View Full Version : FAI Cup games

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20

22/11/2020, 4:33 AM
*bangs head against wall*

I think 3-1 at halftime wasn't reflective of the game but Dundalk attacked well and were clinical. Overall result Bohs can't argue with as Dundalk shut them down even before the red card.

Yossarian
22/11/2020, 8:03 AM
While the final score might have been a bit harsh on Bohs, I think we fully deserved the win. That was our best performance since the restart and I think we got the tactics spot on and nullified Bohs attacking play for much of the game. We were much more dynamic and moved the ball a lot quicker than before with a lot of neat passing moves. McMillan played well and covered a lot of ground and I’m not so sure we would have had as much dynamism with Hoban up front. The red card ended Bohs hopes but I think we would have won even without it.

CorribsideSteve
22/11/2020, 10:39 AM
While the final score might have been a bit harsh on Bohs, I think we fully deserved the win. That was our best performance since the restart and I think we got the tactics spot on and nullified Bohs attacking play for much of the game. We were much more dynamic and moved the ball a lot quicker than before with a lot of neat passing moves. McMillan played well and covered a lot of ground and I’m not so sure we would have had as much dynamism with Hoban up front. The red card ended Bohs hopes but I think we would have won even without it.

Dundalk are un-dynamic with Hoban, unfortunately, IMO. He's slow and clunky. It's a tricky dilema though, as he is a club goal-scoring legend. Then again that, perhaps, says more about the quality of LOI defending than it does his prowess in front of goal.

22/11/2020, 12:19 PM
At face value Bohs were favourites on Friday, but there has been something wrong within the Dundalk squad that's not lack of ability. A lot of work has been done to change how the team is set up so with the 10 day gap between games there was a chance to get players more familiar with what FG wants. It worked on Friday and is still a work in progress. Not taking Athlone for granted, but if we get to the final, especially if against Rovers, it will be an interesting contest and an indicator of where we are in a transition. There will be comings and goings so may not say a whole lot about next season, but the players still have somthing to prove domestically this season. In FG we trust! :p

sbgawa
22/11/2020, 2:53 PM
A Dundalk Rovers final would be great and unlike losing to Bohs it wouldnt bother me unduly after winning the league.
After the way we sneaked through against Harps i wont be taking Derry or sligo lightly.
Winning the league this year was huge from the perspective that i honestly thought Dundalk would win again and would be going for a 4 in a row next year.
Suddenly it doesn't look like a one horse race anymore.

mcgonigle
22/11/2020, 3:28 PM
100 people stewarding a empty stadium? I think someone was on the beer or something stronger last night. I don't know what you were watching last night but it wasn't the football in Dalyer.

My mistake so. I thought all those people in the Jodi, Des Kelly and Connaught Street stands with the high viz jackets were stewards or security. Must have just been some builders who wandered in from a nearby site. Fair play to them though for neutrals they really got into it and created an atmosphere

sbgawa
22/11/2020, 3:39 PM
They were fans in high viz mascarading as stewards and security.
I have no problem with that tbh and dont blame bohs for trying to look after some of their fans / volunteers.

The rte coverage had a laugh about it at halftime saying the "essential security" behind them had strong views about whether the ball was out for the third dundalk goal.

22/11/2020, 6:10 PM
I have no problem with that tbh and dont blame bohs for trying to look after some of their fans / volunteers.

The rte coverage had a laugh about it at halftime saying the "essential security" behind them had strong views about whether the ball was out for the third dundalk goal.

I'd have a serious problem with it if it was a way around lockdown regulations. Regulations that exist to try and get us back to normality and have a fully functional society asap. If this is true, Bohs should have to justify the numbers in attendance hi-viz bibs or not, if that cant be done then suffer the consequences! Balls to that reckless ****e!!

placid casual
22/11/2020, 7:07 PM
Bohs attitude to covid restrictions has been a bit lacking this year, no- Most comically exposed when Long was caught training the team during lockdown, asking if the onlookers were Rovers!
Oh well, What's Another Year for the nearly men of Irish football.

Straightstory
23/11/2020, 9:38 AM
Very good game ,lots of quality play spoiled only by the RTE commentary team,terrible.

