View Full Version : FAI Cup 2021
Pages :
[
10]
Calcio Jack
22/10/2021, 8:36 PM
Not that it will change anything but Kelly looked to be offside- more awful referring though
Dundalk gone so with Europe most unlikely so their value just plummeted.
Straightstory
22/10/2021, 8:43 PM
Yes - clearly offside. Hard to feel sorry for Waterford, though. Negative from the very beginning.
Jack B
22/10/2021, 8:53 PM
Hahahahaha @ Hoban. Good Times.
sbgawa
22/10/2021, 8:55 PM
Kelly pushing up his wages in derry every week
22/10/2021, 9:04 PM
Not that it will change anything but Kelly looked to be offside- more awful referring though
Dundalk gone so with Europe most unlikely so their value just plummeted.
Yeah, the next 12 months will be...interesting there.
Two playoff dry-runs in the First Division tonight. Not a great game in the Bowl - in fact, I snuck off and watched the LSL team for the last 20. But that just gave me two 2-1 wins at the same time, so a good call I think!
wexfordned
22/10/2021, 10:00 PM
Yes - clearly offside. Hard to feel sorry for Waterford, though. Negative from the very beginning.
Waterford time wasting from the kick off. Long throws and set pieces the only time they looked dangerous. Justice done in end with Georgie's goal.
Looking forward to the final. Bohs are going to take over Aviva. Pitch suits out style of play as well.
Thank **** it's an FAI cup final without Dundalk or SRFC for a change
ger121
23/10/2021, 12:38 AM
Back to our home away from home. I was starting to think we’d never make the final again given our results in semi-finals in recent years. I fancy a big crowd at the final too from both sides. Just need to focus on 3rd/4th in the league now to guarantee European Football, no matter what the outcome of the final is. Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that and we finally win some silverware.
ToberonaTornado
23/10/2021, 2:29 AM
Yeah, the next 12 months will be...interesting there.
Two playoff dry-runs in the First Division tonight. Not a great game in the Bowl - in fact, I snuck off and watched the LSL team for the last 20. But that just gave me two 2-1 wins at the same time, so a good call I think!
The next 12 days will be interesting n'er mind the next 12 months!
Pats by far the better side last night.Congrats on reaching the final and hope yous win it BUT please,please suffer a serious hangover on Monday evening :p;)
23/10/2021, 10:06 AM
My God, but that felt good. I had just about convinced myself that wewere going out, so that makes it even better. Terrific performance, and the second and third goals were things of beauty. What a star Darragh Burns is. Sadly I can’t see us holding on to him for too long. Anyway, roll on the Aviva.
joey B
23/10/2021, 10:10 AM
Should be a good final,first all Dublin final in 21 years I think,I’d put Pats favourites but it’ll be a tough one to separate….
CorribsideSteve
23/10/2021, 11:02 AM
Dundalk's last chance at turning a chaotic season into something successful has evaporated. Pats by far the better team, but games change on moments too. Pats scored not long after a tremendous 30 yard effort from Stanton for Dundalk. Great goals from them, especially the second one. Dundalk right flank and their midfield in general were as pourous as swiss cheese, and Pats looked dangerous exploiting it, anytime Dundalk pushed up. I was so impressed with young Darragh Burns. You could see through him, and other Pats players that they were collectively more 'up for it' than Dundalk were, and fair play to them.It's going to be a good final with two good teams.As for Dundalk, no European football now, unless 3rd to 7th all capitulate while they win their remaining games, which sems unlikely. They do have to play Pats again in the League shortly, so you never know, they could focus everything into winning their last 6 and taking it from there, but the manner of the defeat and the disappointment that follows it, will be hard to lift out of I reckon.
Northsider
23/10/2021, 11:34 AM
What a tremendous job Keith Long has done! Taking the club from death's door to a cup final. Remarkable achievement, can't wait now for another day out at Lansdowne Road, there will be a massive Bohs crowd there. We will be underdogs but hopefully we can give a good account of ourselves.
5th in a very very poor league and won nout with a decent squad could be done by somebody in their sleep surely.
I mean I reckon Derry will finish 3rd with a poorer, an almost Irish League standard line up and with a 10 game handicap.
D24Saint
23/10/2021, 12:50 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/ballsdotie/status/1451649313566871557?s=21
I’d imagine John Sheridan would enjoy this.
trevy
23/10/2021, 12:59 PM
It looked like Waterford would hold on for the draw which we would have been happy with down to 10 men for a good while. Wordsworth should have scored that early chance. Hard to tell if goal was offside or not, very tight.
