FAI Umbro Junior Cup 5th Round

Broadford Utd 0 Hartstown/Huntstown 1

Division 3 League Cup 1st Round, 2nd Leg

Knockaderry (3) V Kilcornan B (2) w/o to Knockaderry
(Knockaderry win 6-2 on agg)
Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round

Feenagh A 0 Abbeyfeale Utd B 2

Reidy Cup Q/F
Rathkeale Reserves 1 Rockhill Rovers 1 aet. (Rathkeale won 5-4 on pens)

western gale
06/01/2013, 5:27 PM
Sunday, January 6th

FAI Umbro Junior Cup 5th Round
Broadford Utd 0 Hartstown/Huntstown 1

Division 3 League Cup 1st Round, 2nd Leg
Knockaderry (3) V Kilcornan B (2) w/o to Knockaderry
(Knockaderry win 6-2 on agg)

Richard Hogan Cup 2nd Round
Feenagh A 0 Abbeyfeale Utd B 2

Reidy Cup Q/F
Rathkeale Reserves 1 Rockhill Rovers 1 aet. (Rathkeale won 5-4 on pens)

Division 2 League Cup 1st Round
Ballysteen 1 Broadford Utd B 2

Division 4 League Cup 1st Round, 1st Leg
Shountrade 2 Newcastle West Rovers B 1
Shannonside B 2 Feenagh B 4

Premier Division
Glin Rovers 1 Newcastle West Rovers 2
Abbeyfeale Utd 3 Rathkeale 1
Killeaney V Shannonside off
Ballingarry V Carrig Celtic off

Division 1
St Itas 3 Askeaton 0
Kildimo Utd 3 Kilcornan 0
Adare Utd V Glantine off

Division 2
Granagh Utd V Creeves Celtic off

Division 3
Ferry Rangers 1 Athea Utd B 2

Division 4
Glin Rovers B 2 Creeves Celtic B 1

sexyfootball
06/01/2013, 7:48 PM
Some unexpected results today... most notably Rovers beating Glin!
Big 3 points for Rovers, looks like Glin are getting dragged into the relegation fight again this season.

Anyone at the Broadford match? Were they 2nd best or were they unlucky?

fanaticfan
06/01/2013, 8:06 PM
I heard broadford were the better team with the dublin goalkeeper pulling off many saves

capello
06/01/2013, 8:38 PM
Was at the game and Hartsown had no shot on target during the 90 mins, their goal came from a deflection from an in swinging corner.
The result was not a fair reflection on the game.

western gale
06/01/2013, 10:11 PM
Saturday, January 12th

Munster Youths Cup 3rd Round (et & pens)
Newcastle West V Newcastle West Rovers (J. Roche) 2pm (TBC)

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round (et & pens)
Castleview (Cork) V Abbeyfeale Utd 2pm

Youths Division 1
Broadford Utd V Adare Utd 230 (E. Barrett)

Youths Division 2
Ferry Rangers V Breska Rovers 230 (G. O’Connor)
Glantine V Bally Rovers 230 (C. Dalton)
St Itas V Pallaskenry 230 (S. Hartnett)
Askeaton V Creeves Celtic 230 (P. King)

Sunday, January 13th

Premier Division League Cup 1st Round (et & pens)
Newcastle West Rovers V Ballingarry 1130 (J. Roche)

Premier Division League Cup Q/F (et & pens)
Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 (P. O’Connor)

Division 1 League Cup Q/F (et & pens)
Rockhill Rovers V Kildimo Utd 1130 (D. O’Gorman)

Division 2 League Cup 1st Round (et & pens)
Carrig Celtic B V Abbeyfeale Utd B 2pm (P. O’Connor)

Division 4 League Cup Q/F 1st Leg (90 min)
Bally Rovers V Creeves Celtic B 1130 (C. Dalton)
St Itas B V Glin Rovers B 1130 (P. Manning)

Premier Division
Shannonside V Newcastle West 1130 in Aughinish (T. Fitzmaurice)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Broadford Utd 1130 (G. O’Connor)

Division 1
Askeaton V Adare Utd 1130 (P. King)
Glantine V Old Mill 1130 (D. Wallace)
Breska Rovers V St Itas 230 (D. O’Gorman)
Kilcornan V Athea Utd 230 (P. O’Brien) b

Division 2
Ballysteen V Pallaskenry 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Granagh Utd V Newcastle West B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Feenagh V Broadford Utd B 230 (D. Wallace)
Rathkeale Reserves V Creeves Celtic 230 (P. Manning)

Division 3
Knockaderry V Ballingarry B 230 (E. Barrett)

Division 4
Shountrade V Feenagh B 1130 (E. Barrett)
Shannonside B V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 in Shanagolden (T. Fitzmaurice)

last man back
06/01/2013, 10:34 PM
Good wins for abbey and rovers today. Any slim chance rathkeale had in the league is gone now I'd say. Anyone know the date for the delegate meeting that hosts the Desmond cup draw ?

