View Full Version : Dan Crowley M MK Dons b.1997

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13

Razors left peg
25/02/2019, 7:50 PM
https://www.bd.nl/willem-ii/doelpunt-beuk-op-dug-out-en-winst-voor-willem-ii~a394b30e/ I assume this is the kind of attitude issues that people have raised about crowley. Hopefully matures with age

At least he didnt refuse to come off, thats a positive after what was seen in the League cup final yesterday :cool:

The Fly
25/02/2019, 8:38 PM
https://www.bd.nl/willem-ii/doelpunt-beuk-op-dug-out-en-winst-voor-willem-ii~a394b30e/ I assume this is the kind of attitude issues that people have raised about crowley. Hopefully matures with age

What's the gist? I can't get a translation of the page.

25/02/2019, 8:43 PM
He wasn't happy about being substituted

DeLorean
26/02/2019, 8:03 AM
What's the gist? I can't get a translation of the page.

According to my translate...

"The Brit was angry when trainer Adrie Koster decided to sacrifice him for tactical reasons."

peadar1987
26/02/2019, 12:07 PM
My Dutch is far from great, but...

"Daniel Crowley scored for the first time in teh competition in front of his own fans, but was also furious after his substitution, and his team, Willem II? They won"

The 2-1 victory from Willem II yesterday agains AZ came as a surprise to many. But not for the staff and players of the club from Tilburg, who in spite of three defeats and the way they played still believed in themselves. "We hunted AZ aggressively all over the field", said Daniel Crowley, the playmaker for Willem II. The difference is that it was all a bit more aggressive that the previous weeks. In the last three matches we conceded unnecessary goals. We understood that we desperately needed a result."

Some stuff about Willem II's season...

"The small Brit, who Willem II signed at the start of last season from Arsenal, once again served as the great creator. Inside three minutes he had already been part of two big chances..."

"Crowley didn't initially realise he had scored his first competitive goal in his own stadium. He had put his frustrations over his substitution 20 minutes from the end to the background. The Brit stamped off when manager Adrie Koster decided to sacrifice him for tactical reasons. He also didn't even look at assistant Gery Vink. With a dull thump on the dug-out, which was clearly audible, he made his displeasure clear."

"That's always been part of my character" said the technical player from Coventry, who would like to return to the Premier League via Willem II. On the field he knows how to control himself. "The next step is to be able to deal with a situation like this." said Koster with a smile." "How long did I stay angry about the substitution? Until the 90th minute" said Crowley.

"After that the disappointment disappeared. "The most important thing is that Willem II got three points", realised Crowley, who saw AZ come back to 2-1 ten minutes from time, Guus Til was able to finish with a hard shot in the near corner.

Crowley restrained himself on the bench. By bringing another defensive midfielder onto the field in the shape of Vurnon Anito, Koster reacted to a couple of tactical changes from his colleague John van den Brom. The AZ coach let his team take more risks approaching the final whistle.

Willem II were worried that they would be pegged back but the defended well. Also, Timon Wellenreuther, freed from teh pressure of competition from a similar keeper, seems more comfortable between the posts. With a reflex save from a header from Koopmeiners he had earlier saved Willem II.

"But we could have finished the game off just after the break" stated Crowley about a pair of big chances, and with a big smile on his mouth "if that had happened, I probably could have stayed on the field for 90 minutes"

26/02/2019, 12:32 PM
Do the big 4 clubs ever come in for players from these little clubs :)

mark12345
27/02/2019, 11:46 AM
Isn't there an argument that we don't play against physical scrappy teams at international level, and certainly not in games that we struggle in? We struggle against the technical teams that make us run around like eejits because we can't keep the ball. We need to lose the idea that you're club side is what dictates whether you play international ball or not. There is very little difference between the bottom half of the premier league and the championship.

There's an argument for picking players who are used to getting their foot on the ball, or players who are used to winning games regularly. Crowley fits into all of those brackets.

