View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2014

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

McNasara
24/02/2014, 2:51 PM
Quarter-finals (the first legs will take place on Monday, February 24 with the return legs scheduled for Monday, March 10).

Dundalk vs Coleraine
Crusaders vs Sligo Rovers
Shamrock Rovers vs Glentoran
Ballinamallard United vs St. Patrick's Athletic

The LOI clubs are more motivated, but are less prepared at the moment. Sligo will have a the most difficult task tonight, imo.

D24Saint
24/02/2014, 3:47 PM
Without cliftonville and linfield the competition is a dead duck its only use is for match fitness.

Fester
24/02/2014, 6:59 PM
Ballinamallard v Pats : http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/242328/1/watch-ballinamallard-united-vs-st.-patrick-athletic.html

adamd164
24/02/2014, 6:59 PM
That pitch is a disgrace.

Fester
24/02/2014, 7:00 PM
Shamrock Rovers 1 v 0 Glentoran 7' Bayly

Fester
24/02/2014, 7:01 PM
That pitch is a disgrace.

Badly waterlogged..

24/02/2014, 7:06 PM
Sligo 1 up

24/02/2014, 7:06 PM
Dundalk 1 up

Fester
24/02/2014, 7:35 PM
Shamrock R. 1 v 1 Glentoran
Dundalk 1 v 1 Coleraine
Crusaders 0 v 3 Sligo Rovers
Ballinamallard 0 v St Pats

All Latest...

24/02/2014, 7:36 PM
wow this is on today! :p

Fester
24/02/2014, 7:41 PM
wow this is on today! :p

Sure is....

24/02/2014, 7:41 PM
shamrock r. 1 v 1 glentoran
dundalk 1 v 1 coleraine
crusaders 0 v 3 sligo rovers
ballinamallard 0 v 1 st pats

all latest...

edit!

Fester
24/02/2014, 7:56 PM
Dundalk 1 v 2 Coleraine lat..

Fivesilver
24/02/2014, 8:09 PM
Rovers 4-0 up on Crusaders - hat-trick for Odhiambo in his first competitive game for us.

Fester
24/02/2014, 8:10 PM
Shamrock R. 2 v 1 Glentoran
Dundalk 2 v 3 Coleraine
Crusaders 0 v 4 Sligo Rovers
Ballinamallard 0 v 1 St Pats

All second half latest...

24/02/2014, 8:26 PM
I wouldn't say theres a pitch left in junior football as bad as that pitch. Seems to be a real problem up there, Warrenpoint town had to move the rest of their home matches to Dungannon (I think) - they should really embrace summer football or 4g ptiches like in Scotland.

24/02/2014, 8:30 PM
I wouldn't say theres a pitch left in junior football as bad as that pitch. Seems to be a real problem up there, Warrenpoint town had to move the rest of their home matches to Dungannon (I think) - they should really embrace summer football or 4g ptiches like in Scotland.

The smug faces of folk in Dundalk tonight reading that..

24/02/2014, 8:35 PM
Kenny out.

24/02/2014, 8:39 PM
I agree Dunny, done all 4 LOI sides to win plus Hull. Typical of Dundalk to lose at home to a struggling Coleraine side.

Hope we batter ye on Friday now for that.

24/02/2014, 8:44 PM
I've said it before, and I'll say it again, Kenny Browne is a liability for St Pat's. Luckily for him, Gilmartin made a decent save, but that shot really should have been tucked away.

24/02/2014, 8:51 PM
Warrenpoint town had to move the rest of their home matches to Dungannon (I think).

Really? Were Warrenpoint not playing at Dungannon all season as Newry Showgrounds were not made available to them?

Nothing too smug Nigel we are merely 3g advocates, 4g is just too realistic and wouldnt have the strange bounce and be sooo unfair to our hosts.

legendz
24/02/2014, 8:51 PM
Two awful misses, one by each side, in that game live there on the Setanta Sports of TV.

Fester
24/02/2014, 8:57 PM
Two awful misses, one by each side, in that game live there on the Setanta Sports of TV.

In fairness the pitch was so bad the ball was like a bowling ball on sand.

legendz
25/02/2014, 7:52 AM
Very questionable as to whether the game should have gone ahead. The home side seemed to relish playing in the competition. Great to see after the disinterest of two clubs up north. Dundalk seem the only LoI side in danger of being knocked out.

PartySaint
25/02/2014, 8:29 AM
Horrendous pitch up there last night but job done, we should have no problems against them at home.

Yossarian
25/02/2014, 9:38 AM
We were terrible last night. The midfield was all over the place and Coleraine cut through us with ease. We badly missed Gartland at centre half aswell, Kenny really should have got another centre half instead of signing Higgins as Simon Kelly is nowhere near the level required. I hope these issues are ironed out for Friday week as we will struggle against Drogheda if we repeat that type of performance.

