View Full Version : Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road 6th Nov
Pages :
[
2]
S.E.P.1990
19/10/2011, 10:47 PM
assuming everyone in Tralee only caught wind of the LOI from the 90's on, two small clubs with little or no fanbase both thriving of the downfall of the mighty Drums.
Of course we didn't exist 50 years before Drums joined the league or win 5 leagues before they won one.....no did nowt until the 90s....
shellyriver
19/10/2011, 10:58 PM
whats this got to do with the fai cup final - take this nonsense to the first division thread
Move all this guff to a first division whine-off.
El-Pietro
20/10/2011, 12:51 AM
Move all this guff to a first division whine-off.
makes a change from the rovers - rovers crap or bohs rovers
Dixie Dean
20/10/2011, 10:01 AM
makes a change from the rovers - rovers crap or bohs rovers
Rovers - shams you mean, :-)
EddieAnnand
20/10/2011, 1:38 PM
I propose we change the name of this thread to "Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road Nov 6th" in solidarity with our fallen insurance industry employees. Probably annoy John Delaney as well so its win-win.
marinobohs
20/10/2011, 1:46 PM
assuming everyone in Tralee only caught wind of the LOI from the 90's on, two small clubs with little or no fanbase both thriving of the downfall of the mighty Drums.
The fact that both Shels and Bohs predate the "mighty Drums" and have much more tradition pretty much shows you are either ignorant of the game here or on a wind up:confused: .
Your own club (shams) were happy to be a tenant of both "small clubs" on occasion.
* whoops, is that you Bertie ?
S.E.P.1990
20/10/2011, 2:02 PM
I propose we change the name of this thread to "Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road Nov 6th" in solidarity with our fallen insurance industry employees. Probably annoy John Delaney as well so its win-win.
Agreed +1
shellyriver
20/10/2011, 2:17 PM
The Ballsbridge Bed Pan, was my favourite, in honour of its unique architectural shape!
I always refused to call Lansdowne Road by another name -- such is the fickleness of capitalism, otherwise we might as well stroll down McD Boulevard etc etc.
By the by, does the FAI cup have an official alternate name? ie in honour of the person who donated it or is it commemorate anyone. Or is it simply the cup that existed during the IFA split, with the formation of the Free State league in the early 1920s. Could it become the equivalent of a Lonsdale Belt -- win it three times and its yours, if so, I, along with others in Sligo, would be in favour ;]
20/10/2011, 2:31 PM
A first post in 4½ months, and it was worth waiting for! :pI didn't get those little blue medals over there for nothing. ;)
born2bwild
20/10/2011, 4:27 PM
According to Daire Whelan in his chapter on the 1970s in "Who Stole Our Game", most of Drums' fanbase never darkened the door of a League of Ireland ground again after they were subsumed by Home Farm.
Odd to hear that Shels and Bohs are 'thriving'.
20/10/2011, 4:38 PM
Good call; done!
And in the spirit of correctness, I've corrected the date away from the irritatingly American "Nov 6th"...
"Who Stole Our Game"
Gerry Gannon?
born2bwild
20/10/2011, 7:56 PM
Gerry Gannon?
Ha Ha. Ironically, in that book (published 2005/6?) Whelan once or twice speculates about whether millionaire investors might pour some cash into the LoI. Be careful what you wish for.
CrowdedHouse
20/10/2011, 8:37 PM
Good call; done!
Thanks my OH works ..for the time being...for Aviva
Rasputin
21/10/2011, 9:20 AM
Do shels have any kind of tradition where they march to Lansdowne behind a gypos pieball or pull up a caravan or anything of the like?
OneForTheFuture
21/10/2011, 9:35 AM
No. Do Sligo fans? The non-gypo ones like?
shellyriver
21/10/2011, 7:30 PM
When Sligo Rovers won first honours, Intermediate FAI in 1929 -- a year after club was founded -- the club's mascot a black cat, was donned in club colours, and handed over by a Mrs Burnside in the middle of the pitch to the keeper Cougar Callaghan, who promised her no ball would hit the cat or the back of the net, and beating Grangegorman FC they won!! A Sligo Docker, 'Cogie' Callaghan played on Saturday for Rovers and Sunday for Belfast Celtic. This type of touching tradition can never happen again due to Fort Knox security at Lansdowne security, and more is the pity.
northwestexile
21/10/2011, 10:36 PM
If Rovers win do Shels get the Europa League spot or does it go to the 4th placed team in the league?
Fester
22/10/2011, 11:37 AM
If Rovers win do Shels get the Europa League spot or does it go to the 4th placed team in the league?
It goes to the 4th placed team which is Pats.
brayfan08
22/10/2011, 11:45 AM
Is it true that Derry cant play in Europe?
refjohn
22/10/2011, 1:44 PM
Its unclear. Gavin said in paper on Friday the FAI. Would do what they can to get Derry sanctioned for Europe. Apparently there is a meeting on Wednesday in Monaghan between Derry and FAI to discuss Derry and Europe.
22/10/2011, 1:58 PM
Its unclear. Gavin said in paper on Friday the FAI. Would do what they can to get Derry sanctioned for Europe. Apparently there is a meeting on Wednesday in Monaghan between Derry and FAI to discuss Derry and Europe.
It'll be interesting to see the outcome on this.
