View Full Version : 2015 FAI Senior Cup

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

jinxy lilywhite
29/05/2015, 11:49 PM
Seems we got through a potentially tricky tie without too much trouble tonight. Sullivan starting to do well again after a quiet start to the season. Looks like the cup kings (rovers) will have to wait another year to add to their dominance of the competition.

If you haven't won it in 28 years then you are hardly dominant

L.T.F.C.
30/05/2015, 12:05 AM
Harps are a dirty team.

30/05/2015, 12:16 AM
Dominant at not winning it.

cestlavie
30/05/2015, 12:20 AM
Would you prefer Harps to just turn up and not try to compete. Grow some balls. This is real football, not that overpaid ****e that you watch each week on Tv.

30/05/2015, 12:22 AM
Would you prefer Harps to just turn up and not try to compete. Grow some balls. This is real football, not that overpaid ****e that you watch each week on Tv.
Longford fans are really spoiled by their weekly broadcasts.

MeathDrog
30/05/2015, 12:59 AM
Longford fans are really spoiled by their weekly broadcasts.
It explains their poor attendances. Longford pubs are booming on a Friday evening.

EAFC_rdfl
30/05/2015, 6:01 AM
LTFC are you the chick who was tweeting during the game that Harps fans were too noisy and for the drum to be removed?! Fair play to the travelling harps fans last night who added the only bit of atmosphere in the grounds.

30/05/2015, 7:00 AM
LTFC are you the chick who was tweeting during the game that Harps fans were too noisy and for the drum to be removed?! Fair play to the travelling harps fans last night who added the only bit of atmosphere in the grounds.

Are you serious? Harps fans were very loud at times last night fair play to them. Drums have already been banned from the stand they may as well put up a library sign if they start banning away fans drums.

EAFC_rdfl
30/05/2015, 7:40 AM
Aveybav on twitter 'Sorry could we get the harps fans removed from the stand, they're too loud #TurnThatDrumDown'

30/05/2015, 7:44 AM
She's taking the **** out of the fact Harps kicked us out of the stand for the last game of last season and we were told to "turn that drum down".

patrickccfc
30/05/2015, 8:00 AM

Yeah I was kinda having a poke at them by saying that as they are often referred to as the cup specialists. I'd imagine the draw for the next round won't be for awhile as it's not due to be played until the weekend of August 23rd-25th?

L.T.F.C.
30/05/2015, 8:25 AM
I am not. Not really on twitter.

No one ever said anything about not competing. What I'm talking about is some of the tackles that went in last night. That one on Simon for the red card was dirty and the Harps fans applauding that was pathetic as the Harps player walked away.

Anyway, Harps took anything good possible out of the game. Our finishing was extremely bad and its something that needs serious attention and fast.

PartySaint
30/05/2015, 8:48 AM
Here we go 2 in a row.

Rovers are awful by the way. Can't imagine they're happy watching that every week.

Lee Desmond is a future irish international, thanks for that one Shels

30/05/2015, 10:01 AM
Aveybav on twitter 'Sorry could we get the harps fans removed from the stand, they're too loud #TurnThatDrumDown'

Yep we were removed from your stand last game of the season for being too loud and the steward said turn down that drum before getting a Garda in to remove us, this despite the fact we were celebrating promotion and there was only 100 people or so in the ground. Anyway hope ye enjoyed your trip lads and may the best team win on Monday.

30/05/2015, 10:02 AM
Sligo not letting Donelan or Keating play so they must be re-calling the boys in June.Bit pointless that one, sure we'll be out of the cup by the end of May.

30/05/2015, 11:35 AM
Longford should have been down to ten men a few minutes before McNulty was sent off for an almost identical tackle in the middle of the park.

20 years ago, that tackle by McNulty would have been seen as a perfect tackle, got the feet on the ball and momentum took the player down, but sadly, you just can't go in with studs showing at all anymore, no matter how much of the ball you get.

Harps fans applaud our players, shock horror. It was a red card, yes, but we're not exactly going to go over and roar abuse at our own.

Stephen Rice is a disgrace. He kicked, elbowed, pushed and pulled his way around the box and the ref done nothing about it, all the while Rice laughed his way through it. He couldn't believe what he was getting away with. Rob Rogers has a serious problem with Harps, he's the same man that had Ciaran Coll sent off against Drogheda in the cup two years ago and has never been kind to Harps since. Two red cards and 6 yellow I counted for Harps last night, almost more than we've had all season otherwise.

We went down there to restrict Longford playing football and to frustrate them, and we done exactly that. None of us expected to be going down there to see Harps play a pure possession game against a team 6th in the Premier Division. Second half was all 10 men behind the ball and it worked. Despite this, one cracking ball and a run from Harkin totally cut open the Longford defence to put us 1-0 up. Monday night will be a different story altogether and I'd expect to see much more football on a better surface.

