View Full Version : Where to from now....

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

seanfhear
15/06/2012, 12:23 PM
Long term we have to look at what a country like Croatia does at grass root level and youth level. The teams that Croatia have produced (since independence) are a credit to such a small nation. What ever they are doing is producing great results.

15/06/2012, 12:27 PM
Roy Keane for manager. At least he'll take no sh**e and will get rid of the dead wood from the team.
the last dead wood from a team that Keane got rid of was Jordan Rhodes

15/06/2012, 1:30 PM
the last dead wood from a team that Keane got rid of was Jordan Rhodes

Household name alright. I have absolutely no idea who that is.

CraftyToePoke
15/06/2012, 1:53 PM
Household name alright. I have absolutely no idea who that is.

71 goals in 122 apps since he left Ipswich and his choice of moves at present, full Scottish honours also. Probably good enough for Roy Keanes Ipswich Town.

Colbert Report
15/06/2012, 2:47 PM
I'd stay well away from someone who has no interest in at very least looking at our own national league and Harry Redknapp is most certainly not the answer to our problems. I'd have Roy Keane 50 times over before Harry Redknapp.

I just don't understand. When's the last time a LOI player started a competitive match for Ireland, thirty years ago now? I'm not talking about someone who spent a couple of years with a LOI team before making it in the professional leagues over in Britain, I'm talking someone who was actually playing for a LOI team when they started a match that meant something for Ireland.

15/06/2012, 2:48 PM
The guts of a decent squad is there:
Gk: Westwood, Randolph, Henderson
Rb: Kelly, Foley,
Lb: Cunningham, Ward, White
Cb: O'Dea, St Ledger, Duffy, Wilson, Clark

RM: McGeady, Coleman
LM: McClean, Brady
Cm: McCarthy, Gibson, Fahey, Meyler, McCann, Hendrick

Am: Carruthers

FW: Long, Walters, Doyle, Mason, Best

That group of players could pass a football.I still think there's some dead wood in there.

You forgot Alex Pearce (as I always do).

I think evolution is needed now certainly, however I would rather not have a baby/bathwater scenario, But keep certain key older heads around the place, so we hopefully never travel this path again.

If Trap is the man to deliver such a scenario is the big variable.Unless the FAI change Trap's brief from qualification to "endeavour to qualify whilst regenerating the squad to be in a position to start Euro 2016 qualification in good shape" I'd be inclined to start anew. I'm not sure Trap could meet the latter brief anyway. Our game is out of date and is only good for those tricky away games in Myunclestan and places like that.

I think Shay, Duff, Ward, McShane, Whelan (sorry Glenn, but the truth is harsh sometimes) O'Dea, Fahey, Green for different reasons can probably be disgarded. I think maybe time for Robbie to bow out too, at least as a starter. I'd hope Dunne can hang around for leadership and defensive resolve and I'd keep O'Shea but not as right back. I'd keep Andrews and Kelly around too.

A new team / squad can be built around Westwood, Henderson, St. Ledger, Pearce, Coleman, Cunningham, Wilson, Clark, Gibson, McClean, Meyler, Hoolahan, Doyle, Long, Walters, McCarthy and some others and with a ballsy manager - right now I'm going all nostalgic for Mick.

Above all we really need a few U21s to break into EPL first teams. Mason, Hendrick, Brady, Duffy, Cunningham, Henderson - I'm talking about you!

cestlavie
15/06/2012, 3:01 PM
10 years ago we should have beat Spain in the World Cup (without possibly or best player).

10 years on we have gone backwards & Spain have went to different level.

Sure we can blame Staunton partially, but Trap and the FAI development systems/Emerging talent programs are shambolic.

We have better players and some of the people on here have mentioned their names.

If Trap and FAI dont change, I would have serious concerns about the future of Irish Football.

15/06/2012, 3:15 PM
the FAI development systems/Emerging talent programs are shambolic.I'm not saying you're wrong but can you (or anyone) substantiate that?