Not_in_Use
07/01/2013, 11:41 AM
Would anyone care to hazard a guess at who will finish winner and runner-up in the 5 divisions? (its monday- i'm bored!!)
Premier; 1.Newcastle 2;Ballingarry
Div 1; 1.Kildimo 2.Rockhill
Div 2; 1.Rathkeale Reserves 2.Granagh
Div 3; 1.Athea b 2.Ballingarry b
Div 4; 1.Shannonside b 2.Shountrade

sexyfootball
07/01/2013, 8:29 PM
Broadford unlucky so? What were the conditions like? Was it windy as usual?

Abbey v Broadford this weekend... John Kelliher didn't have to wait long before he went back home :)!!

nathanbrown
08/01/2013, 6:32 AM
Would anyone care to hazard a guess at who will finish winner and runner-up in the 5 divisions? (its monday- i'm bored!!)
Premier; 1.Newcastle 2;Ballingarry
Div 1; 1.Kildimo 2.Rockhill
Div 2; 1.Rathkeale Reserves 2.Granagh
Div 3; 1.Athea b 2.Ballingarry b
Div 4; 1.Shannonside b 2.Shountrade

I think Broadford will end up in the running towards the end of the season and will end up 2nd to NCW
Division 1 looks fairly clear cut, Kildimo seem to be a class above the rest, dont think Rockhill will throw promotion away 2 years in a row.
As for the lower divisions, I havent seen any of them play except Rathkeale B who are a very decent side and I think they will take beating. I cant see how you think Pallaskenry will lose out to Granagh, 6 points ahead with a game in hand

Prem: NCW, Broadford
Div 1: Kildimo, Rockhill
Div 2: Rathkeale B, Pallaskenry
Div 3: As it stands
Div 4: as it stands dont know anything about any teams in these divisions

fanaticfan
08/01/2013, 10:59 AM
He played for abbey against rathkeale last sunday and that is his last game for abbey as if is joining broadford then.that's what I heard off two people

answers
08/01/2013, 2:08 PM
is there any one from broadford that can clear up these speculations i thought DRAPER might be on to share his few on the situation. if there is truth in them being managerless i say fair play to kelliher his hitting the end of his playing days and if abbeyfeale cant produce a manager in a big town like theres the time to move on for a year or two might be a good call. cant see anything but a win for broadford on sunday, could be entertaining if kelliher does feature which ever dressing room he decides to come out of. any dates set for desmond cup draw???

last man back
09/01/2013, 10:58 PM
4th febuary

fanaticfan
10/01/2013, 10:34 AM
Gonna go with ncw to win the premier and broadford finishing second in the premier. kildimo to win the 1st division and rockhill to finish second. PallasKenry to win the 2nd division and rathkeale b to finish second. Don't know much about the other divisions

fanaticfan
12/01/2013, 1:03 PM
What game would be the best to go and watch tomorrow?

walkover
12/01/2013, 8:15 PM
Ncw Rovers v Ballingary changed to Balingary

western gale
12/01/2013, 10:22 PM
Saturday, January 12th

Munster Youths Cup 3rd Round
Newcastle West 0 Newcastle West Rovers 3 (in Clounreask)
(Scorers Guina, Carrig & Stack)

Munster Youths Cup 4th Round
Castleview (Cork) 6 Abbeyfeale Utd 0 (h/t 2-0)

Youths Division 1
Broadford Utd 5 Adare Utd 1

Youths Division 2
Ferry Rangers 0 Breska Rovers 1
Glantine 2 Bally Rovers 4
Askeaton 2 Creeves Celtic 4
St Itas V Pallaskenry off

Draper
12/01/2013, 11:11 PM
Turn up tomorow lads to the match and all questions will be answered....and make sure you buy an Abbey United lotto ticket while your back there....

