Pages :
[
5]
El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 5:13 PM
waaaaay off his line there!
Maroon 7
06/11/2011, 5:13 PM
Kelly is way off his line on every penalty. Shels should really be bringing it to the attention of the ref.
Joke. Kelly wayy off his line
El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 5:17 PM
Kelly is way off his line on every penalty. Shels should really be bringing it to the attention of the ref.
good point, they should have mentioned it - he gets called on it once and he loses his advantage
Maroon 7
06/11/2011, 5:17 PM
Kelly was closer to the penalty spot than the goaline for most of those pens. Ref must have been daydreaming about what he was going to have for dinner later.
Cheated to win the cup, well done Sligo and Ciaran Kelly...
Dave_SRFC
06/11/2011, 5:19 PM
Sligs keeper way off his line before ball was kicked...
sullanefc
06/11/2011, 5:19 PM
Well done Rovers. Well deserved.
Dave_SRFC
06/11/2011, 5:21 PM
Ref was a joke never a sending off, and ignored the rules of penalty taking...
TheOwl
06/11/2011, 5:26 PM
Don't know what was worse. The referee's performance or Damien Richardson saying he had a good game.
Jumping three yards off your line for a penalty is "part of the game" says Rico....eh no it's not.
Delighted for Sligo.
Shels runners up AGAIN. They're making a bit of a habit out of this.
CrowdedHouse
06/11/2011, 5:28 PM
Is Davoren the first Biffo to score in a cup final ?
Disgusted that Kellys chearting on the penos wasn't spotted by the ref ... terrible way to "win" a cup final.
Shels have just announced details of their Christmas Raffle. 1st Prize; three bottles of champagne!!;)
06/11/2011, 5:36 PM
PA announcer announcing that receiving the cup will be "Sligo Rovers captain Richie Foran"...
Olander
06/11/2011, 5:38 PM
Delighted for Sligo.
Shels runners up AGAIN. They're making a bit of a habit out of this.
Shels have just announced details of their Christmas Raffle. 1st Prize; three bottles of champagne!!;)
You're dire at trolling, gimp.
sullanefc
06/11/2011, 5:40 PM
How many times have the pundits mentioned the word BOTTLE!!! :D
Thankfully you can't win a league on penalties...320 minutes of cup final football and Sligo's have two goals to show for it. Same as Fingal got in 90 minutes.
From a Rovers perspective for next season, I'd be more wary of Shels' terrific display than that of Sligo which was nothing new.
adamd164
06/11/2011, 5:47 PM
Delighted, well done Sligo. The bottlers bottled it twice in just over a week. :)
You're dire at trolling, gimp.
Meh. I won't lose any sleep like. Fair play for resorting to name calling though at posts that were not aimed at anything related to you.:cool:
Whats with the corkies going on about champagne??
Delighted Sligo won today.
Whatever about about the officials, its time to start saving for Europe, and trying to get those precious flexi days off.
The Saints are having a party :D
El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 5:51 PM
Shels had three bottles of Champagne on the bench last week. 3 bottles which remain unused
sullanefc
06/11/2011, 5:51 PM
Shelbourne had a few bottles of champagne on their bench in the title decider last Saturday night. They were put back on ice until this Sunday due to Cummins 94th minute intervention.
sullanefc got there before me.
Shelbourne had a few bottles of champagne on their bench in the title decider last Saturday night. They were put back on ice until this Sunday due to Cummins 94th minute intervention.
I hope they kept the receipt!
monkey9
06/11/2011, 5:55 PM
They had bottles of champagne in the dugout??? Jesus Christ!!!
El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 5:57 PM
yeah so you can see why we're indulging in this schadenfreude
PartySaint
06/11/2011, 6:05 PM
Thank You Sligo!!!
CSFShels
06/11/2011, 6:29 PM
Robbed, pure and simple. No ifs or buts about it. Sligo not deserving winners.
TheOwl
06/11/2011, 6:35 PM
Shels have plenty to celebrate - winning promotion back to Premier League, getting to a Cup final and most importantly keeping 116 years of history alive over these last few years.
S.E.P.1990
06/11/2011, 6:39 PM
El Pietro you really are a bitter bitter person......
bullit
06/11/2011, 6:51 PM
Robbed lad,pure and simple.How Winter and the assistant didnt take action on Kelly repeatdly breaching the line during the peno shoot-out is beyond me :angry2: and dont get me started on the sending off.!!
Stood in with the Shels fans today,great bunch of lads, and i felt the pain with them at the end !!
