View Full Version : LOI Promotion Activities

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15

D24Saint
13/11/2024, 12:13 PM
€25 is good value for membership and a share in a club. Tempted to follow your example and get one myself.

How much do other clubs like Bohs and Sligo charge?

Not sure about Sligo but doesn’t the Bohs member scheme included your season ticket ?

Another Bohemia
13/11/2024, 12:15 PM
Not sure about Sligo but doesn’t the Bohs member scheme included your season ticket ?

It does indeed include your season ticket and priority access to away/cup game tickets

13/11/2024, 12:34 PM
This confuses me a bit. I like the idea but I do worry the low cost can potentially lead to abuse of the system. I'm sure we've all seen those social media campaigns to name something being hijacked and everything being named along the lines of boaty mcboatface but that's some of the more banal things that can happen. At one stage Mountain Dew had to cancel one of these promotions because suggested names for a new drink included "Granny Gusher" and "Hitler did nothing wrong". What's to stop a group of 100 or so trolls pooling money together and buying a significant stake in the club? What does voting rights include? Is it electing board members to run the club or is it something else. I just hope they have very solid t's and C's in there to protect the club because they do want it to go viral based on the link above but going viral in the wrong circles could be a bad thing.

Fair question. Simple answer is that you could go out and buy 100 shares all you want, but you still only get one vote for those 100 purchases, as per the co-op model we have.

When people are already paying for their season ticket, their 500 Club membership, club lotto, etc etc, keeping the cost down on shareholding membership is a smart move.

Voting rights are on board members, any special meetings regarding club matters, and any motions provided to club AGMs.

It's no more open to abuse than the previously existing €317 once off share was really.

DonegalHoop
13/11/2024, 2:45 PM
Delighted to sign up. Good to see fans of other clubs getting involved also. Will be interesting to see what the early take up is.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/11/2024, 3:04 PM

The “500” club is our membership. €20 a month.

dundalkfc10
13/11/2024, 4:04 PM
The “500” club is our membership. €20 a month.

Does this include a season ticket?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/11/2024, 5:05 PM
Does this include a season ticket?

No. Pay separate for that.

19/12/2024, 5:30 PM
Heading home through Drumcondra today I had a bit of a laugh at Shels Christmas billboard, gable end at (Binns?) Bridge. Duffer in his Christmas jumper, league trophy, and the caption Champions of Ireland and 'You're welcome Dublin'. Cheeky, mischievous.and amusing. If it were Drogheda it'd have been posted on the exterior wall of Dalymount Park (Tallaght and Inchicore if they could pay a few extra Euro), which would have been appropriately tongue in cheek tbh

DCSIL
19/12/2024, 7:09 PM
I was in Dublin City Centre yesterday and saw the posters
“Merry Christmas Dublin from the champions of Ireland”
Duff with the league trophy
Really good

kingdomkerry
23/12/2024, 9:34 AM
https://www.balls.ie/football/rockshore-announce-exciting-new-partnership-with-the-league-of-ireland-618694

Beer on sale in every ground?

yurt
23/12/2024, 10:13 AM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/eamon-dunphy-column-i-owe-34348121

Hard not to have a rye smile reading this. To be fair to him though he really didn't need to come across as glowing as he has done for the league in this piece.

Dunphy driving the LOI bandwagon was definitely not on the bingo card for 2024.

Glen Of Aherlow
23/12/2024, 10:32 AM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/eamon-dunphy-column-i-owe-34348121

Hard not to have a rye smile reading this. To be fair to him though he really didn't need to come across as glowing as he has done for the league in this piece.

Dunphy driving the LOI bandwagon was definitely not on the bingo card for 2024.

Good man Eamo , the greatest spoofer on planet earth

Straightstory
23/12/2024, 11:26 AM
I find his current low profile a bit of a relief - he was certalnly entertaining, and not without a sense of humour, but he was just so bullish and opinionated. I'm glad he doesn't have the stage or profile he once had, but it's always good to see people change their minds. So.... ahem - nice one, Eamo.

