View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2014

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

White Horse
24/03/2014, 10:18 PM
That Hoban sitter might yet come back to haunt you.

We are very wasteful, it will haunt us at some stage. The tie is very much alive.

24/03/2014, 10:22 PM
We are very wasteful, it will haunt us at some stage. The tie is very much alive.
I really don't think so. Look at the fixtures - Rovers have Pats away on the Friday, then return to Oriel on the Friday after. There will be two full teams put out for the league games, so you're looking at basically the same team Rovers played tonight, with maybe some rotation in centre defence and midfield. Dundalk have UCD away the Friday before, which should be an easy win, meaning you can put out a decent team and put the tie away. Either way, the league game in Oriel will be the priority for both teams.

Ezeikial
25/03/2014, 8:41 AM
I really don't think so. Look at the fixtures - Rovers have Pats away on the Friday, then return to Oriel on the Friday after. There will be two full teams put out for the league games, so you're looking at basically the same team Rovers played tonight, with maybe some rotation in centre defence and midfield. Dundalk have UCD away the Friday before, which should be an easy win, meaning you can put out a decent team and put the tie away. Either way, the league game in Oriel will be the priority for both teams.

Of course the tie is alive although Dundalk clearly have the upper hand.

3 games in 8 days usually favours the club with the greater resources / better squad. Rovers clearly have the bigger budget, it is not so obvious that they have superior quality throughout the squad

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 9:21 AM
Of course the tie is alive although Dundalk clearly have the upper hand.

3 games in 8 days usually favours the club with the greater resources / better squad. Rovers clearly have the bigger budget, it is not so obvious that they have superior quality throughout the squad

Throughout their squad they definitely do have better quality. Both teams playing their strongest 11 is a bit closer tho.

25/03/2014, 9:30 AM
Throughout their squad they definitely do have better quality. Both teams playing their strongest 11 is a bit closer tho.

I disagree with this. Cornwall, Bayly, Robinson, Kelly wouldn't get near Dundalk's 14/15

Rovers first choice XI is pretty strong

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 9:54 AM
I disagree with this. Cornwall, Bayly, Robinson, Kelly wouldn't get near Dundalk's 14/15

Rovers first choice XI is pretty strong

Dean Kelly is miles better than Darren Meenan.

The Likes of Kilduff, Sheppard, Zayed, O'Connor, McCabe, Marty Waters would walk into the Dundalk team and they all get rotated in the Rovers squad.

25/03/2014, 10:04 AM
He's a better player but he's not a fecking winger. Useless there

The Likes of Kilduff, Sheppard, Zayed, O'Connor, McCabe, Marty Waters would walk into the Dundalk team and they all get rotated in the Rovers squad.
Waters and McCabe start all the league games for Rovers. They've 4 strikers but play 1 most of the time. That doesn't mean it's a strong squad. Just means it's lopsided

We saw Rovers squad last night. It isn't that good. Can't see how you can say otherwise

White Horse
25/03/2014, 10:16 AM

I think fans are too harsh on Meenan at times.

Meenan has improved beyond all recognition in the last year. When he first trialled at Dundalk, I thougth he was very poor. However, he has worked on his physical conditioning and is now one of the fastest and most dynamic players in the division.

Sligo couldn't handle him at all on Saturday.

He will always to limited in certain areas and his temperment is volatile at times.

However, he is a good squad player. His corner kicks were worth about 10 goals to us alone last season.

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 11:58 AM
We saw Rovers squad last night. It isn't that good. Can't see how you can say otherwise

I'm not saying it's that good just that it's better than Dundalks squad, which it is.

Ezeikial
25/03/2014, 12:13 PM

Meenan has had a lot of clubs before Kenny signed him last season and most (myself included) doubted his ability to make an impact. His improvement has been impressive and he has moved from fringe player to being a regular starter. He has made a real impact with his pace and dead-ball delivery

Dean Kelly is a decent back-up striker but I would far rather have Meenan in the squad

All good players - but you think all six of these would start ahead of the entire Dundalk midfield and strike force - a team that finished well above Rovers last season and comfortably beat them last night?

Wow!

25/03/2014, 12:27 PM

They're all attacking players and three of them are competing for one spot in the team. Our previous squad depth has all signed for Pats. We have three defenders who have to play every game now that O'Connor is crocked.

oriel
25/03/2014, 1:07 PM
Meenan can be frustrating at times, and his challenge away to Drogs in the cup semi last year was just wreckless, and warranted his red card, he had no business putting that challenge in either on such a wet pitch, but thats in the past.

