View Full Version : RTE Panel

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

dong
18/10/2012, 10:41 PM
When have you ever heard of a player coming out publicly in the media and saying a manager has lost the dressing room?
It doesn't really happen.

Junior
19/10/2012, 8:59 AM
Not explicitly no, I agree. However if they do come out in support of the manager we have to disregard it completely...I see.

So do you think the dressing room is lost or not? If not, not sure why we are continuing this line of discussion. If you do, what are you basing that on?

19/10/2012, 10:28 AM
sort of related, RTE have had to issue an apology to Delaney and Trapattoni: http://www.rte.ie/news/morningireland/

On our Morning Ireland sports bulletin just after 8.30am yesterday morning, we featured a piece between Darren Frehill and our soccer correspondent Tony O'Donoghue in which we stated that it was generally believed that mixed messages had been given to the media about the future of the Senior Manager's position and that the Chief Executive of the FAI John Delaney was the Senior FAI Source responsible for these rumours. RTÉ and Tony O'Donoghue would like to unreservedly apologise to the CEO John Delaney for these statements made on our programme which were untrue.
We would also like to apologise for the general tone of that particular exchange.

19/10/2012, 10:53 AM
Whether or not Delaney was Freehill's /TOD's source or another's source, a blabbermouth journalist who can't protect the identity of the FAI source, lacks the required integrity to to take their beating on the chin.

Uncle_Joe
20/10/2012, 8:00 AM
The media made a total mess of this week. Did anyone else listen to the the love-in on Off the Ball after the Germany game where fine journalists like Fanning, Sadlier and Early smugly reminisced on the end of Trap's reign as manager. They spent an entire show talking as if the sacking had already happened only to do a retake after the FAIs statement. Then they proceeded to rewrite the whole event and portray Trapattoni as a master manipulator who had pulled th wool over everyone's eyes.

Spudulika
20/10/2012, 8:01 AM
The boys were twittering about it from early morning and putting the story out before they even got on air. This is what happens when journo's figure they can make the news rather than just report it. Looks like Maggie Thatcher's wetdream is coming through, we're almost fully re-integrated with the motherland!

dong
21/10/2012, 2:40 PM
Not explicitly no, I agree. However if they do come out in support of the manager we have to disregard it completely...I see.

So do you think the dressing room is lost or not? If not, not sure why we are continuing this line of discussion. If you do, what are you basing that on?

Sure how would I know? I was only responding to your previous comment that Trap had not lost the dressing room based on the supportive words of the players, which I feel is rubbish.
One of those players was Keane, who was sitting beside Trap at the time.
You think Shane Long is happy being left on the bench as he bangs in goals weekly at Premier League level?
His treatment has been an absolute disgrace.

22/10/2012, 9:40 AM
You think Shane Long is happy being left on the bench as he bangs in goals weekly at Premier League level?
His treatment has been an absolute disgrace.

Strangely that's what the media said about James McCarthy who said recently that the manager has been "brilliant" to him.

If you call banging in goals "weekly" 11 in 40 game for WBA then it must be a short year for you. Shane has had 31 caps for us and scored 1 competitive goal. I don't think he is an obvious starter when it's a choice of two from Keane, Walters, Cox, Doyle and Long. Ahead of Cox ok but the others each have an arguable case.

I almost coughed my Pinot Noir all over the mother in law on Saturday night when I heard Brendan O'COnnor interviewing Laughing Bill who when asked should Trapp be sacked said "I know I am supposed to be neutral but.....". You haven't been neutral about any manager Bill since Dunphy joined the show.

PatJR
22/10/2012, 10:19 AM
[QUOTE=OwlsFan;1637810]
If you call banging in goals "weekly" 11 in 40 game for WBA then it must be a short year for you. Shane has had 31 caps for us and scored 1 competitive goal. I don't think he is an obvious starter when it's a choice of two from Keane, Walters, Cox, Doyle and Long. Ahead of Cox ok but the others each have an arguable case.

