placid casual
03/11/2019, 7:03 PM
There's only one Stephen Bradley.
MattB11
03/11/2019, 7:25 PM
Well done Rovers the better side on the day
03/11/2019, 7:41 PM
Congrats Rovers! Tactically I thought they got it on the button 1st half. Hoped they'd run out of steam and we'd get a foothold in midfield but we were very sloppy in possession. Not until Dan Kelly came on did any of the punts to Hoban to knock down come off. Spurned a couple of stellar chances from lay offs that on other days would have rattled the net. Likewise a little more composure from Rovers and if the right pass had been picked it could have been a couple each. The last couple of minutes made up for any of the sloppiness.
People say that losing on penos is the worst. I disagree as it is a lottery in the main and a damn sight easier than losing to a last minute goal. Ref and officials were solid too.
Every year the flare thing comes up and its a damn disgrace each time!! One of the Stewards at the Rovers had to be light on his feet to avoid a flare thrown out to the pitchside, Dundalk fans behind the other goal did similar. But the firework was a shocker. Initially from where I was in the East Stand Upper, when stewards made for the culprit It actually looked like there was a panic moment to get to someone who was injured. There were plenty of mobile phone flashes on the stewards so no doubt there will be footage and claims of heavy handedness.
03/11/2019, 7:53 PM
Nesta for any matches in the Aviva I was at we would have parked at Connolly Station Car Park and got the Dart across. Hope that suits ye!
Not so far off. Stuck to what I knew and parked in the Spire Car Park, LUAS out to the O2 and walked across. There must have been some Rovers prematch party in and around The Yacht pub(?)
03/11/2019, 7:57 PM
Rovers the better team for most of the game, not massively better but still edged Dundalk in all the battles. Kept Dundalk very quiet up front.
Super penalties too.
03/11/2019, 8:05 PM
At the start of the game when they were holding up a banner another genius threw their flare towards the pitch, hit the banner, landed on someone below. Shocking stuff.
Saw that alright - did it hit someone though? I couldn't see through the smoke.
Flares on the pitch from the Rovers end as well it has to be said.
Seems I'm in a minority thinking it was a poor game overall. Dramatic in the two injury time goals, and Mannus' save in the 120th minute, but forgettable other than that.
Obviously that won't matter to Rovers fans. 32 years is a long wait.
CorribsideSteve
03/11/2019, 8:15 PM
Flares on the pitch from the Rovers end as well it has to be said.
Seems I'm in a minority thinking it was a poor game overall. Dramatic in the two injury time goals, and Mannus' save in the 120th minute, but forgettable other than that.
Obviously that won't matter to Rovers fans. 32 years is a long wait.
Also didn't think it was anything to write home about as a contest. Some neat buiild up at times but poor shot and final pass selection on numerous occasions by both teams. 90 minutes of 'this is definitely going to extra time' and 5-10 minutes of drama and excitement including penalties, which form a Rovers viewpoint were all excellent. Shades of Europa League toothlessness about Dundalk tonight. Was like watching the Riga away game all over again. Massey and Gannon hardly made any attacking runs. Missed Shiels big time too.Well done to SRFC though, they badly needed this to give them some real drive and belief. Happy enough for Bradley, much maligned at times, but he can feel accomplished tonight.
joey B
03/11/2019, 8:15 PM
Congrats Rovers! Tactically I thought they got it on the button 1st half. Hoped they'd run out of steam and we'd get a foothold in midfield but we were very sloppy in possession. Not until Dan Kelly came on did any of the punts to Hoban to knock down come off. Spurned a couple of stellar chances from lay offs that on other days would have rattled the net. Likewise a little more composure from Rovers and if the right pass had been picked it could have been a couple each. The last couple of minutes made up for any of the sloppiness.
People say that losing on penos is the worst. I disagree as it is a lottery in the main and a damn sight easier than losing to a last minute goal. Ref and officials were solid too.
Every year the flare thing comes up and its a damn disgrace each time!! One of the Stewards at the Rovers had to light on his feet to avoid a flare thrown out to the pitchside, Dundalk fans behind the other goal did similar. But the firework was a shocker. Initially from where I was in the East Stand Upper, when stewards made for the culprit I actually looked like there was a panic moment to get to someone who was injured. There were plenty of mobile phone flashes on the stewards so no doubt there will be footage and claims of heavy handedness.
