View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20

fanaticfan
22/04/2013, 9:54 AM
Friday 26th April
Weekly Observer Division 2
Feenagh V Ballysteen 7pm (C. Dalton)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Rathkeale Reserves 730pm (P. King)

Weekly Observer Division 3
Ballingarry B V Kilcornan B 7pm (J. Molyneaux)

Saturday 27th April
Desmond Youths Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Breska Rovers V Newcastle West Rovers 230 (P. O’Brien)

Sunday 28th April
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (G. O’Connor)
St. Itas V Ballingarry 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)

Weekly Observer Division 2 League Cup Quarter Final (extra time & penalties)
Feenagh V Creeves Celtic 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Granagh Utd 230 (D. Wallace)

Weekly Observer Division 4 League Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties if required)
Feenagh B V Glin Rovers B 230 (Glin Rovers B leading 4-0 from 1st leg) (S. Hartnett)

Weekly Observer Premier Division
Carrig Celtic V Glin Rovers 1130 (P. Manning)
Newcastle West Rovers V Killeaney 1130 (D. O’Gorman)

Weekly Observer Division 1
Athea Utd V Rockhill Rovers 230 (P. O’Brien)

Broadford Utd B V Pallaskenry 230 (P. O’Donnell)

Ferry Rangers V Knockaderry 230 (E. Barrett)

Weekly Observer Division 4
Newcastle West Rovers B V Shountrade 230 (J. Roche)

Friday 3rd May
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Granagh Utd V Newcastle West 730, Clounreask (To be confirmed)

Ballysteen V Abbeyfeale Utd B 7pm
Feenagh V Rathkeale Reserves 7pm

Saturday 4th May
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale/Abbeyfeale Utd V St. Itas/Ballingarry 730 Clounreask (To be confirmed)

Johnnie C
22/04/2013, 10:08 AM
Feenagh v Rathkeale Reserves
This game wasn't played, pitch unplayable

Glin Rovers B V Feenagh B
Abandonded due to serious injury to a Feenagh player

snafu
22/04/2013, 12:36 PM
Why was the Abbeyfeale game played in Glantine?

walkover
22/04/2013, 1:31 PM
I heard Abbey's field is in a bad way!!

answers
22/04/2013, 3:00 PM
fair play to newcastle west well deserving of the tital, as for who goes down its going to be an interesting few weeks in the run in to decide that, i think glin will just about survive but poor result for them the weekend. met a rathkeale lad yesterday he said they were looking for free weekend next weekend due to a stag hope that doesnt effect there desmond cup hopes surely will have to cancel for another week

pass and move
22/04/2013, 3:27 PM
Its Peter O'Dea's stag the weekend. Rathkeale asked for the weekend free but were not obliged. Fixtures have to be fulfilled and you can't expect the league to always agree but Rathkeale must be pretty miffed about it. O'Dea has given a lot of service to both Rathkeale and the league its a shame that the league saw fit to put a cup quarter final on the same weekend as his stag. He must be playing junior soccer nearly 15 years and i cant remember him ever being in any sort of trouble or getting sent off. I think its a shame that he is going on his stag either knowing he probably cost the club a shot at the cup or that some of his teammates now won't go on the stag. I wonder would Abbey play it during the week even?

Desmonder
22/04/2013, 4:47 PM
I was only going on Draper!! You make a really good point! I can barely remember ever getting into any kind of a GAA match in likes of Askeaton, Ballyhahil, NCW (whatever the grade) without paying! I am just using these clubs as an example but some clubs in particular really had their finger on the pulse!!

Draper
22/04/2013, 10:56 PM
I was only going on Draper!! You make a really good point! I can barely remember ever getting into any kind of a GAA match in likes of Askeaton, Ballyhahil, NCW (whatever the grade) without paying! I am just using these clubs as an example but some clubs in particular really had their finger on the pulse!!
Fair enough Desmonder, re: those GAA clubs I do think its the West boards/ County boards that man the turnstiles at those matches and the host club subsequently recieve 15% of the (declared) income!
Its something I would agree with the GAA on though. Why should they give away a product for free that the public want and like and costs a lot of money to run? But local soccer does it....