super6
13/01/2013, 7:34 AM
Fair play draper,you always seem to mention charging at the gate and lotto tickets etc. Would be a good man to have at any club.Could uou keep us updated on the game please.

super6
13/01/2013, 7:37 AM
Will be interesting for john k today, first game for broadford and back at abbey all ready, might put a bit of bite into the game but doubt it will be enough for abbey, ill go with a comfortable away victory

fanaticfan
13/01/2013, 1:04 PM
Abbeyfeale 2-3 broadford last minute goal for broadford I heard. I went to watch Shannonside vs newcastle this morning. . Shannonside probably better team in first half but went down 1-0 through a unbelievable strike by i think was Keith power. Rocket of a shot from about 25yards that hit the bottom of the crossbar and in. Ncw were the better team in the 2nd half and scored through seoirse joyce.Shannonside had few shots through behan and o connor but didn't have enough to get one back

western gale
13/01/2013, 5:01 PM
Sunday, January 13th

Premier Division League Cup 1st Round
Newcastle West Rovers 0 Ballingarry 3 (in Ballingarry)

Premier Division League Cup Q/F
Glin Rovers 0 Rathkeale 5

Division 1 League Cup Q/F
Rockhill Rovers 3 Kildimo Utd 1

Division 2 League Cup 1st Round
Carrig Celtic B 0 Abbeyfeale Utd B 2

Division 4 League Cup Q/F 1st Leg
Bally Rovers 4 Creeves Celtic B 0
St Itas B V Glin Rovers B (abandoned after 30 mins, pitch became unplayable)

Premier Division
Shannonside 0 Newcastle West 2
Abbeyfeale Utd 2 Broadford Utd 3

Division 1
Askeaton 3 Adare Utd 0
Glantine 2 Old Mill 0
Breska Rovers 2 St Itas 6
Kilcornan 1 Athea Utd 2

Division 2
Ballysteen 2 Pallaskenry 5
Granagh Utd 2 Newcastle West B 5
Feenagh 7 Broadford Utd B 0
Rathkeale Reserves 1 Creeves Celtic 0

Division 3
Knockaderry 2 Ballingarry B 2

Division 4
Shountrade 3 Feenagh B 2
Shannonside B V Newcastle West Rovers B off

Have It
13/01/2013, 10:44 PM
Abbeyfeale 2-3 broadford last minute goal for broadford I heard. I went to watch Shannonside vs newcastle this morning. . Shannonside probably better team in first half but went down 1-0 through a unbelievable strike by i think was Keith power. Rocket of a shot from about 25yards that hit the bottom of the crossbar and in. Ncw were the better team in the 2nd half and scored through seoirse joyce.Shannonside had few shots through behan and o connor but didn't have enough to get one back
here in a bar in newcastle west. I think you may be wrong with your goalscorer. Scott hurley just told me he scored the best goal of his life today.

fanaticfan
13/01/2013, 11:11 PM
Ah ok my bad.was not sure who scored it. It was some finish i must say. A bullet of a shot.great goal. Ncw now looking good for the league

western gale
13/01/2013, 11:39 PM
Saturday, January 19th

Limerick Desmond U-17s Cup QF (et & pens)
Broadford Utd V Rathkeale 2pm (B. Nash)

Youths Division 1 League Cup QF (et & pens)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Adare Utd 2pm (P. King)

Youths Division 1
Newcastle West Rovers V Newcastle West 230pm (E. Barrett)

Youths Division 2, all 2.30pm
Pallaskenry V Feenagh (L. O’Connor)
Bally Rovers V Creeves Celtic (P. Manning)
Breska Rovers V Askeaton (T. Fitzmaurice)
Carrig Celtic V St. Itas (J. Molyneaux)
Ferry Rangers V Glantine (D. Wallace)

Sunday, January 20th

Munster Junior Cup 4th Round (et & pens)
College Corinthians V Ballingarry 2pm
Carew Park V Newcastle West Rovers 2pm
Nenagh Celtic V Broadford Utd 2pm

Premier Division League Cup QF (et & pens)
Newcastle West V Killeaney 1130 (D. O’Gorman)

Division 2 League Cup QFs (et & pens)
Feenagh V Creeves Celtic 1130 (J. Roche)
Rathkeale Reserves V Pallaskenry 2pm (P. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Granagh Utd 2pm (E. Barrett)