I think Hamilton actually missed Dundalk's fourth goal. Only seemed to realise that there'd been a score when the players began to celebrate. Also seemed to think when a Bohs player blocked a cross which clearly went out for a corner that the game was resuming with a throw in. I like George, but he seems to be 'losing it'.

oriel
23/11/2020, 10:15 AM
Something very odd ok about the coverage, in the immediate aftermarth for 2 of Dundalk's goals, the camera also focused on Gary Rogers at the other end, possibly also the same when Dundalk were awarded a pen.

23/11/2020, 12:33 PM
I think Hamilton actually missed Dundalk's fourth goal. Only seemed to realise that there'd been a score when the players began to celebrate. Also seemed to think when a Bohs player blocked a cross which clearly went out for a corner that the game was resuming with a throw in. I like George, but he seems to be 'losing it'.

John Kenny the same for the Harps v Rovers game. Watched it back the next day and his commentary was very poor at times.

DCWA
23/11/2020, 2:03 PM
Fair play to Bohs I hope they charged them €20 a head and are planning on selling club branded hi-viz gear at a ridiculous mark up.

DCSIL
23/11/2020, 2:17 PM

Noticed Harps were trying that one, more than you would expect to see in a ground closed to supporters.

With the Infection rates in Donegal as high as they are(which is Co. Derry’s fault according to one Harps Fan on here) you would have thought they would have been more cautious.

23/11/2020, 2:45 PM
Noticed Harps were trying that one, more than you would expect to see in a ground closed to supporters.

With the Infection rates in Donegal as high as they are(which is Co. Derry’s fault according to one Harps Fan on here) you would have thought they would have been more cautious.

Don't even know why I'm bothering here, but all that were in Finn Park were a handful of stewards, as required, media, club officials from both sides, there were a fair few Shamrock Rovers officials up, and groundstaff to work on the pitch.

Normally, the lads who do the groundwork stand over on the gantry side, but with the driving rain the other night, they stood in under the shed roof.

DCSIL
23/11/2020, 2:54 PM
Normally, the lads who do the groundwork stand over on the gantry side, but with the driving rain the other night, they stood in under the shed roof.

Counted about 20-25 dotted around the ground on the Terrace and in the standing areas of the Main Stand for a few games.

23/11/2020, 3:15 PM
I tend to watch games back in the cold light of day when its possible. On the game, it was a mix of decent Dundalk play but also some poor moments for Bohs. Maybe there was some game management by Dundalk as we seemed to sucker punch Bohs at key moments just as they were getting a foothold in the game. If they had made the 15 or so minutes count when they were getting on top the result could have been flipped. That said Rogers did make the couple of key saves. Definitely there was much better application by Dundalk players, looked motivated, and put some nice moves together. Interesting to see the movement off the wings like old inside forwards by the likes of Duffy. There has been a sense that teams had figured out how to play us so this was pulling the Bohs defence all over the place. If FG continues with these sort of tweaks then his ability as a coach to see where issues are wont be questioned.

On the whole 'essential stewards', at a quick count there were 20-30 people in hi-viz vests in the Jodi Stand not including players. From the occasional view of the Connaught St side there were 7=10 dotted about. A number behind the Des Kelly goal and also on the shopping centre terrace. The Jodi Stand, while people were spaced out was damn busy. Arguably thats how things could be done but under L5 restrictions there were too many people there, especially if there was some acting the maggot stuff to get unnecessary people in to see the game. Daft under the circumstances! and we wonder why L5 efforts have plateaued possibly meaning an extension of the L5 period if the likes of this has been happening...

23/11/2020, 3:33 PM
Counted about 20-25 dotted around the ground on the Terrace and in the standing areas of the Main Stand for a few games.

Well...that would add up don't you think? Anywhere between 5-10 away club officials, about 10 home club officials, handful of stewards, ball boys, various media, photographers...

But what are these 'few games' you're on about?

bluemovie
23/11/2020, 4:11 PM
Well...that would add up don't you think? Anywhere between 5-10 away club officials, about 10 home club officials, handful of stewards, ball boys, various media, photographers...

