View Full Version : LOI Promotion Activities
Pages :
[
15]
2 Year Contract
07/03/2025, 4:25 PM
Bray announce partnership with Next Level Soccer of Phoenix, Arizona. Sounds like an Athlone-Valeo style thing
https://www.braywanderersfc.ie/news/club-announcement-partnership-between-bray-wanderers-fc-and-next-level-soccer/
redobit
09/03/2025, 10:26 AM
Christy Moore played a tribute concert in Sligo for the late Tommie Gorman. They were good pals. Proceeds to the Showgrounds redevelopment fund, which Tommie was a massive contributor. Great night with some local musicians joining in.
2 Year Contract
20/03/2025, 10:55 AM
Wasnt sure which thread to put this in but The Athletic have published a very good article on young Irish players and academies etc
https://www.removepaywall.com/search?url=https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/6215426/2025/03/20/ireland-melia-duff-noonan-atherton-northern-republic-academies/?source=twitteruk
EatYerGreens
20/03/2025, 11:58 PM
Bray announce partnership with Next Level Soccer of Phoenix, Arizona. Sounds like an Athlone-Valeo style thing
https://www.braywanderersfc.ie/news/club-announcement-partnership-between-bray-wanderers-fc-and-next-level-soccer/
Have any of these arrangements in Irish football ever lasted more than a short period of time?
2 Year Contract
29/03/2025, 9:09 PM
An incredible league we have
https://x.com/chazaustin10/status/1906068782528811252?s=46
culloty82
31/03/2025, 11:54 AM
Links broken, 2YC.
2 Year Contract
31/03/2025, 11:58 AM
Links broken, 2YC.
Hes deleted the tweet now. It was ex Premier League striker Charlie Austin trying to find out who has been prank calling him pretending to be from Shamrock Rovers trying to sign him :D
31/03/2025, 1:10 PM
It was bizzare, he put up the UK number that was supposedly Rovers wanting people to flood the number. The comments unsurprisingly for X were equally strange. The usual comments on potatoes and on being sure the calls werent bomb threats. Some sleuths seemed to identify the prankster and doxxed him with photos. It wouldnt have been totally outrageous for Rovers to have been sussing out an exotic signing like this mind!
Cork City to screen away games live at cinema.
https://cork.arccinema.ie/whatson/specialevent1
The Derry City v Cork City was a great success, https://www.facebook.com/CorkCityFC/videos/1847538145996244
Next up, Sligo Rovers V Cork City Saturday 26th April 2025.
Cobh Ramblers FC release press statement.
We would like to clarify recent developments regarding FC32 Global Holdings Inc.
FC32 Global Holdings is separate to Cobh Ramblers FC Limited with no bearing on the clubs future operations.
The club remains independent, and its operations continue
Full Story: https://cobhramblers.ie/cobh-ramblers-fc-statement.../ (https://cobhramblers.ie/cobh-ramblers-fc-statement-regarding-fc32-global-holdings-040425/?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTAAAR5Bk7KYdhC0_hkevu1lQnS6 2UpPHk3wxI0Oe8kCt_dh6t6Qaq4y1itKIRlXfA_aem_to_e3T3 kNiMUPdFePqr_rg)
2 Year Contract
26/04/2025, 5:04 PM
Really good open and honest interview with Paddy Kirk here
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/15109838/paddy-kirk-bohemians-football-photographer-instagram-dubstreetwear-dubstreetcafe/
RealJohn91
26/04/2025, 6:25 PM
Didn't think he had a good season last year but I'm still surprised he didn't have many if any offers on the table.
2 Year Contract
26/04/2025, 7:45 PM
Didn't think he had a good season last year but I'm still surprised he didn't have many if any offers on the table.
Sign of the times I suppose, as he says himself in years gone by a player of his profile would always have had a few premier division offers even purely based on hes played a load of games at premier level in recent years, well take him
Elfman
27/04/2025, 9:55 AM
Looking at this year's squads and their standing last year, I would have thought Cork, Waterford, Sligo and Drogheda all could have used him at LB but maybe he didn't fancy leaving Dublin with the photography going so well for him.
