View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Gibraltar(A) 4th Sept & Georgia(H) 7th Sept 2015 - Euro 2016 Q
Pages :
[
10]
GypsyBlackCat
09/09/2015, 12:30 PM
There's many factors for people not going to matches. One will be money and this time of year with the kids going back to school and coming home from holidays etc. money will be a bit tight. Which is understandable and they should put themselves before any football team!. Second will be the FAI and the team. I know people who are unhappy with the regime and want change and are voting with their feet which is fine in my book. The other is it's hard to connect or fall in love with the current team. The football is dull and it's more of a duty than enjoyment people go. Again I can see where people are coming from on this one. Another will be people picking and choosing matches. If money is tight then you'll miss Georgia at home to go to Germany at home. Plus for a lot of football fans Ireland isn't their no.1 team and the national team is just a casual thing which again that is people's business. I'll admit that I'm a casual fan who only goes to home games and prefer club football over international regardless of the standards. (I always preferred to win the European Cup than the World Cup as a kid)
But what annoys me is the arm chair fans and event junkies. I've a mate who calls himself a die hard fan but wont pay the money to go to see Ireland but yet sat in the pub on Friday and Monday watching the games. I know that's his business but these are the people we are up against and it gets on my nerves. They'll be looking for tickets if we get to France!
09/09/2015, 12:50 PM
Kevin Kilbane on OTB last night was quite critical of the diamond. He reckons it doesn't suit us because we don't have enough width in midfield and our width is provided by our full-backs who have to cross from so deep that the crosses are more diagonal balls. He reckons we need to get McGeady in the team for the Germany match and have Hoolahan on the other flank to cut into the hole. Kilbane asserts that the only way we'll score goals is from crosses- that was the crux of his argument.
It's been podcasted here: http://cdn.radiocms.net/media/001/audio/000017/104493_media_player_audio_file.mp3
09/09/2015, 12:59 PM
Kerr was on co-commentary on Monday night on 2fm, and mentioned that he was going to buy tickets for his grandchildren, but balked at the price of €60 each, and it was noted on Off The Ball last night that he had reiterated this in his Irish Times column. However I couldn't find it in the online version - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/brian-kerr-midfield-diamond-makes-ireland-too-predictable-1.2343723 - but the €60 ticket was mentioned in the comments.
So, one quick google search later, and his complaint about the ticket price does appear on the google cache of the article: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:HkP17lzhfnkJ:www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/brian-kerr-midfield-diamond-makes-ireland-too-narrow-and-predictable-1.2343723+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie
I went to buy two tickets for this game, for the grandchildren, but they cost €60 each. No thanks. I’m not the only one who felt this way; the crowd was made up of diehards only, and while it was heartening to hear them, it wasn’t until walking down Baggot Street that it felt like a football international was taking place in Dublin 4. That’s an hour before kick-off. Shame.
I'd imagine the article was altered after the FAI stated on twitter that children's tickets were only €10: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/641291949446594561
Contrary to a newspaper article today, children's tickets for last night's match v Georgia cost €10, and not €60 as reported.
Olé Olé
09/09/2015, 1:08 PM
Drives me a little bit mad people giving out about the lack of width. We had width for nearly six years under Trap and we weren't remotely creative for the vast majority of it. Being competitive in midfield is far more important. Width takes care of itself, to a certain extent anyway, if you have enough possession.
Agreed. Even if many seem to like Kilbane as a pundit and fella, we must bear in mind what type of player he was when he makes these observations- his observation here is very relevant to his playing style.
Crosby87
09/09/2015, 1:28 PM
One thing about the crowds at the actual event as opposed to those who would rather watch on tv....do you guys like actually attending sporting events anymore? I mean I loved it as a kid but generally I would much rather watch on tv now than be there in person. Long lines everywhere, security, paying for parking, annoying drunks, sometimes bad weather, price of concessions etc.... its much better just watching with a small group of friends and eating what you want. Just my opinion. ( Also the TVs are so high tech everywhere now that view is much better.) I get offered tix for free all the time and im always like........how would it be better than just watching on TV?
DeLorean
09/09/2015, 1:29 PM
I paid €35 for a seat on the halfway line the other night. That's pretty good value I think. I'm pretty sure I paid €70 for the Gerogia game in Croke Park, which was insanity.