Blues had ten fans up in Finn Park at the last game of the season - presumably under the guise of "club officials"

23/11/2020, 4:40 PM
Blues had ten fans up in Finn Park at the last game of the season - presumably under the guise of "club officials"

Noticed five lads there from Waterford, they were on the list as club officials, presumably something to do with that gofundme, since there were only one or two other Waterford officials in that night that I noticed.

bluemovie
23/11/2020, 4:53 PM
Yeah four Block E lads, three from the supporters club committee and three from a family. The club would've put them down as officials for the night.

DCSIL
23/11/2020, 5:00 PM

Cork, Shels, Derry etc.. all looked like Officials in Harps gear 😗 no hi vis or anything

23/11/2020, 9:42 PM
Cork, Shels, Derry etc.. all looked like Officials in Harps gear  no hi vis or anything

Cork and Shelbourne games had 100 season ticket holders at the game, as allowed at the time per guidelines.

Derry was extremely tight and had nothing of the sort at it.

But if you continue to pick games out of your hole, then fire away.

wexfordned
24/11/2020, 1:45 PM
My mistake so. I thought all those people in the Jodi, Des Kelly and Connaught Street stands with the high viz jackets were stewards or security. Must have just been some builders who wandered in from a nearby site. Fair play to them though for neutrals they really got into it and created an atmosphere

That's bad form from bohs alright. Imagine someone watching on tv idea coming up with some idiotic conspiracy theory, demanding answers from Bohs ans refusing to accept any explanations. What is the world coming to. In future maybe clubs should submit a list of all individuals they have allowed into the ground and the reason they are there to be shown before or after the tv credits at the end of the program. Hopefully that would stop conspiracy nuts like yourself and their idiotic theories.

wexfordned
24/11/2020, 1:53 PM
Not that Bohs should have to explain themselves to anyone, but for the other conspiracy nutters the people in high vis jackets were RTE staff, a handful of family members of two members who passed, a few club volunteers acting as stewards and also dundalk officials.

Maybe in future Bohs should ask opposition teams/officals and also any RTE staff in attendance to wear clear markings on their high vis jackets to identify themselves so as not to confuse the tv viewers who care about and/or count things like that.

Lesson learned for 2021 if crowd limitations are still in place

24/11/2020, 8:42 PM
Bohs and every other club should absolutely have to explain why everyone is at a game! If people in attendance can be justified then ok, but even then if numbers pose a risk things need to be scaled back. It's not unreasonable to have people easily identified either - the simple reason for this is that currently perception is everything. If the public get the impression that lockdown regulations are being stretched at elite levels of sport, among other things, then the wider efforts drop off. The perception here is that there seemed to be a lot more 'stewards' dotted around the ground than would be needed for a bcd match. Specific to Friday night it was said 'if' rules are being bent or broken then there should be consequences whatever that might be. By all means defend a club but question should be asked also if things look out of order.

vinnie
24/11/2020, 11:23 PM
The second peno was a handball, it was harsh, ball to hand from two yards away, but it hit his hand.

The other two were horrendous decisions. The third in particular was easily one of the worst dives I have ever seen in Finn Park. When the ref blew the whistle I was convinced he was going to give a free out and a booking for a dive. I understand the WatchLOI camera looks poor, but trust me, I was standing 20 yards away under the shed, it was a brutal dive.

The first was another atrocious decision, the player just threw himself to the ground. Again, I've watched that back on WatchLOI, and the camera barely caught it, I've no idea how you can suggest it was stonewall. It was shocking again.

Harps were denied stonewall penalties twice in the second half too. Suppose they're only given one half of the pitch.

Robbed by an inept referee tonight and nothing else.

