View Full Version : Estonia V Ireland - Friday, 11th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Play Off 1st Leg

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18

TrapAPony
14/11/2011, 3:24 PM
Where'd you get this from?

Edit: Seen it on fbook

FAI's twitter

Razors left peg
14/11/2011, 3:25 PM
surprised that McGeady left out after Duff seemed to be the one struggling with his ribs

theworm2345
14/11/2011, 3:28 PM
Team for the 2nd leg is :

Given, St.Ledger, Ward, O'Shea, Dunne, Whelan, Duff, Andrews, Doyle, Keane, Hunt
Its good that Trap's taking nothing for granted and is putting out a strong lineup (though no surprise as he does that every friendly to my annoyance). For a second there with the way its typed out I thought Noel Hunt was in there though :eek:

French Toasht
14/11/2011, 3:41 PM
Definately think Kilbane should feature, if not start on Tuesday. His contribution to the cause over the last 15 years has been nothing short of immense and I can say with absolute conviction, that there is not one player on the pitch or person in Ireland, that Friday nights result would have brought more joy to.

Razors left peg
14/11/2011, 3:54 PM
Kilbanes time has passed, hes had plenty of games to get all the applause he needs from the fans and tomorrow night is not a testamonial. Id much rather see Cunningham get game time with a proper eye on the future.

lionelhutz
14/11/2011, 4:00 PM
For the peno, Hunt had the ball in his own half, lumped it to Robbie, then sprinted 30 yards to get it back off Robbie. I've a lot of time for Steve.

I think the part in bold actually does Hunt a disservice. He played a lovely pass into Keane's path with the bootlaces.

koneinc
14/11/2011, 4:03 PM
Kilbanes time has passed, hes had plenty of games to get all the applause he needs from the fans and tomorrow night is not a testamonial. Id much rather see Cunningham get game time with a proper eye on the future.

If he goes to Euros it'll probably be as a bench player (as most) and I can see him retiring from the international scene afterwards (although Trap has said he wants his senior players involved for the WC campaign), I'd love to see him getting 10/15 minutes at the end of the game tomorrow (provided we're already safe)

Razors left peg
14/11/2011, 4:08 PM
I wouldnt bring him to the Euros, we dont have any spare places in the squad for sentiment

Murfinator
14/11/2011, 4:12 PM
I wouldnt bring him to the Euros, we dont have any spare places in the squad for sentiment

We don't but we have places in the squad for quality players. Kilbane played for us at LB as recently as September and was very good for us then. Ward has been shaky at best in his time at LB and the backup option appears to be Kelly who simply can't play on that side at all. The likes of Cunningham are oceans away from international standard. I agree there's no room for sentiment but Kilbane is flat out one of our best two LBs available.

The notion of "carrying him" is actually quite comical when you consider Ward's performances (bar Estonia) or Kelly on his wrong side. There's a debate there that Kilbane could actually enhance our first team, its possibly undeniable that he would enhance our squad right now. The sentiment in all this from Trap is probably more about showing the FAI and fans that he's embedding players who'll be in our next campaign to make him a more natural appointment if it appears he can continue the building process. Kilbane unfortunately suffers in that regard as he's the only one who absolutely won't be there next campaign.

TrapAPony
14/11/2011, 4:16 PM

Neither would I. Ward, Wilson, Tierney & Cunningham are all currently better players than a Derby County substitute.

SwanVsDalton
14/11/2011, 4:19 PM
Neither would I. Ward, Wilson, Tierney & Cunningham are all currently better players than a Derby County substitute.

On paper, maybe. But Kilbane's defied far better players than that with less playing time than he's currently getting and his experience is invaluable.

Having said that, I don't think he'll make it.

Razors left peg
14/11/2011, 4:20 PM
We don't but we have places in the squad for quality players. Kilbane played for us at LB as recently as September and was very good for us then. Ward has been shaky at best in his time at LB and the backup option appears to be Kelly who simply can't play on that side at all. The likes of Cunningham are oceans away from international standard. I agree there's no room for sentiment but Kilbane is flat out one of our best two LBs available.

The notion of "carrying him" is actually quite comical when you consider Ward's performances (bar Estonia) or Kelly on his wrong side. There's a debate there that Kilbane could actually enhance our first team, its possibly undeniable that he would enhance our squad right now. The sentiment in all this from Trap is probably more about showing the FAI and fans that he's embedding players who'll be in our next campaign to make him a more natural appointment if it appears he can continue the building process. Kilbane unfortunately suffers in that regard as he's the only one who absolutely won't be there next campaign.