30/05/2015, 12:33 PM
Gareth Harkins goal for Harps with a cracking chipped pass through from McNamee

placid casual
30/05/2015, 12:37 PM
Here we go 2 in a row.

Rovers are awful by the way. Can't imagine they're happy watching that every week.

If you think Rovers are awful i cant imagine what you think of your own team!
I really do hope your happy to have a team of mcguinness,brennan and greene in your side -i'll give you desmond ,who does look a player

any team in the premier division with a recognisable striker would have beat youse comfortably last night.
Pats scored from 2 Rovers mistakes.

you have no chance of retaining the cup, unless you manage to draw Leinster Senior teams all the way to the final

MattB11
30/05/2015, 12:38 PM
Longford fans would of been removed from the shed last season because the designated away area is the other side of the ground, I doubt level of noise was an issue.

PartySaint
30/05/2015, 12:40 PM
I really do hope your happy to have a team of mcguinness,brennan and greene in your side -i'll give you desmond ,who does look a player

any team in the premier division with a recognisable striker would have beat youse comfortably last night.

you have no chance of retaining the cup, unless you manage to draw Leinster Senior teams all the way to the final

If you're happy watching Rovers then fair play.

On us winning the cup at least we have a slightly better chance than you do.

30/05/2015, 12:46 PM

Love the bitterness. That team of McGuinnes, Brennan and Greene fairly handily beat Rovers last night. And yet you seem to think Pats fans should be most annoyed at that. Good man

PartySaint
30/05/2015, 12:54 PM
Love the bitterness. That team of McGuinnes, Brennan and Greene fairly handily beat Rovers last night. And yet you seem to think Pats fans should be most annoyed at that. Good man

Rovers fans trying to explain the game to PC coming out of Richmond last night with a big smile on his face..

We lost Cyril....

30/05/2015, 1:47 PM
Get over yourselves, lads. We're concentrating on the EA Sports Cup this year.

Ezeikial
30/05/2015, 1:58 PM

Strange how Chambers and Browne were both picked ahead of him last week.

Ezeikial
30/05/2015, 2:12 PM

It is very admirable how Rovers fans are so graceful in defeat

poster
30/05/2015, 2:13 PM
Longford should have been down to ten men a few minutes before McNulty was sent off for an almost identical tackle in the middle of the park.

LOL. It was nowhere near as bad as McNulty's. Harps are a decent side but one of the dirtiest I've seen in a while.

You don't happen to have a recording of McNulty's tackle to post up here, do you?

30/05/2015, 2:32 PM
LOL. It was nowhere near as bad as McNulty's. Harps are a decent side but one of the dirtiest I've seen in a while.

You don't happen to have a recording of McNulty's tackle to post up here, do you?

I don't do the recordings. It'll be on Soccer Republic on Monday night for all to see.

L.T.F.C.
30/05/2015, 2:38 PM

20 years ago, that tackle by McNulty would have been seen as a perfect tackle, got the feet on the ball and momentum took the player down, but sadly, you just can't go in with studs showing at all anymore, no matter how much of the ball you get.

Harps fans applaud our players, shock horror. It was a red card, yes, but we're not exactly going to go over and roar abuse at our own.

Stephen Rice is a disgrace. He kicked, elbowed, pushed and pulled his way around the box and the ref done nothing about it, all the while Rice laughed his way through it. He couldn't believe what he was getting away with. Rob Rogers has a serious problem with Harps, he's the same man that had Ciaran Coll sent off against Drogheda in the cup two years ago and has never been kind to Harps since. Two red cards and 6 yellow I counted for Harps last night, almost more than we've had all season otherwise.

We went down there to restrict Longford playing football and to frustrate them, and we done exactly that. None of us expected to be going down there to see Harps play a pure possession game against a team 6th in the Premier Division. Second half was all 10 men behind the ball and it worked. Despite this, one cracking ball and a run from Harkin totally cut open the Longford defence to put us 1-0 up. Monday night will be a different story altogether and I'd expect to see much more football on a better surface.

It wasn't remotely identical Nigel. One was mistimed. The other was two footed and out of control. You can dress it up how you please. I don't applaud players that make tackles like that. Few do. Anyway, you'll see the error of your ways on Monday.

Rice in fairness was on the receiving end plenty. And he is well known for enjoying his football, I'm sure he was smiling. And as one of your colleagues said: "Grow some balls. This is real football, not that overpaid ****e that you watch each week on Tv."

30/05/2015, 2:54 PM
It wasn't remotely identical Nigel. One was mistimed. The other was two footed and out of control. You can dress it up how you please. I don't applaud players that make tackles like that. Few do. Anyway, you'll see the error of your ways on Monday.

Because a challenge was mistimed, that makes it okay? I have said already, I believe it was a red card, but that 20 years ago it wouldn't have been at all. I'll stand by the fact all day and all week that McNulty got the ball first. Red card was simply because the studs were showing. If Soccer Republic proves different, I'll hold my hands up no problem whatsoever.