Langerdan007
23/04/2013, 10:10 AM
Its Peter O'Dea's stag the weekend. Rathkeale asked for the weekend free but were not obliged. Fixtures have to be fulfilled and you can't expect the league to always agree but Rathkeale must be pretty miffed about it. O'Dea has given a lot of service to both Rathkeale and the league its a shame that the league saw fit to put a cup quarter final on the same weekend as his stag. He must be playing junior soccer nearly 15 years and i cant remember him ever being in any sort of trouble or getting sent off. I think its a shame that he is going on his stag either knowing he probably cost the club a shot at the cup or that some of his teammates now won't go on the stag. I wonder would Abbey play it during the week even?

Nothing new here really you always have one or two stories like this a season
What is it now, are you able to request 2 weekends off in the season if its submitted in writing and within whatever timeframe the league lays down!?
If Rathkeale asked for this weekend off well ahead of time (Which you'd think they would as the stag must be planned a while ago) its not very fair out of the league

On playing during the week most teams have fella's away at work/college so its hard to get a game played during the week

answers
23/04/2013, 5:37 PM
peter o dea has given great service down through the years to both as previously said and will be a real shame if this effects his plans, sky blue if your out there it would be interesting to hear your view on this? killeaney/ rovers game the weekend may tell a lot as well as the athea/ rockhill game in division one.

super6
23/04/2013, 9:12 PM
Did rathkeale apply for the weekend off? I know you must give a few weeks notice but not sure exactly how much.

fanaticfan
24/04/2013, 9:40 AM
fair play to newcastle west well deserving of the tital, as for who goes down its going to be an interesting few weeks in the run in to decide that, i think glin will just about survive but poor result for them the weekend. met a rathkeale lad yesterday he said they were looking for free weekend next weekend due to a stag hope that doesnt effect there desmond cup hopes surely will have to cancel for another week

ya you can say that newcastle west have the title wrapped up even though its not official yet.as for who goes down its going to be really close this year..if killeaney keep battling like they have being doing in the past 2 weeks they could stay up,but killeaney,glin and ncw rovers all have tough games to go and best of luck to those teams.

who do ye guys think will win the desmond cup this year??

Have It
27/04/2013, 1:00 AM
Best of luck to Carew Park tomorrow and Pike on Sunday in the Fai semis ! It'd be great to see two Limerick teams compete in the final in the Aviva

fanaticfan
28/04/2013, 2:13 PM
premier division result

ncw rovers 0-1 killeaney

very poor game this morning played on a bad pitch. killeaney more up for it and rovers had no fight in them for start to finish. they look to be gone down to the first division. good result for killeaney on the back of great results beating ballingarry 1-0 away and drawing with broadford at home 2-2. they over take glin for the time being, heard glin vs carrig game isnt on till monday night.

desmond cup quarter final result

rathkeale 1-0 abbeyfeale utd

poor result for abbey and a great result for rathkeale who were missing few players due to peter o dea's stag.
also heard that ray hogan got the second division player of the year and billy quirke got player of the year in the premier division.. abbey havent won anything this year and are mid table so how he got it ill never know. in my opinion he certainly wouldnt have got it. great keeper dont great me wrong but there are better players that deserved it this year

southern kid
28/04/2013, 5:43 PM
Super win for ratkeale today,i wud make them favourites for the cup now but im sure some will disagree,i heard they were missing players today so just wondering where they got the players from today?did they not go on stag? fair play to billy quirke,i think he is a very deserving winner, who did u tink shud win it fanatic? maybe a certain left full back from ncw!!! ha ha

answers
28/04/2013, 5:45 PM
no real stand out player of the year in the premier and no matter which club you talk to who came up against abbeyfeale this year billy quirkes saves were always a big topic of conversation. he has been easily the best keeper in the desmond league over the past few years and to be fair cant see any club having any issue with him receiving it. congrats also to ray hogan on his award anyone know the division one player?? how did rathkeale field a team this morning must be serious contenders now missing a few and still coming away with a win or were abbey that poor?

fanaticfan
28/04/2013, 7:09 PM
sorry to disappoint you southern kid but im not involved with ncw if thats what ur trying to say. im not involved with any team in the premier division.i thought someone from the top 3 teams should have won it.ballingarry and ncw still in the desmond cup and league cup and broadford 2nd in the league so i would have picked someone from one of those teams.heard rathkeale were missing players this morning due to o dea's stag but heard that 2 or three players came back this morning for the game..

