View Full Version : 2015 FAI Senior Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

24/08/2015, 11:36 PM
Was at the game tonight, that was the best performance I've seen from any side this season. Sherrif YC totally deserved their victory and it would have been a travesty had they lost they were so so good on the night.

The entire team are so composed on the ball, there was one move in extra time that started across the back four, back to the keeper, back into the back four and twenty plus passed later it was in athlones area and sherrif's number 9 missed the target, best passing move I've ever seen live.

Athlone are absolutely chronic and id nearly rather play them than Sherrif because if we underestimate them at all they will turn us over. Their number 11 needs to be singed by a LOI club immediately he is total quality. John Lester pinging passes 40 yards for fun too, such a footballing brain on him making up for the total lack of mobility about him.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2015, 7:49 AM
Superb hyping up of your next opponents in the cup there TC

25/08/2015, 8:34 AM
Was at the game tonight, that was the best performance I've seen from any side this season. Sherrif YC totally deserved their victory and it would have been a travesty had they lost they were so so good on the night.

The entire team are so composed on the ball, there was one move in extra time that started across the back four, back to the keeper, back into the back four and twenty plus passed later it was in athlones area and sherrif's number 9 missed the target, best passing move I've ever seen live.

Athlone are absolutely chronic and id nearly rather play them than Sherrif because if we underestimate them at all they will turn us over. Their number 11 needs to be singed by a LOI club immediately he is total quality. John Lester pinging passes 40 yards for fun too, such a footballing brain on him making up for the total lack of mobility about him.
So -

Sheriff played the best you'd seen all season
Played some of the best stuff you've ever seen live
It would have been a travesty had they lost
Athlone were "chronic"

And yet the final score was 0-0...?

How's that stack up?

Real ale Madrid
25/08/2015, 10:16 AM
Think Sheriff need to make contingency plans for bringing Fairview park up to Cat 1. -minimum requirement for Europa league football.

25/08/2015, 10:23 AM
So -

Sheriff played the best you'd seen all season
Played some of the best stuff you've ever seen live
It would have been a travesty had they lost
Athlone were "chronic"

And yet the final score was 0-0...?

How's that stack up?

They simply didn't have a striker to finish off the chances up front. Their number 9 missed a tap in after a 20 plus pass move and while their two wingers missed some great one on one chances. Obviously Sherrif stood out against weaker opposition but in terms of just watching a one off match it was the best performance I've seen from any team this season the way they played if you get what I'm trying to say.

25/08/2015, 10:38 AM
Not being able to score sounds like a fairly fundamental flaw in a football team.

On that basis, it could hardly have been a travesty if Athlone (not a great side, I'm sure even they'll admit) had scored and won as a result.

25/08/2015, 11:14 AM
Not being able to score sounds like a fairly fundamental flaw in a football team.

On that basis, it could hardly have been a travesty if Athlone (not a great side, I'm sure even they'll admit) had scored and won as a result.

Anyone at the game would have mistaken Sherrif as the league of Ireland team, no surprise a large majority of Athlone fans stayed back to applaud them after the game

25/08/2015, 11:21 AM
So they can play a bit.

Scoring goals is still a fairly important part of football. I think your original post had a rather large anomaly as a result.

25/08/2015, 12:01 PM
Outplaying a ****e team doesn't necessarily make the victors any good, it just means the other team are crap and made it easy to play against in all likelyhood.

25/08/2015, 1:14 PM
Bit of a blow for Athlone and Longford considering the draw and the potential crowd as a result. Sheriff could be a right banana skin for Longford whereas they'd have been expected to go through v Athlone.

rooster
25/08/2015, 2:29 PM
Think Sheriff need to make contingency plans for bringing Fairview park up to Cat 1. -minimum requirement for Europa league football.

sherrif dont play in fairview park

25/08/2015, 2:34 PM
Think your all reading way too much into my OP, what I was trying to get across is they played fantastic football against a poor Athlone team and the performance on the night in a one off instance (forgetting the fact they were playing a poor Athlone team etc) was the best I've seen this season in terms of passing football. They will give Longford an incredibly tough game. It's almost like we shouldn't praise a non league team on here!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2015, 9:22 PM
Had that Tolka Rovers keeper ever played in goals before?

25/08/2015, 10:52 PM
Think your all reading way too much into my OP, what I was trying to get across is they played fantastic football against a poor Athlone team and the performance on the night in a one off instance (forgetting the fact they were playing a poor Athlone team etc) was the best I've seen this season in terms of passing football. They will give Longford an incredibly tough game. It's almost like we shouldn't praise a non league team on here!
No one said you can't praise them. People are just pointing out that you said it was the best performance you've seen this year, against a team you've described as poison, when it finished 0-0

Can you not see why that hyperbole is funny?

ATFC-1887
25/08/2015, 10:57 PM
Can we all just get over the fact that we are ****e :D

26/08/2015, 9:32 AM
Can we all just get over the fact that we are ****e :D

Surely questions are being asked of Mathews after this result? He's taken you further away from the play offs and your money men just missed out on the split of a potential bumper cup crowd in the next round. He hasn't improved ye at all.

