View Full Version : Mayo Junior Soccer

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24

Thunderblaster
27/01/2006, 10:26 PM
There is one answer to this. If Gavin Dykes concentrated on nurturing players through from Celtic's impressive underage set up, arguably the best in Mayo, rather than looking for the quick fix solution of bringing in these players, there would be none of this trouble. The big danger is when Dykes leaves and all the players he signed followed suit, it may take Celtic a season or two to stabilise back into a respected junior football force. Celtic have players not getting onto the team and they are good enough to get on it. Remember, Celtic won the 2003 Connacht Cup with a local team that have passion for their club and their town and a local manager. Why repair something if it aint broke? Remember his mantra that there would be no Sligo player brought in, when he took charge?

gnasher
28/01/2006, 10:44 AM
There is one answer to this. If Gavin Dykes concentrated on nurturing players through from Celtic's impressive underage set up, arguably the best in Mayo, rather than looking for the quick fix solution of bringing in these players, there would be none of this trouble. The big danger is when Dykes leaves and all the players he signed followed suit, it may take Celtic a season or two to stabilise back into a respected junior football force. Celtic have players not getting onto the team and they are good enough to get on it. Remember, Celtic won the 2003 Connacht Cup with a local team that have passion for their club and their town and a local manager. Why repair something if it aint broke? Remember his mantra that there would be no Sligo player brought in, when he took charge?

I have to agree with you there. Short term gain won't mean alot when their current manager is lured to the EL. Celtic are just a stepping stone to bigger things for him. That said, he has to put himself in the shop window by taking trophies. Two still up for grabs (could become one soon!). Who knows, if he wins both he could be gone by the summer. This,of course, is only speculation but I would not expect him or Celtic to continue the relationship for much longer, the financial thing must be crippling. I mean,Semi-pro set-up in the Mayo League? It's not in the spirit of Junior soccer. For me it's all about a local community getting better together,led by local people for local people.

What's the real story, will they be thrown out or what? A simple yes or no will do (renovater- no rule book spiel).

Fireball
28/01/2006, 2:07 PM
I hear the main pitch in Belleek, Ballina was damaged last night. Some prats drove onto it and cut it up.

Thunderblaster
28/01/2006, 5:59 PM
You know the saying, let justice take its course, but to be perfectly honest, I cannot see Celtic been thrown out. I might be proven wrong.

renovater
28/01/2006, 7:37 PM
You know the saying, let justice take its course, but to be perfectly honest, I cannot see Celtic been thrown out. I might be proven wrong.
ALOT what you said in your prevous thread make good sense however its a pity that Celtic don't share the same view
you may be proven wrong about been thrown out my understanding the apeal is about the number of x-League /pro players used and if proven corect then they will have no option to dismiss them then again it may also be about C.K. AND IN THAT CASE WE in the Mayo League will have Red faces so just May be Connaught Passed the buck knowing worse to follow.Who knows what cHARGES THE M.L could face if the Senior Council was to deal with the matter bear in mind the Judgment handed down re-Snugboro v Celtic was on the advice of the Senior F.A.I. SHOULD THEY END UP dealing with it They noted how Mayo Regraded C.K. Who knows what could happen next. they may at this point decide to deal with Mayo.we will have to wait and see
Good luck to Snugboro on sunday v Celtic, hope they make it to the final
see ya in Snugboro tomorrow:cool: :cool:

itisnow
29/01/2006, 2:38 AM
:mad: Your last couple of posts makes it very clear where you are coming from you are not anti- Mayo just anti Celtic. a touch of the green eyed monstor.

renovater
29/01/2006, 2:11 PM
:mad: Your last couple of posts makes it very clear where you are coming from you are not anti- Mayo just anti Celtic. a touch of the green eyed monstor.
Looking for fair playing pitch for all teams including Celtic
I would do the same in there defence if the were wronged
Good result for celtic today in a close match with a stand in goal keeper K Carty
Took early lead 2-0 Boro pulled 1 bACK cELTIC MADE IT 3-1 aFTER THE BRAKE
the boro had alot of play pulled back 3-2 But just couldnt find that final goal Celtic held on to go on and meet S/Foxford
I fancy Celtic to pull this one off Good luk too both teams in the final
Even thou it late in the year.