Rice in fairness was on the receiving end plenty. And he is well known for enjoying his football, I'm sure he was smiling. And as one of your colleagues said: "Grow some balls. This is real football, not that overpaid ****e that you watch each week on Tv."

There's enjoying your football, and then there's being a dirty pr!ck. Rice was certainly the latter last night. Besides, I don't watch football on TV each week. If Harps are as dirty as people seem to be making out, I am watching that every week.

PartySaint
30/05/2015, 3:22 PM

Poor Chambers will never play right back again after what Horgan did to him last week.

30/05/2015, 3:38 PM
So a boring game with no incidents whatsoever to talk about in the Longford v Harps game last night then??

White Horse
30/05/2015, 3:55 PM

Who are we mere mortals to question Bucko?

30/05/2015, 6:04 PM
Who are we mere mortals to question Bucko?

Exactly. He even picked Jason McGuinness last night and got away with it for Chrissakes. :D

30/05/2015, 8:49 PM
So a boring game with no incidents whatsoever to talk about in the Longford v Harps game last night then??

Have to say it was actually am extremely entertaining game ableit bog standard. Thank God we aren't in the FD anymore.

31/05/2015, 8:14 PM
Just two replays to come,Finn Harps v Longford and Avondale UTD v Cobh Wanderers.

littlebray
01/06/2015, 9:05 PM
Harps 0-0 Longford (90), gone to Extra Time.

toffeejay
01/06/2015, 9:10 PM
When's the draw for the next round? Would have expected it would have been this evening.

hollocaine
01/06/2015, 9:36 PM
It's probably not going to be until late July, just like it was last year.

The 3rd round is not scheduled until August 21-23

ForzaForth
01/06/2015, 9:41 PM
Longford through 4-3 on pens

01/06/2015, 9:43 PM
Brings back memories of the play off shoot out up there in 2002. Happy days.

Redzer
01/06/2015, 10:32 PM
Longford through 4-3 on pens

Probably the ref's fault harps lost. Right Nidge?

01/06/2015, 10:38 PM
Probably the ref's fault harps lost. Right Nidge?

Neil Doyle. Enough said. Longford have some balls to be calling Harps a dirty side.

Tony Cousins admitted after the game that the better side lost tonight. Harps hit the post three times.

Nevertheless, a very entertaining game. An FAI official in the ground said "If you were a neutral coming into the ground tonight, you'd have trouble picking out who were the Premier Division side".

Joe Dixon
01/06/2015, 10:54 PM
Well i'm sure you'll want to be off now and celebrate your moral victory.

01/06/2015, 10:59 PM
Taking into account that there was over 1500 gallons of water pumped off the pitch today, Finn Park was in decent shape.

On the match itself, Harps dominated for about 100 of the 120 mins tonight but couldn't finish off a poor Longford side.

We were guilty of over playing the ball in the final third, lacking composure and just not being creative enough in front of goal.

I'm not going to blame the ref, we had enough chances without needing his help. I will agree with Nigel though, Longford were extremely lucky to see out the game with 11 men and weren't shy of leaving the foot in.

Town Legend
02/06/2015, 12:22 AM
Maybe after Friday nights match we took a leaf out of Harps book about leaving a foot in.....

02/06/2015, 9:40 AM
Maybe after Friday nights match we took a leaf out of Harps book about leaving a foot in.....

So, what you're really saying, is it's okay to do so after all? It's incredible the amount of people walking out of Finn Park last night saying that Longford were the dirtiest team they'd seen in Finn Park in years.

02/06/2015, 10:10 AM
So, what you're really saying, is it's okay to do so after all? It's incredible the amount of people walking out of Finn Park last night saying that Longford were the dirtiest team they'd seen in Finn Park in years.

Lol. Harps disciplinary record is awful in recent years and if this was any other league in the world Harps would be fined for their disgraceful surrounding of match officials and starting full on brawls.

Keen2win
02/06/2015, 10:14 AM
Can we stop conversing with Harps fans now? They are irrelevant.

Town Legend
02/06/2015, 11:09 AM
Haha come on Nigel, it's only Harps fans who think everyone else is a dirty team and they themselves are angels on the field. The thing with supporters apart from majority of Harps fans is that they don't try and cover up dirty play by their team. As proved last night on SR, the Harps defender went in way over the top and deserved the red whereas Harps fans will still no doubt defend him. Now I wasn't at last nights game but from reports (harps fans, which I'll take with a pinch of salt) Lorcan Shannon was lucky to stay on the pitch with an alleged punch been thrown. Now if that was the case it should of been a red. If it were a Harps player, no doubt he didn't throw it!!

Now, let's all just move on. Neither team would of wanted a replay, never mind extra time with two big games coming up for both clubs. I don't know how the pitch held up, from what I heard it cut up a good bit, that coming from a Harps fan. Hopefully the heavy pitch didn't take too much out of them.

02/06/2015, 12:56 PM
Ah well, could be worse. Stephen Rice could have been there smiling.