Nigel While it's no consolation, I agree, Burkes peno was a dive and he should have been booked, I hate to see ****ers do this, only peno for me in the game was second one, hand ball fair enough, I agree I think yiz were robbed, no good now, but at least I'll acknowledge that the best team lost

Neish
25/11/2020, 6:08 AM
Nigel While it's no consolation, I agree, Burkes peno was a dive and he should have been booked, I hate to see ****ers do this, only peno for me in the game was second one, hand ball fair enough, I agree I think yiz were robbed, no good now, but at least I'll acknowledge that the best team lost

And all that after we won the league for you ;)

wexfordned
25/11/2020, 11:02 AM
Bohs and every other club should absolutely have to explain why everyone is at a game! If people in attendance can be justified then ok, but even then if numbers pose a risk things need to be scaled back. It's not unreasonable to have people easily identified either - the simple reason for this is that currently perception is everything. If the public get the impression that lockdown regulations are being stretched at elite levels of sport, among other things, then the wider efforts drop off. The perception here is that there seemed to be a lot more 'stewards' dotted around the ground than would be needed for a bcd match. Specific to Friday night it was said 'if' rules are being bent or broken then there should be consequences whatever that might be. By all means defend a club but question should be asked also if things look out of order.

If the relevant authorities request info then yes there is a list of attendees for them. However anonymous posters posting random idiotic thoughts on crowd counting based on random images on their tv does not fall under this heading, so they get the less official response. The internet/twitter is full of conspiracy nuts who question everything and frankly their perception of events can be different to everyone else and indeed reality in most cases

DCSIL
25/11/2020, 11:47 AM
Bohs and every other club should absolutely have to explain why everyone is at a game! If people in attendance can be justified then ok, but even then if numbers pose a risk things need to be scaled back. It's not unreasonable to have people easily identified either - the simple reason for this is that currently perception is everything. If the public get the impression that lockdown regulations are being stretched at elite levels of sport, among other things, then the wider efforts drop off.

Seeing several men crowded together behind a fence, live on TV, another example. and in a High Risk area of Ireland too.

sbgawa
25/11/2020, 12:30 PM
The LOI have done a great job with Covid 19 restrictions compared to the GAA or some other sports, even the league celebrations for Rovers / Drogs/ Longford were kept Sane.
A few extra stewards and a few lads outside a fence isnt a big deal one way or another shouldn't distract from the phenomenal work done by the clubs.

2 Year Contract
25/11/2020, 9:14 PM
Some absolutely woeful penalties in that shootout!

joey B
25/11/2020, 9:15 PM
Some hilarious penalties from Derry there ,well done Sligo!!

vinnie
25/11/2020, 9:23 PM
Jesus thats the worst peno shootout since Rovers v Sligo one in the cup final in 2010

DCSIL
25/11/2020, 9:32 PM
Jesus thats the worst peno shootout since Rovers v Sligo one in the cup final in 2010

And Ciaran Kelly saved most of those!

Hopefully some of those penalty takers won't be back next year.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/11/2020, 9:34 PM
The penalties were on a par with the rest of the game. We’ll be trounced on Sunday.

25/11/2020, 9:42 PM
But basically it's either Athlone or Sligo in Europe next season, so Sligo probably feeling pretty confident there?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/11/2020, 9:44 PM
Yeah definitely

26/11/2020, 1:59 AM
And Ciaran Kelly saved most of those!

Hopefully some of those penalty takers won't be back next year.
Assume you don't want McCormack or Figueira to leave? Meite looked decent in a couple of early games but seems to have been relegated to the bench for most of the rest.

26/11/2020, 2:06 AM
On the whole 'essential stewards', at a quick count there were 20-30 people in hi-viz vests in the Jodi Stand not including players. From the occasional view of the Connaught St side there were 7=10 dotted about. A number behind the Des Kelly goal and also on the shopping centre terrace. The Jodi Stand, while people were spaced out was damn busy. Arguably thats how things could be done but under L5 restrictions there were too many people there, especially if there was some acting the maggot stuff to get unnecessary people in to see the game. Daft under the circumstances! and we wonder why L5 efforts have plateaued possibly meaning an extension of the L5 period if the likes of this has been happening...

I'd have a serious problem with it if it was a way around lockdown regulations. Regulations that exist to try and get us back to normality and have a fully functional society asap. If this is true, Bohs should have to justify the numbers in attendance hi-viz bibs or not, if that cant be done then suffer the consequences! Balls to that reckless ****e!!