galactico
29/01/2006, 3:31 PM
both teams were poor...how many shots did boro have on carty who is usually midfield.? boro back 4 were shockingly poor at times ..only dykes held celtic together at back...d flynn {boro} must be one of the most overated players around ..good to see eamon daly playing again..referee was poor ... then again he never is anything else when ive seen him...certainly not one of mayo leagues best...hope celtic play better next week against neilstown rangers..should have all the big guns back...good luck to all 3 mayo teams next weekend:)

soccerc
29/01/2006, 7:26 PM
hope celtic play better next week against neilstown rangers..should have all the big guns back...good luck to all 3 mayo teams next weekend:)

I understand that the Castlebar/Carew? FAI Junior Cup 7th round tie against Neilstown will not take place until thge weekend of 11/12 February and not next weekend due to appeals being lodged!

galactico
29/01/2006, 7:43 PM
I understand that the Castlebar/Carew? FAI Junior Cup 7th round tie against Neilstown will not take place until thge weekend of 11/12 February and not next weekend due to appeals being lodged!
never heard anything today.was talking to a few of the lads in castlebar after the game and they think its on next week.. interesting!

The Don
30/01/2006, 8:45 AM
Why then is Ballyheanes game been played Sunday week as well.

swinfordfc
30/01/2006, 8:50 AM

Is Ballyheane not playing this coming Sunday?

swinfordfc
30/01/2006, 8:52 AM
Well done to Castlebar Celtic under 18 side beating Bangor Hibs 3-1 to reach Quarter Finals away to St. Johns in Sligo next.

Only 2 Mayo teams left in last 11 in this competition :eek:

Thunderblaster
30/01/2006, 6:32 PM
Only 2 Mayo teams left in last 11 in this competition :eek:

Well done to Celtic in reaching the quarter final. A quarter final comprises of eight teams; not eleven. From a Mayo perspective, it is a little disappointoing that there are only two sides left but it is up to the clubs to raise the bar to compete at a higher level. Setting targets is the road to success.

renovater
30/01/2006, 7:13 PM
never heard anything today.was talking to a few of the lads in castlebar after the game and they think its on next week.. interesting!

Soccerc is right the game has been put back. you must be talking to the wrong lads
Can anyone tell me whats wrong with the goals on astro pitch at mile bush heard the media weren't to happy with them. One for the refsOne could add CORNORFLAGS when will the dugout be put into place same other league clubs or is this a rule for m.l. and not for the rest sounds unusal practice

renovater
30/01/2006, 7:17 PM
Ghee Don i was looking forward to that game next sunday will someone from the Heane tell us why the game is off.may be no team? OR TEAMS:mad:
I'll just have to go to Westport instead

OscarBravo
30/01/2006, 7:18 PM
Don, the Ballyheane game was postponed because of a wedding of one of the UL players, wouldn't you think one of those nice people at the FAI Junior Council would have the courtesy to inform ye:rolleyes:

Celtic's predicament could be more severe I fear

swinfordfc
31/01/2006, 10:57 AM
Well done to Celtic in reaching the quarter final. A quarter final comprises of eight teams; not eleven. From a Mayo perspective, it is a little disappointoing that there are only two sides left but it is up to the clubs to raise the bar to compete at a higher level. Setting targets is the road to success.

Thats true but there still 11 teams in it Castlebar Celtic v St. Johns in Q Final
Others teams in Quarter Finals awaiting their opponents are Renmore, Glen Celtic and Cregmore-Claregalway.
Matches to be played to make Quarter final are;
Sligo Rovers v Moore Utd
Boyle Celtic v Ballinasloe Town
Salthill Devon v Swinford

Thunderblaster :mad: How many teams are left????????

swinfordfc
31/01/2006, 11:02 AM
How are Westport fix for game on Sunday against Killester?

l.f.c......
31/01/2006, 2:06 PM
whats the word up there lads are castlebar confident that the objection carew park has put in will be throw out. has carew park even a case or are they justing wasteing time and money objecting

