View Full Version : Estonia V Ireland - Friday, 11th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Play Off 1st Leg
Pages :
[
2]
dantheman
13/10/2011, 11:43 AM
Unbelievably erratic qualifying results.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2012_qualifying_Group_C
If we get the same results as the Faroes did against them, we'll qualify!
legendz
13/10/2011, 11:44 AM
With Rovers having played there in the summer and Estonia being in the other side of the draw, had a feeling we'd draw them but didn't want to jinx it! It's a decent draw with the second leg to come at home. Hopefully the lads will do the business. I'm sure the Estonians were hoping to draw Ireland.
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 11:45 AM
Has the second draw been made to determine home and away? I'd like to start booking flights now but need to know the date we'll be in Tallinn.
Lads if you are looking to do this the cheapest way. Book Ryanair to Stockholm (Skavsta NYO) and then book a Silja line ferry to Talinn. The cruise costs about 17 euro usually. It travels by night and has loads of entertainment on the ship. Would be something similar to the booze train in Slovakia, if it was invaded by Irish people.
13/10/2011, 11:45 AM
Has the second draw been made to determine home and away? I'd like to start booking flights now but need to know the date we'll be in Tallinn.
There is no "second draw", you get who you get and that's the draw.
The bitters and begrudgers are distraught this afternoon. The draw we've got, means we're even more likely to see Trap around a while longer. :) Get used to it lads.
Metrostars
13/10/2011, 11:47 AM
Does the Away Goal rule come into play as in other Euro competitions? e.g. we lose 1-2 away but win 1-0 at home, are we in or do we play extra time in the second game?
dantheman
13/10/2011, 11:48 AM
4/9 with Paddy Power (http://www.paddypower.com/football/international-football/euro-2012?ev_oc_grp_ids=225551)to qualify
freewheel30
13/10/2011, 11:48 AM
John Delaney can't hold back his delight!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxZ-CNzVYk0&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
Holy fcuk, they'll have that footage on a permanent loop in the Estonian dressing room before the games.
dantheman
13/10/2011, 11:50 AM
Does the Away Goal rule come into play as in other Euro competitions? e.g. we lose 1-2 away but win 1-0 at home, are we in or do we play extra time in the second game?
Yes its after 90 mins in the return so leg, so under that scenario we'd qualify
John Delaney can't hold back his delight!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxZ-CNzVYk0&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
Classless.
French Toasht
The two boys we need to be wary of
Middlesbrough's Tarmo Kink:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarmo_Kink
And Amkar Perm's Konstantin Vassiljev:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vassiljev
Closed Account 2
13/10/2011, 11:51 AM
just to confirm the fist leg is 11th out in Tallinn ? any idea of kick off ?
Noelys Guitar
13/10/2011, 11:56 AM
Holy fcuk, they'll have that footage on a permanent loop in the Estonian dressing room before the games.
Thats exactly what they will do as well. The idiot should have kept his thoughts to himself. Never like seeing that. Thankfully Trap is the polar opposite and will show the right level of respect to Estonia.
punkrocket
13/10/2011, 11:57 AM
Trust the Donkey to put a dampener on things.
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 11:59 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A._Le_Coq_Arena
The stadium. Only 10,300.
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 12:01 PM
Thats exactly what they will do as well. The idiot should have kept his thoughts to himself. Never like seeing that. Thankfully Trap is the polar opposite and will show the right level of respect to Estonia.
First leg has been confirmed by the FAI as Friday November 11th in Tallinn, with the second leg at the Aviva on Tuesday 15th.
Speaking after the draw, Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni said, ‘It is extremely positive for Ireland that we will play the first leg away. We should not underestimate our opposition, or any team, including Estonia, to have made it through to the play-off, they must have quality and mental fortitude. Our build up to this stage of the competition has shown us the importance of organisation, attention to detail, and self-belief. That will be vitally important to us as we prepare for these games in November."
dantheman
13/10/2011, 12:02 PM
Just had a wee peek and they are on suicide watch en mass. I just posted demanding that Dowie get the job now.
