View Full Version : FAI Cup 2021

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

31/08/2021, 9:11 PM
The cup will be a massive focus for Dundalk as their route back to Europe and we've a tough game on the previous Monday as well. Great to be at home but that's not the draw I was looking for.

31/08/2021, 10:18 PM
Not happy with that draw either! What year did Harps v Dundalk go to a replay most recently. I thought it was in the last 6 or 7 years but cant see it anywhere. Not that it makes difference but we were hot favourites and fell in to the next round in the end. Replay happened early 70's as it happens. These game are played to a conclusion and with relative club's form and it being away in Finn park its a tough one. Getting to another cup final this year could be the best of the lot for Dundalk as it will take European like performances starting in Donegal. You do get the sense at times that a name is on a trophy and both Pats and Harps are giving off the vibe this year.

If we cant raise our game for this last chance saloon for European qualification and how important that will be for the clubs future and some rebuilding needed , from both the minimum finances to be there and turn players heads for Euopean football - well we should probably write off a good few of the quad. Exceptions being Pathing, Stanton, Dufy, Kelly, Hoban, McMillan, Boyle, Garts, Cleary, Leahy, Dummigan, Sloggett maybe Jurkovskis, Murray, Han, Ben Amar even - plus the kids. Its not a major over hall. Weed out the dissenting voices in the camp and look at improving the s&c department. All relative to whats out there and if there is similar quality for less of a premium wage. Finally the pitch which is possibly holding us back more than it being a psychological advantage ain in the past.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/09/2021, 7:01 AM
It would have been easier to say who you want them to get rid of

placid casual
01/09/2021, 8:23 AM
Could it be that the strongest dissenting voices are amongst that plethora of players listed...

01/09/2021, 1:07 PM
It would have been easier to say who you want them to get rid of

Have you seen the size of Dundalk squads over the last couple of years?

01/09/2021, 1:11 PM
Could it be that the strongest dissenting voices are amongst that plethora of players listed...

Possibly but I tend to ignore the rumour mill on this like this as every players, staff member, admin to the tea lady have been name dropped as the culprit/s. I suppose we will see if there are a few headscratcher decisions made with not effort to keep on the books.

ger121
01/09/2021, 2:34 PM
Can see Harps beating Dundalk for starters think its going to be their year even though I would like Bohs to do well considering I have close friends that support them.

I would not be writing Dundalk off at all. They can turn it on when they feel like it.

01/09/2021, 8:59 PM
Jesus Christ Marty.. don't be saying stuff like that. We're going to get beat by Dundalk are we're going to be relegated..

BTW loved your piece in Irish Mirror pullout last week guess whos in it this weeks Nigel!

01/09/2021, 9:00 PM
I would not be writing Dundalk off at all. They can turn it on when they feel like it.

Yeah good pt Ger but I think Harps will make it hard for Dundalk that night.

ToberonaTornado
02/09/2021, 3:08 AM
Its not miles off the Sarah Brennan chants, the Brennan brothers seemed to laugh it off and Ryan joined in once - doesnt make it nice or acceptable though.

Certainly not. Hopefully that sort of cr*p is now gone from OP,was excruciating to listen to :(

Harps haven't beaten Dlk in Finn Park since 2007. Not that i'd dice with fate or even touch it by predicting a Dundalk win.

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 10:31 AM
Cup game v Maynooth sold out tonight, 50% capacity, so probably 1,800 or so.
Des Kelly end cleaned up and will be open, probably for the 400 Maynooth fans who sold out their allocation... pretty impressive from them, in fairness.

17/09/2021, 1:32 PM
Cup game v Maynooth sold out tonight, 50% capacity, so probably 1,800 or so.
Des Kelly end cleaned up and will be open, probably for the 400 Maynooth fans who sold out their allocation... pretty impressive from them, in fairness.

Swap 'em for UCD!

Dalymountrower
17/09/2021, 1:53 PM
Swap 'em for UCD!

Fair exchange, Catholic Seminary for Catholic University.

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 7:04 PM
Serious crowd in Finn Park.

Colm Whelan's great season for UCD continues, putting them 1 up against Waterford

17/09/2021, 7:05 PM
Serious crowd in Finn Park

Why so serious?

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 7:08 PM
Why so serious?
I mean as in unreal, incredible. In a positive sense of the term. Probably 1.5-2K there by looks of it. Good to see the community coming back out in force.

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 7:27 PM
Owalabi!!! Thats a cracking goal. Buried it. Dundalk dawdling by the sideline, lose it and go 1 down. Familiar script.