Kilbane was very poor in the last World Cup campaign and I thought he should have been moved aside before he was. Ward,O'Shea and Kelly are all better options than him now in my opinion

14/11/2011, 4:20 PM
I think the part in bold actually does Hunt a disservice. He played a lovely pass into Keane's path with the bootlaces.When I say Lump, it's not an insult. A casual observer would reckon I don't know any other way to kick a ball.

14/11/2011, 6:24 PM
Given didn't have a shot worth talking about to save the whole game yet Ronnie Whelan talked about us being "overrun" in the second half. When we went three up he retracted this to "slightly under pressure" earlier in the half. FFS. Thank heavens for Brady and his loyalty to Trap and the team for some balance in RTE. End of usual rant.

Like everyone else I get annoyed when the ball is just pumped up aimlessly but in this campaign we have seen Robbie pouncing on two misplaced passes between defenders resulting in a goal and a sending off. If in doubt. I think lump it is the best policy. Our first goal came from such a long ball. However, whether we can afford to give the ball away so often against the better teams, I am not so sure although we did come away with draws in France and Italy. England tried it against Spain and won with 30% possession. Who knows.

Tbh, I don't think it matters whether we are "creative" or not, as long as we don't concede. And the records back it up. 19 goals scored, a goal difference of +13 in 11 games, tells you how effective the team has been at both ends of the pitch.

It's worrying and depressing though, that watching 5 minutes of Estonia possession, a dive outside the box and a corner to defend = Ireland getting "overrun" according to some pundits. If they have the ball in midfield for a while, let them. If we defend our 18-yard box stoutly, what damage can they do?

14/11/2011, 7:14 PM
Don't think he will be brought despite his wonderful service. O'Shea is quite accomplished at left full, and will fill in there if Ward is injured or proves inadequate.

14/11/2011, 7:16 PM
It's probably more likely Kelly and, possibly, O'Dea will fill in at left full. Trap has a preference for O'Shea at right full if at all possible.

14/11/2011, 7:41 PM
Tbh, I don't think it matters whether we are "creative" or not, as long as we don't concede. And the records back it up. 19 goals scored, a goal difference of +13 in 11 games, tells you how effective the team has been at both ends of the pitch.

It's worrying and depressing though, that watching 5 minutes of Estonia possession, a dive outside the box and a corner to defend = Ireland getting "overrun" according to some pundits. If they have the ball in midfield for a while, let them. If we defend our 18-yard box stoutly, what damage can they do?Trap couldn't have put it better, even with help from Manuela.

14/11/2011, 7:49 PM

Given, St.Ledger, Ward, O'Shea, Dunne, Whelan, Duff, Andrews, Doyle, Keane, Hunt

That's trap all over, the first time I would have been happy with McGeady starting he drops him!!!

14/11/2011, 7:58 PM
I think Kilbane should be brought on when it is safe to do so as a tribute and a farewell,
I don't think he should be in the finals squad, he is not getting any younger, fair enough if
can get there on merit then so be it, but not for sentimental reasons.

dr_peepee
14/11/2011, 10:02 PM
Wonder who's pegged to start on the left? Duff or Hunt?

French Toasht
14/11/2011, 10:23 PM
I think Kilbane should be brought on when it is safe to do so as a tribute and a farewell,
I don't think he should be in the finals squad, he is not getting any younger, fair enough if
can get there on merit then so be it, but not for sentimental reasons.

I think the use of the word "safe" is a very patronising way to describe using Irelands greatest servant over the last 15 years. Also how "unsafe" is 4-0? Whilst I'm not necessarily saying he should be included in the Euros squad, I do think he should get the send off his 15 years of loyal service deserve. Also if you think Ward constitutes the "safe" option, I would suggest you consult his Moscow debacle.

14/11/2011, 10:24 PM
I expect Hunt will play on the left, Duff has been playing on the right for Ireland
and for Fulham I think. I can't recall much of Duff playing on the right, mind you I can
recall much period.

14/11/2011, 10:39 PM
I think the use of the word "safe" is a very patronising way to describe using Irelands greatest servant over the last 15 years. Also how "unsafe" is 4-0? Whilst I'm not necessarily saying he should be included in the Euros squad, I do think he should get the send off his 15 years of loyal service deserve. Also if you think Ward constitutes the "safe" option, I would suggest you consult his Moscow debacle.

Well maybe it is not the best word to use, I don't think 4-0 is safe at all, if we go a goal down early on and get a man
sent off (quite possible), then things will begin to look distinctly unsafe. There is a huge difference between 11 v 9 to 10 v 11
that a 3 payer difference.