QUOTE]

Totally agree. I like Long and I would start him but Trap picking Walters ahead of him for Germany and then Keane\Walters for Faroe cannot be called disgraceful. But it's understandable that people think Long is some sort of super star the way he is now protrayed by Irish pundits\media. He is the latest stick to beat Trap with now that he has played Coleman and McCarthy. For example Dunphy was on about him constantly at halftime in the Faroes game and threw out the "stat" that Long had 5 Premier league goals to his credit. Completely wrong, he had two at that stage, his other three goals came from Oman friendly and two in the league cup against a division 1 team. Still, why let facts get in the way a good rant.

22/10/2012, 10:41 AM
Shane has had 31 caps for us and scored 1 competitive goal.

Just to add balance to this stat, Long has started a total of two competitive games for Ireland (he has started just one competitive game under Trapattoni). Out of 31 caps, he has 8 goals.

IsMiseSean
22/10/2012, 2:12 PM
I almost coughed my Pinot Noir all over the mother in law on Saturday night when I heard Brendan O'COnnor interviewing Laughing Bill who when asked should Trapp be sacked said "I know I am supposed to be neutral but.....". You haven't been neutral about any manager Bill since Dunphy joined the show.

I watched the repeat last night. I nearly put my fist through the TV.
I don't know which was worse, Bill & O'Connor's whole 'isn't being from Cork great' 'Fine Gael are just brilliant' or 'Roy Keane is God' ****e!!

22/10/2012, 3:09 PM
Just to add balance to this stat, Long has started a total of two competitive games for Ireland (he has started just one competitive game under Trapattoni). Out of 31 caps, he has 8 goals.

:) Yes, stats can be manipulated just about any old way. I say he has scored 1 competitive goal, you say he's only started two competitive games. But if you add up all the minutes he's had on the pitch in competitive games, I wonder what does that add up to? I don't think any or at least very few Irish fans have anything negative to say about Long. He's just the media's latest stick to beat Trapp with. I wouldn't select him ahead of either Keane or Walters but I can understand why others might. However, it's not as cut and dried as a few recent goals in the EPL might make out.

22/10/2012, 3:23 PM
If Westwood is to continue with launching missiles, then hulk Walters would be favored over Long.

22/10/2012, 4:53 PM
I watched the repeat last night. I nearly put my fist through the TV.
I don't know which was worse, Bill & O'Connor's whole 'isn't being from Cork great' 'Fine Gael are just brilliant' or 'Roy Keane is God' ****e!!

Yes, would you believe that they went back to Saipan as well.

23/10/2012, 6:46 AM
But if you add up all the minutes he's had on the pitch in competitive games, I wonder what does that add up to?

Google has all the answers. :smile:

Long has 341 minutes over 10 competitive appearances. This gives him an average of 34.1 minutes on the pitch for each competitive cap he has under Trapattoni.

In comparison, Simon Cox has 503 minutes of competitive action (0 goals) spread over 12 competitive caps. An average of 41.9 minutes per competitive cap.

Jon Walters has 439 minutes (2 goals (Estonia, Faroes)) spread over 8 competitive caps. An average of 54.9 minutes per competitive cap.

We have played a total of 2,700 minutes of competitive football under Trapattoni (disregarding injury time and extratime in Paris). Using this;
Long has played 12.6% of all competitive minutes under Trapattoni,
Cox has played 18.6%, and
Walters has played 16.3%.

23/10/2012, 9:57 AM
Yes, would you believe that they went back to Saipan as well.

For a fella who hates the panel, you seem to spend a lot of time watching them and wherever they pop-up!

23/10/2012, 12:05 PM
For a fella who hates the panel, you seem to spend a lot of time watching them and wherever they pop-up!

