View Full Version : 2015 FAI Senior Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 3:58 PM
Chances of Dundalk v Longford being called off this evening? What's the fog like along the coast? There'd be no hope of a game going ahead in Carlow anyways at the minute! Can't see the other side of my garden..

On our fog repelling, water-one-end-only, tilt and slide plastic pitch?

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 3:59 PM
PS Fog may have prevented delivery of full crisps range. Shop early

02/10/2015, 6:43 PM
Looks a good home crowd in Dundalk. How much does the away section hold there? Looks about 200 Longford fans?

02/10/2015, 7:04 PM
This could well end up 5-0 or 6-0. Great header by Barrett but should have been much better defended.

02/10/2015, 7:14 PM
Did Brian Kerr just call Kaleem Simon "Colm Sullivan"? Sounded that way!

02/10/2015, 7:18 PM
Did Brian Kerr just call Kaleem Simon "Colm Sullivan"? Sounded that way!

Don't think so, never picked up on it anyway.

I did, however, hear the Longford fan right in front the microphone..on several occasions.. "He's a f*cking scumbag ref", etc. It's both funny and entirely annoying at the same time.

02/10/2015, 7:29 PM
Don't think so, never picked up on it anyway.

I did, however, hear the Longford fan right in front the microphone..on several occasions.. "He's a f*cking scumbag ref", etc. It's both funny and entirely annoying at the same time.
Marty looking for his crisps :D

White Horse
02/10/2015, 9:28 PM
Poor enough game. Dundalk were in cruise control for most of it. Wicked deflection for the second goal. Longford never really looked that they could score.

02/10/2015, 10:14 PM
Looked afraid to commit too many men forward even at 2-0. Didn't want to get a heavier beating I suppose but we're miles away from your level. Cup was a bonus anyway I'd happily have lost 5-0 if it meant we stay up.

White Horse
02/10/2015, 10:26 PM
I liked the look of Kaleem Simon. If he could have got closer to Shaw, you could have caused us problems. Shaw was excellent in the first half when he was playing far forward. He seemed to drop very deep in the second half which blunted his threat.

02/10/2015, 10:40 PM
Shaw is a good player but lacking in confidence because he hasn't scored for 27 games or something. He rushes his shots and generally doesn't look like he believes he'll score. He's coming in for a bit of stick on social media (apparently including from mates of one of our other strikers) but if we're going to play one up front he's the only player we have that's able to hold it up.

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 11:01 PM
I though this Irish Mirror piece last July was a little odd at the time.

After seeing Gary Shaw for the 4th time this season, I find it totally bizarre if any of this article is actually based on any shred of reality

Longford Town refusing to sell Gary Shaw to Dundalk or Shamrock Rovers

14:33, 10 JUL 2015
BY PAUL O'HEHIR (http://www.irishmirror.ie/authors/paul-ohehir/)

Longford Town are refusing to sell Gary Shaw to Dundalk or Shamrock Rovers having rejected bids this week.

But the prospect of the striker moving to England remains a live one with a League One club entering the picture.
Mirror Sport revealed last week how an unnamed Championship club had contacted the Midlands outfit about Shaw. And a League One side sent representatives to City Calling Stadium to scout him in last weekend’s 2-1 win over Bohemians.

Longford boss Tony Cousins will consider an offer from England if it’s “too good to turn down” but last night ruled out selling Shaw to a rival Irish club.It’s understood that champions Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers have tabled offers for Shaw in recent days.

Cousins told Mirror Sport: “We’ve thought about it and come to a decision - we don’t want Gary going to anyone else in this league.

“The money involved wouldn’t be worth it. If you get an offer from England that you can’t turn down, well, that’s a different story as there aren’t many League of Ireland clubs who can say no to that.

“We’ve turned down two bids from top Irish clubs which I won’t name but we’re in a position where we don’t want to sell to him as we’re having a good season and we’re still involved in the FAI Cup.”

Cousins added: “You have to take Gary’s feelings into consideration too. He’s thrilled that these clubs are interested but he feels we’ve also put a lot into him. Gary’s had a few seasons where injuries have knocked him back quite a bit but he was never let down with wages and we always came back with a new contract.

“I believed in him and you also need a strong chairman because when a player hasn’t played a lot with injuries, they might say ‘ah here, a new contract?’.

“Our chairman Jim Hanley hasn’t been like that. He’s backed me, he’s backed Gary and Gary is very important to our dressing room.”

But Cousins believes the English interest in Shaw will ramp up in the weeks ahead and Longford are braced for an offer.
“I think it’ going to intensify,” he said. “We’ve had brief, tentative talks with a Championship club while a League One club watched him last week.