Calcio Jack
23/12/2024, 12:19 PM
I find his current low profile a bit of a relief - he was certalnly entertaining, and not without a sense of humour, but he was just so bullish and opinionated. I'm glad he doesn't have the stage or profile he once had, but it's always good to see people change their minds. So.... ahem - nice one, Eamo.

I really like his podcast ‘The Stand’ ;reason being that he covers everything from sport, economics and politics both local and international and what makes it for me is that he always has brilliant guests who are both entertaining and experts in their field ( whether one agrees or not with their views) - in other words Dunphy usually has little to say I.e. no spoofing and he just lets the ‘experts’ get on with it.

23/12/2024, 12:33 PM
Eamonn is his own self made man, he simply looked at how the wind was blowing and leaned in to it, 'contrary entertainment' that this country loves and loves to hate so popular with most; Like the Healy-Raes he could have forged a good career in politics among other things but I suppose (sports) journalism is one of the other great Irish spoofers' paradise - more opinion pieces than actual journalism. There has been more proper reporting on LoI over the years than other leagues and codes because there was some proper dogged stubborn pride involved!

Dunphy may be jumping on a bandwagon but for most long term LoI fans the potential being shown currently by the league has always been there but a combination of self interest and imcompetence held things back and instead of trying to change things people with a bit of influence, like Dunphy, stuck the boot in (if he had been more Mark Tighe than a Delaney mouthpiece...?). For my 40 odd years now:eek: LoI fans have predicted the fall of the national side, that the reliance on England/Scottish systems has meant that more players than McGrath* have been lost, rather than 'almost missed'.

European football in general has professionalised, with respect to Bradley and Duff the LoI journey had already been embarked upon with....well licencing and pro coaching badges, elite player pathways, national underage leagues, minimum s+c, FT training, recognition of the role - the need of LoI beyond a few niche nerd merchants. Dunphy's endorsement is here nor there, when the national side starts to climb rankings again, and it will, with the roots unquestionably in LoI, then the told ye so i will bleat.

His level of bitterness and resentment toward the league stank more of a man who failed than one that was scorned. What was his efforts in the league with Rovers, was he obstructed at a sports development or just didnt make some quick money and was eventurally told to bog off?

*Paul McGrath is my Ireland legend, probably like most of my era. Im a bit too young to know what the landscape of early 80's LoI and wider society was tvh, it wouldnt have been easy for McGrath, but his well documented issues would have been a concern for any club, no English club would have taken a punt until St Pats had and he showed he could function at all never mind in the mad world of pro football with a club like Manchester United. Nearly missed, at 18?, he wasnt missed at all, maybe he was watched through some dark times and given a chance in LoI as soon he was able? - I dont know the detail of his scouting obviously but does Dunphy?

Dermobohs
23/12/2024, 1:34 PM
Eamonn is his own self made man, he simply looked at how the wind was blowing and leaned in to it, 'contrary entertainment' that this country loves and loves to hate so popular with most; Like the Healy-Raes he could have forged a good career in politics among other things but I suppose (sports) journalism is one of the other great Irish spoofers' paradise - more opinion pieces than actual journalism. There has been more proper reporting on LoI over the years than other leagues and codes because there was some proper dogged stubborn pride involved!

Dunphy may be jumping on a bandwagon but for most long term LoI fans the potential being shown currently by the league has always been there but a combination of self interest and imcompetence held things back and instead of trying to change things people with a bit of influence, like Dunphy, stuck the boot in (if he had been more Mark Tighe than a Delaney mouthpiece...?). For my 40 odd years now:eek: LoI fans have predicted the fall of the national side, that the reliance on England/Scottish systems has meant that more players than McGrath* have been lost, rather than 'almost missed'.