:) No choice this time. Was visiting the in-laws and that's what they were watching. Mind you, my father in-law is a staunch Fianna Failer so the love in about Fine Gael was going down like a lead balloon.

the bear
24/10/2012, 8:51 PM
Dunphy is slating Man City saying they are brutal. He said they only won the league because they can get away with being a poor team when playing against clubs like Swansea who will just give the ball straight back to them. It wasn't even 6 months ago that auld Eamo was showing clips of Swansea playing before Ireland matches and saying that's how we should be playing

24/10/2012, 9:00 PM
Did he use Swansea as an example? Otherwise I think he's basically right. I think City (and United) benefit from teams basically writing the game off and concentrating on more important fixtures. In the Champions League, every game is a huge game and teams will be going out with the belief they can win.

the bear
24/10/2012, 10:14 PM
Ye he named Swansea and Fulham I think. Darragh gave out to him for calling Mancini a clown as well

24/10/2012, 10:21 PM
Those were some odd examples to pick. Fulham are playing some lovely stuff with fairly limited footballers under Jol. I'd say it's more a case that players at Swansea and Fulham don't have the quality to concentrate for 90 minutes with the likes of Silva and Aguero bombing at them incessantly.

Sure doesn't Eamo only watch Spanish football anyway?

25/10/2012, 7:34 AM
Those were some odd examples to pick. Fulham are playing some lovely stuff with fairly limited footballers under Jol. I'd say it's more a case that players at Swansea and Fulham don't have the quality to concentrate for 90 minutes with the likes of Silva and Aguero bombing at them incessantly.

Sure doesn't Eamo only watch Spanish football anyway?

I'd share a lot of your opinions usually, but what constitutes a limited footballer these days? I would say Fulham have one of the most techically gifted squads around, with a number of superb players. Even the limited players they have (the likes of Sidwell
I took their first team squad from wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulham_F.C.#First-team_squad
They have a competent back 4, with one of the best centre backs around in Hangeland (he struggled with the supposed attentions of Arsenal a bit last season). They have players like Diarra, Duff, Ruiz, Petric, Berbatov, Rodallega and a couple of excellent young players in Dalle Valle and Kaca.

They are far from a limited team. But they do play lovely football.

Agree with the main point of the last few posts re: the bigger teams and the perceived weaker teams. The capitulation of the smaller clubs in England is a real head-scratcher.

25/10/2012, 8:47 AM
Ye he named Swansea and Fulham I think. Darragh gave out to him for calling Mancini a clown as well

If only Darragh had an edge to his knife he could have rattled Dunphy beyond repair for the gutter type nonsense he was spouting after that game.
Not that Man City didn't deserve criticism.

25/10/2012, 8:53 AM
Did he use Swansea as an example? Otherwise I think he's basically right. I think City (and United) benefit from teams basically writing the game off and concentrating on more important fixtures. In the Champions League, every game is a huge game and teams will be going out with the belief they can win.

Ferguson came out and said something different, in that he focuses on the bigger PL games than the CL group stages, hence why he rested Ferdinand on Tuesday.

the bear
25/10/2012, 9:10 AM
If only Darragh had an edge to his knife he could have rattled Dunphy beyond repair for the gutter type nonsense he was spouting after that game.
Not that Man City didn't deserve criticism.

He was like a fountain of ****e going off. I like Darragh though would have been nice to see him pull eamo up even more. Yer man Tony was having awful trouble with his new map highlight navigation toy, couldn't find where to click a few times

25/10/2012, 9:35 AM
:D And the thing was, Tony thought it was all great gas as he managed to pull off an incredible string of goofs and fumble about blindly when a more sensible individual would have been hoping to be beamed out of there, up to RTE heaven.

25/10/2012, 10:29 AM
Paul Jewel leaves Ipswich Town bottom of the Championship. The man the Panel was touting to be our new manager when Stan departed. Not even touting, I mean interviewing. Pity this thread is closed: http://foot.ie/threads/76585-Paul-Jewell/page7

Didn't see the programme last night. I cannot believe Dunphy was using Swansea as a negative example last night. A few weeks ago he was holding them up as the shining example of how Ireland should be playing including showing clips.

DeLorean
25/10/2012, 11:32 AM
Yeah he used Swansea as an example of a team that gives the ball straight back to them. I got the impression he probably knew after saying it that it wasn't the best example to use, but he continued with his nonsensical rant instead of back tracking. Ironically enough, he continued by saying Manchester City would be far better off with Martin O'Neill or (and wait for it.....) Brendan Rodgers managing them. Now, one can only assume that he chose Rodgers as an example because of the lovely controlled football he had Swansea playing last season! Darragh really could have laid in to him after that one but I suppose with the likes of Dunphy you can't win, no matter how stupid you make them look.