However, the strangest decision for me was that Bohs decided to let him go without another LB signed, replacing him with a 19yo loanee and a left-footed CM.
RealJohn91
27/04/2025, 12:54 PM
Looking at this year's squads and their standing last year, I would have thought Cork, Waterford, Sligo and Drogheda all could have used him at LB but maybe he didn't fancy leaving Dublin with the photography going so well for him.
However, the strangest decision for me was that Bohs decided to let him go without another LB signed, replacing him with a 19yo loanee and a left-footed CM.
Reynolds likes that left back to move into midfield and that didn't suit Paddy at all to say the least.
Elfman
28/04/2025, 12:56 PM
I appreciate that view and it might simply be a case of "how flexible do you want your manager to be in his vision" but considering the lack of options in that position I thought they'd have kept Kirk as a backup.
I also feel Flores doesn't have the speed to get back into position from midfield so was already surprised they didn't get an upgrade in the winter.
2 Year Contract
04/05/2025, 11:25 AM
Brilliant in depth article on the Pats academy. Reading about all the detail and professionalism shown by the club really shows how utterly laughable the FAIs proposal was to take the best players away from clubs to give them coaching together, even more so the fact that the ye didnt even contact the clubs before revealing it.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2025/05/03/behind-the-scenes-at-st-patricks-athletics-academy-where-the-next-mason-melia-may-have-arrived/
One of the most interesting stats there being that average contact coaching hours is 230 mins a week at LOI U15 and U17 levels, while Pats are providing 450 mins at U15 and 705 mins at U17 level. Still a way to go to match the minutes provided at English Cat 3 (720 mins) and Cat 2 (885 mins) level academies, but thats the whole point of why the club and others around the country are looking for government funding
D24Saint
25/05/2025, 5:19 PM
https://youtu.be/klyjY_BVmY8?si=1h5oNkK2UQ0N5yv1
It’s unfortunate the kids couldn’t behave themselves in what otherwise would have shone a positive light on the league.
25/05/2025, 10:51 PM
It’s unfortunate the kids couldn’t behave themselves in what otherwise would have shone a positive light on the league.
Question for Sligo fans, there was a small element of absolute tools following the club around ten years ago, their main "ring leader" wasn't the full shilling at all, used to be messaging other clubs fans trying to arrange scraps, is he and that band of little twerps involved with these kind of scenes or did they grow up or eventually get banned or what? Found it incredible that for years Sligo didn't appear to do anything with this individual and group of clowns despite the fact they were well known for causing trouble
26/05/2025, 12:56 AM
Although those 2 Gardaí moved pretty quick, maybe even a record for policing at LoI, and stopped the direct confrontation, and then fans became the usual thowing shapes and line dancing at each other before the additional Gardaí arrived. Wasnt it Sligo lads in Derry that there was footage of random attack from nothing, ame crowd? Galways fans werent shy firing a few flares back either so not totally 'ambushed'.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/05/2025, 12:16 PM
Question for Sligo fans, there was a small element of absolute tools following the club around ten years ago, their main "ring leader" wasn't the full shilling at all, used to be messaging other clubs fans trying to arrange scraps, is he and that band of little twerps involved with these kind of scenes or did they grow up or eventually get banned or what? Found it incredible that for years Sligo didn't appear to do anything with this individual and group of clowns despite the fact they were well known for causing trouble
Generally don’t sit anywhere near them except on away trips but seems to be a new brand of trouble the last while. Arriving in dressed in black and snoods hiding their face and the likes. I’m sure they’ll mature and be replaced by likewise.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/05/2025, 12:17 PM
Although those 2 Gardaí moved pretty quick, maybe even a record for policing at LoI, and stopped the direct confrontation, and then fans became the usual thowing shapes and line dancing at each other before the additional Gardaí arrived. Wasnt it Sligo lads in Derry that there was footage of random attack from nothing, ame crowd? Galways fans werent shy firing a few flares back either so not totally 'ambushed'.
