First
13/09/2011, 10:25 AM
POS P W D L F A GD PTS
1 Tulla Utd A 4 2 1 1 7 5 2 7
2 Newmarket Celtic A 3 2 0 1 6 4 2 6
3 Lifford A 3 2 0 1 6 6 0 6
4 Shannon Olympic A 2 0 1 1 3 5 -2 1
5 Mountshannon Celtic 2 0 0 2 2 4 -2 0

Great idea to run this competition at the beginning of the season, gets teams up and running and clubs seem to be taking it serious. It has been competitive.

The1
13/09/2011, 10:31 AM
Hi lads, We are down to play Bridge Celtic on Sunday. Could anyone tell me where there home pitch is and what kind of club they are.

First
13/09/2011, 11:13 AM
Thanks for that. Are they not from Sixmilebridge

Sixmilebridge are Bridge United.

Bridge Celtic are playing out of a pitch in Bridgetown and as Second says head for Killaloe Road and follow the signs. Pitch is alongside the primary school.

Personally I'd prefer to be heading to play Bridge United than Bridge Celtic :eek:

The1
13/09/2011, 11:16 AM
Sixmilebridge are Bridge United.

Bridge Celtic are playing out of a pitch in Bridgetown and as Second says head for Killaloe Road and follow the signs. Pitch is alongside the primary school.

Personally I'd prefer to be heading to play Bridge United than Bridge Celtic :eek:

Perfect lads, Thanks for that

onetrickpony
13/09/2011, 11:16 AM
And why wouldn't he bring shingaurds?

Take exit for newport off the new motorway. Take second exit at roundabout an head out old dublin rd. Turn left at maxol station an keep on rd too o'briens bridge drive thro village onto crossroads head straight here onto bridgetown and take next right turn field in behind school just on the turn off.

Planners
13/09/2011, 2:56 PM
jesus planners sound like your thinking of a comeback and keeping in with your manager :D

I wouldnt get on an u10's team in my condition - now other member of the consortium may have ideas -

14/09/2011, 2:44 PM
I removed about 20 rubbish posts from this thread and suspended one member,I'm not going to do this again and if there's a repeat the thread will be closed permanently,your call.

First
14/09/2011, 3:32 PM
I removed about 20 rubbish posts from this thread and suspended one member,I'm not going to do this again and if there's a repeat the thread will be closed permanently,your call.

19, mine was a constructive post using information on a precedent that was set by the Clare League in a matter similar to the incident that was being discussed.

Information that may not have reached Wicklow as I am not familiar with how much of the daily goings on in Clare Football reaches the sunny south east.

Just pointing out that because you don't know the facts then that doesn't automatically make the post rubbish.

Second
14/09/2011, 4:41 PM
I agree first.. We mentioned no names.. I understand banner balls get suspended for name calling but I taught the other post were constructive chat

15/09/2011, 12:16 AM
What the mod says in this thread goes. The Clare League has had enough chances, if ye can't control yereselves, ye'll be finding somewhere else to post.

Back on topic now please or I'll close it for him. I would never have opened it again if it wasn't for him.

Ice-man
16/09/2011, 12:23 PM
Shannon Olympic A 2-1 Newmarket Celtic A

Great result for Olympic Newmarket dont seem the be the force they were

Any report?

francescoli
16/09/2011, 12:35 PM
I went to see it,newmarket had what looked like a very young team out,olympic only had the starting eleven,no subs.Olympic went 2 nill up and took the foot off the gas as usual,newmarket then pulled one back with a peno! It seemed to me that newmarket were missing all of their senior players,unless they have all retired!!!!!! Overall it was a fair result played in the right manner,there was no fire in that newmarket team at all.

Second
16/09/2011, 12:49 PM
What was the team and who was missing

old git
16/09/2011, 2:37 PM
Shannon Olympic A 2-1 Newmarket Celtic A

Great result for Olympic Newmarket dont seem the be the force they were

Any report?

how was it a great result.. league cup game and even with this win it was not enough to qualify olympic for final .:confused: dont write of newmarket yet they seem to be trying out alot of young players during these games.

ginge lyndz
16/09/2011, 5:57 PM
how was it a great result.. league cup game and even with this win it was not enough to qualify olympic for final .:confused: dont write of newmarket yet they seem to be trying out alot of young players during these games.