Fireworks are unforgivable for me,some absolute lunatic jumped on the pitch while in the process of lighting a firework in United park on Monday after Drogheda's goal just about clearing the stand,so so dangerous.
On the game today Shields absent was massive ,he is Dundalk's best player for me and Rovers were on top in that area of the pitch but failed to capitalize going forward,Burke the main culprit there.
Gartland was excellent but Cleary looked a bit shaky and was suprised to see him step up for a penalty,Rovers penalties were fantastic and in the end the best team won on the day.
Congrats to Rovers and commiserations to Dundalk.
03/11/2019, 8:16 PM
Nah I agree Stu, I thought it was relatively poor quality. In fear of the wrath of Rovers fans, they were superb pressing high all the time and not letting us play but it meant it wasnt a great game of football. Bit attritional. We will never know but it was a game that Shields would have thrived in imo. Dundalk build up play was laboured, balls round the corner, 1-2s, lay-offs werent happening and when they did it was closed quickly and the ball went back across the back 5 again. Couple of times we were nearly pressed off the ball in our own damn box!
White Horse
03/11/2019, 8:39 PM
Congratulations to Shamrock Rovers on their cup win.
Dundalk were quite poor and didn't do enough to deserve the win. I was very disappointed that we couldn't push on in extra time. Rovers were spent at that stage but we couldn't find the quality to open them up. We created limited opportunities during the 120 minutes, mostly from set pieces, but were not as clinical as usual.
Great quality penalties from Rovers. They say penalties is a lottery, it wasn't today.
Ezeikial
03/11/2019, 9:17 PM
Humble pie time
Rovers were full value for their win. They stopped Dundalk getting any rhythm going with their high pressing game working to perfection.
Congrats. Enjoy the win
RathfarnhamHoop
03/11/2019, 9:23 PM
I was the opposite end so couldn't be sure but everyone under the banner was shoulder to shoulder and it came down right on top of them so I can only assume it did. Even if not a flare landing a foot behind/beside/in front of you is still dangerous as ****.
Congrats shams, deserved winners. Better team from start to finish. Dundalk didn't show up.
We've had our arguments but I appreciate your comments. Btw my grandad usec to run the stiles in Dalymount! I would also like to point out, as well on as I am, what this league can offer between this game and Bohs v Rovers semi final to the public in general. If we only had people , sensible people people, who could run our league.
03/11/2019, 9:39 PM
I was the opposite end so couldn't be sure but everyone under the banner was shoulder to shoulder and it came down right on top of them so I can only assume it did. Even if not a flare landing a foot behind/beside/in front of you is still dangerous as ****.
Yeah, it was certainly my thoughts as well; I just wasn't sure if it had actually hit someone. There presumably was someone holding the banner up, and the flare seemed to hit in the middle I thought, which is where you'd be standing
RathfarnhamHoop
03/11/2019, 9:51 PM
Yeah, it was certainly my thoughts as well; I just wasn't sure if it had actually hit someone. There presumably was someone holding the banner up, and the flare seemed to hit in the middle I thought, which is where you'd be standing
I've actually just looked at a photo and it seems the lads holding the banner were a few rows in front of everyone else (gives you an idea of my perspective) so thankfully there's a good chance it might not have hit anyone but still a stupid thing to do.
joey B
03/11/2019, 9:54 PM
https://twitter.com/finsceal/status/1191051478544375808
definitely did hit someone,very lucky he moved quick,so so dangerous though.......
03/11/2019, 10:42 PM
Humble pie time
Rovers were full value for their win. They stopped Dundalk getting any rhythm going with their high pressing game working to perfection.
Congrats. Enjoy the win
PC, Calcio, RH, Aterix - it has taken years, its amazing what a cup can do so enjoy tonight!! It could kickstart a genuine challange for us next season. Close season is now upon us soon which will be very interesting!
04/11/2019, 12:11 AM
https://twitter.com/finsceal/status/1191051478544375808
definitely did hit someone,very lucky he moved quick,so so dangerous though.......
Saw that myself on the TV alright. Whoever threw it, I hope they were given a proper kick up the hole. Mindless stupidity.
Kingswood Rover
04/11/2019, 7:42 AM
bar what seems to be a couple of minor numptiness the event seems to have gone off relatively smoothly.
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 9:10 AM
bar what seems to be a couple of minor numptiness the event seems to have gone off relatively smoothly.