Edit: Game turned on it's head. Definite goalstopping red card. Hoban tucks home the penalty.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/09/2021, 7:39 PM
4 red cards by half time

sbgawa
17/09/2021, 7:40 PM
Owalabi!!! Thats a cracking goal. Buried it. Dundalk dawdling by the sideline, lose it and go 1 down. Familiar script.

Edit: Game turned on it's head. Definite goalstopping red card. Hoban tucks home the penalty.

Are you watching on LOITV? rewind back and watch it , its obvious keeper got it

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 7:44 PM
Are you watching on LOITV? rewind back and watch it , its obvious keeper got it
Yeah I am. I saw it twice on the replay. Looks like the FH defenders left arm stops it as he slides near the goal-line. Perhaps I'm wrong, but it'l be proved before too long one way or the other. Dundalk controversially ahead now though. Why did they get the ball thrown back to them before they scored? Poor goalkeeping not to keep that shot from Murray out tbh.

sbgawa
17/09/2021, 7:46 PM
I saw it twice on the replay. Looks like the FH defenders left arm stops it as he slides near the goal-line. Perhaps I'm wrong, but it'l be proved before too long one way or the other. Dundalk controversially ahead now though. Why did they get the ball thrown back to them before they scored? Poor goalkeeping not to keep that shot from Murray out tbh.

I guess we will see,
think it was a deflection that fooled the keeper but other than the usual incompetance by the refs in this league i cant explain why the ball was thrown to Dundalk after being taken off Harps for a Dundalk player "injury"

Finlay Harp
17/09/2021, 8:01 PM
We’re being shafted by inept officiating tonight.
Not often FP is as enraged as this.

Briuk
17/09/2021, 8:02 PM
I guess we will see,
think it was a deflection that fooled the keeper but other than the usual incompetance by the refs in this league i cant explain why the ball was thrown to Dundalk after being taken off Harps for a Dundalk player "injury"

That's not true, Slogget had the ball when the game was stopped.

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 8:25 PM
That's not true, Slogget had the ball when the game was stopped.
Fair enough, if true. Hadn't seen that happening. Great header from Hoban. 3-1. That should be that. Dundalk's season is still alive.

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 8:45 PM
Well ... Dundalk have engineered a situation where they're now hanging on to the lead

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 8:54 PM
You have to laugh. 3-3. Brilliant stuff from Finn Harps to be fair

sbgawa
17/09/2021, 9:02 PM
fantastic to see Sean Boyd score two after all his troubles.
Harps deserved it

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 9:04 PM
FH definitely deserved the draw. They owned that last 20 minutes it felt like. On the equalizer, It was an absolutely delicious first touch to kill it, and then the composure to finish. That little ground erupted in joy. Disaster for Dundalk though. The literal last thing they needed.

pateen
17/09/2021, 9:06 PM
Is it gone to extra time? Looks like full time now

CorribsideSteve
17/09/2021, 9:11 PM
Is it gone to extra time? Looks like full time now
Replay. Possibly Tuesday night, the commentator was suggesting.

placid casual
17/09/2021, 9:20 PM
There's only one Sean Boyd. Delighted for him and for Harps, the form team in the league in the past month

Knocklyonhoop
17/09/2021, 9:22 PM
Mad there was no ET?
delighted for Sean after all his troubles
heart breaking for UCD

Philosophizer
17/09/2021, 9:24 PM
Incredible comeback when you consider they were a man down for over an hour.

2 Year Contract
17/09/2021, 9:31 PM
Derek Tomney taking his tally up to 5 red cards in 2 games, every single one of them with a case for an incorrect decision :D

Worried for a bit after Sam Bone's red 5 mins in but once Pats got the goal and Tomney decided to level up the teams it was game over and the second half was like a pre season friendly. Wexford we’re pretty decent for a side bottom of the first division without their top goalscorer Kyle Robinson as he was ineligible due to the loan from pats. Would need to see it back but the peno pats got at the last kick of the game on first viewing should have been a red card and a free kick rather than a yellow and a peno

Finlay Harp
17/09/2021, 10:15 PM
Great result for Harps despite the officials best efforts.

PartySaint
17/09/2021, 10:16 PM
Derek Tomney taking his tally up to 5 red cards in 2 games, every single one of them with a case for an incorrect decision :D

Worried for a bit after Sam Bone's red 5 mins in but once Pats got the goal and Tomney decided to level up the teams it was game over and the second half was like a pre season friendly. Wexford we’re pretty decent for a side bottom of the first division without their top goalscorer Kyle Robinson as he was ineligible due to the loan from pats. Would need to see it back but the peno pats got at the last kick of the game on first viewing should have been a red card and a free kick rather than a yellow and a peno

Echo this, Wexford’s number 2 was very good. Job done, shame UCD couldn’t score their peno at 2-2, just hoping for a home draw in the semi now.

