View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2014
red bellied
17/04/2014, 8:39 PM
6k would be a great crowd.. how many are Sligo likely to bring with the game on in Tallaght?
Hard to garner at the minute, some regulars saying they won't go, under the thousand mark at a guess.
placid casual
17/04/2014, 8:44 PM
there will be 3k at most for the SSC final in tallaght
17/04/2014, 8:44 PM
There's a big difference in attractiveness between a Setanta final in Tallaght and a cup final at the Aviva, to be fair. A lot will depend on how the clubs market it and get people on board.
I can't remember the crowd we took in 2011, possibly 2.5k, def over 2k anyway. Sligo should be able to match that, and with the extra buzz around this Dlk side, I think we should exceed our last turn out.
No reason this game won't exceed 5k, may not be much more than that, but I think that would be a decent crowd.
The 4pm kick off is better too.
White Horse
17/04/2014, 9:00 PM
Are Sligo fans really saying it is unfair they don't have home advantage for a final?
redobit
17/04/2014, 9:04 PM
Are Sligo fans really saying it is unfair they don't have home advantage for a final?
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSCoTK6xS9NNGQaq8FF9ykKB7-tnSYDwCTgEQgVYRdXByRkoaqHsA (http://www.google.ie/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&docid=gzW-0hAEJYoJaM&tbnid=2KZnjgawwSt5sM:&ved=0CAUQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fblog.writeathome.com%2Findex.php% 2F2011%2F10%2Fso-punny-i-forgot-to-laugh%2F&ei=u0FQU7i0JoWV7AbskoG4Ag&psig=AFQjCNF7a1Cp-_PbOa7h3Yx1VNbmgF21AA&ust=1397855031793916)
colonelwest
17/04/2014, 11:25 PM
In my opinion we'll bring more than the circa 2.5k we brought to Tallaght for the last final against Rovers in the SSC, if the club can do a decent bit of PR to push interest of course. As maligned as it's portrayed, it's still a cross border cup and a cup final. Couple that with it being on a Saturday afternoon and the feel good factor/ bandwagon jumpers/ part time/ occasional fans I can see us bringing 3k or thereabouts. The earlier kick off means public transport is doable for a few scoops and a day out for those who wouldn't be on the regular private buses the lads use for aways. 2008 the last time we won a trophy with the first division and then the cup back in 02, our lot will be well up for it and with how well we're going the last year or so hopefully we can win it and push on. Ticket prices are decent too, 15 nicker, 10 for those on the rock n roll, students, oaps etc.
18/04/2014, 12:11 AM
Random question but how do clubs/the FAI establish who's on the old rock and roll or do they just assume nobody would lie about it? Do they wear special armbands or something..?
PartySaint
18/04/2014, 7:45 AM
Culchies love a big day out in Dublin, there will be a decent crowd at it
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/04/2014, 8:25 AM
6k would be a great crowd.. how many are Sligo likely to bring with the game on in Tallaght?
I'd say a lot could depend on how the next few weeks in the league go. Our crowds in general have been down the last few years and the Setanta Cup wouldn't be that big a draw as compared to the FAI Cup when we're able to get 10k+ to go to finals. If we win the next few games interest will hopefully get going again. Then again we brought a huge crowd there for a the League Cup semi final last season.
So to answer your question, I've no idea.
Fivesilver
18/04/2014, 8:27 AM
Ya, but out in Tallaght? That barely gives you time to have a quick go on the slots in Dr Quirkey's and buy a couple of cheap lighters on Henry St for the folks back home. Hardly worth the trip.
Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 10:50 AM
I love em all - big and small.
I prefer Richmond to Tallaght though - we have found it easier to win in Inchicore
18/04/2014, 1:03 PM
Random question but how do clubs/the FAI establish who's on the old rock and roll or do they just assume nobody would lie about it? Do they wear special armbands or something..?
No, but I'm sure Joan Burton is working on it.
18/04/2014, 1:26 PM
Well, Rovers would have about 500 Dub supporters to come and probably close to 2000 to make the trip. I'd say attendance will be closer to 5k than to 4k and definitely more than the latter. Oh, and of course, Rovers will be winning it.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/04/2014, 1:41 PM
Wonder if Dundalk would have been happy to play the game in Sligo
Following the decision to choose Tallaght Stadium as the venue for the Setanta Sports Cup final, Sligo Rovers wish to make the following statement.
The club's reaction is one of great disappointment that The Showgrounds will not host the final.
Sligo Rovers chairman Dermot Kelly said: “It would have been a great credit for all the improvements and investment we have made to the ground in the last number of years to host the game.
