View Full Version : Estonia V Ireland - Friday, 11th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Play Off 1st Leg

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Littlest Hobo
25/10/2011, 9:31 AM
I hope he plays Keogh, but I know he'll play Cox.

zero
25/10/2011, 10:26 AM
I hope he plays Keogh, but I know he'll play Cox.

i hope he plays cox.

really though, as others have indicated, we should have enough to beat the estonians no matter who plays up front.

25/10/2011, 10:40 AM
I'm not sure we're down to the bare bones just yet. Walters & Cox need to stay fit.

I'm open to correction here but afair Keane has never done well for us when coming back from injury. He has always needed match time. That's a worry.

Doyle hasn't been himself in pretty much the whole campaign. His loss isn't as great as it might have been in the past, and he's back for the home game anyway.

Walters is on good form. I believe Crouch nicked a goal from him at Arsenal.

Cox has been impressive for us and is well up to deputising for Keane or Doyle.

Best is a no-brainer of a call up in these circumstances.

Keogh would be an outside bet - scored a beauty for Leeds last week. That's probably his quota used up now though! Trap rates him more than he deserves in my opinion.

Long may even be fit.

Stokes - not sure I'd trust him.

If there are further injuries we may be forced to change to 4-5-1 for the away leg, and most of us here would be quite happy with that.

French Toasht
25/10/2011, 10:52 AM
We are down to the bare bones up front. Lets hope nothing happens to Walters or Cox in the next few weeks. It is imperative we don't lose the away game. I've looked at the highlights of a most of Estonia's recent and they can be reasonably OK. I wouldn't like to come back to Dublin a goal down to them as they know how to get a lot of players behind the ball quickly and dig in. Their keeper looks fairly good. A score draw away would be very nice. Obviously winning would be best of all but it won't be easy. Especially without Doyle, Long and probably Keane out for the away match. Three very big players there to be missing. And nothing of note on the bench if Walters and Cox start.

The story seems to be that Keane will be back, but if thats not the case, lets get Best and Pilkington called up into the squad, as back up for Walters and Cox. We also have Stokes and Connolly to call on, not ideal but then they are better than what Estonia have to offer at the same time,

25/10/2011, 11:17 AM
I'd have my doubts over Trap's justification for having Keogh in the squad, however I don't think Trap would select him as one of the 4 strikers, if Robbie turns up.
Once upon a time, Keogh did enough in Trap's eyes to be a part of the squad, Trap wants a stable squad and he did okay in the friendly against Italy.

25/10/2011, 12:25 PM
It's a strange state of affairs when "down to the bare bones" = "reduced to picking 2 from 3 Premier League regulars"

25/10/2011, 1:14 PM
2 fit strikers available, is down to the bare bones, as you have not a decent option on the bench.
But Noely is either inadvertently overlooking Best's availability or thinks that Trap will continue to exclude him

25/10/2011, 1:26 PM
OK, who's going to bet on Best being included? (my probabilities in brackets).

1. Yes, end of. Doyle is out for one game and we need the cover. (25%)

2. Yes, but only if one of Long & Keane isn't fit. (40%)

3. Yes, but only if both Long & Keane aren't fit. (25%)

4. No, not even if we only have 3 others fit. (10%)

25/10/2011, 1:35 PM
I'll go for 2.

Another situation is Robbie indicates he will answer the call but hasn't proved his fitness. Trap may not take Robbie's word about his sharpness and have Best close by and available.

25/10/2011, 2:12 PM
OK, who's going to bet on Best being included? (my probabilities in brackets).

1. Yes, end of. Doyle is out for one game and we need the cover. (25%)

2. Yes, but only if one of Long & Keane isn't fit. (40%)

3. Yes, but only if both Long & Keane aren't fit. (25%)

4. No, not even if we only have 3 others fit. (10%)

he'll include best anyway I think. 2 games in 5 days with long, doyle and keane all possibly missing one / both legs. he will have no choice really

25/10/2011, 2:15 PM
I'll go for 3.
Trap being peeved with Robbie after the last game doesn't auger well. If Robbie isn't fit, and it's at most 50/50 at this stage, will Trap trust him to be honest?
Same with Longy - it would be a risk to start either if they've only recuperated in the days leading up to the match.