Wasn't my favourite player by any stretch, however to be fair he assisted on plenty of crucial goals last season, but I'm still not sure if he deserves a starting spot, I will admit though he has improved, at long last.

I think we are strong favourites to make the final, but its far from over, we probably will need to score at least once in the return leg, but we are definitely in the driving seat.

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 1:08 PM
All good players - but you think all six of these would start ahead of the entire Dundalk midfield and strike force - a team that finished well above Rovers last season and comfortably beat them last night?

Wow!

Yes, on an indivdual basis they would all get into the Dundalk team. I'm not saying you would start all of them together but if say Kilduff was there he would start every week, so would McCabe etc etc.

It's not a dig at Dundalk, they'll all good players and would get into nearly every team in the league. Like Towell and Hoban probably would.

wonder88
25/03/2014, 1:19 PM
I still would put Rovers squad ahead of Dundalk's, but that is only an opinion. Players like everyone change, some improve their skills as they get older others do not. I find it interesting that many who comment on the LoI fail to spot the player/players who are likely to make it at a high level over in England. Most would have predicted that Finn and Forrester would be playing for a Premier league club in England by now and be full internationals while the Dublin media completely missed Seamus Coleman for example.
By the way that was a bad miss by Hoban last night. He would be an example of someone who has improved a lot, and has surprised me, while the Brennan who has gone to Rovers this season I think will do a good job for them. I would be interested in what Limerick fans in general think of Folan as the few times I have seen him he looks decent, but apparently some are not too impressed.

White Horse
25/03/2014, 1:22 PM
Yes, on an indivdual basis they would all get into the Dundalk team. I'm not saying you would start all of them together but if say Kilduff was there he would start every week, so would McCabe etc etc.

It's not a dig at Dundalk, they'll all good players and would get into nearly every team in the league. Like Towell and Hoban probably would.

Dundalk typically play one up top, so Kilduff and Hoban would compete for the same place. In my opinion, Kilduff is the only player of the six you mention that I would be interested in. I wouldn't take Marty Waters over Daryl Horgan, for example. Don't forget we have Keith Ward to come back in.

Dundalk have good options in midfield and up front. The weak area in the squad is the depth and quality of defensive cover. From what I know of the Rovers squad, it is a weak point of theirs too.

25/03/2014, 1:29 PM
The weak area in the squad is the depth and quality of defensive cover. From what I know of the Rovers squad, it is a weak point of theirs too.
And Pats, and Sligo and etc etc

Most will be grand if there's no long term injuries

25/03/2014, 1:32 PM
I still would put Rovers squad ahead of Dundalk's, but that is only an opinion. Players like everyone change, some improve their skills as they get older others do not. I find it interesting that many who comment on the LoI fail to spot the player/players who are likely to make it at a high level over in England. Most would have predicted that Finn and Forrester would be playing for a Premier league club in England by now and be full internationals while the Dublin media completely missed Seamus Coleman for example.

Coleman was very highly touted by the press and won multiple under 21 caps with Sligo. He was not an unknown going over to Everton

Dublin media....

ger121
25/03/2014, 1:35 PM
I'm probably stating the obvious here but Towell really is a talent. Haven't had a chance to watch him much to date but his strength, skill and pace really make him stand out. I'd be amazed if he's still in the LOI next season. I hope Dundalk have him on a 2 year deal.

25/03/2014, 1:39 PM
I'm probably stating the obvious here but Towell really is a talent. Haven't had a chance to watch him much to date but his strength, skill and pace really make him stand out. I'd be amazed if he's still in the LOI next season. I hope Dundalk have him on a 2 year deal.
As the Setanta commentator expertly put it last night: "You can see he's played in Scotland..."

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 1:42 PM
Dundalk typically play one up top, so Kilduff and Hoban would compete for the same place. In my opinion, Kilduff is the only player of the six you mention that I would be interested in. I wouldn't take Marty Waters over Daryl Horgan, for example. Don't forget we have Keith Ward to come back in.

Dundalk have good options in midfield and up front. The weak area in the squad is the depth and quality of defensive cover. From what I know of the Rovers squad, it is a weak point of theirs too.

In fairness I've totally forgetting about Daryl Horgan so you have a point there. Still better than Meenan tho.

On Forrester being with a Prenier League club, I don't think anyone would have taught that but I fully expected him to be at a lower division English side by now and probably would have if whichever Bristol club he was on trial at didn't sack their manager a week later.

White Horse
25/03/2014, 1:48 PM

Most will be grand if there's no long term injuries

Out of the four or five fancied teams, the league winners could well be the one who have the best luck with defensive injuries.

