View Full Version : 2015 FAI Senior Cup
Pages :
[
5]
23/07/2015, 8:49 AM
Derry is probably closer but equally awkward to get to from Buncrana on public transport. 5 hour bus trip from Dublin though Marty, best to find someone willing to drive it as I'd never rely on public transport in Donegal
There's a decent amount of public transport between Derry and Buncrana, in fairness. Not as frequent on Sundays though. Definitely handier than from Letterkenny.
http://journeyplanner.translink.co.uk/ext_webpdf_mob/TTB/20150722-144351/nir/07181_y15_TP.pdf
http://www.mcgonaglebushire.com/time-table/
Worst case scenario, you could get a taxi (€25ish) or if we're driving, could give you a lift.
23/07/2015, 11:48 AM
There's a decent amount of public transport between Derry and Buncrana, in fairness. Not as frequent on Sundays though. Definitely handier than from Letterkenny.
http://journeyplanner.translink.co.uk/ext_webpdf_mob/TTB/20150722-144351/nir/07181_y15_TP.pdf
http://www.mcgonaglebushire.com/time-table/
Worst case scenario, you could get a taxi (€25ish) or if we're driving, could give you a lift.
Public transport in the North West of Ireland is horrendous compared to that of most of the rest of the country.
Sundays, as you've said, is pretty tough. If Marty finishes work at 8am, and match is planned for 2pm, there's no way he'll make it on public transport for at least the start of the match, is basically what I was saying.
redobit
23/07/2015, 2:36 PM
Public transport in the North West of Ireland is horrendous compared to that of most of the rest of the country.
Sundays, as you've said, is pretty tough. If Marty finishes work at 8am, and match is planned for 2pm, there's no way he'll make it on public transport for at least the start of the match, is basically what I was saying.
Its a joke that if you want to get a train from Sligo to say Cork, you need to get the train to Dublin first. And if you're in Donegal you have to drive to Sligo first. Roads aren't near as good compared to the rest of the country . Second class citizens.
23/07/2015, 10:42 PM
Sounds like a project maths question 😂
cobhlad
24/07/2015, 6:42 PM
Cobh Wanderers will play their game with Sligo Rovers at St Colman's Park. August 22nd at 7pm
24/07/2015, 11:03 PM
Cobh Wanderers will play their game with Sligo Rovers at St Colman's Park. August 22nd at 7pm
Hopefully Cockhill make up their mind soon, boss is going mad that i still don't know what day it's on
29/07/2015, 7:53 PM
Hopefully Cockhill make up their mind soon, boss is going mad that i still don't know what day it's on
Saturday 5pm kick off in Maginn Park.That was unexpected given Cockhill play home games 2pm Sunday.
Presumably the only time Maginn Park was available.
29/07/2015, 8:43 PM
Yeah just seen it on our Facebook, brilliant day out ahead 👌
30/07/2015, 4:36 PM
Yeah just seen it on our Facebook, brilliant day out ahead
damn that. I am working that night. Will have to juggle wotever annual leave that I have booked off for matches as I have never being up here before! Might give the Dundalk game a miss!
Nailor
17/08/2015, 10:42 AM
Anyone any idea when the next round is penciled in for after this weekend ?
redobit
17/08/2015, 10:50 AM
Anyone any idea when the next round is penciled in for after this weekend ?
Quarter final is the weekend ending Sun. 13th Sept.
20/08/2015, 11:04 AM
Something I noticed ahead of this weekends games, the exact same set of officials are taking charge of the Derry v Drogheda game on Friday night as are Cockhill v Longford on Saturday. The only difference is the switch between Paul Tuite and Michael Connolly as fourth official and referee.