It's just that I have not seen him play recently, last time I saw him play he was fine though but there is a lot at stake to take
even the tiniest of risks. Yea maybe I have done him a disservice there and I apologise for that, he could well make the 2012 squad.

14/11/2011, 11:42 PM
You must be a nervous wreck tonight TC? I mean really?

I don't think I've ever been so calm before a home game in years. Can't wait for it.

Sullivinho
15/11/2011, 12:23 AM
I could be miles off base, but the Killer call up. I heard about it too. Gio has invited him to the game on Tuesday.
On Friday, UEFA did a centenary thing in the Ukraine, any chance they are doing the same thing in Dublin Tuesday?

I read in today's Examiner that Kevin Foley and Shane Long have been invited over also for the game and the likely craic to follow. They're not official call-ups so none of the three will feature. (Long and Foley are injured anyway) Touch of class about it all the same.

"The manager and their fellow players wanted them to come and take a bow for all they have contributed to the qualifying campaign."

Curtain call for Killer I reckon.

Crosby87
15/11/2011, 12:32 AM
Im happy to hear about this. Boy, winning cures all ills does it not?
Killer deserves a spot within the Staff at Euro if he so desires it. Player Rep, assistant whatever, whatever you want to call it.

15/11/2011, 1:01 AM
I don't think 4-0 is safe at all, if we go a goal down early on and get a man
sent off (quite possible), then things will begin to look distinctly unsafe. There is a huge difference between 11 v 9 to 10 v 11
that a 3 payer difference.

Trappattoni has never lost a game 0-4, no matter what. We have conceded one goal in 10 games, they have 3 players suspended, and have no confidence.

0-5 anyone???????

15/11/2011, 2:57 AM
You must be a nervous wreck tonight TC? I mean really?

I don't think I've ever been so calm before a home game in years. Can't wait for it.

I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist, I guarante you not one Estonian fan thought they would lose 4-0!!
I remember Liverpool in Europe not so long ago, 3-0 down at half time - game over.
I seem to remember they took Steve Finnan? off and came back to 3-3, I think they might have won on penalties
(can't remember), certainly my gambling days shows me nothing is impossible, I was all-in for £25
I had 2 pair AA and TT, he had one pair AA and a 4, the only way he would win was to hit two running 4's
impossible!! the odds 17x 25 = 425-1. I knew when the first 4 came out the second one would, and it did.
I will not be playing at that site again!!! (partypoker) I have pretty much given up playing now anyway.

Incidental the odds on Ireland qualifying are 1-500 and 1-1000, on Estonia they range from 511-1
down to miserly 40-1.

Strange things can happen, an Estonian breaks through, Richard Dunne muscles him off the ball it's
judged a foul and that it was the last man, Dunne sent off, free kick awarded and they score!!
88 minutes to play with 10 men.

I have just though of another way things could go wrong but I will post that after the match!!

But I think that is a key thing, no rash challenges!!

15/11/2011, 3:00 AM
Trappattoni has never lost a game 0-4, no matter what. We have conceded one goal in 10 games, they have 3 players suspended, and have no confidence.

0-5 anyone???????

First time for everything!! :D

15/11/2011, 5:13 AM
http://www.pauljonkers.com/images/g3_jS1159243538.jpg

Polster
15/11/2011, 8:57 AM
I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist, I guarante you not one Estonian fan thought they would lose 4-0!!
I remember Liverpool in Europe not so long ago, 3-0 down at half time - game over.
!!

Big difference, Liverpool and Milan were in a major final, two top teams. Estonia are hopeless, when the commentators start saying, you may remember this guy from the 30 mins he played with Watford or this guy who spent a year in the Boro reserves, you know it should be happy days. Trap is no fool and he knew they were there for the taking in the first leg, hence why Andrews played more forward than he has for a long time.

This is like Peterborough going to Stoke trying to overturn a 4-0 deficit, ain't going to happen.

I say get on Ireland at -1 tonight, @ evens, and if we get an earlish goal, it could be 4 or 5, so a cheeky fiver or so on Ireland to win by 4 or more goals at 13/2.

Possibly double Ireland with a Crotia home win against Turkey, Crotia are 3-0 up already, but they need to win the home leg to move up from pot 3 to pot 2 in the draw. 3/4
And if you fancy the treble, kills me to say it, but England look good value at 4/6 for home win against Sweden.

15/11/2011, 9:09 AM
I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist
You're not a realist anyway.

We've long since shown that we play well up until the first goal. I don't see any reason why that won't be the case tonight. 1-0 and then they need 5. Without their two first-choice centre-halves and their first-choice keeper - boasting 220+ caps and the captaincy between them - I honestly can't see anything other than us qualifying comfortably, if uneventfully.