God love them
The nightmare scenario has happened
Not only have we f**ked up but we've handed qualification to the Republic on a plate!
Good luck Estonia but you haven't a hope.
F*ck that. We've only ourselves to blame.
And anyone who doesn't think that having the Republic qualify for a tournament.....right now..isn't a bad thing for OWC, isn't looking at the big picture.
What a bunch of dicks we are, and what a disgrace those 2 performances against Estonia were. Look what we have done!!
I agree with all that's been said re the Mexicans getting Estonia, but as it's a positives thread let's put some positive spin on it.
When, not if, the thieves qualify every half decent but non England squad English players who's granny has had a pint if Guinness will be jumping on the bandwagon. Should a couple of Kevin nolans etc come on board the chances of a young teenager from Derry ever making the Mexican team is greatly reduced thus perhaps swaying them back to the good side.
Sullivinho
13/10/2011, 12:05 PM
The two boys we need to be wary of
Middlesbrough's Tarmo Kink:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarmo_Kink
And Amkar Perm's Konstantin Vassiljev:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vassiljev
I was just about to ask if anyone knew about their top players. And to be honest, my ignorance would have presumed 'Amkar Perm' was something Russian auld ones got done to their hair so y'learn something new every day.
timmy
13/10/2011, 12:06 PM
didn't buy any ticket for the Armenia match!!! What are the chances of getting a ticket for this?????
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 12:08 PM
Brian Kerr talking about his experiences against Estonia with the Faroes, tonight on Off the Ball.
13/10/2011, 12:08 PM
God love them
What's this Mexican stuff about?
On an unrelated note, given Shamrock Rovers' experience of playing in the hostile Le Coq Arena, now has to be the time to call up Toronto-born Alan Mannus :)
Noelys Guitar
13/10/2011, 12:09 PM
God love them
That last one is pure comedy gold Dantheman. Ole, Ole, ole, ole we are the Mexicans, we are the Mexicans ole ole ole ole
13/10/2011, 12:10 PM
South of the border.
just to confirm the fist leg is 11th out in Tallinn ? any idea of kick off ?
Either 11 or 12 Nov. Presumably so more games get shown on telly. I imagine the time won't be known until the day is known.
Sullivinho
13/10/2011, 12:12 PM
I agree with all that's been said re the Mexicans getting Estonia, but as it's a positives thread let's put some positive spin on it.
When, not if, the thieves qualify every half decent but non England squad English players who's granny has had a pint if Guinness will be jumping on the bandwagon. Should a couple of Kevin nolans etc come on board the chances of a young teenager from Derry ever making the Mexican team is greatly reduced thus perhaps swaying them back to the good side.
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/986/goodone.jpg
13/10/2011, 12:13 PM
es debido a que son de habla española, estúpido
boovidge
13/10/2011, 12:13 PM
South of the border.
Except players are migrating from them to us, not the other way round!
punkrocket
13/10/2011, 12:14 PM
God love them
I liked that Mexican bit, banditos nipping across the border to raid the wains.
Arriba.
The bit about good v evil made me laugh as well. Oh .. and the guilt
boovidge
13/10/2011, 12:15 PM
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/986/goodone.jpg
A young Iain Dowie on the left?
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 12:16 PM
South of the border.
Either 11 or 12 Nov. Presumably so more games get shown on telly. I imagine the time won't be known until the day is known.
The Estonians have confirmed it is Friday 11th.
13/10/2011, 12:18 PM
The Estonians have confirmed it is Friday 11th.
Where'd you see that? Their FA website (http://www.jalgpall.ee/) still has 11/12 November.
Sullivinho
13/10/2011, 12:21 PM
A young Iain Dowie on the left?
Coincidentally enough, it might be Estonian legend Mart Poom..
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 12:22 PM
Where'd you see that? Their FA website (http://www.jalgpall.ee/) still has 11/12 November.
http://www.fai.ie/international/senior-men/102145-republic-of-ireland-draw-estonia-in-euro-2012-play-off.html
13/10/2011, 12:24 PM
I think they're jumping the gun there, or else it's just a typo. No confirmation anywhere else, including wiki and uefa.com.