09/09/2015, 1:34 PM
One thing about the crowds at the actual event as opposed to those who would rather watch on tv....do you guys like actually attending sporting events anymore? I mean I loved it as a kid but generally I would much rather watch on tv now than be there in person. Long lines everywhere, security, paying for parking, annoying drunks, sometimes bad weather, price of concessions etc.... its much better just watching with a small group of friends and eating what you want. Just my opinion. ( Also the TVs are so high tech everywhere now that view is much better.) I get offered tix for free all the time and im always like........how would it be better than just watching on TV?
I hate to be all Paul O'Shea but the view is not in any way better on TV, not in Ireland anyway.
DeLorean
09/09/2015, 1:37 PM
I think that depends on the seats you have. Decent seats and you see far more at the game, rubbish seats and you see far more on TV.
09/09/2015, 1:43 PM
I suppose we go to support the team rather than for the entertainment. That's the difference. I have never gone to an Irish game for entertainment. If we win that is entertainment enough.
However, there is a huge bonus for the couch supporter in that they get to see all the action and replays of every incident. It really irritates me that the rugby (not sure about GAA) people in the stadium get replays on the big screen, but the football supporter, in case he riots, doesn't get that privilege.
DeLorean
09/09/2015, 1:50 PM
The GAA (Croke Park) don't show replays of fouls or controversial decisions, but they do show replays of the scores.
I wouldn't say I go to 'support the team' a such. I just like going, it really is for nobody's benefit but my own. Danny mentioned 'sense of duty' also, these are concepts I don't really relate to. It's all for me and my own enjoyment!
Yard of Pace
09/09/2015, 2:04 PM
One thing about the crowds at the actual event as opposed to those who would rather watch on tv....do you guys like actually attending sporting events anymore? ?
Even the many many games I attend alone, I enjoy just as much as ever. For Scotland at home....securing a ticket that morning, skipping off the DART at Grand Canal and hot-footing it down the road to go and have a couple of pints (where even alone you'll probably get into a conversation with someone) to calm the nerves. I still get the buzz.
The old man is in his 60s and he's the same, though he only goes to GAA and LOI now.
Also, I really think that if you want to truly assess the performance of a team you need to be there, things can look very different on the telly. And I find that enjoyable, though I don't think it makes me an expert or anything. (Alright, I do, but aren't we all experts.)
Straightstory
09/09/2015, 3:33 PM
When the Liverpool fans started booing Raheem Sterling in the game v England earlier this year that was pretty much the last straw for me. I've been to over a hundred Ireland games over many, many years, but I'm much less inclined to go now. I was increasingly aware that most people at ROI games were Premiership barstoolers, event junkies, and people in GAA jerseys singing 'The Fields of Athenry'. There's also a small but distasteful sectarian element amongst Irish fans - they're very prominent on the 'eligibility rules' forum here where their hatred of the Northern Ireland team is strongly in evidence.
The fearful, cautious football played under Trappatoni and O'Neill didn't help matters; but I've felt increasingly alienated from the national side over recent years. (And the hugely irritating chap who does the announcements at The Aviva is another reason not to go).
09/09/2015, 3:56 PM
And the hugely irritating chap who does the announcements at The Aviva is another reason not to go
he's gone now. you can come back
DannyInvincible
09/09/2015, 4:02 PM
I think the point has already been well made but I believe there is no connection whatsoever between last Monday's attendance and people's perception of the FAI.
I think it could serve to augment any sense of "I couldn't be bothered with it all" amongst fairly loose or casual attendees. Just an inkling; I wouldn't know for sure. Maybe we need a national survey! :)
There's also a small but distasteful sectarian element amongst Irish fans - they're very prominent on the 'eligibility rules' forum here where their hatred of the Northern Ireland team is strongly in evidence.
Hmm, there is a sectarian element amongst Irish fans - it's unfortunate and should be challenged - but can you highlight some examples of sectarianism on that thread in particular seeing as you've pinpointed it and pointed the finger at those who post prominently in it? I don't think sectarianism is a problem on this forum, but feel free to correct me.
09/09/2015, 4:31 PM
I don't think the public's perception of the FAI, and the people who run it, is the main reason for not attending a game, but it doesn't help. If it was Germany/Spain/Brazil/etc then people will attend, no matter who's in charge.