“The club would have been confident of a capacity crowd and to bring the match to a venue in Dublin that has attracted diminishing attendances in finals - in which the tenants of Tallaght Stadium have participated - makes little sense.
“The region would have backed the occasion massively but it's likely now to get 'lost' in South County Dublin.
“Sligo Rovers made a proposal to the Setanta Sports Cup committee to host the game for a smaller cost, a likely sell-out crowd and less travelling time for those attending.
“To our supporters and businesses in the county, I can say that we did our utmost to put a sensible business case for ourselves and Dundalk to host the game here in Sligo without hearing or success.
“As we express our disappointment we move forward to supporting our club for the final and our aim to make history by winning the competition for the first time.”
18/04/2014, 2:00 PM
I really doubt Dundalk would be happy to let their opponents have home advantage any more than they were when the final against Rovers was in Tallaght.
White Horse
18/04/2014, 2:16 PM
I am surpassed at the statement from Sligo Rovers.
They must realise that staging a final in which they are a participant would be grossly unfair on the opposition. The journey between Dundalk and Sligo is a torturous one. I drove it a few weeks ago and drove on roads that are little more than country lanes. There is also no public transport between Dundalk and Sligo. The likelihood is that given the difficulties of travelling to Sligo, Dundalk would have little more than 500 fans at the final, while the "home side" would fill most of the stadium.
I would love to see a cup final in the Showgrounds, just not one in which Sligo are playing.
Fivesilver
18/04/2014, 2:19 PM
Doubtful. Why would they? Silly move by our committee. Might make sense if we weren't in the final and they were trying to draw attention to the quality of our improved ground and facilities, but just looks petty and whingey.
Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 4:04 PM
Ill-advised and poorly constructed statement from Sligo Rovers.
In shows no appreciation for the principals of fair play and ignores entirely the salient fact that Dundalk fans will also attend the final
less travelling time for those attending.
It descends into the ludicrous when suggesting that Dundalk would be a joint host
I can say that we did our utmost to put a sensible business case for ourselves and Dundalk to host the game here in Sligo without hearing or success.
Sligo Rovers have achieved a tremendous amount within the community and in ground improvements (aside from the recent on-the-pitch success), but this is displaying hints of both arrogance and ignorance from Mr Kelly
Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 4:22 PM
Wonder if Dundalk would have been happy to play the game in Sligo
I really doubt Dundalk would be happy to let their opponents have home advantage any more than they were when the final against Rovers was in Tallaght.
Stephen Kenny made his views on this prospect very clear in this post-match interview last Monday night
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/super-shields-dumps-rovers-out-and-sets-dundalk-up-for-tilt-at-trophy-1-6005566
While the Dundalk board have not gone public on their views on this proposal (which was floated a number of weeks ago by Milo Corcoran), it is almost certain that they were very forceful in expressing their preference for a neutral venue even with the potential of lower financial returns.
18/04/2014, 4:29 PM
If the game had been allocated to the Showgrownds there would have been a lot less dissenting voices than there were for the final in Tallaght involving Shams! Dundalk to Sligo driving on average takes me 2hrs 20, a regular excursion due to family residing in County Sligo. Dundalk to Tallaght driving is, depending on the time and traffic, bout 1hr 30 or so. People bahave as if this island is huge. Accross the water 3hr spins to see your football team would be considered a convenience! I think that South Dublin County Council Stadium is soulless. Watering pitches aside with equal ticket allocation i dont see major advantage to Sligo to play in the Showgrounds - if anything in recent times we have seen more success there than in Tallaght. The players im sure would rather be in a final in front of a full house marking the occaison than in an half full 2 sided venue like tallaght.
Ezeikial
18/04/2014, 5:04 PM
The players im sure would rather be in a final in front of a full house marking the occaison than in an half full 2 sided venue like tallaght.
I suspect that winning the match is the priority for all players involved. By comparison issues like atmosphere, attendance capacity, travelling times etc fade in importance.
Logically and statistically a home tie gives an advantage.
redobit
18/04/2014, 5:08 PM
I am surpassed at the statement from Sligo Rovers.
They must realise that staging a final in which they are a participant would be grossly unfair on the opposition. The journey between Dundalk and Sligo is a torturous one. I drove it a few weeks ago and drove on roads that are little more than country lanes. There is also no public transport between Dundalk and Sligo. The likelihood is that given the difficulties of travelling to Sligo, Dundalk would have little more than 500 fans at the final, while the "home side" would fill most of the stadium.
I would love to see a cup final in the Showgrounds, just not one in which Sligo are playing.
