View Full Version : Mayo Junior Soccer

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Le Grande Eric
16/12/2005, 8:33 PM
It won't just be Pat Duffy and the rest mentioned who will rue the desicion to opt out of under 21s, the whole of Mayo soccer could suffer. If the FAI decides no regional Centre no FAS development squad, no more pilot projects. We could become the lepers of Irish Football

Definatley a backward step not to continue with u 21,but remember there are Players who have a lot to answer for. The whole debacle of a dedicated squad came about in a misguided attempt to solve an older problem..Mayo unable to field a full team Remember Mayo travelling to Derry with only 10 players (out of 40 registered)in 2003? Same story in 2004 A goalkeepker playing upfront against Monaghan to maake up 11.:ball: Mayo manager said that the structure must be right from top to bottom It's clearly not right at the top but what's the point of putting resources into something Players have no interrest in?

renovater
17/12/2005, 2:50 PM
has the boro any date for the match against cc in the replay of aib cup game....if its after xmas will kelly be eligble?....january 1st an all that...has the boro taken a couple of players from celtic and lost keeper to ballina..if so can he play in celtic game? cant see boro beating the hoops after watching super cup final...a good celtic win on sunday next will make it a good xmas. seasons greetings to one and all

Don’t know if a date is set it was to be played in December it’s looking more like January 2006.before they will be able to play The A.I.B. Cup
Regards to availability of C Kelly, or any other player being able to play after 1st January. The answer is no only player that was signed up to 31st December 2005.
Only other time if THE FAI granted extension of the season, players who may sign 24hrs before last game. But it would reconsider the season runs from 1st Jan to 31Dec.
Regards to transfers players have to be sign by 31st July to play in local competition
Regards to the 1st January that’s an urban myth which was written in the Connaught Telegraph by Tom Kelly
Transfers out side Mayo League Competition ie F.A.I. or Conn Cup 31st January 2006
I think that should explain who can play and who can not Only registered player’s in 2005 can play in 2005 competition

renovater
17/12/2005, 5:21 PM
Regards to the development U-21 team yes I would have to agree with the sentiments that the one person who worked so hard in involving Mayo League was Pat Duffy and from the League Joe Butler who no longer is involved.
The decision to enter a U-21 team had to be supported and passed by the clubs at the time it was clear that no player would lose dual player status so it was accepted.

There no one stopping the Mayo League in putting a U-21 team into Eircom League or any club who feels they can afford to fund it.
You must remember The Mayo League is using funds that has been given by there clubs i.e. Club Affiliations and players Registration to fund the team Manager and the U-21
It’s my view that the league should have only 1 block vote the same as clubs on any issue regards to this one if the clubs don’t support it then you won’t be able to force the issue.
So were did it go wrong?
THE League is the source of the problem two years ago they were having problems with fielding teams because that were clashing with club games the offender at the time was Westport.
It’s my view the league wanted fixtures played on time Westport wanted its players for its games there was no compromise Westport were drag in to meeting got slap across the wrist the league could have applied Rule 35 and aloud Westport players to play for Mayo, and refix the fixtures.
I some time think the power base of players weren’t from a wider range of clubs or the lack of interest by some clubs
Regards to its Leadership the blame waves heavily on his shoulders as a leader he was only concerned in his own interest rather than clubs, as he stated at a recent club delegates meeting the letter that was directed towards the clubs regarding Rule 35 will be adhered to. His comments to that letter at the delegates meeting were null and void. Not the usual way to respond to letter that was not agreed to my clubs or the L.M.C. Or to force clubs that it had the right to take players as designated squad without agreement. Then went as far to tell Leo Tierney the league had been given permission that players were given first choice over there clubs as to which he Leo admitted at a recent club delegates meeting. He also stated that it had to be right from top to bottom; even he was now pointing the finger towards the top table
The negative is FAS is subject to any new Fas course being given to MileBush. I doubt it would apply to excising one. Tell me how many local players are involved in the FAS Program I doubt there are two many I think you have to be involved in a Eircom League Club please correct me if I am wrong but I doubt it.
Regards to The Regional Centre it has no bearing on the matter that is about the facilities at Milebush and its location. Mayo Football will always be a force with or without a U-21 TEAM. Its is an advantage to give up coming players a greater experience to play at higher level but the down side is we need to be winning these games not at the wrong end of the table.
Can we put it right?
We have Choices to make are we happy with the way the Mayo League chairman handle the whole affair? even his own members are not happy in his handling of the vote situation even Tom Kelly ask for a rethink which fell on deaf ears at the last delegate’s meeting J.De has publicly told one club he blames the top table. So before we start blaming our clubs the Mayo League needs to get its house in order. By starting to understand its rules and imply them properly
Can we get back on track the answer is yes
The Mayo League would need to forget about designated squad and have a broader base squad extent its season to December from September to allow players to play with there clubs they need to put a new blue print to working with clubs interest at heart. And forget any hidden agenda’s it may have.