Manfred
31/01/2006, 5:12 PM
Soccerc is right the game has been put back. you must be talking to the wrong lads
Can anyone tell me whats wrong with the goals on astro pitch at mile bush heard the media weren't to happy with them. One for the refsOne could add CORNORFLAGS when will the dugout be put into place same other league clubs or is this a rule for m.l. and not for the rest sounds unusal practice
Well here we go again! Firstly excellent game in Celtic park last Sun v Bangor Hibs - and a good crowd. Charlestown ladies also doing extremly well. But lets do the 'reno' and dispense with footballing matters and mention Milebush. Obviously I have no problem getting insider info on that pitch.
It takes such a small mind to mention the possability of something wrong with the goals without having the balls to back it up. But here are the facts:two weeks ago a there was a challenge game on the omnigrass. The ref, been greedy, also wanted to do the line on the Mayo v Clare Ladies game and asked for a time change. This wasnt possible and he got the hump. He then got one of his 'mates' to phone the press and complain about the goals. The press, having sense, contacted Milebush and inspected said goals, which have FAI regulation weights on them. On the dug outs, the bases are in and fenced and the rest will be in place before the season kicks off. (On-going work). On that note, and I know that this thread is been used by genuine football people (hello Don & Mossy), I have to say that while the rubbish that Reno is spreading is allowed to continue, this can not be a proper football forum. His lies are bad, but the disinformation is terrible. Lock it up 12th man, do us all a favour.

Thunderblaster
31/01/2006, 6:09 PM
Thats true but there still 11 teams in it Castlebar Celtic v St. Johns in Q Final
Others teams in Quarter Finals awaiting their opponents are Renmore, Glen Celtic and Cregmore-Claregalway.
Matches to be played to make Quarter final are;
Sligo Rovers v Moore Utd
Boyle Celtic v Ballinasloe Town
Salthill Devon v Swinford

Thunderblaster :mad: How many teams are left????????

5 quarter finalists and three round of 16 games leaving eleven teams left in the competition. Thanks for the statistics.

Thunderblaster
31/01/2006, 6:20 PM
I hear the main pitch in Belleek, Ballina was damaged last night. Some prats drove onto it and cut it up.

I read up on it today and saw the picture of the damage. I hope that the culprits are caught. Hopefully the judge in the case, if there is a successful prosecution, would make the perpetrator foot the bill for the damage. It is not only vandalism to the ground but vandalism to football and vandalism to the social development of the children of Ballina. All forumites on foot.ie should come out and condemn the actions of thugs that destroy our values of promoting football. I stand 100% behind Ballina Town in their efforts to promote football and the same goes to any football club around the country and that we all stand firm and resolute against pitch vandals. I hope that people with any information on this would go to the police and I hope that the person or persons behind this would give themselves up. We all have the craic and slag off about different rivalries but this incident is not funny.:mad:

renovater
31/01/2006, 6:27 PM
I read up on it today and saw the picture of the damage. I hope that the culprits are caught. Hopefully the judge in the case, if there is a successful prosecution, would make the perpetrator foot the bill for the damage. It is not only vandalism to the ground but vandalism to football and vandalism to the social development of the children of Ballina. All forumites on foot.ie should come out and condemn the actions of thugs that destroy our values of promoting football. I stand 100% behind Ballina Town in their efforts to promote football and the same goes to any football club around the country and that we all stand firm and resolute against pitch vandals. I hope that people with any information on this would go to the police and I hope that the person or persons behind this would give themselves up. We all have the craic and slag off about different rivalries but this incident is not funny.:mad:

TH i like to add my name to that :mad:

gnasher
31/01/2006, 7:15 PM
"throw down thy bitter rivalies and repent, for vandalism can bind us" gnasher 20:15

I'm backing the boys

gnasher
31/01/2006, 7:17 PM
How are Westport fix for game on Sunday against Killester?

They should be close to full strength. Hope it does'nt rain between now and then,for all our sakes.

swinfordfc
01/02/2006, 8:58 AM

Same here, its a disgrace this happen

mossy
01/02/2006, 8:59 AM
What can one say ?
On the bright side is't it great to see some football coverage on that most GAA of provincial papers The Western at last !!. Pity it took a pitch to get destroyed to get it though.
On a lighter note I hope that all and sundry will be in the port on Sunday. Not very confident myself, never am when they are at home.
The Heane game will be the next W.E. I presume and as for Celtic expect an FAI smudge and a replay deemed the outcome.
What do you mean Manfred about the Don and I ? If it is the ramblings of the renovator that upsets you if so then I must plead innocence as the diction is a bit too hard to take so I generally skip said contributions as the 'nom de plume' is obvious. Comprende !! :D