Derry lads random attack on a couple of people in Sligo is I think what you’re on about. I doubt our lads would be brave enough to start anything up in Derry.
26/05/2025, 1:11 PM
I never associated a scum aspect in the Sligo rovers support at all so Im shocked. Didnt even think there was a hatred between Galway Utd and Sligo Rovers.
26/05/2025, 1:20 PM
Derry lads random attack on a couple of people in Sligo is I think what you’re on about. I doubt our lads would be brave enough to start anything up in Derry.
Fair enough, the few incidents in Derry and the Sligo fans being started on kind of merged in the swiz cheese memory. Still, its fooking annoying that its any part of things at all here as idealistic as it may be.
EalingGreen
17/06/2025, 10:26 AM
Hope this is accessible outside the UK, but BBC Radio's "Business Daily" programme last week covered the topic of LED Stadium advertising in sport:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/w3ct6s25
Being broadcast on the BBC World Service, this covered sport worldwide eg US Ice Hockey, IPL Indian cricket and Australian soccer etc. However it also found time to speak to a company based in Dundalk which promotes this business, with a visit to the Brandywell on matchday thrown in for good measure! (Programme is only 15 mins long btw)
EatYerGreens
17/06/2025, 12:24 PM
Chr!st that's embarassing :poo:
EatYerGreens
17/06/2025, 12:26 PM
Can we agree to not sanitise and glamourise these sorts of d!ckhead scumbags by calling them "lads", please?
I prefer the phrase 'schooligans'.
Cobh Ramblers are on the verge of securing an investor to replace FC32 who are in the process of handing ownership over to another investment group!
Cobh Ramblers closing on new investor to replace FC32 (https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41661140.html)
pateen
01/07/2025, 4:37 PM
Oasis is a big coup for Bohemians
Eminence Grise
01/07/2025, 8:25 PM
I'm sure there are some who'd prefer it was Noel Gallagher's High Flying Bohs.
pateen
02/07/2025, 1:02 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41661626.html
2 Year Contract
02/07/2025, 1:04 PM
A tough watch for any Cobh fans I’m sure!
EatYerGreens
02/07/2025, 1:57 PM
Very good. If this gets aired at decent levels of frequency, I'd honestly expect it to do more for the league than the so-called 'Duff effect'.
Are there any other decent 'slebs' and clubs Rockshore could do this with? Chris O'Dowd and Sligo? Michael D and Galway (would have to wait untIl he's out of the Áras)? Dara Ó'Briain and Bray?
Cobh Ramblers were only days away from administration!
https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/corksoccer/
24/07/2025, 2:36 PM
Cobh Ramblers were only days away from administration!
https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/corksoccer/
Dock them points!!! For womething ,anything....have we done the careful now on investment groups?
"That is what we were expecting to see. The potential is unheard of" - bit of a conradiction, Expecting to see something thats unheard of?
redobit
24/07/2025, 3:12 PM
Very good. If this gets aired at decent levels of frequency, I'd honestly expect it to do more for the league than the so-called 'Duff effect'.
Are there any other decent 'slebs' and clubs Rockshore could do this with? Chris O'Dowd and Sligo? Michael D and Galway (would have to wait untIl he's out of the Áras)? Dara Ó'Briain and Bray?
The comedian/ actor!? He's from Roscommon. Don't think he's a Rovers fan.
We have the local breweries in the Showgrounds for the last few seasons, with a Rovers beers too atm called 1928 which is a really nice crisp beer. So can't see Rockshore getting an invite.
25/07/2025, 2:02 PM
The comedian/ actor!? He's from Roscommon. Don't think he's a Rovers fan.