PatRooney
28/04/2013, 8:59 PM
Rathkeale did very well this morning considering the players they were missing and that mikey lyons went off injured after 10 minutes aswel. They still had a decent side out and they replaced the missing players with a few of the footballers who wouldnt normally play the whole time but no1 looked outta place and they all played well. All in all rathkeale deserved their win and were the better side today but with ncw still in it I wouldnt say they're favourites to win it. In saying that I reckon rathkeale will still take some beating. Does anyone know who won the other quarter final today?
Also it was nice to see the amount of young players that played today in a big game like that. there was about 8 or 9 players playing between the 2 teams that played desmond youths in the last 3 years.

Desmonder
29/04/2013, 8:13 PM
Killeaney are on a roll!
Any update on Carrig v Glin Rvs match!

fanaticfan
29/04/2013, 8:41 PM
carrig celtic 3-3 glin rovers.

great game tonight. carrig scored first when a corner by sweeney was headered into the net by john doyle.glin levelled when a shot from outside the box went into the bottom corner by i think was ambrose lanigan.glin went up 2-1 when i think was gary culhane headered a tommy culhane free kick into bottom corner.podge mccarthy levelled for carrig in the second half with a low shot and carrig went 3-2 up 30 seconds later when francis moore got the ball from the glin players and shot from about 35yards out and went over stack in goals. gary culhane levelled for glin after great play by ambrose lanigan out the wing. good game in fairness and glin still in trouble at the bottom of the table.carrig need just a point to be guarenteed to be safe

Horan01
03/05/2013, 10:21 AM
I hear Abbey have put in an objection against last weekends result away to Rathkeale in the Desmond Cup. A bit of sour grapes there I think

Langerdan007
03/05/2013, 11:26 AM
I hear Abbey have put in an objection against last weekends result away to Rathkeale in the Desmond Cup. A bit of sour grapes there I think

Whats the objection about - legality of players? -

Notaclue
03/05/2013, 3:55 PM
St. Itas v Ballingarry on tonight. Hope it stays dry or another cancellation possible.

skyhome
03/05/2013, 6:19 PM
something about illegal players i heard on rathkeale's squad i think its a bit of sour grapes also. doubt rathkeale would play illegal players wit them having so many to choose from. maybe the desmond league should have givin them the weekend off last week seeming ballingarry didnt play anyway

last man back
03/05/2013, 8:57 PM
From what I've heard rathkeale played b team players. Although harsh under the circumstances the same rules apply for all clubs, no point having them if there not adhered too

skyhome
04/05/2013, 7:37 AM
clueless on this whats the deal with playin B players if there not cup tied in the competion

last man back
04/05/2013, 7:51 AM
If a player is signed for the b team he can't play with the A team in the desmond cup regardless if he's cup tied or not. Don't know if this rule always existed or was just brought in this year, I'd say a lot of clubs are in the dark about this one. If rathkeale are found to have done so I'd rather see the game replayed than just being kicked out

skyhome
04/05/2013, 9:29 AM
oh i see. i remember when i played years ago that rule didnt exist maybe your right so a replay would be the fairest outcome.

fanaticfan
04/05/2013, 10:05 AM
if that has happened the league will probably throw rathkeale out of the desmond cup and put abbeyfeale through.. a replay should happen if it happened. balllingarry beat st itas last night 1-0 in the desmond cup quarter final

fanaticfan
05/05/2013, 5:06 PM
Friday 3rd May
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Semi Final
Granagh Utd 1-3 Newcastle West

