View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19

Shuffleruns
21/01/2014, 2:14 PM
When do hibs v town play again? And which club is at home?

Hibs7772
21/01/2014, 3:10 PM
I was being sarcastic lads! Not sure when we play Town Shuffleruns but I know that they are at home for it

newport legend
21/01/2014, 10:04 PM
Newport haven't signed any one just got all last years squad back. Had alot playing hurling at start of the season. Lads putting in big effort last couple of months with training which is great to see

Hibs7772
04/02/2014, 7:43 AM
Mungret Reg v Caherdavin Celtic, 10.30, D Power
Pike Rvs v Dromore Celtic, 10.30, M Bourke
Knockainey v Shannon Hibs, 10.30, G Clancy
Kilmallock v Shannon Town, 10.30, K Gorman
Moyross v Caherconlish, 10.30, N Casey

Fixtures for Sunday's matches anyone any idea if these will go ahead with the weather and flooding as bad as it is??

Second
04/02/2014, 8:26 AM
Mungret Reg v Caherdavin Celtic, 10.30, D Power
Pike Rvs v Dromore Celtic, 10.30, M Bourke
Knockainey v Shannon Hibs, 10.30, G Clancy
Kilmallock v Shannon Town, 10.30, K Gorman
Moyross v Caherconlish, 10.30, N Casey

Fixtures for Sunday's matches anyone any idea if these will go ahead with the weather and flooding as bad as it is??

Weather promised terrible again from thursday on.. cant see games going ahead. But if they do it should be all home wins

Zizou
22/02/2014, 6:11 PM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-bHRSZCELhhg/UBVRhP_IheI/AAAAAAAA6Go/n86xembre-4/s1600/6953ebc5_10383060.jpg

old git
27/02/2014, 9:44 AM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-bHRSZCELhhg/UBVRhP_IheI/AAAAAAAA6Go/n86xembre-4/s1600/6953ebc5_10383060.jpg

Zizou

The pike pitch is never that bad ? Any shannon town lads can you confirm any truth ye are looking for a new manager ?

Lev Yashin
27/02/2014, 10:17 AM
Zizou

The pike pitch is never that bad ? Any shannon town lads can you confirm any truth ye are looking for a new manager ?

No. We have a manager in place. Brian Keane has taken over.

Two Feet Up
27/02/2014, 10:36 AM

what has happened there? a few pages back it was mentioned how good the 'old' manager was doing, numbers etc training?

Second
27/02/2014, 11:50 AM

Is that brian the B team manager ??

Lev Yashin
27/02/2014, 2:55 PM
what has happened there? a few pages back it was mentioned how good the 'old' manager was doing, numbers etc training?

He was getting good numbers and training was good...
Brian wasn't managing the B-team this year that is Darren Keane.

old git
27/02/2014, 3:10 PM

cheers for that, Strange to see colm go with so many games left and ye were getting the bodies training / etc unlike alot of other clubs

Lev Yashin
27/02/2014, 3:14 PM
cheers for that, Strange to see colm go with so many games left and ye were getting the bodies training / etc unlike alot of other clubs

Agreed. Came as a shock alright

Hibs7772
05/03/2014, 1:06 AM
anyone any clue as to whether the matches will go ahead this weekend? With the weather and the reffing situation being the way they are, becoming a bit of a joke now no matches have gone ahead in 3 months apart from MJ and FAI

Lev Yashin
09/03/2014, 11:50 AM
Shannon town 5 hospital 1

Hibs7772
09/03/2014, 1:23 PM
Shannon town 5 hospital 1
Good result for ye! Who scored for ye??

Hibs7772
09/03/2014, 1:24 PM
Knockainey 3-0 Shannon Hibs

Lev Yashin
09/03/2014, 1:54 PM
Good result for ye! Who scored for ye??

Gary O'Connell got two. Gerry Kelly. Adrian carew and Jay Regan

Second
09/03/2014, 3:02 PM
What was the line up for hibs and town.

