Pages :
[
13]
05/11/2019, 5:58 AM
No, definitely goes back more than a few years alright
Real ale Madrid
05/11/2019, 8:25 AM
Mannus should have taken an knee. Id rate his protest as a 4/10. Needs more effort.
In all seriousness people forget Shams' goalkeepers woes before he signed. I'd say the silverware in the cabinet this monrning is as much down to his signing as anyone else.
05/11/2019, 9:00 AM
Actually, most other sides don't turn to face their flag. It seems an almost exclusively Irish thing to do. I'm pretty sure you won't see the Danes turning towards their flag when their anthem is played in the Aviva later this month.
It seemed to be something that happened early in the Charlton era and became the norm. When it first happened there was some annoyance as it meant facing away from heads of state which some supporters at away games saw as disrespectful. Bit different than the alleged Tweed incident in the rugby!
ashbournebohs
05/11/2019, 9:01 AM
As far as I can remember it was Chris Hughton who started the squads facing the tricolour at International games and from then on it became common place. As a neutral ,Bohs Fan ,Irishman, rival or whatever I don't think it offended anyone in reality as he stood respectfully and wasn't hopping around. I personally don't think (and it has nothing to do with McLean) that he should have donned a Poppy on his cup final suit. (If he even did) as that can/could would strike up political arguments and offend (rightly or wrongly) a lot of people. Not a smart move but not the end of the world either but I think symbols like that should be kept out of what is a predominantly tribal sport
That is my take on it putting all club rivalries aside.
Mr_Parker
05/11/2019, 9:17 AM
Leaving Mannus to one side, no footballer (an employee), should ever be put in a position where they are expected to comply with a political act/ceremony while in the performance of their job. In doing so, football association's leave clubs wide open to a legal action.
ArFella
05/11/2019, 9:53 AM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/im-so-devastated-that-this-happened-shamrock-rovers-hero-alan-mannus-explains-irish-flag-move-38662304.html
Explains himself very well in this, complete mountain out of molehill situation. I had questioned him being selected as the goalkeeper in the Team of the year last week but after Sunday's display there can be no real arguments, congrats to him and Shamrock Rovers on their cup win, already can't wait for a great title challenge from them next season. Mon the town!
05/11/2019, 11:39 AM
In light of the fact Mannus shook the President of Irelands hand and was aware he was present, and in light of the fact that English players were subject to race jeers at a recent international and a big fuss was made then even by some Irish commentators, then the goalkeeper's action was fully racist.
He ought be suspended or fined, or both for ungentlemanly conduct.
Fully racist and deserved to be suspended and fined?
Not sure if serious, but hope not.
NeverFeltBetter
05/11/2019, 11:43 AM
Total non-issue. Let's not become too fetishistic about the tricolour, it isn't like he was holding up two fingers.
05/11/2019, 11:56 AM
In doing so, football association's leave clubs wide open to a legal action.
Nonsense
Asterix
05/11/2019, 12:07 PM
Sure all the Dundalk fans in the north stand had their backs to flag :rolleyes:
ArFella
05/11/2019, 12:11 PM
Sure all the Dundalk fans in the north stand had their backs to flag :rolleyes:
No we all just turned to face the Palestine flag ;)
Johnnie C
05/11/2019, 4:50 PM
Lopes behind him had no problem facing the flag.
RathfarnhamHoop
05/11/2019, 4:59 PM
Lopes behind him had no problem facing the flag.
Doubt he would, being from Crumlin and all :rolleyes:
05/11/2019, 6:31 PM
Great timing this for me as I have to pen a substantial piece of coursework on sports, culture and national identity - more comment needed on the reaction than the players conduct. It all a load of BS that anybody that has taken offence well snowflake gets rolled out far too often but in this case anyone offended deserve to be called a snowflake. At a time where there is serious talk about an AIL...bit of growing up needed or just go support GAA where such attitudes will find more than a few willing ears!
placid casual
05/11/2019, 7:48 PM
And my hangover is clearing..🤪🙃😄😝🥴🤤
Well that was an experience. Great craic beforehand in Ringsend, amazing Ultras display, and the utter joy of scoring in the last minute. I looked to the heavens and said, finally,FINALLY, we win this poxy thing again... And then ...ehm, utter disbelief, to be honest. I can't imagine how the player's were feeling cos I wanted to crawl into a ball. Fair is fair, Rovers were the better side throughout and our usual inadequacy up front was about to cost us, it seems. Dundalk would appear to be half the team without Shields, and never got out of 1st gear. This should merit some winter midfield- muscle acquisitions at OP methinks.
