View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

limkdesmond
05/08/2011, 7:26 PM
Newcastle west 4-0 pike rovers with about 10 minutes to go..bad mistakes by pike keeper Gary Neville cost them two goals but he mad some great saves also..tossie butler playin for ncw and someone told me Daniel power playing with ncw also but couldn't make tonight

limkdesmond
05/08/2011, 7:58 PM
Finished 5-0.. Tony Quaid with goal of the game.best goal iv seen in a long time..very under strength Pike team but Newcastle played some great football.should have been 8 or 9 but keeper made great saves towards the end

theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 8:24 PM
Only 2 of the pike A team played,so I wouldn't get too carried away with the result,

limkdesmond
05/08/2011, 8:35 PM
Maybe but they still destroyed ye from a neutral point of view

theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 8:45 PM
Yes and fair play to them,a lot of under19s played,best of luck to ncw for the upcoming season,

thomas72
06/08/2011, 5:23 PM
Carew park 9 newcastle west 2.
Granvile 5 newcastle 1

In the Granvile tournament this morning a big thanks to Granvile two pitches were in top nick they also had food etc etc laid on they went through a lot of trouble.
As you can see from the scoreline above the team Newcastle came in with was a disgrace on top of that they were an hour late. IF carew had not changed there team at half time it would of been 18

limkdesmond
06/08/2011, 5:35 PM
I was out last night and Newcastle west afc were having their awards or social night last night so there was probably loads of sick players at it.. Who won the tournament in Granville??

thomas72
06/08/2011, 5:53 PM
I was out last night and Newcastle west afc were having their awards or social night last night so there was probably loads of sick players at it.. Who won the tournament in Granville??

CArew park won it

soccer8
07/08/2011, 9:43 AM
any more friendlies going on did broadford play Ballananty last nite?

theboywonder8
07/08/2011, 10:54 AM
Jaysus that's two right hidings for ncw,they weren't long coming back down to earth after beating the fai champions,well there was 2 of them
playing anyway,ha

theboywonder8
07/08/2011, 10:55 AM
any more friendlies going on did broadford play Ballananty last nite?

Balla won 5 2,

buddygeary23
07/08/2011, 10:59 AM
You will be glad to know there was no A team player from ncw playing in the tournament on Saturday in Limerick...another game for broadford? They are playing alot of friendlies pre season...where was the broadford v balla game played?

new boy
07/08/2011, 10:08 PM
there was a good few a players playing in that tournament so dont try cover for there very poor game.....and i know there a players cause iv played againts most of them.....if there a players are power and mark d on there own....they were cat yesterday and i think with that team they wnt win anything

Gearysfan
08/08/2011, 3:02 PM
I was shopping in Newcastle on Saturday and saw Dohorthy working so I don't think he was playing

buddygeary23
08/08/2011, 6:23 PM
Doherty was working so I don't know where your getting that he was in limk playing that tournament..there was one A team player,2 under 15 players,1 person who doesn't play soccer and the rest were B team players..the only power that was there was Charlie power from the b team

new boy
08/08/2011, 6:39 PM
i didnt say any of them two were there did i i said are the two of them the a team alone.......there was more than one of them there and thats a fact.the lad that was in cm that is 15 is a very good player he will be one to watch and i think he will be playing prem in town soon enough.

sexyfootball
09/08/2011, 7:16 AM
Will somebody please tell me, whats the whole idea of each team playing 4 league games on the first 2 weekends of the season i.e. the friday evening & sunday morning??

snafu
09/08/2011, 12:50 PM
Will somebody please tell me, whats the whole idea of each team playing 4 league games on the first 2 weekends of the season i.e. the friday evening & sunday morning??

because in the last 2 seasons there has been a lot of games being cancelled (due to the weather etc) and this has caused a serious backlog of games and has caused the leagues to run into June. August til June is a very long season especially considering there is only 18 league games per team.
A lot of people here were calling for more Friday night games and now theyve got them.
Im all for it personally

sexyfootball
09/08/2011, 1:18 PM
That is fair enough alright but alot of teams will have players who will have GAA commitments and will not be available 100% for there clubs for the first few weeks of the season.The likes of Shannonside, Broadford, Kildimo, Glin wil all be affected. 12 points is a lot in a 9 team/18 game league!!

soccer8
09/08/2011, 4:14 PM
when are the fixtures out???

sexyfootball
10/08/2011, 7:19 AM
I'd say they will be out this wednesday in the Weekly Observer, it will probably be the same fixture list as last year with each of the promoted teams replacing the teams who got relegated and vice versa!
Any other transfers or friendly matches lately?

