Pats
Bohs
Harps
Waterford
Dundalk
UCD
Wexford
Maynooth
Pats the only team in the current top 4 still in the Cup, on paper that would make us favourites but I still wouldn’t fancy a trip to Oriel, Dundalk capable of being the best team in the country when they want to be.
Now is the round to play Bohs with Kelly out.
Waterford are the dark horses, on a great run at the moment and Junior up top is capable of pulling anything out of the bag on any given night.
Dalymountrower
29/08/2021, 8:54 PM
Pity it wasn't on TV!
Rovers really need to build around Burke, he is at a different level in this league.
Towell looked to me to be phoning it in.
Get some of those young lads in instead Sbgawa .
sbgawa
29/08/2021, 9:05 PM
Burke is fantastic and is carrying an injury and barely training so makes it more impressive tbh.
The young lads are coming through but our academy is only up and running properly about 5 years to be fair and it takes time . St Kevin's who are nominally your academy have a production line coming through for years.
I do expect great things over the next few years if we can hang on to them not like Bazunu Zefi etc
Dalymountrower
29/08/2021, 9:30 PM
Burke is fantastic and is carrying an injury and barely training so makes it more impressive tbh.
The young lads are coming through but our academy is only up and running properly about 5 years to be fair and it takes time . St Kevin's who are nominally your academy have a production line coming through for years.
I do expect great things over the next few years if we can hang on to them not like Bazunu Zefi etc
Well we have a successful partnership with St Kevin's which seem to trigger you people.
They will now get the benefit of our investment in the DCU training facility funded by the Matt Doherty transfer
Rovers also have a strategic partnership with three schoolboy clubs and tried to put the squeeze on another recently and were told to f,,, off.
Funnily enough , while we might trade passive aggressive comments on under age structures, Pat's are in the European under 19,"s and have a cracking team.
sbgawa
29/08/2021, 9:38 PM
To be fair rovers have teams in the ddsl playing as rovers as well as all the national league teams operating out of roadstone. the partnerships are more about community stuff and a bit of scouting. From what I hear bohs are planning on doing their own thing separate from Kevin's which will be interesting but I think in your own best interests in the long run. Pats have a good 19s but the real strength in the rovers academy is coming through now at 14 and 15 levels and I think the future is very bright. The hang with brexit hopefully means we (and all the league) get to keep this crop
ger121
29/08/2021, 9:40 PM
I can smell the Aviva…Don’t care who we get Tuesday. You have to beat them anyway at some stage. Just reading through some of the posts from Rovers fans and I’d have to agree with some of the points made. It is not a young team and there does seem to be a lack of players getting game time from the Academy System. I would also wonder is Bradley the Manager to take you to the next level as Kenny did with Dundalk. Personally I think not but we’ll see in Europe next season.
sbgawa
29/08/2021, 9:43 PM
Waterford are the dark horse. A dundalk away to bohs , pats away to waterford and maynooth away to harps is what we all want.
Is bradser the man for Europe?
First job is getting there. 13 matches to go...
mcgonigle
29/08/2021, 9:44 PM
Second thread in 3 days Rovers fans are deflecting. Questions raised about Bradley and the success of the academy and all sbgawa is mention Dundalk.
Nothing to see here, how bad are Dundalk though 😂
ger121
29/08/2021, 9:47 PM
I can’t claim this as my own but thought it was funny. Before the game someone had posted that Bohs was the first decent side in Europe Rovers would face:devil:
sbgawa
29/08/2021, 9:51 PM
Second thread in 3 days Rovers fans are deflecting. Questions raised about Bradley and the success of the academy and all sbgawa is mention Dundalk.
Nothing to see here, how bad are Dundalk though 😂
To be fair I was just asking that other lad how come bradsers minimum achievement was winning the league when his budget was less than dundalk. Fair question to put to someone talking crap. As someone else said let's see how next year gos
wexfordned
30/08/2021, 12:36 AM
To be fair I was just asking that other lad how come bradsers minimum achievement was winning the league when his budget was less than dundalk. Fair question to put to someone talking crap. As someone else said let's see how next year gos
If you compare any other team/manager's performance against Dundalk's car crash of a season it'll be better and that's nothing to boast about
Having said that, if that's the standard that SRFC fans are demanding spoofer Bradley has to pass then happy days. He's had 3 big games in Europe/cup the last few weeks and his tactics were embarrassing in them all as SRFC lost all 3 games with poor tactics/questionable team selection a feature of all 3 games
placid casual
30/08/2021, 6:28 AM
Happy, successful days indeed.