Thunderblaster
17/12/2005, 8:03 PM
Out of the clubs that voted no, did any of them go to an Eircom U.21 game? Were the players consulted on their opinions? Heard that Keith Noone of Erris United gave his appraisal to the concept. Some players that played in the competition have gone on to play with the full Eircom League teams this season. Everybody should realise that every player is entitled to fulfill their footballing ambitions.

renovater
17/12/2005, 8:17 PM
Out of the clubs that voted no, did any of them go to an Eircom U.21 game? Were the players consulted on their opinions? Heard that Keith Noone of Erris United gave his appraisal to the concept. Some players that played in the competition have gone on to play with the full Eircom League teams this season. Everybody should realise that every player is entitled to fulfill their footballing ambitions.
by all account the that attented any u-21 game was always poor you could offen count them in one hand.
players them self offen had no interest in playing good luck to any player who goes off and beter them self but I don't no to many this season but I sure there has been a influx of players coming to our league from the eircom. surly that says alot about our league.
yes ur right but not at the expense of our super league clubs no U-21 TEAM MANAGER SHOULD TELL A CLUB WHO HE CAN'T PLAY ON ANY GIVEN MATCH
The clubs didn't cause the problem the league did.:confused:

galactico
17/12/2005, 9:16 PM
thanks renovater...thats cleared that up for me....was at the mayo u18 match today at milebush..there was at least 12 people watching not a great way to support the future of mayo soccer..{nb}joe butler may not be officially involved with mayo league but he attends ot training sessions goes to all matches..and shows great support for all soccer in mayo...he should still be chairman in my opinion...

GoodFootball
18/12/2005, 12:09 AM
If it was run correctly, ie the right players being chosen then it would have been a sucess (Last year only it was run badly). I used to look at the teamsheets and laugh because some of the players were sub standard, no offence meant but there are better players out there. Maybe holding yearly trials should have adopted instead of the crack of picking players who played for mayo u-13's etc. I know a few lads who are quality but never got picked despite being main players in teams: Ballyheane(1), Westport(1), Fahy Rovers(2), Castlebar Celtic(3) - surprise, Boro(1). Delegates from them clubs have an idea themselves who they are, its ridiculous but I guess thats football, not what you know....:confused:

GoodFootball
18/12/2005, 12:14 AM
With reference to Renovators page long post above:

z z z... No disrespect but this post is too long, have to say you make good points though!!

Celtic should put an U-21 team in, god knows GD could buy enough talent to make it good, could be a way forward??? What ya think?

itisnow
18/12/2005, 1:27 AM

z z z... No disrespect but this post is too long, have to say you make good points though!!

Celtic should put an U-21 team in, god knows GD could buy enough talent to make it good, could be a way forward??? What ya think?

Totaly agree with you post to long to wade through and argue.

On Celtic entering an under 21 team, cost factors alone would mitigate against this.