CraftyToePoke
15/06/2012, 3:33 PM
Unless the FAI change Trap's brief from qualification to "endeavour to qualify whilst regenerating the squad to be in a position to start Euro 2016 qualification in good shape" I'd be inclined to start anew. I'm not sure Trap could meet the latter brief anyway.

Agree with you on those who should go to pasture, Fahey apart. I would like to think Shay, Damien and Robbie would stay to help the squad if asked, I don't know Robbie would take that flight to fill that role, you never know.

I think it has to start Monday if Trap is going to be that man, I would like to see Westwood, Gibson and Long start and McClean get a solid outing, get 90 mins experience against a top side who are playing for something, invaluable over the course of their Irish careers, and not being so wide eyed if a future qualification begins to tailspin, and players with improvement still in them.

Will he do it?

Maroon 7
15/06/2012, 3:40 PM
It would be nice to get some pace in the side. Leaving aside the obvious technical deficiencies we have also looked the slowest side at the tournament. Phasing in the likes of Long and McClean might add some badly needed zip to the team.

15/06/2012, 3:47 PM
It would be nice to get some pace in the side. Leaving aside the obvious technical deficiencies we have also looked the slowest side at the tournament. Phasing in the likes of Long and McClean might add some badly needed zip to the team.
That was one of the things I found odd about Trap's selections. We know we're going to have much less of the ball than opposing teams, so wouldn't it stand to reason we make sure our most athletic players are on the pitch? For me that means the likes McClean, Walters and Long.

third policeman
15/06/2012, 3:57 PM
I know there is nothing more infuriating at time like this than someone saying "I told you so" but treat this as a form of therapy. I took quite a bit of **** for posting the comments below last October

"If by some incredible miracle Trappatoni's mind-numbing obstinacy pays off against Armenia and gets through a play off against a European giant of the magnitude of Estonia or Montenegro, is there still a case for replacing him before his tactical shortcomings and perversely vindictive selction preferences are cruelly exposed this summer?

Is there anyone out there who honestly believes that we are a better team for not having tried out our most promising prospects, integrated our most consistent premiership performers or recruited our most plausible 2nd G options? Could O'Neil, Coppell and a host of other half decent unemployed coaches without Trapp's dogmatic idiosyncracies do any worse? If we do qualify it can only be dismal humiliation, frustration and shame. There will be no ambition, drama, beauty or heroism. In Russia they refer to the Brezhnev years as "the era of stagnation". I fear Trapp's reign will be similarly remembered or probably simply forgotten."

15/06/2012, 4:23 PM
Heh some of us have talked about that style of football from the VERY BEGINNING:cool:

cestlavie
15/06/2012, 4:40 PM
The training camp was far too long, not healthy to have too much time on their hands thinking about the games. They needed an extra week off at the end of the season.

Paul Green Thats says it all.

eekers
15/06/2012, 4:48 PM
Trap just there in the press conference when asked would he stay on, that the Irish fans yesterday night showed that they support him.
Using the whole Ole Ole fields of athenry bull**** as proof that he is popular.

backstothewall
15/06/2012, 4:53 PM
Trap just there in the press conference when asked would he stay on, that the Irish fans yesterday night showed that they support him.
Using the whole Ole Ole fields of athenry bull**** as proof that he is popular.

I don't think he was saying that at all. It's always hard with his English, but I thought he was saying he had a responsibility to the fans to give them the results they deserve.

eekers
15/06/2012, 4:57 PM
I don't think he was saying that at all. It's always hard with his English, but I thought he was saying he had a responsibility to the fans to give them the results they deserve.

As long as the players understand what he want them to do. Oh wait, Walters when asked what instructions Trap give him last night replied "You'd have to ask him".

Diarmo
15/06/2012, 11:11 PM
As long as the players understand what he want them to do. Oh wait, Walters when asked what instructions Trap give him last night replied "You'd have to ask him".

I do think this is a problem. I am generally very supportive of Trap and what's he's managed to do with the team, but one of the glaring things to appear to me over this tournament is our movement for the ball.