Some fans acting the idiots on both sides during the game and security was fairly weak there. A group of young Bohs fans charged into the exit where Waterford fans were leaving attacking a few. One Stone Island jumper wearing teenager got a few belts of a Garda baton when they saw what was happening.
23/10/2021, 1:36 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/ballsdotie/status/1451649313566871557?s=21
I’d imagine John Sheridan would enjoy this.
That is quality in fairness
Calcio Jack
23/10/2021, 1:54 PM
Have to give credit to Kelly for the quality of his post match interview …. Not going to be a hypocrite so was of course hoping for a Waterford win…. But his joy and exuberance and his connection with his fans has to be lauded - as Clough used to say “…. He’s a fine young man….- it’s that sort of moment that makes our league very special
Northsider
23/10/2021, 4:32 PM
5th in a very very poor league and won nout with a decent squad could be done by somebody in their sleep surely.
I mean I reckon Derry will finish 3rd with a poorer, an almost Irish League standard line up and with a 10 game handicap.
Ah don't be so negative, we're delighted to reach a cup final. Park the cynicism for a day or two.
ontheotherhand
23/10/2021, 5:22 PM
Ah don't be so negative, we're delighted to reach a cup final. Park the cynicism for a day or two.
It's not a Bohs forum in all fairness. You are telling us Long has done a tremendous job and DCWA is just telling you he hasn't. You got a lovely route to the final and you might get a trophy which, to be fair, your best performances this season might deserve. But you're still 5th in a 10 team league with possibly the best striker in Ireland. Wouldn't say that's a tremendous return.
2 Year Contract
23/10/2021, 8:54 PM
Best night in years down in Inchicore last night. Some great goals and a very enjoyable game, great advert for the leag…. oh wait RTE ;)
Darragh Burns is a special special talent and definitely one for the 'get out and watch him in the flesh while you still can' category
2 Year Contract
24/10/2021, 10:19 AM
Brilliant behind the scenes video by Bernardo Santos on the Pats media team from Friday night. He's been making them all season but this is probably the best one in my opinion. Just goes to show what can be done on a small scale budget
https://youtu.be/o7xorZMQ0xw
EatYerGreens
24/10/2021, 11:26 AM
Brilliant behind the scenes video by Bernardo Santos on the Pats media team from Friday night. He's been making them all season but this is probably the best one in my opinion. Just goes to show what can be done on a small scale budget
The FAI will be pleased that the video makes it easy for them to tot up all the flares etc for the penalties they'll be levying on Pats ! :eek:
joey B
24/10/2021, 11:53 AM
The FAI will be pleased that the video makes it easy for them to tot up all the flares etc for the penalties they'll be levying on Pats ! :eek:
The FAI will probably be using said videos in promoting the final aswell :confused:
Jack B
24/10/2021, 5:04 PM
On flares, have to say one of the weirder things I've ever witnessed at a game was a Dundalk fan appearing to throw one at or at least right in the direction of Cherrie when it was still 0-0. Good thing he was at the other end for the second and third goals!
24/10/2021, 5:56 PM
At times I dont think these types know where they are never mind details like who is in goal!
colonelwest
24/10/2021, 8:00 PM
On flares, have to say one of the weirder things I've ever witnessed at a game was a Dundalk fan appearing to throw one at or at least right in the direction of Cherrie when it was still 0-0. Good thing he was at the other end for the second and third goals!
Exact same thing happened in Dalymount last week too, if some of them had brains they'd be dangerous.
24/10/2021, 8:14 PM
Unfortunately even the single cell Brainiacs have shown to be dangerous. Its preaching to the choir here I know, but that case in Eyre Square recently, where a woman waiting at a bus stop being hit by a firework shows the damage that can be done by muppets 'having a laugh' with pyro - closing Eyre Square at night is a possibility due to ongoing issues. The poor woman has been badly disfigured and supposedly blinded maybe permanently. A similar firework was fired over the pitch and players in Oriel a few weeks ago. From a purely football angle, how can a keeper concentrate on his game when 2 games in a row in front of his own fans he has had flares thrown in his direction. People know who the culprits are, there is video footage also of the incident i Oriel so for no action to happen bar an FAI fine is a damn disgrace and its only a matter of time before an injury ends up in a costly lawsuit for a club. I dont understand why its just let go. A start would be the FAI, clubs and RTE et al not using footage of flares in highlight reels. Id go as far as RTE refusing to cover games in Oriel due to the risk to their staff in the gabtry over the shed until something gets done.