Lev Yashin
09/03/2014, 4:04 PM
What was the line up for hibs and town.

Aherne
Carthy fla. Darcy. M. O'Connell

Burke Glynn G.O'Connell carew

Kelly Buckley

Hibs7772
16/03/2014, 12:07 PM
Shannon Hibs 1-1 Hospital
Pike B 2-2 Shannon Town
Caherconlish 0-5 Kilmallock

don't panic
16/03/2014, 6:42 PM
Watched first half, B Team football

Hibs7772
16/03/2014, 6:49 PM
Watched first half, B Team football
I take it you're talking about the Hibs match, don't panic?

don't panic
16/03/2014, 6:55 PM
Thought that

don't panic
16/03/2014, 6:58 PM
Though that was obvious. And trying not to be too disrespectful to the players on view today

Hibs7772
16/03/2014, 8:37 PM
Though that was obvious. And trying not to be too disrespectful to the players on view today
Well to be fair majority of the players playing came up from the B team so maybe that is why you called it B team football. I thought we played some good stuff in patches but I agree there was alot of aimless long balls hit over the top. All in all I'd say a point a piece was a fair result and with Caherconlish getting battered 5-0 by Kilmallock you'd have to say a good point for us!

Shuffleruns
16/03/2014, 9:10 PM
Well to be fair majority of the players playing came up from the B team so maybe that is why you called it B team football. I thought we played some good stuff in patches but I agree there was alot of aimless long balls hit over the top. All in all I'd say a point a piece was a fair result and with Caherconlish getting battered 5-0 by Kilmallock you'd have to say a good point for us!

are hibs safe now?

old git
16/03/2014, 9:44 PM
are hibs safe now?

no still in trouble 3rd bottom with 12 points .. dromore look to be gone with 1 point and caherconlish 4 points behinds hibs with 2 games in hand

don't panic
17/03/2014, 10:42 PM
Hibs Will stay up with but the club is a disaster. Every thing that went wrong with Newton is happening again and the same people are making those mistakes

old git
18/03/2014, 12:23 PM
Hibs Will stay up with but the club is a disaster. Every thing that went wrong with Newton is happening again and the same people are making those mistakes

think your wrong there dont panic newtown and park joined together and all the park people have now left positions in club ?? so it looks like the ex Newtown people are trying to keep the club going for the future with no help from anybody in park

Hibs7772
18/03/2014, 3:38 PM
are hibs safe now?

no still in trouble 3rd bottom with 12 points .. dromore look to be gone with 1 point and caherconlish 4 points behinds hibs with 2 games in hand
Hibs have 13 and Caherconlish have 8 with Caherconlish having 2 games in hand and as you said Dromore look as though they are gone with only 1 point on the board. With a bitta luck we should stay up alot of mid table teams playing for nothing this time of year so i think alot depends on who both teams have left to play in the final 6-8 matches

Shuffleruns
18/03/2014, 4:52 PM
Town v Hibs should be a cracker so!

gaiscíoch
18/03/2014, 6:31 PM
think your wrong there dont panic newtown and park joined together and all the park people have now left positions in club ?? so it looks like the ex Newtown people are trying to keep the club going for the future with no help from anybody in park

Did they leave of their own will or were they pushed away? What's the story with the AGM when does this usually take place? Do you know who is on the committee? I haven't a clue anymore? All the usual heads are gone it seems?

gaiscíoch
18/03/2014, 6:37 PM
Town v Hibs should be a cracker so! Shannon town should win that handy. Hibs have no players left and Shannon town have an extremely good side (by Shannon standards of course) it's Shannon towns game to lose and surely on paper it should be 3 or 4 nil?

old git
18/03/2014, 8:52 PM
Did they leave of their own will or were they pushed away? What's the story with the AGM when does this usually take place? Do you know who is on the committee? I haven't a clue anymore? All the usual heads are gone it seems?

