View Full Version : Clare League 2011/12
Pages :
[
10]
mastermind1
16/04/2012, 10:59 PM
No didn't get to the game but from what i ve heard it was a step too far for avenue. Couple of chances towards end of game but no complaints from avenue and apparently waterford bohs were really good side. Only downside was Clare minors played waterford on Saturday evening and 7 avenue players took part
prawnsandwich2
17/04/2012, 10:24 AM
No didn't get to the game but from what i ve heard it was a step too far for avenue. Couple of chances towards end of game but no complaints from avenue and apparently waterford bohs were really good side. Only downside was Clare minors played waterford on Saturday evening and 7 avenue players took part
ridiculous situation..
footballfriend
19/04/2012, 12:54 PM
The clare league wreck my head sometimes. Played Burren last night away. So the decided to have M.Talty ref it.He is not premier standard and also love how it refs the game in his kilmurry jacket with tape over the badge!they put two town teams down for a sunday..yet always seems to have town teams away in burren during the midweek games.
Play_On
22/04/2012, 11:15 PM
just lookin at the week's fixtures and tulla utd are down to play twice in 3 days to suit avenue
- Friday 27th vs. Hermitage
- Sunday 29th vs. Avenue
It just begs the question why a team that has been ahead of most teams in terms of games played all season are made to play 2 in 3 days now
mastermind1
23/04/2012, 7:33 AM
How do you make out its to suit avenue? The game was supposed to be played last week. After that Friday night game the tage are finished their league yet avenue will still have four games to go.
dirtfree
23/04/2012, 7:45 AM
I agree mastermind .. I thought at the start of the season it was agreed that the last 3 rounds of games would be played together .. As for Tulla stop moaning lads ye should be happy that ye will be finished before your hurling starts
studsup
23/04/2012, 3:57 PM
The Clare League had originally planned on Ave v NOF on Sunday and the postponed Tulla game to be played next week. Avenue kicked up a fuss that they wanted to have their game with Tulla played before the NOF game as that fits in with the last 3 games scheduling. To quote "we want to have the 6 points before we play Newmarket" :o. Why wasn't the Ave/Tulla game moved to Tulla?
Tulla are now being asked to play 2 games in 3 days, a bit unfair tbh. NOF now also have another free weekend.
dirtfree
23/04/2012, 6:13 PM
Everything in Clare revolves around avenue and burren
old git
23/04/2012, 9:04 PM
Everything in Clare revolves around avenue and burren
used to only revolve around avenue but since new change at the top in league committe the burren have suddenly joined avenue in the chosen circle of power ;)
mastermind1
24/04/2012, 9:59 AM
The Clare League had originally planned on Ave v NOF on Sunday and the postponed Tulla game to be played next week. Avenue kicked up a fuss that they wanted to have their game with Tulla played before the NOF game as that fits in with the last 3 games scheduling. To quote "we want to have the 6 points before we play Newmarket" :o. Why wasn't the Ave/Tulla game moved to Tulla?
Tulla are now being asked to play 2 games in 3 days, a bit unfair tbh. NOF now also have another free weekend.
To come on here and quote something like that must mean you are on the clare league committee. By looking at the clare league fixtures for next few weeks they arent following the final 3 game rule that was introduced at the start of this season. Avenue were well entitled to look for fixture against NOF to be played 3rd last game but clearly thats not happening now either. Whats the point in bringing a new rule in and not following it the first time of asking
LegendStriker10
24/04/2012, 10:36 AM
To come on here and quote something like that must mean you are on the clare league committee. By looking at the clare league fixtures for next few weeks they arent following the final 3 game rule that was introduced at the start of this season. Avenue were well entitled to look for fixture against NOF to be played 3rd last game but clearly thats not happening now either. Whats the point in bringing a new rule in and not following it the first time of asking
Are you actually serious the line I have highlighted here sums up Avenue and their approach to the Clare League.The fixture was down to be played this Sunday and in my opinion should have been played . How do ye make out that ye are entitled to move fixtures around when ye feel like . Every other club in the County that look for a free weekend or a fixture to be postponed are told to write a letter to Clare League, and when that letter is wrote more often that not we are told sorry but get on with it . To move this fixture from Sunday to suit Avenue it has upset two teams and their preparation but I suppose when you are the mighty Avenue the flag bearers of Clare soccer you are entitled to do what ye like .
studsup
24/04/2012, 10:43 AM
It's not rocket science really. Tulla have replaced NOF in the schedule next Sunday due to the Ave/Tulla game being called off.