That was just Manus :D
Kingswood Rover
04/11/2019, 9:45 AM
yea but look we cant really give out on one hand about the treatment Mc Clean gets in the uk over his poppy stance and then get all hot and bothered about someone from the other tradition on the island expressing his beliefs in a kinda similar matter.
sullanefc
04/11/2019, 9:59 AM
yea but look we cant really give out on one hand about the treatment Mc Clean gets in the uk over his poppy stance and then get all hot and bothered about someone from the other tradition on the island expressing his beliefs in a kinda similar matter.
Precisely. If that's how he feels then fine. I'd have more of an issue with the local lads who don't sing the anthem.
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 10:26 AM
Oh, I must have 'missed' when the Irish Army murdered 14 civilians in Manus home town :confused: Not like the abuse the shams handed out to a certain former LOI manager over his past.
......But hey, that's different :rolleyes:
ArFella
04/11/2019, 10:40 AM
Oh, I must have 'missed' when the Irish Army murdered 14 civilians in Manus home town :confused: Not like the abuse the shams handed out to a certain former LOI manager over his past.
......But hey, that's different :rolleyes:
Ehh, Mannus is from Belfast, I think a certain Irish "Army" may have done some equally reprehensible things there too. Completely hypocritical to go after him for the same thing we've defended McClean for, don't get me wrong I'd be mortified and annoyed if it was a Dundalk player doing it but you can't give out when he has done the exact same as McClean just because his political beliefs.
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 11:09 AM
Ehh, Mannus is from Belfast, I think a certain Irish "Army" may have done some equally reprehensible things there too. Completely hypocritical to go after him for the same thing we've defended McClean for, don't get me wrong I'd be mortified and annoyed if it was a Dundalk player doing it but you can't give out when he has done the exact same as McClean just because his political beliefs.
It is NOT the same as McClean - the Irish Army (of this state) did not murder civilians on the street. Does Ireland, players or fans disrespect the union flag because of the actions of Loyalist terrorists ? have we ever ?
For fans that were so vociferous when it became known a former LOI manager was a former British soldier its a very different story when its their player. BTW Manus was born in Canada !
Anyway, maybe not the forum for that discussion.
Scrufil
04/11/2019, 11:25 AM
Interesting discussion, if one could understand what you are on about. What did Manus do, or not do? Who is the ex-British Army Manager you are on about?
Well done Rovers and Bradley.
The season is not over yet for Dundalk, Athlone, or St. Patrick's. My boycott of Athlone Town A.F.C continues and I will not attend the Leinster Senior cup final.
04/11/2019, 11:57 AM
Mannus didn't turn to face the flag during Amhrán na bhFhiann.
Dave Robertson was Sligo manager a couple of years back and was ex British Army, stationed in Belfast for a year
Mannus grew up in Belfast to a Northern family, and it's trite in the extreme to evaluate his actions based on being born in Canada.
Mr_Parker
04/11/2019, 12:15 PM
Precisely. If that's how he feels then fine. I'd have more of an issue with the local lads who don't sing the anthem.
You shouldn't have an issue with anyone. If football association's continue to bring politics into football, a place of employment, then expect more of the same.
04/11/2019, 12:49 PM
Not so far off. Stuck to what I knew and parked in the Spire Car Park, LUAS out to the O2 and walked across. There must have been some Rovers prematch party in and around The Yacht pub(?)
That must have being in Ringsend. Yeah that would be one of the Shamrock Rovers pubs. Good call to park in city centre and get luas to 02 and then walk across. If you had got the Dart it would have being jammers!
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 12:52 PM
Mannus didn't turn to face the flag during Amhrán na bhFhiann.
Dave Robertson was Sligo manager a couple of years back and was ex British Army, stationed in Belfast for a year
Mannus grew up in Belfast to a Northern family, and it's trite in the extreme to evaluate his actions based on being born in Canada.
Presumably 'trite in the extreme' to mention the offensive banner produced by shams fans for Robertson's first game (related to his past in British Army). Or maybe the EDL thugs shams regularly invite over here have made them more open minded on the matter :D
04/11/2019, 12:59 PM
I am delighted for Shamrock Rovers that they won the cup. From reading the pre match interviews and post match interviews I detect a smugness in a few of the Dundalk players especially Dundalks manager Vinny Perth.