Gearysfan
10/08/2011, 10:42 AM
NCW playing Fairview tonight in Newcastle I think

limkdesmond
10/08/2011, 10:56 AM
I was in Newcastle west this morning and seen a sign outside Cronins bar that ncw are playing fairview tonight in the demesne

dutchie
10/08/2011, 12:41 PM
Heard Peter nash from Rayhkeale is gone to Regional to join his brother.

limkdesmond
10/08/2011, 8:08 PM
Went watching Newcastle west v fairview tonight... Finished two all.was talking to a Newcastle player and he said fairview had a full team and Newcastle were missing 3 or 4 of their players.ncw went down 1-0 and went 2-1 in the second half but fairview scored with 2 mins to go..Gary shanahan and James Quaid got the goals for ncw

southern kid
10/08/2011, 9:55 PM
Did power,butler and o donnell play with ncw tonite?

sexyfootball
11/08/2011, 7:25 AM
totally agree with you capello, they used to have the league cup on before the start of the league season for each division up until recently 6/7 years, then they changed it to the second half of the season... i think anyway!
I wasnt at the NCW match myself heard they played well though missing a few too.

soccer8
11/08/2011, 7:30 AM
what was the Newcastle team?

theboywonder8
11/08/2011, 9:19 AM
That wasn't views first team,they were missing a good few starters,fellas who have fai's

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 10:07 AM
Oh was it not there full team?? Who were fairview missing?

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 10:14 AM
Newcastles team was

J Sheehy,S Lyons,T Geary,O Donnell,M Doherty,S Hurley,K Power,P Fitz,J Quaid,G Shanahan,L O Brien

Subs D o Connor,K o Shea,T Quaid

I was talking to Paudie Fitz and he said they were missing daniel power,paul masigan,tossy butler due to work reasons.

Leon
11/08/2011, 11:23 AM
That wasn't views first team,they were missing a good few starters,fellas who have fai's

Id find it hard to believe that any Limerick teams playing this week are missing any starters with their league starting next week.

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 11:26 AM
Paudie Fitz played with "the view" last season and told me they might have been missing one or two players but other than that they had a full team

theboywonder8
11/08/2011, 11:37 AM
Paudie Fitz played with "the view" last season and told me they might have been missing one or two players but other than that they had a full team

Their keeper,Daz Sullivan,jon grant,Paul Harmon to name but a few,

Leon
11/08/2011, 11:39 AM
Their keeper,Daz Sullivan,jon grant,Paul Harmon to name but a few,

Who is their keeper, and if you could name the rest that would be great

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 11:48 AM
Grant was one of their players that he named was there I'm nearly sure unless they have another grant playing for them.I could be mistaken but don't think I am..he said alright he didn't know who the keeper was

Leon
11/08/2011, 12:43 PM
Grant was one of their players that he named was there I'm nearly sure unless they have another grant playing for them.I could be mistaken but don't think I am..he said alright he didn't know who the keeper was

As far as I know Fairview have no keeper got so the lad in goals last night probably is their keeper

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 12:47 PM
The goalie last night was bald and had a beard.the sub goalie looked like a minor with a tattoo on the leg

sexyfootball
11/08/2011, 1:34 PM
Just heard there that the Old Mill have pulled out of the league, anyone know if there is any truth in this?

Leon
11/08/2011, 1:46 PM
Just heard there that the Old Mill have pulled out of the league, anyone know if there is any truth in this?

Ya I heard a few weeks ago that they were in trouble alright

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 1:48 PM
If that's true it's sad to hear..a team in the premier division only few years ago..

sexyfootball
11/08/2011, 2:10 PM
I know only gone from the premier in the last few years. They have lost a few to immigration alright and there are a few going this year too apparently, didnt think it was this bad though! Could be good news for Kilcolman/Carrig Celtic though as these clubs will more than likely sign the former Old Mill players.

limkdesmond
11/08/2011, 2:28 PM
Ya ur completely right there.can see them joining this two clubs..

snafu
11/08/2011, 2:44 PM
what happens to div 1 now, im presuming the league will be played with just 9 teams. Will only 1 team get relegated at the end of the season?

FunTimes
11/08/2011, 3:30 PM
I heard Ballysteen are pulling out, Pallaskenry are scrapping their B team (and struggling to field an A team) and Askeatons "A" team will consist mostly of last years B team.

Leon
11/08/2011, 3:48 PM
I heard Ballysteen are pulling out, Pallaskenry are scrapping their B team (and struggling to field an A team) and Askeatons "A" team will consist mostly of last years B team.

Its the times we live in I'm afraid, There is bound to be more small villages that will struggle. Askeaton have no excuse though, they have a big population

FunTimes
11/08/2011, 4:24 PM
Its the times we live in I'm afraid, There is bound to be more small villages that will struggle. Askeaton have no excuse though, they have a big population

I saw them a few times last year and the team they finished the league with was very different to the one that started. Think they had a lot of players head away, rumours of internal problems in the club as well.

soccer8
12/08/2011, 7:03 AM
Ray Cahill and Antony Molineux have signed from Old Mill to Carrig

limkdesmond
12/08/2011, 10:03 AM
I thnk I heard Ray Massey from askeaton is gone back into the city league

limkdesmond
12/08/2011, 11:14 AM
Massey is gone and signed for carew park