If or what is that I have said above that you find objectionable? I'd be interested to hear your thoughts! Do you think it is important for people to be concerned about the adherence to covid-19 restrictions? Is it important for the LoI community to be seen as leading the way for how things should be done. Do you think that perception is relevant? An over reaction, errors, misperception are not going to be dealt with by defensiveness or shouting accusations about conspiracy theory. Rivalries have a time and place and this definately isnt the time, equally if rival supporters falsely accuse anyone of a breach of regulations for the pure mischief. I dont know if Bohs were having training sessions in breach of lockdown 1, if training was happening at that time, not only would it show a complete disregard for the welfare of players and family but of the winder community and also for the League of Ireland for obvious reasons.

If the relevant authorities request info then yes there is a list of attendees for them. However anonymous posters posting random idiotic thoughts on crowd counting based on random images on their tv does not fall under this heading, so they get the less official response. The internet/twitter is full of conspiracy nuts who question everything and frankly their perception of events can be different to everyone else and indeed reality in most cases

Nobody here has suggested that anonymous posters should get details on who was at the game and why but there is nothing idiotic about flagging a concern that arrangements at a game looked risky. I dont know how you can call a live broadcast 'random images'. Can we use that defence if something is caught on camera or cctv...bunch of random images, what ever you see and think as a result is idiotic. If RTE filmed fans rioting, (or 50 odd kids drinking with no social distancing) its not appropriate to have an opinion, discuss the issue, be concerned, ask questions, even worry about what footage is showing. I havent suggested that Bohs are culpable on anything,, I have said that to me the Jodi Stand was too busy for comfort under L5 conditions, I also said that it is the way to go to get people back at games (just not at L5). There was a comment on 100 stewards in the Jodi Stand, above that was challanged by using these random images to make a reasonable estimate at closer to 40 people in Hi-Viz bibs - no claim on who they were or what they were doing. I will say that if you really believe that there have not been people accomodated and let in to games across the league inappropriately then you dont know LoI, or you are naive. Be careful what you wish for as scrutiny of those lists of people might turn up a few questions - isnt the Garda Superintendent a GAA man who isnt particularly helpful to Bohs in normal times?

The LOI have done a great job with Covid 19 restrictions compared to the GAA or some other sports, even the league celebrations for Rovers / Drogs/ Longford were kept Sane.
A few extra stewards and a few lads outside a fence isnt a big deal one way or another shouldn't distract from the phenomenal work done by the clubs.

Compared to other sports especially GAA, LoI has been miles ahead and should be lauded for that. Those few extra stewards and lads outside a fence could change that quickly if cluster develop. Its was yerself sbgawa that expressed concern over the livlihoods of people due to restrictions yet you are endorsing slack behaviour that can and has resulted in restrictions that have had to be ramped up because people did the 'no big deal' stuff. It only takes a few weak links, 5-10 people, one c19+ and in a couple of weeks that could be 40 people on the basis of a family of 4 not including extended contacts. How about the risk of cross infecting areas where players also pass through -all the hard work undone. I for one really wish that this was taken a whole lot more seriously and for purely selfish reasons, I dont want to be put at risk at any time, but really id like to have a beer at Christmas with my pals. I want the league to resume with crowds in the spring. What is going to happen (we have seen the effect of L5 lockdown stalling and cases have stopped falling), Govt are going to go against NPHET preferences again and not extend the current Lockdown to mid December. Case numbers will mushroom in the lead up to Christmas but possibly not at a rate we cant manage as a health service. By New Year we will be back in lockdown but the numbers will eclipse both other peaks that kicked us in to lockdown. This time sport will be suspended or delayed and schools will close though presented as extended holidays. Everyone is sick of this sh!t, if you pardon the pun, and it could be avoided but not with the very Irish attitude of 'sure it's grand', 'sure what harm' bull**** or no big deal - it is a big deal. And Ned vigilance is not criticism, even if it turns out to be a non issue. I can asssure you if it was Dundalk FC at Oriel with similar observations by others or myself I would be saying the exact same!!! People need to double down not stamp their feet in a tantrum because of criticism of their club IF rules were stretched.

