View Full Version : Clare League 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12

mastermind1
05/12/2011, 5:33 PM
Weather playing havoc with fixtures again this weekend wit only 1 local game going ahead. If it keeps up there will none played Sunday. Should we be looking for soccer lads, we play most league games in august/Sept and from February till June. Would it be better to start January and finished August, what ye reckon!

06/12/2011, 10:52 AM
Its a fair point and its an option that should be discussed by the Clare League. I know the GAA lads will be p*ssed off but you cant let soccer in Clare suffer just to keep the GAA happy. What would happen in terms of the Munster Junior and FAI Cups though? Clare teams would be playing in these competitions during their pre season or off season and would probably struggle but then again Clare teams are not competing in the later stages too frequently. Summer Soccer would undoubtedly affect the GAA lads but would probably entice other to play and the game would be a lot more enjoyable

Second
06/12/2011, 11:11 AM
Why not play shields and munster and fai before Christmas just start season 3 weeks later

06/12/2011, 11:40 AM
Or why even play the League Cup at all? The season drags on too much as it is anyway. If the league starts mid-late August with no interruptions bar Munster Junior and FAI the league would run a lot smoother I think

plasticpitch
06/12/2011, 4:53 PM
it has been a long running issue. there are facilities available to play games under lights and on artificial surfaces. i think it good be a good idea to trial this. i also think it would help improve the standard of football.

Second
06/12/2011, 6:16 PM
Only Tulla have lights in clare and I don't even think they are FIFA approved yet so nowhere to play under lights.. And what artificial pitches are in clare ??

07/12/2011, 9:28 AM
Lees Road has the lights and Astro Turf pitch. The pitch would have to be re lined though I think. I think it would be very suitable for a match.

I know its a bit early but any chance of matches going ahead this weekend?

plasticpitch
08/12/2011, 9:29 AM
indeed it was the lees road i was referring to! the best thing about playing a tournament there is that you can play one game after another on a certain day. you could play 4 games on saturday and 4 on sunday for example. time to start thinking outside the box if you want to solve the fixture issue

08/12/2011, 12:25 PM
Its a good idea and you will have a more consistent fixture list. Does anyone know whether you need any special requirements to play matches on an artificial surface? i.e FAI clearance.

Would clubs be open to playing in places like Lees Road? Have Bridge Celtic moved to an artificial surface in Limerick?

Planners
12/12/2011, 8:55 AM
Cdsl will never move to astro - they wont change from winter to summer league - things in clare are stuck and thats they way it always will be - lads - this thread is so boring - nobody has anything to say other than maybe this maybe that - - boring boring boring boring boring boring boring - i'm getting really fast at this - - boring boring boring boring boring boring boring

guvnor
12/12/2011, 10:35 AM
Does the clare league think that Newmarket have some sort of magical pitch or something?? I mean they have fixed three games for this coming weekend on the one pitch in the middle of winter?? You get punished in this league for having a good pitch. Newmarket A team will have their 4th home game played after next Sunday out of 5 games. Does that happen in any other league? Surely not.

First
12/12/2011, 10:39 AM
Welcome back Planners, sorry we are boring ye :)

Also we have the same referee again, seems strange that the same ref is reffing all Newmarket games, is it like this for other clubs?.
Who are the other Premier standard refs in Clare?

the lobster
12/12/2011, 10:53 AM
Does the clare league think that Newmarket have some sort of magical pitch or something?? I mean they have fixed three games for this coming weekend on the one pitch in the middle of winter?? You get punished in this league for having a good pitch. Newmarket A team will have their 4th home game played after next Sunday out of 5 games. Does that happen in any other league? Surely not.

Yes it happens in Limerick, Hibs 7 of the first 9 games at home.

Second
12/12/2011, 11:06 AM
It happens in limk every year so when midweek games are to be played Shannon teams have to travel.. Newmarket should be commended for their fine setup not punished.. Surely if a game was called off their yesterday there won't be a hope of playing 3 games there next weekend..

12/12/2011, 11:41 AM
Newmarket's facilities are being used (abused) because they represent the best chance of matches being played along with Cassidy Park and Tulla. Its not ideal but the alternative means matches being postponed and huge fixture headches. Good result for Lifford yesterday. Any report?

Planners
12/12/2011, 2:27 PM
[QUOTE=First;1559566]Welcome back Planners, sorry we are boring ye :)

Thanks First - we were never gone though - nothing of value to add , but hasnt that always been the case :)

Wolverine
12/12/2011, 8:29 PM
Shouldn't team management decide if the games go ahead on their pitch and not other higher powers :)

First
12/12/2011, 9:09 PM
Shouldn't team management decide if the games go ahead on their pitch and not other higher powers :)

Like who, the county council?

Wolverine
13/12/2011, 10:38 PM
Great comment first. Exceptional input as usual. You must get fair migranes rattling that brain of yours.Now, dont go off in a rant please, let's keep it football : )

CousinSylDolan
14/12/2011, 7:14 AM
Great comment first. Exceptional input as usual. You must get fair migranes rattling that brain of yours.Now, dont go off in a rant please, let's keep it football : )

Ah its great to see the rivalry is alive and well.

Second
14/12/2011, 7:50 AM
Like who, the county council?

I agree first.... Wolfman there is 10 teams who have to wait for council to make decisions... So there is 10 managers who can't make a decision
... So your point is ????

First
14/12/2011, 2:30 PM

Thanks. If you think about it, only clubs that control the use of the their pitches could possibly make this call and then you would have some teams pulling strokes if the team managers are making the call.

Ah its great to see the rivalry is alive and well.