Good points these. And I would go even further. We need to get all of our players (including the goalkeeper) playing possession football, so we can see the opposition run around like eejits for a change.

Olé Olé
27/02/2019, 11:51 AM
Isn't there an argument that we don't play against physical scrappy teams at international level, and certainly not in games that we struggle in? We struggle against the technical teams that make us run around like eejits because we can't keep the ball. We need to lose the idea that you're club side is what dictates whether you play international ball or not. There is very little difference between the bottom half of the premier league and the championship.

There's an argument for picking players who are used to getting their foot on the ball, or players who are used to winning games regularly. Crowley fits into all of those brackets.

Are you daft? If he ain't in the PL, he ain't no good.

27/02/2019, 12:22 PM
Are you daft? If he ain't in the PL, he ain't no good.

Daft is my middle name,

samhaydenjr
27/02/2019, 11:37 PM
What’s the reality of the level he’s actually playing at though?
Tenth in the Eredivisie,where would that be? mid-championship standard? There doesn’t seem to be many Dutch players getting a look in outside of the Eredivisie top four but there’s a few from Huddersfield, Palace etc.

Quick run through his squad mates might give an indication of the standard - seven have senior international experience, but only two have more than ten caps, one for Armenia and the other for Peru - the other five played for Sweden, Ecuador, New Zealand, the Netherlands and Kosovo

DeLorean
28/02/2019, 8:34 AM
Big game for him tonight at home to AZ in the semi final of the KNVB Cup.

Ajax beat Feyenoord 3-0 last night in the other semi.

28/02/2019, 9:29 PM
Willem II go through 2-1 on penos....
Daniel was one of 6 players to miss

DeLorean
28/02/2019, 9:30 PM
Went to a penalty shoot-out after a 1-1 draw. Crowley missed his but Willem II won 2-1 to reach the final.

liamoo11
28/02/2019, 10:40 PM
Went to a penalty shoot-out after a 1-1 draw. Crowley missed his but Willem II won 2-1 to reach the final.

Delighted for him. Brave move for a 19 or 20 year old to move to Holland in sure he would have had offers down the leagues in Britain. Shows maturity and cop on he did well on loan in Holland so went back

Fixer82
01/03/2019, 12:07 PM
Picture of him online celebrating the victory holding a tri-colour aloft! What more do we need to be convinced? Get him in the team Mick

01/03/2019, 12:52 PM
https://twitter.com/irish_pics/status/1101403788366225408?s=21

nice clip of him here and nice Fr. Ted gif in the thread! :D

01/03/2019, 1:58 PM
some photos of him here with the tricolour from getty images: https://www.gettyimages.co.uk/photos/willem-ii?autocorrect=none&events=775291505&family=editorial&phrase=willem%20ii&sort=best#license

mark12345
02/03/2019, 1:06 AM
Picture of him online celebrating the victory holding a tri-colour aloft! What more do we need to be convinced? Get him in the team Mick

Well said Fixer. In all honesty there will be a boat load of disappointed people (myself included) if Crowley isn't in the squad for Gibraltar. The pressure is on Mick already.

02/03/2019, 1:59 AM
Well said Fixer. In all honesty there will be a boat load of disappointed people (myself included) if Crowley isn't in the squad for Gibraltar. The pressure is on Mick already.
It doesn't appear his paperwork will have gone through by then.

mark12345
03/03/2019, 7:57 PM
That's a real kick in the teeth. How long does it take to dot a few i's and cross t's?

TrapAPony
03/03/2019, 8:25 PM
Mick said that he is going to see Danny play in the Dutch Cup final (which is not on until 5th May). Therefore, there is no hope that he is going to be included on time for the Gibraltar and Georgia matches.

McCarthy said : “Our international department are sorting Danny’s paperwork. Noel King brought him to my attention when I got the job and will have a look at Danny with Willem ll before I go to see him for myself when he plays against Ajax in the Dutch Cup final.”

mark12345
04/03/2019, 12:20 AM
Mick said that he is going to see Danny play in the Dutch Cup final (which is not on until 5th May). Therefore, there is no hope that he is going to be included on time for the Gibraltar and Georgia matches.

