View Full Version : Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road 6th Nov

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

S.E.P.1990
02/11/2011, 5:16 PM
On the other hand.. 20000 bandwagoners who might come to a game or two next season. Better to see them once than not at all.
True, and has I have made sure my ticket is in the same place as all the lads I go to the games with I dont care who else turns up!

dong
02/11/2011, 6:51 PM
Still a few days to go and weather looks like it will be decent which should attract a good few daytrippers.
I think 20k is achievable. Not much advertising or promotion anywhere though.

02/11/2011, 6:57 PM
Probably a stupid question...but do the clubs get anything from the gates?

punkrocket
02/11/2011, 8:06 PM
Got home today from work and there was a letter from the FAI containing 3 premium tickets for the game waiting for me. Nice wee surprise.
I get 3 season tickets for the internationals for me and 2 mates. It's a good idea getting a few extra folk who are genuinely interested in Irish football and who may not have made the game otherwise especially with next week's game coming up...As well as a thank you for turning up for some of the tripe we've endured during the year.
For once, well done FAI. Cheers.

S.E.P.1990
03/11/2011, 12:51 AM
Probably a stupid question...but do the clubs get anything from the gates?
As far as I know neither team get any of the gate, they only get the prize money for winning or losing.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2011, 7:29 AM
As far as I know neither team get any of the gate, they only get the prize money for winning or losing.

Think ourselves and Shams had some deal with them last year that if there was more then 28k at the game that they would give us a cut out of the extra but doubt they would have given a huge amount up

redobit
03/11/2011, 4:54 PM
It might sound very odd but in some one ways but there is a small small part of me that hates Cup Finals - you be sick with worry thinking about them.

Then you have them people saying: Enjoy the day out? How can I enjoy the day, I'll be a nervous fcuking wreck.

Cant wait for ths now :D

dublinred
03/11/2011, 7:02 PM
Would I be right in thinking that Sligo's sales are lower than last year's? It is to be expected and it's certainly already larger than two years ago. It'd be good if Sligo managed to bring 10k and Shels 5k. I'd say that'd probably see a swell to 20k overall.

Sales very good Rovers official 10k allocation sold out today loads of ticket sold via ticket master as well.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2011, 8:44 PM
Got home today from work and there was a letter from the FAI containing 3 premium tickets for the game waiting for me. Nice wee surprise.
I get 3 season tickets for the internationals for me and 2 mates. It's a good idea getting a few extra folk who are genuinely interested in Irish football and who may not have made the game otherwise especially with next week's game coming up...As well as a thank you for turning up for some of the tripe we've endured during the year.
For once, well done FAI. Cheers.

How is that a surprise? They say that you get a ticket for the cup final when you're paying up for the season ticket

03/11/2011, 9:09 PM
Sales very good Rovers official 10k allocation sold out today loads of ticket sold via ticket master as well.

That's great to hear.

No idea how we are getting on. Will be talking to one of the lads tomorrow so will ask.

monkey9
03/11/2011, 10:37 PM
Come on the Rovers!! Wanna get back into Europe next season, despite the nonsense this year!! Hopefully, Shels implode like Fingal last year except on the pitch and the signs are good, seeing as Shels fans here seem to be former Fingal/Dublin City fans!!

born2bwild
03/11/2011, 10:54 PM
Come on the Rovers!! Wanna get back into Europe next season, despite the nonsense this year!! Hopefully, Shels implode like Fingal last year except on the pitch and the signs are good, seeing as Shels fans here seem to be former Fingal/Dublin City fans!!
Dublin City were Franchise scum - everything that was wrong with the Celtic Tiger years embodied in a football club. Booo Booo!!!

punkrocket
04/11/2011, 8:12 AM
How is that a surprise? They say that you get a ticket for the cup final when you're paying up for the season ticket

I sometimes forget about stuff.:doh:

Ahem, the premium level is a genuine surprise though:o

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 11:48 AM
I'm getting two premium seats off a mate. Been debating with myself whether to go or sit in the Shels singing section but have a mate from Glasgow and he wants in the Premium so we can have some beer at the game.