Now old git you wouldn't be playing down the importance of the league cup would you?

old git
16/09/2011, 7:49 PM
Now old git you wouldn't be playing down the importance of the league cup would you?

nope but it only a bonus for clubs if you reach the final.. and im sure alot of clubs involved would be more intrested in getting points in league games

Second
16/09/2011, 8:48 PM
It's 2011 old git I think alot of lads would prefer a session on the way to Dublin to watch a match :)

old git
17/09/2011, 12:16 AM
It's 2011 old git I think alot of lads would prefer a session on the way to Dublin to watch a match :)

i would prefer a session at end of season as league champions :D

Bayern Munchies
17/09/2011, 5:14 PM

It doesn't matter if they didn't reach the final or not, it was still a good result...If Fc Basle were to beat Man Utd at Old Trafford but didn't qualify from the group it would still be classed as a good result wouldn't it? A newly promoted side beating the champions from last year will always go down as a good result, and Olympic will be no pushover this year either, I fancy them to do quite well

old git
17/09/2011, 6:50 PM
It doesn't matter if they didn't reach the final or not, it was still a good result...If Fc Basle were to beat Man Utd at Old Trafford but didn't qualify from the group it would still be classed as a good result wouldn't it? A newly promoted side beating the champions from last year will always go down as a good result, and Olympic will be no pushover this year either, I fancy them to do quite well

the point i was trying to make is i believe newmarket will have a much stronger team available for league game and i bet you olympic would class it a better result if it was a league game and they got 3 points . if olympic can get out their best 11 i would expect them to do quite well also.

Bayern Munchies
17/09/2011, 8:20 PM
the point i was trying to make is i believe newmarket will have a much stronger team available for league game and i bet you olympic would class it a better result if it was a league game and they got 3 points . if olympic can get out their best 11 i would expect them to do quite well also.

True that Olympic would rather have won in a league game against Newmarket without them missing any players but at the end of the day it's still a very good win for them regardless of the side Newmarket put out or the competition it was in, at the end of the day you can only beat what's put out in front of you, and it seems Olympic were missing a few themselves seeing as they had no subs available ...Agreed, think they will definatly stay up if they can get there best 11 playing week in week out

Is it Lifford vs Avenue in the league cup final now?

old git
17/09/2011, 8:34 PM
True that Olympic would rather have won in a league game against Newmarket without them missing any players but at the end of the day it's still a very good win for them regardless of the side Newmarket put out or the competition it was in, at the end of the day you can only beat what's put out in front of you, and it seems Olympic were missing a few themselves seeing as they had no subs available ...Agreed, think they will definatly stay up if they can get there best 11 playing week in week out

Is it Lifford vs Avenue in the league cup final now?

yeah fighting it out for 25 free tickets & free bus to dublin to watch an ireland match..

mastermind1
18/09/2011, 7:25 AM
Old git, thats an added bonus for the winners. Should Ireland possibly get a European play off or maybe have the Armenia game at home to win the group it would make for a very nice day out indeed. Anyway I dunno about your club but we try win every competition we enter be it a league or a league cup. Obviously the league is the big 1 but winning games and comps create a good habbit.

old git
18/09/2011, 6:32 PM
Old git, thats an added bonus for the winners. Should Ireland possibly get a European play off or maybe have the Armenia game at home to win the group it would make for a very nice day out indeed. Anyway I dunno about your club but we try win every competition we enter be it a league or a league cup. Obviously the league is the big 1 but winning games and comps create a good habbit.

agree with you on trying to win every competition you enter it gets teams into good habits.