Division 3 League Cup SF 1st Leg (90 min)
Knockaderry V Ferry Rangers 230 (C. Dalton)

Division 4 League Cup QF 1st Leg (90 min)
St Itas B V Glin Rovers B 230 (J. Molyneaux)

Division 4 League Cup QF 2nd Leg, (et & pens if required)
Creeves Celtic B V Bally Rovers 230 (L. O’Connor)

Premier Division
Carrig Celtic V Glin Rovers 1130 (P. O’Brien)

Division 1
Glantine V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (P. King)
Old Mill V Kilcornan 1130 (P. Manning)
Adare Utd V Breska Rovers 230 (G. O’Connor)
Kildimo Utd V St Itas 1130 (B. Nash)
Athea Utd V Askeaton 230 (S. Hartnett)

Division 2
Ballysteen V Carrig Celtic B 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Division 4
Shannonside B V Shountrade 230 in Shanagolden (D. Wallace)

dirtfree
14/01/2013, 7:34 AM
Anyone on here from kildimo ?? I heard two Shannon lads went to play out there .any truth. ?

Langerdan007
14/01/2013, 10:21 AM
Not from Kildimo but we played them last Sunday week and there were no lads from Shannon playing
Most if not all of their players were from Kildimo or living in Kildimo
Is this supposed to be in the last few days?

thomas72
14/01/2013, 10:24 AM
Anyone a match report on NWR and ballingarry??

fanaticfan
14/01/2013, 10:27 AM
Don't worry Thomas72.ye will beat them rovers by 5 or more goals.

thomas72
14/01/2013, 10:33 AM
Don't worry Thomas72.ye will beat them rovers by 5 or more goals.

there out of town in MJC and beat NCW in the last round your having a laugh.

fanaticfan
14/01/2013, 10:35 AM
Ya Im telling you they carew will beat them by 4 or 5 goals.they are very poor

dirtfree
14/01/2013, 11:03 AM
Not from Kildimo but we played them last Sunday week and there were no lads from Shannon playing
Most if not all of their players were from Kildimo or living in Kildimo
Is this supposed to be in the last few days?

Ya only heard it Saturday at work that 2 of them left Shannon town . Could be just pub talk as a long way to go for a match on a Sunday

Langerdan007
14/01/2013, 3:06 PM
I'll ask someone and see but as you say its a long way to travel

Langerdan007
14/01/2013, 3:31 PM
Ya only heard it Saturday at work that 2 of them left Shannon town . Could be just pub talk as a long way to go for a match on a Sunday

They signed one player from Shannon but he has a link to the club previously.
The rest i'm told is PAPER TALK

southern kid
15/01/2013, 10:24 AM
Some great results the wknd for ncw and broadford. Big 3 points asa both were away to tough oposition.Any report from abbey game,did j kelliher play? big win for ratkeale in cup also,are glin falling apart?

southern kid
15/01/2013, 10:27 AM
Really tough game for rovers this wknd,there prob one of the worst teams to repersent the lge for quite a while. Is there betting available for mjc?

BoyBlue
15/01/2013, 7:59 PM
Really tough game for rovers this wknd,there prob one of the worst teams to repersent the lge for quite a while. Is there betting available for mjc?

I wouldn't say that, do you not remember NCW getting hammered 9 or 10 nil in Tipperary few seasons back. Very difficult season for NCW Rovers this year,as far as I know they have lost a number of players from last seasons squad but to their credit they have got a coupe of good results the last few weeks.

BoyBlue
15/01/2013, 8:31 PM
Some great results the wknd for ncw and broadford. Big 3 points asa both were away to tough oposition.Any report from abbey game,did j kelliher play? big win for ratkeale in cup also,are glin falling apart?
Yes John played,gave away an early penalty but recovered well,he will be a big addition to broadford if he plays regularly. Late winner for Broadford. Glin will probably just do enough to stay up.

fanaticfan
15/01/2013, 10:51 PM
Rovers will get hammered this weekend against carew. Wouldn't be surprised if carew get 9 or 10 past them. They will definitely get relagated this year. pity cos they are getting a new pitch next season.

snafu
16/01/2013, 8:18 AM
Looks like club loyalty and taking pride in representing your town/parish is a thing of the past.

