View Full Version : Dan Crowley M MK Dons b.1997
Pages :
[
3]
Olé Olé
16/08/2014, 1:46 PM
Ironically, Michael cannot make the switch back to the FAI but his brother Will, who hasn't ever played for Ireland, could.
Yeah, and Will switching to us is a distinct possibility because the progress and favour he seemed to be afforded by Alex Ferguson has stalled due to injury and he has some goalless spells in the Championship last season. It's a big 'if' and 'maybe' but there's a strong Irish connection (Dublin father) so it is perceivable.
16/08/2014, 1:54 PM
Played under 17 for England anyway. I don't mean he was dithering back and forth, I mean he played for both and, by deduction, appeared uncertain for a period.
Didn't know that, cheers. Thought he'd only ever played for Ireland
DannyInvincible
22/08/2014, 7:13 PM
This popped up on my Facebook feed: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152444684827713
It's a video of Crowley scoring a nice top-corner volley during what looks like a half-time warm-up.
22/08/2014, 11:46 PM
I'd seen that myself a few times, apparently it's from an U21 game. For a 17 year old to be already playing with the U21 side is impressive
liamoo11
27/08/2014, 5:50 PM
Perhaps there was something in that tweet about Crowley chatting to the FAI. He is not in the first england under 18 squad of the year. He was left out of their euro under 17side last may along with Rossitor and Ojo from liverpool they are back in this one.
27/08/2014, 5:54 PM
Perhaps he's had a run-in with the English Paul Doolin.
liamoo11
27/08/2014, 6:39 PM
Perhaps he's had a run-in with the English Paul Doolin..
With the help off god.perhaps mr doolin will be the hero of this story.We have a 19s game in early september. one daniel crowley might make up for 2 Mceleney s
27/08/2014, 6:51 PM
You've added the McEleneys to the list now?
back of the net
27/08/2014, 7:14 PM
Perhaps there was something in that tweet about Crowley chatting to the FAI. He is not in the first england under 18 squad of the year. He was left out of their euro under 17side last may along with Rossitor and Ojo from liverpool they are back in this one.
What tweet was this liamoo?
27/08/2014, 7:17 PM
This one I assume: https://twitter.com/RobBrennan82/status/502778624924483584
liamoo11
27/08/2014, 7:17 PM
Tink tets had a link to it. its from rob brennan a journo in london. saying basically crowley was chatting to fai
DannyInvincible
27/08/2014, 11:12 PM
Tink tets had a link to it. its from rob brennan a journo in london. saying basically crowley was chatting to fai
Not just chatting, but chatting positively. ;)
DannyInvincible
29/08/2014, 12:52 PM
Crowley scored a lovely free-kick the other day:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O9CMrLBRY6o
Came across it here: http://thescore.thejournal.ie/video-underage-ireland-player-free-kick-arsenal-1643714-Aug2014/?utm_source=facebook_short
It states he "previously represented Ireland at underage level before switching his allegiance to England last year". Just to be clear, he hasn't formally switched association in FIFA's eyes as he had never represented us in a competitive fixture.
TrapAPony
04/09/2014, 6:38 PM
Not named in any of England's underage teams.:D
TheOneWhoKnocks
04/09/2014, 6:45 PM
Coincidentally, a former Ireland International, Sean O'Driscoll, has been appointed manager of England U-19's.
liamoo11
04/10/2014, 1:44 PM
http://forums.bigsoccer.com/threads/england-u-19-discussion-thread-3-r.1672065/page-101
Not included in their 19s qualifier squad. Our qualifiers are in November. The matches are in waterford/wexford I think. His grandparents/cousins live in waterford so perhaps it ill be a spiritual homecoming!(going by his twitter he spent time in waterford over the summer visiting his family(his words)) Has been playing well it seems for arsenal 21s and the 19s in the youth champ league
Olé Olé
04/10/2014, 3:19 PM
Am I correct in saying that Crowley has at least one parent who is Irish-born, if not two? His father, I'm almost certain, is a Déise man. Not sure about his mother.
liamoo11
04/10/2014, 3:33 PM
Am I correct in saying that Crowley has at least one parent who is Irish-born, if not two? His father, I'm almost certain, is a Déise man. Not sure about his mother.