cant comment on why they left but if pushed away im sure we would have heard about it ? agm usually end of season and advertised in the clare courier ... committee as far as I know tom mc dade chairman / stoney wall / Bernard / daisy halpin / jimmy houlihan / Jason (don't know his second name ) and that's It but I may be wrong

old git
18/03/2014, 8:53 PM
Shannon town should win that handy. Hibs have no players left and Shannon town have an extremely good side (by Shannon standards of course) it's Shannon towns game to lose and surely on paper it should be 3 or 4 nil?

would agree with you on town winning game but disagree with them having an extremely good side

Hibs7772
18/03/2014, 9:24 PM
Shannon town should win that handy. Hibs have no players left and Shannon town have an extremely good side (by Shannon standards of course) it's Shannon towns game to lose and surely on paper it should be 3 or 4 nil?
Wouldn't say that any team that is 7th in 1A is an "extremely good side" but you're right on paper they probably should win it but the game isn't played on paper haha

AC Melon
18/03/2014, 9:39 PM
When Town played Hibs earlier in the season apparently everyone expected Town to win, anything can happen in derby games, it takes 1 goal or 1 bad tackle to change a game so I wouldn't write of Hibs, They have a few handy ball players that can put it up to Town!

old git
18/03/2014, 10:25 PM
When Town played Hibs earlier in the season apparently everyone expected Town to win, anything can happen in derby games, it takes 1 goal or 1 bad tackle to change a game so I wouldn't write of Hibs, They have a few handy ball players that can put it up to Town!

indeed anything can happen in derby games but I would fancy town to shade it and I hope hibs don't concentrate to much on trying beat Shannon town and forget about other games to try and get three points on another note any fixtures for next weekend ?

Lev Yashin
19/03/2014, 8:25 AM
indeed anything can happen in derby games but I would fancy town to shade it and I hope hibs don't concentrate to much on trying beat Shannon town and forget about other games to try and get three points on another note any fixtures for next weekend ?

Without wanting to sound like a cliche, these game normally come down to who wants it more.

From what I can see there are no fixtures in 1A next weekend...

harpin
19/03/2014, 9:34 AM
Knockainey top of this league, they were 3rd in 1B last year no?

What's standard like this year? Who'll go Premier

Shuffleruns
20/03/2014, 5:10 PM
Mungret, knockainey, killmallock or moyross will go up

Hibs7772
20/03/2014, 8:59 PM
Anyone know who Knockainey have left to play? we've played them twice now and i can't for the life of me see how they are top of the league. They are fairly poor in my opinion. Will be very surprised if they go up and if they do go up they will be battered in the premier unless they sign a few. Kilmallock best footballing side in 1A by a country mile. Say Kilmallock will win the league and Mungret to get promoted with them.

Beam me up
20/03/2014, 9:43 PM
Shannon Town.. extremely good side ??? sorry they are only an average team in 1A
Agree that Kilmallock are by far the best team in this division...play good football once they get their strongest players turned out.
Both Park and Newtown had a nucleus of really good football people involved in their clubs and an amalgamation on paper was the right decision however, it has not kicked on as they would have hoped. Park people were not pushed away it just happens there are mostly ex Newtown people left trying to keep the club going. It is very difficult for people to stay involved with a club when they are getting little to nothing back from players in regards to interest and enthusiasm.
Hibs still has by far the best football facilities in the town.
There should be another amalgamation between Hibs, Town and Olympic but too many people happy to plod on year after year with mediocore schoolboy and junior teams.
If there had been a full amalgamation 20 yrs ago Shannon could have had a real chance of an FAI Cup or Limerick Premier Title now the best you could hope for is beating relegation in the Premier.

Shuffleruns
21/03/2014, 8:58 AM
Knockainey top of this league, they were 3rd in 1B last year no?