Surely it is still not too late to come up with a plan that would accomadate both club and player ambitions (with the emphasis on players playing at the highest standard avaiable to them).

Le Grande Eric
18/12/2005, 11:01 AM

D'ont think Keith Noone would have been at the meeting it was for club chairmren&secretaries or committee members

I agree fully that every player should fulfill their potential but there was not enough of the committed to Mayo u21 over the past three seasons

With regard to attendances;Whole concept was poorly marketed by MAFL Did any one even see a poster for an u21 match anywhere?

renovater
18/12/2005, 8:25 PM
thanks renovater...thats cleared that up for me....was at the mayo u18 match today at milebush..there was at least 12 people watching not a great way to support the future of mayo soccer..{nb}joe butler may not be officially involved with mayo league but he attends ot training sessions goes to all matches..and shows great support for all soccer in mayo...he should still be chairman in my opinion...

could'nt agree more Iwas to be there but I was at xmas party that extented too the next day Isent My appolgy's to chairman's yts not that I was to be expected to be there just as a suporter WELL DONE TO THEM tough match by all accounts

renovater
18/12/2005, 8:26 PM

could'nt agree more Iwas to be there but I was at xmas party that extented too the next day Isent by appolgy's to chairman's yts not that I was to be expected to be there just as a suporter WELL DONE TO THEM tough match by all accounts

renovater
18/12/2005, 8:31 PM
If it was run correctly, ie the right players being chosen then it would have been a sucess (Last year only it was run badly). I used to look at the teamsheets and laugh because some of the players were sub standard, no offence meant but there are better players out there. Maybe holding yearly trials should have adopted instead of the crack of picking players who played for mayo u-13's etc. I know a few lads who are quality but never got picked despite being main players in teams: Ballyheane(1), Westport(1), Fahy Rovers(2), Castlebar Celtic(3) - surprise, Boro(1). Delegates from them clubs have an idea themselves who they are, its ridiculous but I guess thats football, not what you know....:confused:

Well Good football
will you name your starting 11 but uR right to sugest it was run badly

renovater
18/12/2005, 8:34 PM

I NO BUT IT IS INPORTANT NOT TO LEAVE WHAT I THINK ARE THE PROBLEMS
RATHER THAN WATER THEM DOWN
BUT I TAKE YOUR POINT

renovater
18/12/2005, 8:36 PM
Totaly agree with you post to long to wade through and argue.

On Celtic entering an under 21 team, cost factors alone would mitigate against this.

Surely it is still not too late to come up with a plan that would accomadate both club and player ambitions (with the emphasis on players playing at the highest standard avaiable to them).
ITS NEVER TO LATE BUT ITS IMPORTANT THAT WE DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKES

swinfordfc
19/12/2005, 9:00 AM
Manulla unlucky in game against Athenry untill the pens. Athenry keeper must be good.

Good Win (facile) for Celtic but got tough draw against Carew Park.
Westport tough draw again St. Peters to and i dont know alot about Ballyheane opposition.

Also congrats to Mayo under 18 beating Sligo 2-0 to keep they chances alive, have to beat Donegal in January. was at the game some great players Mayo have.

l.f.c......
19/12/2005, 9:40 AM
hi lads
this is a draw neither team wanted i say two very good teams it should be a cracker. how are ye going this season has dykes done his magic with ye?? i heard ye also have a great respect and love for wesport and there manager that said on 2fm yesterday you only get one chance on the day ( ya right)

renovater
19/12/2005, 8:34 PM
hi lads
this is a draw neither team wanted i say two very good teams it should be a cracker. how are ye going this season has dykes done his magic with ye?? i heard ye also have a great respect and love for wesport and there manager that said on 2fm yesterday you only get one chance on the day ( ya right)