I think Shamrock Rovers will be a stronger challenger to Dundalk and with this Dermot Desmond investment I think they will go from strength to strength. I do be critical of certain Dublin clubs especially at the conduct of Shels fans late last season when a number of our seats were broken but I do like a good news story regardless of my beliefs.
Dalymountrower
04/11/2019, 1:15 PM
Had no idea there was any sort of kerfuffle 're Manus. We would all really need to get a grip about respecting religious and cultural diversity and not look to take easy offence.
We should be a million miles away from the mentality where you have the
DUP sending out flyers to Rangers fans attending their Europa league match on polling day 12 December, to contact the DUP to cast a postal ballot!!
RathfarnhamHoop
04/11/2019, 2:19 PM
Would ya ever **** off Marino. Why would he turn to face a flag that's not his? Not like he spat on the ****ing thing. How many Irish players turn to face the other nations flag during anthems at the aviva? Exactly none. Grow up and get on with the fact not everyone has the exact same view on life as you.
04/11/2019, 2:19 PM
Had no idea there was any sort of kerfuffle 're Manus.
I'm not altogether sure there was. Seems to have arisen from a few Twitter comments which the Belfast Telegraph decided constituted a "row erupting"
Sounds more clickbait than anything else.
04/11/2019, 2:37 PM
I never even noticed nor would I have cared a dot!!
I think in light of the Mannus situation the cup final should be replayed or Rovers kicked out, with whatever team it was they played in the final awarded the trophy
I don't see any other realistic options.
sbgawa
04/11/2019, 3:05 PM
The only thing the Manus "issue" if thats what you could call it says for me is we shouldn't be playing National anthems at sports events anywhere, or wearing poppies fwiw.
Fantastic to get the cup monkey off our backs i didn't even realize how much it bothered me (and it really did bother me) until this morning when i realized i won't ever have to listen to someone saying 32 years etc etc again.
Very unlikely i get to live to see another 32 year famine :) but i was starting to think i might die before seeing us win again :)
Consensus seams to be we deserved to win it and that was my feeling as well.
Wonderful occasion and well behaved fans mixing without any hassle which was great (with exception of the numpties with he flares)
Long off season now with only the news that Dane Massey is coming to Rovers :) to keep us going
Well that was a tough watch. Five successive finals and I don't think Dundalk have come close to playing well in any of them. Rovers were deserved winners, Dundalk were defensively solid for the most part (as always) but poor in midfield. Would Shields have made the difference? Unlikely with the rest of them performing like that. A bit of complacency slipping in to Dundalk's support... not a huge crowd down and not the noise we produce sometimes. As I joked beforehand "you have to cherish these big days.... they only come around a few times a year"
Rovers were good, Mannus, Lopes, O'Brien, Byrne all impressed. The Rovers support was superb, the south end looked magnificent pre-match. I'm sure they enjoyed the night! Congrats to the Rovers contingent on here. My fear now is that it'll inspire them in the way the 2016 final win inspired Cork for 2017. For the love of god let's hope not ;-)
04/11/2019, 5:42 PM
The only thing the Manus "issue" if thats what you could call it says for me is we shouldn't be playing National anthems at sports events anywhere, or wearing poppies fwiw.
I don't really agree with that. Ok, national anthems aren't normally played at club level - you'd never hear it at a European game for example.
But this wasn't the FA Cup Final, where you might hashed 2/3 English players starting. Was there anyone apart from Mannus from outside the 26 counties?
I'd say for most of the 22 starters, having the anthem played for them made the event that bit more special, even for the guys who'd been there before.
Why take that away because of one person who wasn't interested, but didn't go making a fuss either? If we start removing every part of our culture because it offends one person - and that's the way things seem to be going the past few years - then we soon won't have any culture at all.
Nobody would have commented on this beyond matchday before social media came along.
sidewayspasser
04/11/2019, 6:57 PM
Even as a non-Irish person, I think playing the anthem at the cup final adds to the occasion, so I don't think that should be taken away. In some other countries, their national anthem is also played at their cup finals.
Does everyone have to turn to face the flag? If it's not their flag, I wouldn't say so, and Mannus obviously doesn't consider it to be his flag. I wonder would he get the same stick if he was Canadian only?
04/11/2019, 7:02 PM
Does everyone have to turn to face the flag? If it's not their flag, I wouldn't say so, and Mannus obviously doesn't consider it to be his flag.