ATFC-1887
26/08/2015, 3:26 PM
Surely questions are being asked of Mathews after this result? He's taken you further away from the play offs and your money men just missed out on the split of a potential bumper cup crowd in the next round. He hasn't improved ye at all.
I'm really hoping hes not there next year but from what im hearing he will be. He doesn't look interested in the dugout. Shouts maybe once or twice per game. But i think the problem isn't just with him. Some of the players don't look interested. Going to be massive changes at the end of the season anyways, if we even have a club to support that is.
Big changes needed on and off the pitch. It wont happen though because nobody seems to want to get involved in the club after numerous efforts made to attract potential club members.

26/08/2015, 5:10 PM
I'm really hoping hes not there next year but from what im hearing he will be. He doesn't look interested in the dugout. Shouts maybe once or twice per game. But i think the problem isn't just with him. Some of the players don't look interested. Going to be massive changes at the end of the season anyways, if we even have a club to support that is.
Big changes needed on and off the pitch. It wont happen though because nobody seems to want to get involved in the club after numerous efforts made to attract potential club members.

The lack of buzz at the game the other night was scary, a cup qtr final against your local rivals the prize and only a couple of hundred show up and don't create any atmosphere. The club seems to have at least got a few new sponsors on board this season but how long will they Hang around if ye are just lingering in the bottom half of the FD? Worrying times for ATFC. I agree with you the majority of those players aren't good enough which is shocking because I thought athlone would walk the division at the start of the year. Very poor management from those over the club it looks from an outsiders view at least.

26/08/2015, 7:07 PM
Surely questions are being asked of Mathews after this result?

Not until Roddy turns up to a game!

(regardless of his enthusiasm at Waterford)

26/08/2015, 7:14 PM

Im pretty sure you would find similar comments on here from Dundalk fans circa 2004 or so when a pub and then a taxi company were shirt sponsors and they only came about as the owners or influential employees were already supporters; no company wanted to feature in the same sentence as 'Dundalk FC' and feck all wanted the burden of being a board member! Cue the fire sale of the training ground to pay off debts and the installation of a magic plastic pitch....the rest as they say is history:confused:

26/08/2015, 7:34 PM
Im pretty sure you would find similar comments on here from Dundalk fans circa 2004 or so when a pub and then a taxi company were shirt sponsors and they only came about as the owners or influential employees were already supporters; no company wanted to feature in the same sentence as 'Dundalk FC' and feck all wanted the burden of being a board member! Cue the fire sale of the training ground to pay off debts and the installation of a magic plastic pitch....the rest as they say is history:confused:
So what you're saying is... Athlone are going to win the league in 10 years?

dundalkfc10
26/08/2015, 8:16 PM
Yes just after we win 10 in a row

26/08/2015, 8:37 PM
and by then Champions League group stage regulars and focusing on winning the competition so the domestic league will be just a distraction from the main focus!

26/08/2015, 8:44 PM
So what you're saying is... Athlone are going to win the league in 10 years?

The little 'confused' smiley at the end was for the very reason you mentioned - a new age thinking template for success - it's foolproof!! and an obvious progression from the old spend invisible model that worked wonders beforehand for so many clubs.

26/08/2015, 9:00 PM
The little 'confused' smiley at the end was for the very reason you mentioned - a new age thinking template for success - it's foolproof!! and an obvious progression from the old spend invisible model that worked wonders beforehand for so many clubs.
Rovers must have screwed up as usual, made it within five years and then hired Croly :(

26/08/2015, 11:19 PM
Plastic pitch and crap away section are essential to the plan for sustainability - pitch prevents star players from togging out and support of closest rivals boycott away games and supporting their club at top of the table clashes, win win ingenious stuff to gain the edge! (sorry well worn and tiresome comment on Oriel at this stage)

DannyInvincible
13/09/2015, 11:46 PM
Mark Quigley is set to miss Derry's game with Cork tomorrow due to illness: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2015/09/quigley-to-miss-turners-cross-tie/

Derry City boss Peter Hutton has confirmed that striker Mark Quigley will miss tomorrow evening’s FAI Cup quarter-final replay at Cork City.

Quigley, who was given his first start for the Candystripes on Friday night, struggled in the game because of illness and since then he has been on antibiotics, on the plus side midfielder Philip Lowry returns from suspension.

“Mark has to miss out, he was coming down a with a virus on Friday and because of that his energy levels were very depleted, since then he has seen the doctor and has been put on antibiotics, so I think this is a game too soon for him,” stated Hutton.

Pizza's landed the doctor in it. Antibiotics do nothing for viruses.

White Horse
14/09/2015, 7:41 AM
Home draw for the Town against Longford.

I'll take that.

Darklordsbane
14/09/2015, 7:54 AM
So will we noone will give us a hope in hell just the way we like it

jinxy lilywhite
14/09/2015, 12:28 PM
Nope always a chance in a semi final.

