View Full Version : Dan Crowley M MK Dons b.1997
Pages :
[
10]
21/06/2020, 12:38 AM
He's in the Ireland squad in PES2020 so for me he's eligible!!!
Are you sure about that? not that I'm in any way au fait with PES2020 (https://www.pesmaster.com/ireland/pes-2020/team/1/), but not only is Dan not there but Glen stands alone in the starting team in front of the back 4, with his finger (super glued) stuck in the dyke.
08/07/2020, 2:36 PM
Thread bumped
08/07/2020, 2:37 PM
According to Kenny in today's press conference, he might not be eligible
08/07/2020, 5:17 PM
According to Kenny in today's press conference, he might not be eligible
By this stage, it's 99.999% sure he's not eligible according to the rules, why would SK only say "may not be eligible"?
Perhaps the FAI have not totally given up and have made a special appeal to FIFA's good graces for an exception..
ColourfulPeanut
08/07/2020, 5:44 PM
We should have a case for Johansson and Crowley for a rule change really. They were both entitled to citizenship at birth, it's a quirk in Irish citizenship rules that means they had to be registered as foreign births. The spirit of the rule is stop people acquiring citizenships as adults through residency or nefarious means i.e countries like Qatar hnding out passports to talented foreign players.
Eirambler
08/07/2020, 6:44 PM
I think it's clear that, at present, he doesn't qualify.
If that changes in future great, but at the moment we're discussing and English footballer that doesn't qualify to play for us.
elatedscum
08/07/2020, 7:14 PM
at the moment we're discussing and English footballer that doesn't qualify to play for us.
Or...
An irish footballer who is currently only qualified to play for England.
Both Johansson and Crowley have irish passports now. They’re irish. I have huge sympathy for both. Other players have made the change that they made without it being an issue. Hopefully the FAI have learnt from this and will ensure every dual eligible player when representing us at u16 (or u15) level is advised to get a passport sorted.
Hopefully they can also pressure FIFA for a rule change or an exemption...
Fixer82
08/07/2020, 9:12 PM
Are you sure about that? not that I'm in any way au fait with PES2020 (https://www.pesmaster.com/ireland/pes-2020/team/1/), but not only is Dan not there but Glen stands alone in the starting team in front of the back 4, with his finger (super glued) stuck in the dyke.
Oh Dan is there alright. Plays behind the lone striker as an attacking midfielder
Fixer82
08/07/2020, 9:14 PM
Both Johansson and Crowley have irish passports now.
Which is more than can be said for some of the players on the rugby team
Olé Olé
08/07/2020, 9:22 PM
Maybe I'm not comprehending the nuances involved in the regulations but it really strikes me as though the prohibition of Johansson and Crowley of playing for Ireland is contrary to what I would imagine is the spirit of the laws.
I know this matter has been debated to death here and I don't intend on re-visiting the detail to support my point. I just can't conceive that this loophole rendering the pair ineligible could not be closed.
08/07/2020, 9:45 PM
What if Crowley had an Irish passport before he played for England?
08/07/2020, 11:11 PM
What if Crowley had an Irish passport before he played for England?
The requirement is that you have nationality of Country B at the time you play for Country A, so he'd be clear in that case.
ColourfulPeanut
08/07/2020, 11:20 PM
Nobody would have even examined this rule if Luxembourg hadn't kicked off about Johansson.
Like there's no way Callum Robinson had a passport when he played underage for England u19s. Not a chance is he eligible either under these rules. It's a stupid rule and if our foreign births register wasn't a thing then this wouldn't be an issue.
09/07/2020, 2:35 AM
The requirement is that you have nationality of Country B at the time you play for Country A, so he'd be clear in that case.
Dan didn't have Irish nationality at the time he played for England. Being entitled to apply for irish nationality and being an irish national is not the same thing.
Dan was entitled to apply for Irish nationality and had he applied. his application for irish nationality would have been processed and he would have become an irish national.
But that was not done for Dan nor Ryan, before they played competitive football for another nation.
One parent has to be born on the sacred soil of Ireland in order for a new born baby to be considered an Irish national automatically at birth and only then does one forgoe the tedius process of applying to becomer an irish national.
Any irish parent living abroad applying for a passport for their child or grandchild has experienced the huge difference in requirements between both applications.
One application is a piece of cake the other is expensive and tedious.
Eirambler
09/07/2020, 7:31 AM
If Crowley had an Irish passport (or more accurately, if he'd been added to the Irish foreign birth register) before playing for England he'd have qualified for us no problem. But clearly he hadn't, because his paperwork would have gone through no problem by now otherwise.
