View Full Version : Shels v Sligo FAI Cup final - Lansdowne Road 6th Nov

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

juan
06/11/2011, 11:06 PM
Not bitter just better.

In fairness to Shels the sending of was very harsh indeed and did ruin the game somewhat. Richie Winter is a dreadful ref and really showed that today. It would have been interesting to see how Shels would've went on had the ref had not sent yer man off. They actually could have won.

06/11/2011, 11:08 PM
Shels weren't robbed.

Sending off was debatable. (I thought it was but meh)

But if he wasn't shown the line Paisley would probably have been shown the line for any one of his half dozen fouls while on a yellow.

As for the penalty thing, he should only do that once before the Shels players complain and it doesn't happen again, as well as upsetting the keeper.

Are Sligo always such a complete pain in the arse to watch btw?? Less cutting edge than the remedial classes scissors, the Arsenal of Ireland, huffing and puffing before finally giving up and doing something stupid.

06/11/2011, 11:14 PM
The Cork fans are actually doing a fantastic job here btw, bites flying in from all angles. :D

Also, will someone explain to me why Shels were much the better team??

Lots of guts and whatever but I can't remember them creating a chance bar that crossbar thingy early on. Sligo had at least 94% of the ball.

They were terrible with it mind.

Aaron Greene. :bulgy:

lawman
06/11/2011, 11:18 PM
Agree with comment about great athmosphere. Neutrals really getting value for money last few years with extra time and penalties. A lot of fooball for 10 EURO. Fantastic stadium also so would advise anybody with any interest in football to attend for a final. Bring a child with you as I did and watch their face light up. Better than Christmas day smiles.

06/11/2011, 11:19 PM
Not bitter just better.

In fairness to Shels the sending of was very harsh indeed and did ruin the game somewhat. Richie Winter is a dreadful ref and really showed that today. It would have been interesting to see how Shels would've went on had the ref had not sent yer man off. They actually could have won.

In fairness Juan, the lot of ye have gone on very childishly today re us. I'm all for rivalry and banter but there's a line.

WE were the better side until the sending off. The sending off was bad enough but it was the rest of his performance which is what hurt more.
He showed no consistency with any of his decisions and just seemed to favour Sligo in every fifty-fifty.
The linesman over the East Stand side may as well not have been there. He only flagged for corners and seemed to forget that he's there to ASSIST the ref. Gormless shtes the lot of them.

Anyway, It's over and done with. This season was all about getting out of the FD. We did that. Now time to move on.

bullit
06/11/2011, 11:24 PM
Are Sligo always such a complete pain in the arse to watch btw?? Less cutting edge than the remedial classes scissors, the Arsenal of Ireland, huffing and puffing before finally giving up and doing something stupid.
Over passed it surely,then when the ball went to Blinkhorn he blasted it so wide or so far over the bar that it hit the top of the stand or near took out a fan sitting in a corner section.Doyle was no better,a complete let down.Brendan Clarke is prob looking for a new club right now,his manager realy filled him full of confidence today !! ??

06/11/2011, 11:24 PM
The linesman over the East Stand side may as well not have been there. He only flagged for corners and seemed to forget that he's there to ASSIST the ref. Gormless shtes the lot of them.

The linesman over the East Stand side indicated to the ref to give Paisley a second yellow at one stage and the ref ignored him tbf.

CSFShels
06/11/2011, 11:40 PM
The Cork fans are actually doing a fantastic job here btw, bites flying in from all angles. :D

Also, will someone explain to me why Shels were much the better team??

Lots of guts and whatever but I can't remember them creating a chance bar that crossbar thingy early on. Sligo had at least 94% of the ball.

They were terrible with it mind.

Aaron Greene. :bulgy:
Thought we absolutely murdered them at 11 v 11. After that I think people were just impressed by how well we defended when all expectations would have had them hammer us

06/11/2011, 11:49 PM
Thought we absolutely murdered them at 11 v 11.

How so??