I think his grandparents moved to england so his parents were born there but were very much brought up irish as in involved in irish clubs and the gaa . Picture of him on twitter with his young cousin back in ireland on his holidays this summer. So he certainly has strong irish family links
04/10/2014, 3:37 PM
His dad is David Crowley, ex-Coventry City, who was English-born.
Olé Olé
04/10/2014, 5:49 PM
His dad is David Crowley, ex-Coventry City, who was English-born.
Did not know that at all, at all. Presumed when they said his father played GAA that he was Irish-born. So, at the risk of getting it wrong again, his mother is Irish-born and his father could be some way 2nd generation?
04/10/2014, 5:57 PM
Did not know that at all, at all. Presumed when they said his father played GAA that he was Irish-born. So, at the risk of getting it wrong again, his mother is Irish-born and his father could be some way 2nd generation?
Not sure about his mother but from what I remember his paternal grandparents are Irish.
DannyInvincible
04/10/2014, 6:03 PM
Pretty sure both Crowley's parents were born in England.
DannyInvincible
04/10/2014, 6:57 PM
Crowley's paternal grandparents are from Waterford and both his parents are heavily involved in the Irish community in Coventry (http://balls.ie/football/dan-crowleys-youth-gaa-coach-thinks-hell-play-for-ireland/), so is it fair to assume that there is Irish on both sides?
Olé Olé
06/10/2014, 11:11 AM
I was assuming that one of his parents may have been born in Ireland because it gets mentioned that he visits his 'folks' during the summers in Ireland. I thought the most logical assumption was that it was his grandparents living here but it may be extended family or perhaps his grandparents moved back, as opposed to one of his parents being Irish-born. CD cleared things up as regards his father. Completely unsure about his mother's background but her involvement in the Irish community would nod towards an Irish background herself (or being dragged along by her husband to make sandwiches for after gaelic football matches, that's conceivable too!).
The litmus test would be if he pronounces his own surname as 'Cr-o-ley' or 'Cr-ow-ley'...
DannyInvincible
06/10/2014, 5:39 PM
The 'Crow-' is pronounced as if it rhymes with 'cow' the animal rather than 'crow' the bird, right? At least that's always how I've pronounced that surname. Of course, many rounded English accents struggle to pronounce that 'ow/ou' sound as sharply as an Irish or Scottish accented person might pronounce it.
06/10/2014, 5:52 PM
Most/all people pronounce it like the bird. I blame Ozzy Osbourne for confusing everyone.
DannyInvincible
07/10/2014, 12:37 AM
That's surprised me. Maybe I've been mishearing it. I don't personally know any Crowleys, but I always recall a Kerry GAA player called Johnny Crowley and I was pretty sure I was always hearing commentators say it as if it rhymed with "cow".
Surely Olé Olé's litmus test would suggest there is more than one pronunciation of the surname in common use? Which do you say is the "more authentic", Olé?
07/10/2014, 12:50 AM
There was the RTE presenter Carrie Crowley whose name was pronounced the cow way (no reflection on her) but I have no idea if that's how she did. I reckon most people look at it and think that's how it's pronounced. I grew up with a guy who pronounced it like crow, but people said it the cow way anyway. Aleister Crowley clarified he pronounced it to rhyme with holy.
ArdeeBhoy
07/10/2014, 1:23 AM
Tbh, don't think it really matters!
07/10/2014, 1:33 AM
I think you could write a book about the things you don't think matter, AB. In fact, I could write a book about the things you've said don't matter on here. I know more about what you don't think matters than what most of the people on here actually think matters. If only you'd only actually follow it through to its logical conclusion and stop saying you don't think things matter.
ArdeeBhoy
07/10/2014, 4:29 AM
Er, this really doesn't matter...that response being a case in point...
07/10/2014, 7:12 AM
No one pronounces that name like the bird. And the fact that cd came on and said they do just reinforces that for me.
07/10/2014, 8:41 AM
I'd have said it rhymes with roly poly myself.
Maybe it's snother Dub v Culchie thing.