If it's Georgia/San Marino/Macedonia, then it's another reason not to go.
ArdeeBhoy
09/09/2015, 5:32 PM
Going to New Lansdowne is one of the most tedious experiences in modern football, once the game starts...
Despite being included in one of the Premium Level photo montages.
Rather have the old ground but no Premium Level or photos...
09/09/2015, 6:57 PM
Going to New Lansdowne is one of the most tedious experiences in modern football, once the game starts...
It said the same about you, to be fair.
09/09/2015, 7:06 PM
Drives me a little bit mad people giving out about the lack of width. We had width for nearly six years under Trap and we weren't remotely creative for the vast majority of it. Being competitive in midfield is far more important. Width takes care of itself, to a certain extent anyway, if you have enough possession.
Or, in other words, never mind the quality, feel the width.
Crosby87
09/09/2015, 7:08 PM
Are the female fans complaining about the width?
backstothewall
09/09/2015, 7:17 PM
I paid €35 for a seat on the halfway line the other night. That's pretty good value I think. I'm pretty sure I paid €70 for the Gerogia game in Croke Park, which was insanity.
I have to say I think my season ticket is superb value. My ticket for the whole year cost me less than a pair of tickets for the Hurling on Sunday, and i am in a far better seat.
I do get annoyed about a few things. The DJ being top of my list of gripes. It can have a place if there is a lot of empty seats as a bit of music can help get a bit of atmosphere going, but when the ground is getting towards sold out i feel it really does prevent the crowd from getting going if that natural build of noise is being drowned out by U2 or some other crap.
The players are ref were clearly being prevented from starting the second half against Georgia because he wouldn't turn it off.
Crosby87
09/09/2015, 7:31 PM
That one section middle and all the way to the right is totes empty. I could have sat there by myself! This would have taken away several issues with seeing games in person. Charlie Sheen once bought all the tickets to the upperdeck of an Angels baseball game to get a home run ball, but therr were no Home runs that day, natch.
PS I would recognize the top of that head in front of you anywhere.
backstothewall
09/09/2015, 7:37 PM
Another gripe is the need for a minutes applause before every game. It seems a decision has been taken that everybody who ever served tea and coffee at Waterford United board meetings gets a minutes applause when they pass on. I feel it cheapens it a bit when one comes round for someone the people in the ground might actually have heard of is being remembered.
09/09/2015, 7:43 PM
Kevin Kilbane on OTB last night was quite critical of the diamond. He reckons it doesn't suit us because we don't have enough width in midfield and our width is provided by our full-backs who have to cross from so deep that the crosses are more diagonal balls. He reckons we need to get McGeady in the team for the Germany match and have Hoolahan on the other flank to cut into the hole. Kilbane asserts that the only way we'll score goals is from crosses- that was the crux of his argument.
I like the diamond in midfield. We've had a problem, particularly under Trap, whereby we were overrun in the middle by teams playing with 3. The big argument for Hoolahan's inclusion was to improve our ball retention. Obviously the opposition this month will be very different to next but I think the domination in the middle against Georgia suggests we should keep the diamond for the Germany match.
McClean and Hendrick created an opportunity and a goal against Georgia from positions which weren't all that wide. Furthermore, if we have Long and Walters up front against Germany then we'll be more capable of stretching them at the back. We must bear in mind that the midfield against Scotland when Walters and Long last played together was McGeady and McClean on the wings with Hendrick and Gibson in the middle. We were overrun in midfield and I think that partnership should be given a second opportunity with Wes in support, as well as Hendrick, McCarthy and AN Other (I'd have O'Kane in there but that's unlikely now, MON may prefer Quinn and there's also the prospect of Arter and Gibson being available).
In conclusion, injuries permitting, we can give Germany a game with:
Given (I'd have Westwood)
Coleman Clark O'Shea Brady
McCarthy
Hendrick O'Kane/Quinn/Gibson/Arter
Hoolahan
Long Walters
For the record, from what I could tell, if Kilbane's suggestion were taken into account, we'd line out something as follows:
Given
Coleman Clark O'Shea Brady
McGeady McCarthy Hendrick Hoolahan
Walters Long
It is an interesting discussion, I don't like it when we are over run in midfield at all.