I don't remember much in the way of chance creation, the goal was a result of terrible, terrible defending. Murdered is a bit strong.

monkey9
06/11/2011, 11:51 PM
Over passed it surely,then when the ball went to Blinkhorn he blasted it so wide or so far over the bar that it hit the top of the stand or near took out a fan sitting in a corner section.Doyle was no better,a complete let down.Brendan Clarke is prob looking for a new club right now,his manager realy filled him full of confidence today !! ??

Sure why would he? He played the final. All Cook did was bring on his penalty shootout specialist!!

El-Pietro
07/11/2011, 12:03 AM

Sligo had at least 94% of the ball.

where have I heard the number 94 before?

07/11/2011, 12:07 AM
Sure why would he? He played the final. All Cook did was bring on his penalty shootout specialist!!

Specialist me arse, he had to be 3-4 yards off his line.

El-Pietro
07/11/2011, 12:10 AM
Edit:-I notice that El-Pietro has reared his head over on ShelsChat. Seriously, the obsession with us "the bottlers" is incredible. How anyone who saw that game today and cannot criticise Winters needs their head checked.
I though my post was quite moderate over there, i stated my opinion about the red card, which fair enough very few people seem to agree with, and agreed that the panalties were a joke and that the ref was shocking.

I was bored at work to be honest and there wasnt much happening here or over on our forum.

We're not bitter at all, we just really don't like Shelbourne. Thats football

bullit
07/11/2011, 12:27 AM
Well from a player's perspective i would be going mad,i would take it personal,maybe Clarke is not as easlily pished off as me :)

shellyriver
07/11/2011, 12:50 AM
YeSSSSSS.

Just back - work in the morn, so had a look in.

OK - ye played with 10 men for vast majority of the game and obviously not a vintage performance by Bit-a-Red - but with exception of the header off the bar and -- the goal for Shels came after a poor clearance by McGuinness (his only mistake) and a keeper not coming out for high ball when Philly Cheesecake took a goal -- Shels weren't potent.

Shels, ye had 10 men on the pitch most of them in your six yard box for the majority of the game.

Rovers missed Joey. Dillon was put into the wrong position and shouldn't have come off for Blinks who had a nightmare. Doyle was poor and Ryan was apathetic and with Ventre not creative we had not midfield platform.

As for the haters, apparently Cook has made a few new signings for new season -- three years, three finals, and this year runners-up in league, he must be doing something right.

Couldn't believe the poor Shels fan turn out -- really poor.

I though the sending off was probably harsh, but in fairness, the first yellow was for a cynical block and if the ref (who was poor) that Shels player had simulated, well, bye, bye. Sligo lost to Shams in 1970s final for an obvious dive -- so cheats do prosper. That said its hard to know what was his true intention, because he looked stunned, but I put it down to his disbelief that gamble hadn't paid off -- biased, but there you go.

Also, Paisley should have been sent off, flying into tackles with eyes closed and also flying into tackles backwards -- I kid you not. No wonder he wears a gumshield.

That said, Shels grafted and were well organised. However, unlike your poster stated, not quite partying like its 1939!!

Good to see camaraderie amongst players and staff before penos.

07/11/2011, 12:58 AM
He said:

Factualy :) he is correct,take it whatever way you want.We like to win properly here, not by default ;)
If you think winning a penalty shoot-out is winning by default then you've completely misunderstood the meaning of the word 'default.' Sligo won the shoot-out because they were technically better. Same as they won it last year.

I thought it was an OK game. It's impossible to know for sure, but I don't think Sligo would have scored if Clancy hadn't been sent off. Shels were heroic with 10 men but they did leave a lot of space at times and Davoran would never have been that far forward with a gaping hole in front of him if it was 11 v 11.

I don't think anyone should really be surprised by Sligo's performance. It was the same last year, same in the game against the Ukrainian side. They pride themselves on their style of football - and they do play some very good stuff - but they lack the cutting edge to score goals on big occasions. I thought they might have cured that after a great performance in Tallaght but then they went and fouled up against Pats.