SuperKeeper Mannus( I've no interest in this anthem standing story horse$hit) made a vital save in the last minute and Rovers peno's were frankly a pleasant shock. And we won. We won.
Joy agus Rapture. Appreciate the good words on this thread from the usual sparring partners.
Next season cannot come soon enough for my 12yr old - she's never seen us lose ( been to 3 games, in fairness!).
When's the president cup!?!
sbgawa
05/11/2019, 8:48 PM
Mannus should have taken an knee. Id rate his protest as a 4/10. Needs more effort.
In all seriousness people forget Shams' goalkeepers woes before he signed. I'd say the silverware in the cabinet this monrning is as much down to his signing as anyone else.
This is so true. I remember the first match he played, he came out for a corner and caught the ball and we all clapped because we were so used to tomar and others flapping at everything. Even simple stuff was amazing for us. (Apart from bazunus few games and that was nervous enough cos he was only 16) .
His contribution to calmness at the back is huge
sbgawa
05/11/2019, 8:57 PM
And my hangover is clearing..🤪🙃😄😝🥴🤤
Well that was an experience. Great craic beforehand in Ringsend, amazing Ultras display, and the utter joy of scoring in the last minute. I looked to the heavens and said, finally,FINALLY, we win this poxy thing again... And then ...ehm, utter disbelief, to be honest. I can't imagine how the player's were feeling cos I wanted to crawl into a ball. Fair is fair, Rovers were the better side throughout and our usual inadequacy up front was about to cost us, it seems. Dundalk would appear to be half the team without Shields, and never got out of 1st gear. This should merit some winter midfield- muscle acquisitions at OP methinks.
SuperKeeper Mannus( I've no interest in this anthem standing story horse$hit) made a vital save in the last minute and Rovers peno's were frankly a pleasant shock. And we won. We won.
Joy agus Rapture. Appreciate the good words on this thread from the usual sparring partners.
Next season cannot come soon enough for my 12yr old - she's never seen us lose ( been to 3 games, in fairness!).
Completely forgot about presidents cup, where's that being played?
Ask the experts 😀
Ezeikial
05/11/2019, 9:01 PM
Completely forgot about presidents cup, where's that being played?
Ask the experts
Laytown strand
sbgawa
05/11/2019, 9:05 PM
Neutral venue , fair enough
05/11/2019, 9:14 PM
And my hangover is clearing..浪若襤
I agree to an extent but it has been said over and over that playing Hoare in that DM role doesnt work. We dropped points in the league in particular against St Pats and were awful that night. I would rather have had a less defensive type midfielder in instead as tbh we would probably still be defensively solid but with a bit more substance in knocking the ball about midfield. Murray has the engine to get about, or a change in formation would a preferable option to me. Some recruitment is needed with players out too. I would have liked to see Dummigan get some time to see what he is like at left back but rumoured to be on the move. There will be a few former Dundalk lads at St Pats it looks like. The Boardroom in Oriel isnt so settled either so if there is a time for Rovers to use a cup win as a platform to league well 2020 could be it!
ashbournebohs
05/11/2019, 9:37 PM
This is so true. I remember the first match he played, he came out for a corner and caught the ball and we all clapped because we were so used to tomar and others flapping at everything. Even simple stuff was amazing for us. (Apart from bazunus few games and that was nervous enough cos he was only 16) .