McCarthy said : “Our international department are sorting Danny’s paperwork. Noel King brought him to my attention when I got the job and will have a look at Danny with Willem ll before I go to see him for myself when he plays against Ajax in the Dutch Cup final.”

Murphy's Law - Crowley will pick up an injury in the prior game.

tommy_c12000
27/03/2019, 3:27 AM
Rumor has it that Mick is not the only person scouting Dan. Bigger Dutch clubs also monitoring https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-6852539/amp/PSV-Eindhoven-Feyenoord-eyeing-ex-Arsenal-midfielder-Dan-Crowley.html

Nagger
27/03/2019, 8:04 AM
Would love to see him at A.Z Alkmaar next season :) Feyenoord are **** anyway

27/03/2019, 9:14 AM
Finally there seems to be movement on irish players going abroad, English born, because English players started it. But it doesn't matter once we have lads playing at a decent level and broadening their chances.

samhaydenjr
27/03/2019, 11:15 PM
rumor has it that mick is not the only person scouting dan. Bigger dutch clubs also monitoring https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-6852539/amp/psv-eindhoven-feyenoord-eyeing-ex-arsenal-midfielder-dan-crowley.html

quick! File the paperwork!! Who do we have to pay to get this finished??!!!

27/03/2019, 11:29 PM
I actually can’t believe he’s still only 21! We’ve been talking about him so long, feels like he should be in the 24-26 range...

28/03/2019, 8:41 PM
We know (at least) from Nov 12 2018 that Dan had declared openly to the FAI that he wanted to make the switch, yet it took months before the FAI woke up to task to initiate the switch.
Perhaps they were too busy scanning the media for any slight to be bothered about Dan.

liamoo11
30/03/2019, 10:35 PM
Played again tonight as they won. 32 more of less full games this season already and another 8 left. Would be great if he gets 40 games this season good experience and he has hopefully helped keep them up.he will be 22 in August so he really needed this kind of season

liamoo11
02/04/2019, 8:02 PM
Another win for willem 11 and full game for crowley. I'd say they are safe now.

Nagger
12/04/2019, 2:37 PM
Crowley confirming Ajax rumours, according to fan site Ajaxshowtime.com

https://www.ajaxshowtime.com/article/bijzaken-en-geruchten/121374/crowley-bevestigt-geruchten-omtrent-ajax

None of the comments are positive about him though :)

interview here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9ooLk5XX_I

Razors left peg
12/04/2019, 8:44 PM
Crowley confirming Ajax rumours, according to fan site Ajaxshowtime.com

https://www.ajaxshowtime.com/article/bijzaken-en-geruchten/121374/crowley-bevestigt-geruchten-omtrent-ajax

None of the comments are positive about him though :)

interview here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9ooLk5XX_I

Further confirmation of his Ireland ambitions too. Love the bit at the end where he says hes a good player, love the confidence. I think Steven Kenny will be delighted to have this guy at his disposal judging by the interview he gave to FAI TV this week

liamoo11
18/04/2019, 7:43 PM
https://www.voetbalprimeur.nl/nieuws/874060/vp-s-elftal-van-de-week-ajax-hofleverancier-duo-s-willem-ii-en-feyenoord.html in the team of week seems to say he is a fans favourite. If he moves in summer hopefully he goes somewhere to get lots of games has 35 starts this season which must be great for the development of a 21 year old

18/04/2019, 8:44 PM
If I were to attempt spelling football in Dutch I'd spell it votball.

Interesting.

20/04/2019, 3:27 AM
https://www.voetbalprimeur.nl/nieuws/874060/vp-s-elftal-van-de-week-ajax-hofleverancier-duo-s-willem-ii-en-feyenoord.html in the team of week seems to say he is a fans favourite. If he moves in summer hopefully he goes somewhere to get lots of games has 35 starts this season which must be great for the development of a 21 year old
Good to see the Englishman doing well.