We have the local breweries in the Showgrounds for the last few seasons, with a Rovers beers too atm called 1928 which is a really nice crisp beer. So can't see Rockshore getting an invite.
yeah COD is from Boyle.
sbgawa
09/08/2025, 5:37 AM
So reference the charity jersey discussion in the gameweek thread I was making a genuine point which Nesta tbf probably articulated a lot better. I'll admit to having a bit of a dig last week about an issue that isn't something that would keep me awake at night but I would put that under banter, the making money off charity is a different thing altogetherimo
sbgawa
09/08/2025, 5:53 AM
Actually Nestas point about people in bohs not setting out to make money off the charity angle is a fair one so I shouldn't have called it a scam (apols) but my point about the split still stands.
Another Bohemia
09/08/2025, 7:26 AM
Actually Nestas point about people in bohs not setting out to make money off the charity angle is a fair one so I shouldn't have called it a scam (apols) but my point about the split still stands.
I don't think it does stand though. At no point did Bohs say 100% of the proceeds go to a charity for Palestine. So those who are aware that money goes to Palestine are also aware that there's a split. This is not the first jersey for Palestine Bohs have had either, this one is just selling significantly better.
Why is this jersey selling better? It's not the first Fontains jersey or first Palestine jersey. I think it's because Fontains are one of the bands to the fore of the cultural zeitgeist at the moment. I know people who flew from the UK specifically to buy one of these jerseys on release day, in the pouring rain in phibsboro and then flew home that night. They didn't do that because there was a split with a Palestinian charity, that was a nice aspect for them, they did it because they are huge fans of Fontains. Because of Fontains popularity and outspoken support of Palestine the jersey has become an accessory that appears at festivals, gigs and other random events. A lot of people are looking to buy the jersey first and then finding that some proceeds are going to Palestine. It's a cherry on top for them and an easy way to say "I support Palestine" without having to do anything other than buying something they intended to buy. I see it as Bohs and a charity capitalizing on the popularity of a band and both benefitting. Could the splits be different? Sure but I don't think anyone saw the escalation that Israel has undertaken and if they had the splits probably would be different. As I said Bohs have been pro Palestine for a while now
09/08/2025, 8:27 AM
To repeat myself not for the first time ever, the issue could be the perception rather than the good intention. Most of the time these charity partnerships are a great thing. This current situation with Palestine is a throw back to the TV footage of Ethiopia or Sudan, difficult, awful, emotional horific. To produce and sell a jersey that raises funds 50% for this cause and 50% for ones self ie Bohs takes away from the initiative, its principled stance and the literal loss of funds raised to the real cause. Even though it was stated in advance its....maybe tone deaf, conidering the developing genocide. Yes there are tangible benefits through people see the jersey being worn, silent/subtle protest at the conduct of Netanyahu and co. But regardless Bohs initiative has a selfserving aspect to it, and on this occasion I think that is wrong and damages the principle of the raising awareness if not the fundraiser. Its a great idea but it shouldnt be money in Bohs coffers unless it is specifically used for Palestinian refugee groups/social initiative that are relevant to the purpose of the shirt. Otherwise it will look opportunistic even if that ws never the intention. Its a miss by Bohs on growing crises and wider knowledge, and maybe misreading the mood, not a cynical move. It could get kickback in due course or may be lauded but if it were my club I wouldnt want to be making income off the back of this initiative at all, cover costs for sure but thats it and all profit go to this particular cause.
09/08/2025, 8:28 AM
I don't think it does stand though. At no point did Bohs say 100% of the proceeds go to a charity for Palestine. So those who are aware that money goes to Palestine are also aware that there's a split. This is not the first jersey for Palestine Bohs have had either, this one is just selling significantly better.
Could the splits be different? Sure but I don't think anyone saw the escalation that Israel has undertaken and if they had the splits probably would be different.