FahyForever
01/02/2006, 9:39 AM
What can one say ?
On the bright side is't it great to see some football coverage on that most GAA of provincial papers The Western at last !!. Pity it took a pitch to get destroyed to get it though.
On a lighter note I hope that all and sundry will be in the port on Sunday. Not very confident myself, never am when they are at home.
The Heane game will be the next W.E. I presume and as for Celtic expect an FAI smudge and a replay deemed the outcome.
What do you mean Manfred about the Don and I ? If it is the ramblings of the renovator that upsets you if so then I must plead innocence as the diction is a bit too hard to take so I generally skip said contributions as the 'nom de plume' is obvious. Comprende !! :D

I have to agree with Mossy; for all the inside information Renovator seems to have on rules, regulations and matters of Mayo League Football, it's still all virtually incomprehensible due to his dazzling array of grammatical errors, spelling mistakes and Really Annoying Usage Of Capitals. I'm not trying to be smart here or to attack him, it's just that I think a lot more people would read his posts if they had paragraphs and made sense, rather than being similiar to huge slabs of verse from the old testament.

galactico
01/02/2006, 6:24 PM
where are you joe_d,i here all is not well in the snugboro camp,few people have re-signed for next season{info provided by b team player} and there was heated words between a couple of senior players after sundays game can you shine some light on this ?

01/02/2006, 6:29 PM
B team player is well informed, although I don't feel I should washing the dirty linen in public. AGM on this friday and there'll be a few harsh words I'd say. It's been building up to this for a few years, some might say the burning resentment in the background made us so successful(relatively)

galactico
01/02/2006, 6:57 PM
thanks joe....i agree keep the dirty washing in_house.shouldnt have asked ,apologies,,,

renovater
01/02/2006, 9:25 PM
I have to agree with Mossy; for all the inside information Renovator seems to have on rules, regulations and matters of Mayo League Football, it's still all virtually incomprehensible due to his dazzling array of grammatical errors, spelling mistakes and Really Annoying Usage Of Capitals. I'm not trying to be smart here or to attack him, it's just that I think a lot more people would read his posts if they had paragraphs and made sense, rather than being similiar to huge slabs of verse from the old testament.

Fahy f. Usage of capitals are to draw your attention I try and keep an eye opened for sp gram errors
by the way I am sure you get the picture :mad:

renovater
01/02/2006, 9:44 PM
Well here we go again! Firstly excellent game in Celtic park last Sun v Bangor Hibs - and a good crowd. Charlestown ladies also doing extremly well. But lets do the 'reno' and dispense with footballing matters and mention Milebush. Obviously I have no problem getting insider info on that pitch.
It takes such a small mind to mention the possability of something wrong with the goals without having the balls to back it up. But here are the facts:two weeks ago a there was a challenge game on the omnigrass. The ref, been greedy, also wanted to do the line on the Mayo v Clare Ladies game and asked for a time change. This wasnt possible and he got the hump. He then got one of his 'mates' to phone the press and complain about the goals. The press, having sense, contacted Milebush and inspected said goals, which have FAI regulation weights on them. On the dug outs, the bases are in and fenced and the rest will be in place before the season kicks off. (On-going work). On that note, and I know that this thread is been used by genuine football people (hello Don & Mossy), I have to say that while the rubbish that Reno is spreading is allowed to continue, this can not be a proper football forum. His lies are bad, but the disinformation is terrible. Lock it up 12th man, do us all a favour.

I will just say the truth does hurt alittle.

its good to see the astro will meet the Criteria same as all other Mayo grounds
the word is misinformation

swinfordfc
02/02/2006, 10:55 AM
Good luck to Westport in FAI Cup and to Swinford under 18 in Connacht Cup this weekend.

sinabhuil
02/02/2006, 5:41 PM
5 Weeks To Kick Off!! Yippee

02/02/2006, 5:46 PM
Bleeding Eck. Is that all? We'll all have to start working on the fitness. How's things down in Cross? How many have you signed for the coming season? What's your pitch like? Will you suffer from players missing if it clashes with GAA? And what club colours will you be taking on?

Ballina Town
02/02/2006, 6:44 PM
The person responsible for such destruction of the Ballina Town pitch has been caught. I am happy to report that SHE will be prosecuted in Mid-February. Good luck to all Mayo clubs over the coming weeks.

renovater
02/02/2006, 10:49 PM
The person responsible for such destruction of the Ballina Town pitch has been caught. I am happy to report that SHE will be prosecuted in Mid-February. Good luck to all Mayo clubs over the coming

weeks.

