View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2014
White Horse
09/05/2014, 9:43 PM
Very busy in Oriel Park tonight. 2,000 tickets now sold.
Add those who will buy at the gates tomorrow and we should have a healthy crowd there.
I'd say Sligo are favourites as they have more experience of playing in finals. For most of our players, this is their first final.
Let's hope it is a good game. Looking forward to it.
SPXcyan
10/05/2014, 9:59 AM
Looking forward to this one myself, hoping for a fluid game of football.
10/05/2014, 10:36 AM
I'd say there will be a lot of neutrals going up to it as well. I'm heading up with a few mates, 2 top quality sides so it should be a great game to watch.
Nuetrals, press etc will be in the main stand with Sligo fans and that's what TV cameras will see
10/05/2014, 2:55 PM
Nice weather for it.
Eminence Grise
10/05/2014, 3:05 PM
Looking forward to this one myself, hoping for a fluid game of football.
Well, it's fluid weather anyway.
Rumour has it Dundalk have arranged for it to only rain on half of the pitch.:D
10/05/2014, 3:17 PM
Sligo just broke the TV feed.
10/05/2014, 3:45 PM
Massey sounds quite similar to Messi when it's said in an excited tone. I'm sure there's other similarities that I'll notice as the game goes on.
10/05/2014, 4:58 PM
Referee blows up a minute early to get out of the rain.
Sligo Hoops.
10/05/2014, 5:05 PM
Nice touch by the Rovers groundsmen when they watered the pitch
White Horse
10/05/2014, 6:27 PM
Just back from the game. That is the wettest I've been in my life.
Proud of the players, they just couldn't take their chances. Sligo took their chance and that is what counts.
The downpour in the last 10 minutes was disappointing. I thought we were building up a nice head of steam and would have equalised.
Those are the breaks. Still, we have biggest things to compete for this year. Dundalk fans left with the heads held high.
oldfan
10/05/2014, 6:44 PM
Nice touch by the Rovers groundsmen when they watered the pitch
SDCC Groundsmen you mean :p
Fivesilver
10/05/2014, 6:45 PM
Fair play - both sides continued to try to play football despite the conditions, although John Russell might have regretted it after aquaplaning in a two-on-two outside the Dundalk box.
Fair play to the ref - he made allowances for the monsoon and permitted players to compete for the ball.
Dundalk were good, and there were a few times I thought we were on the verge of being overwhelmed. The bit of experience probably told, as well as another shnakey cup final free-kick (thank god they don't talk to each other in Louth).
Just to finish off - Baraclough's not-much-heralded signing of Jeff Henderson has turned out to be one of the best bits of business ever done by a Rovers manager.
Ezeikial
10/05/2014, 7:26 PM
Congratulations to Sligo Rovers.
It was a match of few clear cut chances and really could have gone either way. A fine save by Rogers from David McMillan late in the game prevented what would have been a deserved equaliser. Would the ref have allowed extra time with the pitch becoming almost unplayable?
Dundalk have bounced back from all other disappointments and I expect that again in the league
redarmyfaction
10/05/2014, 8:39 PM
The conditions in the last 5 to ten minutes were the worst I have ever seen, thereseems to be drainage issues at the ground, water flowing in from the by pass/north end of the stadium onto the pitch.
10/05/2014, 9:34 PM
Bad things happen when the pitch is equitably (over) watered.
White Horse
10/05/2014, 9:51 PM
The conditions in the last 5 to ten minutes were the worst I have ever seen, thereseems to be drainage issues at the ground, water flowing in from the by pass/north end of the stadium onto the pitch.
There was a lot of rain but I was surprised at how quickly the pitch became unplayable.
10/05/2014, 9:55 PM
I was wondering about that myself. The same thing happened last year when Trabzonspor were supposed to play Drogs, which would have been a welcome boost to the local economy as the Turkish were set to travel in numbers. Growing up in Tallaght, the place does tend to waterlog very easily and being at the foot of the mountains doesn't help, but SDCC really should have a draining plan in place especially after last year. It's not as if rain is an unusual event here.
Fantastic to come away with more silverware.
The club is continuing the golden era with the most successful team in its history, built organically with the hard work of many and the loyal support of a core group of fans.
Hopefully now we can push on in the league and consolidate once again. Incredible times and it's just a pity more weren't arsed to travel to see the game.
I guess some people become accustomed to success and almost expect that it's a given but anybody who has ever followed this league knows it's usually sporadic and with the emergence of a strong Dundalk and Cork I foresee a spell where we won't win anything but for now, well, happy days!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/05/2014, 9:41 AM
Great to win that yesterday. 6 trophies in 5 years is unbelievable for us when you consider we had won 2 leagues, 2 FAIs and 1 league cup in the previous 82 years. As Dong said we'll enjoy it while it lasts.
As as for the match itself, thought we were pretty comfortable in the second half with Rogers making one good save from Dave McMillan and but for the puddles might have snatched a second on the break. Hoban came close with a few headers in the first half. Lovely goal by us.