The Luxembourgers have really fecked us over here. Nobody had noticed the issue before they picked it up and the English would likely have had no issue with the Crowley switch, just as they didn't with Robinson. But now that the issue has been spotted it will come up time and again unless the rules are amended. Whether the FAI have the interest or the finance to follow it up at the moment is questionable though.
Any irish parent living abroad applying for a passport for their child or grandchild has experienced the huge difference in requirements between both applications.
One application is a piece of cake the other is expensive and tedious.
I can attest to this - my wife's application cost hundreds of pounds and took nearly a year (she qualifies through her granny). My daughter's took three weeks and cost £80 (she qualifies through me).
Trequartista20
05/01/2021, 6:45 PM
Shown the door by Birmingham.
Hopefully he'll consider a move back to the continent.
https://www.the42.ie/birmingham-city-boss-advises-out-of-favour-dan-crowley-to-find-a-new-club-5316824-Jan2021/
seanfhear
05/01/2021, 7:16 PM
Shown the door by Birmingham.
Hopefully he'll consider a move back to the continent.
https://www.the42.ie/birmingham-city-boss-advises-out-of-favour-dan-crowley-to-find-a-new-club-5316824-Jan2021/
Could Mick McCarthy do with another Irish Midfielder ?
seanfhear
05/01/2021, 8:22 PM
Mind you is Mick under pressure already ~ Hopefully Not.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/jack-byrne-makes-apoel-debut-as-fourth-successive-defeat-puts-mccarthy-under-pressure-39936387.html
Eirambler
05/01/2021, 8:31 PM
It's tough for 10s, Crowley was doing well at Birmingham last year and then Karanka, who doesn't play a 10 in his setup, comes in and pretty much overnight there's no point to Crowley being there anymore.
06/01/2021, 12:08 PM
Rovers should buy him to replace Byrne. Get Jack's mum to put him up.
Fixer82
08/01/2021, 10:19 AM
What's the latest with Crowley? Can he still represent us?
Eirambler
08/01/2021, 10:31 AM
Yes, he is eligible under the new rules as I understand it. Needs to find a new club this month though and get back playing again, has been linked to Coventry City.
For what it's worth I actually think Crowley is a younger, potentially better 10 than Jack Byrne.
Diggs246
08/01/2021, 10:57 AM
Yes, he is eligible under the new rules as I understand it. Needs to find a new club this month though and get back playing again, has been linked to Coventry City.
For what it's worth I actually think Crowley is a younger, potentially better 10 than Jack Byrne.
Crowley is a far better player IMO, afaik with the previous manager he was doing very well in Birmingham, which is at championship level
Olé Olé
08/01/2021, 11:22 AM
He's from Coventry and I think started at Coventry so that makes sense. Would link up with Callum O'Hare too who is from a similar background to him- heavily steeped in the Irish community in that area and was with Villa.
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 3:22 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40216715.html good news. Really think he would improve us. Pity Kenny hasn't been in contact poor man management especially when it seems he is doing personal presentations to a 17 year old with a hand full of appearances in la liga
Eirambler
30/01/2021, 3:35 PM
Disappointing that Kenny hasn't been in touch, even just to discuss how the paperwork is going and to let him know he's keeping an eye on him.
From what I have seen of both players he's better than Jack Byrne. Unquestionably eligible under the new rules.
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 3:43 PM
Disappointing that Kenny hasn't been in touch, even just to discuss how the paperwork is going and to let him know he's keeping an eye on him.
From what I have seen of both players he's better than Jack Byrne. Unquestionably eligible under the new rules.
Idiotic behaviour from Kenny especially when you have shown total inability to put a side out with a semblance of attacking flair so far in his tenure
Trequartista20
30/01/2021, 4:12 PM
It's certainly disappointing.
30/01/2021, 4:16 PM
Hardly disappointing. A player who hasn’t been getting a game and just dropped down to league one. He’s not even sure the paperwork is actually sorted. Great if he starts getting a game and the paperwork is actually done, then he might be an option worth checking on.
Trequartista20
30/01/2021, 4:25 PM
He's a certain type of player in which we are lacking and have lacked for some time, and could be especially useful at international level.
In a situation where we are already picking League One players, and even LoI players, and where Daryl Horgan has become more-or-less a regular for us, I don't think we can be turning our noses up at a player as talented as Crowley.
Crowley only turned 23 a few months ago. At what level was Wes playing at the same age?
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 4:26 PM
Hardly disappointing. A player who hasn’t been getting a game and just dropped down to league one. He’s not even sure the paperwork is actually sorted. Great if he starts getting a game and the paperwork is actually done, then he might be an option worth checking on.