Saturday 4th May
Youths Division 1
Newcastle West 6-1 Adare Utd
Newcastle West Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd OFF

Sunday 5th May
Weekly Observer Desmond Cup Quarter Final (played on friday 3rd may)
St. Itas 0-1 Ballingarry

Carrig Celtic 0-3 Newcastle West
Abbeyfeale Utd 5-0 Shannonside FC

Rockhill Rovers 4-1 Adare Utd
Athea Utd 2-1 Kildimo Utd
Glantine 1-5 Breska Rovers
Kilcornan V Askeaton

answers
06/05/2013, 10:19 AM
any update on the fixtures the weekend? any update to the Desmond cup fiasco also, if rathkeale had illegal players which giving half there team was abroad at the time any were ringing the league to cancel the game a few weeks in hand maybe looked just a bit suspicious cant blame abbeys looking in to it. was in abbey the weekend and heard a story how a number of years back a certain club got abbey thrown out of a league cup for playing a registered b team player might of helped in there decision to appeal.

last man back
06/05/2013, 11:03 AM
No mention of desmond cup semi final in fixtures for the next 2 weeks so obviously theres going to be some kind of inquest alright

fanaticfan
06/05/2013, 11:15 AM
Wednesday 8th May
Youths Division 1
Newcastle West Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 7pm (P. Manning)

Friday 10th May
Newcastle West V Ballingarry 7pm (P. Manning)
Newcastle West Rovers V Abbeyfeale Utd 7pm (P. O’Brien)

Old Mill V St. Itas 7pm (S. Hartnett)

Abbeyfeale Utd B V Granagh Utd 7pm (J. Molyneaux)
Feenagh V Pallaskenry 7pm (D. Wallace)

Saturday 11th May
Desmond Youths Cup Final (90 minutes only)
Breska Rovers V Newcastle West 4pm Clounreask (P. O’Donnell, G. O’Connor, D. O’Gorman, 4th Official TBA)

Youths Division 1 League Cup Final (extra time & penalties)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 730 (P. O’Connor, T. Fitzmaurice, D. Wallace, 4th Official TBA)

Sunday 12th May
Weekly Observer Division 2 League Cup Semi Final (extra time & penalties)
Creeves Celtic V Rathkeale Reserves 230

Glin Rovers V Rathkeale 1130 (P. Manning)
Newcastle West V Killeaney 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Broadford Utd V Ballingarry 1130 (J. Roche)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Carrig Celtic 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Newcastle West Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (L. O’Connor)

Kildimo Utd V Rockhill Rovers 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
St. Itas V Adare Utd 1130 (C. Dalton)
Breska Rovers V Athea Utd 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Askeaton V Old Mill 1130 (P. King)
Kilcornan V Glantine 1130 (J. Molyneaux)

Carrig Celtic B V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (E. Barrett)

Ferry Rangers V Athea Utd B 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Knockaderry V Kilcornan B 230 (P. O’Brien)

Feenagh B V St. Itas B 230 (D. Wallace)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Glin Rovers B in Glin 230 (S. Hartnett)

Tuesday 14th May
Youths Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West 7pm (C. Dalton)

Friday 17th May
Weekly Observer Premier Division, all 7pm
Final Series of Premier fixtures, subject to ratification by the League MC.

Abbeyfeale Utd B V Feenagh 7pm

Feenagh B V Creeves Celtic B 7pm

Saturday 18th May
Youths Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Adare Utd 230
Newcastle West V Newcastle West Rovers 230

fanaticfan
06/05/2013, 11:18 AM
no mention of the other desmond cup semi final draw as someone else said so the league must be looking into the case alright.. great game in division 1 on sunday with kildimo playing rockhill in the league.athea,rockhill and kildimo all level on points with 2 games to go

seaniefitz
06/05/2013, 1:27 PM
no mention of the other desmond cup semi final draw as someone else said so the league must be looking into the case alright.. great game in division 1 on sunday with kildimo playing rockhill in the league.athea,rockhill and kildimo all level on points with 2 games to go
It's the last game of the season in division 1 next week-end fanaticfan. So it's essentially a play-off between Kildimo and Rockhill for promotion, assuming that Athea beat Breska. How is the title decided if 2 teams finish on the same points? Goal difference? And if Kildimo and Rockhill draw, does anybody know what happens? They have the same number of points, wins and goal difference. A play-off?

