View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2011/12
sexyfootball
18/07/2011, 8:41 PM
Jerry Cronin was apparently in contact with a few players too about training for N.C.W in the coming week. Tossy, McAullife and Fitz playing for Broadford, if they stay they will have a good chance this year! is there someone from Kilmallock playing with Broadford too?
Have It
19/07/2011, 12:45 PM
Heard today off a rathkeale player that last years shannonside manager is definite taking over rathkeale this year
Heard the same off a rathkeale player. Seems to be true. Anyone know the date for the first round of league games ?
limkdesmond
19/07/2011, 3:56 PM
My guess would be the 14th of august for the first league games to be played
lankyboy26
19/07/2011, 4:25 PM
Limerick league starts on the 18th of August anyway, don't know if thats any help!
soccer8
19/07/2011, 4:27 PM
Jerry Cronin was apparently in contact with a few players too about training for N.C.W in the coming week. Tossy, McAullife and Fitz playing for Broadford, if they stay they will have a good chance this year! is there someone from Kilmallock playing with Broadford too?
Has there been any new faces at NCW this year? I take it they wont be as strong as the past few years with Daniel Power gone to Shannonside and Tossy Butler going elsewhere.....Bradford look fit and ready for theis season playing numerous challenge games already and plus a few new signings could be an interesting league this year....:ball:
sky blue
19/07/2011, 6:50 PM
Shannonside v Rathkeale will be one game of the opening season with donie gorman referee
WizardOnTheWing
19/07/2011, 10:31 PM
Lads playing Broadford in a Freindly wednesday night, is it far from limerick city...Best way to get there please?..Adare is out of the question
hoops38
19/07/2011, 10:54 PM
is that ray lynch that played with fairview in limerick about 10years back?
it was ray grant from foynes that played with view
Notaclue
19/07/2011, 11:33 PM
Ray Grant played for Foynes in their last Desmond League winning side, with Colm Enright, now of Pike Rovers. Ray was a great player who won International caps, but I don't know what became of him after that. He was brilliant in that Foynes team and scored a pile of goals from midfield.
hoops38
19/07/2011, 11:37 PM
Ray Grant played for Foynes in their last Desmond League winning side, with Colm Enright, now of Pike Rovers. Ray was a great player who won International caps, but I don't know what became of him after that. He was brilliant in that Foynes team and scored a pile of goals from midfield.
correct he did ,he also won an fai or even more than 1 fai junior cup,was with the view for bout 3 years think he emigrated after that ,was class player but lost interest after year or 2 in limerick and was never the same player after
Notaclue
19/07/2011, 11:51 PM
I heard today that Glin Rovers pitch is ready again and looking super. They're a good side and will be up challenging again next season, but I expect that Newcastlewest, Abbeyfeale United, Rathkeale and Shannonside will again be the teams to be reckoned with. Ballingarry, Glin Rovers and Broadford United to be strong and the rest to battle it out to stay up. Rovers, Kildimo United and Askeaton to struggle. I expect Carrig Celtic, Killeaney, and Rockhill Rovers to fight it out for the 1st Division unless St. Itas can improve their squad a good deal.
sexyfootball
20/07/2011, 7:21 AM
It looks like NCW will be losing players and the likes of Tossy and Daniel Power will not be easily replaced! They may find it tough ths year. Eddie Brouder & Paul Slater are going managing Shannonside this season, may get a few players to sign from NCW also.
Would have to agree with what you said with regards to the teams that will struggle next year Notaclue, it will be between those 3 to go down.
FunTimes
20/07/2011, 8:16 AM
Have Shannonside signed anybody new this year?
Askeaton will struggle, they could barely field a team at the end of last year and I hear they have no manager yet for this year.
Glin could go very well this year.
walkover
20/07/2011, 8:55 AM
Lads playing Broadford in a Freindly wednesday night, is it far from limerick city...Best way to get there please?..Adare is out of the question
It's a good bit from Limerick!
If you want to avoid Adare you prob better off taking the Cork road and turn off at Rourkes Cross:
http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=N20&daddr=52.43022,-8.69143+to:R515&hl=en&sll=52.50034,-8.732758&sspn=0.356972,0.891953&geocode=FdQrIwMdFml8_w%3BFYwFIAMdGmF7_ymRlgTJT0xbS DEw_Sf8pscAEw%3BFTW1HgMdRfN2_w&mra=dvme&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&z=11
WizardOnTheWing
20/07/2011, 9:21 AM
It's a good bit from Limerick!
