View Full Version : Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road 6th Nov

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9]

marinobohs
10/11/2011, 3:48 PM
Penalties should have been retaken (I presume, still haven't had time to watch the recording!) but so should a considerable percentage of penalties taken. This is an extremely frequent offence and is rarely punished (not saying rightly or wrongly, just saying).
Only an issue where penalty is missed (advantage rule applies when scored) simulation is a frequent offence and often not punished but that did not stop Winters issuing yellow.

MagicMon
11/11/2011, 11:58 AM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/referee-chased-off-the-pitch-end-lower-league-match-ukraine-15676777/

A sneak preview of what will happen when Richie Winter gets picked to ref Shel's opener away to Monaghan next season.....

OneForTheFuture
11/11/2011, 12:00 PM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/referee-chased-off-the-pitch-end-lower-league-match-ukraine-15676777/

A sneak preview of what will happen when Richie Winter gets picked to ref Shel's opener away to Monaghan next season.....

Check out yer man on the bike...........Classic!

redobit
11/11/2011, 12:25 PM
All the talk seems to be about the ref, 2nd yellow and the penalties. I understand they are big issues but no praise seems to be coming our way in the media thats for sure. Not much said about a team who has just done a cup double in 2 finals of the last 3. Or anything about the massive crowds who have travelled acrooss the width of the country 3 years in a row.

El-Pietro
11/11/2011, 12:34 PM
ye were very poor - thats why no one was praising you - we expect better from Sligo, and we were left disappointed.

As for the crowds - get them into the Showgrounds and we'll be impressed.

redobit
11/11/2011, 12:51 PM
ye were very poor - thats why no one was praising you - we expect better from Sligo, and we were left disappointed.

As for the crowds - get them into the Showgrounds and we'll be impressed.

Crowds at LOI games are crap up and down the country, we all know that. But there are not many clubs who can say they would average 12,000 plus, 3 years in a row, travelling the width of the country, to support their football team. And 1,500 to a semi final too. Say what you like but that is impressive and deserves more credit than it has received imo.

11/11/2011, 1:02 PM
Sligo bring more supporters to Tallaght than Bohs do, to be honest.

El-Pietro
11/11/2011, 1:25 PM
Crowds at LOI games are crap up and down the country, we all know that. But there are not many clubs who can say they would average 12,000 plus, 3 years in a row, travelling the width of the country, to support their football team. And 1,500 to a semi final too. Say what you like but that is impressive and deserves more credit than it has received imo.
but its not their football team. they are jsut out for the day

its the equivlent of Cork or Kerry or Tipp or Kilkenny bringing 40,000 to Croke Park in September. If it were their football team they'd show up at the showgrounds once in a while

redobit
11/11/2011, 1:41 PM
El-Pedantic

El-Pietro
11/11/2011, 1:56 PM
I'm not being pedantic. Those people are not Sligo fans - they are people who jump on the bandwagon - if you can tap into that community fantastic but they don't contribute to Sligo Rovers one bit. Nice of them to help pay off the FAIs stadium debt though

11/11/2011, 2:17 PM
I'm not being pedantic. Those people are not Sligo fans - they are people who jump on the bandwagon - if you can tap into that community fantastic but they don't contribute to Sligo Rovers one bit.
I'd imagine a couple of them have bought a raffle ticket or 2, maybe gone to the odd home game, they might have even bought a little flag for the day. At the very least they've shown potential Sligo sponsors that there is a market there

Every club gets bigger crowds for the more high profile games. Thats just the way it is.

And no club will refuise a bit of bandwagoning, so I can't see how you have a problem with them? Would you prefer they didn't go to the game?

redobit
11/11/2011, 2:34 PM
I'm not being pedantic. Those people are not Sligo fans - they are people who jump on the bandwagon - if you can tap into that community fantastic but they don't contribute to Sligo Rovers one bit. Nice of them to help pay off the FAIs stadium debt though

Oh but they do. I can think of a dozen people (friends and family) who went to the game and although dont go to The Showgrounds will willingly give money toward to Sligo Rovers when they are asked. And I know this because I be the one asking. I have sold annual raffle tickets door to door in Sligo Town for the last three years and you would be amazed the amount of people who buy tickets, a lot of those people who weren't even at any of the 3 cup finals.