That's a reasonable way to approach things if you are consistent with the approach. That doesnt tally with the approach with finn though or all that pious talk about previous regimes not integrating rice and grealish enough and how if he had been in charge they would both be stalwarts for us now. Most people in any profession appreciate consistency with the culture the leadership in an organisation is creating and unfortunately Kenny isn't showing any consistency here. Also difficult to see what culture he is trying to propagate outside of ham fisted rebel rousing nonsense
Olé Olé
30/01/2021, 5:29 PM
Idiotic behaviour from Kenny especially when you have shown total inability to put a side out with a semblance of attacking flair so far in his tenure
Idiotic is very unfair and harsh. The lad stated clearly that he wanted to play for us but wasn't getting a look in for Birmingham. All the while, he hadnt been confirmed as being eligible for Ireland. How is it idiotic? No other international team was going to be calling Crowley with all those balls in the air. Completely rubbish point and an excuse to heap a bit of criticism on Kenny.
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 6:03 PM
Idiotic is very unfair and harsh. The lad stated clearly that he wanted to play for us but wasn't getting a look in for Birmingham. All the while, he hadnt been confirmed as being eligible for Ireland. How is it idiotic? No other international team was going to be calling Crowley with all those balls in the air. Completely rubbish point and an excuse to heap a bit of criticism on Kenny.
i respect your opinion but how does that tally with how he is behaving towards young finn(who I really hope plays for us) ? To me a culture is all about how you treat all players not just the ones you want to convince to come on board because you are afraid another country will take him. What message does that send to the whole player and staff group? We have lacked our normal team spirit since he has been in charge(was there a tackle in the England game?) and unfortunately we have no where like enough footballers to be competitive without a collective spirit.
Olé Olé
30/01/2021, 6:32 PM
How does it tally?
1) Crowley has said he is keen to play for us. Finn has not.
2) Crowley has been completely out of the squad for Birmingham. Finn has been in the squad for his club.
3) Finn is 100% eligible for us. Crowley may not have been.
They are all facts. I won't go into objective points about who has more potential etc.
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 7:04 PM
How does it tally?
1) Crowley has said he is keen to play for us. Finn has not.
2) Crowley has been completely out of the squad for Birmingham. Finn has been in the squad for his club.
3) Finn is 100% eligible for us. Crowley may not have been.
They are all facts. I won't go into objective points about who has more potential etc.
So because crowley actually has already played for us and publicly said 2 years ago that he wanted to commit to us and went through with the relevant paperwork then the senior manager will ignore him, not even give him a call to see how the process is going on his end or update him from the fai s point of view how the process is processing and you think that is good man management and indicative of a manager who values players as people? It's totally disingenuous to behave in a completely different manager to finn simply because finn has not committed yet. If that's the character of the man it's no surprise duff and Kelly jumped ship.
liamoo11
30/01/2021, 7:13 PM
He's a certain type of player in which we are lacking and have lacked for some time, and could be especially useful at international level.
In a situation where we are already picking League One players, and even LoI players, and where Daryl Horgan has become more-or-less a regular for us, I don't think we can be turning our noses up at a player as talented as Crowley.
Crowley only turned 23 a few months ago. At what level was Wes playing at the same age?
100%. We have no 10s and as good as knight or molumby become genuine creativity is not what they bring to the table. Crowley has lots of failts( poor athlete,not enough goals) but at international level for us he gives us what we dont have and dont have
Razors left peg
31/01/2021, 8:58 AM
This lad couldn't get a game at Birmingham, wasn't eligible until now and people are bitching that Kenny hasn't reached out to him. Fair enough he usually plays in a position we are in need off but he's not been playing in any position for a while and has had to drop to League 1 to get a game.
Do we think Kenny has reached out to all the Irish lads at St Mirren who are doing well in Scottish Premiership?
To equate not speaking to a guy who couldn't get a game in the Championship to reaching out to a 17 year old who is one of top prospects in La Liga is just utter horsesh1t. There is some amount of boll1x talked on here at times.
I hope Crowley is brilliant at Hull and manages to get them promoted all the way to the Premiership. I hope he's good enough to win 50 caps for us.... but right now he needs to worry about having a career in football as he's dropping down divisions. If he does well he will earn a phone call from the International manager
Eirambler
31/01/2021, 9:10 AM
I can't really agree with that view. Crowley was the victim of a managerial change to a manager who doesn't tend to play that kind of number 10 in his setup - so there was no place for him at the club when Karanka came in. This tends to be a problem for these kind of players who can find themselves out of favour very quickly due to a manager change.