Second
18/09/2011, 7:47 PM
I see another win for Olympic today... Also heard they only had the bare 11 again alot of injuries..

old git
18/09/2011, 7:48 PM

looks like Olympic were no pushover today great result away to lifford in munster junior.

old git
18/09/2011, 7:51 PM
I see another win for Olympic today... Also heard they only had the bare 11 again alot of injuries..

surely they would use a few b team lads as cover if they are stuggling this badly with injuries , but under the circumstances a great result so.

footballfriend
22/09/2011, 1:02 PM
Any report on the oscar's last night?4 1 doesnt sound promising

mastermind1
25/09/2011, 10:52 AM
Lifford 3 up at half time against tage

mastermind1
25/09/2011, 11:04 AM
5-0 now

mastermind1
25/09/2011, 2:31 PM
Lifford game finished 5-1 in the end. Tage missing alot of players today. Rock won 2-0 against mountshannon also.

Planners
26/09/2011, 2:47 PM
lads - all games off this weekend because of the OT yet Limerick have a full fixture list - whats going on , the league will run into next July at this stage - the power of 1 has affected so many - - i say lets get on with the league and stop entertaining a competition that we have no hope of winning anyway - - has the squad been finalised yet . surely not enough room for 13 subs in Jackman's dugouts - any comments ?

First
26/09/2011, 3:03 PM
lads - all games off this weekend because of the OT yet Limerick have a full fixture list - whats going on , the league will run into next July at this stage - the power of 1 has affected so many - - i say lets get on with the league and stop entertaining a competition that we have no hope of winning anyway - - has the squad been finalised yet . surely not enough room for 13 subs in Jackman's dugouts - any comments ?

Totally agree with you Planners. Full round of games being cancelled to accommadate a midweek game. I am all for Clare doing well in the OT but Jesus have we to wrap players in cotton wool for the duration of the competition.

Does anyone know if the squad has been finalised?

mastermind1
26/09/2011, 3:09 PM
Haven't heard about it yet so not sure. I think we should have game on the Sunday aswell as we have done it many times for our clubs. Its the managers decision and i m sure he wants to make sure he has his full squad available to him though. Strange that planners thinks we have no chance of winning, agreed its a tough ask but we have to believe or else we have no chance.

Planners
26/09/2011, 3:36 PM
. Strange that planners thinks we have no chance of winning, agreed its a tough ask but we have to believe or else we have no chance.[/QUOTE]

believe i'll be a millionaire some day through hard work but i know its not going to happen - lets be realistic - - best of luck to them anyway

26/09/2011, 4:03 PM
There is a good squad for the OT and considering Clare got to the final 2 years ago surely there is a chance of doing very well. A bit of optimism wouldnt go astray Planners!! Very tough group but you have to beat the best teams to progress to the final stages. Its a pity there are no games this weekend. It will be October and some teams wont have played a league game

Planners
26/09/2011, 4:27 PM
ok - best of luck to the management and the OT squad - fair play to them and hopefully they will do us proud and give us back that feeling we had of supremacy in 2004

mastermind1
26/09/2011, 7:24 PM
That's better planners.

mouldedstuds
27/09/2011, 5:18 PM
typical mentality
knocking a team before it begins,
2004 winners, 2009 runners up, and 3 or 4 q/f appearances n 1 semi have shown that yes, they have been somewhat of a force in this competion the last 8,9 10 yrs..
ok from what ive seen its a weaker squad then the last few yrs but they seem an honest bunch of lads, with a very eager and commited manager..
so if uve nothing good to say, dont say it, best of luck to them,, very tough task and will find it hard to pull off a win but at end of day its 11 v 11

and i agree there should be games sunday,,

onetrickpony
28/09/2011, 6:51 AM
I agree planners would be one of the first too come on here and slate someone who came out with that statement before a ball even kicked.

Planners
28/09/2011, 10:08 AM
ok lads - hind site is always 20 / 20 - maybe the same might be said next Thursday morning ! - but i sincerely wish them the best - its a honour to represent your county and i suppose the support of clubs and players is a must but unfortunatly this year it dosnt seem to be the case - players have been asked / clubs have been asked - at the end of the day management can only work with the tools they have .

mastermind1
28/09/2011, 10:52 AM
22 players in askeaton last Wednesday night shows that players and clubs are behind the manager. Not sure who was asked to play and refused but that's their own choice, everyone that's on the squad i m sure are behind the managers and who knows what might happen next Wednesday night, hopefully come on here to talk about a great result but it won t be for lack of effort if we dont get it. Underdogs maybe but its not impossible.