Shelsweb saying we've sold 4k so far. Hopefully bottom half is full and will look decent on telly.

CrowdedHouse
04/11/2011, 12:05 PM
Folks - what's different/extra about the premium level ?

S.E.P.1990
04/11/2011, 12:09 PM
Folks - what's different/extra about the premium level ?
Bigger seats, better view, bars. Its actually not a bad idea to pick up one of these tickets for the cup final, its a cheap way of getting to the premium level. I went to last years final and it was very enjoyable. Not going to go to the Premium Level this year as I want to be around other Shels fans but, as I say, would thoroughly recommend it!

Jeebus
04/11/2011, 12:38 PM
I'm getting two premium seats off a mate. Been debating with myself whether to go or sit in the Shels singing section but have a mate from Glasgow and he wants in the Premium so we can have some beer at the game.

Shelsweb saying we've sold 4k so far. Hopefully bottom half is full and will look decent on telly.

You not bringing your 'mate' Shamsbore?? :p :D

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 12:58 PM
You not bringing your 'mate' Shamsbore?? :p :D

Going with a pal from Glasgow and looks like the Bore is coming along. Paddy Power taking bets @ 2/1 I end up glassing him by the end of the night :D

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 1:02 PM
Bigger seats, better view, bars. Its actually not a bad idea to pick up one of these tickets for the cup final, its a cheap way of getting to the premium level. I went to last years final and it was very enjoyable. Not going to go to the Premium Level this year as I want to be around other Shels fans but, as I say, would thoroughly recommend it!

Are ya allowed bring your beer to you seat?

Jeebus
04/11/2011, 1:02 PM
Going with a pal from Glasgow and looks like the Bore is coming along. Paddy Power taking bets @ 2/1 I end up glassing him by the end of the night :D

I would have excepted shorter odds than that!!:D

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 1:08 PM
I would have excepted shorter odds than that!!:D

They are but it's for him glassing me :D

S.E.P.1990
04/11/2011, 1:33 PM
Are ya allowed bring your beer to you seat?

AFAIK not for football games.

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 1:44 PM
AFAIK not for football games.

At the Dublin Super Cup they allowed you to and that was just in the regular seats, not the Premium. Gutter that they won't allow you but they will for rugby fans. Bloody joke.

punkrocket
04/11/2011, 2:55 PM
At the Dublin Super Cup they allowed you to and that was just in the regular seats, not the Premium. Gutter that they won't allow you but they will for rugby fans. Bloody joke.

What? booze at a football match doesn't sound legal to me.
No consistency though, drink available at one match but not another (and some of those cr@p friendlies could have done with a boost). Not interested in the rugby but would like to be treated like an adult.
You'd think that the bars would have been a decent reveune stream for the FAI, (and help with the atmosphere) musn't need the money.

TiocfaidhArmani
04/11/2011, 3:27 PM
What? booze at a football match doesn't sound legal to me.
No consistency though, drink available at one match but not another (and some of those cr@p friendlies could have done with a boost). Not interested in the rugby but would like to be treated like an adult.
You'd think that the bars would have been a decent reveune stream for the FAI, (and help with the atmosphere) musn't need the money.

Course it's legal, they sold it and you were allowed it at your seat, was great to be treated like an adult. It's the same in Scotland banned at the football but rugby you're allowed it and allowed it even at your seat.

Good idea giving out Premium tickets for the freebies, they get money out of you then through the bar. Any food in there to be bought?

dong
04/11/2011, 8:40 PM
Ndo out apparently, been carrying a knock since the last game.

04/11/2011, 11:54 PM
Ndo out apparently, been carrying a knock since the last game.

who will come in so? Kirbs???

