View Full Version : Ireland V Sweden(A) 22 March & Austria(H) - 26 March 2013 - World Cup 2014 Qualifiers
Pages :
[
4]
redobit
20/03/2013, 2:49 PM
On the radio that McShane has played in the first team for training two days in a row. I can only assume it was at RB. If he starts ahead of Coleman Trap might aswell pack his bags. Could he put Coleman at RM for this one?
Murfinator
20/03/2013, 3:01 PM
Will Sweden be playing a 3?
Technically no, but their system is a lot more complex and fluid than ours. Ibrahimovic typically plays as a trequartista these days dropping deep as an extra and very effective possession option in midfield when it suits him. They'll have an advanced forward like Ranegie or Elmander to distract defences from following him so he tends to find obscene amounts of space, when Sweden are pushing he takes up a different role so it's really going to be like playing 12 against him.
On the radio that McShane has played in the first team for training two days in a row. I can only assume it was at RB. If he starts ahead of Coleman Trap might aswell pack his bags. Could he put Coleman at RM for this one?
Given the inexperience of Brady and lack of form from McClean it'd be a very wise decision if he did. McShane is apparently playing well at the moment and has never been the disaster for us at RB that he has at CB, would be for that move.
the bear
20/03/2013, 3:02 PM
Based on the Poland friendly, McCarthy's game was affected adversely by having Whelan around him. I think he's better served by having someone more mobile and alive.
I never realised that Whelan had actually kicked the bucket, this explains a lot.
I'd love to see McCarthy and Hoolahan as part of a midfield 3 with a defensive man beside them, Green over Whelan hands down.
20/03/2013, 3:09 PM
RIP Glenn Whelan
the bear
20/03/2013, 3:19 PM
RIP Glenn Whelan
Rest In Possession
20/03/2013, 3:23 PM
Rest In Possession
Well you certainly can't say he died the way he lived.
the bear
20/03/2013, 3:28 PM
Well you certainly can't say he died the way he lived.
True, he never used to get in the box
20/03/2013, 3:32 PM
I thought McShane had pulled out injured?
20/03/2013, 3:41 PM
You hoped more like ;)
I think the argument that on paper we are similar and the fact you guys put them ahead of us, is largely down to the system and tactics employed by us. Granted they probably have more experience as older heads, that's only the real difference. It doesn't matter what past teams did, its the current team that matters.
TerryPhelan
20/03/2013, 3:45 PM
Great point - we have generally had an excellent record against the Scandinavians.
So, for the purposes of some much-needed optimism, I'm just sayin'...
Our recent record against Scandinavian sides:
v Finland (not strictly Scandinavian but what the hell): 3-0 win (2000 home), 3-0 win (2002 away)
v Denmark: 3-0 win (2002 home), 4-0 win (2007 away - and I was at it!)
v Norway: 1-0 win (2003 home), 1-1 (2008 away), 1-2 defeat (2010 home)
v Iceland: 4-2 win (1997 away)
v Sweden: 2-0 win (1999 home), 3-0 win (2006 home) - and that win was with Zlatan up front. For a whole 37 mins.
8 wins, 1 draw, 1 defeat... not a bad return, eh?!
Ciaran Clark is going to zlatanise Ibrahimovic and earn a big-money move to IFK Gothenburg off the back of it. Mark my words.
20/03/2013, 4:03 PM
You can balance that out against our awful record against Austria though. So three points would still be an excellent return from these two games whichever way you look at it!
20/03/2013, 4:05 PM
mcshane is not in the squad...
David Forde, Keiren Westwood, Darren Randolph, John O’Shea, Sean St Ledger, Ciaran Clark, Marc Wilson, Seamus Coleman, Stephen Kelly, Darren O’Dea, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Paul Green, Wes Hoolahan, Jeff Hendrick, James McClean, Andy Keogh, Robbie Brady, Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Conor Sammon, Jon Walters, Simon Cox.
20/03/2013, 4:22 PM
McShane is out for the rest of the season with ankle knack.
...or is this all part of Trap's grand plan?
edit: "fans' favourite"
http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/Hull-City-s-promotion-charge-rocked-Paul-McShane/story-18461285-detail/story.html#axzz2O6Mj6x8L
Colbert Report
20/03/2013, 4:40 PM
Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him! Perhaps he has regained some of that form we saw when he made his debut against the Czech back in about 2007? The match in which Kilbane scored our equaliser?
I don't want McShane anywhere near our squad, but I don't wish him any harm. It certainly would be nice to have another Irish player in the Premiership next season as we don't have nearly enough these days.
20/03/2013, 4:45 PM
He won player of the month for Hull last month as far as I remember. He's had a rough couple of years but he seems to have established himself as their main man in centre defence now.
edit: Kilbane put us 1-0 up against the Czechs. The equalised almost immediately with a shot that any keeper in the world an inch taller than Wayne Henderson would have saved.