25/03/2014, 1:53 PM
Out of the four or five fancied teams, the league winners could well be the one who have the best luck with defensive injuries.
Having 17 defenders didn't help Rovers win games last season! I expect whoever wins the league this season will do so having dropped a lot of points, probably more than recent winners.

poster
25/03/2014, 3:06 PM

We also have plenty of weaknesses going forward.

Ezeikial
25/03/2014, 3:20 PM
Towell is superb, an absolute joy to watch.

In fairness I've totally forgetting about Daryl Horgan so you have a point there.

I'm really warming to your thinking on a starting XI. So far your "walk - ins" are

Ciaran Kilduff
Karl Sheppard
Eamon Zayed
Sean O'Connor
Gary McCabe
Marty Waters
Richie Towell
Pat Hoban
Daryl Horgan

Just space for a goalkeeper and a couple of strikers?

PartySaint
25/03/2014, 3:26 PM
I'm really warming to your thinking on a starting XI. So far your "walk - ins" are

Ciaran Kilduff
Karl Sheppard
Eamon Zayed
Sean O'Connor
Gary McCabe
Marty Waters
Richie Towell
Pat Hoban
Daryl Horgan

Just space for a goalkeeper and a couple of strikers?

So which one of the players I mentioned from Rovers wouldn't start for Dundalk if they were brought in on there own?

wonder88
25/03/2014, 4:30 PM
I don't think Séan Ó Connor would get on a good Dundalk team, I am surprised Rovers did not off-load him to Pats along with the other 5 lads this year. I can see more clubs fielding B teams in an expanded first division in order to accommodate bigger squads. Also with the principle of no-promotion being introduced by Fran Gavin this year it would not be a surprise if UCD and Bray Wanderers are placed in the 1st Division in future, not something I would support, because of their poor crowds. Towell looks to have worked hard during the off season on his fitness, which is good to see. People need to remember that the off-season in the LoI is very long now and it is noticeable that some of the top players do find it difficult to maintain their condition. Years ago when there was winter soccer a number of LoI players used to go off to play in America and return to their Irish clubs in september as the league cup used to be played before the championship started then.

Ezeikial
25/03/2014, 4:42 PM
So which onein of the players I mentioned from Rovers wouldn't start for Dundalk if they were brought in on there own?

Firstly the most obvious starters are not even on that list - Simon Madden and Ronan Finn.

Either Conor Kenna or a fit Jason McGuinness could challenge Brian Gartland (who has been superb since signing last July) but both unlikely to displace Andy Boyle

Of the 3 strikers listed, on recent form only Ciaran Kilduff would possibly challenge Pat Hoban for the sole striker spot. Sheppard seems lost while the form displayed by Eamon Zayed since landing in Tallaght would not even get him the job of cutting the grass at Oriel

Either Sean O'Connor or Gary McCabe (both detestable characters) could - if fit and in form - possibly start in one of the wide places.

Fester
25/03/2014, 6:51 PM
Sligo v Pats http://nutjob.eu/njtvx36.html 8pm ko

Fester
25/03/2014, 7:47 PM
Very very poor crowd for this match.

25/03/2014, 8:54 PM
Shocking crowd altogether, but scheduling it for the same night as the Manchester derby was absolute madness.

Fester
25/03/2014, 8:56 PM
Sligo 2 v 0 Pats (Attn 816).

ger121
25/03/2014, 9:01 PM
Sligo 2 v 0 Pats (Attn 816).

Woeful attendance but crazy to play it tonight.

25/03/2014, 9:04 PM
Shocking crowd altogether, but scheduling it for the same night as the Manchester derby was absolute madness.
When else could they have scheduled it? I think both teams would prefer playing tonight to Wednesday.

El-Pietro
25/03/2014, 9:07 PM
Firstly the most obvious starters are not even on that list - Simon Madden and Ronan Finn.

Either Conor Kenna or a fit Jason McGuinness could challenge Brian Gartland (who has been superb since signing last July) but both unlikely to displace Andy Boyle

Of the 3 strikers listed, on recent form only Ciaran Kilduff would possibly challenge Pat Hoban for the sole striker spot. Sheppard seems lost while the form displayed by Eamon Zayed since landing in Tallaght would not even get him the job of cutting the grass at Oriel

Either Sean O'Connor or Gary McCabe (both detestable characters) could - if fit and in form - possibly start in one of the wide places.
Ciaran Kilduff, Ronan Finn and Conor Kenna are three of the best players in the league. I think Kenna might be the best player in the division over the past 4 or 5 seasons.
edit: meant to say any of them would be selected in the first XI for any team on the Island.

dundalkfc10
25/03/2014, 9:29 PM

Out of all them players, only McCabe would start for Dundalk and Kilduff would be in with a shout but Id prefer Hoban any day of the week

wonder88
25/03/2014, 9:46 PM
You can't run away all the time from when Man U are on the telly, even if attendance is poor. Saw 2nd half of it and Sligo played good stuff, while Forrester did well when he came on; might still get move over to England but unlikely to top level. From what of game I saw the league's last two players of the year didn't do much, but 2 goals can still be over-turned in the second leg as the Man U did last week. Maybe some of the Dublin Man U fans will come out for the return match even.