:ball: what ever about the draw carrew will be getting out the rule book if they were to lose this one

short_frank
20/12/2005, 12:17 AM
With regard to the U21 debacle the problem also stemmed from the picking of players from the fashionable clubs to represent Mayo. The lower leagues have some damn fine young players but they are not looked at even when Mayo were crying out for players (eg. playing a goal keeper up front).
I am involved with a lower league team and have come across some exceptionally talented players who chose to play with their home team but because of this never get a chance of even a call up. When was Leo or any of his coaching staff at a lower league game?
This has been the way throughout Mayo soccer. I was involved with an unfashionable club a few years ago which won the league and cup double U16 for two years running but we were told (by a member of the Mayo U16 coaching panel) that none of the players were good enough to represent Mayo even though one is now playing Eircom league and two represented Ireland underage (one the same year he was told he wasn't good enough for Mayo).
If we got rid of this elitist attitude maybe then Mayo soccer would have a chance of fielding an U21 team in the future.

swinfordfc
20/12/2005, 1:46 PM
With regard to the U21 debacle the problem also stemmed from the picking of players from the fashionable clubs to represent Mayo. The lower leagues have some damn fine young players but they are not looked at even when Mayo were crying out for players (eg. playing a goal keeper up front).
I am involved with a lower league team and have come across some exceptionally talented players who chose to play with their home team but because of this never get a chance of even a call up. When was Leo or any of his coaching staff at a lower league game?
This has been the way throughout Mayo soccer. I was involved with an unfashionable club a few years ago which won the league and cup double U16 for two years running but we were told (by a member of the Mayo U16 coaching panel) that none of the players were good enough to represent Mayo even though one is now playing Eircom league and two represented Ireland underage (one the same year he was told he wasn't good enough for Mayo).
If we got rid of this elitist attitude maybe then Mayo soccer would have a chance of fielding an U21 team in the future.

Thats a very good point which is very true here in Mayo.

The Don
20/12/2005, 3:43 PM

This elitist attitude is also shown within the super league as only certain clubs are considered to have Mayo potential players.

renovater
20/12/2005, 6:05 PM

Couldn't agree more I did state on the previous page MAYO didn't choose players from a broader base, which inturn lead to shortage of players.
Which also leads to a lack of intrest it time those at the top table to wake up

galactico
20/12/2005, 6:54 PM
This elitist attitude is also shown within the super league as only certain clubs are considered to have Mayo potential players.
would you consider ballina,snugboro as elititst they both have players on OT panel..i agree the manager and his staff should look at all players in the mayo league set up as potential OT players regardless of what team they play for;;;goes back to the old saying if your good enough you should be playing,

Superman
21/12/2005, 8:07 AM
Heard on the grape vine that Sheriff Y.C. and Glenview Stars are lodging appeals against Castlebar Celtic for Ciaran Kelly playing against them in previous FAI and Connacht Cup games!! Any truth in this??:rolleyes:

The Don
21/12/2005, 8:29 AM
Didnt hear anything about it. Hardly worth their while when FAI have said he is now officially a celtic player.

swinfordfc
21/12/2005, 8:36 AM
Heard on the grape vine that Sheriff Y.C. and Glenview Stars are lodging appeals against Castlebar Celtic for Ciaran Kelly playing against them in previous FAI and Connacht Cup games!! Any truth in this??:rolleyes:

i doubt this very much will happen now and as the don says, the FAI have agreed that he is offically a celtic player now. in fairest, glenview cant have any complaints, beaten 8-0!!!!!!!!

mossy
21/12/2005, 10:00 AM
Read the rantings of el duce in the paper today and must admit to complete wonderment at his recollections of the meetings events. An apology received from CELTIC for the Secretarys comments, I don't think that happened, and if apologies were needed it is from that buffoon that they should come from.
The under 21 mess is very sad and it evokes that old saying 'Throwing the baby out with the bath water' but one thing is for sure bullying does not work and while that person is there then bullying it will be. Maybe the Sec might think of a solution or the resident in Milebush or even old joe, now there was a gentleman and never a bully !!!!

gnasher
21/12/2005, 10:58 AM
Read the rantings of el duce in the paper today and must admit to complete wonderment at his recollections of the meetings events. An apology received from CELTIC for the Secretarys comments, I don't think that happened, and if apologies were needed it is from that buffoon that they should come from.
The under 21 mess is very sad and it evokes that old saying 'Throwing the baby out with the bath water' but one thing is for sure bullying does not work and while that person is there then bullying it will be. Maybe the Sec might think of a solution or the resident in Milebush or even old joe, now there was a gentleman and never a bully !!!!