There are many aspects to it, but when you are defending it really does help to have a strong midfield.
And indeed overall, midfield is where the battle for possession takes place, when you lose that battle
you have your work cut out.
And of course with out a midfield the only way you can really score goals is from crosses.
So it is kind of self fulfilling really, if you play with two wingers your goal will come form crosses
most of the time, but are we not flexible enough to do a bit of both?
Keep the opposition guessing, when you are predictable you are going to have a hard time
getting results.
backstothewall
09/09/2015, 8:00 PM
Long fits the diamond better than Keane as he will naturally drift into wide areas, whereas Robbie doesn't have that movement anymore.
If we did go to wingers I'd bring Robbie back tbh. If we are getting crosses into the box for Walters, he is probably still our best option for getting a scrappy goal from a knockdown.
Though I'd stick with the diamond or a 4-2-3-1 vs Germany, depending on exactly who is available. I'd maybe try Wilson to take Whelan's place though
09/09/2015, 9:47 PM
Kerr was on co-commentary on Monday night on 2fm, and mentioned that he was going to buy tickets for his grandchildren, but balked at the price of €60 each, and it was noted on Off The Ball last night that he had reiterated this in his Irish Times column. However I couldn't find it in the online version - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/brian-kerr-midfield-diamond-makes-ireland-too-predictable-1.2343723 - but the €60 ticket was mentioned in the comments.
So, one quick google search later, and his complaint about the ticket price does appear on the google cache of the article: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:HkP17lzhfnkJ:www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/brian-kerr-midfield-diamond-makes-ireland-too-narrow-and-predictable-1.2343723+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie
I'd imagine the article was altered after the FAI stated on twitter that children's tickets were only €10: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/641291949446594561
Well if Kerr is balking at the price on what I assume is an income far higher than most you can see why people of more
modest means stay at home.
60 is ridiculous so maybe the 10 is correct?
09/09/2015, 9:53 PM
It is mainly the celebrities who go these days, David Beckham, Beyonce etc... it's a photo opportunity for them
to help sell more of their third rate perfume and aftershaves etc at ridiculous prices.
http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/David%20Beckham%20bin.JPG
Mugs basically.
http://www.concordextra.com/img_uploads/david-beckham-instinct-50ml-after-shave-15h032b.jpg
You would not see Robbie Keane stooping to such depths!!!
09/09/2015, 9:57 PM
Mind you less scrupulous individuals have cashed in :p
https://img1.etsystatic.com/070/0/6073205/il_fullxfull.806311507_2d03.jpg
09/09/2015, 11:31 PM
Does anyone think Robbie has the ability and discipline to play the Hoolahan role? He's still a smart, technically gifted player and I think there's a role for him, I just don't think it's up top, solo. I've been thinking about this a lot since the Georgia game. It's like we haven't adjusted to the Robbie we have but then I also question if he could adjust to that role.
Crosby87
09/09/2015, 11:40 PM
Can't teach an old dog new tricks as Nigel is fond of saying.
09/09/2015, 11:50 PM
I advocated for Robbie in that role a couple of years ago but I'd say the tank is probably too low now. Hoolahan tracks all the way back to his own box when needed, or in pursuit of the ball, which Robbie wouldn't have the engine to do.
10/09/2015, 12:11 AM
Only on here for a short bit. Second half against Georgia was as good as we showed so far in the group. I thought Whelan, Walters, Clark were excellent throughout, with McCarthy and Long very good in second half.
While obviously it's great to have got back into the position we now find ourselves, I would still worry. I think Scotland definitely have the potential to beat Poland in Glasgow, while I would be sceptical about our chances of getting a win in Warsaw.
I still find myself getting quite angry when thinking about O'Neill. The Gibraltar game was a real opportunity, with yellow cards hanging over squad members, at having a look at options. When you think that he left Eunan O'Kane at home......