That said, for as stupid as some of our fans are with fireworks, this is...well i dont know how to call it. Graphic stupidity rather than graphic injury - off topic but in the ball park of the types tha probably have to be dealt with....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYbjinjgIVI
A number of flares and fireworks thrown on at Dalymount on Friday night by both sets of fans. One thrown by Waterford fans narrowly missed the head of a female steward who was clearing away another one from the goalmouth before kick off.
pateen
27/10/2021, 6:23 PM
Music is way over the top but the footage is great and the shot of the pub banter looks great too
Burnsie
28/10/2021, 2:58 PM
Is there any indication when tickets will go on sale?
Bohs11
28/10/2021, 3:38 PM
https://www.ticketmaster.ie/the-extra-ie-fai-cup-final-bohemian-fc-v-st-patrick-s-athletic-fc-dublin-28-11-2021/event/18005B5B242A8533
General sale tickets out now - still waiting to hear about the club allocations.
PartySaint
28/10/2021, 3:53 PM
https://www.ticketmaster.ie/the-extra-ie-fai-cup-final-bohemian-fc-v-st-patrick-s-athletic-fc-dublin-28-11-2021/event/18005B5B242A8533
General sale tickets out now - still waiting to hear about the club allocations.
Disappointing to see they've gone up to €15, they've all been €10 since the return to Lansdowne Road haven't they?
28/10/2021, 6:35 PM
Disappointing to see they've gone up to €15, they've all been €10 since the return to Lansdowne Road haven't they?
I cant honestly remember if all finals were €10, even the 5 in a row before 2020. Well at least there seems to be come common sense in how Ticketmaster are releasing tickets for sale and not one block at a time. General unreserved seating and premium tickets available already and presumably areas not showing up will be the club allocations. An attempt to have the clubs fans' in the same area if they wish (without causing uncontrolled overcrowding in some areas) is progress if the pricing is a small step back. I'd say there is some listening to chatter of the the biggest cup final attendance since held in the Aviva with the public starved of live football. FAI has to recoup some of the pandemic support finances somehow so cash in on the bandwagoners. If fans of the finalists can hit 20-25k (reasonable?) could you get another 15-20k neutrals to push the record attendance?
28/10/2021, 6:43 PM
Yeah pretty sure thats correct wot ur saying PartySaint..
D24Saint
28/10/2021, 6:56 PM
Any word on what stand is assigned to who ?
No problem with paying €15 personally. I’d happily pay double that to see Pats in a cup final again (ssh, don’t tell the FAI though).
kksaints
28/10/2021, 8:13 PM
It was €15 in 2019, before then it was €10.
sbgawa
28/10/2021, 8:44 PM
Worth it to see Bohs play.
Best team in ireland (as long as you don't judge people on league tables) ;)
Sidefx
02/11/2021, 6:52 AM
Oh very droll, however sarcasm is the lowest form of wit :yawn::sleepy:
Ticket bought, Bohs fan for the Afternoon.
ger121
02/11/2021, 3:47 PM
Look. Nobody likes your club but that’s ok. It’s what you feel inside that matters.
ger121
02/11/2021, 3:49 PM
South Stand Lower Blocks (3500) went in 20 minutes. I think West Stand Lower Blocks gone too and East selling well.A good start and I’m confident we’ll see a very good attendance.
02/11/2021, 4:06 PM
Ticket bought, Bohs fan for the Afternoon.
Odd as a Bohs win could do you out of European qualification?
Mine enemy’s friends enemy is my friend, and all that.
2 Year Contract
02/11/2021, 6:11 PM
Mine enemy’s friends enemy is my friend, and all that.
Ah that makes sense, your enemy is ehh Ryanair, or something
colonelwest
02/11/2021, 6:53 PM
Incredibly annoying that yet again Toutmaster insist on filling the poxy corners and poor viewing sections before putting the ability to choose your own block on sale a few hours later as an afterthought once most of the two teams/ LOI heads have bought their tickets.
PartySaint
03/11/2021, 10:37 AM
Judging by the blocks each club were given and the breakdown on the Ticketmaster app it looks like a serious amount of tickets have already been sold in less than 24 hours. By the looks of it is is over 15,000 already and could be getting close to 20,000
pateen
03/11/2021, 11:56 AM
Incredibly annoying that yet again Toutmaster insist on filling the poxy corners and poor viewing sections before putting the ability to choose your own block on sale a few hours later as an afterthought once most of the two teams/ LOI heads have bought their tickets.
That would be an FAI instruction I would have imagined. Rubbish idea
PartySaint
03/11/2021, 2:47 PM
Judging by the blocks each club were given and the breakdown on the Ticketmaster app it looks like a serious amount of tickets have already been sold in less than 24 hours. By the looks of it is is over 15,000 already and could be getting close to 20,000
FAI just tweeted that 16,000 tickets have already been sold.
D24Saint
03/11/2021, 3:28 PM
16k already is good going , we could be looking at mid twenties on the day.