View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2011/12
Yere training must'nt be very good Buddy if yere players have to go to other clubs to improve their fitness. Is it true there is talks of NCW going semi Pro
I think the question should be why are carrig giving gametime to a player who is signed with another club instead of giving gametime to their own players.... doesnt make sense to me.
Early signs are looking good for broadford.
Anyone know why Jerry Cronin left Abbeyfeale?
That was a good win for broadford, there lookin good this year, Ray lynch wil make a difference lookin after them and they've signed some quality players, as it was said a lot depends on the football. I expected rathkeale to push on alot from last year but things dont seem to be runnin well at the minute, heard they have lost a few players and not started back trainin yet. Ncw have got some very good players back wit d 2 Quilligans and O connor, also fitz was a good player a few years ago so he must have improved wit fairview. I heard power hasnt made up his mind yet who he's signin for despite the thousands shannonside hav supposedly offered him! I was told this was lies and they have no money. On shannonside havnt heard of them signin anyone yet but to say they will be relegated is crazy. They only lost d league by 3 points and only lost 1 game all season so I cant see how they bottled the league either, just abbey had a great run in. Ballingarry will add quality to d league also this season, very good footballing side. Looks like askeaton and kildimo wil be strong favourites for relegation. I think ncw will be the team to beat this season wit their additions, but abbey, shannonside (If they get power they could go one better) and rathkeale will be up there too.
buddygeary23
28/07/2011, 3:12 PM
We had one training session and one match..maybe he played for carrig cos his girlfriend is from carrig and her brother plays with them..maybe they were short players I don't know but I can guarantee he is not joining carrig... Ncw going semi pro?? I don't think so cause that's the first I have heard of it..jerry cronin left because I heard the abbeyfeale boys last year weren't giving him commitment even though they won the league..
Maybe contract negotiations have only been opened with Anthony O'Donnell and Daniel Power, I hope they haven’t the wage structure broken by time they come around to the full backs Buddy.
Abbey look like they will be team to beat, good keeper, very strong back four, great midfield and strikers that can get goals, and they showed last year that they know how to win
buddygeary23
29/07/2011, 9:55 AM
Did someone say that the kellihers and and roches were leaving abbeyfeale in a earlier post??? Or could be leaving abbey?? Why would that be?? Big losses if that is true
limkdesmond
29/07/2011, 10:04 AM
I think Newcastle west will be the team to beat this year with the players they added to the team..abbeyfeale will be up there also with broadford and shannonside..have not heard much bout abbeyfeale only the thing about the kellihers and roches brothers..only thing heard bout shannonside is this power story and broadford have seemed to sign some great players and started pre season good..bad sign for rathkeale if they haven't started back yet with the new manager and the loss of the two quilligans back to Newcastle..relagation in my books will be kildimo followed by askeaton
Did someone say that the kellihers and and roches were leaving abbeyfeale in a earlier post??? Or could be leaving abbey?? Why would that be?? Big losses if that is true
Im led to believe there is no trouble in the Abbey camp Buddy, Newcastle seems to be the only place where there is alot of unrest circulating. Can we take it that Power and Butler have committed to NCW at this stage, I heard last night that Butler had signed the form with Broadford and that he was up there on the lash with them at the weekend, I also heard that himself and Lynch are working together up the country and thats why he signed
buddygeary23
29/07/2011, 10:50 AM
I honestly don't know..nobody knows what they are doing.. As soon as I know I'll let ye all know
sportsfan
29/07/2011, 1:29 PM
Any club looking for a friendly v a TSDL First Division team this Sunday??
Have It
30/07/2011, 3:08 PM
Prem Div: 1st Ncw, 2nd Shannonside. Relegated Askeaton & Glin/Kildimo
1st Div: Hard to call as usual but should be fought out between Carrig Celtic, Pallaskenry, Killeaney and Athea. Relegated Ncw B and Glantine.
I hear Old Mill are struggling big time for players with emmigration, losing players and a small squad etc. What would happen if they had to pull out ?
I'm after a meat feast pizza and curry chip and two cans of coke.....you cant beat pre-season training in askeaton
lfc at heart
01/08/2011, 4:19 PM
any team looking for a friendly this wednesday v Prospect A, we can travel or play in Limerick, pm me
BlueAndWhite
01/08/2011, 7:32 PM
Bally Rovers beat Feenagh 2-0 tonight in a friendly
Any challenges planned for the week lads
walkover
02/08/2011, 1:10 PM
Geraldines v Ncw Rovers in Limerick tonight @ 7
limkdesmond
02/08/2011, 11:13 PM
Newcastle rovers beaten 3-1 in Limerick tonight..
I heard Newcastle west are playing pike rovers in Newcastle on Friday?? Anyone confirm this??
sexyfootball
03/08/2011, 9:22 AM
Newcastle west against Pike? that would be an interesting game to watch! If it is on, the rumours of players leaving ncw will surely be answerwed as i imagine they will want to have as strong a team as possible to play.
The pre-season tournament Granville are holding seems like a good idea, competitive matches against quality teams.
theboywonder8
03/08/2011, 10:43 AM
Pike are playing killester in Dublin on Sunday,so I doubt their in ncw on Friday night,
Gearysfan
03/08/2011, 12:48 PM
I was talking to Gerry Cronin today at lunch. They are playing pike on Friday night at home.