I think we all expected Richie Winter to make the game about himself but I wasn't expecting a performance that inept. It just wasn't a yellow card. You expect a minimum level of performance from a referee and that was miles off. Shels can feel very hard done by - they'll be a good side next season if they can keep their best players.

bullit
07/11/2011, 1:09 AM
If you think winning a penalty shoot-out is winning by default then you've completely misunderstood the meaning of the word 'default.' Sligo won the shoot-out because they were technically better. Same as they won it last year.
Ok.
If i can be crude, "technically better" me hole.GK near on top of the ball for every pen !! So that is "technically better".:rolleyes:
The "default" statement was more a shot at the slig's more than anything so we won't get into that one.

monkey9
07/11/2011, 1:21 AM
Well from a player's perspective i would be going mad,i would take it personal,maybe Clarke is not as easlily pished off as me :)

He said he knew the substitution was going to happen as it was planned all week in case the need arose and that the gold medal is what it's all about!

07/11/2011, 1:48 AM
Ok.
If i can be crude, "technically better" me hole.GK near on top of the ball for every pen !! So that is "technically better".:rolleyes:
The "default" statement was more a shot at the slig's more than anything so we won't get into that one.
Regardless of the keeper being off his line, they were poor penalties. All of Sligo's were superb.

bullit
07/11/2011, 2:09 AM
He said he knew the substitution was going to happen as it was planned all week in case the need arose and that the gold medal is what it's all about!
Dont disagree with you Monkey,all i'm saying is that if i was playin' i would go crazy if i was hauled off after playing well all game. I would be a packie Holden kind of keeper/player.Packie is a wee bit of a hero of mine.Imagine trying to haul Packie off yon field ?? Clarke should have been proud enough to say "listen boss,i can finish this,i have done well all year and i am ready,leave it to me Cookie" :D

ger121
07/11/2011, 4:00 AM
YeSSSSSS.

Just back - work in the morn, so had a look in.

OK - ye played with 10 men for vast majority of the game and obviously not a vintage performance by Bit-a-Red - but with exception of the header off the bar and -- the goal for Shels came after a poor clearance by McGuinness (his only mistake) and a keeper not coming out for high ball when Philly Cheesecake took a goal -- Shels weren't potent.

Shels, ye had 10 men on the pitch most of them in your six yard box for the majority of the game.

Rovers missed Joey. Dillon was put into the wrong position and shouldn't have come off for Blinks who had a nightmare. Doyle was poor and Ryan was apathetic and with Ventre not creative we had not midfield platform.

As for the haters, apparently Cook has made a few new signings for new season -- three years, three finals, and this year runners-up in league, he must be doing something right.

Couldn't believe the poor Shels fan turn out -- really poor.

I though the sending off was probably harsh, but in fairness, the first yellow was for a cynical block and if the ref (who was poor) that Shels player had simulated, well, bye, bye. Sligo lost to Shams in 1970s final for an obvious dive -- so cheats do prosper. That said its hard to know what was his true intention, because he looked stunned, but I put it down to his disbelief that gamble hadn't paid off -- biased, but there you go.

Also, Paisley should have been sent off, flying into tackles with eyes closed and also flying into tackles backwards -- I kid you not. No wonder he wears a gumshield.

That said, Shels grafted and were well organised. However, unlike your poster stated, not quite partying like its 1939!!

Good to see camaraderie amongst players and staff before penos.

Was at the match. Seated in the upper east stand on the half way line. Despite you outnumbering the Shels fans 3-1, they out sang you for most of the match

sonofstan
07/11/2011, 7:23 AM
Was at the match. Seated in the upper east stand on the half way line. Despite you outnumbering the Shels fans 3-1, they out sang you for most of the match

They did. Most of the Sligo fans were 'up for the day' types. Gah refugees.

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 7:29 AM
They did. Most of the Sligo fans were 'up for the day' types.

As were most of the Shels fans

07/11/2011, 7:34 AM
I'm not sure it's called 'up for the day' when you're traveling from the other side of the city.