Read it also. Was going to keep schtum on this whole debacle but the negative variance in views and versions between people who were at the meeting and those who looked at it from behind the top table is too much to be just swept under the carpet. It's a shame about the U-21 palaver but at the same time, the clubs have shown one thing (which we all spent far too long going on about), that if they stand to gether they can change or revrese any rule and anything about the way the league is run or the way the LMC operates.

Fair play to ye boyz. I know the U-21 team will be back in some guise, when everyone is able to agree a format. It's a great idea after all.

gnasher
21/12/2005, 11:00 AM

I know I'm not one to talk being a Westport man (after our history in this sort of debacle - there are subtle differences in the situations let me add), but they have not a hope in hell. Celtic are out for top honours and they're not going to get caught with their proverbial pants areound their ankles. No way.

Good (if a bit cliched at this stage) rumour, though.

OscarBravo
21/12/2005, 1:09 PM

The apology from Celtic seems strange. The man that left their meeting was their secretary and I find it hard to know who in the club would undermine him.
The U-21 situation is unfortunate, you are right mossy, bottom line as you have always said, the league is at the root of the problem.
I see the Connacht Telegraph named the clubs who voted and which way they voted. Is this allowed?
The question is this: will anything change in the bigger picture? Me thinks not.
Where's manfred gone by the way

swinfordfc
21/12/2005, 1:17 PM
The apology from Celtic seems strange. The man that left their meeting was their secretary and I find it hard to know who in the club would undermine him.
The U-21 situation is unfortunate, you are right mossy, bottom line as you have always said, the league is at the root of the problem.
I see the Connacht Telegraph named the clubs who voted and which way they voted. Is this allowed?
The question is this: will anything change in the bigger picture? Me thinks not.

yes the connacht has that information - dont know is it allowed? its a shame that the u21 is gone but it could not work the way it was. has to be some other way.

The Don
21/12/2005, 1:37 PM
Probably did it to make sure smaller clubs tow the line in any future votes.
I know the league made phone calls to certain clubs the following day.
As for Noel Coll aparently he was not interupting any speakers in the meeting, but according to our secretary he was shaking his head as Quigley spoke, Quigley did not like this and verbually abused him. So in the space of a week this incident has been rewritten by the Chairman, what an ass he truly is. As for Manfred my old buddy! God knows where hes got to, oh well tis the season to be merry!

headerball
21/12/2005, 2:05 PM
I know I'm not one to talk being a Westport man (after our history in this sort of debacle - there are subtle differences in the situations let me add), but they have not a hope in hell. Celtic are out for top honours and they're not going to get caught with their proverbial pants areound their ankles. No way.

Good (if a bit cliched at this stage) rumour, though.

no subtle differences at all ! if the player is illegal then i'm sure all clubs that have played castlebar will be fully entitled to feel cheated !

Manfred
21/12/2005, 5:09 PM
Probably did it to make sure smaller clubs tow the line in any future votes.
I know the league made phone calls to certain clubs the following day.
As for Noel Coll aparently he was not interupting any speakers in the meeting, but according to our secretary he was shaking his head as Quigley spoke, Quigley did not like this and verbually abused him. So in the space of a week this incident has been rewritten by the Chairman, what an ass he truly is. As for Manfred my old buddy! God knows where hes got to, oh well tis the season to be merry!
As if I'd go too far!
Just popped in to wish ye all a Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year.
I will be out of circulation for a short while, so behave yourselves and bring in 2006 in style.
I would love to involve myself in the U21/ Ciaren Kelly/ Fai Junior cup/ Con Cup debates, but as you so seasonaly put it, tis the season to be merry!
(I can almost smell the sun shine!)
p.s.
any one see the penalty shoot out in Manulla?
How many did the home team score?
Who's the 'resident' in Milebush? (Quote, Mossy)
Name the players from the lower divisions that mabe should be in the OT squad. Good debate for the new year.