I think while you're right that Bohs were up front that 30% of the profits from the top would be going to Medical Aid for Palestinians, it's not true to say "I don't think anyone saw the escalation that Israel has undertaken" given the jersey was launched last December, by which stage it was fairly clear what Israel were doing; the war had been ongoing for more than a year at that stage and Israel were already withholding supplies and were talking about taking over total control of Gaza (see the Current Affairs thread here (https://foot.ie/threads/287453-Palestinian-Israeli-Conflict/page8) for example)
Why is the jersey selling better? You don't consider the possibility it's because the war is getting worse.
I think there is a case to be made that Bohs are looking to make money off the Palestine situation. (And if that's the case, I think it's only fair to point out that sbgawa was routinely defending Israel in the aforementioned Current Affairs thread - I'll happily place defending Israel way below making money off the conflict while raising thousands for those affected)
2 Year Contract
09/08/2025, 8:42 AM
I know people who flew from the UK specifically to buy one of these jerseys on release day, in the pouring rain in phibsboro and then flew home that night. They didn't do that because there was a split with a Palestinian charity, that was a nice aspect for them, they did it because they are huge fans of Fontains.
Disgraceful, the climate officer should be fired on the spot for letting this happen ;) In all seriousness though, if you’re flying to another country just to buy a jersey you really do need to have a long hard look at how much of an absolute oddball you are
Another Bohemia
09/08/2025, 9:30 AM
I think while you're right that Bohs were up front that 30% of the profits from the top would be going to Medical Aid for Palestinians, it's not true to say "I don't think anyone saw the escalation that Israel has undertaken" given the jersey was launched last December, by which stage it was fairly clear what Israel were doing; the war had been ongoing for more than a year at that stage and Israel were already withholding supplies and were talking about taking over total control of Gaza (see the Current Affairs thread here (https://foot.ie/threads/287453-Palestinian-Israeli-Conflict/page8) for example)
Why is the jersey selling better? You don't consider the possibility it's because the war is getting worse.
I think there is a case to be made that Bohs are looking to make money off the Palestine situation. (And if that's the case, I think it's only fair to point out that sbgawa was routinely defending Israel in the aforementioned Current Affairs thread - I'll happily place defending Israel way below making money off the conflict while raising thousands for those affected)
Absolutely the war worsening may drive sales of the jersey. No doubt in my mind there but I still think a surprising majority are not buying it because of that fact. The best example I can give is almost daily I hear of someone being at a festival/gig seeing one of these jerseys and saying something along the lines of "up the Bohs" to the wearer. The response is typically "who" or "what". My argument is if you don't know who you have bought the jersey from you can't know where the proceeds are going. Keep in mind while Bohs do have a physical shop it would only be match going fans who knows where it is so these other people wearing the jersey are buying it from a Bohs branded online store and still don't realize Bohs is an entity outside the jersey how would they know about any funds going to Palestine?
I won't touch on SBGWA being pro Israel or anything like that. I know little of the context but it does further back my claim that they are not arguing in good faith.
On the escalation from Israel I'll keep it brief. Isreals rhetoric to Palestine has been very colonialist (putting it politely) for as long as I've been alive. It's only in the last, 3/4 months it feels like it's escalating to the point where they are even losing support on the American right( I do think some of that shift is rooted in antisemitism but I could go on about that). Now the plan is to take full control of Gaza. That evolved from just Gaza City to the whole strip almost overnight. It's similar to the Iran situation. Isreal has been pounding the drum about Iran having nuclear weapons for 30 odd years? And only this year did they take action on that. Rhetoric to action has always been a slow creep for Israel and now it seems like a 100 meter dash.
Another Bohemia
09/08/2025, 9:31 AM
Disgraceful, the climate officer should be fired on the spot for letting this happen ;) In all seriousness though, if you’re flying to another country just to buy a jersey you really do need to have a long hard look at how much of an absolute oddball you are
100% they were an oddball but at least the jersey is made in Ireland so the carbon footprint to get it to Dalymount is relatively small :D
09/08/2025, 9:51 AM
My argument is if you don't know who you have bought the jersey from you can't know where the proceeds are going. Keep in mind while Bohs do have a physical shop it would only be match going fans who knows where it is so these other people wearing the jersey are buying it from a Bohs branded online store and still don't realize Bohs is an entity outside the jersey how would they know about any funds going to Palestine?