Half pished now so i'm away to finish the job ;)
El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 6:53 PM
El Pietro you really are a bitter bitter person......
I'm a very very happy person!
enjoy your champagne
hedderman
06/11/2011, 7:14 PM
Very poor cup final with next to no tempo whatsoever!
Very disappointed for Shels, thought their number 4 was outstanding.
enjoy your champagne
Is it just me or this getting old??
Hibs4Ever
06/11/2011, 7:27 PM
Robbed, pure and simple..
Just as St Pats were in the semi. Karma is a bitch
born2bwild
06/11/2011, 7:28 PM
Dear Richie Winters,
You ruined the game.
Thanks for that. If I performed that incompetently at work I'd be kicked onto the dole. Hang your head in shame. Your fee for the match should be withheld.
Yours in utter disgust.
Sligo deserve to win something - they're a decent team but they did not deserve to win that match.
jinxy lilywhite
06/11/2011, 8:29 PM
really felt for shels and esp ex dundalk lads like cassidy and philly.
find it stange that sligo have been in the last 3 cup finals, won 2 but never won one of the games.
Is it just me or this getting old??
Im sure the Corks lads will tell you that it tastes better with age !
legendz
06/11/2011, 9:01 PM
Personally, I disagree with the ending off. If a player get a bit of a touch but it's six in one half a dozen in the other and it's not a penalty, I don't think the player should be booked. If a player goes down as the result of no touch whatsoever, I'd agree in that case.
Congrats to Sligo Rovers. I hope ye can at least make the Europa League play-offs next season, same goes for Derry City.
The sending off was harsh, Richie could have easily had a chat with the player.
Didn't care either way who won and thought Shels would take it but it wasn't to be.
It's hard to have too much sympathy for Shels though after the Sheriff debacle.
S.E.P.1990
06/11/2011, 9:11 PM
Just as St Pats were in the semi. Karma is a bitch
Am assuming you didn't bother watching that game then based on this comment......Pats should have beat us in first game with 11 but played rubbish. In the 2nd game, we got a deserved pen but a terrible sending off at a stage when we were the better team, we then outplayed pats for whole game.
CSFShels
06/11/2011, 9:17 PM
Im sure the Corks lads will tell you that it tastes better with age !
Cork fans? Knowing about something lasting for longer than 20 years? Don't be silly.
Fivesilver
06/11/2011, 9:32 PM
I do feel for Shels. Haven't seen a replay yet, but my feeling at the time was that it was neither a foul nor a dive i.e. no peno, no yellow. I was worried all week that grandstander Winter would hog the headlines. In the end, we were poor enough but we'll take it - lord knows we've been on the receiving end of some shocking decisions (take a bow Alan Kelly). As for the Dundalk lad with his complaint about us winning two cups "without actually winning anything", I'd say you lads would happily settle for that.
sonofstan
06/11/2011, 9:39 PM
You were.
i was at the game, and I left nearly as furious at Winter as after his mockery of officiating at Bohs V Pats in the league a few weeks back: and I don't even care about Shels. I can imagine how youse feel.
Sligo are vastly overrated, as is Cook as a manager. 90 minutes against ten men, and they can only score once.
bullit
06/11/2011, 10:00 PM
As for the Dundalk lad with his complaint about us winning two cups "without actually winning anything", I'd say you lads would happily settle for that.
He said:
find it stange that sligo have been in the last 3 cup finals, won 2 but never won one of the games.
Factualy :) he is correct,take it whatever way you want.We like to win properly here, not by default ;)
Fivesilver
06/11/2011, 10:02 PM
Cheers - we'll keep our default trophies, you keep your plastic pitch, everybody's happy.
bullit
06/11/2011, 10:14 PM
Cheers - we'll keep our default trophies, you keep your plastic pitch, everybody's happy.
Classic,must copy that great counterpoint for future reference.
06/11/2011, 10:48 PM
So, it's now 23.49.
A few things that came from today:
Richie Winters is a disgrace.
Cork fans are an oddly bitter bunch.
We are a really really good side that will hold our own easily next year.
Cork fans are a bitter shower.
The atmosphere was great today.
Richie Winters is a disgrace.
Some of the Cork heads here are a bunch of wumming trolls.
The best team didn't win today but that's not Sligo's fault.
Stephen Paisley is a ledge bag.
Cheesesteak really is a serious poacher.
Roll on March!
Edit:-I notice that El-Pietro has reared his head over on ShelsChat. Seriously, the obsession with us "the bottlers" is incredible. How anyone who saw that game today and cannot criticise Winters needs their head checked.