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 7:44 AM
I'm not sure it's called 'up for the day' when you're traveling from the other side of the city.

Day trippers were my point. Or do you think Shels get that size crowd at all their games?

lawman
07/11/2011, 7:46 AM
Ah Guys, be realistic. from the stats of regular attendances at airtricity league games most cup finals here are attended by fans "up for the day". lots of people would like to attend more games to support their club but other factors dictate otherwise. work committements, family, required time to leave to travel to a game and return time home, not to mention actual cost of the day out if you have to travel 60-70 miles or more each way,etc etc. I estimate that to really support your team AT the game you need 5 or 6 hours on match day. Anybody with partner and kids will tell you that they feel obliged to spend that quality time doing other IMPORTANT things like shopping, babysitting, kids homework, not to mention all the other jobs around the house that need attending to... Life is so unfair... if only we didn't need to work :) Quick, today is Monday, Monday Millions time :)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/11/2011, 7:50 AM
Initial thoughts without having seen any of the coverage since

- Thought it was a penalty at the time and was worried that Winter was about to send our player off when it happened. Sounds like it may not have been a penalty or a dive going by the comments here

- We can be a very frustrating team to watch at times. A lot of the times.

- Blinkhorn is born to miss. But we knew that beforehand.

- Struggle to think of any of our players who played to their potential. Maybe Blinkhorn!

- Shels did some amount of time wasting

- Kelly was a mile off his line for the first penalty save. Took a few seconds before I started celebrating as I thought it would have to be retaken. Going by what I'm reading here looks like that was the case for all the penalties

- Paisley should have been sent off

- No need for Ventre on the pitch against 10 men

- Delighted for Richie Ryan after missing last years final

- We created much more chances but as usual didn't take half of them

- God knows how many of that squad are going to be around next season. The silly season starts in earnest now. Hope we don't go mad in signing players trying to win the league as Shams just have to much money coming in to be able to match them without losing a fortune

- I'll never get sick of winning the cup

sonofstan
07/11/2011, 8:15 AM

The same side of the city actually - same neighbourhood, virtually: Ringsend was decorated with Shels flags and emblems.

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 8:37 AM
where have I heard the number 94 before?
Is it the amount if games that Cork (insert second name here) would like to play before they fold again???

dong
07/11/2011, 8:52 AM
Wow! and I thought we were bad losers.
Take your medicine Mathews, you had your day of glory when Shams won the league. We've all been on the end of some bad decisions (and it was a wrong decision imo).
That was the worst we have played all season (bar UCD away), but nobody "deserves" anything in football. You have to win games and we took our penalties well when the heat was on.
Disappointing for the two or three hundred Shels fans there alright. Couldn't make it across the road to the stadium?

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 9:47 AM
Wow! and I thought we were bad losers.
Take your medicine Mathews, you had your day of glory when Shams won the league. We've all been on the end of some bad decisions (and it was a wrong decision imo).
That was the worst we have played all season (bar UCD away), but nobody "deserves" anything in football. You have to win games and we took our penalties well when the heat was on.
Disappointing for the two or three hundred Shels fans there alright. Couldn't make it across the road to the stadium?

Not bad losers, just disappointed with the unbelievable bad refeering, and not just the sending off. Every fifty fifty was given against us. Look at all the newspaper reports and they all say the same thing - the game was ruined by the referee. Your penalties were all well taken, but Delany told the officials that your keeper was off his line for the first pen and was told that the referee had been told by the 4th official who was watching on a monitor. He choose not to do anything about it.

Good dig about 200 or 300 fans, I assume you are unable to count??? You can get really cheap abacuses now you know. After 5 years in the first division and getting average crowds of 750 to bring 5000 i thought was very good. We will see how many Sligo bring up to Tolka next year will we?

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 9:55 AM
The player dived and got a yellow card, the ref was correct

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 10:01 AM
The player dived and got a yellow card, the ref was correct
Really, show me the newspaper report that agrees with you?

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 10:46 AM
Really, show me the newspaper report that agrees with you?