Ya Id agree with ya. If our committee want to make a stab at hosting then fair enough, I can see their thinking regarding crowd, boost to the area etc. But if it was in Dundalk for the same reasosn I wouldn't be so happy. A few hours to travel to a cup final ... no big deal.
DannyInvincible
18/04/2014, 5:48 PM
Stephen Kenny made his views on this prospect very clear in this post-match interview last Monday night
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/super-shields-dumps-rovers-out-and-sets-dundalk-up-for-tilt-at-trophy-1-6005566
While the Dundalk board have not gone public on their views on this proposal (which was floated a number of weeks ago by Milo Corcoran), it is almost certain that they were very forceful in expressing their preference for a neutral venue even with the potential of lower financial returns.
According to RTÉ, your chairman was explicitly supportive of playing the game at the most suitable neutral venue, as is only fair and logical for a final: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2014/0418/609723-sligo-see-red-over-showgrounds-snub/
However, Cup final opponents Dundalk were never in favour of bringing the final to Sligo, which would have effectively handed home advantage to Ian Baraclough’s side.
When contacted by RTÉ Sport, Dundalk chairman Ciaran Bond said: “You have to play a final at the best stadium in country and after the Aviva it’s Tallaght Stadium.
“A cup final of this magnitude should be played in a neutral venue.”
Embarrassing statement from Sligo.
18/04/2014, 5:50 PM
I suspect that winning the match is the priority for all players involved. By comparison issues like atmosphere, attendance capacity, travelling times etc fade in importance.
Logically and statistically a home tie gives an advantage.
A football pitch is a football pitch - the advantage lies in the home support enviornment where for example a partizan crowd can influence officials decisions aside from just driving on the players. In Tallaght in our previous SSC final the home advantage was negated more or less and the game turned on an injury to Sam. Equal allocation of tickets assuming full allocation is taken well then the home advantage becomes minimal. It felt last season for a bit that we couldnt buy a win at home. While winning is absolutely the priority, players are more likely to thrive in a cauldron of atmosphere rather than (potentially) a half full ground with 2 empty goal ends diluting the occaison of a cup final.
redarmyfaction
19/04/2014, 11:03 AM
The organisers have been fierce subtle in their timing wth (i am told ) a 4pm kick off putting the last train back to Sligo at seven bells just tantalisingly out of reach. Pity there isn't a decent ground near the city centre, Tallaght is such a dis-spiriting place, 22 sink estates in search of a suburb (if Dorothy Parker but perhaps not the locals will forgive me) with nary a boozer in sight, except for those hotels that stink of brown beef and gravy. I am not a fan of the stadium either but it is one thing and perhaps the only thing we can't blame Shamrock for, and why pray tell me is The Square called so, the Pyramid maybe, its like a Louvre extension with poundshops designed and built by Tom McFeely.
Very embarrassing statement from Sligo. Love the word 'disappointed' , all that's missing was 'that we (Sligo) didn't get our way.
Also remember they got their way previously with this, 2010 or 2011, league cup final v Monaghan.
19/04/2014, 7:44 PM
Very embarrassing statement from Sligo. Love the word 'disappointed' , all that's missing was 'that we (Sligo) didn't get our way.
Also remember they got their way previously with this, 2010 or 2011, league cup final v Monaghan.
Ah, get a life, will you?. Sligo Rovers made a business case for the staging of the game in The Showgrounds and they are disappointed that it does not appear to have received the consideration it deserved. They are merely keeping their supporters in the picture. If they hadn't made the submission, trust me, there would be plenty in Sligo jumping on them. Apparantly, The Plastic Pitch outfit didn't make any submission. Anyway, it'd done and dusted now and lets get on with the game.
White Horse
19/04/2014, 8:19 PM
Ah, get a life, will you?. Sligo Rovers made a business case for the staging of the game in The Showgrounds and they are disappointed that it does not appear to have received the consideration it deserved. They are merely keeping their supporters in the picture. If they hadn't made the submission, trust me, there would be plenty in Sligo jumping on them. Apparantly, The Plastic Pitch outfit didn't make any submission. Anyway, it'd done and dusted now and lets get on with the game.
They appear to forget that football is also a sport.
It is fine to make a business case but to expect to have home advantage in a final?
It's pretty obvious why the chairman would make such a statement.
He is a smart guy to be fair to him.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/04/2014, 9:09 AM
They appear to forget that football is also a sport.
It is fine to make a business case but to expect to have home advantage in a final?
No one was expecting to have the game in Sligo but in a competition where the majority of finals have been staged at the ground of one of the teams playing in the final I don't believe it was a bad idea to put a bid in to host it. Do you?