The other clubs in the league are entitled to play fixtures and not wait around for when Ave want to play games.
If the Tulla game had gone ahead or had been moved to Tulla as the rules state then the schedule would remain in place. Now Ave have 3 games to play before the NOF game but it seems they want their cake and to eat it.
studsup
24/04/2012, 10:52 AM
Can anyone from Tulla let us know how they feel about playing 2 games this weekend, assuming Lees Road is playable on Sunday. The weather forecast is predicting alot of rain all week.
This could throw the schedule out again if Tulla is also not playable
When is the cup semi-final draw on? They are usually on on the Monday.
mouldedstuds
24/04/2012, 2:34 PM
big fuss over nothing really? but if the league have last 3 games down for decision at start of season i suppose they have to adhere to them!!
as for it suting avenue, i doubt it, if they drop points the league is over before they get to play newmarket anyway!
LegendStriker10
24/04/2012, 2:44 PM
big fuss over nothing really? but if the league have last 3 games down for decision at start of season i suppose they have to adhere to them!!
as for it suting avenue, i doubt it, if they drop points the league is over before they get to play newmarket anyway!
Ok if it is not to suit Avenue why did they ask to play Tulla this Sunday instead of the original fixture which was down for them to play Newmarket
mouldedstuds
24/04/2012, 5:13 PM
if you re read the first line of my post im sure it will make sense,, it was put in place by the league at start of season, whats the point in breaking their own rules..
im sure nwmarket are happier with thsi arrangement cos aveune have 2 hard games and the league could be over by sunday week
Tulla A and B teams are playing at home Friday night. As the pitches are so close could this be an issue?
Wolverine
24/04/2012, 9:25 PM
We were togged and our players went up to warm up only for game to be called off 15 mins before kick off so its not our fault
Wolverine
24/04/2012, 9:34 PM
Im referring to the avenue v tulla game. And the other thing we are playing tomorrow night so we are playing 2 games in 3 days.
Ye are playing Wednesday against Lifford, is that the thing you are referring to?
Well done to Joe and the lads on promotion to the 1st Division.
Second
25/04/2012, 8:05 AM
Bottom of the table should be settled this weekend .. Ennis town Rock just need a point away to Olympic to guarantee premier football again next year .. This will also guarantee Olympic can't finish outside the bottom 2..
studsup
25/04/2012, 9:30 AM
If the league are so adamant in giving Ave their way by playing the postponed Tulla game before the final 3 fixtures. Why are NOF playing the Burren next when it is Avenue they should be playing. Maybe someone from the league might explain whether it is a rule or a wish to have the 3 games played as per the schedule outlined earlier in the season.
If it is a rule then why is it only suiting those that shout loudest.
Planners
28/04/2012, 9:46 AM
hi lads was talking to a former clare league player who said he was involved with 3 different clare teams was thinking would that be a record-on a different note would like to wish last years oscar trainer manager well for next year with his new club iin the limerick league
mouldedstuds
30/04/2012, 6:51 AM
Did rineanna win the league last year?
Planners
30/04/2012, 10:37 AM
Did rineanna win the league last year?
You know this didnt happen !!
Why do you ask ?
footballfriend
30/04/2012, 1:24 PM
Any thoughts on best 11 in the Premier this year?
Gaffer88
30/04/2012, 1:45 PM
any predictions for the cup? newmarket v bridge, we'l surely see a few reds :)
ObiWanKenobiNil
30/04/2012, 4:48 PM
Some questions to be answered on the part of the Clare League, not least the gap of not even 48 hours between Tulla's previous two League games. Surely they could have been spread out longer than that to give them a chance, regardless of whether or not they're challenging for honours. The start of the season was a shambles with a lot of the teams not playing until Late September or Early October! This has to be sorted out for next season to give every team a fair crack at the whip, not Avenue controlling everything. I'm sure Newmarket don't even get as much sway as they should, being one of the most successful clubs. (For any conspiracy theorists, no, I'm not Newmarket and thank f**k). Seems to me that some are more equal than others.
Obi, your correct in saying that the league should be organised more efficiently in the early part of the season and it cuts out the end of season pile up. Personally I think the League Cup which was played at the start of the season should be scrapped and then the league starts earlier. We were lucky with weather this year and still there is complaints that games are backed up during April and May.