Anyone know when the draw is?

joey B
17/09/2021, 10:29 PM
Great finish at Finn Park,delighted for Sean Boyd,had had a terrible time with injury but his touch for the equaliser was top drawer,crazy how brittle Dundalk are though,just folded after the 2nd and we probably should have been level before we actually did….

Jack B
17/09/2021, 11:12 PM
Hard to speak on a few of the decisions in Richmond having been at the game but...a lot of them appeared to be wrong. Sam Bone had a shocker for the red card but it seemed awfully harsh regardless, and the penalty at the end was a nailed on red as much as it didn't effect the game either way. Honestly missed the second yellow for Wexford but can believe those saying it was also unlucky, thankfully it made things quite handy for us though from then on.

Amazing stuff from Harps, absolute scenes for the equaliser. Disappointed in Maynooth though, was hoping for a big one there.

ForzaForth
17/09/2021, 11:56 PM
Just back from Inchicore now. Thought Wexford put in a decent performance overall but we desperately needed to keep eleven on the pitch. Didn't think our red card for Conor Crowley was too harsh - when you're on a yellow you can't take the chance of showing your studs in a tackle even if you're just on the stretch. The Sam Bone red card also looked harsh to me - I don't think Tomney was going to show any card until he got a word in his ear. All our lads gave 100% and that's all we can ask for. Thomas Considine (our no. 2) impressed but I thought Jack Moylan up front, on loan from Bohs, was exceptional together with old head, Lorcan Fitzgerald, at the back and Paul Fox playing down our left wing.

thebronze14
18/09/2021, 12:18 AM
fantastic to see Sean Boyd score two after all his troubles.
Harps deserved it

The touch for his second was a thing of real beauty. Delighted for the lad!
The ref was so frustrating. Can't comment on the red as I couldn't see it from where I was standing. It seemed weird that sloggett was given the ball back but can live with that. Boyle had a stone wall peno turned down. Poor Tunde was manhandled for a lot of the game and got nothing whereas Dundalk players I felt had more nous and played the ref better by going down easy. He gave some very weird calls our way late on too.

What a finish though, buzzing leaving the ground. roll on Tuesday

Philosophizer
18/09/2021, 12:31 AM
Jack Moylan up front, on loan from Bohs, was exceptional together with old head, Lorcan Fitzgerald, at the back.
Those 2 stood out in the previous round against Killester too, along with the centre midfielder.

Moylan looks like he could have a decent future in the league.

ToberonaTornado
18/09/2021, 6:20 AM
The touch for his second was a thing of real beauty. Delighted for the lad!
The ref was so frustrating. Can't comment on the red as I couldn't see it from where I was standing. It seemed weird that sloggett was given the ball back but can live with that. Boyle had a stone wall peno turned down. Poor Tunde was manhandled for a lot of the game and got nothing whereas Dundalk players I felt had more nous and played the ref better by going down easy. He gave some very weird calls our way late on too.

What a finish though, buzzing leaving the ground. roll on Tuesday

Was at it too - ref gave the red and pen for deliberate hand ball as he indicated that but i didnt see it from my stand point either tbh but was happy to see it. We got away with a lot of stuff last night thanks to him(the ref) but we never went looking for it. Harps fans always fast to play the ref was awful for us card when it's needed.The oul addage applied here = HE WAS BAD FOR BOTH SIDES.
See yous in Oriel on Tuesday and very decent cup tie

trevy
18/09/2021, 6:52 AM
Waterford reach the semi finals for the first time in 12 years. I settled for listening to it live on local radio and game could have gone either way. I heard was a lot of technical problems with the livestream of game. Brian Murphy saved a penalty from Colm Whelan at 2 2. Waterford struck in injury time with Prince getting the winner after UCD felt they should have had a free at the other end and UCD manager red carded for his protests.

SPXcyan
18/09/2021, 7:11 AM
The stream was a bit of a mess to be fair, audio only cutting in at the 31 minute mark.
The officiating was infuriating to watch once again, and a blatant injury time challenge goes unanswered which allows us immediately counter and score as a result, I didn't even celebrate the winning goal as I was appalled.

The following morning I'm feeling happier to be in a semifinal however, we got away with one last night 😳

Tomas
18/09/2021, 8:38 AM
Looks like Bohs to go all the way in the cup. The final vs Pats would be a cracker. Is the final played in the Aviva? 20k+ attendance I´d expect.

Neish
18/09/2021, 9:34 AM
Great night in Finn Park and a great team effort to come from 3-1 down with 10 men and less the 10 minutes left.