If they werent Rovers fans then why would they travel?

I think it is an impressive travelling support and anybody that thinks otherwise is either jealous or needs a head doctor

El-Pietro
11/11/2011, 3:57 PM
im not remotely jealous - Sligo didn't get much of that money on Sunday did they? They wouldnt be any worse off if not a single person went to Landsdowne

I'll conceded that its an impressive enough crowd to bring but they aren't Rovers fans

redobit
11/11/2011, 4:07 PM
im not remotely jealous - Sligo didn't get much of that money on Sunday did they? They wouldnt be any worse off if not a single person went to Landsdowne

Thats different than what you said tho - 'they don't contribute to Sligo Rovers one bit'. I have given you first hand evidence that plenty do.

I'll conceded that its an impressive enough crowd to bring but they aren't Rovers fans

So they get a ticket for the Sligo Rovers area of Aviva, travel up on the Sligo Rovers match day train, wear Sligo Rovers jerseys and cheer for Sligo Rovers when they win the cup. And their not Sligo Rovers fans. Come on man ffs.

El-Pietro
11/11/2011, 4:48 PM
you said that you know a dozen or so who contribute to raffles - that doesnt count for the 12 or 15000

if there were half of them wearing sligo merchandise id be shocked and id take it all back

CSFShels
11/11/2011, 4:54 PM
So they get a ticket for the Sligo Rovers area of Aviva, travel up on the Sligo Rovers match day train, wear Sligo Rovers jerseys and cheer for Sligo Rovers when they win the cup. And their not Sligo Rovers fans. Come on man ffs.
They're not though. You're the 1 being unreasonable. These people will spend the next 12 months acting like Sligo Rovers do not exist and longer again unless Sligo can make it 4 years in a row.

shellyriver
11/11/2011, 6:34 PM
There is a distinction between diehard and band-wagoners -- nonetheless, no matter how describe them, by virtual of their attendance they are still fans.

This debate is meandering into the surreal.

Sure there are lunatics screaming at Tvs and still call themselves fans -- I suppose therein lies the distinction between a fan and a supporter.

The 15k plus Sligo fans, where there to support their team -- irrespective if they ever attended the Showgrounds. All clubs want a fraction of the big day eventers to attend regularly -- that's sensible.

I mean if you were to try and equate the absence of personal entertainment and satisfaction which watching a game of football -- that would probably would probably be the definition of being a Galway fan! (easy target) sorry.

When you say they help pay off Stadium debt -- ps, there is prize-money for the winners!

If every FAI cup final gets 20k that can only be good for the league.

Derry, Cork, Shams and Sligo Rovers are the best supported clubs in Ireland and always will be.

11/11/2011, 8:16 PM
https://p.twimg.com/Ad_134kCMAABcfI.jpg

11/11/2011, 8:24 PM
Bloody McGill. Even his manor is agressive.

S.E.P.1990
11/11/2011, 8:54 PM
His large house is aggressive???

S.E.P.1990
11/11/2011, 8:56 PM
https://p.twimg.com/Ad_134kCMAABcfI.jpg

He could have inserted about 5k different names into that report....!

born2bwild
11/11/2011, 8:58 PM
Tolka is grand place.

11/11/2011, 9:40 PM
His large house is aggressive???
Winter's a fierce socialist. Just seeing the name "Shelbourne" sends his class warrior instincts into overdrive.

born2bwild
11/11/2011, 10:00 PM
Winter's a fierce socialist. Just seeing the name "Shelbourne" sends his class warrior instincts into overdrive.
A socialist stitched up the reds????

11/11/2011, 10:03 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/312766_10150940873810347_577620346_22063188_578588 753_n.jpg

shellyriver
11/11/2011, 10:30 PM
Gracious losers Shelbourne! From the manager down -- they were simply a deluded lot, re post match analysis.