Rasputin
22/10/2011, 3:06 PM
http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/delaney.jpg
northwestexile
24/10/2011, 1:01 AM
Missed this story. What are the details?
refjohn
24/10/2011, 8:08 AM
Missed this story. What are the details?
High level - need 3 years of accounts with all bills paid for Europe. Legal entity running Derry only 2 years old. 3 years ago not best for Derry financially so there could be issues. FAI claim things should be ok - guess meeting is to check situation.
24/10/2011, 8:39 AM
Well that can't be right. Sporting Fingal had only existed for 2 years when they entered the Europa League.
Rasputin
24/10/2011, 9:31 AM
Well that can't be right. Sporting Fingal had only existed for 2 years when they entered the Europa League.
Is it not a relatively new ruling by UEFA under Platini? An attempt to clean up the mess that is the financial state of European football.
24/10/2011, 10:34 AM
The Financial Fair Play initiative? I don't think it applies to this year. Sure look at Chelsea and Manchester City.
MagicMon
24/10/2011, 10:44 AM
Its being 'phased in' as far as I know, so the 3 years rule is probably one of the first things they've brought in.
That's why Abramovich changed his investment into shares rather than a loan (or vice versa, I didn't really understand the technicalities) and why Etihad sponsored the Man City stadium for a way over-the-odds sum, as a vehicle to put the Sheikh's money in (sponsorship is classed as legit income).
24/10/2011, 11:49 AM
Isn't it more that a club entering administration or an equivalent gets a three-year ban from Europe? Maybe it'd allow for the new Derry City and the old Derry City being the same (or maybe that's where the dispute is coming in)?
El-Pietro
24/10/2011, 12:00 PM
this would have applied to us in 2010 after we went into examinership in 2008. its not a new rule
the question is if it applies to Derry
desaintsno.12
24/10/2011, 12:15 PM
theres no way they should be let in IMO.
TiocfaidhArmani
24/10/2011, 12:50 PM
Where is that?
Mr Maroon
24/10/2011, 12:52 PM
Where is that?Train station in Slovakia.
punkrocket
24/10/2011, 12:53 PM
"Here, take yer feckin tie back"
marinobohs
24/10/2011, 2:41 PM
...... after the Libyian example, Irish football fans seek to remove a Dictator :cool:
dublinred
28/10/2011, 11:52 AM
Good call; done!
And in the spirit of correctness, I've corrected the date away from the irritatingly American "Nov 6th"...
Now that the ref has been appointed should we rename the thread to the "Richie Winter Show"
Joe Strummer
01/11/2011, 7:31 PM
Now that the ref has been appointed should we rename the thread to the "Richie Winter Show"
Did he not have his own show already??
http://www.zbrushcentral.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8530
fionnsci
01/11/2011, 8:57 PM
Any word on ticket sales?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/11/2011, 9:43 PM
Club said we had 6k sold as of last Friday
CSFShels
01/11/2011, 11:41 PM
theres no way they should be let in IMO.
Agreed, they cheated and benefited from it. No way they should be allowed tiptoe around the rules that go with such a deed.
Rover'n'out
02/11/2011, 12:39 AM
What a day it will be, a sea of Red if ever there was one!
Any news on number of tickets Shels fans have taken up?
TiocfaidhArmani
02/11/2011, 11:52 AM
Any news on number of tickets Shels fans have taken up?
Not heard a thing to be honest.
Rasputin
02/11/2011, 11:56 AM
We have sold 7000 as of yesterday, think shels are about the 3-4000 mark.
fionnsci
02/11/2011, 12:38 PM
Would I be right in thinking that Sligo's sales are lower than last year's? It is to be expected and it's certainly already larger than two years ago. It'd be good if Sligo managed to bring 10k and Shels 5k. I'd say that'd probably see a swell to 20k overall.
TiocfaidhArmani
02/11/2011, 12:52 PM
Would I be right in thinking that Sligo's sales are lower than last year's? It is to be expected and it's certainly already larger than two years ago. It'd be good if Sligo managed to bring 10k and Shels 5k. I'd say that'd probably see a swell to 20k overall.
I hope they just sell lower and premium seat tickets, it'll look really bad if they open the top tier. Doubt they will anyway.
poster
02/11/2011, 1:06 PM
Shels have sold just over 2k and Rovers about 8k. Be lucky to get 15k at the game at this stage. Still not a bad attendance when you compare it to recent years.
S.E.P.1990
02/11/2011, 1:11 PM
Shels have sold just over 2k and Rovers about 8k. Be lucky to get 15k at the game at this stage. Still not a bad attendance when you compare it to recent years.
Heard we have sold 3-4k. There was a ridiculous bit in the Mail yesterday saying that Sligo would bring 15k and Shels 10k with an additional 5k from neutrals. Cant see it myself. If they only have the Premium and Lower Tier it should be a great atmosphere.
CSFShels
02/11/2011, 4:34 PM
Heard we have sold 3-4k. There was a ridiculous bit in the Mail yesterday saying that Sligo would bring 15k and Shels 10k with an additional 5k from neutrals. Cant see it myself. If they only have the Premium and Lower Tier it should be a great atmosphere.
If Sligo bring 15 and us 10 thousand, I would be absolutely mortified for both clubs. Over 20 thousand bandwagoners who will not grace our grounds next season. Depressing.
On the other hand.. 20000 bandwagoners who might come to a game or two next season. Better to see them once than not at all.