Colbert Report
20/03/2013, 4:53 PM
He won player of the month for Hull last month as far as I remember. He's had a rough couple of years but he seems to have established himself as their main man in centre defence now.
edit: Kilbane put us 1-0 up against the Czechs. The equalised almost immediately with a shot that any keeper in the world an inch taller than Wayne Henderson would have saved.
Thanks. I remember McShane having big Jan Koller in his pocket for the entire match........except for that one moment. I remember phoning up my father and telling him that we had found our new Paul McGrath!
Crosby87
20/03/2013, 9:29 PM
Poor JByrne doesnt know what year it is again. Concussions are so horrible.
21/03/2013, 12:58 AM
Green started in the main XI in training again today alongside Whelan in midfield. Not looking good for Friday, especially considering the supposed 2nd XI hammered the first team in training today according to reports.
That's no problem just play the second XI!!
Anyone know what the second XI was?
DannyInvincible
21/03/2013, 8:47 AM
Green started in the main XI in training again today alongside Whelan in midfield. Not looking good for Friday, especially considering the supposed 2nd XI hammered the first team in training today according to reports.
I remember this being previously reported before another game and I think Trap went ahead with his "first eleven" selection. Was it at the Euros? If he sees his "second string" hammering his "first eleven", doesn't it raise serious questions in his own head with regard to those he's favouring? It'll be interesting to see if he considers/makes changes based on what he's seen in training.
Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him!
I don't think it's fair to say we hate him; he's our Paul. I certainly don't hate him. He has great heart; something other players sorely lack. It's just his ability is very suspect, but it's Trap who regularly selects him, after all. Who in their right mind would turn down a call-up claiming they weren't good enough so as to make way for another player?
NeverFeltBetter
21/03/2013, 9:34 AM
I don't hate him, I just don't think he deserves to be in the team. Could say that for a lot of players.
Murfinator
21/03/2013, 10:10 AM
The only difference between McShane and Clark is McShane has been given the chances to screw up in the past and has the scars to prove it. There's plenty more lads on the peripheral who certainly look like they have that capacity as well but were never allowed showcase it, like Clark.
the doc
21/03/2013, 10:19 AM
People relax, why all the doom and gloom?
I predict a draw, plus a sending off.
Back your team and country
Yes some questionable selections but that's football.
In Trap we must trust.
21/03/2013, 10:20 AM
McShane is 27. Clark is 23. In 4 years time you can talk in the past, if proved right, hardly now when the guy is still learning and only in his first proper year in the premiership.
p2011
21/03/2013, 11:32 AM
Well, doc, I'm backing the team too, but I don't see why we 'must' trust in Trap.
Lot of friendlies coming up this summer it seems, just a pity our manager doesn't even try to learn anything from friendlies.
That's no problem just play the second XI!!
Anyone know what the second XI was?
Well, judging by the squad, it probably had two of McCarthy, Hoolahan and Hendrick in midfield! Not hard to see how they might be superior to Trap's chosen two. I would rather see Hoolahan ahead of Green in a two-man midfield if we're stuck to 4-4-2. Yes, before anyone states the obvious, I know it's not Hoolahan's usual position but I'd still rather have a proper footballer in there. Trap is sabotaging our chances if we start with Whelan and Green in midfield. Do we not learn anything from the Euros? From basically having 6 or 8 (if you include the wingers getting back to cover the fullbacks) defensive players on the park and 2 (or 4) isolated attacking players, disjointed with no link between the two blocks? From failing to retain possession for any more than a few seconds at a time?
IsMiseSean
21/03/2013, 12:02 PM
Is he really a fan favourite? We all hate him!
Jesus, hate is a very strong word. I like him, I just don't want him starting big games...
No one can question he's commitment unlike some other players available to us.
21/03/2013, 12:21 PM
So it seems like the Green-Whelan midfield is on, meaning we're looking to strangle Zlatan out of the game and hoping for a 0-0. Anybody fancy going to the zoo or a nice long walk on the beach on Friday night?
21/03/2013, 12:45 PM
Strangle Zlatan before the game might work.
21/03/2013, 12:49 PM
So it seems like the Green-Whelan midfield is on, meaning we're looking to strangle Zlatan out of the game and hoping for a 0-0. Anybody fancy going to the zoo or a nice long walk on the beach on Friday night?
What's wrong with the zoo?
The thing is though, I really don't think Trap ever plays for a 0-0 draw or even a 1-1 draw. No matter what system/tactics or personnel employed.
21/03/2013, 1:56 PM
HOLY FCUK(I didnt really believe it yesterday when i saw it):
"That's unless Giovanni Trapattoni has a change of heart after seeing the performance of the trio that opposed his apparent first choice in training."