Le Grande Eric
21/12/2005, 5:26 PM
Didnt hear anything about it. Hardly worth their while when FAI have said he is now officially a celtic player.

On a small point of clarification,what the FAI appeals board said was they NOTED that Mayo League now considered him a bone fide registered player
...They did'nt make a ruling on it because it was not within their remit based of the appeal by Celtic
This one will run for a while longer

Le Grande Eric
21/12/2005, 5:35 PM
yes the connacht has that information - dont know is it allowed? its a shame that the u21 is gone but it could not work the way it was. has to be some other way.
The fact that a member of the Management committee publishes via his employer (''the Connaught'') matters discussed at a private delegates meeting poses a huge question regarding partiality and gives rise to a very obvious case of conflict of interest

unbiased
21/12/2005, 7:34 PM
hi all

was told about article re u21 in connacht telegraph, had to get it to believe it and to my suprise, call me paranoid or misformed about previous meeting, but the majority of clubs that voiced a concern /doubt regarding the u21 situation at the last meeting, had left or were not even there at the december meeting. can anyone rightly in the know in some of them unattended clubs throw more light as to why exactly they were not there. soething seems a miss.

catching up on reading the forum.glad to see that smaller non super league sides are mentioned regarding being brought into the equation for county team selection.short term absence of the u21's may make the heart grow stronger in realising that smaller clubs may also have a lot to offer a mayo side but then notice on telegraph a remark about extending the superleague to ensure a dedicated squad of u21 - there they go again.

renovater
21/12/2005, 8:56 PM
i doubt this very much will happen now and as the don says, the FAI have agreed that he is offically a celtic player now. in fairest, glenview cant have any complaints, beaten 8-0!!!!!!!!

No the Fai never said he is offically a celtic player What the Fai did say Paul Brady "The FAI appeal dealt only with kelly vs snugboro, did not rule on eilgabity re other competitions" so now you can draw your own Conclusion

renovater
21/12/2005, 9:08 PM

Manfred he's in hiding I think El Duce got to him
By the way unless they drop designated squads and extend season were going no where Kelly got the chance to highlight it but he keep's wereing his Mayo cap
you could send EL dUCE ON ALONG HOLIDAY one way ticket?

renovater
21/12/2005, 9:31 PM
The fact that a member of the Management committee publishes via his employer (''the Connaught'') matters discussed at a private delegates meeting poses a huge question regarding partiality and gives rise to a very obvious case of conflict of interest
YOU MUST NO BY NOW THE LEAGUE MAKES UP IT'S OWN RULES AS IT GOES ALONG.
ONE COULD SAY THAT OF THE CLUBS WHO DID NOT TURN UP FOR MEETING DIDN'T CARE ONE WAY OR ANOTHER

BECAUSE THE 12 CLUBS DIDN'T VOTE INFAVOUR DOESN'T SAY THEY NOT INFAVOUR ONLY SURGEST THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE CHAIRMAN'S VIEWS "DESIGNATED"REMOVE THAT WORD

Le Grande Eric
21/12/2005, 11:04 PM
YOU MUST NO BY NOW THE LEAGUE MAKES UP IT'S OWN RULES AS IT GOES ALONG.
ONE COULD SAY THAT OF THE CLUBS WHO DID NOT TURN UP FOR MEETING DIDN'T CARE ONE WAY OR ANOTHER

BECAUSE THE 12 CLUBS DIDN'T VOTE INFAVOUR DOESN'T SAY THEY NOT INFAVOUR ONLY SURGEST THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE CHAIRMAN'S VIEWS "DESIGNATED"REMOVE THAT WORD

Was ''The Fox'' not hounded from his position in the MAFL for allegedely giving info to a newspaper? What's the difference when Mr T Kelly publishes confidential voting lists to all and sundry and puts his name to it?
Expulsion or a prolonged suspension?