If it was the FAI Cup Final it wouldn't have been an issue. Everyone knows it's in Lansdowne every year. The Setanta and League Cup finals are played anywhere and everywhere. What I would like I see come out of this is that if the competition survives that finals are always played at neutral venues anymore.
Still no need for the statement in my eyes mind.
Yossarian
20/04/2014, 1:10 PM
You've been misinformed as we did make a submission with costings to hold the game just like Sligo did. Sligo are obviously disappointed not to hold the game but the statement just smacks of bitterness. I agree that the final should be played at a neutral venue every year anyway.
If it's in Tallaght then so be it. No big deal. It will give a few people an excuse not to go and sit in a pub in Sligo whingingaboutwhingingabout about it but whom cares really?
Mr_Parker
07/05/2014, 10:21 AM
More bonkers ideas from the organisers!
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/organisers-consider-revamped-setanta-cup-267766.html
mcgonigle
07/05/2014, 1:22 PM
More bonkers ideas from the organisers!
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/organisers-consider-revamped-setanta-cup-267766.html
Ridiculous, not one mention of multiball!
NeverFeltBetter
07/05/2014, 1:49 PM
Jeez, 16 teams? Might as well just let every team in the LOI and IFL have a go.
patrickccfc
07/05/2014, 8:20 PM
Jeez, 16 teams? Might as well just let every team in the LOI and IFL have a go.
Could make pre-season friendlies more interesting by adding the incentive of setanta cup qualification.. hmm now where did I here something like that before
jinxy lilywhite
07/05/2014, 9:40 PM
Slow build up here for the final but to be honest I cant wait. Two great teams pitting it off against each other. Sligo on a good run but the way we demolished cork put to bed any fears I had on our previous 3 games.
looking forward to it.
whats the mood in Sligo for the game. Dundalk is a little muted due to the Giro D'Italia passing through on sunday
08/05/2014, 12:16 AM
Open top bus + Giro = Scary
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/05/2014, 7:16 AM
Certainly not the level of anticipation that the FAI Cup Final would bring.
Although I think the club might have brought some of that on themselves when complaining about the game not being in Sligo. People who might have been dragged along are now using that they wouldn't play the game in The Showgrounds as an excuse not to go.
Louth4sam
08/05/2014, 8:30 AM
Dundalk is a little muted due to the Giro D'Italia passing through on sunday
I think it's muted as lets face it the Setanta is a second grade cup. If we were in the build up to the FAI cup final the town would be buzzing. It'd be nice to win but wouldn't be too bothered if we lost.
08/05/2014, 10:37 AM
Last time out there were flags and bunting up at least, the town has gone pink as you know so I think the G'iro has taken away. It may now be a second rate comp and its initial interest was the great prize money, but I still care enough about a cup final and would hate to lose! The first trophy of any new era is tough to come by so I wanna get off the mark early.
Any news on ticket sales with Sligo Rovers & Dundalk for the Setanta Cup Final?
I would expect Dundalk to bring around 1,000 as it seems easier for their travel and Sligo Rovers nearer to 500.
If they get 2,500+ for the game itself, I suppose it would be a reasonable turnout as it is on TV.
Whats the latest anyone fronm Sligo or Dundalk in the know!
Conroy
09/05/2014, 12:22 PM
1,300 sold for DFC as off yesterday - the majority of season ticket holders have yet to have bought there's.
Great to see that type of uptake by the Dundalk fans for an effectively away game (although a Cup Final) and will also be shown live on TV.
Well done the Dalk ! :semi-twins:
Conroy
09/05/2014, 1:59 PM
Personally i don't think its anything to write home about, Id be expecting around 2,000 town fans in attendance. Hopefully Sligo bring a decent crowd too.
Yossarian
09/05/2014, 2:23 PM
Think Dundalk's figure is at 1400 sold. I believe by Tuesday Sligo only had 300 odd tickets sold, probably a better uptake by now. I can imagine quite a few people will decide on the day whether to go and will just pay on the gate as will quite a few Dublin based fans for both teams. At this stage I would say the best expecation will be a crowd of 3000 to be honest.
White Horse
09/05/2014, 2:36 PM
A lot of the people I've spoken to are buying tickets at the stadium.
With Shamrock Rovers not playing, there are no safety fears about queueing up for tickets.
I'd be surpised if we don't hit 2,000.
PartySaint
09/05/2014, 3:08 PM
I'd say there will be a lot of neutrals going up to it as well. I'm heading up with a few mates, 2 top quality sides so it should be a great game to watch.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/05/2014, 6:31 PM
Can't understand how we're favourites for this