Something boez can only dream of
placid casual
30/08/2021, 6:34 AM
I should add if course, 2 cracking goals by bohs - both of which were worthy of winning a match.
Kiki Balboa
30/08/2021, 9:11 AM
Danny Mandroiu looks to be in a bit of trouble. Video going around of him chucking a stone at the Bohs crowd. Some pointed stuff was apprently being said about his girlfriend.
Anyways, surly thats a health ban for Mandroiu, you can't be chucking stones into a crowd of people. Reminded me a bit of Nice/Marsaille last weekend with Payet chucking a waterbottle back into the crowd.
30/08/2021, 9:25 AM
In usual FAI fashion is the time, date, and location of the draw a best kept secret just in case the public may actually have any interest or excitement about it?
30/08/2021, 10:01 AM
6:30 tomorrow on 2FM earlier in thread?
Dalymountrower
30/08/2021, 11:07 AM
Danny Mandroiu looks to be in a bit of trouble. Video going around of him chucking a stone at the Bohs crowd. Some pointed stuff was apprently being said about his girlfriend.
Anyways, surly thats a health ban for Mandroiu, you can't be chucking stones into a crowd of people. Reminded me a bit of Nice/Marsaille last weekend with Payet chucking a waterbottle back into the crowd.
Plastic bottle or something, so what? Small section of the crowd slagging his girlfriend, not acceptable. It would be fair to say that DM not overburdened with grey matter, witness his daft interview on the morning of the Flora match. Doubt whether it will appear in Referees report, so no action likely. I think DM is going to be spending a lot of time on the bench anyway for the rest of the season.
30/08/2021, 11:22 AM
That's precisely what's happening again. 6:30pm on Tuesday evening on 2fm.
In usual FAI fashion is the time, date, and location of the draw a best kept secret just in case the public may actually have any interest or excitement about it?
Poor Student skips through source material.
sulywaterfordfc
30/08/2021, 12:33 PM
Can anyone really give Mandroiu stick for reacting? How many of us would put up with our partner receiving regular abuse from a certain group for 12months+?
It’s a disgrace the abuse his missus has received in the last 12 months +. I completely understand abuse is part and parcel of football but the buck stops with the player. I struggle to keep my mouth shut when at a game live. But the excuses from Bohs fans aren’t good enough, “It’s part of football” no it isn’t, it’s the type of **** you hear from immature ‘men’ who thinking they’re the bees knees and in a green street firm. The “He used to play for us” excuse doesn’t hold up either seeing as their were abusing the girl for several months prior to him signing for Rovers.
Personally think Bohs fans have overstepped the mark and have done so for a long time now. Wasn’t so long along and senior Bohs officials were calling out an unnamed fan for a flag made with abuse directed at Mandroiu’s missus. One of the same Bohs officials allegedly defended Bohs by going on to claim ‘Bohs has a ladies team’....
It’s at the stage now the abuse is not only embarrassing for Bohs, looking at social media is embarrassing for the league. Has people talking about the league for all the wrong reasons.
The worst thing for me is the same toerags are on social media acting all proud and dignitifed. The famous ‘people’s club’ that’s all about the community seem to be fairly quite on the issue... Really goes to show that these special sponsors on their away kits the last few years are all for show/Positive PR.
sbgawa
30/08/2021, 12:42 PM
The sectarian abuse thrown at Manus and the fact that a toe rag ran onto the pitch waving a stick at him at the end should have some consequences and again nothing from the peoples club. Thats not bitterness btw beaten fair and square its just not right.
30/08/2021, 12:51 PM
Can anyone really give Mandroiu stick for reacting? How many of us would put up with our partner receiving regular abuse from a certain group for 12months+?
You can't go throwing stones at people though.
I do agree that fans get away with far too much (and then whine too quickly when a player gestures at them). But if he threw a stone into a crowd, that's a different matter.
In a way it's a pity the FAI's weekly fines aren't publicised as you'd be able to see some action against the relevant fans that way, even if it's not an ideal solution.
Dalymountrower
30/08/2021, 12:54 PM
The sectarian abuse thrown at Manus and the fact that a toe rag ran onto the pitch waving a stick at him at the end should have some consequences and again nothing from the peoples club. Thats not bitterness btw beaten fair and square its just not right.
Agree about someone running on the pitch and waving around a sign, a life ban in my opinion.
Was unfortunately sitting close to some of our Neanderthals with the Mandriou's girlfriend chants, again they need to be called out and am sure are identifiable.
I honestly didnt hear any of the sectarian crap that Manus was previously subjected to. Some song about a night club , which isnt worth giving these people publicity over.