Just wanted a home draw. Even er pau better away from home

Fingers crossed derry beat cork tonight. 4th place won't be good enough for Europe

White Horse
14/09/2015, 2:14 PM
Fingers crossed derry beat cork tonight. 4th place won't be good enough for Europe

That would put the cat among the pigeons. Buckley and Fenlon will be bricking it tonight.

PartySaint
14/09/2015, 2:16 PM
That would put the cat among the pigeons. Buckley and Fenlon will be bricking it tonight.

Fenlon has nothing to worry about. Bucko and Long are the 2 chasing 4th now.

seand
14/09/2015, 2:23 PM
Nope always a chance in a semi final.

Just wanted a home draw. Even er pau better away from home

Fourth will be good enough for Europe if Dundalk or Cork win the cup. UEFA says so. If Dundalk, say, do the double beating Bray in the final the cup winners' European place goes back to the league, not to Bray.

White Horse
14/09/2015, 2:30 PM
Fourth will be good enough for Europe if Dundalk or Cork win the cup. UEFA says so. If Dundalk, say, do the double beating Bray in the final the cup winners' European place goes back to the league, not to Bray.

If Dundalk win the league and the cup, does the Europa place not go to the runners up (if they haven't already qualified)?

Trainee
14/09/2015, 2:33 PM
If Dundalk win the league and the cup, does the Europa place not go to the runners up (if they haven't already qualified)?

Ufea changed rules so runners up in cup wont get european places, If dundalk do the double the european place goes to next in line from the league.

Trainee
14/09/2015, 2:39 PM
If its a Dundalk v Cork final we should be looking at an attandance of 30,000 plus. Anything else attandance will be luck to be over 20,000.

Last year attandance for final was 17,038

14/09/2015, 2:55 PM
If its a Dundalk v Cork final we should be looking at an attandance of 30,000 plus. Anything else attandance will be luck to be over 20,000.

I would have put Derry ahaead of Cork if in the Cup Final in relation to potential attendance. 17,000 last year were from Derry!

jinxy lilywhite
14/09/2015, 3:04 PM
Is there a link because the only info I have is wiki and it says the opposite.

Granted wiki is only as reliable as the contributiors

White Horse
14/09/2015, 3:27 PM
Is there a link because the only info I have is wiki and it says the opposite.

Granted wiki is only as reliable as the contributiors

Just looked this up:

In response to another request by the member associations, the UEFA Executive Committee agreed that the UEFA Club Competitions Committee should make the necessary regulatory changes to allow the best-placed non-qualified domestic championship club to enter the UEFA Europa League from the 2015/16 season, rather than the domestic cup runners-up, should the domestic cup winners also qualify for the UEFA Champions League via the final championship standings.
http://www.uefa.org/about-uefa/executive-committee/news/newsid=1999120.html

PartySaint
14/09/2015, 3:28 PM
I would have put Derry ahaead of Cork if in the Cup Final in relation to potential attendance. 17,000 last year were from Derry!

Funny you should say that because 38 was Dundalk average attendance pre 2014 ;)

White Horse
14/09/2015, 3:32 PM

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/07/07/article-0-0CE96A1200000578-237_634x422.jpg

mcgonigle
14/09/2015, 3:32 PM

Yeah but we would of got at least 50 for a cup final, so in your face :p

D24Saint
14/09/2015, 4:01 PM
Looking for a Dundalk v Cork final it would be a great atmosphere plus with european football in the bag I can enjoy my overpriced Aviva pint in comfort.

14/09/2015, 4:42 PM
its not the draw we want but it is the first time since 1972 that we meet Dundalk in the FAI Cup and our second ever meeting.In 1972 we met Dundalk in Longford Park and lost 3-0! I believe the programme from that game is hard to find and if anyone knows of any pointers regarding this send me a pm pls!

We have played well in Oriel this season and wouldnt mind getting a draw to bring Dundalk to Longford!

14/09/2015, 4:43 PM

Darklordsbane
14/09/2015, 7:20 PM
Will it not go to extra time and maybe penalties

sullanefc
14/09/2015, 8:35 PM
Ross Gaynor scored a worldy tonight apparently. If they have footage, it might be worth staying up for SR tonight.

patrickccfc
14/09/2015, 8:50 PM
Ross Gaynor scored a worldy tonight apparently. If they have footage, it might be worth staying up for SR tonight.

It was an absolute worldly that's for sure. If it was scored in England it would be talked about for years. Bring on the semis

toffeejay
14/09/2015, 9:17 PM

Just glad Cork and Dundalk were kept apart for the semis. The first final at the new Aviva was 36,000 and that between two well supported sides and the novelty of it. Cork-Dundalk has the potential to match that crowd.
I can see Bray bringing a decent support if they get the final, a short easy run up to the Aviva.
But Longford would really, really struggle.

14/09/2015, 9:52 PM
Stop worrying about the crowd lads. Loads of things have to happen for it to reach 30k.