05/11/2011, 1:37 AM
Ouch, Ndo is a big loss if true. The few times I've seen Sligo since Christmas, he's the one everything goes through, even when he's playing out of position on the right.

dong
05/11/2011, 10:02 AM
Doubt if Kirby will start.
My guess team will be this:

Clarke
Keane
Mcguinness
Peers
Davoren
Dillon
Russell
Ryan
Ventre
Greene
Doyle

bingoballs
05/11/2011, 10:27 AM
Hopefully it will be a good game and there is no talk about Winter after it. Best of luck to both sides but I hope the Bit O Red bring the cup back west of the Shannon again

05/11/2011, 12:26 PM
Im going to be on a fecking bus for most of the game.. might catch the last 20 mins thou I hope :( was the same last season dag nabbit

GalwayRed
05/11/2011, 12:32 PM
Can't wait for this now. I know David McGill has been out for a good while now but I'm gutted for him missing the match tomorrow. He's been a such a big part of our push back to the premier.
Sligo will obviously be big favourites but I'm going in with the belief that we can win tomorrow. Hopefully it's a great game. The pressures off us. We achieved our main objective for the season so it's all a bonus from here. The team I would like to see is..
1. Delany
2. Ryan
3. S. Byrne
4. Boyle
5. Paisley
6. Sullivan
7. C. Byrne
8. Cassidy
9. Hughes
10. Dawson
11. B McGill

05/11/2011, 12:54 PM
What is the pitch like after the rugger last night?

CSFShels
05/11/2011, 7:59 PM
Gonna make a not so bold prediction and say that the Ndo thing is a lie.

05/11/2011, 9:57 PM
Gonna make a not so bold prediction and say that the Ndo thing is a lie.No, you‘ve foiled our plan! He has travelled anyway, I‘m expecting him to get the winner

05/11/2011, 10:50 PM
Have a massive fiver on Shels 1-0 and Philly Hughes first goalscorer.

Do me proud you horrible ***** :ball:

06/11/2011, 12:13 AM
Managed to convince the missus to go with me and my little bro. Now all I have to do is convince her to wear a Shels shirt.

Can't bloody well wait for this.

OneForTheFuture
06/11/2011, 7:27 AM
Managed to convince the missus to go with me and my little bro. Now all I have to do is convince her to wear a Shels shirt.

Can't bloody well wait for this.

Failed with this myself so bought her one of the Cup Final rosettes sold in Tolka. Majority of the money goes to charity. Nice touch.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/11/2011, 8:36 AM
Gonna make a not so bold prediction and say that the Ndo thing is a lie.

Sounds like he's out. Would expect Dillon to take his place. Squeaky Bum Time.

El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 11:13 AM
who are the "home" team? Is it Shelbourne?

06/11/2011, 11:46 AM
Failed with this myself so bought her one of the Cup Final rosettes sold in Tolka. Majority of the money goes to charity. Nice touch.

She's now flaked out. The biatch.

06/11/2011, 11:46 AM
who are the "home" team? Is it Shelbourne?

Yeah, it's us.

El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 12:06 PM
Yeah, it's us.
pity - I much prefer your new away shirt to the home one!

06/11/2011, 12:13 PM
pity - I much prefer your new away shirt to the home one!

Not gone on the new away though, I'll wait til I see it in the flesh. Thought the new home one was cat until I saw it in the flesh at the last game against ye, though.

El-Pietro
06/11/2011, 12:58 PM
did ye wear the new one against us? Thought that was your old one if I'm honest, didn't look much different in person if thats the case

celticV3
06/11/2011, 1:37 PM
Does anyone know of a low speed link to the game. RTE is too patchy on a slow connection, any links that can be watched outside of Ireland?

06/11/2011, 2:10 PM
Colin Scanlon you beauty!

Mad Moose
06/11/2011, 2:15 PM
I'm probably setting myself for ridicule in ignorance of reading every thread on here but I can't imagine Con Murphy's frame of reference continuously been English Soccer hasn't got a mention on here and doesn't annoy just about every Irish football fan. He broke up one of his analysts contribution on Shels return to the Cup on technicality, in reference to Sheriff YC's elimination for fielding an ineligible player and losing out to Cork City on the First Division title to go to a goal at 'the Reebok'. Absolutely unforgiveable. I find him hard to listen to or even watch. There has to be a better alternative. He fits the GAH/English Soccer stereotype perfectly.

monkey9
06/11/2011, 2:15 PM
Colin Scanlon you beauty!

I still laugh at that!! Awesome!!!

06/11/2011, 2:27 PM
That macron gear is terrible.