If any evidence of sectarian chanting I will be formally requesting an investigation by the club.
sbgawa
30/08/2021, 1:37 PM
Agree about someone running on the pitch and waving around a sign, a life ban in my opinion.
Was unfortunately sitting close to some of our Neanderthals with the Mandriou's girlfriend chants, again they need to be called out and am sure are identifiable.
I honestly didnt hear any of the sectarian crap that Manus was previously subjected to. Some song about a night club , which isnt worth giving these people publicity over.
If any evidence of sectarian chanting I will be formally requesting an investigation by the club.
Fair play on the sectarian thing, appreciate that
sulywaterfordfc
30/08/2021, 1:43 PM
I do agree that fans get away with far too much (and then whine too quickly when a player gestures at them). But if he threw a stone into a crowd, that's a different matter.
In a way it's a pity the FAI's weekly fines aren't publicised as you'd be able to see some action against the relevant fans that way, even if it's not an ideal solution.
I’m not condoning what he did, I’m just not going to bash him as if he’s the bad guy. Bohs fans have been getting off the hook for quite some time now with some of the abuse his missus has been getting. Whatever about fans abusing the life out of a player during a match, it’s a different ball game when it’s family etc and it’s consistent. It’s really up to Bohs to try stamp it out but they know it’s happening but have no interest in dealing with it.
sbgawa
30/08/2021, 1:50 PM
UCD players are well known for this type of thing , look at that hooligan Kearns for instance ;)
30/08/2021, 1:58 PM
I’m not condoning what he did, I’m just not going to bash him as if he’s the bad guy. Bohs fans have been getting off the hook for quite some time now with some of the abuse his missus has been getting. Whatever about fans abusing the life out of a player during a match, it’s a different ball game when it’s family etc and it’s consistent. It’s really up to Bohs to try stamp it out but they know it’s happening but have no interest in dealing with it.
Yeah, it seems there's definitely fault on the Bohs side here for sure and I don't want to diminish that.
If he'd given them the finger coming off the pitch (like my mate Conor Kearns :p ) or told them to **** off, I wouldn't have had the remotest problem with it.
Kiki Balboa
30/08/2021, 2:08 PM
https://twitter.com/Adam1999a/status/1432036903755333633
https://twitter.com/RyanFagan04/status/1432030993586794501
Two videos of the incident. It is pretty low from the Bohs fans too. You would also hope they are reprimanded too. But again, you get just throw a stone into a crowd.
30/08/2021, 2:14 PM
Its such a shame that these sort of incidents have to be addressed after one of our LoI fixtures. Players have a higher level of responsibility to behave an a particular manner but they are human and sometimes their reaction is understandable if undesirable. The chances of Mandroiu actually managing to clobber the culpirt with returning the stone is slim and he should have known better - the best response ever was when Alaves took the bite out of a banana thrown at him, Martin Murray getting hit by a coin during a live RTE interview and he pocketed the coin with a 'Thanks, toll paind for me'. Not sure what Mandroiu could have done bar maybe keep the stone as use it as a reminder and to do his talking on the pitch.
I really thought the sectarian stuff had died out but you cant account for the odd w@nker. One of the most head shaking eperiences ive had in that regard was at ireland v Georgia and their No9 Booed and insulted for his apparent religon whenever he was on the ball, the people doing it thought it was Shota Avreladze, who's Roman Catholic and played for Glasgow Rangers. The were told to cop on by others in the crowd but they replied 'its only a bit of a laugh' but the real laugh was when in the second half when the sub announced coming on was Shota Avreladze and they had been boing the wrong player all game. Ironically they shut up then probably feeling a bit sheepish as everyone around them had a good laugh at their expense. You can probably guess what 'Irish' club jerseys they were wearing...
The tiniest shoots of this returning need to be stomped on and bans given out if at all possible. At minimum ye'd like to see a piece in the matchday programme/website and announcements on the subject to highlight how scummy it is and that there are serious repercussions for the culprits. It is good to see fans not trying to defend things as isolated or make excuses and those on the losing side showing some class too by accepting decent fans reaction against such sh1te.
30/08/2021, 2:17 PM
Two videos of the incident. It is pretty low from the Bohs fans too. You would also hope they are reprimanded too. But again, you get just throw a stone into a crowd.
Its not miles off the Sarah Brennan chants, the Brennan brothers seemed to laugh it off and Ryan joined in once - doesnt make it nice or acceptable though.
Dalymountrower
30/08/2021, 2:23 PM
Thoroughly embarassing behaviour from that group of Bohs fans.