White Horse
25/02/2014, 10:52 AM
I hope these issues are ironed out for Friday week as we will struggle against Drogheda if we repeat that type of performance.

We are nowhere near top 4 standard at the moment. The midfield is undisciplined and has forgotten that they need to defend. Any decent LOI team will take us to the cleaners if we line out like this. However, I expect Kenny to put it right. The problem is so basic, it is practically schoolboy stuff.

pateen
25/02/2014, 12:50 PM
Any attendance figures for any of the games?

25/02/2014, 1:13 PM
We are nowhere near top 4 standard at the moment. The midfield is undisciplined and has forgotten that they need to defend. Any decent LOI team will take us to the cleaners if we line out like this. However, I expect Kenny to put it right. The problem is so basic, it is practically schoolboy stuff.

Pre-season, and the Setanta is still pre-season, doesn't tell you much about how the league will pan out. I still expect Dundalk to be fine this year.

Last year Pats couldn't score in 2 legs against Glentoran who lost 8-0 on agg to Sligo in the next round.

Fivesilver
25/02/2014, 2:57 PM
The first time we played Dundalk last season they genuinely looked like they'd struggle to make top half. Kenny will make the adjustments. And Pats didn't look too encouraging when they were on the end of The Croly Factor (TM). No one's going to win the league in the spring.

25/02/2014, 4:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPf6j4usGpA

Louth4sam
26/02/2014, 3:22 PM
The first time we played Dundalk last season they genuinely looked like they'd struggle to make top half. Kenny will make the adjustments. And Pats didn't look too encouraging when they were on the end of The Croly Factor (TM). No one's going to win the league in the spring.

Sligo were **** hot that day and probably the only team over the season that completely dominated us for 90 minutes.

luiz
01/03/2014, 10:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPf6j4usGpA

From the video it seems that there wasn't any Glentoran supporters in Tallaght, was that really the case? Even Coleraine brought a few lads last year.

01/03/2014, 10:07 AM
The video is filmed from the away section. I've no idea if there were fans there but that angle wouldn't show them

Johnnie C
03/03/2014, 11:32 AM
From the video it seems that there wasn't any Glentoran supporters in Tallaght, was that really the case? Even Coleraine brought a few lads last year.

Read on another forum that they brought around 200/250 with them, small bit of aggro at half time and they were throwing bottles out on the road as well apparently.

vinnie
03/03/2014, 12:34 PM
Yes I'd say there was about 250 of them, didn't witness any hassle though, thought they were well behaved

oriel
10/03/2014, 4:31 PM
Does anyone have a live streaming link for tonights Setanta Cup game that is being shown on the tv, Coleraine v DLK.

Not that I can ever get them to work, but I will have a try if someone can put one up!

10/03/2014, 7:00 PM
Does anyone have a live streaming link for tonights Setanta Cup game that is being shown on the tv, Coleraine v DLK.

Not that I can ever get them to work, but I will have a try if someone can put one up!
http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/245854/1/watch-coleraine-fc-vs-dundalk.html

this one works grand. Just have adblocker on.

Fester
10/03/2014, 8:10 PM
So far:

Coleraine 0 v 1 Dundalk
Pats 4 v 0 Ballinamallard
Sligo 4 v 0 Crusaders

Fester
10/03/2014, 8:36 PM
Full Time:

Pats 5 v 0 Ballinamallard (agg. 6-0)
Sligo 5 v 0 Crusaders (agg. 9-1)

10/03/2014, 8:40 PM
Dundalk well on top but lacking the quality to finish this off..

Fester
10/03/2014, 8:43 PM
Dundalk well on top but lacking the quality to finish this off..

They should be coasting, had plenty of chances.

10/03/2014, 8:45 PM
And there it is. FFS keeper.

10/03/2014, 8:47 PM
Jebus Coleraine went close there!

10/03/2014, 8:47 PM
And there it is. FFS keeper.
He's been fairly dodgy looking all night.

Cuyahoga
10/03/2014, 9:13 PM
Semi Final Draw :

Glentoran or Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk
Sligo Rovers v St. Patrick's Athletic

10/03/2014, 9:36 PM
Somebody needs to put the Irish League down. It's the only humane thing to do.

10/03/2014, 9:56 PM
Somebody needs to put the Irish League down. It's the only humane thing to do.

Indeed. I think this competitions days are numbered. Absolute stroll for Pats tonight, with lots of the first choice missing. Linfield have already given up the ghost, how long before the rest of the IL follows.

dong
11/03/2014, 8:09 AM
I see Mark Quigley bagged a brace as well.
If he can keep fit he will be the player to watch again this season. Ego or no ego.
The man is pure class with a ball at his feet.

11/03/2014, 9:20 AM
I see Mark Quigley bagged a brace as well.
If he can keep fit he will be the player to watch again this season. Ego or no ego.
The man is pure class with a ball at his feet.

He was very good last night but it was the perfect game for him as Ballinamallard were pretty poor