Even enough game, think Harps gave Dundalk far too much respect in the first half sitting off them and letting them pass it about with no real pressure being put on them. TBH I think Dundalk are relatively lucky to be still in the cup, probably was a penalty(although I don't think I saw any Dundalk player claim for one), their 2nd McGinley really should of saved it and it arguable he should of came and claimed their 3rd before Hoban got anywhere near it.

Fancy Harps to take them in the replay, Dundalk looked totally deflated at the final whistle and Harps the exact opposite

SeanDrog
18/09/2021, 10:25 AM
Results suit Drogs lovely - given the tight battle for the play off spot (Harps, Waterford, Dundalk Drogs), I’m only too happy to see all these extra games for Harps, Dundalk and Waterford :)

I didn’t realise that a replay was on the cards last night and I was waiting for updates if it went to penos after ET lol Drogs vs Derry went to ET and penos.

Well done harps, crowd numbers looked great and their joy on the equaliser was brilliant.

Dundalk as a Drog I don’t want you to go down as the derbies are great on the calendar and off the pitch our clubs have great history starting with Jim Malone. It does look like a cuckoo in peak landed in the club and pushed all real Dundalk fans out of the nest - hopefully rumours are true and they will be gone soon. I’d also kick Vinny - I know is it not his team but he is getting zero from them along with his crazy excuses.

Yossarian
18/09/2021, 5:14 PM
I have to say I was very angry at the end of the game last night. Once Harps got the second I think the equaliser was always on the cards. I really don't understand why we dropped so deep in the last 20 minutes. Harps were always going to kick it long and take long throw ins to Boyd. I blame it on the management and it’s clear to me that Perth has lost the dressing room again. I think he’s a poor coach and he is really embarrassing himself with some of the nonsense he is coming out with aswell. Talking of the pitch being poor when ours is worse.
As for the contentious decisions, from my view at the game I didn’t see the handball, I just presumed the player blocked it and I was giving out about Murray missing a clear chance when the ref produced the red. I didn’t see any Dundalk players call for it either. For the second goal I don’t think Harps have any complaints. The ball was at Sloggets feet when the ref blew the whistle and he picked it up straight away, so it was right for possession to be returned to us.
I have no confidence that we’ll win the replay, the momentum is with Harps and if the carry on their performance and we produce the same then I can only see them winning.

I have to say aswell it was nice for Boyd to get the goals for Harps after what he’s been through. I just hope that is as good as it gets for him in the cup this season!!

ToberonaTornado
18/09/2021, 7:18 PM
I have to say I was very angry at the end of the game last night. Once Harps got the second I think the equaliser was always on the cards. I really don't understand why we dropped so deep in the last 20 minutes. Harps were always going to kick it long and take long throw ins to Boyd. I blame it on the management and it’s clear to me that Perth has lost the dressing room again. I think he’s a poor coach and he is really embarrassing himself with some of the nonsense he is coming out with aswell. Talking of the pitch being poor when ours is worse.
As for the contentious decisions, from my view at the game I didn’t see the handball, I just presumed the player blocked it and I was giving out about Murray missing a clear chance when the ref produced the red. I didn’t see any Dundalk players call for it either. For the second goal I don’t think Harps have any complaints. The ball was at Sloggets feet when the ref blew the whistle and he picked it up straight away, so it was right for possession to be returned to us.
I have no confidence that we’ll win the replay, the momentum is with Harps and if the carry on their performance and we produce the same then I can only see them winning.

I have to say aswell it was nice for Boyd to get the goals for Harps after what he’s been through. I just hope that is as good as it gets for him in the cup this season!!

100% agree about Perth.I cannot understand why he has so many supporters on his fecking side here(in Dundalk) and him stone useless.
After talking to a few of our own(and a few Harps men as well) who seen the Mustoe handball they all said deffo a pen and sending off.

Disagree that we cant win it on Tuesday - We'll have a partisan support in op same as Harps had last night and i think that will be a huge factor.In fact,i think having fans back in op will be the factor that will see us staying up.
It'll be a scrap alright but i think the home advantage will get us into the sf's.

BTW,are there any highlights or goals(Dundalk ones,sick of seen the Harps ones :) ) anywhere?

18/09/2021, 8:28 PM
Ref got the Mustoe call right. It was really unfortunate, it was by no means a deliberate handball, but letter of the law states it denied a goalscoring chance so penalty and red card was correct.

There were plenty other dodgy refereeing calls though, for both sides. Boyle denied a stonewall penalty being the blatant one though. Suggestions that Murray could have won a penalty, I haven't watched that one back yet but I was standing in perfect view of it and it was an outstanding tackle by Sadiki.

It's anyone's game in Oriel on Tuesday. The pitch won't suit Harps (also hilarious to hear Perth complain about Finn park pitch..mega lol on that), and the part time vs full time aspect will kick in here. Could be a cagey game and could well go all the way.