View Full Version : FAI Invites First Division Expressions of Interest

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15

Briuk
19/09/2014, 4:32 PM
If shamrock pulls out the B team the board will lose any credibility they still could have.

Too many years changing direction...

19/09/2014, 6:27 PM
Do it ! For the sake of :ball:

I'm hearing a lot of conflicting stories about what's going on so i don't know what to believe... Best one yet is that the great Pat Devlin is planning a take over of the club!
Wasn't able to justify the cost with the trip to Dundalk coming up tomorrow, but will definitely try and make it down before the end of the season.

I've heard Kerry rumours before. I would presume there are still a few people involved with Tralee Dynamos who think they could get make an application at the heart of that. But both them and Meath would struggle to last long I think.

If Rovers can't stomach the expenses, will Cork and Pats?
Well it's not about stomaching the expense, it's more about whether it's worth the cost and Nutsy seems to think it'd be better spent on the first team. To be fair, there's no indication they will scrap it, just some vague murmuring.

wonder88
22/09/2014, 11:57 PM
If a club could get a solid fanbase of 300-400, then it should be able to field a team in a regional 1st division. Sadly it looks like it is hard to find such clubs. Also league membership costs need to come down. I would like to see Salthill Devon back, as I think there is enough players in the Galway region to support a 2nd LoI team.
Anyone have any idea what level of crowds Newcastle West, Thurles Town etc used to get?

David BOHie
23/09/2014, 12:14 AM
Do any LSL teams get 300/400+ every game while charging 10/15 quid? Surely not!

NeverFeltBetter
23/09/2014, 12:17 AM
If a club could get a solid fanbase of 300-400, then it should be able to field a team in a regional 1st division. Sadly it looks like it is hard to find such clubs. Also league membership costs need to come down. I would like to see Salthill Devon back, as I think there is enough players in the Galway region to support a 2nd LoI team.
Anyone have any idea what level of crowds Newcastle West, Thurles Town etc used to get?

Are you serious?

23/09/2014, 9:08 AM
Do any LSL teams get 300/400+ every game while charging 10/15 quid? Surely not!

They don't get that when it's free in

23/09/2014, 9:18 AM
Saying that wonder88 shows you have no idea of the footballing situation in Galway. Salthill, who are now in the second tier of junior football are up the creek without a paddle, seeing as they are struggling to field a team of 11 for their matches. They may have good training facilities but that is all they have at the moment. Football players in Galway are seeing them in their true colours now and are keeping well clear of the club. Also, they would have to then step down from their directors positions at Galway FC as they would not be able to hold these positions in both clubs.

23/09/2014, 9:40 AM
Ideally, the FAI would take a bit of initiative and help the likes of this Meath FC, maybe get in contact with Tipperary Junior Leagues, and a few others that either haven't seen LOI football in years, or have never seen it, and give them a few incentives to join the league.

Without guidance from the governing body, there's going to be nobody interested once again.

I hate to bring it up again, but it's really pointing towards one large division again for a season or two as the only option going forward.

David BOHie
23/09/2014, 9:43 AM

Had a feeling!

I remember reading on another thread a while back that Greystones get decent attendances sometimes. But there are two teams in the town. Same for Mullingar. Doesn't seem feasible to forcibly merge them. The LOI has problems that have been caused from years of mismanagement

forza
23/09/2014, 9:30 PM

Some the LSL teams do charge in for believe it or not. Mate of mine was playing with Bangor last year his da was saying it was €5 into home games.

He said other clubs often charged as well.

24/09/2014, 9:03 AM
Some the LSL teams do charge in for believe it or not. Mate of mine was playing with Bangor last year his da was saying it was €5 into home games.

He said other clubs often charged as well.

Yeah, some do but none of them get close to 400 in (even the clubs that don't charge in). Sorry for confusuion

24/09/2014, 11:42 AM
Saying that wonder88 shows you have no idea of the footballing situation in Galway. Salthill, who are now in the second tier of junior football are up the creek without a paddle, seeing as they are struggling to field a team of 11 for their matches. They may have good training facilities but that is all they have at the moment. Football players in Galway are seeing them in their true colours now and are keeping well clear of the club. Also, they would have to then step down from their directors positions at Galway FC as they would not be able to hold these positions in both clubs.