Anyway yeah was there football on tonight??.....apologies for the rant to all including those quoted but 2020 has been ****e and there are week of it yet to run:mad::excruciating:

26/11/2020, 2:08 AM
seeing several men crowded together behind a fence, live on tv, another example. And in a high risk area of ireland too.

Conspiracy!!!

26/11/2020, 2:12 AM
Nesta you've written more words there than are in the Covid regulations :)

26/11/2020, 2:32 AM
I can do epics indeed but in this case i dont care, its off the chest now and covid regulations at thish stage would fill the TCD library!! Maybe its my way of hitting back at having to actually know any of the damn regulations!! 5th revision of relevant protocols landed on us this week ffs!!!

sundance kid
26/11/2020, 3:34 PM

I think they'd have more to worry about if they get caught opening the bar to their chosen few a couple of nights a week.

26/11/2020, 5:41 PM
I think they'd have more to worry about if they get caught opening the bar to their chosen few a couple of nights a week.

​Conspiracy!!!

26/11/2020, 8:19 PM
You would think that with the size of the Aviva they might be able to allow a few fans from both sides in to the final. Maybe 500/1000 each ? Don’t suppose it’s likely though.

26/11/2020, 9:19 PM
You would think that with the size of the Aviva they might be able to allow a few fans from both sides in to the final. Maybe 500/1000 each ? Don’t suppose it’s likely though.

Yeah and there were these random images of 3 or so people weaking hi-viz bibs in an entire stand! Even FG had the run of the entire stadium bar the dugouts.

sbgawa
27/11/2020, 10:46 AM
Compared to other sports especially GAA, LoI has been miles ahead and should be lauded for that. Those few extra stewards and lads outside a fence could change that quickly if cluster develop. Its was yerself sbgawa that expressed concern over the livlihoods of people due to restrictions yet you are endorsing slack behaviour that can and has resulted in restrictions that have had to be ramped up because people did the 'no big deal' stuff.

I suppose context is everything Nesta , my feeling was that when you look at the carry on in the GAA , mass celebrations etc and some of the other stuff going on house parties etc i was saying that some extra stewards in an outside setting is something i wouldn't get to excited about in the context of how well the clubs have dealt with covid despite not really having the resources.
Accept your point that its a slippery slope and that's hard to argue with.
Lord make me virtuos ....but not yet

27/11/2020, 11:11 AM
In context of a comparison yeah it would be harsh to say fine 4 or 5 people when hundreds congregated for the Cork club championship, marching to their ground, in such numbers that it would be harder to identify. I will admit that the body armour was wearing thin when I was ranting the other night - not that the vast majority of what I said I meant. I just feel there is duty of care for each and every individual to eachother. Some have abdicated that responsibility and there shouldnt be any pardon without legitimate reason. I would include people not using common sense - if somehwere like a shopping centre, football match, tesco, are within regulations but are still risky, then stay away and flag the risk. It's an attitude that is not apologist and what is needed. We only have to look North to see how the soft, placating policy, people at games eg, in and out of lockdown, places opening and now closing again - and the numbers are out of control 3 or 4 weeks out from the Christmas superspreader season. We dont have to look far to see what we'd be in for if people start winging it!!!

sbgawa
27/11/2020, 11:21 AM
In context of a comparison yeah it would be harsh to say fine 4 or 5 people when hundreds congregated for the Cork club championship, marching to their ground, in such numbers that it would be harder to identify. I will admit that the body armour was wearing thin when I was ranting the other night - not that the vast majority of what I said I meant. I just feel there is duty of care for each and every individual to eachother. Some have abdicated that responsibility and there shouldnt be any pardon without legitimate reason. I would include people not using common sense - if somehwere like a shopping centre, football match, tesco, are within regulations but are still risky, then stay away and flag the risk. It's an attitude that is not apologist and what is needed. We only have to look North to see how the soft, placating policy, people at games eg, in and out of lockdown, places opening and now closing again - and the numbers are out of control 3 or 4 weeks out from the Christmas superspreader season. We dont have to look far to see what we'd be in for if people start winging it!!!

I was listening to one of the LOi podcasts last week and it seemed awful strange when Pat Fenlon was comenting that they are allowed 600 at Linfield matches, its like its a different country or planet up there....