IsMiseSean
20/04/2019, 2:32 PM
Good to see the Englishman doing well.

I watch the Eredivisie highlights on Premier Sport from time to time - the voiceover guy always refers to Crowley as the 'English midfielder', even though there's a tri-colour in the Willem II end with '14' on it.

He'll learn yet.

CraftyToePoke
20/04/2019, 2:39 PM
I lived in Holland for a number of years, they hear English spoken, they assume English, its a conversation I got tired of having with them. Plus Crowley moved there from an English club, and is English born, so he's got it all to do :)

liamoo11
21/04/2019, 1:24 PM
Another full game and an assist today. They conceded in injury time which might be blow to them finishing eight to get a playoff for Europe. The cup final is in 2 weeks

brine3
30/04/2019, 12:36 PM
Been watching this guy. Seems like a young Wes Hoolahan.

Very clever of him to go to Holland instead of wasting his time in Championship reserve team football.

liamoo11
30/04/2019, 1:02 PM
Been watching this guy. Seems like a young Wes Hoolahan.

Very clever of him to go to Holland instead of wasting his time in Championship reserve team football.

Yes have to agree he would have had lots of offers at those levels. He is still young enough to go to the euros 21s with England this summer so he has certainly committed to us at a stage of his career when he had other options.

Razors left peg
30/04/2019, 4:54 PM
If hes not included in the squad for the summer training camp and games then surely he has to be part of the u21s Toulon Tournament squad?

30/04/2019, 5:05 PM
All depends on whether or not he's transferred his international allegiance

Razors left peg
30/04/2019, 5:32 PM
All depends on whether or not he's transferred his international allegiance

It would be massive incompetence on the FAIs part if they haven't at least help him get that part done considering how vocal he has been about playing for us.

mark12345
30/04/2019, 8:00 PM
It would be massive incompetence on the FAIs part if they haven't at least help him get that part done considering how vocal he has been about playing for us.

Suggesting there is incompetence in the FAI are we? That's a bit rash isn't it?

30/04/2019, 8:18 PM
And the FA, who own his registration, are entitled to take as long as they want possessing it

irishfan86
30/04/2019, 8:51 PM
And the FA, who own his registration, are entitled to take as long as they want possessing it

Presumably the speed at which we allowed the Rice transfer will mean we get some good will the other direction. At least I'd like to hope so. The main concern would be Southgate intervenes but I think at this point he would be considered too far down the pecking order given where he's playing for that to be a factor.

liamoo11
30/04/2019, 9:07 PM
Presumably the speed at which we allowed the Rice transfer will mean we get some good will the other direction. At least I'd like to hope so. The main concern would be Southgate intervenes but I think at this point he would be considered too far down the pecking order given where he's playing for that to be a factor.

God I don't know. Who have England that are similar? Maddison, Harvey barnes, mount , grealush maybe loftus cheek , Hughes at Watford? I'd say crowley has a higher ceiling potential

irishfan86
30/04/2019, 9:23 PM
Hopefully the fact Crowley has been talking publicly about his desire to switch and has waved the tricolour while in Holland means the decision has been made and that's that. I agree his potential is huge.

liamoo11
30/04/2019, 9:34 PM
Yeah I don't think he is going back but it sickens me that we are not more proactive here but falling over ourselves for lads like bamford and Redmond who don't seem pushed but a lad actually goes about coming on board with no prompting and seems to get no love. The joke is that dowell is sticking with England at the same age as crowley but will undoubtedly be persued unrelentlessly to come on board over the next few seasons

Nagger
01/05/2019, 8:18 AM
Nice column about Daniel Crowley on voetbalzone.nl today. I wasn;t able to copy past the translation here. Go to https://translate.google.com/ and put the url https://www.voetbalzone.nl/doc.asp?uid=350919 in. Article also mentions him wanting to play for Ireland.