However Crowley played 38 games in the Championship last season at 22 years of age and acquitted himself very well. That's a much higher level than any of those St Mirren lads have played at and, of more relevance, is a much higher level that Jack Byrne has had any success at, by a player who is younger than Byrne.
We know that Kenny would ideally like to play a 10 in his setup, so for me it is concerning that we have an available player who is doing better at a younger age than one of our squad regulars and Kenny has so far made no effort at all to involve him. Hopefully, if his eligibility is now confirmed, that will change fairly quickly because if we do want to use a proper 10 in some games in the next year or two, Crowley seems to be the best one we have.
Razors left peg
31/01/2021, 9:34 AM
You say it's concerning that Kenny has made no effort to involve an available player.... he hasn't been available, we are still not sure he is. He says that he thinks the paperwork has gone through. In the meantime he's dropping down a division to get club football.
Great if the paperwork has now been sorted. As I said I hope he is brilliant for Hull. If he tears it up between now and end of season he might have a shout of a call up, but I doubt it from League 1. He's miles off making squad for Serbia game at moment.
There's always a player Ireland managers get hammered for not picking.... its a fair stretch if Crowley at this stage is used to criticize Kenny
CraftyToePoke
31/01/2021, 10:20 AM
I can't really agree with that view. Crowley was the victim of a managerial change to a manager who doesn't tend to play that kind of number 10 in his setup - so there was no place for him at the club when Karanka came in. This tends to be a problem for these kind of players who can find themselves out of favour very quickly due to a manager change.
However Crowley played 38 games in the Championship last season at 22 years of age and acquitted himself very well. That's a much higher level than any of those St Mirren lads have played at and, of more relevance, is a much higher level that Jack Byrne has had any success at, by a player who is younger than Byrne.
Fair enough at a glance, but if he was showing so well at 10 and even to an international standard, why is he again having to drop a level to see game time ? Is it like Obafemi a bit, a few eyebrows raised at his initial omission by SK but a month later he had been spot on, there were off field problems there.
Bielsa´s irish
31/01/2021, 10:22 AM
I can understand Kenny's maneuver on John Joe Finn.
As I see Rice and Grealish selfish decisions has damaged the irish national team.
I could blame globalization, the end of patriotisms of nations as Eric Hobsbawm wrote, and the english FA with a bit of dirty arts to convince the kids. The Republic of Ireland cant afford another mismanaged situation like those.
Its hard because you have to start matches with newbies..... teens at 18, 19, 20 to cap-tie them to Ireland and that's not ethical. You may say...."well the big rich footie countries such as Spain, England, Germany, France, Italy and Holland are doing that so why we cant?
It's not ethical. Now the Munir rule will fix that "streetwise scoundrels behavior" of them.
CraftyToePoke
31/01/2021, 10:31 AM
It could also simply be that Crowleys paperwork hasn't cleared yet but it soon will and Crowley is letting everyone know that by the timing of this interview. And SK will mention him only once its through and he is an available option, which again would make perfect sense and is maybe whats going on with the keeper O'Leary too.
We don't know yet but one thing for sure here is Crowleys stage keeps getting smaller and he needs to stop the slide.
31/01/2021, 10:58 AM
I'm surprised that the paperwork hasn't been completed yet, Mick went to see him in the final of the KNVB Cup in May 2019 !
Bielsa´s irish
31/01/2021, 11:01 AM
I'm surprised that the paperwork hasn't been completed yet, Mick went to see him in the final of the KNVB Cup in May 2019 !
Strange, and Declan played two months later of his "D-day" for those in white. When FIFA is quick is quick
Razors left peg
31/01/2021, 11:23 AM
Where he was on the bench if I remember rightly? Didn't Mick leave before he even got on the the pitch
31/01/2021, 6:06 PM
not even give him a call to see how the process is going on his end
"How is the process going, Dan?"
"i don't know."
"OK. Talk to you soon."
Eirambler
31/01/2021, 7:20 PM
"i don't know."
"OK. Talk to you soon."
Jesus I know Kenny's not much of an orator but hopefully he can come up with a bit more than that!
liamoo11
31/01/2021, 8:04 PM
"i don't know."
"OK. Talk to you soon."
"Dan I'll hit you up on the whatsapp with this amazing presentation I did for John Joe finn he was blown away by it - it had coherent sentences and everything "
31/01/2021, 11:48 PM
"Dan I'll hit you up on the whatsapp with this amazing presentation I did for John Joe finn he was blown away by it - it had coherent sentences and everything "
It's easy to overanalyse things. Finn is a promising young player with loads of options. Crowley, with all due respect, is bit older and only has one option - us.
01/02/2021, 12:00 AM
Crowley seems to have been around for ages, but he's only 23