Just to add to that, a club who were so successful at juvenile level through the years, could not field teams at u13 or u18 levels this past weekend.

NeverFeltBetter
24/09/2014, 12:17 PM
And regardless, if there was ever going to be a second Galway team (and their shouldn't, not for the foreseeable future at any rate) it should be Mervue, not Salthill. They became competitive at least.

24/09/2014, 12:27 PM
You can see Salthill Devon's stats here;

http://statsthatarepointless.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/salthill-devon-in-the-league-of-ireland/

In their 4 years in the League, Salthill Devon finished bottom each time and didn’t win a single FAI/League Cup tie against League opposition. They may go down as the worst LOI club of all time.

seand
24/09/2014, 1:46 PM
In their 4 years in the League, Salthill Devon finished bottom each time and didn’t win a single FAI/League Cup tie against League opposition. They may go down as the worst LOI club of all time.

The Village People might have something to say about that ;)

#anorakfootballreference

wonder88
24/09/2014, 8:29 PM
I always preferred to watch a game in Drom than in Fahy's field, especially on a fine summer evening. People may know that there is no Connacht senior league and there is enough players around Galway that could play at current 1st Division LoI standard, especially with two big 3rd level colleges. If Galway FC get promotion, will most of the players playing at Deacy Park this season be kept on? If not, where can they play at appropriate standard?

Having to vacate the positions on the Board of Galway FC may not be a negative for Loi soccer in Galway. The major problem is that they could not attract any fans, same with Mervue and UCD. But B teams will be the same, so if no other new teams come forward and they can afford it why not Salthill. However you would need a budget of around 140k to ensure a club would not be stuck at the bottom of the table, not the 80k Shamrock R are reported to be spending.
Disclosure. When there are no games on in Terryland, Drom would be handy enough for me to get to. I envy Dublin based Loi fans.

Titan
24/09/2014, 9:08 PM
So does anybody know if there were any expressions of interest this time round? If not what are the Fai doing to encourage new entrants? Surely if cost of travel is one of the major factors the Fai could look at helping out? No? Yes I'm very naive! You'd think after all these years involved with the LOI that I'd know better but there ye go!!!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/09/2014, 9:18 PM
Just to add to that, a club who were so successful at juvenile level through the years, could not field teams at u13 or u18 levels this past weekend.

Ah I missed Galway fans giving out about Salthill

24/09/2014, 10:03 PM
This topic has replaced the asterisk as the annual guaranteed talking point.

NeverFeltBetter
25/09/2014, 12:33 AM
I always preferred to watch a game in Drom than in Fahy's field, especially on a fine summer evening. People may know that there is no Connacht senior league and there is enough players around Galway that could play at current 1st Division LoI standard, especially with two big 3rd level colleges. If Galway FC get promotion, will most of the players playing at Deacy Park this season be kept on? If not, where can they play at appropriate standard?

Having to vacate the positions on the Board of Galway FC may not be a negative for Loi soccer in Galway. The major problem is that they could not attract any fans, same with Mervue and UCD. But B teams will be the same, so if no other new teams come forward and they can afford it why not Salthill. However you would need a budget of around 140k to ensure a club would not be stuck at the bottom of the table, not the 80k Shamrock R are reported to be spending.
Disclosure. When there are no games on in Terryland, Drom would be handy enough for me to get to. I envy Dublin based Loi fans.

Galway cannot support more than one LOI team. The whole situation there was one of the LOI's most embarrassing aspects. It took several gruelling years for that reality to get ingrained enough in the heads of the people involved in the clubs there. I find it astonishing you seem to be seriously suggesting that decision get reversed. You can say what you like about B teams, but at least they would serve a larger purpose to the league than Salthill's constant last place finishes.

25/09/2014, 1:34 AM
Whatever about Salthill's dire performance in the LOI and their subsequent unsavoury role in the demise and half-baked ressurection of Galway United, they did earn their spot in the league on the football field and they provided the funding to do so. The real issue is they were promoted to a closed league they were, in the long-term, ill-equipped to compete in short of cannibalising football in the city. That was 100% the failing of the FAI and the League of Ireland and a failing that will probably never be properly rectified.