Dunphy's reaction to Darragh saying that he's not comfortable with calling Mancini a clown was funny enough- "Ah come on, it's only TV".

25/10/2012, 11:48 AM
It was if Dunphy was saying 'look Darragh, you can't be serious, I'm only following the script of my contract with RTE to be overly hypocritical and contradictory, don't give me a hard time about it'

gastric
30/10/2012, 8:33 PM
Bill O'Herlihy has written a book - Eamonn encouraged him!

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/books/bill-oherlihy-i-dont-mind-coming-across-as-an-eejit-at-times-3278267.html

DannyInvincible
31/10/2012, 8:25 AM
Paul Jewel leaves Ipswich Town bottom of the Championship. The man the Panel was touting to be our new manager when Stan departed. Not even touting, I mean interviewing. Pity this thread is closed: http://foot.ie/threads/76585-Paul-Jewell/page7

Mick McCarthy looks set to replace him: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/english/2012/1031/343706-mccarthy-close-to-taking-over-at-ipswich/

Grafter
07/02/2013, 11:24 PM
Watched the highlights programme of Ireland Poland match on RTE2 last night... Is it just me, or does there appear to be ongoing tension between Darragh Maloney and John Giles? I've seen Maloney be spikey with Giles on-air in the past and certainly last night there were a few dirty looks on both sides...

Personally, I find Maloney heavy going as a presenter... like Matt Smith on ITV... doesn't flow IMO....

Crosby87
08/02/2013, 1:18 AM
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSLzvsZOi-KtSeJeAMgyWUbuzEIXdZZ5OR0Qe4KIy392D5Qk9Agvw

Ariba!

08/02/2013, 8:12 AM
Watched the highlights programme of Ireland Poland match on RTE2 last night... Is it just me, or does there appear to be ongoing tension between Darragh Maloney and John Giles? I've seen Maloney be spikey with Giles on-air in the past and certainly last night there were a few dirty looks on both sides...

Personally, I find Maloney heavy going as a presenter... like Matt Smith on ITV... doesn't flow IMO....
While George was out on sick leave, Darragh took over the match commentaries and afair had a 100% record. Whatever irritation he might inspire in anybody, that record forgives all. Another plus for Darragh is that he's not Bill.
I missed the post game rte punditry on Wed night. Bill, in order to introduce debate, would quote some nonsense from some paper or another, thereby denying responsibility for asking the nonsense, claiming that it was in the papers and not from him. Darragh will at least ask follow on questions, something Bill was incapable of.
For my part, I'd rather he developed the knack of good debate rather than making himself likeable and everybody's chum.

KK77
08/02/2013, 8:33 AM

I don't think there is any tension between them to be honest. I seen Darragh have a few similar spikey moments with Dunphy recently as well. I think Dunphy being Dunphy was calling one of the managers a clown or something and Darragh pulled him up on it and wouldn't let it go when Dunphy tried to laugh it off. I think Darragh Maloney is a good presenter myself.

Spudulika
08/02/2013, 9:02 AM
Darragh's very solid and isn't trying to be controversial in the old British style (a la Bill), though he does need to lighten up a bit. It'll come though, once he starts to realise his place int eh pecking order! :-)

Sullivinho
08/02/2013, 10:31 AM
I like Darragh. RTE could do a lot worse. Anyone ever watched football coverage on TV3? Morbid.

Also, I think John Giles' default expression just happens to coincide with the average dirty look. I reckon you could be his best mate, having the craic together and he'd be looking at you during the silences like you'd mentioned John Fitzpatrick.

08/02/2013, 11:20 AM
John 'it was a 50 50 tackle, my leg wasn't broken and I played on' Fitzpatrick?

Sullivinho
08/02/2013, 11:53 AM
That's the chap.

