View Full Version : FAI Cup games
Pages :
[
10]
Ezeikial
28/10/2019, 8:12 PM
In fairness to him his head was called for by lots of fans including myself at one stage but the board held their nerve and Mr Bradley seems to be learning as he goes.
Fair comment KR.
He certainly seems to have restrained himself somewhat from his previous regular madcap media comments, but I suspect he just can't help himself on occasions and reverts to type.
Having a cut off Rovers fans and others who were critical of him or casting aspersions at Dan Carr on his way out of the club is neither classy nor smart.
Enjoy the build up and the cup final day!
29/10/2019, 12:23 AM
Tallaght man who is a big St Pats fan though
We all have our flaws.
marinobohs
29/10/2019, 8:56 AM
In fairness to him his head was called for by lots of fans including myself at one stage but the board held their nerve and Mr Bradley seems to be learning as he goes.
Not sure what he is 'learning'. Second biggest budget manages to get second place, especially in light of Cork implosion and Pats nightmare season.Finally winning a derby and finishing second in a one horse race hardly the stuff of 'vindication'
If shams win the cup, then its fair to say it was a good season but a loss and some might question whether that big loss indicated in the accounts was value for money.
joey B
29/10/2019, 11:03 PM
Chris Shields suspended for the final according to extratime.ie,massive player to be missing for Dundalk.....
sbgawa
29/10/2019, 11:19 PM
That's a wierd one was he booked in last game? Surprised dfc played him if that was the case
Asterix
29/10/2019, 11:28 PM
Booked in the game against Cork, his 8th of the season.
sbgawa
30/10/2019, 7:05 AM
Terrible to miss a final over a technicality
dundalkfc10
30/10/2019, 7:10 AM
Terrible to miss a final over a technicality
He and the club knew he waa missing final as soon as he got the yellow.
Wasnt up to Dundalk to let Rovers know what team we may start (i.e that he be missing)
That is dreadful stuff. Surely they knew he was on seven cards and not to play him in meaningless games because of that?
Looks like it was badly managed by Dundalk. I think he picked up his 7th in the 94th minute of the 1-0 win over Derry on Oct 4.... but then again are you gonna mothball him for an entire month? It's a long time not to play. And that assumes Dundalk were aware of the schedule of when a potential suspension would kick in. Assuming Shields is out it's a massive blow as there's no natural replacement. He's our least replaceable player.
placid casual
30/10/2019, 8:07 AM
Great news for Rovers. He's dundaks most influential player. Still, they can always rely on hoban ,for his motivational attitude.
Ezeikial
30/10/2019, 8:36 AM
Rovers have one hand on the cup now.
dundalkfc10
30/10/2019, 8:38 AM
Great news for Rovers. He's dundaks most influential player. Still, they can always rely on hoban ,for his motivational attitude.
The Hoban who opposition teams think is the best in the league. We will be fine
The Lilywhites
30/10/2019, 8:47 AM
Looks like it was badly managed by Dundalk. I think he picked up his 7th in the 94th minute of the 1-0 win over Derry on Oct 4.... but then again are you gonna mothball him for an entire month? It's a long time not to play. And that assumes Dundalk were aware of the schedule of when a potential suspension would kick in. Assuming Shields is out it's a massive blow as there's no natural replacement. He's our least replaceable player.
If he got his 8th v Bohs he'd have missed Pat's last Friday. If he got his 8th v Pat's it wouldn't kick in until next Monday. They could have played him anywhere except Cork, it was the only game that would have ruled him out for final for his 8th yellow. He was rested for Bohs the week before Cork so did the club miscalculate? Huge loss.
dundalkfc10
30/10/2019, 9:15 AM
If he got his 8th v Bohs he'd have missed Pat's last Friday. If he got his 8th v Pat's it wouldn't kick in until next Monday. They could have played him anywhere except Cork, it was the only game that would have ruled him out for final for his 8th yellow. He was rested for Bohs the week before Cork so did the club miscalculate? Huge loss.
If he hadnt of played V Cork and was booked V Pats. He still be suspended
sbgawa
30/10/2019, 10:31 AM
I've always thought other than maybe a sending off for violent conduct no one should miss a final they have qualified for.
Roy Keane in 1999 sticks out for me.
Don't understand why the various FA's stick with this rule (while changing stuff that doesnt need changing) i cant imagine anyone thinks its fair
30/10/2019, 10:32 AM
What's the timing of a suspension being served? If there were a number of games played this month he should have kicked someone, gotten his 8th yellow and served the suspension v Pats for example. Unless the suspension list is done up monthly.