His contribution to calmness at the back is huge
Now wouldn't be a great time to remind you he will be 38 when next season comes around. Might grind another year out of him.
sbgawa
05/11/2019, 9:39 PM
At least 2 or 3 more
Johnnie C
05/11/2019, 11:08 PM
Doubt he would, being from Crumlin and all :rolleyes:
Yet he's a Cape Verde Islands International? 🙄
sbgawa
06/11/2019, 5:56 AM
Yet he's a Cape Verde Islands International? 🙄
Feckinn cheek of him staring at our flag, string him up I say.
sullanefc
06/11/2019, 1:36 PM
You shouldn't have an issue with anyone. If football association's continue to bring politics into football, a place of employment, then expect more of the same.
By "more of an issue with", I should clarify that is only marginal and neither issue is going to keep me awake at night. And I don't think players are making a political statement by not singing the song. IMO they are probably too lazy to learn the words wich are "as Gaeilge". We see the same every time the ROI national team plays.
Also, it's obviously an issue where you live, but our national anthem is not a "political issue" where I live. It's a song that is sung with pride on sporting, cultural and other important occasions.
sullanefc
06/11/2019, 1:38 PM
I don't really agree with that. Ok, national anthems aren't normally played at club level - you'd never hear it at a European game for example.
But this wasn't the FA Cup Final, where you might hashed 2/3 English players starting. Was there anyone apart from Mannus from outside the 26 counties?
I'd say for most of the 22 starters, having the anthem played for them made the event that bit more special, even for the guys who'd been there before.
Why take that away because of one person who wasn't interested, but didn't go making a fuss either? If we start removing every part of our culture because it offends one person - and that's the way things seem to be going the past few years - then we soon won't have any culture at all.
Nobody would have commented on this beyond matchday before social media came along.
Well said.
Mr_Parker
06/11/2019, 1:42 PM
By "more of an issue with", I should clarify that is only marginal and neither issue is going to keep me awake at night. And I don't think players are making a political statement by not singing the song. IMO they are probably too lazy to learn the words wich are "as Gaeilge". We see the same every time the ROI national team plays.
Also, it's obviously an issue where you live, but our national anthem is not a "political issue" where I live. It's a song that is sung with pride on sporting, cultural and other important occasions.
I didn't say the anthem was a political issue. By its very nature a national anthem is political. Anything political should be kept out of sport.
sullanefc
06/11/2019, 5:50 PM
I didn't say the anthem was a political issue. By its very nature a national anthem is political. Anything political should be kept out of sport.
So ban international football then? 🤔
marinobohs
07/11/2019, 9:28 AM
Wasn't there some story (possibly urban myth) about one of the early anglos to play for Ireland, on lining up and after the playing of the Irish national anthem he commented, 'For f**k sake that went on a bit' (or words to that effect) only to be told 'that's our anthem'. I heard the story in connection with Terry Mancini :D
sbgawa
07/11/2019, 9:57 AM
Wasn't there some story (possibly urban myth) about one of the early anglos to play for Ireland, on lining up and after the playing of the Irish national anthem he commented, 'For f**k sake that went on a bit' (or words to that effect) only to be told 'that's our anthem'. I heard the story in connection with Terry Mancini :D
yeah i heard that although the version i heard was after the Irish anthem was played was he said "that was pretty **** , i hope ours is better"
The Lilywhites
01/07/2020, 10:37 AM
The FAI Cup final will be in Tallaght this year.
Advantage Rovers.
disgruntled
01/07/2020, 10:52 AM
Advantage Rovers.
Not much of an advantage if they're not in it :o
dundalkfc10
01/07/2020, 11:23 AM
Advantage Rovers.
Are Rovers in the final, never knew.
If it was Rovers V Dundalk in the final for example and fans are allowed in, both would get the same amount of tickets so how would it be advantage Rovers? (How many times have we lost a domestic game there in 5 years?)
Ezeikial
01/07/2020, 4:03 PM
Advantage Rovers.
That would be a brilliant final if it happened - I've always enjoyed winning in Tallaght irrespective of the opposition
EatYerGreens
01/07/2020, 4:52 PM
Advantage Rovers.
This seems a strange decision.
I can't think when the last time was that an FAI Cup Final didn't exceed the current capacity of Tallaght (excluding when it was played in Tolka, which has an even smaller capacity). And that's before we entertain the possibility that there could be social distancing rules at play again then.