Good point actually. I don't know what the etiquette is. Fairly sure the home side face the flags at the Irish anthem only at internationals (and the away side face it for their anthem)
McClean has also taken stick before for disrespecting a national anthem, and while again I can understand his reasons, he deliberately bowed his head during the song (as did a team at the NI Cup final last year I think). Mannus did nothing like that.
04/11/2019, 7:43 PM
This Mannus thing is nothing at all, a non-story.
sidewayspasser
04/11/2019, 7:48 PM
Fairly sure the home side face the flags at the Irish anthem only at internationals (and the away side face it for their anthem)
Actually, most other sides don't turn to face their flag. It seems an almost exclusively Irish thing to do. I'm pretty sure you won't see the Danes turning towards their flag when their anthem is played in the Aviva later this month.
EatYerGreens
04/11/2019, 7:54 PM
I don't really agree with that. Ok, national anthems aren't normally played at club level - you'd never hear it at a European game for example.
But this wasn't the FA Cup Final, where you might hashed 2/3 English players starting. Was there anyone apart from Mannus from outside the 26 counties?
I'd say for most of the 22 starters, having the anthem played for them made the event that bit more special, even for the guys who'd been there before.
Why take that away because of one person who wasn't interested, but didn't go making a fuss either? If we start removing every part of our culture because it offends one person - and that's the way things seem to be going the past few years - then we soon won't have any culture at all.
Nobody would have commented on this beyond matchday before social media came along.
Surely you know your LOI better than that PS ? McEnuff and Duffy from Derry?
Never mind not facing the flag. Most of the players don't even know the words to the Irish anthem. Which is surely the most embarrassing thing of all here.
EatYerGreens
04/11/2019, 7:55 PM
Even as a non-Irish person, I think playing the anthem at the cup final adds to the occasion, so I don't think that should be taken away. In some other countries, their national anthem is also played at their cup finals.
Does everyone have to turn to face the flag? If it's not their flag, I wouldn't say so, and Mannus obviously doesn't consider it to be his flag. I wonder would he get the same stick if he was Canadian only?
The turning to face the flag thing is just tokenist bull****. It's only started in the last few years. An import from the US I think.
They'll have their fecking hands on their hearts for it next. Load of daft shiite tbh.
Scrufil
04/11/2019, 8:45 PM
In light of the fact Mannus shook the President of Irelands hand and was aware he was present, and in light of the fact that English players were subject to race jeers at a recent international and a big fuss was made then even by some Irish commentators, then the goalkeeper's action was fully racist.
He ought be suspended or fined, or both for ungentlemanly conduct.
wonder88
04/11/2019, 8:48 PM
We all face the flag at GAA games. Some also take their cap off, very few around me did this yesterday during amhrán na bhfiann. I may be wrong but I think the Irish soccer team started facing the tricolor during Jack Charlton's time. Even before the political protest by Mannus, I had the feeling that the occasion had no Irish or national identity to it. Their is not one Irish word in any of the signage in the Aviva, nor in yesterday's programme apart from the anthem.
You could be at any provincial English football ground yesterday. Well one difference, a group of english fans who I overheard at the bar, were not impressed with no seat numbers being on their tickets meaning that they had to finish their pints quickly in order to get good seats. "Ireland init" was their verdict.
Sport is about identity, maybe the lack of it and meaning attached is a reason why Irish soccer finds it difficult to attract substantial crowds.
I found the game itself poor enough, but a great atmosphere was created by the fans. I managed to get a ticket(free) for the premium level and I also took a look at the sailing boat down the quays, before crossing over to Ringsend to sample the pre-match vibe, so it was a good day.
We need a longer league of Ireland season.
04/11/2019, 8:51 PM
Surely you know your LOI better than that PS ? McEnuff and Duffy from Derry?.
Ah, the Derry lads don't count :)
The turning to face the flag thing is just tokenist bull****. It's only started in the last few years. An import from the US I think.
They'll have their fecking hands on their hearts for it next. Load of daft shiite tbh.
I am almost sure that tradition started during Italia 90, if not before. There was a big hullabaloo about facing the dignitaries in the stands so the Irish team all thumbed their noses at that and faced the flag. Something along those lines anyway... i read about it in a book (some diary) about that World Cup. It is a tradition that we have had since then and i am sure it carried on through our managers and teams since then. Or am i high again?