last man back
06/05/2013, 8:53 PM
Ya a play off. Rockhill could lose out last day of the season 2 years in a row !

fanaticfan
06/05/2013, 9:20 PM
It's the last game of the season in division 1 next week-end fanaticfan. So it's essentially a play-off between Kildimo and Rockhill for promotion, assuming that Athea beat Breska. How is the title decided if 2 teams finish on the same points? Goal difference? And if Kildimo and Rockhill draw, does anybody know what happens? They have the same number of points, wins and goal difference. A play-off?

my bad thought there was 2 games to go in division 1. ya its a playoff if kildimo and rockhill draw on sunday....what happens if kildimo vs rockhill is a draw and breska vs athea is a draw??? three way playoff???

fanaticfan
06/05/2013, 11:33 PM
Premier Division Winners Newcastle West
Premier Division Runners Up Broadford Utd or Ballingarry

1st Division Winners Kildimo or Rockhill or Athea
1st Division Runnners Up Kildimo or Rockhill or Athea

2nd Division Winners Rathkeale Reserves or Pallaskenry
2nd Division Runners Up Rathkeale Reserves or Pallaskenry

3rd Division Winners Athea B
3rd Division Runners Up Ferry Rangers or Knockaderry

4th Division Winners Shountrade
4th Division Runners up Shannonside B

Langerdan007
07/05/2013, 11:18 AM
my bad thought there was 2 games to go in division 1. ya its a playoff if kildimo and rockhill draw on sunday....what happens if kildimo vs rockhill is a draw and breska vs athea is a draw??? three way playoff???

Fair play to Athea - they were nicely off the pace with 7 or 8 games to go - if they all finish up on the same (both draw) would they have to draw lots for a bye into a playoff final?!
I cant see it panning out that way though - you'd have to think the Kildimo-v-Rockhill game will produce some sort of a result

On the Desmond Cup fiasco - last year was the first time I heard of this B registered thing for cups - Our A's were in a league cup semi (i think) late on and we'd a few away like that on a stag - Any players who were registered B were prevented from playing the game - I think the league contacted us to say we couldnt play - I thought it was a joke - if you hadn't played in that cup competition with the B's why should you be prevented from playing - you can play 5 league games before you've to officially move - whats the point in having B teams if you dont get the benefits of having 2 squads

skyhome
07/05/2013, 6:21 PM
Fair play to Athea - they were nicely off the pace with 7 or 8 games to go - if they all finish up on the same (both draw) would they have to draw lots for a bye into a playoff final?!
I cant see it panning out that way though - you'd have to think the Kildimo-v-Rockhill game will produce some sort of a result

On the Desmond Cup fiasco - last year was the first time I heard of this B registered thing for cups - Our A's were in a league cup semi (i think) late on and we'd a few away like that on a stag - Any players who were registered B were prevented from playing the game - I think the league contacted us to say we couldnt play - I thought it was a joke - if you hadn't played in that cup competition with the B's why should you be prevented from playing - you can play 5 league games before you've to officially move - whats the point in having B teams if you dont get the benefits of having 2 squads

i agree wit you and i disagree in a way. ive never heard of this rule before someone on this forum pointed it out its been a very long time since i played in the desmond league. i agree wit you for the fact you should be able to play b team players if their not cup tied but i think that should only apply for the desmond cup. league and league cups you should only play players that are registered to the team involved i.e. a teams in their league and league cup campaign and b teams in their league and league cups. isnt the desmond cup suppose to be the main cup competion out here anyway

Langerdan007
08/05/2013, 7:59 AM
i agree wit you and i disagree in a way. ive never heard of this rule before someone on this forum pointed it out its been a very long time since i played in the desmond league. i agree wit you for the fact you should be able to play b team players if their not cup tied but i think that should only apply for the desmond cup. league and league cups you should only play players that are registered to the team involved i.e. a teams in their league and league cup campaign and b teams in their league and league cups. isnt the desmond cup suppose to be the main cup competion out here anyway

The Desmond Cup would be the big one alright skyhome - I see what your saying about being registered and taking part in your own league/league cup campaigns but when you are lining out 2 teams the club will have to spread the players more than if they had one team so instead of potentially having 20+ players in your squad you have 15/16 maybe - if you are missing a few due to weddings and events its only right that players registered in your club who are getting games with the second team should be allowed to fill in.