DeLorean
08/02/2013, 11:56 AM
I think Maloney is excellent. Eamon was banging on about Ronaldo never doing it against Barca not so long ago and Darragh told him he got the winner at he Nou Camp last season and has scored in his last three games against them (or something like that). Eamon just said something ridiculous like..."I know but before that I mean". The other night he asked the right questions also when Whelan and Giles were banging on about there being no point in playing the likes of Sammon and Cunningham when they won't be playing against Sweden. Darragh basically said "hold on, weren't ye complaining that he wasn't giving players a chance not so long ago, I mean what's he going to learn that he doesn't already know about Cox or Walters?". To be fair Giles eventually started making sense (after Whelan went completely off track avoiding the actual question) saying, "these players should have been tried out ages ago but now is the time to prepare for the Sweden game".*

*Lots of quotation marks but no exact quotes!

08/02/2013, 1:31 PM
Also, I think John Giles' default expression just happens to coincide with the average dirty look. I reckon you could be his best mate, having the craic together and he'd be looking at you during the silences like you'd mentioned John Fitzpatrick.

Genuine LOL. :D

rebelmusic
08/02/2013, 2:55 PM
Agree with Delorean. Bill and co for years now have been asking the questions the people who have no interest in the Irish team want answered. How many times did you hear some random person who only watches at tournaments say something like "Trap is a disgrace...sure he won't select Stephen Ireland".

It was really refreshing to see Maloney call Ronnie's bluff and see Ronnie's expression of, "Oh crap...how will i get myself out of this one".

The unfortunate thing about years of Dunphyism is that aspiring soccere commentators in Ireland see that being sensational is what gets them gigs. Giles as the resident 'Expert' has been saying the same thing for years now regardless of the performance. Nothing Giles or Dunphy suggest as solutions to our problems, when tested, have actually been solutions.

DannyInvincible
08/02/2013, 3:48 PM
Maloney is of a younger, tech-savvy generation. I'd say he does a fair amount of his research online (online media, forums and the blogosphere) rather than rely heavily on opinion in the mainstream printed media. Where do Bill, Dunphy and Giles do their research on the latest debates and issues in Irish football?

08/02/2013, 3:54 PM
Maloney is of a younger, tech-savvy generation. I'd say he does a fair amount of his research online (online media, forums and the blogosphere) rather than rely heavily on opinion in the mainstream printed media. Where do Bill, Dunphy and Giles do their research on the latest debates and issues in Irish football?
Ah here. Billo and Gilesy don't need to do no research. Eamo attends every single game in La Liga to keep up to date on the latest developments in world football.

Gather round
08/02/2013, 3:57 PM

Bill goes to a Japanese-owned electronics factory on the outskirts of Newtownabbey. Oki, Doagh.

DeLorean
08/02/2013, 4:08 PM
Ah here. Billo and Gilesy don't need to do no research. Eamo attends every single game in La Liga to keep up to date on the latest developments in world football.

A self-proclaimed 'student' of Spanish football who thought that Aimar and Baraja were still pulling the strings for Valencia as recently as two years ago.

08/02/2013, 4:20 PM
Maloney is of a younger, tech-savvy generation. I'd say he does a fair amount of his research online (online media, forums and the blogosphere) rather than rely heavily on opinion in the mainstream printed media.

Never ever let me see this word again. Horrendous.

Where do Bill, Dunphy and Giles do their research on the latest debates and issues in Irish football?

I was gonna say here... but this is teh internetz... dang...

08/02/2013, 4:30 PM
A self-proclaimed 'student' of Spanish football who thought that Aimar and Baraja were still pulling the strings for Valencia as recently as two years ago.
He's an expert on Spanish football, he said so himself.

07/03/2013, 9:51 AM
It has dawned on ITV which RTE realised 25 years ago. Get a pundit who will shout his mouth off and you get viewers watching:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-united/9912777/Roy-Keanes-compelling-critique-of-Nanis-red-card-shows-he-has-finally-come-of-age-as-a-pundit.html

Interesting comments about Keane and the Charlton era as well.

07/03/2013, 12:06 PM
It's funny reading that. Keane is in a Souness role rather than Dunphy.