Also he said power and o Donnell have signed so that should put an end to the transfer saga. As the say it cane straight from the horses mouth
FunTimes
03/08/2011, 2:40 PM
Word has it that a consortium of oil rich Arabs are close to sealing a deal to purchase Askeaton AFC. They are committing significant funds to the project and will giving the new manager a large transfer budget. Watch this space.
theboywonder8
03/08/2011, 2:52 PM
Pike are not playing ncw on Friday night and that's a fact,they are going to Dublin on Sunday.
sexyfootball
03/08/2011, 3:54 PM
FunTimes i heard the same thing, thought it was just spoof though! carlos tevez may have found a new club for himself.....
soccer8
03/08/2011, 9:48 PM
Anyone know if Ncw V Pike is going ahead this friday night?:ball:
CraftyToePoke
04/08/2011, 4:10 AM
Pike are not playing ncw on Friday night and that's a fact,they are going to Dublin on Sunday.
Its on the Newcastle West AFC Face Book page here as going ahead - 6.30 KO - http://www.facebook.com/pages/Newcastle-West-Afc/286915149649
Should be an interesting game.
dutchie
04/08/2011, 4:22 AM
Word has it that a consortium of oil rich Arabs are close to sealing a deal to purchase Askeaton AFC. They are committing significant funds to the project and will giving the new manager a large transfer budget. Watch this space.
There are a few Arabs hanging around the Old town for the last few years!!!!!
theboywonder8
04/08/2011, 7:24 AM
Lads how many times ye have to be told that match is not going ahead,jaysus wept.
soccer8
04/08/2011, 7:56 AM
ya it was supposed to be on tonight but Pike moved it for tomorrow night as they were missing too many...
theboywonder8
04/08/2011, 8:05 AM
Does anybody listen here no,I'll leave ye off
thomas72
04/08/2011, 9:00 AM
BOYwonder is right lads newcastle west are in a two game tournament on Saturday morning with gasheen of cork, carew park, and Granvile inside LimeRick
theboywonder8
04/08/2011, 9:34 AM
Thanks Thomas72,that'll solve that,
Gearysfan
04/08/2011, 10:32 AM
I believe that's Newcastle Rovers that are playing inside in Limerick.
Maybe ye are right I was just going by what Gerry Cronin told me.
buddygeary23
04/08/2011, 1:14 PM
Just after being confirmed by jerry cronin and and pike rovers that the match is going ahead on Friday night..pike rovers are going to Dublin for Sunday but the match is going ahead and kick off is 7.15pm
buddygeary23
04/08/2011, 1:15 PM
Newcastle west are also playing a mini tournament in Granville on Saturday..
sexyfootball
04/08/2011, 2:31 PM
I'd say dare will be a nice attendence for that match, we can finally see who will be playing for Newcastle West this season or who wont.....
Pike are not playing ncw on Friday night and that's a fact,they are going to Dublin on Sunday
Lads how many times ye have to be told that match is not going ahead,jaysus wept
Who is your source that this match isnt going ahead?
soccer8
04/08/2011, 4:01 PM
I take it you wont be attending the game tomorrow night so boywonder :cool:
theboywonder8
04/08/2011, 7:56 PM
They will not be playing pike A,a very reliable source snafu,and not only will I be attending I'll be playing,ha
limkdesmond
04/08/2011, 9:03 PM
So is the match going ahead tomorrow boywonder8 or not????
buddygeary23
04/08/2011, 9:42 PM
The match is going ahead but I was told today that pike are not bringing out a full strength team..but will have most of their A team players there..hopefully it will be a good game
lfc at heart
05/08/2011, 7:59 AM
Lads how many times ye have to be told that match is not going ahead,jaysus wept.
so is the match going ahead or what
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 8:37 AM
A team from pike will be there,but not their a team,they are playing killester,for the opening of their new ground in Dublin on Sunday,
Boroman
05/08/2011, 10:47 AM
Janesboro 8 - 0 Broadford played last wednesday...
Congrats on a massive win, It must go some way to easing the pain that this AVERAGE (at best) Desmond League team inflicted on ye a few weeks ago. Enjoy battling for 4th again this year
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 1:38 PM
6th or 7th you mean leon,their powers of persuasion don't seem to be working,at the end of the day it's trophies fellas want,and we all know where they always go,
I was trying to be sound by saying 4th, I wouldnt be Broadfords biggest fan but by all accounts it was a B team that played the boro this week. How many of yere A team have ye tonight, as in, how many of the lads that starded the FAI final will be playing
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 2:01 PM
Not that many,they played clonmel tues night and have a long trip Sunday,few of them playing gaa also tonight,but whoever is there will give ncw a good game.3 of the fai winning team will be playing for athlone tonite,another one is leaving for Dubai,so their def nonrunners,
Not that many,they played clonmel tues night and have a long trip Sunday,few of them playing gaa also tonight,but whoever is there will give ncw a good game.
Ya I know yere B team would be strong in its own right, Roughly would there be 5 of the final team playing tonight
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 2:05 PM
Hopefully there might be,
Boroman
05/08/2011, 3:00 PM
[QUOTE=theboywonder8;1516111]6th or 7th you mean leon,their powers of persuasion don't seem to be working,at the end of the day it's trophies fellas want,and we all know where they always go
Ya athlone
theboywonder8
05/08/2011, 3:28 PM
Trophies I said,they brought them up with them,well 3 of them did anyway,haha,and you know the three I'm talking about,but don't worry they'll be back for more,