Real ale Madrid
25/09/2014, 8:02 AM
This topic has replaced the asterisk as the annual guaranteed talking point.

Progression !

25/09/2014, 8:45 AM
Galway cannot support more than one LOI team
They can barely support one

Trainee
25/09/2014, 3:31 PM
Whats the average attendance when non LOI teams play each other in FAI cup first round?. My opinion is that any team who cannot guarantee a min attendance of 500 at home games has no business in joining LOI as they wont last. eg Kildare County.

If FAI are to go down route of making new teams, I would like that club to be allowed a year or 2 to set up proper sustainable structures in place, be given time to build a fan base so they can succeed, otherwise we will have another Sporting Fingal.

I would like to either see an non LOI team join the league, but unless its going to be a sustainable for the club in years to come its a waste of time & we should have 1 div.

25/09/2014, 4:42 PM
My opinion is that any team who cannot guarantee a min attendance of 500 at home games has no business in joining LOI as they wont last.

..so...half the current First Division teams?

25/09/2014, 5:42 PM
How the **** are you supposed to guarantee something like that? You could certainly hope and expect it but no more.

25/09/2014, 6:05 PM
Coming from a Galway Utd fan as well, or the current reincarnation of them, tut tut :rolleyes:

Olander
25/09/2014, 6:30 PM
My opinion is that any team who cannot guarantee a min attendance of 500 at home games has no business in joining LOI as they wont last.
The team leading the First Division can't get 500 at their home games.

NeverFeltBetter
25/09/2014, 7:06 PM
Forget the first, several teams in the top tier can't get that.

Olander
25/09/2014, 7:38 PM
Forget the first, several teams in the top tier can't get that.
True, it's a silly suggestion.

NeverFeltBetter
25/09/2014, 7:53 PM
Just to emphasise the point with nigel-harps' very appreciated stats, the average attendance for the First is actually under 500 a game: http://foot.ie/threads/187964-Attendances-2014?p=1780552&viewfull=1#post1780552

And it's actually up on the last two years to boot, probably because Salthill and Mervue's numbers are no longer being factored in.

25/09/2014, 8:40 PM
Any new teams entering the LOI should have to sign say a 5 year contract stating there intent on staying in the league. The FAI entry fees over this 5 year period should be then gradually introduced year on year until the 5th year where they would have to pay the same as everyone else (E.g. if say the yearly fees were 50 grand, the 1st year the new club would have to pay 10 grand, the second year 20 grand etc.) This would at least give the new clubs a bit of leeway in laying a more solid foundation in the league. If the club that comes in cannot meet these requirements say come year 3, some sort of penalty could be applied (cash fines aimed at the board of the club and/or playing restrictions of the club in other leagues etc), so the pros and cons of the contract would be levelled out.

26/09/2014, 7:49 AM
The team leading the First Division can't get 500 at their home games.

We can, in fairness, and are lately but we couldn't guarantee it.

Olander
26/09/2014, 1:16 PM
We can, in fairness, and are lately but we couldn't guarantee it.
You're leading the Division and more than likely going to win it. You should be getting around the 1000 mark at most of your home games.

Both of our games against you at Flancare were very poorly attended. The game in April had barely 400 at it, I couldn't believe how poor the crowd was. You brought over half that to Terryland on the opening day.

NeverFeltBetter
26/09/2014, 1:28 PM
Limerick's average the year they won the FD was something like 750, and that's a city with 90K (Wiki, includes suburbs). Don't be so quick to criticise Longford, who have less than a 10K population.

Edit: 734. (http://foot.ie/threads/163317-2012-attendances?p=1635431&viewfull=1#post1635431) That's 1 in 124. Longford are getting 1 in 22.

26/09/2014, 1:48 PM
You're leading the Division and more than likely going to win it. You should be getting around the 1000 mark at most of your home games.

I love these sort of statements. Who says what crowds clubs should be getting? As long as the club is sustainable they're grand. I'm sure they'd love to get more and are trying to do so, but the main thing is the club is in good shape.

26/09/2014, 2:50 PM
Even when we were winning cups and in the top 5 in the league we weren't getting 1000 regularly. As pointed out above we're working with a very small population.