I wonder what type of training the team actually does with Trap. A lot of it seems to be "defend at all costs, keep shape" rather than any tactical ideas whatsoever. When we have possession, no player seems to have a clue where anyone else is, leading to the hopeless long ball tactics.

Also, take a look at some of the Spanish goals. Our marking is suspect, to say the least. I firmly believe we're not doing any passing movement or simple things like marking in training. I find that baffling for a manager and team who put so much stock in the system and tactical plan.

Otherwise, I'm not expecting major changes for the World Cup Qualifiers. I have one huge concern though. I'm worried that if we get a raft of retirements after the Euros, that Trap will turn to his current back up players (Green, McShane etc.) rather than try unfamiliar options such as Wilson, McCarthy etc. That, in my opinion would be a huge step back.

gastric
15/06/2012, 11:14 PM
Not too much optimism about Trap in this article (surprise, surprise!), though for once I think Kerr has a point.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0615/1224317986306.html

Junior
16/06/2012, 7:47 AM
Interesting he wasn't at the game but in Poznan?

Nothing new from Kerr in that article.

16/06/2012, 8:52 AM
I thoughtb that was Kerr's most balanced and least caustic (in fact it wasn't even slightly caustic) article in a while. The game has moved on from 442 and we need to catch up starting at the bottom. What's wrong with saying that?

16/06/2012, 8:59 AM
Lee Carsley has been interesting all week

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0616/1224318057874.html

barney
16/06/2012, 11:38 AM
Lee Carsley has been interesting all week

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0616/1224318057874.html

Interesting stuff. I do take issue with a long held belief amongst some reformists (and those who commented on that article) - give each kid a ball coz that's all they need. To an extent yes but this ignores the biggest problem of the Irish and British game.

The majority of time it isn't the guy on the ball that's the problem. Taking a touch and passing 5-10 yards is not massively difficult. The problem with the Irish mentality, or one of the problems, is that the other 9 outfield players don't appear to realise how important it is to find some space and make an angle to receive a pass and know before they get the ball where their team mates are. I was never taught anything about movement as a youngster - the onus was never on me to make myself available for the guy who had the ball. It was on him to find someone.

I watched O'Shea get the ball the other night (v Croatia) and a space opened up for him five yards inside but Keith Andrews refused to move into it and O'Shea punted it long and lost it. It was Andrews fault for hiding (which is something I've seen him do lots of times before).

The guy on the ball is not the most important guy on the pitch - it's the 6-7 guys who should be looking for it so he has options.

16/06/2012, 11:43 AM
yep, passing is the easy bit. You could see the Spanish anticipating passes all night., So as one guy made himself available, the (e.g.,) full back would anticipate him receiving the ball and would already have set off to make himself avilable for the next one. The thing is, we've seen our players do this in pre-match drills and they do it week in, week out. It's Gilesey's moral courage, you ahve to show for it and want it. Of course you ahve to have the touch and awareness to receive it and use it too though.

Noelys Guitar
16/06/2012, 3:46 PM
I doubt we will ever see players on these islands play as a group the way Spain played and play for a whole variety of reasons. The best we can hope for especially with qualifying for 2014 coming up is that 3 or 4 top players come through. I don't see one on the horizon at the moment but that can change, sometimes very quickly. I can't see any way we will get out of the group as things stand with the manager and squad we have now. Trap did a good job getting us to the finals but the two performances so far have been very poor even with the standard of player availabe for selection. I just can't see things improving under Trap with the types of players we have available. A mediocre manager like McCarthy would have gotten more out of this squad over the last two games.

16/06/2012, 5:58 PM
I see Enda Kenny is calling for an AI team, using the flawed logic that because our rugby team is a top 8 team then our footy team is bound to improve markedly too (OK, maybe a slightly over cynical interpretation of what he said). Here's something for him though: successive governments have never shown any interest in funding or supporting Irish football. Maybe you should start there before spouting rubbish about something you know little about.

Noelys Guitar
16/06/2012, 8:51 PM
Excellent performance from Greece to beat Russia. Samaras MOM. Shows what can be achieved by a team with not one world class player. Robbed of a peno as well. They make the most of what they have.