Having Best on the bench is a no-brainer to me. Wouldn't surprise me to see Walters and Cox start with Best and Keogh on the bench.

25/10/2011, 3:17 PM
What are the odds Trap will make a statement saying Robbie is crocked, that he has rarely seen a striker recover sharpness after such an injury in their 30's.

Noelys Guitar
25/10/2011, 9:53 PM
I would say Keogh is ahead of Best in Trap's eyes. But these are two crucial games and hard to tell what he is thinking. He has publicily criticised/questioned players in the past and then played them the very next game ie Gibson, Doyle, Keane at different times. It will depend on what he makes of the Estonian back line and keeper. He could bring in Best and start him. Or not pick him at all. Hard to tell for the away game. I don't think Long or Keane have any chance of taking part in either game

Noelys Guitar
25/10/2011, 9:56 PM
What are the odds Trap will make a statement saying Robbie is crocked, that he has rarely seen a striker recover sharpness after such an injury in their 30's.

Trap might have one of his Machiavellian moments.

Crosby87
25/10/2011, 10:44 PM
Keane will be there. He hasn't worked this hard to make one last tourney with Ireland to miss the play in.

theworm2345
26/10/2011, 2:22 AM
Trap might have one of his Machiavellian moments.
Yeah maybe Trap liked Robbie's singing in that pub the day before the Armenia match as much as he loved Andy Reid's guitar playing.

26/10/2011, 8:17 AM
I think Trap was genuinely put out by Keane staying on in Andorra while injured.

Crosby87
26/10/2011, 11:33 AM
I think Trap was genuinely put out by Keane staying on in Andorra while injured.

Who's fault is that though? Bring him off if he is hurt.

26/10/2011, 12:09 PM
I think the point was that Robbie didn't make it known he had stretched something.

French Toasht
26/10/2011, 1:06 PM
Who's fault is that though? Bring him off if he is hurt.

Robbie was definately wrong to play knowing he was injured. He should have put the teams interests above his own and made way for fit striker to replace him.

26/10/2011, 1:19 PM
Therefore the 'Trap slams Robbie' hysterical interpretation.

No doubt, like many of us, Trap appreciates the positive aspects of the captain's mental reservation as well as noting the negative aspects.
Good to have a team where players will go to extremes to be involved, even if it is a game against the perceived minnows, not winning was not an option.

26/10/2011, 2:10 PM
The thing is geysir, more often than not, he doesn't seem to think like many of us - and before any of your rhetoric I'm including you in the many :D

*The cox one being one very notable example where he got it right and he played well, however i think on that one you did actually agree with it based on his likeness/similarity to keane, although I agreed the acceptance criteria there too.

26/10/2011, 2:31 PM
The thing is geysir, more often than not, he doesn't seem to think like many of us - and before any of your rhetoric I'm including you in the many :D
Trap is an elder Italian, of course he thinks, acts and expresses himself differently.
Do you not think Trap appreciates the winning, stay on at all costs, mentality demonstrated by Robbie that evening?
You'd be doing him a disservice if you thought just because he expressed annoyance at Robbie, that would be anything more that a part of his 'holistic view' of Robbie's mentality.

26/10/2011, 3:14 PM
He also called O'Dea correctly, and Sledge before that.

In think his annoyance with Keane was just that. He was annoyed but it's hardly a fatal error on Keane's part.

26/10/2011, 3:19 PM
Unlike the rest of us, Trap's decisions have to be proved before we can say a call has made correctly.

26/10/2011, 9:19 PM
I wasn't disagreeing with the assessment of Keane!