Le Grande Eric
21/12/2005, 11:11 PM
No the Fai never said he is offically a celtic player What the Fai did say Paul Brady "The FAI appeal dealt only with kelly vs snugboro, did not rule on eilgabity re other competitions" so now you can draw your own Conclusion
Please refer to my previous post

Mr G Dykes's promise to Celtic Board of two cups from 3 competitionss -CON Cup, FAI Cup& Super League looks in danger now! Value for money or what?

l.f.c......
22/12/2005, 9:03 AM
Please refer to my previous post

Mr G Dykes's promise to Celtic Board of two cups from 3 competitionss -CON Cup, FAI Cup& Super League looks in danger now! Value for money or what?

well lads

can someone shed some light on whats going on up there. Is there an appeal against castlebar over some player

gnasher
22/12/2005, 9:23 AM
no subtle differences at all ! if the player is illegal then i'm sure all clubs that have played castlebar will be fully entitled to feel cheated !

I was referring to the subtle difference in that a legal player becomes illegal if he see's red in a competitive game and has to serve a suspension vis a vis a player who was never legal in the first place.

Pipe, smoke , put that in!

headerball
22/12/2005, 11:12 AM
I was referring to the subtle difference in that a legal player becomes illegal if he see's red in a competitive game and has to serve a suspension vis a vis a player who was never legal in the first place.

Pipe, smoke , put that in!

bottom line gnasher is that players are either legal or not irrespective of whether or not they actually became illegal or were always illegal.
watch it there your pipe is filling up you might get burned !

mossy
22/12/2005, 12:15 PM
Celtic illegal ? Probably not although the CFA man, Kennedy, has a bee in his bonnet about the LMC and El Duce in particular He may be a hard man to shake off as he contends that if you cannot play in domestic then how can you possibly play external !! Dont think he's right though
The U21 will now become the Mayo League's MAASTRICT insofar that if a vote is not to the LMC liking they vote again until is is. Sounds like an extract from "Roots" Whats your name boy ? ****e Kinty Sir. No its Toby boy. Now whats your name ? etc (Those of you old enough will understand I hope)
Well overall a good yera on the pitch with the port being brillant, Celtic going Proffesional and Manulla getting another Favourite Ref ! (I know he did not officiate against Athrenry but instead a Manulla employee did, Evergreen Anyone !!!!!!!!!l )
Happy Christmas to you Manfred. You have a wonderfull sense of humour - well I hope it was humour !!

OscarBravo
22/12/2005, 12:49 PM
The U21 will now become the Mayo League's MAASTRICT insofar that if a vote is not to the LMC liking they vote again until is is. Sounds like an extract from "Roots" Whats your name boy ? ****e Kinty Sir. No its Toby boy. Now whats your name ? etc (Those of you old enough will understand I hope)

Mossy, I can safely say I'm too young to recognise the reference but I get the idea. If the vote the last night went 12-10 to the League, would the dissenting clubs be allowed to get onto those who were not there to have another vote? Me thinks not.
The League should not have put such a vote to the clubs blindly thinking that there was nothing wrong this year.
Quigley admitted as much afterwards.
But there will be little to stop another vote on a different proposal so its no harm to look at what could or shouldn't be done.

One plan would appear to be to lengthen the Super League season to avoid direct clashes between the u-21's and the Super League. This is good in theory but a number of things have to be ok.

Firstly, the league has to be staggered in such a way as that there is not a big gap between the first 90% of games and the final few matches where disinterest will creep in for those clubs out of the equation.

I think the best plan is have six or so games played before the start of the under 21, that is by June. Don't play any more or teams could lose interest.