Big loss but I hope it doesnt mean Hoare is played in midfield. That seriously weakens our attacking game. I'd rather have an all out attacking midfield - maybe Flores and Murray will have a big role to play. Murray certainly has the engine to get about in a defensive holding role. FFS though all season we havent had a full deck to pick from!
30/10/2019, 10:36 AM
Hatrick for Hoban now!
Asterix
30/10/2019, 10:48 AM
What's the timing of a suspension being served? If there were a number of games played this month he should have kicked someone, gotten his 8th yellow and served the suspension v Pats for example. Unless the suspension list is done up monthly.
Big loss but I hope it doesnt mean Hoare is played in midfield. That seriously weakens our attacking game. I'd rather have an all out attacking midfield - maybe Flores and Murray will have a big role to play. Murray certainly has the engine to get about in a defensive holding role. FFS though all season we havent had a full deck to pick from!
I think they have meeting every tuesday where they sort all this stuff out and the suspensions kick in on the next Monday, unless its a red card which is an automatic next game suspension.
Had a look on flashscore there, he picked up 7 yellows in the league, the other one is from the presidents cup.
El-Pietro
30/10/2019, 11:00 AM
Looks like he got 3 of his 8 yellows against us this year. I'm taking some small piece of enjoyment out of that. Though I'm fairly confident there is no cup final this year, it was cancelled after just one round I believe. Not sure what you are all getting so worked up about.
30/10/2019, 11:02 AM
I think they have meeting every tuesday where they sort all this stuff out and the suspensions kick in on the next Monday, unless its a red card which is an automatic next game suspension.
Had a look on flashscore there, he picked up 7 yellows in the league, the other one is from the presidents cup.
Now that is a sh!it show. There isnt a process to appeal iirc either. Awful for the player and Dundalk. Significant advantage for Rovers now who just on Shields out of the game are deifintely favourites. No common sense in the rules considering that for the showpiece game of the season you want the 2 strongest sides available. Considering the role that Shields plays 7 cards in the season isnt that bad bu to add a card from a preseason game is ridiculous. There should be an amnesty at the halfway point or if a player goes x amount of games without picking up a card unless there are red cards involved. Anyway its advantage Rovers now with us having the key midfielder out and a goal shy hatstand up top!!
placid casual
30/10/2019, 11:18 AM
Hatrick for Hoban now!
Hatstand for Rovers next year!
30/10/2019, 11:33 AM
He'd then be instantly the best hatstand in the league!! Hasnt been capped though so does he meet the Rovers minimum requirement? ;)
marinobohs
30/10/2019, 11:54 AM
Rovers have one hand on the cup now.
To go with the League they won in June 😀
marinobohs
30/10/2019, 11:59 AM
I've always thought other than maybe a sending off for violent conduct no one should miss a final they have qualified for.
Roy Keane in 1999 sticks out for me.
Don't understand why the various FA's stick with this rule (while changing stuff that doesnt need changing) i cant imagine anyone thinks its fair
I believe their is a cup final amnesty for accumulating 5 yellows but that doesn’t apply to the second (8) yellows ban.
Shame, as no player should miss a big game over that. Still trying to grasp the logic of Mandroui missing Pats game because he was called up for Ireland U21s the week before.
disgruntled
30/10/2019, 12:12 PM
Looks like he got 3 of his 8 yellows against us this year. I'm taking some small piece of enjoyment out of that. Though I'm fairly confident there is no cup final this year, it was cancelled after just one round I believe. Not sure what you are all getting so worked up about.
Karma can be a bitch :)
I'm surprised that he's only got eight yellow cards this season.
Having said that the final will be a poorer game without him.
A rather amateurish mistake for Dundalk to make considering they had the league won months ago.
mcgonigle
30/10/2019, 12:20 PM
Karma can be a bitch :)
I'm surprised that he's only got eight yellow cards this season.
Having said that the final will be a poorer game without him.
A rather amateurish mistake for Dundalk to make considering they had the league won months ago.
It can indeed, sure look at what it's done to your club as punishment for years of putrid hoofball
Crosshead
30/10/2019, 1:08 PM
Hate to see any player miss a final over an accumulation of yellows, but I do find it amusing to see Shields suffer the consequences of a foul he's been getting away with for years. I remember being pleasantly surprised that he was booked at the time, as it was the sort of cynical foul aimed at breaking up the opposition attack that I've seen him get away with time after time.
Dundalk only have themselves to blame for putting him in that position in the first place.