Your welcome on board Ballina, i'm glad to here some lady or what ever you like to call her be prosecuted.
I would hope She suffer's to no end if found guilty of her crime,this is a crime against the community young and not so young.
I hope she can sleep at night after what she done.Good luck with further developments in Ballina town,and for the new season ahead.

Thunderblaster
03/02/2006, 12:07 AM
The person responsible for such destruction of the Ballina Town pitch has been caught. I am happy to report that SHE will be prosecuted in Mid-February. Good luck to all Mayo clubs over the coming weeks.

Glad to see that it may bring closure to this.

sinabhuil
03/02/2006, 8:57 AM
Bleeding Eck. Is that all? We'll all have to start working on the fitness. How's things down in Cross? How many have you signed for the coming season? What's your pitch like? Will you suffer from players missing if it clashes with GAA? And what club colours will you be taking on?

village team small numbers - very few experienced players - might struggle in first year. Pitch. We have to take the cattle off it!!!

Superman
03/02/2006, 1:11 PM
Any word of how the carew park's appeal went last night???:confused:

sinabhuil
03/02/2006, 1:40 PM
village team small numbers - very few experienced players - might struggle in first year. Pitch. We have to take the cattle off it!!!
Colours White with black stripes:D :D :D

renovater
03/02/2006, 5:22 PM
where are you joe_d,i here all is not well in the snugboro camp,few people have re-signed for next season{info provided by b team player} and there was heated words between a couple of senior players after sundays game can you shine some light on this ?

I have heard though the Grape Vine that the Management team of Snugboro F.C. is unhappy with the behaviour of some players in the club.
They are now considering alternative offers from outside the club.
Hopefully Snugboro committee will be dealing with the matter in the coming days.
The information is from a sound source.

itisnow
04/02/2006, 5:21 AM
Renovator have you been so mean to Manfred that he is gone for ever. (we miss him) Shame on you renovator

renovater
04/02/2006, 2:56 PM
Renovator have you been so mean to Manfred that he is gone for ever. (we miss him) Shame on you renovator

You sound one of the same but i hope not

renovater
04/02/2006, 3:10 PM
Any word of how the carew park's appeal went last night???:confused:
Yes I believe celtic were sucessful based on reports I am hereing.
this also good news for the mayo league as there rule 34 is intacked dispite the soundings from Noel Kennedy.
So may be Mr kennedy may have to retracked his postion on this one and except mayo league clubs can after all transfer after 31 july to competitions outside ML as per rules of Conn and F.A.I. this is also good news for other remaining clubs from Mayo in outside Competition Good Luck to Celtic in the next round.
A word of warning doesn't mean will heard the last of this from a celtic postion.
This only clears that they have not broken Mayo Rules
Question Have they been clear on F.A.I. RULES?we wait and see.

Manfred
05/02/2006, 5:14 PM
I have heard though the Grape Vine that the Management team of Snugboro F.C. is unhappy with the behaviour of some players in the club.
Hopefully Snugboro committee will be dealing with the matter in the coming days.
Small bit on this before footballing matters: 'Sound source' is it as sound as the Connacht source that you used regarding last Con meeting? That worked well!!
Do we know the name of the Mayo person who suggested at the Con meeting that Celtic should be instructed not to play C.Kelly?
Why are you so interested in gossip?
I think any Mayo person that tried to get a Mayo team kicked out of the FAI junior cup should be hanged, drawn & quartered!
Treachery & treason in the 21st century! Good luck to the 'heane next week, and good luck to Snugboro who have been super over the last two seasons.
Tough luck on Westport. They looked like a tired team, and rightly so after their exertions over the past 36 months. The score line didnt do them justice.
Were you at the game Reno? Actually, were you ever at a game? Mabe Buckly Park, or with your friends in Carew Park? Never mind, plenty more rule books to digest before bed time!

Manfred
05/02/2006, 5:20 PM
What can one say ?
Hi mossy, I was just using yourself & don as examples of footballing people. At least youve been to games and would seem to have footballing kudos. Tired of Reno's ramblings against Mayo teams, thought mabe we could ignore him and discuss the finer side of the beautiful game. Ya. I know, I keep getting sucked in to reply to his rubbish, but I will bring it to a halt. Just didnt like all his lies, treason and DISinformation! At some stage we will all have to stand up and be counted.

06/02/2006, 9:16 AM
Alternative offers? For players? What are you on about?