So why are they not holding it in Lansdowne ? Especially as the FAI is skint and will have to pay to rent Tallaght and then also make less money off a final there.
01/07/2020, 5:01 PM
Is the international backlog a factor? Six games in two months or something.
RathfarnhamHoop
01/07/2020, 5:02 PM
To say I have huge doubts about the accuracy of that statement is an understatement. Makes absolutely no sense unless there's a clash with the rugby but there have been games for both sports in the ground within days of each other now so I can't see a reason why not do it again
01/07/2020, 5:13 PM
This seems a strange decision.
I can't think when the last time was that an FAI Cup Final didn't exceed the current capacity of Tallaght (excluding when it was played in Tolka, which has an even smaller capacity). And that's before we entertain the possibility that there could be social distancing rules at play again then.
So why are they not holding it in Lansdowne ? Especially as the FAI is skint and will have to pay to rent Tallaght and then also make less money off a final there.
Tolka Park I reckon from early 00s I would safely hazard a guess.
RathfarnhamHoop
01/07/2020, 6:08 PM
Tolkas capacity used to be quite high. We could be talking Rovers Galway in 84(?) when Dalymount was basically empty
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/07/2020, 7:49 PM
Hard to know if it was full or not in 2009 in Tallaght with the weather. There was empty seats but could have been people up the back. Bray Harps I seem to remember not being full in Tolka.
02/07/2020, 1:00 AM
Hard to know if it was full or not in 2009 in Tallaght with the weather. There was empty seats but could have been people up the back. Bray Harps I seem to remember not being full in Tolka.
First game in Tolka in 99 was full but it dropped to about 4000 or 5000 for the second replay...
sundance kid
02/07/2020, 8:19 AM
First game in Tolka in 99 was full but it dropped to about 4000 or 5000 for the second replay...
There was a league cup or setanta cup final in tallaght not too many years ago between rovers and dundalk. Just 2 stands back then, but dundalk couldn't sell their allocation for the main stand and rovers ended up with tickets for the 2 sections nearest the car park
02/07/2020, 1:18 PM
I think for our first fai cup final in 2001, I think there was 8k fans at it as far as I can remember.
08/07/2020, 1:15 AM
An FAI Cup final at Tallaght is bad for the league and, should Rovers reach it, an unfair advantage for us. I'd oppose it at all levels.
08/07/2020, 5:57 AM
I wouldnt want the Cup Final in Tallaght simply as the game should be in the National Stadium. But if it were Dundalk in the final again v Rovers, I dont think it is a major advantage especially if the dressing rooms get changed up. Some of our best performances against Rovers and in Europe were in Tallaght so it has become a bit of home away from home. Its kinda hard not to consider Dundalk not being in the final. If both teams avoid eachother and reach the final we ccan have the Presidents Trophy awarded also. By then maybe things will be in a better position to be able to stick with the AVIVA.
Has there been anything official about it being in Tallaght ? It really would seem silly.
08/07/2020, 8:55 PM
For me personally I wouldnt oppose having the FAI cup final in Tallaght only if the two teams were country sides and werent well supported and then move it to the Aviva ie like with Sligo Rovers -Shamrock Rovers if it sells out well! I
joey B
13/07/2020, 11:25 AM
Extra.ie FAI Cup draw:
Finn Harps v St Patrick's Athletic
Dundalk v Waterford
Cork City v Longford Town
Byes: Derry City, Cabinteely, Shelbourne, Bray Wanderers, Sligo Rovers, Wexford, Shamrock Rovers, Athlone Town, UCD, Galway United, Cobh Ramblers, Bohemians, Drogheda United.
13/07/2020, 11:47 AM
Another shambles of a draw from the FAI. Just when you think they're starting to turn a corner and do some good, they come up with nonsense like that.
Waiting 4 months for football to restart in the LOI, and we get a 5 minute conversation with Jim Crawford about the under-21 international team, beginning with "I never really liked the FAI Cup".
Barely audible, filmed on a phone, and a totally amateur production.
Not to mention drawing 13 byes instead of just doing a second round draw.
13/07/2020, 11:56 AM
You know what'll look well?
FAI streams of matches.
Or maybe not...