I often criticised NCW rovers for the state of their field but I am delighted that they are getting a new one.
Is the new field near pallas foods?

As for rovers being in the MJC cup, sure they can only beat whats in font of them. Best of luck to them

walkover
16/01/2013, 9:04 AM
Looks like club loyalty and taking pride in representing your town/parish is a thing of the past.

I often criticised NCW rovers for the state of their field but I am delighted that they are getting a new one.
Is the new field near pallas foods?

As for rovers being in the MJC cup, sure they can only beat whats in font of them. Best of luck to them

It's been a very tough year losing so many key players the week b4 the season starts, but we have a lot of good youths coming up that are starting to find their feet at junior level... so watch this space!
We've been struggling with out pitch as well for far too long, and thank god are finally getting a new one next season !!

super6
16/01/2013, 9:59 AM
that was about 12 seasons ago boy blue if not more!!!!!!

BoyBlue
16/01/2013, 12:13 PM
that was about 12 seasons ago boy blue if not more!!!!!!

Is it that long ago it was a bad day for the league! I don't think anybody expects NCW rovers to win on Sunday and imo no Desmond team would beat any of the top 4/5 teams in town. Anyway best of luck to them and wouldn't it be fantastic if they were to get through.
Do I sence some sour grapes from ncw on the forum?

fanaticfan
16/01/2013, 1:42 PM
Yeah rovers seem to have a great youths team coming up. I can see them getting relegated this year which is a shame. Hopefully they will be back up in the premier with their new field. Their new field is up by newcastle west rugby pitch in killeline I heard.

sexyfootball
16/01/2013, 2:08 PM
Is it that long ago it was a bad day for the league! I don't think anybody expects NCW rovers to win on Sunday and imo no Desmond team would beat any of the top 4/5 teams in town. Anyway best of luck to them and wouldn't it be fantastic if they were to get through.
Do I sence some sour grapes from ncw on the forum?
When teams get to this stage i.e. out of the Desmond league section, I think all in the league should wish them best of luck.
Realistically no one will think they can get a result but sure the same was said when they beat N.C.W AFC.
Best of luck to them Sunday!

"Looks like club loyalty and taking pride in representing your town/parish is a thing of the past"
What do you mean by that snafu??

Have It
16/01/2013, 2:22 PM
Can see the Rovers on the end of a bit of a hiding Sunday alright especially as it seems their team will be a bit weakened. However fair play to them for getting this far and best of luck to them. And also to Broadford and Ballingarry. All 3 face difficult away ties but hopefully come Sunday evening we will still have some representatives in the Mjc.

snafu
16/01/2013, 6:23 PM
"Looks like club loyalty and taking pride in representing your town/parish is a thing of the past"
What do you mean by that snafu??

Simply that there seems to be more and more players changing clubs recently.
People going from R.keale to NCW and vice versa, NCW to Shannonside...etc
I know players have always been changing clubs but it seems to have gotten worse the last few seasons (could be just me though)

If a player is playing for a team stuck at the botom of the 3rd division and feels he is good enough for the premier I would have no issue with him joining his local premier team. Same goes any fella who wants to join (or is asked to join) a city team.

What i cant understand is guys moving from their own club to a different club in the same division.
You're still in the same competitions and still playing against the same teams. Its till (roughly) the same standard of football.

If a fella is struggling for money and needs the extra few bob, fair enough, that's a different story.

A lot of these guys have probably coached underage and talked about club pride etc etc and the next season the b****** is playing with a different club (I've experienced that first hand)

Anyway, I may be wrong but that's just my opinion.

And of course there is still plenty of guys who will stay loyal to their team and take pride in doing so.
There just seems to be a lot of egos in this league.

Sorry about the rant guys :)

fanaticfan
16/01/2013, 8:46 PM
People move to different clubs to win things. kelliher went to broadford cos he probably has a better chance of winning things there than at abbeyfeale.same with seoisre Joyce and the other fella who joined ncw cos they have a better chance of winning stuff than rovers.Sean downey another example on joining broadford. It happens to some people

sexyfootball
16/01/2013, 9:30 PM
snafu thats well put, but fanaticfan is probably right I cant imagine, for example, John Kelliher wanted to leave Abbeyfeale for Broadford but he realised he would have a better chance of winning trophies with the latter even though they are in the same division, and he has been a great club man for Abbey!
It is great to see players sticking with there home clubs too though and fair play to them.