Ah come on. This argument doesn't make the remotest bit of sense. People are buying the jersey online not realising Bohs is a real thing outside the jersey, and not realising money from it goes to Palestine?
How can you not "know who you have bought the jersey from"? The obvious "Bohs branded online store" is the Bohs website (https://www.shop-bohemianfc.com/products/adult-2025-awayjersey-fontaines-dc-regular-fit) and they're quite clear money goes to Palestine from it. Pretty much any media piece about the jersey notes the contribution to Palestine as well (it's mentioned in this RTÉ article about Greta Thunberg wearing it for example (https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2025/0603/1516485-greta-thunberg-wears-a-bohemians-x-fontaines-d-c-jersey/)) Given the media promo has been huge around it, I'd say there's very few who bought the jersey without knowing money was going to Palestine.
And again, they weren't duped. But I do think sbgawa is right to say Bohs are making money off a war. (And also right to say it'd make far more sense to just donate directly)
It's only in the last, 3/4 months it feels like it's escalating to the point where they are even losing support on the American right( I do think some of that shift is rooted in antisemitism but I could go on about that). Now the plan is to take full control of Gaza. That evolved from just Gaza City to the whole strip almost overnight.
Losing support in the American right isn't exactly the audience Bohs are playing to in fairness. Or indeed that anyone should be judging by. The thread I linked has posts from last October where Netanyahu was talking about taking over Gaza entirely, "from river to sea"
Bottom line - you're not correct when you say "I don't think anyone saw the escalation that Israel has undertaken". It was quite clear when the jersey was launched which way things were going.
bohsmug
09/08/2025, 12:14 PM
You don't and can't know how many people bought it without knowing money goes to Palestine. You don't and can't know how many bought it from websites or market stalls selling "fake" copies of it, which is quite prominent. You can't and don't know how many people bought it without knowing or caring if Bohs are a football club. Some will google "Fontaines DC jersey" and click on the store to buy it, get the link on a twitter thread or reddit or whatever.
Must be at least 20 years now since it's been quite common for people who are into what ever is fashionable to wear band tshirts or even clothes with political symbols without knowing what the top represents to anybody who isn't into fashion. Oversized football shirts are going that way over the last 5 years.
Plenty of anecdotal evidence of people shouting Bohs related things to people in Bohs jerseys and them not having a clue who they're talking about. A non football fan I know was wearing it and said he "didn't know it was yer team" when I sent him a jokey "Mon the Bohs" message. He wasn't much aware of anything about the jersey. I'd forgotten that jersey was linked with aid to Palestine personally. I initially thought the discussion was about the much more obvious Bohs/Palestine jersey from the year before. People often don't know all that much about what they're wearing. Some do, some don't - you can't know with zero research.
09/08/2025, 12:21 PM
Its a bit random for this thread but I'm finding it remarkable how quiet other Arab countries are about the current food crisis and Israeli actions. The pleads to let aid in are mainly from other parts of the world. The people dont deserve hunger as punishment for Hamas but Hamas poked the beast, they seriously underestimated the response which was particularly dumb when considering Netanyahu's precarious legal position and his government propped up by rightest hardlines, knowing if his government collapses and he is out of power he is straight in to a courtroom. He needed a protracted war to save his own bacon and it would not be a surprise if he expands to the West Bank. Hamas have plenty to answer for, they knew that their people would bear the burt of what would be an extreme response - it is only now that the response is making Israel's long term allies squirm. I feel for the Palestinan people but support of Hamas in any way is wrong and I have heard more than I would like spout pro Hamas rubbish while waving the Palestinian flag about.