“There’s nothing concrete on the table but I believe Gary is good enough to play in England.”

http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/longford-town-refusing-sell-gary-6041354

total hoofball
02/10/2015, 11:22 PM
I'd say someone was looking to sign him alright, probably then some phantom speculation from Longford's end about other clubs being interested in order to hype up any potential fee they could receive?

Shaw is a decent player, his goal drought isn't helped one bit by Cousin's conservative style of football

02/10/2015, 11:41 PM
coming out of the ground practically the majority of the away support are sick of TC and want him to go! very disappointed in the lineout from the start! it said it all that we had more of a salute to Stephen Kenny than TC!

jinxy lilywhite
02/10/2015, 11:49 PM
Can't understand that. You look to be safe in the pd with a but of Ease. Maybe 2 or 3 points will do. Went to a cup semi final and you want shot of the man. Who is out there that will make you better?

02/10/2015, 11:53 PM
Can't understand that. You look to be safe in the pd with a but of Ease. Maybe 2 or 3 points will do. Went to a cup semi final and you want shot of the man. Who is out there that will make you better?

our form has dipped spectacularly over the last few months. we have only one win in 12 games now. We havent played well since the 3-0 win in Drogheda away. I am sure there would be better candidates than him. I would chance my arm with whoever that is managin in the LSL ie the likes of Liam Kelly who was linked with us in the past! I get the feeling the players dont care about him any more. Stephen Rice has not being the same player since Cockhill celtic when Tony cousins substituted him for givin Kaleem Simon too much grief after him only comin on as sub!

Ezeikial
02/10/2015, 11:54 PM
Who is out there that will make you better?

Sean Connor

jinxy lilywhite
03/10/2015, 7:46 AM
Sean Connor
Too many bad memories there ezeikial

our form has dipped spectacularly over the last few months. we have only one win in 12 games now. We havent played well since the 3-0 win in Drogheda away. I am sure there would be better candidates than him. I would chance my arm with whoever that is managin in the LSL ie the likes of Liam Kelly who was linked with us in the past! I get the feeling the players dont care about him any more. Stephen Rice has not being the same player since Cockhill celtic when Tony cousins substituted him for givin Kaleem Simon too much grief after him only comin on as sub!

Just be careful what you wish for.

On last night's game it wasn't the prettiest but job done. In the past Longford have been one of our most trickiest opponents but when we got the first it knocked the stuffing out of them. Fair play to them for the last 20 they tried but we knew how to shut them out.

Day trip to the Aviva Woo hoo Can't wait for it. Cork or Bray I don't really care

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/10/2015, 8:33 AM
Watched it there this morning. Thought Pat Sullivan should have gotten man of the match. Know it's generally never given to a player from a team defeated 2-0 but thought he was superb.

patrickccfc
03/10/2015, 8:48 AM
Congrats to dundalk reaching the final. Hopefully we can join ye there. Another Louth club denied us the double in '05 so I'd love to do the same ha

White Horse
03/10/2015, 8:59 AM
Congrats to dundalk reaching the final. Hopefully we can join ye there. Another Louth club denied us the double in '05 so I'd love to do the same ha

I think you have a tough tie tomorrow. I've never felt confident of a win in the Carlisle grounds, even when we are in a rich vein of form.

I do think that a Cork / Dundalk final would be a great showpiece event for the league. Enjoy the game tomorrow. But bring a brolly. It always rains in Bray.

patrickccfc
03/10/2015, 9:35 AM
I think you have a tough tie tomorrow. I've never felt confident of a win in the Carlisle grounds, even when we are in a rich vein of form.

I do think that a Cork / Dundalk final would be a great showpiece event for the league. Enjoy the game tomorrow. But bring a brolly. It always rains in Bray.

Yeah I wouldn't say I'm full of confidence and I'd probably take a replay at this stage.

Would be a great occasion alright you'd think a fairly large attendance. But bray will have other idea's about that and you wouldn't begrudge them their place in the final if they make it.

Ugh yeah always freezing up there I've been lucky on previous visits that it hasn't rained so hopefully it doesn't

03/10/2015, 10:10 AM
you'd think a fairly large attendance. But bray will have other idea's about that

Seems that way alright.

03/10/2015, 10:48 AM
I wish I didn't care any more, but I do.
We were never going to win, missing 5/6 players for various reasons. Watched Dundalk live the last two weeks.

Not overly impressive but you know there's more in the tank when needed. Every player looks a proper athlete. You push high up the pitch, make it difficult for the opponent even when not playing well yourselves.

We've played the same hoofball crap for the last 5 odd years under TC. He did a fine job building and keeping a squad together, but I had totally lost confidence in him after the season Athlone went up ahead of us. Any idiot would have gotten the squad we had promoted but it took him a season longer than it should have and even then it wasn't pretty..