16/06/2012, 8:55 PM
True, but it'd be nice to be able to get a goal from an opponent's throw in. I agree though, if you're not in you can't win. Engage your opponent. Moral courage. By all means be good without the ball but be good with it too.

16/06/2012, 9:53 PM
We all consoled each other after getting battered by Russia twice that a point was a good return as they were such a brilliant, top, world-class side. Now they've beaten the worst Czech side I can remember- with two late goals- drawn with Poland, and have been beaten by Greece.

16/06/2012, 10:02 PM
We all consoled each other after getting battered by Russia twice that a point was a good return as they were such a brilliant, top, world-class side. Now they've beaten the worst Czech side I can remember- with two late goals- drawn with Poland, and have been beaten by Greece.

To be fair, Russia can never be a barometer. They're the football equivalent of the Joker from the Dark Knight; one minute they're slitting your throat with a knife in their shoe, the next they're running round in a dress blowing themselves and everyone else up.

Mario
17/06/2012, 11:29 AM
Excellent performance from Greece to beat Russia. Samaras MOM. Shows what can be achieved by a team with not one world class player. Robbed of a peno as well. They make the most of what they have.

The difference is Greece have a large number of players playing first team football every season in the Champions League and Europa League for Panathainaikos, Olympiakos, PAOK etc.
Plus you have some of the top greek players playing first team football for big teams in other leagues.

I saw PAOK playing Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght and they were very impressive with very strong, very fast football. They looked alot stronger than some of the big other teams like Partisan Belgrade, FC Copenhagen who recently played in Tallaght and had lots of internationals in their sides.

Ireland by comparison have very few players playing regular top European football and most of the our squad are just premiership squad players who are in and out of their first teams.

brine3
17/06/2012, 11:37 AM
I wonder if Trap went home and thought about it for a week and decided to step down, would they make Tardelli the Manager? It just seems like he knows the game but would be younger and perhaps more flexible.

You never know, if we beat Italy, trap might get a job offer somewhere better.

Tardelli was giving out to Trap something terrible in Moscow, telling him to bring on an extra midfielder. So he seems to see the same problems we do.

17/06/2012, 2:40 PM
Trap's strategy was good and incisive but the method(s) used has been found wanting. Some of the reasons for them to be found wanting are outside Trap's control but he is the man to select from the available players and select the ways to get the good and the best out of them. And then finally we are left with the spectacle of our method as being the stick others use to beat us senseless and our method being some kind of fear generator, infecting basic football ability that we know those players have in varying amounts.

I woke up this morning thinking that 4331 would be good, that would work, why not? until I did the maths.

17/06/2012, 2:43 PM
I woke up this morning thinking that 4331 would be good, that would work, why not? until I did the maths.

In Arabic maybe...

I'm gonna have a game of Pro Ev now and set my team up as 3-3-4 for the craic.

cestlavie
17/06/2012, 4:08 PM
I'm not saying you're wrong but can you (or anyone) substantiate that?

We have individual coaches some of them FAI who are doing decent work in some corners of the country but the emerging talent system as I have stated is not fit for purpose.

All you have to do is go to something like the Kennedy cup All youll see is a group of yes men in FAI tracksuits Sponsored cars and clip boards latching onto teams as if they somehow had alot of input into the development of certain players and teams. They have to be seen to be doing something rather than actually doing an effective/Constructive job on the ground at grassroots.

They are looking for physically bigger lads and smaller players are most of time overlooked. They have no clue. Emphasis then for many teams is to overlook the smaller players who could end up being the most skillful players in the future if the talent was harnessed and nurtured.

We need a radical overhaul at grassroots level.

gastric
18/06/2012, 2:26 AM
The amount of negativity that is permeating this forum, while understandable, is making me feel flat. Debate about fans, national academies, Trap, line ups, tactics and the opinions of commentators is certainly valid considering our results so far. Should fans be pushing the FAI for a review of what has happened and look for answers? Could it be the opportunity for the FAI to face its demons and to start to tackle the many issues it faces?