28/09/2011, 10:57 AM
Come on the banner!!! Yeeeeooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

old git
28/09/2011, 11:04 AM
22 players in askeaton last Wednesday night shows that players and clubs are behind the manager. Not sure who was asked to play and refused but that's their own choice, everyone that's on the squad i m sure are behind the managers and who knows what might happen next Wednesday night, hopefully come on here to talk about a great result but it won t be for lack of effort if we dont get it. Underdogs maybe but its not impossible.

who were the 22 players and what is the squad for the limerick game does anybody know.. it will be a big ask to get a win against limerick but im sure players will be up for it and the chance to beat our near neighbours should help them raise their game.

CousinSylDolan
28/09/2011, 12:38 PM
Clare will play their first match in this season's Oscar Traynor against the Limerick League on Wednesday 5th October at 7.30PM in Jackman Park. The following squad has been selected for this match:-

John Healy (Avenue Utd)
Joe Burke (Hermitage)
David Russell (Avenue Utd) (Capt)
Matty Nugent (Avenue Utd)
Simon Cuddy (Avenue Utd)
Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd)
Darren Cullinan (Newmarket Celtic)
Ritchie Fitzgerald (Hermitage)
Shane Daniels (Ennis Town Rock)
Con Collins (Avenue Utd)
Packie Darcy (Lifford)
Daryl Eade (Ennis Town Rock)
Eoin Glynn (Ennis Town Rock)
Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)
Colin Ryan (Newmarket Celtic)
Jay Regan (Shannon Olympic)
Lunga Balman (Lifford)
David McCarthy (Avenue Utd)
Gary Collins (Newmarket Celtic)
Ryan Boyle (Lifford)

Planners
28/09/2011, 4:12 PM
David Russell - legend - captain and deservedly so - this man has served his club and county no end - must be a record at this stage - Roy Keane had a comment on players like this - cant think of it at the moment

fifty50
28/09/2011, 9:38 PM
No eoin o brien or stephen hickey. Thought one or two more of clare youths from last year would have been included with darren murphy..darragh corry the obvious choice, indeed his tulla team mate denis murphy is also very underrated. What about cheeky or steven kelly?

old git
28/09/2011, 9:43 PM
David Russell - legend - captain and deservedly so - this man has served his club and county no end - must be a record at this stage - Roy Keane had a comment on players like this - cant think of it at the moment

legend over the top in terms of avenue player history ,, good player who has served avenue & clare well .. think he may still have a bit to go to match mannix at both club & county level.

Hibs7772
28/09/2011, 11:18 PM
Clare will play their first match in this season's Oscar Traynor against the Limerick League on Wednesday 5th October at 7.30PM in Jackman Park. The following squad has been selected for this match:-

John Healy (Avenue Utd)
Joe Burke (Hermitage)
David Russell (Avenue Utd) (Capt)
Matty Nugent (Avenue Utd)
Simon Cuddy (Avenue Utd)
Darren Murphy (Bridge Utd)
Darren Cullinan (Newmarket Celtic)
Ritchie Fitzgerald (Hermitage)
Shane Daniels (Ennis Town Rock)
Con Collins (Avenue Utd)
Packie Darcy (Lifford)
Daryl Eade (Ennis Town Rock)
Eoin Glynn (Ennis Town Rock)
Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic)
Colin Ryan (Newmarket Celtic)
Jay Regan (Shannon Olympic)
Lunga Balman (Lifford)
David McCarthy (Avenue Utd)
Gary Collins (Newmarket Celtic)
Ryan Boyle (Lifford)

Don't understand how Darren Murphy can be in the squad when he's not playing for a team in the premier. Also where are the likes of Paul Cantillon?? Surely he should be getting a look in??

Buzzer
29/09/2011, 7:26 AM
Don't understand how Darren Murphy can be in the squad when he's not playing for a team in the premier. Also where are the likes of Paul Cantillon?? Surely he should be getting a look in??

Darren Murphy is a great player and deserves his place on the squad no matter what division he is playing in. I'm sure the managers are looking for the best players in the league and not just the best players in the premier.