25/03/2014, 9:59 PM
Out of all them players, only McCabe would start for Dundalk and Kilduff would be in with a shout but Id prefer Hoban any day of the week
That's because you see Hoban every week and obviously think a lot of him. Ask any Rovers or Cork fan if they'd take Hoban over Kilduff and they'd tell you the exact opposite. He's basically gone from being an afterthought for Croly to shoving the manager's face in the dirt and demanding he be picked over two very good strikers. In reality, a lot would depend on how players adapt to Dundalk, but McCabe and O'Connor would surely be in the mix, Kilduff is too good not to get a chance and if Zayed recreated his Derry form he'd be very hard to leave out too.

desaintsno.12
26/03/2014, 8:09 AM
truly ridiculous discussion.......... but a good one none the less

Fivesilver
26/03/2014, 10:06 AM
Thought we were pretty decent last night but may have left the tie behind us with poor finishing - we should be out of sight. It felt a bit like when Drogheda beat us in the League Cup a couple of seasons back - like we needed this win more than Pats did. We also desperately need Russell or Ndo starting so that we have some kind of a presence in the centre of the park. We're as good down the flanks as anyone in the league but have a huge gap in the middle at the moment.
On the plus side, when Djilali is fully recovered from injury he's going to really do damage, while I think if/when Maguire puts his first one away he'll be a big threat.

White Horse
26/03/2014, 10:14 AM
2-0 is a good result to bring to Inchicore. I was puzzled by Pats performance, they looked lethargic even disinterested at times. It was only after the sending off that they woke up. I wasn't impressed by Maguire, he doesn't appear to have progressed in the last year. Lovely finish by North for the second goal, he still has it.

PartySaint
26/03/2014, 10:15 AM
We were lucky it wasn't 4 or 5-0. I can't see us turning it around as we will definitely concede in Richmond.

We haven't got going at all so far this season. A lot of changes being made every week, our defense looks poor and Quigley doesn't work as a lone striker.

Still early days so no need to panic.

26/03/2014, 10:34 AM
I think if/when Maguire puts his first one away he'll be a big threat.

He missed 2 open goals. Not sure where you get the confidence from.

Sligo far better throughout and 2-0 didn't flatter them at all. But for poor finshing could have been more. Only Pats player to play well was Forrester when he came on.

Ezeikial
26/03/2014, 12:08 PM
Pats have far better players then Sligo

I can name at least 6 players that would not walk into..................(did we do this already?)

26/03/2014, 12:43 PM
I would be interested in what Limerick fans in general think of Folan as the few times I have seen him he looks decent, but apparently some are not too impressed.

I'm not a big fan to be honest. I think he loses too much ball in the air, has a habit of letting his man get goal side of him and gives an awful lot of possession away needlessly. He excels at pointing out where he feels his team mates should be at any given time though.

There's definite ability there and he's still got plenty of time but I don't think he'll ever get the big move back to England he's still talking about. His impressions of his own ability appear to be a long way from the displays we've seen from him so far. He has improved markedly since Sam Oji arrived to do the hard work alongside him.

PartySaint
26/03/2014, 1:38 PM
Pats have far better players then Sligo

I can name at least 6 players that would not walk into..................(did we do this already?)

Well we do have a better squad than them but if we go into this again you might miss the point again.

Ezeikial
26/03/2014, 2:18 PM
Well we do have a better squad than them but if we go into this again you might miss the point again.

Your points were pretty clear previously, I just disagreed with you!

White Horse
14/04/2014, 7:11 PM
There is hardly anyone at the Pats/Sligo semi final. Looks about 300-400.

Yossarian
14/04/2014, 7:18 PM
There is hardly anyone at the Pats/Sligo semi final. Looks about 300-400.

That's being generous. Though there are probably a few in the terrace below the gantry.

White Horse
14/04/2014, 7:20 PM
That's being generous. Though there are probably a few in the terrace below the gantry.

I'm assuming there are about a 100 people there.

If not :-O

White Horse
14/04/2014, 7:23 PM
Derek Foran really doesn't have a clue.