Sidefx
30/08/2021, 3:02 PM
Wow, how did the Lino not see that :confused:https://twitter.com/luke_oriordan/status/1432302435238879234?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1432302435238879234%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thebohs.com%2Fforum%2Fvie wtopic.php%3Ff%3D34t%3D21672start%3D360
sbgawa
30/08/2021, 3:17 PM
Wow, how did the Lino not see that :confused:https://twitter.com/luke_oriordan/status/1432302435238879234?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1432302435238879234%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thebohs.com%2Fforum%2Fvie wtopic.php%3Ff%3D34t%3D21672start%3D360
Fair shoulder in my day
Was it the shoulder or the crisp packet blowing across the pitch he fell over ;)
Sidefx
30/08/2021, 3:28 PM
Fair shoulder in my day
Was it the shoulder or the crisp packet blowing across the pitch he fell over ;)
I don't think an elbow to the face was ever considered a fair shoulder - no matter how old you might be.
But sure...
ontheotherhand
30/08/2021, 4:59 PM
Looks like a raised elbow from Finn to me and if so he should have gone but Kelly also raked his studs down the back of Finn's leg. You can see footage of it on Twitter (https://twitter.com/i/status/1432295400891895808) if you're interested. Disgusting stuff. Raised his foot right up and stamped down with his studs. I don't know which happened first to be fair. Poor from both.
Calcio Jack
30/08/2021, 5:53 PM
Looks like a raised elbow from Finn to me and if so he should have gone but Kelly also raked his studs down the back of Finn's leg. You can see footage of it on Twitter (https://twitter.com/i/status/1432295400891895808) if you're interested. Disgusting stuff. Raised his foot right up and stamped down with his studs. I don't know which happened first to be fair. Poor from both.
Watched it numerous times and can’t see how you can claim that Finn raised his elbow… he was caught by Kelly on his blindside and shoved over and raked …. Whether or not Kelly was reacting to the earlier incident is immaterial and fail to see why Doyle gave a yellow to Finn… anyway it doesn’t matter now to us but may hurt Bohs as Kelly will be suspended for next round
Watched it numerous times and can’t see how you can claim that Finn raised his elbow…
https://i.ibb.co/PcLXPzz/elbowgeorgie.jpg (https://ibb.co/PcLXPzz)
the thing at a 90 degree angle coming from the player on the right is called an elbow.
Calcio Jack
30/08/2021, 7:08 PM
the thing at a 90 degree angle coming from the player on the right is called an elbow.
It’s very clear from the video that Kelly firstly rakes the back of Finn’s leg and then throws Finn down and as ( per your still) Finn falls and as is natural his right arm comes up to move outward to brace his fall , at no point does Finns arm/elbow make any contact with Kelly .
All your still shows is the gap between Finns arm and Kelly ; if Finn did make contact with a deliberate elbow as you claim ; surely you would of posted a ‘still’ showing that rather than one that doesn’t ? Or perhaps you’ll explain it by suggesting there was a second elbow on the grassy knoll
sbgawa
30/08/2021, 7:15 PM
I don't think finn elbowed him he went down like a guy that was shouldered, he didn't go down clutching his head which these days is a given if he was elbowed in the head.
Doesn't matter anyway no one injured and both sent off ultimately.
joey B
30/08/2021, 7:16 PM
It’s very clear from the video that Kelly firstly rakes the back of Finn’s leg and then throws Finn down and as ( per your still) Finn falls and as is natural his right arm comes up to move outward to brace his fall , at no point does Finns arm/elbow make any contact with Kelly .
All your still shows is the gap between Finns arm and Kelly ; if Finn did make contact with a deliberate elbow as you claim ; surely you would of posted a ‘still’ showing that rather than one that doesn’t ? Or perhaps you’ll explain it by suggesting there was a second elbow on the grassy knoll
Your talking about the wrong incident ,that still is from Finn barging Kelly which I presume led to Kelly losing the plot…
Finn went in hard and high with his shoulder on Kelly and then threw his elbow up as a bit of afters. Didnt connect with the elbow. But definitely threw his elbow up. Its plain as day.
They both ended up getting red cards, both well deserved. Its the derby FFS. No angels on either side.
Bohtastic
30/08/2021, 7:21 PM
Ignoring the elbow/shoulder from Finn (although to say shoulder is a very generous interpretation) as it's before this passage of play - it was before, I would say that Finn deserved at least a second yellow.
The rake/stamp CJ are speaking about isn't fully clear from the video- I would expect finn to make more of a meal of it if it was. Either way, ref/lino didn't see it so it ranks alongside Finn's "shoulder", not seen/not given. The throw of finn to the ground? Free out if anything, but not seen/not given.
The tackle that took Kelly out and seemed to take out his standing leg?