So it's only true if it's in a newspaper?

Fivesilver
07/11/2011, 11:22 AM
Good quote from Cassidy: 'I got contact, I went down and I thought I should have had a penalty'. Not 'I was fouled' or 'I was knocked over', mind you.

If it had been us, I would have felt hard done by, but then it has been in the past. Shels are big enough to take their lumps and move on. It'd be lovely to have the cup and a load of congratulations, but if it's a choice between the two (as Shams know too well when we slag them over their style of play), it's not a very difficult one.

07/11/2011, 11:35 AM
They did. Most of the Sligo fans were 'up for the day' types. Gah refugees.

Excellent term, sir. I shall be pilfering that.

07/11/2011, 11:37 AM
Specialist me arse, he had to be 3-4 yards off his line.

Eh sorry bennocelt, care to explain the "tsk" for this post? The keeper was obviously off his line..

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 11:48 AM
So it's only true if it's in a newspaper?
For a factual report of an event yes. And I would rather take a number of different sources rather than one persons.

Extratime.ie
"Having just been booked a couple of minutes earlier, Shelbourne's Barry Clancy found himself through on goal inside the Sligo penalty area. Clancy went down under the challenge of John Russell. It looked like a foul and a penalty but referee Richie Winter booked Clancy for diving. Shel's number 7 looked dejected leaving the pitch after receiving the red card."

Irish Times:
"The Wicklow-based match official may well have ended up wishing he had kept his card in his pocket at that stage, for barely a minute later Clancy went down after receiving a shove inside the Sligo area from Russell and Winter reckoned he should be booked again."

Irish Independent:
"Was it a penalty? A tough one, but Richie Winter was probably right not to award a spot-kick. However, it was a close call, and the referee got it terribly wrong by ruling that Clancy had dived. A game-changing punishment was the consequence."

Irish Examiner:
"Shels’ Barry Clancy was already on a yellow card, for a foul just two minutes earlier, when he went down in the box under a challenge from John Russell. In truth, it seemed an innocuous enough incident and so Clancy – in common with most people in the stadium – appeared genuinely in a state of shock when referee Richie Winter brandished a second yellow card, for simulation, and then the mandatory red which sent him walking disconsolately to the line."

joe.ie (never heard of this before but just to show you their take on it:
"The game was utterly transformed moments later when Barry Clancy was given a quite ridiculous red card. The midfielder had picked up a first yellow minutes earlier and was given his marching orders for an alleged dive inside the box even though there was definitely contact.

A penalty? Maybe. A second yellow card? Certainly not."

sportsnewsireland.ie
"Who could have predicted it but Sligo have defended their FAI Cup crown but they certainly had to work for it by Shelbourne despite the Dublin club playing most of the game with ten men. Referee Richie Winter harshly sent Barry Clancy off in the first half for a dive in the box."

So lets go back to your original statement - the player dived and the referee was correct. Why do you think no one agrees with your wise and sage words?? Could it be that you either 1) havent a clue what you are talking about or 2) are biased in some form??

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 11:49 AM
Good quote from Cassidy: 'I got contact, I went down and I thought I should have had a penalty'. Not 'I was fouled' or 'I was knocked over', mind you.

Even better quote from Clancy :rolleyes:

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 12:12 PM
Why do you think no one agrees with your wise and sage words

Really? I've spoken to loads who agree with me. I don't base my opinions on what the media tell me. Again, IMO, he dived, and was rightly booked

El-Pietro
07/11/2011, 12:24 PM
Really? I've spoken to loads who agree with me. I don't base my opinions on what the media tell me. Again, IMO, he dived, and was rightly booked
I knew I couldn't be the only one who though that!

Fivesilver
07/11/2011, 12:25 PM
Even better quote from Clancy :rolleyes:
:) Pardon me for being yet another Sligoman not performing brilliantly. I'm pleading extenuating circumstances and blaming the bar staff at the Berkeley for forcing all that drink on me.