Our defence has been pretty solid this year and Danny North looks to be coming back into form also. Need to start beating the teams at the top in the second series. If we got a European place again it'd be a good season.
Pretty much every time we play in Tallaght it ****es rain. No way they could have played extra time if Dundalk had equalised.
Ezeikial
11/05/2014, 9:44 AM
Fantastic to come away with more silverware.
The club is continuing the golden era with the most successful team in its history, built organically with the hard work of many and the loyal support of a core group of fans.
Hopefully now we can push on in the league and consolidate once again. Incredible times and it's just a pity more weren't arsed to travel to see the game.
I guess some people become accustomed to success and almost expect that it's a given but anybody who has ever followed this league knows it's usually sporadic and with the emergence of a strong Dundalk and Cork I foresee a spell where we won't win anything but for now, well, happy days!
What Sligo Rovers have achieved, both on and off the pitch, in recent seasons is outstanding.
However, I have significantly revised my impressions on the dedication of the Sligo supporters based on the pathetic numbers who supported the team in Tallaght
Fair play to the hundreds of Sligo fans who did provide support to their team
Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/05/2014, 9:57 AM
What Sligo Rovers have achieved, both on and off the pitch, in recent seasons is outstanding.
However, I have significantly revised my impressions on the dedication of the Sligo supporters based on the pathetic numbers who supported the team in Tallaght
Fair play to the hundreds of Sligo fans who did provide support to their team
Wasn't overly surprised with the crowd we brought. We've never gotten big crowds at home games in the competition. Just hasn't gotten the interest in the way the FAI Cup has. The club then totally messed up by making that statement and then giving people a ready made excuse to stay at home.
Dundalk fans were brilliant yesterday with the majority hanging around and still singing when we lifted the cup. Guards were highly complimentary of both sets of fans on the way out saying there wasn't one bit of trouble.
What was the attendance?
White Horse
11/05/2014, 10:13 AM
I have to say that I also find it difficult to understand why fans who turn out in big numbers for home matches would not travel on a Saturday afternoon to see their team playing in a cup final.
Congratulations to Sligo. They defended their well taken goal effectively and, on a big pitch, gave us little space. It was obvious that our players are inexperienced in finals as I thought they lacked composure when in threatening areas.
Fivesilver
11/05/2014, 11:32 AM
That point about composure is spot on - they were class until they got into the final third, at which point things fell to bits. From about 10 minutes after we took the lead I never felt like we were in danger of losing it. If Kenny gets that sorted this season Dundalk are a strong shout for the title, as I think they have possibly the best 11 in the league and a strong bench. But naturally I'm hoping it becomes a major issue as the pressure increases during the run-in - and that we're still in touch by that stage.
oriel
12/05/2014, 12:15 PM
Wasn't overly surprised with the crowd we brought. We've never gotten big crowds at home games in the competition. Just hasn't gotten the interest in the way the FAI Cup has. The club then totally messed up by making that statement and then giving people a ready made excuse to stay at home.
Dundalk fans were brilliant yesterday with the majority hanging around and still singing when we lifted the cup. Guards were highly complimentary of both sets of fans on the way out saying there wasn't one bit of trouble.
What was the attendance?
Less than 3k which was very disappointing, obviously not helped by 500 - 600 max from Sligo, not a dig just pointing out.
If oriel park was a better ground, I would have supported a toss for the venue, but it would have been unfair advantage if the Showgrounds was just chosen.
12/05/2014, 1:12 PM
Less than 3k which was very disappointing, obviously not helped by 500 - 600 max from Sligo, not a dig just pointing out.
If oriel park was a better ground, I would have supported a toss for the venue, but it would have been unfair advantage if the Showgrounds was just chosen.
That's true. Dundalk have won there on their last two visits.
Louth4sam
12/05/2014, 2:21 PM
Sligo played the conditions perfectly and Barraclough got his tactics spot on so deserves a lot of credit. In the second half they sat back and defended brilliantly knowing that they are a good side defensively and the conditions wouldn't favour attacking football. Dundalk tried hard but were unable to penetrate. Anytime we got near the box there was swarms of Sligo players surrounding the attacker. Dundalk might feel unlucky with the weather but there would be very few that would argue with the result.
It's such a shame about the weather as it ruined the game completely as both teams were unable to play any kind of football.
12/05/2014, 2:33 PM
To be fair, Rogers won the game for Sligo in the last 20 minutes. Dundalk had the chances to win it.
Fivesilver
12/05/2014, 9:52 PM
Rogers' contribution to Rovers' success is very underrated. There are flashier keepers in the league but there's not one I'd for a moment consider swapping him for.
12/05/2014, 10:05 PM
I'd still say Pats got the better end of the swap with Clarke.
poster
13/05/2014, 9:23 AM
I'd still say Pats got the better end of the swap with Clarke.
Clarke's distribution is (miles) better.
And that's about it.
They're both decent keepers and both teams are happy. Not often you get a win-win
White Horse
13/05/2014, 10:58 AM
I didn't realise how good the save was from Kurtis Byrne until I saw the highlights last night. That would have been a goal in 99% of games.
