View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

Second
22/11/2013, 8:58 AM
Talking about writing tripe. Both players downes and barry both play up front.. so your comment is pointless. Agree too many players changing clubs. But the players sign the form not the club. .

Two Feet Up
22/11/2013, 9:05 AM
Talking about writing tripe. Both players downes and barry both play up front.. so your comment is pointless. Agree too many players changing clubs. But the players sign the form not the club. .

are they similar type players?

Second
22/11/2013, 9:31 AM

You said think about the position of both players . Not similarity

old git
22/11/2013, 9:48 AM

no one plays for the B team and one for the A Team... Barry was out injured for b team missed 3-4 games and is then brought straight back after injury to play for A Team for one game and Downes left on the Bench ?? if i was The A team player i would be asking manager what is going on

Two Feet Up
22/11/2013, 9:49 AM
You said think about the position of both players . Not similarity
you forgot about tactics. I am glad you pick the parts of the topic to discuss/argue over?

do you think Jordan and evan are like for like? if you do they the argument may be relative if not then......

Second
22/11/2013, 10:29 AM
you forgot about tactics. I am glad you pick the parts of the topic to discuss/argue over?

do you think Jordan and evan are like for like? if you do they the argument may be relative if not then......

Well they both play up front and from what ive seen both like to play a no 10 role so ya they are similar.

Senna
22/11/2013, 11:00 AM
Pretty sure Downes is a winger /midfielder.. Saw him play centre midfield for Shannon town youths last season and was told he was a winger all the way up through schoolboy, but was played up front for town A team last season.. Whenever I seen him play last year he was brilliant but I've heard he isn't in the best of form since joining hibs and looks like a player completely lacking confidence. We have to remember the kid is only 17 and the managers have to pick the best team they possibly can, in my opinion Evan would be the obvious choice to play up front, Downes still has plenty of time to prove himself I'm sure he won't be too annoyed about Evan Barry starting ahead of him

Two Feet Up
22/11/2013, 11:34 AM
Well they both play up front and from what ive seen both like to play a no 10 role so ya they are similar.

strange, to me barry seemed like a point of attack player, tall, physical, direct, where as Downes seems more lightweight, not tall, good skill, good with ball to feet etc...yeah I suppose they are similar

Two Feet Up
22/11/2013, 12:33 PM
after the issue with the ref's , with this cold patch of weather I wonder will games go ahead the weekend?

Second
22/11/2013, 1:48 PM
strange, to me barry seemed like a point of attack player, tall, physical, direct, where as Downes seems more lightweight, not tall, good skill, good with ball to feet etc...yeah I suppose they are similar

Barry tall you really are dillusional

Two Feet Up
22/11/2013, 2:09 PM
Barry tall you really are dillusional

sorry I didn't quantify 'tall' :p.

From seeing them play Barry looks a bit taller and has more physical presence than Downes. I think Downes came on in the same game, who was the better performer do you know?

Hibs7772
22/11/2013, 3:16 PM
Second, Jordan Downes is a winger so they play two completely different positions. Ev Barry would be the more physical player of the two and as for the better performer Two Feet Up, surely that would be a matter of opinion

Second
24/11/2013, 10:30 PM
Hibs7772 any report on your cup game. Bad result for ye. What sort of team had ye missing a few I pressume.. any reason to why town match was off .. went up to watch 1st half but they were just training instead..

Two Feet Up
25/11/2013, 7:57 AM
Hibs7772 any report on your cup game. Bad result for ye. What sort of team had ye missing a few I pressume.. any reason to why town match was off .. went up to watch 1st half but they were just training instead..

kennedy park were a no show for the Shannon town game in the lawson

Second
25/11/2013, 8:06 AM
kennedy park were a no show for the Shannon town game in the lawson

That explains that so.. cheers

old git
25/11/2013, 3:00 PM

heard hibs only Had the Bare 11 players Suprised game went ahead as Hibs Managers wifes father passed away on Friday . I take it Shannon town got the walkover

Second
25/11/2013, 3:46 PM
Didn't hear that r.i.p. .. ya surely town got walkover but you never know with ldmc .
Only 11 players is shocking

Hibs7772
25/11/2013, 5:58 PM
Yeah bad result for us! yeah we had 11, 3 or 4 missing for different reasons but sure it's always the same, missing a few and have between 11-14 players so it's hardly a surprise?? Always the same players there on a Sunday and Tuesday and Thursday for training, the lack of interest in football around the town with young fellas aged between 16-20 is what's shocking! Does Shannon even have a youths team in any league this year?

Second
25/11/2013, 6:06 PM
Dont know if theres a youths team in shannon not that I know off .. what was the line ??

Second
25/11/2013, 6:08 PM
Agree on the youth of shannon. No interest in any sports.. drink too easy to get I think for u18s

Senna
25/11/2013, 7:25 PM
Shannon town youths team folded half way through the season last year while they were top of the premier. Says a lot about young players coming up in Shannon. Majority of them are a shower of eejits imo have no commitment whatsoever and ego's bigger than the collection of empty cans under their beds.

old git
26/11/2013, 12:05 AM
Shannon town youths team folded half way through the season last year while they were top of the premier. Says a lot about young players coming up in Shannon. Majority of them are a shower of eejits imo have no commitment whatsoever and ego's bigger than the collection of empty cans under their beds.

well said senna but must say also some of the older players could show them a thing our two about being proper eejits when it comes to showing some commitment also :D

Hibs7772
26/11/2013, 12:29 AM
Predictions for Sunday:

Shannon Town 4-0 Newport
Mungret 3-1 Knockainey
Caherdavin vs Shannon Hibs

Why are none of the other teams in 1A playing?

Knockainey still top of the league by 3 pts, surprised with that to be honest, wasn't impressed by them when we played them, alot of better teams in the league!