A few random good results and the luckiest cup draws imaginable have papered over the cracks this year, I've never once seen him improve a footballer, our whole team always looks slow, unorganized and generally lacking in any real game plan, bar hoof it at Gary or the shortest wingers in the league and see what happens.

Just sick of this. There dosent seem to be the same team spirit or rapport with the fans this season, a few exceptions asside. The likes of Cousins barely acknowledged us after the game and Rice looks like he literally couldn't care less. Powell is the worst player we've ever had, how he plays without fail is a complete farce.

03/10/2015, 12:26 PM
We were never going to win, missing 5/6 players for various reasons. Watched Dundalk live the last two weeks.

Not overly impressive but you know there's more in the tank when needed. Every player looks a proper athlete. You push high up the pitch, make it difficult for the opponent even when not playing well yourselves.

We've played the same hoofball crap for the last 5 odd years under TC. He did a fine job building and keeping a squad together, but I had totally lost confidence in him after the season Athlone went up ahead of us. Any idiot would have gotten the squad we had promoted but it took him a season longer than it should have and even then it wasn't pretty..

A few random good results and the luckiest cup draws imaginable have papered over the cracks this year, I've never once seen him improve a footballer, our whole team always looks slow, unorganized and generally lacking in any real game plan, bar hoof it at Gary or the shortest wingers in the league and see what happens.

Just sick of this. There dosent seem to be the same team spirit or rapport with the fans this season, a few exceptions asside. The likes of Cousins barely acknowledged us after the game and Rice looks like he literally couldn't care less. Powell is the worst player we've ever had, how he plays without fail is a complete farce.

Thank you, someone is finally able to admit it. Everything you've said from individual players to team and fan spirit is spot on. The whole atmosphere around the club suggests we are going only one way and it's down. Hopefully we beat Sligo and turn things around but i can't see it. It's as simple as this if we don't beat Drogheda and perhaps Derry in our final 2 games we don't deserve to be in this division

patrickccfc
03/10/2015, 12:33 PM
Seems that way alright.

Just to confirm, the part of my post that Nigel highlighted isn't me suggesting bray won't bring much to the final, just me saying*bray will have something to say about us getting there instead of them.

24 hours to go now.....

CrowdedHouse
03/10/2015, 12:50 PM
Thought this match was on today, I had just commandeered the remote... #sake

03/10/2015, 1:10 PM
This should be a fantastic game. We have held our own against the bigger teams in the league and Cork never really threatened us a few weeks ago. Looking forward to it. Going to be a great day. Safe trip up to all the Cork fans.

Olander
03/10/2015, 1:23 PM
Is the Sunday Cup game on TV by any chance?

03/10/2015, 1:29 PM
Is the Sunday Cup game on TV by any chance?

Al Jazeera are showing it after Niall Quinn sold the rights in Asia.

RTÉ are piggy backing on the coverage.

D24Saint
03/10/2015, 3:33 PM
Al Jazeera are showing it after Niall Quinn sold the rights in Asia.

RTÉ are piggy backing on the coverage.

Wouldn't have thought Alcohol free nations are our target audience it's a prerequisite for watching this game :)

03/10/2015, 5:16 PM
He's hit pretty much every target he's been given, but the football is too often awful. And I say that as someone who stuck up for Matthews more often than not when he was our manager. But at least his teams had a bit of fight about them. Too few seem arsed.

03/10/2015, 5:21 PM
He's hit pretty much every target he's been given, but the football is too often awful. And I say that as someone who stuck up for Matthews more often than not when he was our manager. But at least his teams had a bit of fight about them. Too few seem arsed.

Yep I couldn't care less if we lost a game showing heart and passion but too many times this season I've come away from the ground asking myself why do I bother with all this if the players can't be bothered. The lack of unity between fans and players this season is incredible also, a far cry from the Kenny days and hence the poor attendances (sh1te results and atmosphere doesn't help either)

03/10/2015, 9:13 PM
I made the comments on the Longford town forum but I was told today that there were clips on tv shown after the game of longford town players laughin and jokin with the dundalk players after the game . I believe Stewie Byrne even mentioned it afterwards in his analysis.
Where is the disappointment? That tells me that we never went to Dundalk to even try and get a replay and really hurts me. I think it is time for a complete sweep of team and management and start all over again even if we get relegated as we are turnin into a laughin stock!
I am not too happy that flares were let off after the game and we wanted to argue with stewards after being told well in advance that we had to stay back. It didnt bother me much as the bus was waiting but I am not too happy about the flares incident.

Sometimes I wonder why do I bother with the hassle of football?From a manager who doenst care to players who dont care to a club that wont even listen to their fans on improvements to a club that havent had a AGM in six long years I am ashamed to be a Longford town fan this weekend!