European football in general has professionalised, with respect to Bradley and Duff the LoI journey had already been embarked upon with....well licencing and pro coaching badges, elite player pathways, national underage leagues, minimum s+c, FT training, recognition of the role - the need of LoI beyond a few niche nerd merchants. Dunphy's endorsement is here nor there, when the national side starts to climb rankings again, and it will, with the roots unquestionably in LoI, then the told ye so i will bleat.

His level of bitterness and resentment toward the league stank more of a man who failed than one that was scorned. What was his efforts in the league with Rovers, was he obstructed at a sports development or just didnt make some quick money and was eventurally told to bog off?

*Paul McGrath is my Ireland legend, probably like most of my era. Im a bit too young to know what the landscape of early 80's LoI and wider society was tvh, it wouldnt have been easy for McGrath, but his well documented issues would have been a concern for any club, no English club would have taken a punt until St Pats had and he showed he could function at all never mind in the mad world of pro football with a club like Manchester United. Nearly missed, at 18?, he wasnt missed at all, maybe he was watched through some dark times and given a chance in LoI as soon he was able? - I dont know the detail of his scouting obviously but does Dunphy?
The great Charlie Walker was the man who first saw the potential in McGrath nesta, a legendary figure down inchicore way.also took a punt on Jackie Jameson , the most skilful Irish player I’ve ever seen, and many others too. Great eye for a player as they say.

23/12/2024, 2:49 PM
Wonder did Dunphy have too many bevvies writing that column? I havent read any of his columns in a long time so Im a bit shocked reading this

culloty82
01/01/2025, 3:18 PM
How long will it be before either the League or its clubs start to migrate to Bluesky in earnest? Facebook still serves a good role as a promotional tool, but it remains to be seen for how long value will be gained from Twitter accounts.

2 Year Contract
01/01/2025, 7:05 PM
How long will it be before either the League or its clubs start to migrate to Bluesky in earnest? Facebook still serves a good role as a promotional tool, but it remains to be seen for how long value will be gained from Twitter accounts.

A lot of LOI clubs are already on Bluesky

01/01/2025, 11:11 PM

A lot of people I know who have migrated have already lost interest in it because there just isn't enough sports content or accounts on there yet and if they are a lot of them are American sports

liongard822
02/01/2025, 3:10 PM
What are the best podcasts to listen to for loi and/or the national teams?

03/01/2025, 11:27 AM
I'm not a football club, but I do make a lot of LOI stuff, been using both, Bluesky for just over a year, Twitter for over a decade. Getting similar levels of engagement on Bluesky Vs Twitter even thou I have 5x more followers on Twitter, I think Twitter is very much on its last legs and fully p2w, I don't see it surviving in the long term as a useful public resource. Plenty of companies and clubs have left it. The new season will be interesting to see how clubs spend their energies. I don't use TikTok, and I assume that has become a decent avenue for clubs to reach younger fans.

03/01/2025, 11:44 AM
I think twitter's demise is greatly exaggerated. You're right about tiktok though, outrageous growth there

03/01/2025, 12:11 PM
I think twitter's demise is greatly exaggerated. You're right about tiktok though, outrageous growth there
It might depend on your audience, mine has been decimated, lot of people very socially minded want nothing to do with the place. I kind of don't use it to actually read the timeline any more because it's generally just distressing and anger inducing at the best of times. I'd quit it completely if I could afford to

ForeForeToo
23/01/2025, 10:28 AM
This is more of a 'doing their best to drag a club down' point than promote a club.

Does every club have a few fans who insist on going out of their way to turn a fan base against a club? There are a few on the Cork City forum who do nothing but have a go at the club from whatever angle they can find. The lads from the Amigos podcast are the driving force behind it. I get that they have issues with the owner but the way they behave is petty and childish.

Does every club have fans who behave like this?

yurt
23/01/2025, 1:42 PM
This is more of a 'doing their best to drag a club down' point than promote a club.