Second
26/11/2013, 6:13 AM
Predictions for Sunday:

Shannon Town 4-0 Newport
Mungret 3-1 Knockainey
Caherdavin vs Shannon Hibs

Why are none of the other teams in 1A playing?

Knockainey still top of the league by 3 pts, surprised with that to be honest, wasn't impressed by them when we played them, alot of better teams in the league!

Hospital -kilmallock and moyross playing fai
I think knockainey have had 8 home games and if I rememeber right their pitch is terrible

Hibs7772
26/11/2013, 1:21 PM
Hospital -kilmallock and moyross playing fai
I think knockainey have had 8 home games and if I rememeber right their pitch is terrible
Who do you fancy for promotion then second? If Knockainey go up they will get hammered every match in my opinion, alot better teams have went up and been beaten 5 and 6 every match

Second
26/11/2013, 1:39 PM
Haven't seen enough teams to call it but ill go for kilmallock to win and either mungret or caherdavin to be second.. but any team from caherdavin up has a chance

rooney10
28/11/2013, 8:20 AM
Shannon town 2-2 newport
mungret vs knockainey
caherdavin 6-0 Shannon hibs

Hibs7772
28/11/2013, 12:48 PM
Shannon town 2-2 newport
mungret vs knockainey
caherdavin 6-0 Shannon hibs
Not giving us much of a chance then and Shannon town to draw with Newport at home is a strange enough one i'd say as well. Take it you are involved with either Mungret or Knockainey since you didn't predict a result?

big mac
29/11/2013, 1:00 PM
Not involved with Mungret anyway Hibs7772.

Shannon Town 2 - 1 Newport
Caherdavin 3 - 3 Shannon Hibs

Senna
30/11/2013, 9:59 AM
Shannon town 2-2 Newport
Caherdavin 4-1 Shannon Hibs
Mungret 3-1 Knockainey

big mac
01/12/2013, 4:40 PM
Mungret Regional 1 - 0 Knockainey

Second
01/12/2013, 4:42 PM
Mungret Regional 1 - 0 Knockainey

Shannon town 2 -2 newport
caherdavin 4-1 shannon hibs

Two Feet Up
02/12/2013, 1:52 PM
Shannon town 2 -2 newport
caherdavin 4-1 shannon hibs

things getting tight at the top and bottom

Second
02/12/2013, 2:20 PM
Any reports on these games or shannon teams line ups

Lev Yashin
02/12/2013, 3:19 PM
Any reports on these games or shannon teams line ups

Shannon Town team was

Aherne
F. McCarthy Hogan Grffin M. O'Connel

Burke Darcy Glynn S. McCarthy

Carew Kelly

Newport were a lot better than their league position suggests. The movement up front caused us problems. I would be surprised if they were still down the bottom come the end of the season

Second
02/12/2013, 3:28 PM
Cheers. Not a bad team..had ye many subs I heard hibs only had 10 v caherdavin.
Also heard newport have alot of hurlers I pressume they have them all back now..

Lev Yashin
02/12/2013, 3:32 PM
Also heard newport have alot of hurlers I pressume they have them all back now..

Three or Four subs....Gary O'Connell David O'Flaherty, and Rashid

Second
02/12/2013, 3:33 PM
Cheers rashid a local lad I pressume :-)

Lev Yashin
02/12/2013, 3:36 PM
Cheers rashid a local lad I pressume :-)

Drumgeely born and bred...has his own seat in the crossroads.

Second
02/12/2013, 3:47 PM
Ha ha any good .. o connell and fla strong subs to have

Hibs7772
02/12/2013, 4:09 PM
Gary O'Connell on the bench? Surely he would be one of your best players? something like 7 goals from midfield in the first 10 or so games

Senna
02/12/2013, 6:04 PM
Is that Shane McCarthy left wing??

Anyone have the hibs line-up from Saturday

old git
02/12/2013, 11:08 PM

hibs had 11 but saying that the 11th player was a b team player who only went out to watch game and got a game :D so I heard

old git
02/12/2013, 11:10 PM
Is that Shane McCarthy left wing??

Anyone have the hibs line-up from Saturday

shane mc carthy thought he retired at the end of last season again :confused: played for town b team most of last season

old git
02/12/2013, 11:52 PM

lev ,, what's the story with gary on the bench injuries or managerial decision ? he has been one of your best players so far this season

Lev Yashin
03/12/2013, 8:00 PM
lev ,, what's the story with gary on the bench injuries or managerial decision ? he has been one of your best players so far this season

Gary was running a bit late on sunday morning and the team was named before he arrived. He has been our best player and will continue to be I'm sure

old git
03/12/2013, 9:05 PM
Gary was running a bit late on sunday morning and the team was named before he arrived. He has been our best player and will continue to be I'm sure

fair enough would be unfair on other players to start him after that and no fear of gary to continue playing well for ye

gaiscíoch
03/12/2013, 9:27 PM
Shannon Town team was

Aherne
F. McCarthy Hogan Grffin M. O'Connel

Burke Darcy Glynn S. McCarthy

Carew Kelly

Newport were a lot better than their league position suggests. The movement up front caused us problems. I would be surprised if they were still down the bottom come the end of the season

I have seen funerals move faster than that back four no wonder ye struggled with a bit of movement.:p

Shuffleruns
03/12/2013, 9:50 PM
hahahaha they'll finish around where they are now I'd say and that'd be a good season for them too ;)
the size of shannon you'd think there'd be a decent team from the three. shame really.

old git
04/12/2013, 9:46 AM
Gary O'Connell on the bench? Surely he would be one of your best players? something like 7 goals from midfield in the first 10 or so games

HIBS7772

Any news for us heard big meeting up at riverside last night