Traps decisions because sometimes on translating his interviews in the run up, generally seem to be very wide open to interpretation but also sometimes appear quite random, however he generally has been proved right - or at least never wrong :)

The Scientist
27/10/2011, 3:49 AM
What are the odds Trap will make a statement saying Robbie is crocked, that he has rarely seen a striker recover sharpness after such an injury in their 30's. what are the odds of trap making a statement of him resigning and doing us all a favour!

27/10/2011, 10:21 AM
If Trap did make a statement that he wasn't interested in a new contract, he would manage to make it sound as if he was doing us a favor.

theworm2345
27/10/2011, 5:15 PM
Squad is named tomorrow I believe

Sullivinho
27/10/2011, 6:52 PM
Squad is named tomorrow I believe

Anthony Stokes hoping to be involved. (http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11787/7268820/Stokes-keen-on-Republic-return)

Might be disappointed.

28/10/2011, 12:17 AM
Anthony Stokes hoping to be involved. (http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11787/7268820/Stokes-keen-on-Republic-return)

Might be disappointed.

Opportunistic timing

Go run and jump A to, get some sleep aren't you tired

28/10/2011, 8:10 AM
what are the odds of trap making a statement of him resigning and doing us all a favour!

who appointed you as spokesman?
not every Irish fan wants us to lose just about the only current manager interested in managing us that could actually get us qualified for a finals thanks

Supreme feet
28/10/2011, 8:43 AM
http://www.fai.ie/international/senior-men/102182-trapattoni-names-26-man-squad-to-face-estonia-in-euro-2012-play-off.html

Given, Westwood, Forde, O'Shea, Kelly, Ward, Dunne, St. Ledger, O'Dea, McShane, Whelan, McCarthy, Coleman, Andrews, Fahey, Gibson, Keogh, Duff, McGeady, Hunt, Lawrence, Keane, Doyle, Long, Walters, Cox

Long obviously thinks he can make it, but if he doesn't, Best would hopefully be added. No surprises.

Jaysus
28/10/2011, 8:53 AM
http://www.fai.ie/international/senior-men/102182-trapattoni-names-26-man-squad-to-face-estonia-in-euro-2012-play-off.html

Given, Westwood, Forde, O'Shea, Kelly, Ward, Dunne, St. Ledger, O'Dea, McShane, Whelan, McCarthy, Coleman, Andrews, Fahey, Gibson, Keogh, Duff, McGeady, Hunt, Lawrence, Keane, Doyle, Long, Walters, Cox

Long obviously thinks he can make it, but if he doesn't, Best would hopefully be added. No surprises.

- No Kilbane is a surprise tbh, can't say I'm arsed though.

- Forgot Gibson was still alive.

- No way should McShane be there, he's a bench player for Hull, whereas there's several Irish centre backs in the Championship playing regularly. I know they're uncapped but still...

Supreme feet
28/10/2011, 8:58 AM
I completely forgot about Kilbane. Clark should really be in for McShane.

Paddy Garcia
28/10/2011, 9:07 AM
McShane's inclusion is a continuing puzzlement - though no longer a surprise.

Last time we were in a play off and we had to look to the bench the inevitable happened.

28/10/2011, 9:12 AM
McShane's inclusion is a continuing puzzlement - though no longer a surprise.

Last time we were in a play off and we had to look to the bench the inevitable happened. What, someone cheated?

You're right though - the moment JOS went off the tie changed. McShane could have had two yellows in his first 5 minutes. He did well enough in Liege though. Paddy McCarthy (Youngiriosh's favourite) is playing very well at the moment. Not saying he's our saviou but if O'Dea can hold his own - which he has so far - so could McCarthy possibly.

28/10/2011, 9:16 AM
Some very questionable inclusions in there, and some premier league regulars left out for bench warmers and reserve team players. Awful stuff.

28/10/2011, 9:25 AM
There'd be no point in calling up someone new right now. This squad was good enough to get us this far, it's certainly good enough to get us all the way to Polkraine. Only 15/16 of those players are going to see gametime anyway. Let's forget about who's not called up and get behind the lads for two massive games.

28/10/2011, 9:39 AM
11 midfielders, can't deny Trap has a midfield obsession.