When the u-21 starts then you can have Super League rounds every second week. If there are clashes, and remember only three or four clubs will be involved, the other weekends or midweek can be used for postponements.

The key is flexibility on the League's behalf and if you have the dates free you will be able to be flexible. By the start of September the u-21 should be over and you should have five or so full rounds left with the outstanding games played by this stage.

This way you should be able to have a solid start to the season, a structured middle with a game at least every two weeks (not including cup games) and a good run into the the title in September and October which will also aid Oscar Traynor and Junior Cup preparation.

Some of these dates will overlap, ie Oscar Traynor will be played before the League is over, but so what, there is no panic until even November in finishing. Most places in the country have nine month seasons, why be so restricted here?

This, of course, is on the presumption that a vote will be swung by the League in favour of the U-21. All favours will be called in. IE: 'Lads remember that FAI money ye got, well now its payback time. Vote for Quigley...';)

What do ye think?

gnasher
22/12/2005, 1:29 PM
bottom line gnasher is that players are either legal or not irrespective of whether or not they actually became illegal or were always illegal.
watch it there your pipe is filling up you might get burned !

Ha Ha. I get the picture now, but we're both right so happy christmas.

Good year all round for soccer in Mayo (anyone disagree?), let's hope we get more thrills, spills, and bellyaches next year.

By the way Mossy, class Roots ref. took me back to my days as a slave.

Manfred, Eric, Swinford, The DON, Renovater, Unbiased, Oscar, have a good one. Drink like hell and don't drive.

unbiased
22/12/2005, 6:22 PM
Ha Ha. I get the picture now, but we're both right so happy christmas.

Good year all round for soccer in Mayo (anyone disagree?), let's hope we get more thrills, spills, and bellyaches next year.

By the way Mossy, class Roots ref. took me back to my days as a slave.

Manfred, Eric, Swinford, The DON, Renovater, Unbiased, Oscar, have a good one. Drink like hell and don't drive.

Thanks for the wishes and sound words of advice and may I also wish everyone a happy christmas and an extremely successful 2006.

Not going dwelling on the u21 situation, but the clubs appears to made at fault for the whole thing or maybe i am misinterpreting words and print.As far as i am can see each and every club in mayo has personnel and players devoted to their clubs and the mayo league in general and want to see the very best for players even if they go further in the sport outside their club.it is not the clubs that let down the u21's, no-one wants to see teams fold up particularly at county level, but the whole structure from the fai / eircom league down to the clubs has to be looked at involving the mayo league committee. the mafl should make every effort to meet with each mayo club, outline aims, proposals, suggestions, etc, not alone for u21's but for the benefit of each club and league for the season. delegates or any other sort of combined meeting, especially when it seems some clubs do be cut-off from comment abruptly at times, is not going to sort out anything in the long term, time has to be spent with every club, everyone dedicated club member and player deserves that opportunity. everyone in this forum obviously is dedicated to soccer in mayo, this is clearly apparent, in attendance of some at games, meetings, etc and deserves a huge recognition for the contribution made. thought provoking ideas and comments combined with lively debates in the proper hands would see a huge change in operations in 2006.

renovater
22/12/2005, 10:46 PM
Just let me clear one or two points first of all the provincial Council is Connaught if there is a doubt of the eligibility or qualification they Connaught shall rule and there decision is final.
However you may appeal the decision to the F.A.I.
So Noel does have a point
Regards to what the fox said in local news papers if it was in favour of the league he would still me in El Duce clutches

Oscar a lot what you are saying is what most people would have no problem with, only those who sit on the top table. The league is only interested in grants not clubs, you are right extend the season and allow players to play both. Is what Joe Butler presented to the clubs as know as duel registration?

This is a time of year when we say good will to all men even Manfred and El Duce, despite there faults, its there policies we don’t agree with so everyone from gnasher to mossy have a peaceful and happy Christmas from the Renovator looking forward to the New Year to continue the campaign in promoting junior football