Does every club have a few fans who insist on going out of their way to turn a fan base against a club? There are a few on the Cork City forum who do nothing but have a go at the club from whatever angle they can find. The lads from the Amigos podcast are the driving force behind it. I get that they have issues with the owner but the way they behave is petty and childish.

Does every club have fans who behave like this?

Given how small the communities are around our clubs there'll always be a few people who've given a ton of time to their club and feel they've been disrespected in some way who won't be shy in letting their feelings known.

On the Galway United front there has been very little to complain about in the past 2 years after steamrolling the first division in 2023 and outperforming expectations massively in 2024.

The main drama these days on the Galway forum is people having a go at posters who are eternally POSITIVE about anything and everything relating to the club.

Elfman
28/01/2025, 2:16 PM
Welcome to the forums Liongard822! I'd recommend LOI Central, setup by two journalists from Off The Ball, which focuses exclusively on the League of Ireland. Great info and great craic listening to it.

liongard822
28/01/2025, 4:33 PM
Thanks mate.

Found it on the podcast app. Have downloaded it to listen to later.

28/01/2025, 7:01 PM

I hear Between the Stripes LOI podcast is very good :cool: In all seriousness, it's probably the only pod that gives the first division proper coverage every week without fail.

ger121
28/01/2025, 10:39 PM
I hear Between the Stripes LOI podcast is very good :cool: In all seriousness, it's probably the only pod that gives the first division proper coverage every week without fail.

Your man Gary is gas, but the other fella….

29/01/2025, 7:15 AM
Your man Gary is gas, but the other fella….

A dose

Another Bohemia
05/02/2025, 9:19 AM
Bohs partnering with Barretstown for the program for the Aviva game.
All proceeds going to Barretstown w/ content contributions from both Bohs and Rovers

https://x.com/bfcdublin/status/1887052668159344781?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Good initiative for what should be a big crowd.
Hopefully it does well.

culloty82
06/02/2025, 12:34 PM
When King Eric's in town to give one of his meet and greet talks, he agreed to give Kerry FC a plug!

https://scontent.fdub4-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/476247218_1020453883451819_5685134869128226544_n.j pg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=127cfc&_nc_ohc=951BCrpuycMQ7kNvgFDWvaM&_nc_oc=AdhCFRBUQj-SyxeCMLLK-07VC2IEjdbrFNYv_d7u-Q2Hy8ERfLl-K1ncLC2N-k_Iw8yTB8oHrcpJxrxHGYut4plC&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub4-2.fna&_nc_gid=A5kUiCwbA4NfD_EuWl-zMll&oh=00_AYBUk0a4mb9a4cx2JgzFq02YiQHj6nB1aNlaYHrFHG7v CA&oe=67AA7AB2

Calcio Jack
06/02/2025, 3:53 PM
Bohs partnering with Barretstown for the program for the Aviva game.
All proceeds going to Barretstown w/ content contributions from both Bohs and Rovers

https://x.com/bfcdublin/status/1887052668159344781?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Good initiative for what should be a big crowd.
Hopefully it does well.

Nice to see that the 8 year old who drew the front cover picture showing Rovers scoring knows what’s what and who’s who in the pecking order

Elfman
07/02/2025, 9:49 AM
Haha! A keen eyed poster noted the jersey was of an outfield player and chose to believe it was Bohs scoring into an open goal after Pohls went walkabout! :D

Another Bohemia
07/02/2025, 10:02 AM
Haha! A keen eyed poster noted the jersey was of an outfield player and chose to believe it was Bohs scoring into an open goal after Pohls went walkabout! :D

It wouldn't be the first time Pohls did that. I believe Declan McDaid scored from just such a scenario :D. But I think if Pohls goes walkabout this season it will be less consequential as you'd imagine he'll be sitting on the bench

Elfman
09/02/2025, 10:01 AM
True, I'd be surprised if McGinty doesn't start but stranger things and all that. Sure Richie Towell is now playing for Lucan United! :D

legendz
11/02/2025, 2:46 PM
Kerry FC have announced that they have surpassed the season ticket sales record from 2024. Haven't seen figures but sounds positive year on year.

culloty82
11/02/2025, 3:03 PM
Kerry FC have announced that they have surpassed the season ticket sales record from 2024. Haven't seen figures but sounds positive year on year.