Rathkeale renamed their B team this year Rathkeale Reserves and to be fair that's what B teams should be seen as - a team where young lads coming up can start out - where fellas moving towards the end of a career can get a run out on a Sunday but your first team should always be maintained and the full pool of players registered in the club are there to do that

skyhome
08/05/2013, 8:04 AM
The Desmond Cup would be the big one alright skyhome - I see what your saying about being registered and taking part in your own league/league cup campaigns but when you are lining out 2 teams the club will have to spread the players more than if they had one team so instead of potentially having 20+ players in your squad you have 15/16 maybe - if you are missing a few due to weddings and events its only right that players registered in your club who are getting games with the second team should be allowed to fill in.

Rathkeale renamed their B team this year Rathkeale Reserves and to be fair that's what B teams should be seen as - a team where young lads coming up can start out - where fellas moving towards the end of a career can get a run out on a Sunday but your first team should always be maintained and the full pool of players registered in the club are there to do that

in fairness your dead right with ur arguments there langerdan007

answers
08/05/2013, 9:17 AM
the problem seems to be that most teams this year wasn't aware what you can and cant do regards using b team players in what competitions, you have to feel sorry for any club punished for this as i would blame the clowns who implement the rules at meetings without taking into mind the way the country's gone with players leaving every week. i can see this turning into a joke on the league. best of look also to all involved in the division one run hopefully athea can get up as i don't think too many clubs will fancy travelling down to tog out on the side of the road or if the ball goes over the wall in rock hill you wait 15 minutes to get it back.

last man back
08/05/2013, 9:52 PM
"the clowns who implement the rules" actually answers the clubs vote on the rules so you cant really blame the committee for doing there job.

answers
09/05/2013, 12:26 PM
from what i gathered was the rule was always there but on amending rule book they came across this and decided on informing clubs on it after the first round of the cup had started giving clubs no chance to form a decent club team in January. now if that's not bad decision making by a committee for the "main cup" what is.

Draper
09/05/2013, 8:21 PM
Rovers beat Abbey 2;1 tonight in Knockaderry.
That leaves everyone with 2 games left,

Glin 13pts
Killeaney 12pts
NCW Rovers 10pts.

Whos' goin' down lads?

fanaticfan
09/05/2013, 9:16 PM
yup rover 2-1 abbeyfeale... abbey went 1-0 up and few minutes later dara barrett levelled for rovers, rovers got the winner through jason brouder

im gonna guess rovers and killeaney for the drop

fourfour3
11/05/2013, 10:25 AM
two good youths matches at headquaters this evening.ncw afc v breska and ncw rovers v abbeyfeale.

Notaclue
11/05/2013, 2:49 PM
Congratulations to Newcastlewest on winning the Premier League last night, 2-0 v Ballingarry. The first was a 35yd rocket from James Quaid which flew into the top corner off the underside of the crossbar. The second was an unfortunate miskick by Brian Fitzgerald from a cross by Mike Quilligan. 2-0 at halftime. NCW could have added a couple more after the break but good keeping by Kenrick from Power twice and a goalline clearance by Colm Kiely from Kevin O'Shea's good strike kept the score down. In truth Ballingarry offered very little going forward and had only a few half chances to give Murphy problems. Ncw are worthy Champions.

fourfour3
11/05/2013, 9:51 PM
went to see the youths league cup final between abbeyfeale and ncw rovers tonight.some great football played especially by rovers,they won 3 0.ncw afc had big win also winning 6 0.