By my view, penalty & second yellow at least. Again, Doyle didn't see or give it.
Moving on. Ball hits crossbar, "tackle" on Georgie's standing leg, ball skied over the bar.
Georgie (facing away from Finn) hits the ground in frustration (at no penalty? Who knows) Finn gets up and swings left arm into his back/right hand into midriff/groin. Kelly reacted, didnt see the strike clearly, but I can't really argue with red - Finn definitely earned a 2nd yellow or straight red for striking Kelly while on the ground.
Finn had three separate occasions in the space of a few minutes. It seems a tad blinkered from Rovers fans to suggest that he didn't deserve any of them.
Calcio Jack
30/08/2021, 8:05 PM
Ignoring the elbow/shoulder from Finn (although to say shoulder is a very generous interpretation) as it's before this passage of play - it was before, I would say that Finn deserved at least a second yellow.
The rake/stamp CJ are speaking about isn't fully clear from the video- I would expect finn to make more of a meal of it if it was. Either way, ref/lino didn't see it so it ranks alongside Finn's "shoulder", not seen/not given. The throw of finn to the ground? Free out if anything, but not seen/not given.
The tackle that took Kelly out and seemed to take out his standing leg?
By my view, penalty & second yellow at least. Again, Doyle didn't see or give it.
Moving on. Ball hits crossbar, "tackle" on Georgie's standing leg, ball skied over the bar.
Georgie (facing away from Finn) hits the ground in frustration (at no penalty? Who knows) Finn gets up and swings left arm into his back/right hand into midriff/groin. Kelly reacted, didnt see the strike clearly, but I can't really argue with red - Finn definitely earned a 2nd yellow or straight red for striking Kelly while on the ground.
Finn had three separate occasions in the space of a few minutes. It seems a tad blinkered from Rovers fans to suggest that he didn't deserve any of them.
Fair enough , I don’t have access to review the whole sequence of play but take your comments as being accurate….. for what it’s worth when watching it live my initial feeling was that you should of been awarded a peno…. So on the day I was happy to settle for Finn getting a red
Bohtastic
30/08/2021, 8:12 PM
At the same time Kelly throwing Finn to the ground before Tierney hit the crossbar could have resulted in a free out, if seen.
At the time I thought that Doyle pointed to the spot after the final shot over the bar, regardless of the sending off.
ontheotherhand
30/08/2021, 8:32 PM
Think there's a bit of confusion here as to the order of events and maybe a few thinking the rakestamp by Kelly happened at the same time as the shoulderbow by Finn. They were two separate incidents. I don't know which happened first and haven't (and probably won't) subject myself to a second viewing of the game to check. Both were fouls although I generally think a clatter of a shoulder is a lot less dangerous than the stamp/rake Kelly attempted on Finn. He may not have connected as if he had I think it would have done serious damage but he certainly did enough to take Finn down. I think SkStu has the right interpretation of Finn's barge on Kelly. He goes in with the shoulder and the elbow comes up as they separate. If it happened in GAA it'd be called a good hit. Not saying it wasn't a foul in the beautiful game though.
Doesn't matter now anyway. It was a fiery derby that Bohs won fair and square and I don't know if Finn staying on would have changed much. Over to Rovers now to sort out a few issues and keeping winning in the league. Good luck to (almost) everyone else in the cup. Feel it's Boh's year but hopefully one of the rest of you can stop them getting their grubby mitts on it.
EatYerGreens
31/08/2021, 1:22 PM
Good to see that we won't get another Rovers-Dundalk (or even Cork-Dundalk) final again this year.
Given Dundalk's recent league form, I'd be surprised if they even got to the final. Would be good to see 2 new(ish) teams contesting it for a change.
Finlay Harp
31/08/2021, 5:38 PM
I wish they’d hurry up and make the draw, rather than slot it in when the get a minute.
Finlay Harp
31/08/2021, 5:44 PM
UCD v Waterford
St Pats v Wexford
Finn Harps v Dundalk
Bohemian v Maynooth.
Sidefx
31/08/2021, 6:05 PM
UCD v Waterford
St Pats v Wexford
Finn Harps v Dundalk
Bohemian v Maynooth.
Nice!
31/08/2021, 7:51 PM
Nice!
Can see Harps beating Dundalk for starters think its going to be their year even though I would like Bohs to do well considering I have close friends that support them.
31/08/2021, 9:07 PM
Can see Harps beating Dundalk for starters think its going to be their year even though I would like Bohs to do well considering I have close friends that support them.
Jesus Christ Marty.. don't be saying stuff like that. We're going to get beat by Dundalk are we're going to be relegated..