Our formation is flawed. We rely on our full-backs for width, we rely on our full-backs to hit the bye-line, yet we only play with one what you could call attacking floater, Wes, who generally stays to a central line. Countless times the ball worked it's way to Robbie Brady whose only option was to whip in a cross to Robbie Keane or John Walters, or for Robbie Brady to work the ball back to Hendrick, back to wes, into Whelan, back to O'Shea, over to Coleman, back to McCarthy, back to O'Shea, repeat ad nauseum. Either you provide your attacking full-back with someone to link up with, provide an overlap -whatever- or you push them further up the pitch to become auxiliary widemen, and stick an extra holding midfielder in to guard the centre-backs. Seeing as how we have two holding midfielders in the team anyway, I don't understand the tactics O'Neill utilises.
People constantly say we don't see Coleman or McCarthy reproduce their Everton form for Ireland. The charge is fair, the evidence less so. We don't have the same formation as Everton. McCarthy plays as a tandem with Barry or Besic or whoever the hell they pick beside him. He sits, he receives, he breaks up play, and then sits again. We have him doing half of those or none at all. I'm not saying he shouldn't be able to do it, in fairness if he's as good as we think he is, then he should be, but he's not doing for Everton what he does for us, because they don't use him like we do. Similar for Coleman. For Everton, he has either Mirallas, Lukaku or Delofeu in front of him, providing him with either a solid option on the outside, to receive and then give, or on the inside, which stretches the full-back allowing Coleman the space to either overlap and get the ball around the corner, or dragging the full-back inside allowing Coleman to attack properly on the outside,rather than the isolation he has when playing for us, which results in either a poor ball into the box due to pressure, or the ball being lost from being overplayed.
If we can solve that (what I would call a conundrum) then I think we'll be in a much better place as a team. McGeady, Long, Grealish (were he to declare) and Brady himself are solutions (allowing for us getting a proper left-back to let Brady play his natural role).
Lastly, the manager should be ashamed at the state of our set-piece. If we're that crap at them, then stop doing what we constantly do, and start working on proper routines, so that defenders have something to think about. It's so bloody annoying.
To me, this is the way I'd like to see the team lining out against Germany:
____________________Westwood_________
Coleman _____ OShea __________ Clark ___________ Brady
_________Hendrick_____James Mc______Quinn___________
Long__________________Walters__________________Wes __
I'd a look at the German Line-up and to be perfectly honest, I've no idea how they lined up. I could see three recognised starting defenders, so I assume Emre Can was at right back, with Hector left-back? As I said prior to Gelsenkirchen, the Germans are weak at fullback (it was Rudy, Ginter and Durm against us in Gelsenkirchen).
If you think that they'll have a front line of Mueller, Goetze und Ozil, of which neither is really a totem, and with no natural width, then it is possible for us to make it a real slugfest by really packing the middle of the pitch, which technically with Hendrick, McCarthy, Quinn and Wes on the pitch you'd be doing, but also giving a bit of width with Brady and Coleman. They'll be crucial, as will Walters and hopefully Long.
10/09/2015, 12:19 AM
I'd a look at the German Line-up and to be perfectly honest, I've no idea how they lined up. I could see three recognised starting defenders, so I assume Emre Can was at right back, with Hector left-back? As I said prior to Gelsenkirchen, the Germans are weak at fullback (it was Rudy, Ginter and Durm against us in Gelsenkirchen).
If you think that they'll have a front line of Mueller, Goetze und Ozil, of which neither is really a totem, and with no natural width, then it is possible for us to make it a real slugfest by really packing the middle of the pitch, which technically with Hendrick, McCarthy, Quinn and Wes on the pitch you'd be doing, but also giving a bit of width with Brady and Coleman. They'll be crucial, as will Walters and hopefully Long.
4-2-3-1 according to this site, which I've never seen anything inaccurate on: http://www.football-lineups.com/match/185463
10/09/2015, 12:26 AM
4-2-3-1 according to this site, which I've never seen anything inaccurate on: http://www.football-lineups.com/match/185463
So
Can -- Boateng -- Hummels -- Hector
---- ---- Basti ------- Kroos---------
----------------Gundongan----------
----- Meuller - Goetze - Ozil --------
Natural talent aside, there is gold to be struck there.
10/09/2015, 12:30 AM
That was Can's first senior competitive game as far as I know, and Hector wouldn't be on the class of most of their players, yeah. Can will be a good player but maybe somebody like Long could spook him with a high-pressure game.