26/09/2014, 5:52 PM
Even when we were winning cups and in the top 5 in the league we weren't getting 1000 regularly. As pointed out above we're working with a very small population.

It's simple then isn't it. Clubs don't need to attract more fans in the gate, they need to attract more citizens to their home towns and the crowds will surely grow exponentially. :p

26/09/2014, 7:48 PM
There's a pretty big group of people who used to go to matches back then every week, who don't live near Longford these days as well. The poor old town is fairly dead at the best of times. I think the highest average season attendance we had was somewhere in the region of 1,200, that'd be well over 10% of Longford Towns total population these days wouldn't it? This was also all during the winter seasons which suited our fan base better.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/09/2014, 9:06 PM
Pretty sure Longford won't be taking advice from Galway on how to run their club

gufcfan
26/09/2014, 9:20 PM
Pretty sure Longford won't be taking advice from Galway on how to run their club

Galway fans were the problem. Nail on the head. You have such insight.

legendz
12/10/2014, 7:25 PM
Most LoI supporters are against the idea of play-offs. Most clubs probably are as well. I'd be traditionalist enough as well.

The league is well down the sporting discussions of our country. The only story most will have heard of this year is the Dublin derby called off due to a divet on the pitch!

The unwanted option of an end of season play-off is possibly one option to create media coverage over a number of weeks and grab the imagination of people. The one off event is part of our sporting public.

I can't see it happening. Noone here will want to see it happening. I guess here ends the discussion!

disgruntled
12/10/2014, 8:37 PM
To be honest if a club or fans don't want to be involved in an end of season play off which might get them promoted or save their place in the League then they might just as well not bother at all.

The main goal of clubs, players & fans in football should be to get as high as you possibly can either in the League or personal playing standards but do so in a sustainable manner & not in the hand to mouth fashion that most League of Ireland clubs continue to be run & let that take you where it will.

There are many clubs in this country who are run in a sustainable basis & have risen to their own level.
They can maintain that level no matter what happens because they are run within their means & not on some boom & bust philosophy which if it works is fine but if it fails it leaves them bust & broken beyond repair.
These clubs still maintain an ambition to rise higher if the opportunity arises.

The League of Ireland is full of the ghosts of clubs who thought they could spend their way to success, money which they didn't have.

People should not confuse failing to run a club in a reckless manner with a lack of ambition.

NeverFeltBetter
12/10/2014, 9:56 PM
Most LoI supporters are against the idea of play-offs.

On what basis do you make that statement? I'm not aware of any sort of mass resentment of the play-off idea. Maybe parts of how it is carried out, but not the idea itself.

13/10/2014, 10:16 AM
I can't see it happening. Noone here will want to see it happening. I guess here ends the discussion!

You'd never post if the criteria for your posts included a likelihood that "it might happen" clause

13/10/2014, 10:26 AM
My main issue with the play off as it currently is, is that it should be a Promotion Play Off only*. Should be 2 down and 2 up.

*This opinion is subject to change, this time next year!

legendz
13/10/2014, 12:25 PM
I should clarify by play-off, I'm on about that sacrilegious thing for the Premier Division title.

seand
13/10/2014, 12:30 PM
I'd generally be opposed to an end of season playoff system with, say, the top 4 playing off for the title (as in some other leagues and some other sports). I don't see the harm in having a playoff match for the league title if teams finish level on points though. This could be implemented next season, obviously!

NeverFeltBetter
13/10/2014, 2:04 PM
Oh right, I just assumed you meant the promotion play-off because of the thread. No, I wouldn't be behind that idea either I suppose. This isn't the pro-12. 33 games is enough to determine a winner, and the FAI Cup fills the void of "end of season showdown" well enough.

Maybe a play-off for the last European place? 3rd against 4th over two-legs?

But anyway, this doesn't seem like the thread for this discussion.

13/10/2014, 6:21 PM
I should clarify by play-off, I'm on about that sacrilegious thing for the Premier Division title.
Just lumping on a playoff on top of the existing structure I would be 100% opposed.

I am open minded if it was part of a wider restructuring of football, such as if we introduced a conference system that included all senior clubs.