I think until such a review is undertaken the many valid points that are expressed on here will remain ideas and no more.

backstothewall
18/06/2012, 7:55 AM
The amount of negativity that is permeating this forum, while understandable, is making me feel flat. Debate about fans, national academies, Trap, line ups, tactics and the opinions of commentators is certainly valid considering our results so far. Should fans be pushing the FAI for a review of what has happened and look for answers? Could it be the opportunity for the FAI to face its demons and to start to tackle the many issues it faces?

I think until such a review is undertaken the many valid points that are expressed on here will remain ideas and no more.

The real progress from 10 years ago is that such a review will probably happen as a matter of course. The organisation does seem to be light years away from what it once was. No reports of the usual issues of rubbish hotels, lost kit, players squeezing into economy class seat on planes etc.

18/06/2012, 2:45 PM
I can warm to Kerr when he's being humble and balanced in the way he expresses his views. Although I do remember him starting Stephen Elliott, an out-and-out front man, as the right "corner forward" in a 433 at home (Croatia friendly?) and who can ever forget his genius substitution at home to Israel? Still, I think his points are valid.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0618/1224318141670.html#

REVERTING TO the usual Ireland XI, with Kevin Doyle’s return, suggests there will be no change to our inflexible system for the final game of this nightmare experience.

The attitude seemingly is thus: It got us this far, it failed, but so what? We’ve had a plan under Trap. Just the one. The players conformed or they were out. It has generally worked, up to the final warm-up game in Budapest, but it has often been skin of the teeth stuff.

There were plenty of warning signs against Macedonia, Armenia and Georgia.

Yes, I know as much as anyone how hard it is to get results on the international stage but it has been ever so dull to watch the Republic of Ireland in recent years.

We have lacked any flair or inventiveness and a lot of people in my big circle have been turned off by it. These are football people to their very core but they just couldn’t stomach the football we played.

Nobody is adopting an “I told you so” stance either. It hurts too much.

Nobody wants to be right about Ireland failing.

What surprised me most of all after seeing the pounding given to us by Russia (who, as an aside, were sussed on Saturday by Greece) in the qualifiers, and again during the Croatia and Spain meltdowns, was the complete lack of a Plan B. Nothing.

As a young coach I always admired the wisdom of experienced managers and how they could make a decision that altered what seemed the inevitable course of a game.

Italy coach Cesare Prandelli is a perfect example. Throughout their qualifying campaign the Azzurri played with a diamond shape of four in midfield.

It was narrow but allowed Pirlo to dictate from its base with support from De Rossi and Montolivo, while Prandelli mostly used Marchisio to assist the now injured Giuseppe Rossi and Antonio Cassano up front.

They ambled through their group finishing above Estonia on 26 points.

But then Prandelli, faced by the mighty Spaniards, changed his tactics.

It proved a masterstroke. He played De Rossi in the middle of what became a five-man back line with tough men Bonucci and Chiellini either side of him.

The match-fixing allegations denied them their regular left back Domenico Criscito, so he selected a debutant in Emanuele Giaccherini against Spain.. We talk about throwing lads in, Prandelli has done it. First cap, no friendly match, nothing. In you go. And the risk paid off.

The overall result of three centre backs, raiding wing backs and a crowded midfield meant Spain’s weaving patterns were confined to ineffectual areas, 30 yards from goal.

That evening I witnessed De Rossi and Pirlo spreading some beautiful passes on the counter to Maggio, Giaccherini and Cassano in the vacant spaces the Spanish defence leaves. The plan was so successful that Prandelli stuck with it against Croatia.

They were far superior in the first half with Pirlo’s set piece goal scant reward for dominating midfield.

Luka Modric hardly got a kick.

But then Croatia manager Slaven Bilic unveiled his Plan B, changing to 4-3-3. The pace of the contest changed immediately. Modric came alive, while Mandzukic scored at the far post, out of sight of the three centre backs.

The point is this. Two coaches, both far younger than Trap and with far less achievements to their name, both had a Plan B, distinctly different from their usual approach but clearly worked upon in advance.