10/09/2015, 12:37 AM
Does anyone think Robbie has the ability and discipline to play the Hoolahan role? He's still a smart, technically gifted player and I think there's a role for him, I just don't think it's up top, solo. I've been thinking about this a lot since the Georgia game. It's like we haven't adjusted to the Robbie we have but then I also question if he could adjust to that role.
I think Robbie is fine against weak team when we can dominate play (think Gibraltar lol) and get the ball in the box a lot.
But against stronger teams where we need to win the ball his value is diminished perhaps???
Fixer82
10/09/2015, 12:44 AM
The atmosphere will be electric for the Germany game. The lads will be up for it. With Clark at the back I'm confident we won't hand the ball back to the opposition the way Wilson can.
If we can hang on goalless til half time then it's game on. They'll be tough to break down but with Walters and Long we have tough, strong mobile strikers who can hopefully bring an attacking midfield of Wes, McCarthy and Hendrick into the game.
Maybe Quinn will get a nod too if we are going the wing back route.
O'Kane will have to rip up the premiership in order for O'Neill to take a chance on him
Fixer82
10/09/2015, 1:05 AM
Big change in second half, whatever was said in dressing room - can imagine some Keane thunder and lightning maybe - did the business. There's the stuff Ireland can do: decent attacking football that creates chances. Should have won by more, and it was great to see the crowd find a voice. Best and worst of MON's Ireland tonight.
Given - 6. One minor scare, nothing much to do otherwise.
Coleman - 6. Not fit. Did well enough down the right, but crosses were poor. His cut-ins never lead to anything.
O'Shea - 6. A few good defensive moments here, some bad passes and fouls there.
Clark - 6. Pretty much the same. Never had much to do, but did slip-up for that second Georgia chance.
Brady - 7. Up and down all night, did something thick for everything good, but was getting involved all the time.
Whelan - 5. He was there. A few shots from distance, a stupid bit of guff to the ref. Won't cry any tears over his suspension.
McCarthy - 5. Honestly didn't think much of him out there, some occasional moments of good football, but a lot of errors and anonymity in sections.
Hendrick - 8. Took him a while to really make an impact, but he was our best attacking player by the end. Made the goal.
Hoolahan - 6. Like McCarthy, just a little bit better.
Walters - 7. Started well, but had faded big time by HT. Much bigger impact in second, well placed for the goal, but pace was a problem throughout.
Keane - 4. One bad shot choice, then failed to get on the end of a great through ball. Wasn't sorry to see him come off.
Long - 7. Threw himself around upfront, injected the kind of tempo Ireland really needed. Should have scored, and weirdly lackadaisical with that late chance.
McClean - 7. Crazy start to his brief time, but did great to set-up Long.
I wouldn't say I'm satisfied, and I worry what Germany might do to us, still needing points to confirm qualification. But this team can get third. They can get a point off Poland at least, and might not even need it. They just need to be motivated properly.
You're way wrong with your scoring.
Clark was solid and made a good block, didn't put a foot wrong - 7 for me
Whelan had a great game and his only real bad moment was getting booked. The free against him was ridiculous so could understand his frustration. I reckon you just don't like him but you should admit he played very well and was our best midfielder. - 8.5 for me
McCarthy - didn't do much wrong but lacked urgency at times and at the end was crazily trying to slow things down. 6 for me
Hendrick - Made a few silly passes and miscontrolled the ball a couple of times. Was positive but nervy at times. His wonder run made up for plenty of mistakes - 7 for me
Believe!!!!
10/09/2015, 7:47 AM
Well if Kerr is balking at the price on what I assume is an income far higher than most you can see why people of more
modest means stay at home.
60 is ridiculous so maybe the 10 is correct?
its €45 for a child season ticket. there were adult tickets from €25 as far as I know for last Mondays game. kerrs €60 comment was made up or very ill-informed
10/09/2015, 7:50 AM
That was Can's first senior competitive game as far as I know, and Hector wouldn't be on the class of most of their players, yeah. Can will be a good player but maybe somebody like Long could spook him with a high-pressure game.
With Long in the team, it limits the high defensive line that the Germans have been using, with Neuer mopping up. That either stretches them between the lines of 4, 2 & 3 or it forces them to play 10 yds or so further back. Either way it's something to work on.