Maybe it's not so strange as I'm making out in my head, but I'd have assumed a different set of officials should be appointed to each game?
refjohn
20/08/2015, 11:14 AM
Cost saving - maybe cheaper and certainly more efficient to keep 3 of them in a Donegal hotel than to have 3 more head up from Dublin next day. I also notice Mr Buttimer doing same thing - 4th official Friday / referee Saturday. The 4th official in the teams for the Derry / Cockhill game (Michael Connolly) is a Donegal resident who was an IFA referee until start of this season.
hollocaine
20/08/2015, 11:15 AM
Something I noticed ahead of this weekends games, the exact same set of officials are taking charge of the Derry v Drogheda game on Friday night as are Cockhill v Longford on Saturday. The only difference is the switch between Paul Tuite and Michael Connolly as fourth official and referee.
Maybe it's not so strange as I'm making out in my head, but I'd have assumed a different set of officials should be appointed to each game?
You need to get out more
disgruntled
20/08/2015, 1:03 PM
Its Cobh & Sligo that I have pity for.
They have Buttimer :rolleyes:
White Horse
20/08/2015, 2:45 PM
From looking at the team sheets over the last couple of games, I've noticed that so many teams are missing a lot of players.
As an example, Cork are missing the following players for tomorrow's game:
John Dunleavy, Gavan Holohan, Danny Morrissey, Mark O’Sullivan, John Kavanagh, Darren Dennehy, Alan Bennett, Kevin O’Connor
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2015/08/20/team-news-for-st-pats-game-17/
Dundalk have had hardly any injuries this season. Why?
20/08/2015, 3:04 PM
S&D probably has a lot to do with it. I'd say teams that retain a lot of possession tend to have fewer soft tissue injuries than those who cede the ball as well.
White Horse
20/08/2015, 3:15 PM
S&D probably has a lot to do with it. I'd say teams that retain a lot of possession tend to have fewer soft tissue injuries than those who cede the ball as well.
A lot of injuries at St Pats too.
Ezeikial
20/08/2015, 3:17 PM
Graham Byrne the Strength & Conditioning coach was one of the first additions that Stephen Kenny made on his arrival
He has certainly played a big role in any recent success
http://www.dundalkfc.com/players/manager-backroom/graham-byrne/
20/08/2015, 3:33 PM
The correct answer is "the pitch, obviously"
White Horse
20/08/2015, 3:49 PM
The correct answer is "the pitch, obviously"
I doubt it is the answer, but it also does not appear to cause injuries.
Trainee
20/08/2015, 3:53 PM
I fear for GUFC tomorrow night if Dundalk put out a full team as GUFC are down to bare bones & will 7-8 U19s in the squad
I reckon SK will be going with a full 'squad' and wont include any u-19 players this time around.What team he starts with is anyone's guess but i'd reckon he'll make a few changes from Monday nights start xi and rest a few to the bench.
Full 3rd round fixtures:
Friday
Bohemian FC v Bray W.
Cork City v St.Pats (LIVE ON RTE) 7.25pm
Derry City v Drogheda United
Galway United v Dundalk FC
Sheriff YC v Athlone Town
Tolka Rovers v Killester FC
Saturday
Cockhill Celtic v Longford Town 5pm
Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers 7pm
betting
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland
Sure to be a few upsets.
I fancy Drogs in Derry at 7/2 and Bray in Dalymount also at 7/2.
Cockhill v Longford draw sure also 7/2(BoyleSports) not bad.
I reckon SK will be going with a full 'squad' and wont include any u-19 players this time around.What team he starts with is anyone's guess but i'd reckon he'll make a few changes from Monday nights start xi and rest a few to the bench.
Initially I thought SK might go with only 4 or 5 first teamers for this cup game, but I'm now thinking he will go close to full strength.
Should be an interesting weekend of games ahead and there is a decent chance of some of the smaller clubs advancing, also one from Cork and Pats will be gone, and Rovers are already out, plus there is usually at least one or two surprises in this round.
FAI Cup 3rd round fixtures & estimated attendances?
Friday
Bohemian FC v Bray W. 7.45pm 1,000+
Cork City v St.Pats (LIVE ON RTE) 7.25pm 2,000+
Derry City v Drogheda United 7.45pm 1,000+
Galway United v Dundalk FC 7.45pm 1,000+
Sheriff YC v Athlone Town 7.30pm 100-200+
Tolka Rovers v Killester FC 7.45pm 100-200+
Saturday
Cockhill Celtic v Longford Town 5pm 250+
Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers 7pm 250+
21/08/2015, 10:00 AM
heading to Dalymount tonight, I think Bohs can stick a few past this Bray defence, just depends whether they can keep it tight at the back.