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 12:27 PM
Rte are going with the 11th too.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1013/euro2012_republicofireland.html
Noelys Guitar
13/10/2011, 12:27 PM
Irish Times reporting the first leg Friday the 11th
DeLorean
13/10/2011, 12:28 PM
I think the reaction to Delaney is way over the top. Jesus like the man is having a bit of a laugh at something the guy next to him said. Nearly everybody has a little giggle when their tie is announced at every draw, whether it's good or bad. I'd certainly take no notice if it was his Estonian counterpart.
13/10/2011, 12:29 PM
Hm. Possibly all quoting the same FAI press release, but I'm getting onto shakier ground by the link!
DeLorean
13/10/2011, 12:31 PM
Coincidentally enough, it might be Estonian legend Mart Poom..
Too right Sullivinho...it's uncanny...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/986/goodone.jpghttp://img.skysports.com/07/11/218x298/MartPoom_595717.jpg
13/10/2011, 12:32 PM
keep checking uefa.com, sky sports, rte, fai, etc. can't believe the draw. If I made the draw, it wouldn't have come our better for us!
As for Estonia being happy they drew us, every team in the lower seeds was looking for us so it's to be expected
Sullivinho
13/10/2011, 12:37 PM
Too right Sullivinho...it's uncanny...
An Estonian fan there in the background too. I wonder how many they'll be bringing to Dublin..
iceman
13/10/2011, 1:04 PM
RTE News have confirmed it for Friday 11th.
13/10/2011, 1:30 PM
ive been informed its going to be absolutely freezing out there. Ive also been informed of something else which I would not like to disclose of right now.
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 1:30 PM
The Estonian reaction:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http://www.postimees.ee/
It's google translated, so take it with a pinch of salt.
13/10/2011, 1:33 PM
Extra seats is still extra seats! Looks like they're upping capacity to 12,000. There'll presumably be massive interest in this game in Estonia.
SwanVsDalton
13/10/2011, 1:34 PM
The Estonian reaction:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http://www.postimees.ee/
It's google translated, so take it with a pinch of salt.
'Raffle move' should now be the official names of the play-off draw.
13/10/2011, 1:41 PM
'Raffle move' should now be the official names of the play-off draw.
Used to play for Spurs didn't he?
French Toasht
13/10/2011, 1:54 PM
God love them
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Upset OWC fan no 1
The nightmare scenario has happened
Not only have we f**ked up but we've handed qualification to the Republic on a plate!
Good luck Estonia but you haven't a hope.
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Upset OWC fan no 2
F*ck that. We've only ourselves to blame.
And anyone who doesn't think that having the Republic qualify for a tournament.....right now..isn't a bad thing for OWC, isn't looking at the big picture.
What a bunch of dicks we are, and what a disgrace those 2 performances against Estonia were. Look what we have done!!
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Upset OWC fan no 3
Any more of these? They are absolutely priceless.
dantheman
13/10/2011, 1:57 PM
They haven't been this upset since Drumcree was cancelled
Murfinator
13/10/2011, 2:09 PM
Who cares? Why even bother quoting those bitter, twisted pieces of garbage. All it highlights for me is how terrible the soccer supporters are up there compared to the rugby fans, some real gents support Ulster. Seem to be a pile of utter ****s who support NI soccer.
Murfinator
13/10/2011, 2:12 PM
In retrospect looking at this group for the 2010 qualifiers, what a hellish group it was. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%E2%80%93_UEFA_G roup_5
All 6 of those teams were in a potential qualifying position into the last day. 1 is qualified and 3 are in the playoffs. Led to a lot of those teams being underrated and underseeded coming into this campaign as we found out with Armenia.
SwanVsDalton
13/10/2011, 2:24 PM
Who cares? Why even bother quoting those bitter, twisted pieces of garbage.
For a laugh of course.