What makes it all weird is that Shields got his fifth yellow in June v Rovers and played 4 league games and 1 League Cup game before serving his 5 yellows suspension 8 weeks after the 5th yellow, by which time he'd picked up a 6th. Or so it seems to me. Don't quote me.
Ezeikial
30/10/2019, 5:23 PM
It seems that there is more to this than meets the eye. The Presidents Cup yellow card and whether it was retrospectively added to the booking count after his first suspension will undoubtedly feature in Vinny's post match interviews - it will probably sound more measured if he is holding the FAI Cup at the same time.
"I don’t think today is the right day to discuss that, or before the cup final," Perth told RTÉ Sport’s Tony O’Donoghue.
"I’ll openly discuss it with anyone after the cup final. There is a difference of opinion on what Chris’ exact, let’s say, suspension is so we’ll move on from it.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/1030/1087618-perth-shields-is-the-best-but-everyone-replaceable/
The Lilywhites
30/10/2019, 5:37 PM
If he hadnt of played V Cork and was booked V Pats. He still be suspended
No it wouldn't come into effect until Monday November 4th if that was the case.
Shields got his 5th v Harps on August 16th so was suspended v UCD on August 26th, but he picked up his 6th in Derry on August 23rd. Just the way the system works and that might have confused Dundalk. But they would have received official communication a few days after his 7th yellow card v Derry on October 4th so would have known he was only one away.
Crosshead
30/10/2019, 6:47 PM
It seems that there is more to this than meets the eye. The Presidents Cup yellow card and whether it was retrospectively added to the booking count after his first suspension will undoubtedly feature in Vinny's post match interviews - it will probably sound more measured if he is holding the FAI Cup at the same time.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/1030/1087618-perth-shields-is-the-best-but-everyone-replaceable/
Of course he doesnt want to talk about it, it was a monumental mistake on his part in selecting him.
sbgawa
30/10/2019, 7:33 PM
Of course he doesnt want to talk about it, it was a monumental mistake on his part in selecting him.
To be fair to vinnie that is more club secretary stuff.
30/10/2019, 7:34 PM
1st job as manager so he will learn. Not a bad start irrespective of Sunday's result or the error with Shields yellow cards. Could be worse as Cork fans will understand!
marinobohs
30/10/2019, 8:01 PM
Says Cork fan after three managers this season 😁
Ezeikial
30/10/2019, 8:26 PM
That may yet prove to be the case, but it's pretty clear that he is prepared to talk about it next week, when it won't detract from cup final preparations.
Vinny has a track record of straight talking in an open and forthright style. His post match interview after the defeat to Sligo last April left Dundalk 13 points adrift in the league is testament to that. He has never been slow to put his hand up and take responsibility where it is appropriate, but it is fairly clear from his RTE interview that he strongly disagrees on the suspension standing
"I’ll openly discuss it with anyone after the cup final".
The Lilywhites
30/10/2019, 9:13 PM
That may yet prove to be the case, but it's pretty clear that he is prepared to talk about it next week, when it won't detract from cup final preparations.
Vinny has a track record of straight talking in an open and forthright style. His post match interview after the defeat to Sligo last April left Dundalk 13 points adrift in the league is testament to that. He has never been slow to put his hand up and take responsibility where it is appropriate, but it is fairly clear from his RTE interview that he strongly disagrees on the suspension standing
"I’ll openly discuss it with anyone after the cup final".
It appears Dundalk misread the rule, going by Perth's comments here https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/article38647060.ece
Massey got his 5th yellow in Cork but is available for the final due to the rule. Dundalk thought it was the same for players on 8 yellows. Shocking that nobody at the club noticed this.
Ezeikial
30/10/2019, 9:33 PM
It appears Dundalk misread the rule, going by Perth's comments here https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/article38647060.ece
Massey got his 5th yellow in Cork but is available for the final due to the rule. Dundalk thought it was the same for players on 8 yellows. Shocking that nobody at the club noticed this.
Fair enough
Vinny says that he takes responsibility, but will speak more about it next week!
If Daniel McDonnell's understanding is correct that the rules on amnesty were misread, then there would be little left to talk about (other than how Dundalk won the cup without Shields)
Johnnie C
30/10/2019, 11:03 PM
Any news on how ticket sales are going? Would be great to see the 2010 attendance topped.
31/10/2019, 1:23 PM
There has being precedence in the past with players missing cup finals through suspension ie Barry Ferguson in 04,the two sligo lads in 09, Jason McGuinness in 08. point was made in one of papers today that if a player was within one booking of a suspension and gets booked in the last game leading up to the cup final there should be an anmesty. It can be done after five bookings. Why they cant do it after that is beyond me!
marinobohs
31/10/2019, 1:41 PM
There has being precedence in the past with players missing cup finals through suspension ie Barry Ferguson in 04,the two sligo lads in 09, Jason McGuinness in 08. point was made in one of papers today that if a player was within one booking of a suspension and gets booked in the last game leading up to the cup final there should be an anmesty. It can be done after five bookings. Why they cant do it after that is beyond me!