21/08/2015, 10:00 AM
FAI Cup 3rd round fixtures & estimated attendances?
Friday
Bohemian FC v Bray W. 7.45pm 1,000+
Cork City v St.Pats (LIVE ON RTE) 7.25pm 2,000+
Derry City v Drogheda United 7.45pm 1,000+
Galway United v Dundalk FC 7.45pm 1,000+
Sheriff YC v Athlone Town 7.30pm 100-200+
Tolka Rovers v Killester FC 7.45pm 100-200+
Saturday
Cockhill Celtic v Longford Town 5pm 250+
Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers 7pm 250+
Unless the people of Buncranna are extremely interested there won't be anything near that at the game we are bringing minimum away support
D24Saint
21/08/2015, 10:42 AM
Tough game tonight especially considering that we are a bit bare up front Id take a draw to bring it back to Richmond on Monday.
21/08/2015, 11:17 AM
Unless the people of Buncranna are extremely interested there won't be anything near that at the game we are bringing minimum away support
You'd be surprised. There'll be a good home crowd at it. Lot of Ulster Senior League people heading up to watch. Weather will play a part though, if it's a crap day, there'll be a crap crowd, if it's a good day, there'll be a big crowd at it.
21/08/2015, 11:20 AM
Initially I thought SK might go with only 4 or 5 first teamers for this cup game, but I'm now thinking he will go close to full strength.
Should be an interesting weekend of games ahead and there is a decent chance of some of the smaller clubs advancing, also one from Cork and Pats will be gone, and Rovers are already out, plus there is usually at least one or two surprises in this round.
No reason why he wouldn't play a full team (or maybe rotate in a couple of the regular subs) with, like you say, two of the top four guaranteed to be out by the fifth round.
JC_GUFC
21/08/2015, 1:19 PM
I don't seem why Dundalk would rotate their team for this match. Fully expected the side they played in the League Cup game but this is a huge step to the double for them. Sure the likes of Shiels, Meenan, Barrett may get a game - lads who are regularly on the bench but not always playing but aside from those 3 or 4 I don't see lads like Poynton, Finnegan being involved.
We're on a bad run due to injuries and suspensions but our team tonight will be ok - probably only missing 3 starters - so looking at our early season form an upset isn't totally out of the question.
wonder88
21/08/2015, 1:53 PM
Can't make the Galway game tonight. Hope for the best but can't see any joy for the home side with all the injuries and on a bad run as well. Again a lot depends on how strong a team Kenny puts out, as even in the league cup game they probably shaded it with just 2/3 regulars.
Telly for me, so hope for good game down in Cork. 3-2 home win maybe
White Horse
21/08/2015, 1:58 PM
I don't seem why Dundalk would rotate their team for this match. Fully expected the side they played in the League Cup game but this is a huge step to the double for them. Sure the likes of Shiels, Meenan, Barrett may get a game - lads who are regularly on the bench but not always playing but aside from those 3 or 4 I don't see lads like Poynton, Finnegan being involved.
We're on a bad run due to injuries and suspensions but our team tonight will be ok - probably only missing 3 starters - so looking at our early season form an upset isn't totally out of the question.
I expect Kilduff, Maguire, Meenan, and Shields to start. However, I wouldn't expect the younger lads who played in the league cup to play.
21/08/2015, 2:06 PM
no away supporters bus due to cancellations. you will be lucky to have a handful of away fans. journey up will put a lot of ppl off!
21/08/2015, 2:24 PM
Dundalk -2, Sligo -1 double
Derry, Longford double
Sherriff to beat Athlone too wouldn't be beyond the realms of possibilities at present either.
Dundalk -2, Sligo -1 double
Derry, Longford double
Sherriff to beat Athlone too wouldn't be beyond the realms of possibilities at present either.