07/10/2014, 8:50 AM
I think he is getting conflustered with cawley, Crawley etc.
punkrocket
07/10/2014, 8:53 AM
Udder stupidity to get so bovvered.
Olé Olé
07/10/2014, 8:55 AM
That's surprised me. Maybe I've been mishearing it. I don't personally know any Crowleys, but I always recall a Kerry GAA player called Johnny Crowley and I was pretty sure I was always hearing commentators say it as if it rhymed with "cow".
Surely Olé Olé's litmus test would suggest there is more than one pronunciation of the surname in common use? Which do you say is the "more authentic", Olé?
Yeah and there's currently another Crowley on the Kerry team at present and I'm sure the entire media (even Des Cahill) pronounce it to rhyme with "cow".
I've known a few Crowley's and none pronounced to rhyme with the bird. It's a very culchie name, I'll admit. The only thing I can offer for the Dubs is Trevor Croly. Now, that'd be one to rhyme with the bird.
Maybe it's the culchie in me coming out here, but I'd view rhyming Crowley with the bird "crow" in line with rhyming Cahill with 1/7th of a week i.e. "day".
EDIT: I've just remembered, I know a Crowley from Waterford who most definitely pronounces it to rhyme with "cow". QED?
07/10/2014, 9:02 AM
Danny.
John Crowley was a superb Kerry forward from about 97-2007.
I've always, and I'm pretty sure other Kingdomite would back this claim up, referred to him as Johnny C-Row-Lee, not Crow-lee.
The same goes for the current Kerry Centre-back Peter Crowley.
07/10/2014, 9:06 AM
Ya but youre from dublin :P
07/10/2014, 9:07 AM
Ya but youre from dublin :P
That hurts POS, hurts to the bone. If a dog is born in a barn does that make him a horse?
DannyInvincible
07/10/2014, 10:21 AM
Er, this really doesn't matter...that response being a case in point...
You should have this as your signature, AB:
What is mind?
Does it matter?
What is matter?
Never mind! :)
07/10/2014, 10:46 AM
There was a big accountancy firm HQd in Dublin, Stokes Kennedy Crowley, bought by KPMG. Locals definitely pronounced it like the bird rather than bovine.
07/10/2014, 10:52 AM
That hurts POS, hurts to the bone. If a dog is born in a barn does that make him a horse?
I think you're being insensitive to dual animal classification issues. I think the dog should be allowed to call himself a horse if he wants. Do we know why he was born in a stable? Perhaps he descended from horses and is very proud of his equine heritage. Perhaps he raced at Cheltenham as a puppy. However, if he tweets woof even while wearing horseshoes it will clearly mean that he is a dog and that's it, even if he asks for time to sort out his identification issues.
ArdeeBhoy
07/10/2014, 11:10 AM
You should have this as your signature, AB:
What is mind?
Does it matter?
What is matter?
Never mind! :)
Only when people talk complete drivel...
And that 'rhyme', original? If so, almost impressed...
DannyInvincible
07/10/2014, 11:22 AM
Afraid not. It's usually attributed to George Berkeley (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Berkeley) in some form or another.
punkrocket
07/10/2014, 11:45 AM
So is that bark like a dog or berk like "you silly berk" Danny?
07/10/2014, 11:54 AM
Do you know where the term "berk" comes from?
Apparently it has its roots in rhyming slang. Berkshire Hunt = ?
Ironically Berkshire is pronounced Barkshire.
07/10/2014, 11:58 AM
Afraid not. It's usually attributed to George Berkeley (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Berkeley) in some form or another.
Jees, I associate it with Homer Simpson.
punkrocket
07/10/2014, 12:11 PM
I think a spot of barking mad cow disease has broken out here.
07/10/2014, 12:34 PM
Jees, I associate it with Homer Simpson.
ditto
07/10/2014, 1:06 PM
I think its, if a donkey is born in a stable does it make him a horse, more similar genetic makeup, attributes and characteristics to a horse than a dog.
If you read that author from Limerick who by all accounts sounded like a bit of knob you would have read the quote in there. :P
You can be wherever you want to be from. Who won the All-Ireland this year?! oh ya the Kingdom....