"With a flurry of one-touch passes, James McCarthy, Jeff Hendrick (pictured) and Wes Hoolahan pulled their squad-mates all over the shortened pitch and clearly got the better of the fare in the end-of-training match.
Their touch and movement were a joy to behold as they carved the first-choice midfield and defence open time and time again."
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ignored-trio-show-trap-just-what-they-can-do-29144694.html
21/03/2013, 2:11 PM
While I don't doubt they would be a much better midfield, I'd be a bit wary of Indo hyperbole on the subject. A "flurry of one-touch passing" probably translates closer to "they could pass the ball a bit".
21/03/2013, 2:38 PM
starting XI announced: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/314760767113134081
IRL team v Sweden: Forde, Wilson, Clark, O'Shea, Coleman, Green, Whelan, Brady (TBC), McClean, Keane, Long
21/03/2013, 2:39 PM
team confirmed:
forde
coleman
o'shea
clark
wilson
brady (provisional!)
green
whelan
mcclean
keane
long
21/03/2013, 2:41 PM
While I don't doubt they would be a much better midfield, I'd be a bit wary of Indo hyperbole on the subject. A "flurry of one-touch passing" probably translates closer to "they could pass the ball a bit".
It said pretty much the same on joe.ie and the score yesterday. I assume its not the same journalist writing in all 3 places.
21/03/2013, 2:43 PM
It said pretty much the same on joe.ie and the score yesterday. I assume its not the same journalist writing in all 3 places.
no, but they probably all read the same piece
21/03/2013, 2:43 PM
Why is brady provisional?
21/03/2013, 2:44 PM
No it would be different people but I wouldn't take Joe seriously, or the Score really, and the Indo writers' anti-Trap agenda is fairly well-established at this stage. I'm sure they passed the ball well but I would wager my house that they're exaggerating.
Wants to have another look at him in training.
21/03/2013, 2:49 PM
apparently trap feels he may not be "psychologically" ready. feeling is he will play
DannyInvincible
21/03/2013, 2:50 PM
Who'll start otherwise in place of Brady?
21/03/2013, 2:53 PM
Could be junior or stutts, i wouldn't be half surprised.
The fan favourite Cox, and probably switch mcclean.
21/03/2013, 2:54 PM
Who'll start otherwise in place of Brady?
trap suggested it would be keogh
Park_Lane
21/03/2013, 2:54 PM
Andy Keogh! Last time he started on the left in a qualifier he was subbed after what? 20 minutes?
21/03/2013, 3:02 PM
Andy was on the right side in Italy when he was subbed.
HUGE difference, he's ace on the left.
team confirmed:
forde
coleman
o'shea
clark
wilson
brady (provisional!)
green
whelan
mcclean
keane
long
Green and Whelan, sweet lord. Why should we trust Trap when he obviously doesn't trust his squad of players and show it by picking a footballing midfield. Can someone remind us of the definition of madness which we have heard here a few times before? Doing the same thing and expecting a different result. If we get anything from this game, it won't be by design but by chance.
21/03/2013, 3:06 PM
Andy was on the right side in Italy when he was subbed.
HUGE difference, he's ace on the left.
If Keogh starts I'd have a score on him to get the winner. I'm still convinced he'll score a vital goal for us one day.
Paul green in the team, trap hasnt a clue, and maybe bring in kehoe even more clueless. Whats wrong with mccarthy and mcgeady?
21/03/2013, 3:12 PM
Paul green in the team, trap hasnt a clue, and maybe bring in kehoe even more clueless. Whats wrong with mccarthy and mcgeady?
injured quite a while now
21/03/2013, 3:17 PM
If Keogh starts I'd have a score on him to get the winner. I'm still convinced he'll score a vital goal for us one day.
Is that just one of those things where he is so useless but has made so many appearances that eventually he will get lucky and everyone will be saying "ha, good man keogh, never thought you had it"
SwanVsDalton
21/03/2013, 3:20 PM
We'll just have to Green and bear it.
According to some live tweets to the presser Trap said he wanted to midfield to sit deep to combat Zlatan and free Coleman to go forward, suggested he couldn't ask McCarthy to do this.
Interesting he seems to have decided the Cox wing experiment was a failure but it could be worth taking another look at that renowned sideline hugger Andy Keogh. Meanwhile we definitely can't play Wes Hoolahan out-of-position on the wing (naturally).
SwanVsDalton
21/03/2013, 3:21 PM
Is that just one of those things where he is so useless but has made so many appearances that eventually he will get lucky and everyone will be saying "ha, good man keogh, never thought you had it"
If we scrape the play-offs on goal difference we'll pop a cork for that consolation against Germany.