Sheriff are favs in that match,been a while since i've seen that.
21/08/2015, 2:36 PM
I'd love if Town and Athlone won and we got one another in the next round. Might liven the auld season up a bit again for both teams.
21/08/2015, 4:20 PM
no away supporters bus due to cancellations. you will be lucky to have a handful of away fans. journey up will put a lot of ppl off!
Jaysis...you'd swear they had to travel to timbuktu. It's not that far. Only an extra hour from Ballybofey.
patrickccfc
21/08/2015, 6:04 PM
Looks like Caulfield and dennehy have kissed and made up as he is on the bench for us tonight. Massive game for both sides tonight hopefully we come out on top
Nah Nah Nah Nah
21/08/2015, 6:59 PM
Small crowd by Cork standards. Shed barely half full.
patrickccfc
21/08/2015, 7:18 PM
Small crowd by Cork standards. Shed barely half full.
Disappointing alright but around what I expected anyway. Not been a great game so far and pats had two cleared off the line. More urgency needed in the second half
21/08/2015, 7:38 PM
Serious strike from Mark O'Sullivan. Unstoppable.
colonelwest
21/08/2015, 7:49 PM
Good game at the cross, said in the tv thread there the extra 15 mins of pre match build up was great to see.
There we go three nil, goodnight Irene. Pats very sluggish at the back again tonight, same as against us on Monday there. Cork came flying out of the gates at half time and what an absolute belter of a goal from O'Sullivan, brilliant!
21/08/2015, 7:52 PM
It looks as though 3 of last years semi finalists are going to be out by tonight.
By all accounts, it'd be great to see a Dundalk v Cork final. Chance of a big crowd, good game, and the two best teams in the league in my opinion. That'd be a proper occasion to sell to any neutral, or English Premier League fans.
colonelwest
21/08/2015, 8:14 PM
Aye, I could see getting 25-30k, possibly a bit more into Landsdowne if it ends up Cork/ Dundalk in the final, be good to see them not meet before the final if they make it that far. Two big one club towns (or city in Corks case, ahem!) that would bring a hell of a lot of local bandwagoners, for want of a better term, along with the regular support up & the usual LOI heads who go along. A great crowd & atmosphere, the top 2 teams in the league playing good ball on TV would be a great advertisement for the league. Roddy might even bring the Luton Town manager back over, you never know! :D
In tonights greatestleagueintheworld news:
https://twitter.com/cahill_ashley/status/634802013717557248
Ashley Cahill @cahill_ashley (https://twitter.com/cahill_ashley) 1h1 hour ago (https://twitter.com/cahill_ashley/status/634802013717557248) Madness...one of this Athlone Town squad has just entered the pitch area having been locked in the dressing room for the 1st 30 mins!!!
eelmonster
21/08/2015, 8:24 PM
Nice man of the match award there, RTE, where did they get that, a fcuking Subbuteo set?
Also, what's the story with Forrester's face? He looks like Gen Sir Mike Jackson (before the eye bag surgery).
colonelwest
21/08/2015, 8:33 PM
Jaysus, Healy is a flatcap and a rifle short of being on top of a ridge in Béal na Bláth in 1922!
Good game though and he ran the show for Cork, absolute belter from O'Sullivan. Brennan very soft trying to win a free out for it. Don't think it was a free in for Cork's first.
Dundalk 4-1 up at Galway, Sherriff held Athlone 2-2 as well.
placid casual
21/08/2015, 8:49 PM
great results in the cup.:D
Fair play to Cork & Bray. hope they go on to meet in the final.
buckley was takin the pi$$ playing a no mark like greene up front - they really are paying for not having a ready made replacement for Fagan.
And the bozos lost out to a highly controversial goal apparently. makes it all the sweeter!
wonder88
21/08/2015, 8:55 PM
A free is usually given in situations like that. Derry also won and they are cup team who bring a decent support to the final. Cork still have plenty to play for, so their crowds should improve again. Agree Healy was the best player on the field.