If you want to avoid Adare you prob better off taking the Cork road and turn off at Rourkes Cross:
http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=N20&daddr=52.43022,-8.69143+to:R515&hl=en&sll=52.50034,-8.732758&sspn=0.356972,0.891953&geocode=FdQrIwMdFml8_w%3BFYwFIAMdGmF7_ymRlgTJT0xbS DEw_Sf8pscAEw%3BFTW1HgMdRfN2_w&mra=dvme&mrsp=1&sz=11&via=1&z=11
Thanks, will do.. Have broadford good setup, showers etc
Ya, they have new dressing rooms and showers. And the best pitch in the desmond league
WizardOnTheWing
20/07/2011, 11:22 AM
Ya, they have new dressing rooms and showers. And the best pitch in the desmond league
Good stuff, thanks lads
Johnnie C
20/07/2011, 2:51 PM
Mountcollins not entering the league this season and Feenagh are entering a B team.
limkdesmond
20/07/2011, 3:25 PM
One of my friends that plays with ncw told me that thomas Callaghan and David o Connor have signed and were training last Monday night with Ncw...he also said that ncw asked Paul slater and eddie brouder would they be the ncw managers for the up coming season and they said no cause they didn't have the time but when shannonside came in for them offering them money they were off to them like no tomorrow..They will be very strong I think next year I think
BigfeetBigsocks
20/07/2011, 4:36 PM
or you can head straight into Charleville and take Golf Course Road and follow it all the way to Broadford ... you drive thru village and cross bridge and then you will see sign for pitch to turn right. it will take about 55min to a hour to get to, the Adare way takes about 50-55 so not much in difference.
BoyBlue
20/07/2011, 7:06 PM
I heard today that Glin Rovers pitch is ready again and looking super. They're a good side and will be up challenging again next season, but I expect that Newcastlewest, Abbeyfeale United, Rathkeale and Shannonside will again be the teams to be reckoned with. Ballingarry, Glin Rovers and Broadford United to be strong and the rest to battle it out to stay up. Rovers, Kildimo United and Askeaton to struggle. I expect Carrig Celtic, Killeaney, and Rockhill Rovers to fight it out for the 1st Division unless St. Itas can improve their squad a good deal.
Why would you think Glin might go well have they improved on last seasons squad which was very average. From what I've heard Broadford going very well but it all counts for nothing at this stage ( Forms not even out Yet ) I expect the usual sides to be challenging i.e NCW, Abbey & Rathkeale. Shannonside to struggle unless they have some youths comming through, a lot of their players getting on now. Outside Tip for Ballingarry.Is Quinlan over them again? Kildimo & Askeaton/Shannonside to go down!!!!!!!!!
Killeaney & St. Itas to get promoted.
limkdesmond
21/07/2011, 12:08 AM
Shannonside to go down??? Are you serious??? Lose the the title last season on the last day and lose in the semi final of the league cup and you are tipping on them going down?? Daniel Power also signing for them from Newcastle West..I cant see them going down..I can only see them getting better not worse
WizardOnTheWing
21/07/2011, 6:50 AM
or you can head straight into Charleville and take Golf Course Road and follow it all the way to Broadford ... you drive thru village and cross bridge and then you will see sign for pitch to turn right. it will take about 55min to a hour to get to, the Adare way takes about 50-55 so not much in difference.
Went the Charliville way, directions spot on and it did take an hour. Wembley won 3 2, great run out for both clubs..Game played in good spirits and the set up in Broadford is top class, the dressing rooms were massive, the match could have easily been played in there ha ha.. Best of luck for the season.
sexyfootball
21/07/2011, 7:13 AM
How many matches is that played by Broadford now in pre season? They're starting early, most teams haven't even returned to training yet id say!!
limkdesmond
21/07/2011, 1:17 PM
Played at least 3 or 4...will they have all their players when the football is back...
sexyfootball
22/07/2011, 7:30 AM
already? seems to be all good challenges there getting too! good point about the football alright, but sure doesnt the manager play aswell? he'll surely have allowances for that, they could be dark horses this year.
limkdesmond
22/07/2011, 11:24 AM
Ya ray lynch is the joint manager with christy purcell I heard..if they keep it together the could be dark horses and win a trophy for the first time in a few years....but football is the main sport in broadford and they need to concentrate on football as they haven't got off to a good start this year in that so that might cause problems with the soccer team
walkover
26/07/2011, 8:09 AM
Seems that the season won't kick off until the 21st of August!!
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 9:12 AM
Newcastle west A 2-2 corbally utd in pre season friendly.. Went down 2-0 after 2 great strikes(2nd goal unbelievable goal).got one back through Scott Hurley from the penalty spot and Gary shanahan equalised in the second half
limkdesmond
26/07/2011, 9:23 AM
Was at that friendly last night..not a bad game to watch..ncw started slow but were the better team at the final whistle..few new faces back with ncw..David o Connor,Thomas and Michael Quilligan,There was other people there but I don't know who they were..