I don't think they should mix League and cup games at all (never mind the Presidents Cup :rolleyes:). Is it really beyond the Abbottstown brain trust to manage different suspension lists for League and Cup ? Players going further in the cups are at greater risk of a ban due to their success and you can have the crazy scenario where a player misses a cup final without having picked up a single yellow in the competition that season.
5 yellows in League = I League game missed. 2 yellows in cup = 1 cup game missed. Is that really beyond them ?
Park_Lane
31/10/2019, 3:41 PM
Any news on how ticket sales are going? Would be great to see the 2010 attendance topped.
Was in the club shop today and they only had tickets available for the havelock square end
Yossarian
31/10/2019, 4:31 PM
Was in the club shop today and they only had tickets available for the havelock square end
You sure about that? The havelock square end is where the more raucous of the Dundalk fans are located.
Park_Lane
01/11/2019, 10:00 AM
You sure about that? The havelock square end is where the more raucous of the Dundalk fans are located.
Maybe I misheard only overheard a convo. Im probably wrong in this case as rovers in south stand and east lower.
Hope fully a big turnout anyway, our south stand allocation is sold out, still some east lower available at the club.
Guesstimating 32-35k attendance
seand
01/11/2019, 12:58 PM
Hopefully it'll be a massive crowd. By Monday Dundalk were selling section 104 and Rovers 107, so we'd nearly met in the middle of the west stand at that early stage!
joey B
01/11/2019, 1:08 PM
Over 30k tickets sold apparently,half thinking of heading up on the condition Harps win tonight otherwise I'll be logging off until 2020!
Ezeikial
02/11/2019, 9:19 AM
The RTE website article by Peter Branigan (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/1101/1088022-fai-cup-final-all-you-need-to-know/) is entertaining reading for how he frames the rise of Shamrock Rovers.
Here is one of the gems
The 75 points that Rovers picked up in the league this season would have left them just a point behind champions Cork in the 2017 table.
which totally ignores the fact that the 2017 season had less matches - Rovers average points per match this season (2.08) would have left them in 3rd place in 2017 (and in every other season since 2013)
Ronan Finn also feeds the delusion when reflecting on matches between the champions and Rovers this season
"In terms of possession, in the majority of the games we've been fairly dominant.
So in 3 out of the 4 matches this season, Rovers have been fairly dominant ? I don't think so Ronan
I know you don't get points for possession, but we've been in control for quite a bit of each game we've played.
Hey Ronan, every team tends to be in control for some period in a match
A single point from 12 this season tells it's own story
Ronan Finn last won a trophy with with Rovers in the Leinster Senior Cup win in 2013 - he has a great chance to add to this on Sunday, but it seems as though he is bracing fans for defeat with this talk of Rovers progress
placid casual
02/11/2019, 9:27 AM
It's quite comical how bitter and twisted you are, especially for a supposed fan of the best team in the country. Are you like other dundalk fans, in seeing this cup final as more about Rovers than yourselves. Because you're not paranoid. It is.
If so , take it as a compliment. This is just another cup final for a successful dundalk side, and one you'll be expected to win, even without the dirty Shields😀
Ezeikial
02/11/2019, 9:48 AM
It's quite comical how bitter and twisted you are, especially for a supposed fan of the best team in the country. Are you like other dundalk fans, in seeing this cup final as more about Rovers than yourselves. Because you're not paranoid. It is.
If so , take it as a compliment. This is just another cup final for a successful dundalk side, and one you'll be expected to win, even without the dirty Shields
Fairly typical response, not addressing any of the points
'Comical', 'bitter', 'twisted', 'paranoid' - you missed the obsessed barb!
I think the gap between Rovers and Dundalk remains substantial, but every underdog has a chance in a one-off game
Enjoy the occasion
Asterix
02/11/2019, 10:29 AM
Ronan Finn also feeds the delusion when reflecting on matches between the champions and Rovers this season
So in 3 out of the 4 matches this season, Rovers have been fairly dominant ? I don't think so Ronan
First game in tallaght Rovers had 51% First in oriel Dundalk had 53% , Second in Tallaght Rovers had 54% and the last game Rovers had 57 %.
So he is right in the majority of games Rovers had more possession. How is he delusional.