Planners
01/05/2012, 12:31 PM
Lads - NOF have been unbeaten in the league this season - they have the chance to secure a 2nd league title and have an complete season of being unbeaten { unlike the doomed RATS a who as we all know managed to not win a single game in one season }
Is this possible ?
mouldedstuds
01/05/2012, 12:36 PM
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Planners http://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1591993#post1591993)
You know this didnt happen !!
Why do you ask ?
because you have rineanna cup winners 2008/09 down.and also nof league winners 2010/11
you Just putting random winners of cup and leagues down.? Or are you considering yourself part of the hybrid nof/rineann success of last years league n presumably this year
Planners
01/05/2012, 1:38 PM
As with Planners i consider the REDs a consortium of both clubs and are in a favourable position as a result
ObiWanKenobiNil
01/05/2012, 5:03 PM
Exactly, the League Cup, while valuable in getting teams to pick up some form before the League starts, is superfluous in the grand scheme of things. August would be a perfect month to get two or three games out of the way for each club that are likely to be cancelled in the Winter. Then there are two or three other competitions like the Munster and F.A.I Junior Cups to keep us occupied! A pile-up of fixtures always happens towards the end which led to the two games within 48 hours for Tulla. However, I don't in any way want to undermine the job the Clare Board have done, they're a good group of men, but common sense should prevail..
dirtfree
03/05/2012, 10:40 AM
Lads was anyone here at the shannon Olympic v avenue game last night.. If so can you tell me what was David Russell at..to me it looked like he wanted to be dismissed..he seemed to be intent on hurting one of our players as he elbowed him in the face twice also threw him to the ground early in the game.. Then threw him to the ground again when waiting to take a penalty..I wonder did he realize he would miss the Newmarket game.. His clubs biggest game this year.. Maybe he doesn't want to play against them.. Stupidity..
LegendStriker10
03/05/2012, 12:29 PM
Lads was anyone here at the shannon Olympic v avenue game last night.. If so can you tell me what was David Russell at..to me it looked like he wanted to be dismissed..he seemed to be intent on hurting one of our players as he elbowed him in the face twice also threw him to the ground early in the game.. Then threw him to the ground again when waiting to take a penalty..I wonder did he realize he would miss the Newmarket game.. His clubs biggest game this year.. Maybe he doesn't want to play against them.. Stupidity..
After the roasting he got last year from young Hayes maybe he didnt want to go through the same thing again this year :cool:
mouldedstuds
03/05/2012, 12:49 PM
Is last nights referees son still part of Newmarket squad. ?
dirtfree
03/05/2012, 1:18 PM
Infairness ref had no choice last night but to send him off.. He obviously thinks he can do what he wants..
studsup
03/05/2012, 1:31 PM
He is, are you trying to imply something?
LegendStriker10
03/05/2012, 2:17 PM
That same referee has more allegiance towards Avenue than Newmarket so whatever you are trying to imply here really has no foundation
avenueC
03/05/2012, 3:23 PM
He sure has.thru marriage. Silly red card. Bit harsh we thought but to letter of law pushing someone warrants red. Tough game but well deserved 3 points and sets it up lovely for Sunday's game. It will be well deserved whoever wins the league looking at the table. Avenue have won their last 8 league games n nwmkt start of 10 wins in a row is brilliant too. May the best team win. It'll be a great spectacle.
dirtfree
03/05/2012, 3:32 PM
Dead right avenue c it was a tough game and if shannon Olympic could have played more like that in other games then we might have survived... You'll be a big loss to avenue on Sunday.. Best of luck with it.. I hope ye win and set it up for a final day of drama.. Tulla away wouldn't be easy for Newmarket
04/05/2012, 10:25 AM
Take the bitch fest somewhere else,the next off topic post in here will be met with a suspension.
theboywonder8
04/05/2012, 10:59 AM
Whose the Clare manager coming to limerick,is it Albert Finnin and who is he taking over??
studsup
04/05/2012, 5:27 PM
Whose the Clare manager coming to limerick,is it Albert Finnin and who is he taking over??
Colm Ryan, last years Oscar Traynor team manager. Taking over at Shannon Town.
Wolverine
06/05/2012, 7:24 PM
Congrats to nof. A bitter pill to swallow but welldone.
mastermind1
07/05/2012, 7:30 AM
Congrats to nof, great achievement to be unbeaten for season.
Thanks Davy but we still have a tough game against Tulla before the league season is finished.
avenueC
07/05/2012, 10:43 AM
well done lads.. great achievement,,,
hopefully ye will be the county flag bearers next season in fai and munster junior,
best of luck in cup semi as well,.