03/10/2015, 9:31 PM
I made the comments on the Longford town forum but I was told today that there were clips on tv shown after the game of longford town players laughin and jokin with the dundalk players after the game . I believe Stewie Byrne even mentioned it afterwards in his analysis.
Where is the disappointment? That tells me that we never went to Dundalk to even try and get a replay and really hurts me. I think it is time for a complete sweep of team and management and start all over again even if we get relegated as we are turnin into a laughin stock!
I am not too happy that flares were let off after the game and we wanted to argue with stewards after being told well in advance that we had to stay back. It didnt bother me much as the bus was waiting but I am not too happy about the flares incident.

Sometimes I wonder why do I bother with the hassle of football?From a manager who doenst care to players who dont care to a club that wont even listen to their fans on improvements to a club that havent had a AGM in six long years I am ashamed to be a Longford town fan this weekend!

The board needs a clean sweep, fresh blood is needed but as we all know that won't happen. Same sh1te different season.

jinxy lilywhite
03/10/2015, 10:06 PM
Jesus you guys moan worst than the Cork heads

oriel
04/10/2015, 9:37 AM

I noticed the laughing also from two of your players at final whistle when I watched the game back, not a good sign. Also thought you should have gone for it more, it was a one off game, if you had taken the lead it would have at least rattled us a little. Dundalk never got out of 3rd gear, we were fortunate to be drawn at home, but it was still a very easy game. Lack of fight in Longford was evident.

White Horse
04/10/2015, 9:50 AM

Steady on. They haven't blamed the defeat on the "plastic pitch".

ger121
04/10/2015, 9:54 AM
What time is KO?

White Horse
04/10/2015, 10:40 AM
What time is KO?

two o'clock.

I wonder will Caulfied do his usual and play players who are half fit and carrying injuries.

total hoofball
04/10/2015, 12:28 PM
I noticed the laughing also from two of your players at final whistle when I watched the game back, not a good sign. Also thought you should have gone for it more, it was a one off game, if you had taken the lead it would have at least rattled us a little. Dundalk never got out of 3rd gear, we were fortunate to be drawn at home, but it was still a very easy game. Lack of fight in Longford was evident.
My feeling from watching Longford on Friday is that their heads are focused by management on avoiding relegation with a massive game against Sligo next week and were never going to throw the kitchen sink into winning a one-off game away against the best team in the country. I don't think many managers would have started with a lone striker who hasn't scored in his last 28 starts if they were ambitious enough to try and pull off a positive result. After such a one-sided game of football where the result wasn't in any doubt and considering the LOI is a small community where half the players know each other well I wouldn't hold anything against the players having a smile or banter with each other especially when they were shackled from achieving something all night long. Don't get me wrong, it was never going to be an easy night for Cousins and Longford but their lack of reaction from going goal down in a one-off game with an opportunity of playing at the Aviva was bizarrely conservative.

ger121
04/10/2015, 12:44 PM
Seems the national media have overlooked the game today. Least I know that Ajax are playing PSV

http://www.newstalk.com/Forget-Super-Sunday-tomorrows-lineup-of-sport-is-ludicrous

Yossarian
04/10/2015, 12:44 PM
two o'clock.

I wonder will Caulfied do his usual and play players who are half fit and carrying injuries.

Seems he's doing the usual and playing a centre half in midfield.

04/10/2015, 3:08 PM
Seems he's doing the usual and playing a centre half in midfield.

And he was one of our best players there.

Usual story for us, never do things the easy way, but we're going to the Aviva so who cares!!! Bring it on!

jinxy lilywhite
04/10/2015, 3:45 PM
Congratulations on your maiden fai cup final ;)

White Horse
04/10/2015, 7:17 PM
Congratulations to Cork on getting to the cup final. It should be a great occasion with a big attendance.

I'm looking forward to it.

04/10/2015, 7:41 PM
The board needs a clean sweep, fresh blood is needed but as we all know that won't happen. Same sh1te different season.

Considering they seem to be able to field a decent budget while maintaining stability I'd have thought they're doing all right.

04/10/2015, 8:13 PM

I bet you nine years ago when ye were refused entry to the premier division that ye would have being the same. never look down on anyone it could be ye! We had our days of glory and unlikely to ever reach those heights again. so never get complacent.

04/10/2015, 8:19 PM
Considering they seem to be able to field a decent budget while maintaining stability I'd have thought they're doing all right.

thats because the sponsor is married to a close friend of our secretary and she used to be high up in the FAI. plus chairman chipped money in for yrs. I wouldnt mind this season except for the last few months things have gone downhill fast!if they pull out of club we are screwed.

wonder88
04/10/2015, 8:32 PM
If there is more than one shareholder in the company Longford T must by law hold an AGM every year. Maybe the club is owned 100% by one person. As John Caulfield said on the 6 o clock news we have the cup final the media want. Should top 25k attendance. Was Drogheda v Cork final around this figure?