Meanwhile, back at the Irish ranch, we plough on slavishly with 4-4-2, existing in a wonderland of tactical intransigence.

Prandelli may have been a player and student of Trap’s in the past, and has fawned over him at press conferences, but he is no fool.

Last summer’s friendly victory over Italy is irrelevant on the basis that both teams were severely undercooked and Prandelli was still experimenting. The draws against them during the World Cup qualifying campaign, and Trap’s old sparring partner Marcelo Lippi, were impressive results.

Again though, they are largely irrelevant now. Maybe Trap will have a brand new plan for his native land.

Italy need a win. They are having a respectable tournament so far but they are not a great team. They hit you on the counter and there’s an overreliance on the erratic Mario Balotelli. His potential absence through a knee injury may prove a veiled blessing for Italy.

The elegant Pirlo has been a joy to watch but the 33-year-old visibly slowed in the second half against the Croats. Still, we must stop him from conducting the orchestra. Who will do this? Not one of our immovable objects, Glenn Whelan and Keith Andrews, so more likely it will be expected of Doyle or Robbie Keane to help out in midfield without specific instructions, as Walters alleged after Thursday’s torture.

I so much want us to come out of this tournament with something tangible.

The arguments for dramatic change are sound and hard to argue against but they will get lost in translation once again.

We’ll just have to put up with that for now.

18/06/2012, 4:31 PM
The old Plan B cliche. He tried Plan B against Spain. Alas we conceded in the first 4 minutes and dropping back Cox to be the 5th midfielder was dead in the water although we limited Spain to the one goal for the rest of the half. He went back to Plan A and conceded 3 in the second half.

We didn't need Plan B against Croatia. We got back to 1-1 but then Croatia got a goal which should not have stood so it should have been 1-1 at half time. Different game. ANother goal when Shay headed in to the net just after half time and Plan Z let alone Plan B would not have rescued that.

I agree though it (primarily the home games) has not been great to watch. Personally, for the few internationals there are a year I am happy to "suffer" a poor enough game if we get the result. I would go away much happier with a turgid 1-0 than a breath-taking 3-3. I know the two are not mutally exclusive and the empty seats in the Aviva testify that nowadays people want to be entertained as well but I will say this that if we play "entertaining" football and lose, there will be far more empty seats. I was at the 0-1 game against Wales when Big Jack took over and there were about 17k I think even though up to that Irish managers had tried to play the "proper" way.

It must also be remembered that we are only talking about 2 games. The first one we got no breaks and the second one we were played off the park by the World Champions.

Trap's way has got us to a play off and a Finals. People obviously want more than that. However, be careful what you wish for. Perhaps someone else will lead us to the promised land or we might hire a false prophet who will lead us to the wilderness. Me, I prefer someone who knows the way even though it is over a very rutted and harsh landscape and the actual destination is a disappointment when we arrive. At least we are there and not floundering in the desert.

18/06/2012, 5:08 PM
Plan B? He tried something for the first time against the reigning European & World champions. No wonder it ended in disaster. At least play a recognised midfielder in there....but no he went with a striker who has sat on the bench for the past 2 seasons. He had ample opportunity to experiment in one of the endless number of international friendly games we have nowadays but decided not to.

Croatia played us off the park. Foul on Ward or not they would have won that game.

18/06/2012, 5:50 PM
Sorry Owls Fan, can't agree. Plan A isn't even very convincing in qualification. Trap did try a Plan B but an insane one - Cox in midfield - with a generous sprinking of hoofball thrown in.

I'm happy to totally and utterly disregard Spain but Plan B vs Croatia was hoofball with Cox wide left. Nonsense. Croatia had started to dominate before the waxy second goal. Hoofball is not a viable Plan A, B or Z in the modern game.

By all means be a cautious manager reliant on defending well and nicking goals, but tired old 442 can't even be relied upon to do that. Name me one convincing home performance under Trap? Georgia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Armenia, Montenegro (OK, dead rubber), Cyprus - all awful stuff, truly awful.