Class attached memo. How, where, when, did you this report. I'd pay for the full transcript!

Presumably, the aggressive manor, was Ringsend -- McGill, he's the Guvvnor.

bullit
11/11/2011, 10:50 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/312766_10150940873810347_577620346_22063188_578588 753_n.jpg

Neck strain. :)

*MANOR* :confused:

sligo23
11/11/2011, 11:19 PM
Just a note in relation to our crowd. Obviously there was alot of bandwagoners there but alot of people at the final (I talked to at least 6), and at the last few games of the season, aren't regulars, some with no interest in football at all. But they have been going because they've been dragged by their kids. The work Rovers have done in the schools in Sligo and surrounding areas + the success on the pitch is getting young kids hooked. They were all running round the Clarion Sunday night getting pics and autographs off the players. Great to see.

born2bwild
11/11/2011, 11:35 PM
Neck strain. :)

*MANOR* :confused:
Spelling, punctuation and refereeing are not his strong points, so. What is he good at? Shaving his head?
It's heart of darkness stuff. "The Horror, the horror." I almost feel sorry for him.

11/11/2011, 11:48 PM
Just a note in relation to our crowd. Obviously there was alot of bandwagoners there but alot of people at the final (I talked to at least 6), and at the last few games of the season, aren't regulars, some with no interest in football at all. But they have been going because they've been dragged by their kids. The work Rovers have done in the schools in Sligo and surrounding areas + the success on the pitch is getting young kids hooked. They were all running round the Clarion Sunday night getting pics and autographs off the players. Great to see.
Yeah we had all that when we were doing well. Lower actual numbers but similar percentage of the town etc. If ye find yourselves struggling again don't be relying on any help from most of them.

El-Pietro
12/11/2011, 12:24 AM
When you say they help pay off Stadium debt -- ps, there is prize-money for the winners!

Yes I'm well aware of this but its irrelevant of the crowd

Derry, Cork, Shams and Sligo Rovers are the best supported clubs in Ireland and always will be.
This isn't remotely true. We're the best four supported teams right now based on our circumstances, but it will fluctuate. Should Sligo drop off again their attendances will drop. Rovers were getting crowds in the 1/2000 range pre tallaght. In the late 90s we werent one of the best supported teams.

El-Pietro
12/11/2011, 12:30 AM
thats definitely good news and exactly what we want to see

shellyriver
12/11/2011, 12:42 AM
Okay, King Stats, you win.

bullit
12/11/2011, 12:45 AM
thats definitely good news and exactly what we want to see
DundalkFC do this.Surely every LOI side has a simalar policy ??

12/11/2011, 1:47 AM

It's the bloody Horseshoe Bar. He got barred once, and as a result ended up thinking it was our influence.

On the plus side, he doesn't like greyhounds.

Phew.

lawman
18/11/2011, 1:55 PM
way off topic but.... heard on the radio earlier that Gavin Peers getting married today

18/11/2011, 1:57 PM
way off topic but.... heard on the radio earlier that Gavin Peers getting married today

http://www.4freaks.com/media/201124/846accb44b6b5b17881eb4f52c24572c.jpg

18/11/2011, 2:14 PM
Condolences to Gavin on this sad day.

lawman
18/11/2011, 2:52 PM
Ahh Longfordian, I would get married again, but maybe not to the same woman :)

18/11/2011, 7:20 PM
way off topic but.... heard on the radio earlier that Gavin Peers getting married todayJesus, radio's got very bad if they feel that's worthy of being mentioned.

galwayhoop
20/11/2011, 2:21 PM
they're the best refs in the country....
And I say that as someone who watches junior and schoolboy football. THey all make basic errors.

Annoying as it is when it goes against you, all you can hope is that they're not biased
This is so true.

So often we lose sight of it following games.

Much easier to blame someone else than accept responsibility.

It's a very tough job (I tried it on three occasions in underage games). All we should expect is that they are not biased.

They will never get everything right.