The one thing we know from last year is that attendances were steady from Feb to April, slumped from then to August, and picked up again afterwards for a while - the lowest figures were 4-500, so if we assume that they represent the hardcore supporters, then 350-400 STs seems a reasonable estimate for 2024, so add another 50-100 onto that for this year.

Buckett
11/02/2025, 3:14 PM
I think most clubs have a dip in attendances during the summer. Good to see interest in Kerry is growing, I thought the good crowds ye were getting initially was just because of the novelty factor.

EatYerGreens
11/02/2025, 3:44 PM

Who would have the lowest ST sales in the league then, do we know? I'm guessing UCD?

nr637
12/02/2025, 8:41 AM
A new 4 year TV deal, a new 30 game radio deal, a big Dublin derby league game in the Aviva, the first million euro LOI transfer fee and now LOI Fantasy Football!

Greatest League in the World or what!

culloty82
12/02/2025, 12:22 PM
Kerry have announced a free supporters bus for every away game this season:

https://kerryfc.com/kerry-football-club-to-offer-free-coach-travel-for-kingdom-supporters-to-away-games-in-2025/?fbclid=IwY2xjawIZfXtleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHVawoRPxtsf8 SgBqmcQm8mepqbz7cPSvwiIP32J3YQVCYIogmvhtk8Bkgg_aem _mfth7nTHB7vrSuuNTocHeA

2 Year Contract
12/02/2025, 2:38 PM
Kerry have announced a free supporters bus for every away game this season:

https://kerryfc.com/kerry-football-club-to-offer-free-coach-travel-for-kingdom-supporters-to-away-games-in-2025/?fbclid=IwY2xjawIZfXtleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHVawoRPxtsf8 SgBqmcQm8mepqbz7cPSvwiIP32J3YQVCYIogmvhtk8Bkgg_aem _mfth7nTHB7vrSuuNTocHeA

Great initiative, it’ll help grow fan engagement and passion for the club. That can’t be cheap at all though, particularly the two trips to Harps

nr637
12/02/2025, 2:57 PM
Great initiative, it’ll help grow fan engagement and passion for the club. That can’t be cheap at all though, particularly the two trips to Harps

It's probably some local tour bus that is fed up taking the Yanks around the lakes & ring of Kerry! :)

culloty82
12/02/2025, 3:11 PM
There's a local bus company that organises transport for the Kerry GAA supporters club, but they certainly don't do it for free!

Jamesie
12/02/2025, 4:03 PM
Is this a first in world football cos I've never heard of it before

EalingGreen
12/02/2025, 7:29 PM
Is this a first in world football cos I've never heard of it beforeUnusual, but by no means unique. Stoke City have been supplying free coaches to all supporters going to away games for years now, thanks to the generosity of their owners (Coates family, absolutely loaded). Also haven't increased their ticket prices at the 365 for something like 13 years. Moind you, you'd need an incentive to watch Stoke, home or away!

But fair play to Kerry - maybe O'Doherty should do the same for DCFC at the other end of the island?

dansultheman
13/02/2025, 3:35 PM
Fair play to the club. Clearly staying and building a strong relationship with the community and in a way, a reward for all the fans who have travelled to games and with only 1 win in 2 seasons on the road, its great appreciation shown to the fans.

Dermobohs
20/02/2025, 3:53 PM
Massive wedge, I believe around 100 grand raised for med aid Palestine in Gaza , from the percentage of the Bohs third kit. Sales must have been massive.