SwanVsDalton
28/10/2011, 9:42 AM
Squad as expected, and it's the right one for me. The guys who got us here in the first place so no surprise he's sticking with them. Interesting to see if Long makes it at all.

Is Gibson fit and playing again or is he just expected to be?

bwagner
28/10/2011, 10:43 AM
Gibson - unfit - zero game time - perfect sense that he is there instead on Piks

zero
28/10/2011, 10:50 AM
aren't these squad normally 27?

no killer - is that the end of his ireland career? will he get a testimonial?

SwanVsDalton
28/10/2011, 10:56 AM
Gibson - unfit - zero game time - perfect sense that he is there instead on Piks

I've no problem with Pilkington getting a look in but it's not like-for-like.

I'm not sure if Gibson's fit or not, but I'd have thought Hoolahan would be the person missing out - at least he plays in the middle and we're coming down with wingers.

28/10/2011, 11:02 AM
There are only 7 back four players selected, the 8th spot is kept empty out of respect for KK.

French Toasht
28/10/2011, 11:04 AM
aren't these squad normally 27?

no killer - is that the end of his ireland career? will he get a testimonial?

May signal the end. He'll definately get a testimonial though and I for one, will be first in queue for those tickets. What an unbelievable servant of Irish football.

TrapAPony
28/10/2011, 1:55 PM
Calling up McShane & overlooking Wilson again is stupid. As for Keogh - AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! I really hope Trapattoni decides to give other guys a chance in upcoming friendlies after the Estonia matches.

28/10/2011, 3:17 PM
Estonia Squad Named

G Artur Kotenko Ravan Baku AZE
G Pavel Londak Bodo Glimt NOR
G Sergei Pareiko Wisla Krakow POL
D Tihhon Sisov Khazar Lankaran AZE
D Andrei Stepanov Gomel BLR
D Taavi Rahn T Songjiang CHN
D Alo Barengrub Nomme JK Kalju EST
D Ragnar Klavan Alkmaar NED
D Raio Piiroja Vitesse Arnhem NED
D Taigo Teniste Sogndal NOR
D Enar Jaager Aalesunds NOR
M Martin Vunk Famagusta CYP
M Ats Purje Ethnikos Achna CYP
M A Sidorenkov Viborg DEN
M Sander Puri Lombard-Papa HUN
M A Dmitijev Ural RUS
M Dmitri Kruglov Rostov RUS
M K Vassiljev Amkar Perm RUS
F Kaimar Saag Silkeborg DEN
F Tarmo Kink Middlesbrough ENG
F Jarmo Ahjupera Gyor HUN
F V Voskoboinikov Himki RUS
F Sergei Zenjov Karpaty Lviv UKR

Sergei Zenjov suspended for first leg.

28/10/2011, 3:27 PM
I've no problem with Pilkington getting a look in but it's not like-for-like.

I'm not sure if Gibson's fit or not, but I'd have thought Hoolahan would be the person missing out - at least he plays in the middle and we're coming down with wingers.

Was the squad named prior to the change of Andrews yellow to McGeady? If so then at the time it would have meant both starting midfielders potentially being suspended for the second game. So on the surface it's a logical call on Gibson. However, the fella can't be fit - he's played no football at all!
Including Long is ambitious, maybe it's done as a shot across the bows of Best?

The recall of McShane is a tragedy. I've said it before, committed and all that he is, we[ve better options at centre back and fullback to make sure he's not included anymore. Allowing Henry the time to take the ball down with his hand 3 yards short of the endline was nearly as criminal as the act itself.

28/10/2011, 3:29 PM
Was the squad named prior to the change of Andrews yellow to McGeady? If so then at the time it would have meant both starting midfielders potentially being suspended for the second game. So on the surface it's a logical call on Gibson. However, the fella can't be fit - he's played no football at all!
Including Long is ambitious, maybe it's done as a shot across the bows of Best?

well hes probably playing reserve footie every week, isn't he their captain? So to say hes played no football isn't true, hope to god he moves in january so we can see what hes really made of