Looking back at the game again last night and I think we were pretty lucky to get away with it. What is called a tactically sound performance because we didn't ship a goal could easily have been classified as a negative performance if Dundalk had taken advantage of the pressure they had us under and taken one of their decent chances.
I suppose the end justified the means in this case, maybe. Anyways it's only the Setanta cup so it will soon be forgotten.
On a side issue, I can't help feeling that too many of the Dundalk lads have similar haircuts and it is holding them back. Kenny needs to have a look at this and suggest a few mullets and perms to shake things up. Evrybody can't expect to look like Richie Towell for Gods's sake.
Maybe they think that if they look like him that they can play as good as him.
mcgonigle
14/05/2014, 1:00 PM
Maybe they think that if they look like him that they can play as good as him.
I hope not, going by his form lately we'd be in big trouble!
redarmyfaction
14/05/2014, 1:43 PM
I took 10s about Dundalk early in the second half, my feeling was if they scored once other goal(s) would follow and that Kenny wanted to win it in the 90, it was Dundalks profligacy in front of goal and our cup final pedigree rather than astute tactics wot won it for us. Dundalk made a change with 15 or so on the clock and they dropped the tempo after that fingertip save or no.
White Horse
14/05/2014, 2:09 PM
I took 10s about Dundalk early in the second half, my feeling was if they scored once other goal(s) would follow and that Kenny wanted to win it in the 90, it was Dundalks profligacy in front of goal and our cup final pedigree rather than astute tactics wot won it for us. Dundalk made a change with 15 or so on the clock and they dropped the tempo after that fingertip save or no.
The game descended into a farce in the last ten minutes. I think there would have been a goal in that period if the pitch remained playable.
However, that goal could have been a second for Sligo as Dundalk pressed forward and left gaps at the back.
The weather prevented what would have been a great end to the game. Not that Sligo care, they have the cup.
I don't think it was ten minutes. More like 2/3 minutes that it became stupid. Was heavy before that but still ok. McMillan's chances was about 5 to go for example
White Horse
14/05/2014, 4:21 PM
McMillan's chance came during the period where it was impossible to pass the ball on the deck. Gannon just punted the ball forward as it was all he could be with it.
The playing time was restricted by 10 minutes normal time and possibly five minutes of added on time.
It was a pity as the game was really stepping up a gear in the second half.
14/05/2014, 6:22 PM
You took 10s on Rovers conceding two goals?? In the words of Capt. Mainwaring of Dad's Army fame 'you stupid boy'.
redarmyfaction
14/05/2014, 11:38 PM
I thought.Dundalk slowed it down before the water polo started but I agree with White horse, Dundalk did leave gaps at the back throughout the second half they pressed us so much, but we didn't look to break quick enough in sufficient numbers to exploit them.@ Avenalaff I backed pats at similar price and time last time in the Showgs And traded it out at 2 1 so backing against us when are one up doesn't owe me anything.
I presume I am not the only one who makes the loi pay betting in running, berthing against your own team can be particularly attractive when bookmakers Who don't see them often if ever ,over rate them .
15/05/2014, 1:17 PM
Ah, now, redarmyfaction, there's a bit of a difference between Pats and Dundalk. Pats are the best LOI team in years and Dundalk, well, Dundalk are Dundalk.
PartySaint
15/05/2014, 1:56 PM
Ah, now, redarmyfaction, there's a bit of a difference between Pats and Dundalk. Pats are the best LOI team in years and Dundalk, well, Dundalk are Dundalk.
Best in 40 years to be precise.
dundalkfc10
15/05/2014, 4:43 PM
How many years are you going back?
8 League Titles and 2 FAI Cups
We have 9 and 9
Football started before the 90's you know
PartySaint
15/05/2014, 4:48 PM
How many years are you going back?
8 League Titles and 2 FAI Cups
We have 9 and 9
Football started before the 90's you know
We have 9 league titles.
Jimothy
15/05/2014, 5:09 PM
Thought it was an excellent game of football myself, despite the conditions. Both sides tried to play football. Haven't enjoyed a game as much in a long time.
We have 9 league titles.
St Pats have 8 titles. Full list (over 5 and still around)
Rovers - 17
Shels - 13
Bohs - 11
DLK - 9
St Pats - 8
Waterford - 6
Only knew all of these as was reading something about all title wins to date at the weekend.
White Horse
15/05/2014, 7:45 PM
We have 9 league titles.
Now don't go claiming to have already won the 2014 title. It's early days yet ;)
You haven't stopped moaning about Mickey Duffy playing "We are the Champions" last season.
PartySaint
15/05/2014, 7:45 PM
We have 9, Shels have 12.
PartySaint
15/05/2014, 7:46 PM
Now don't go claiming to have already won the 2014 title. It's early days yet ;)
You haven't stopped moaning about Mickey Duffy playing "We are the Champions" last season.
Not moaning, still laughing. Weren't you guys signing 'we are top of the league' a few weeks later when you were still actually second.
Dundalk FC, the gift that keeps on giving.