Last great rivalry remaining since the demise of the other great parish teams. :)

mouldedstuds
14/12/2011, 5:07 PM
newmarket pitch was playable sunday according to the ref, but in fairness would u blame nof wanting to needlessly damge their pitch an they not even playing,, but i suppsoe it woulda been first time there was a 3rd round munster junior game on it in a few yrs.
lifford going well, good win by all accoutns vs a poor rock team,,

Bayern Munchies
14/12/2011, 5:27 PM
How would it be a good win if it was against a poor Rock team? Surely then it wouldn't be a good win?

Games down for this weekend, can't see them going ahead doubt there will be many or any games from now until the new year unless there is a dramtic change in the weather to be honest.

Wolverine
14/12/2011, 8:04 PM
Why not play reverse fixtures if possible. Any one know about the pitch on the old dump site. is it playable or are the goal posts for decoration. There's no changing facilities though so that could be a problem.

theboywonder8
14/12/2011, 9:22 PM
Pike A away to Avenue in mj possibly,any thoughts,

old git
14/12/2011, 9:54 PM
How would it be a good win if it was against a poor Rock team? Surely then it wouldn't be a good win?

Games down for this weekend, can't see them going ahead doubt there will be many or any games from now until the new year unless there is a dramtic change in the weather to be honest.

any win is a good win :D

Bayern Munchies
15/12/2011, 12:59 AM
any win is a good win :D

When yeah put it like that :p But it sort of undermines the win the way he phrased it. I'm sure rock will cause all teams a problem this season.

First
19/12/2011, 7:20 AM
Pike A away to Avenue in mj possibly,any thoughts,

Not going to happen now. Pity it would have been a decent contest imo.

Fair play to Connolly, great result, few would have predicted.

avenueC
19/12/2011, 8:44 AM
Congrats to connolly. Great result. How avenue didn't score is beyond me,inspired defending and goal keeping ,but that's life. Best of luck Vs pike. We will be there supporting ye.

Wolverine
19/12/2011, 8:35 PM
Fair play to Connolly.took their chance and defended like Trojans. Best of luck against pike.

Aldo
20/12/2011, 10:24 AM
Hi can anyone give me any information on Bridge United. What type off team they are, what is their pitch and facilities like.?

dirtfree
20/12/2011, 8:48 PM
bridge utd are a 1st division team..but are out of fai and munster junior if thats who your thinking they are.. bridge utd from kilkenny still in fai

Planners
21/12/2011, 9:32 AM
Hi can anyone give me any information on Bridge United. What type off team they are, what is their pitch and facilities like.?

Hi Aldo - - - the bridge have a good physical side can play great ball and are leathal up front with great facalities -

First
23/12/2011, 12:32 PM
Happy Christmas.

Second
24/12/2011, 11:59 AM
[QUOTE=First;1561561]Happy Christmas.[/QUOT

I'll second that

Aldo
28/12/2011, 7:00 PM
bridge utd are a 1st division team..but are out of fai and munster junior if thats who your thinking they are.. bridge utd from kilkenny still in fai
Taught they were still involved in the Munster junior against st brenbdans park from kerry

Aldo
28/12/2011, 7:02 PM
Hi Aldo - - - the bridge have a good physical side can play great ball and are leathal up front with great facalities -
Thanks for the info Planners

fifty50
29/12/2011, 7:20 PM
bridge united are still in the munster junior, playing st brendans tralee on the the 22nd of january at home

Eric
07/01/2012, 5:07 PM
Anywhere I can view the up to date league tables? What division are Ennis Town Rock in?

footballfriend
07/01/2012, 7:07 PM
Anywhere I can view the up to date league tables? What division are Ennis Town Rock in?

www.claresoccer.net....rock are in the premier division.good team.

Eric
08/01/2012, 10:22 AM
Cheers. We're playing them in the next round of the Munster Junior Cup so expecting a tough game.

historynut
08/01/2012, 12:01 PM
Out of curiosity who's ground is on the Quin road as you leave Ennis ?

footballfriend
08/01/2012, 5:10 PM
Out of curiosity who's ground is on the Quin road as you leave Ennis ?

That's the Clare county grounds

old git
08/01/2012, 6:28 PM
anybody hear why burren v olympic game was off today :confused:

Side Cutter
08/01/2012, 7:03 PM
anybody hear why burren v olympic game was off today :confused:

Dont know but its down as a walkover for burren on claresoccer website. Cant understand a premier side giving a walkover???

old git
08/01/2012, 7:42 PM
Dont know but its down as a walkover for burren on claresoccer website. Cant understand a premier side giving a walkover???

surely you would field some sort of a team even 4-5 b team players .. not a good sign if giving walkovers 3rd-4th game of the season.

Kicks
08/01/2012, 8:16 PM
think that might be a mistake that game was meant to be called off, clare league web site only has olympic down as playing 3 games which is what they had played before today

09/01/2012, 1:15 PM
Good result for Newmarket yesterday. Any reports on the game? They are in a very strong position for the league and I cant see anyone stopping them!

First
09/01/2012, 3:10 PM
Good result for Newmarket yesterday. Any reports on the game? They are in a very strong position for the league and I cant see anyone stopping them!

Avenue had best of the first half but the Newmarket defence and keeper were excellent throughout.
it was a good performance all round.
Enda scored to put us 1 up.
Paudie made a great clearance off the line at 1 nil.
Horse saw red, he will pass all day but don't ask him to tackle :)
A good battling performance after going down to 10 men.
Docca then scored from a volley from about 90 yards.

Overall a good game handled well by Padraig Sutton, on another day Avenue could have been 2 up at half time.

A good 3 points, but that is all it was, 3 more points, still alot of football to be played but it was nice to win against such a good footballing side.