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 12:57 PM
Its an opinion that goes against the vast majorities opinion. I also don't base my opinion on the media, I base it on my initial view during the game, and then watching it back on tv....just happens that most people agree with me. And, to be fair EP, your opinions re: Shels are well known.

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 12:58 PM
:) Pardon me for being yet another Sligoman not performing brilliantly. I'm pleading extenuating circumstances and blaming the bar staff at the Berkeley for forcing all that drink on me.
You are forgiven!!

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 1:23 PM
Its an opinion that goes against the vast majorities opinion.

...just happens that most people agree with me.

Interesting you now claim to know what the vast majority of people think and that most people agree with you

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 1:29 PM
Interesting you now claim to know what the vast majority of people think and that most people agree with you

Going on reporting of the incident in the media I think its a fair claim. Remember these people are paid to watch a game and comment on it - some of them are excellent at their job, some are rubbish, some have played football, some havent. And yet to a man so far they all agree.

So far I have spoken to Shels fans (ok they are biased), a couple of Monaghan fans, Shams fans, Bohs fans, Waterford fan and a Drogheda fan. I think its a useful barometer when allied to the general reporting of the incident.

Still waiting for the vast hordes who agree with your opinion to say anything.

07/11/2011, 1:42 PM
I watched it with a handful of non LOI fans, one of whom is a referee, and the ref and one other said it was a dive, the other two said it wasn't. I said it was a dive but I'm clearly biased.

Most of the journalists commented on the issue without the benefit of TV. Like most in the media, once they make a claim (as they all did on twitter), they're unlikely to back down. I wouldn't be using them as the barometer of 'fairness'.

But their opinions are immaterial anyway. Just like when in the semi they all said that the sending off of Rogers and the red card was a joke, their opinion didn't matter either.

Good that you can focus your anger on Hibs4ever though

Hibs4Ever
07/11/2011, 1:53 PM
Going on reporting of the incident in the media I think its a fair claim.

You are wrong then. a few journalists does not mean the vast majority of the country agrees with you. Madness that anyone would think it does

So far I have spoken to Shels fans (ok they are biased), a couple of Monaghan fans, Shams fans, Bohs fans, Waterford fan and a Drogheda fan. I think its a useful barometer when allied to the general reporting of the incident.

So far I have spoken to a fair few LOI fans myself who think it was a dive. I think its a useful barometer too.

I said IMO it was a dive and correct yellow card, so I agree with myselfthere.

You claim the vast majority of people everywhere agree with you, I'm waiting for you to back this up..........Me think's I'll be left waiting

In the quarters you got knocked out by a non league team, then allowed back in, in the semi's one of your players dived at Richmond Park to get a player sent off. Now something has gone against you, accept it and move on

S.E.P.1990
07/11/2011, 1:53 PM
I said it was a fair claim, not to be mixed up with fairness.

Of course the opinion of the media matters, if they were all saying that the diving Clancy deserved to be sent off then we could say that the ref actually didnt have that bad a game. They were not, all the reports have in common the same theme - there was contact, Clancy went down, it should not have been/may have been a pen, it was not a yellow card, the ref made the wrong decision.

I actually have no anger, I enjoyed the day thought we played really well and that the ref ruined what could have been an interesting final. I had a good laugh with a couple of Sligo fans, my young lad was delighted to see Shels in the Aviva after travelling around the country for the last 3 seasons, the atmosphere was excellent around me etc. We were in a cup final for gods sake after 5 years of watching sh!te we got to have a day out against one of the more attractive football teams in this country, a team who I actually enjoy watching. I thought we would struggle to keep them out so was absolutely amazed, and proud, of the fact that we took them to penalties. Still I am bemused that anyone could think it was a dive and that the yellow card was warranted. That is all....

07/11/2011, 2:21 PM

I'm bored, I feel like stirring again for the craic......it was definitely a dive. 100%. I was speaking to 61.56% people who said it was definitely a dive. 23.23% said it wasn't a dive. 15.21% said they were undecided. Theres your proof. It's a unanimous decision.