I am careful what I wish for and I know that change for change's sake is dangerous. I wish for immediate refreshing of the team in only a few positions, with a gradual refreshing of the rest of the squad over 6-12 months, and an immediate reconsideration of approach and tactics. If Trap & Tardelli can do this between them I'd be delighted.

Noelys Guitar
18/06/2012, 6:33 PM
Hodgson would not pick the squad or teams Trap has been sending out. For one Long would be ahead of Cox and rightly so (and I don't think Cox is a bad player just that Long is a better player). McCarthy would have been inbedded in this team some time ago (and yes I know about McCarthy's off pitch personal life stuff but am convinced that they would ahve been sorted a long time ago). Stephen Reid (now injured) would have played some part in the qualifyers. O'Shea would be playing at center half (excellent in that position for Sunderland since MON took over and again would be ahead of Sledge simply because he is a better all round player). McClean would definetely have got some game time. I doubt he would have played Given or Keane. Hypothetical but I'm basing this on how WBA lined out and how England line out now.

mark12345
18/06/2012, 9:13 PM

One hundred per cent true. Are you listening Pat Kenny? Maybe you can bring Dunphy, Giles, Brady onto your prime time show and perhaps someone from the FAI and get the whole thing out in the open. We all know it's a lack of technical ability and a lack of proper coaching. And we need to make a decision once and for all as a country if we are going to get behind the LOI and build it, or not.

Otherwise, like Gastric says, it will remain just ideas and no more and we'll still be talking about this in 25 years time.

18/06/2012, 9:21 PM
Pat Kenny was in Gdansk, just as an aside!

mark12345
18/06/2012, 9:22 PM
Sorry Owls Fan, can't agree. Plan A isn't even very convincing in qualification. Trap did try a Plan B but an insane one - Cox in midfield - with a generous sprinking of hoofball thrown in.

I'm happy to totally and utterly disregard Spain but Plan B vs Croatia was hoofball with Cox wide left. Nonsense. Croatia had started to dominate before the waxy second goal. Hoofball is not a viable Plan A, B or Z in the modern game.

By all means be a cautious manager reliant on defending well and nicking goals, but tired old 442 can't even be relied upon to do that. Name me one convincing home performance under Trap? Georgia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Armenia, Montenegro (OK, dead rubber), Cyprus - all awful stuff, truly awful.

I am careful what I wish for and I know that change for change's sake is dangerous. I wish for immediate refreshing of the team in only a few positions, with a gradual refreshing of the rest of the squad over 6-12 months, and an immediate reconsideration of approach and tactics. If Trap & Tardelli can do this between them I'd be delighted.

Here, here!

Noelys Guitar
18/06/2012, 9:48 PM
We all know the tactics and conservative player choices are not going to change. Every indicator points to us not winning any games against Sweden or Austria and losing both games to Germany. Delaney is giving the Status Quo full backing from Poland but I wonder when he gets back to Ireland and has a reality check will his backing for Trap be so fullsome. I like Trap. Believe he did a good job getting us to a play-off and to these finals. But I see a team going backwards. And it would only take a bad result in our first qualifying game for the wheels to come off. And I'm not convinced this is a happy squad.

18/06/2012, 9:57 PM
*hunt*

18/06/2012, 10:05 PM
Without Hunt we have lost every game.

A fact which speaks for it self but to deaf ears.

Mario
18/06/2012, 11:02 PM
Lets not forget, the next Euros is supposed to be going from 16 to 24 teams in the finals which should make it easier for us to get back in again.

This might well suit Delaney down to the ground, as some of the ole ole brigade who wouldnt have the money or the commitment to e.g. trek to Brazil for a WC would be quite happy with a Polish style week on the lash every four years and the hard questions that Irish football faces might not get asked or answered.

I would hate to see the FAI get off the hook in this way.

It will be interesting to see how the post mortem from this campaign develops in the weeks ahead.

Crosby87
18/06/2012, 11:05 PM
They are going to end up not expanding it just based off our performance.