago and starting offering football scholarships. Soon after they also set up the merger with the town club. It's paid massive dividends.
29/08/2021, 10:03 AM
Catholic Universoty v Catholic Seminary who would the Pope of Rome be shouting for?
St Francis fc.
Philosophizer
29/08/2021, 1:22 PM
Even game here in Killester. Both sides with a couple of chances so far but no breakthrough. Keepers made decent saves for both sides.
Philosophizer
29/08/2021, 1:50 PM
Very competitive game in Killester. 0-0 at half time. It's a bit helter skelter at times but that's cup football I suppose. Couple of very strong challenges on both sides too. Both sides have 1 or 2 yellows.
Embarrassing.
How dare you, there was a bit in the DFC online programme last Fri (available to anyone I think to view https://www.dundalkfc.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/15_StMochtas_56_Digital-1.pdf), we still have the record in LOI of 6 defeats to NL sides in FAI Cup, one was actually Cobh in 1983, the other remarkable one was Ashtown Villa in 1992, both of these as defending league champions too (1982 + 1991).
Glad it didn't change to 7 !
Philosophizer
29/08/2021, 2:12 PM
Wexford starting to turn the screw now. Dominating the 2nd half. No 16 up front for Wex a dangerous player.