What's standard like this year? Who'll go Premier

Doesn't say much for the league when a team that got promoted from 1B is sitting top of 1a and looks like will go up again. Fair play to them mind.

Lev Yashin
21/03/2014, 1:35 PM
Doesn't say much for the league when a team that got promoted from 1B is sitting top of 1a and looks like will go up again. Fair play to them mind.

Sure isn't it the same situation with the Premier with Geraldines in second position? Some teams really kick on after a promotion and he momentum can keep them winning. Others find themselves out of their depth.
Also teams pick up players after getting promoted and improve Squad/Team.

gaiscíoch
21/03/2014, 6:54 PM
Shannon Town.. extremely good side ??? sorry they are only an average team in 1A
Agree that Kilmallock are by far the best team in this division...play good football once they get their strongest players turned out.
Both Park and Newtown had a nucleus of really good football people involved in their clubs and an amalgamation on paper was the right decision however, it has not kicked on as they would have hoped. Park people were not pushed away it just happens there are mostly ex Newtown people left trying to keep the club going. It is very difficult for people to stay involved with a club when they are getting little to nothing back from players in regards to interest and enthusiasm.
There should be another amalgamation between Hibs, Town and Olympic but too many people happy to plod on year after year with mediocore schoolboy and junior teams.
If there had been a full amalgamation 20 yrs ago Shannon could have had a real chance of an FAI Cup or Limerick Premier Title now the best you could hope for is beating relegation in the Premier.

Go back to sleep. No team from Shannon will ever or ever were good enough to win the fai junior cup. Of the clubs there now you would struggle to make a good junior side between them. Limerick league is not the place for Shannon teams. They should be in the clare league where the players might have a chance to win games.
Stop banging on about players not being loyal and all that bull. I have been around long enough and seen enough to know exactly what happens that causes these things. A player who shows up ever week and has put in the effort over the years often ended up being dropped in favour a new lad who showed half a bit of promise. The dislodged player thinks "thinks this is not right" (rightly so) and either moves else where or packs it in. Never forget without players clubs are nothing. These players go on to become the club men and give back to the club because they were loyal to them. It's a two way thing all too often over looked.

old git
21/03/2014, 9:01 PM
Go back to sleep. No team from Shannon will ever or ever were good enough to win the fai junior cup. Of the clubs there now you would struggle to make a good junior side between them. Limerick league is not the place for Shannon teams. They should be in the clare league where the players might have a chance to win games.
Stop banging on about players not being loyal and all that bull. I have been around long enough and seen enough to know exactly what happens that causes these things. A player who shows up ever week and has put in the effort over the years often ended up being dropped in favour a new lad who showed half a bit of promise. The dislodged player thinks "thinks this is not right" (rightly so) and either moves else where or packs it in. Never forget without players clubs are nothing. These players go on to become the club men and give back to the club because they were loyal to them. It's a two way thing all too often over looked.

gaiscioch

personally I think if only one club in Shannon going back 20 years or so based on previous town / newtown / park teams if we could have got 15-16 of their best players would have had a serious squad who would have had a good chance of winning fai ? agree that all Shannon teams should be playing in clare more chances of winning games and getting a decent run in munster / fai ..

Shuffleruns
21/03/2014, 10:05 PM

Couldnt agree more, well said

gaiscíoch
21/03/2014, 10:58 PM
gaiscioch

personally I think if only one club in Shannon going back 20 years or so based on previous town / newtown / park teams if we could have got 15-16 of their best players would have had a serious squad who would have had a good chance of winning fai ? agree that all Shannon teams should be playing in clare more chances of winning games and getting a decent run in munster / fai ..

The best chance a Shannon team ever had in the last 20 years was the park team some years ago. (Phil Purcell, scales etc in their pomp) that team managed by nobber and albert finnan was as successful as any Shannon team can ever be. Semi of the fai beaten in Waterford from what I remember? That In my opinion was the best junior side ever to come out of Shannon but they stilll came up short.