DeLorean
10/09/2015, 8:16 AM
You're way wrong with your scoring.
There's no wrong or right!
And you only disagreed in a major way about Whelan (I'd agree with you there).
10/09/2015, 10:04 AM
No, there is isn't but some of us are more right than wrong, and more right than others. :D
Fixer82
10/09/2015, 12:38 PM
There's no wrong or right!
And you only disagreed in a major way about Whelan (I'd agree with you there).
Point taken
DeLorean
10/09/2015, 1:09 PM
No, there is isn't but some of us are more right than wrong, and more right than others. :D
It goes without saying that Paul's the exception Fixer!
Fixer82
10/09/2015, 1:14 PM
It goes without saying that Paul's the exception Fixer!
but of course :o
10/09/2015, 4:00 PM
No, there is isn't but some of us are more right than wrong, :D
You're not John Delaney are you ? http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2015/07/19/13718852/fai-gets-a-lot-more-right-than-wrong-says-john-delaney
10/09/2015, 4:16 PM
When the Liverpool fans started booing Raheem Sterling in the game v England earlier this year that was pretty much the last straw for me.
That was bizarre ok but I can assure you most of those fans weren't at the Georgia game.
I've been to over a hundred Ireland games over many, many years, but I'm much less inclined to go now. I was increasingly aware that most people at ROI games were Premiership barstoolers, event junkies, and people in GAA jerseys singing 'The Fields of Athenry'. There's also a small but distasteful sectarian element amongst Irish fans - they're very prominent on the 'eligibility rules' forum here where their hatred of the Northern Ireland team is strongly in evidence.
There is far less sectarianism among Irish fans than there used to be and certainly no more than Irish society as a whole. I remember when I used to go to Milltown before it was leveled, the sectarian abuse Peter Thomas and Johnny Matthews used to get when they played for Waterford had to be heard to be believed because they were English. God save the Queen was pretty well respected at the recent international and I have never heard any racist chants so I think the vast majority (usual cliche) of the fans are decent people who love their team and respect the opposition with reasoned hostility (I never agreed with the previous PA announcer who almost had us giving three cheers for the opposition).
The fearful, cautious football played under Trappatoni and O'Neill didn't help matters; but I've felt increasingly alienated from the national side over recent years. (And the hugely irritating chap who does the announcements at The Aviva is another reason not to go).
You're probably correct there that this lost support but I think the support was well in decline before Trapp. Some success and they will return. Remember before 2012, we hadn't qualified for anything during the previous 4 campaigns. Wales were getting poor attendances up to recently and now....
As jbyrne has said, that PA guy ("Yaah, let's give it up for the Boys in Green and their opponents") has gone.
10/09/2015, 8:59 PM
No, absolutely not. It was tried before too, the idea that he can be some sort if advanced playmaker linkman type player. It didn't work. If anything, as he has got older I think he has become more of a predatory lurker rather than a more active agitator / disrupter / creator.
backstothewall
12/09/2015, 9:40 AM
There is far less sectarianism among Irish fans than there used to be and certainly no more than Irish society as a whole. I remember when I used to go to Milltown before it was leveled, the sectarian abuse Peter Thomas and Johnny Matthews used to get when they played for Waterford had to be heard to be believed because they were English. God save the Queen was pretty well respected at the recent international and I have never heard any racist chants so I think the vast majority (usual cliche) of the fans are decent people who love their team and respect the opposition with reasoned hostility (I never agreed with the previous PA announcer who almost had us giving three cheers for the opposition).
I'd say if anyone even attempted to start some racist crap at Lansdowne Road they would be lucky if they only got booted out. It could be a really good way to get yourself a smack in the mouth.
I've never encountered sectarianism either. A bit of anti-British stuff but never religious based. I would say for example that nobody in the ground will be remotely interested in which church particular German players go to when they come to town next month.
12/09/2015, 12:18 PM
I don't remember anti-english stuff being thrown at english players in the LOI and there were plenty of them plying their trade, at some point in time Sligo almost had a team full of imports. Probably that anti-english stuff was just a local Milltown thing.
DeLorean
13/09/2015, 3:16 PM
I've never encountered sectarianism either. A bit of anti-British stuff but never religious based.
I'd say you're right but that doesn't really make it any better. Not that you're saying it does.