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 9:30 AM
Ya David o Connor is back playing since he came home from Australia,two quilligans are back from rathkeale afc,Paudie Fitzgerald has signed from fairview rangers and have also brought up 3 or 4 players from the B team
kalyani
26/07/2011, 9:43 AM
Ya David o Connor is back playing since he came home from Australia,two quilligans are back from rathkeale afc,Paudie Fitzgerald has signed from fairview rangers and have also brought up 3 or 4 players from the B team
Good stuff, coming along nicely so for ye in pre season with Cronin back,Did Power,Doherty and Butler all sign too?
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 9:53 AM
Ya mark doherty has signed.he was playing last night..we we missing Antony o donnell,shay lyons,donnacha woods and Tony Quaid all due to work reasons last night..nobody know what power and butler are doing..powers brother said he doesn't know what his brother is doing but knows he hasn't signed for shannonside yet.he hasn't signed for anyone..as for butler nobody knows what he will do..his best friend told me he wants another crack at the city league and heard fairview were looking for him..god only know and I guess time will tell
I heard that O'Donnell and Power had committed to Shannonside as they are living there, and that Quaid was going because of the two NCW boys over Shannonside. I also heard that Tossie had committed to Broadford because Ray Lynch had convinced him that they would be a major force with their new signings and that he was friendly with a good few of the lads up there
Is Anthony O'Donnell DEF staying with ye Buddy and are all these rumours rubbish
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 12:21 PM
Tony Quaid told me himself that he us going nowhere..he said to me that if shannonside offered him 500 a week he still wouldn't go..o Donnell was at training all last week and said he isn't going to shannonside..but power and butler I honestly don't know what they are doing..I guess we have to wait until the first game of the season
In fairness that settles most of the rumours with Newcastle. Is this lad from Fairview any good
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 2:15 PM
It will all be rumours before the season starts anyway..I heard something else but I'm not gonna say it incase it's only a rumour or it's a fact...the player is from feenagh and played with fairview cos he lived in the city and working in there..He is good alright..played with killeaney few seasons back for a season I think
Shur you might as well tell us now what you heard, If its not true, then its not true and no harm will be done, Nobody is saying that everything in this forum is fact
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 3:27 PM
Yera Leon I'll say nothing unless it's confirmed that it's a fact..and wen I know for certain I'll post it on here as soon as possible
buddygeary23
26/07/2011, 3:31 PM
Anyone hear any news with the other teams like askeaton,ballingarry,kildimo,Newcastle west rovers? Any news players or anything??? What have glin done with their field that they closed it for a year??
BlueAndWhite
26/07/2011, 5:12 PM
Killeaney have lost Bryan Herbet who is joining his old club Bally Rovers.
Have It
26/07/2011, 8:48 PM
Is Patrick Madigan joining Glin too ?
Any challenge matches planned for the week lads, I wouldnt mind going to a game
Aanother
27/07/2011, 4:17 PM
Broadford v Regional 7.15 tonight in Broadford
thomas72
27/07/2011, 4:48 PM
Doherty was playing for carig v carew park last night
southern kid
27/07/2011, 7:16 PM
I think ratkeale will be the team to beat this year,they play a lovely attacking brand of football,ncw should put up a good show but will all depend on how they get on with jerry cronin because by all accounts some players are not keen on him and the loss of power an butler is a massive loss.Shannonside wont be up there this year,last year proved their not good enough and they were 12 points ahead at one stage and bottled it.Abbey will struggle if roche an da 2 kellihers are gone because there panel was tight last year.Broadford will be my dark horses,lynch will do a good job and will probably sign a few to strenghten their squad.I think askeaton will be relagated by xmas an rightly so,i thougt it was disgraceful that they gave walkover in desmond quarter final for a so called big club.kildimo will go also, their my views but who ever wins i hope its an injury free season for all players,best of luck to all,
Doherty was playing for carig v carew park last night
Ya I heard that as well, I heard he played with them as well last week. How did Broadford compete with regional
Broadford won 7 3. Liam Shaughnessy scored 5 with Joe McAuliffe and Micheal Brosnan 1 each
buddygeary23
28/07/2011, 1:14 PM
Doherty only played with carrig only for fitness and nothing else..good result for broadford..broadford could do really well this year..
Yere training must'nt be very good Buddy if yere players have to go to other clubs to improve their fitness. Is it true there is talks of NCW going semi Pro