I'd also imagine if Estonia were one-on-one with Dunne, he'd be instructed to above all else not get sent off, even if that meant letting yer man have a shot. Mentality, bigger picture and all that.

dr_peepee
15/11/2011, 9:10 AM
Plus... Very few of the players are secure in their ownership of a team/squad place. I don't think there'll be any complacency in that regard.

The Legend
15/11/2011, 9:30 AM
I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist,

I think we can all agree you're probably not great craic down at the pub ;)

legendz
15/11/2011, 9:32 AM
On tonight's game, Estonia will be looking to upset the party. Iran 10 years ago was the same though they had a slightly easier target. I'm hopeful of a 2-0 win by the boys in green, a pessimistic result would be a 1-1 draw. I hope it's some great night for all in the Aviva! :)

swinfordfc
15/11/2011, 10:44 AM
LADS,

if any of the irish lads that on yellow, if they get another yellow, they suspended for first match in finals ... dunne has to careful and andrews

MagicMon
15/11/2011, 10:58 AM
Even the Estonian manager has come out and said that they won't qualify
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1115/estonia_ireland.html

Plus Ireland will be playing with confidence, the last time that happened was the start of the second half v Armenia and that was the best football they've played under Trap. Or think back to the Italy friendly in the summer, off the back of the Nations cup wins and 0-2 v Macedonia an under-strength Irish team played very well because they didn't think they could lose.

Btw should we start a revisionism thread? Over the past few days I've read and heard so much crap being spouted rewriting history about Trap, Kilbane, Ward, Andrews, Kerr, Mick McCarthy.....etc etc

TrapAPony
15/11/2011, 11:08 AM
On tonight's game, Estonia will be looking to upset the party.

Can't see them getting anything at all. They must be demoralised after their 4-0 loss at home. They were poor enough before but now they are missing their goalkeeper and their two first choice centre halves, who are the two most capped players in their squad. Ireland 3-0 Estonia :)

15/11/2011, 11:19 AM
I read in today's Examiner that Kevin Foley and Shane Long have been invited over also for the game and the likely craic to follow. They're not official call-ups so none of the three will feature. (Long and Foley are injured anyway) Touch of class about it all the same.

Curtain call for Killer I reckon.

Thats an excellent gesture and shows the team bond and spirit thats there. No wonder Robbie K didnt want to go back to LA early!!!

While I am obviously optimistic for tonight, I still think we need to be a little cautious. Presumably their tactics will be to get at us and attack from the off. We need to keep it tight for first 20 mins, nice and dull and nothing given away. Last thing we want is an early goal for them and they developing a head of steam. Their results away from home are much better than that at home so it is wise to beware.

koneinc
15/11/2011, 11:32 AM
LADS,

if any of the irish lads that on yellow, if they get another yellow, they suspended for first match in finals ... dunne has to careful and andrews

Have you got a link for that? I was under the impression that yellow cards were wiped clean after qualifying but red cards carried over to the tournament...?

French Toasht
15/11/2011, 11:32 AM
Apparently the Estonians are taking encouragement from this great come-back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KpMfZaxDUA&feature=related

koneinc
15/11/2011, 11:36 AM
Right, I'm off to Heathrow to catch my flight home, can't wait to hit the Aviva.

Enjoy the game everyone!

Come on you boys in green!

punkrocket
15/11/2011, 11:41 AM
I won't be able to get the torture scene from Marathon Man out of my head now. Driller Killer!

15/11/2011, 11:51 AM
Afaic, Ward needs every competitive game for us, plus he needs to be involved in most of the friendlies. I would hope he can further improve for us.

It's too early to say goodbye to Killer, he is still a viable option for a LB squad place, should a space open up.

Deckydee
15/11/2011, 3:44 PM
Just found this. I was looking for the highlights and I finally found it. Dont know if it was already posted

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BaDl8gL67cg&feature=related

15/11/2011, 4:53 PM
There are highlight here too
http://www.mysoccerplace.net/video/e...0-4-highlights
It's several minutes longer than the above link.

DannyInvincible
17/11/2011, 3:05 AM
Thought this was amusing from the first leg:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5slJJAYZ3Y&feature=bf_next&list=HL1321502411&lf=mh_lolz

Colbert Report
17/11/2011, 3:22 AM
thought this was amusing from the first leg:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5sljjayz3y&feature=bf_next&list=hl1321502411&lf=mh_lolz

legend!

17/11/2011, 7:29 AM
I thought that story was just an amusing urban myth, it's feckin' hilarious.

toffeeforever
18/11/2011, 4:08 AM
ha ha . awesome video! Brillant :D